• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 67 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 110 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The real driving simulator returns with the highly anticipated precursor to Gran Turismo 5, featuring 50 cars from worldwide auto manufacturers including Ferrari, Ford, and Audi. With all-new interior dash views, online racing, and more, Gran Turismo 5 Prologue unveils revolutionaryThe real driving simulator returns with the highly anticipated precursor to Gran Turismo 5, featuring 50 cars from worldwide auto manufacturers including Ferrari, Ford, and Audi. With all-new interior dash views, online racing, and more, Gran Turismo 5 Prologue unveils revolutionary advancements that blur the distinction between simulation and reality. Fifty cars and five race tracks, including Fuji Speedway, Suzuka Circuit, and for the first time ever, Daytona International Speedway. All-new interior dash view puts you in the driver’s seat like never before. Race online with up to 16 players to prove your skills. New online community features including Gran Turismo TV, featuring worldwide automotive and motorsport programming. Rendered in beautiful 1080p at 60fps with crisp, realistic lighting effects (replays rendered in 1080p 30fps). [Sony] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 67
  2. Negative: 0 out of 67
  1. 95
    The graphics in GT5: Prologue are even better than "Crysis."
  2. An excellent racing-game. It's not just a glimpse of the future, although the future looks really bright. [May 2008]
  3. Considering the diminutive offering compared to other GT games, you'd think this would feel lacking in some way. It falters at times, yes, but Prologue is an honest-to-goodness peek at what's to come. Oh, and it's a hell of a game to boot.
  4. It’s not perfect and can be easily criticized for the lack of customization of the online races and the absence of damages. But it’s far from being a simple demo and has a lot of reasons that fans of series should be interested in. It’s well worth the investment. [Apr 2008]
  5. What is without doubt the biggest disappointment of all is the online implementation. It's currently woefully behind what we've got in Forza 2 and PGR4, lacking even basic support for custom races. Support for up to 16 players is excellent, but without a friends list or any proper match making you're left to pick from the 35 events currently listed.
  6. I say Prologue is a demo. [July 2008, p.80]
  7. Still, Gran Turismo 5 Prologue is in a class by itself when it comes to racing simulation. Cars and tracks are re-created immaculately, as are the vehicles' physics and performance.

See all 67 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 47
  2. Negative: 12 out of 47
  1. RavenS.
    Apr 20, 2008
    10
    The best racing game yet in the GT series!
  2. AndyC.
    Nov 23, 2008
    10
    First up, this is half a game and my score should be read with that in mind. The graphics are brilliant - full 1080p resolution looks First up, this is half a game and my score should be read with that in mind. The graphics are brilliant - full 1080p resolution looks stupendous on a decent TV. The sound of the engines is great but I want to create my own driving soundtracks from MP3s stored on the PS3. The feel of the cars is incredible. The handling is just right and combined with a decent quality racing wheel, this is the best racing game I've ever played. The GT series' hallmark balance between simulation and fun gaming is maintained once again. You can touch the accelerator / brakes / steering in a fast corner a little more than is realistic - I know from experience that if you tried some of the stuff in a road car you end up heading through a wall backwards! But most people aren't after 100% accurate simulation. There's an incredible depth to the game, and even once you can win all the races, there's a real sense of achievement shaving hundredths off your own best lap times. My only criticism is the difficulty. I found classes A, B and C pretty easy, but S jumped to borderline impossible. If this was a full and final game I'd be taking a point off for that reason. Expand
  3. ZiggyP.
    Mar 24, 2008
    9
    Although lacking what some other racers can offer, the amount of content and sheer quality for a game less than £20 cannot be ignored. Although lacking what some other racers can offer, the amount of content and sheer quality for a game less than £20 cannot be ignored. If this is just a small glimpse of things to come then we shouldn't be worried if GT5 will delivery, we should be worried about our eyes popping out of our heads. Expand
  4. Youcef
    Nov 10, 2008
    9
    I drive with my Logitech Driving Force GT steering wheel and it's quite realistic providing hours of fun but if I did not have the the I drive with my Logitech Driving Force GT steering wheel and it's quite realistic providing hours of fun but if I did not have the the steering wheel I would rate it 5, using it without the steering wheel is just plain boring. Expand
  5. AndrewP
    May 8, 2008
    8
    Stunning graphics and realistic physics make this game shine. It is nothing more then a large demo, but an excellent and large one at that. Stunning graphics and realistic physics make this game shine. It is nothing more then a large demo, but an excellent and large one at that. All though the on-line play is lacking, this is just a taste of things to come. All of the people claiming that the game is short or not worth money are probably not car enthusiasts or GT freaks. All of us die hard GT guys have been begging for prologue for years and finally have it. I can't wait for the full version of GT5 to be released. I will lose many hours of my life to this game once again. This is a must have for all GT fans and auto enthusiasts. If you are a casual GT fan or car fan, it may be worth a rent until the full game is released. Expand
  6. Notafanboy
    Jul 9, 2008
    5
    Strictly for fans that are still getting over the first one. If you aren't, you will see through the pretty graphics and realise that Strictly for fans that are still getting over the first one. If you aren't, you will see through the pretty graphics and realise that games like PGR4 are miles ahead of this. If you are and are willing to defend this piece of garbage's limited cars and tracks, go ahead and buy it. Prepare to be dissapointed. Expand
  7. HalS.
    Jun 4, 2008
    0
    First off, this game is well made. After playing it once, I was very disappointed with the results. they start by giving you $35,000 to First off, this game is well made. After playing it once, I was very disappointed with the results. they start by giving you $35,000 to purchase a car. I purchased the Mazda and was happy with it. But it is not fast enough to win a race, the turning is sloppy on this game. I am not going to return it because I will play it again and try to become better, but for now it totally sucks. They don't even give you a option to customize it! Gran Turismo 2 was much better then 3 and 4. GRAN TURISMO 5 PROLOGUE SUCKS! Expand

See all 47 User Reviews