• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 82 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 976 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Known for its signature beauty and precision, the highly anticipated racer showcases new jaw-dropping cars, real-life tracks, and diverse racing styles. Gran Turismo promises to deliver exciting advancements to the series in the most comprehensive racing experience ever. [Sony]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 82
  2. Negative: 0 out of 82
  1. 100
    Kaz Yamauchi's passion for the racing sphere shines through every aspect of the game. The incredibly-detailed cars, the slick presentation, the spot-on physics. Polyphony Digital brought its A-game. Nothing else on the market can come close to the realism and immersion you feel throughout. Gran Turismo 5 is virtual racing at its very best.
  2. Dec 6, 2010
    92
    Uncompromising in design and steeped in car loving snobbery, GT5 is a petrol head's dream. For gamers it's good, for car enthusiasts it's quite brilliant.
  3. Jan 2, 2011
    90
    GT5 may have taken a lifetime to release, but it delivers on its promise of being 'the real driving simulator'.
  4. Jan 1, 2011
    85
    I never thought I'd see the day I gave a Gran Turismo game less than a 9. And then GT PSP happened. The disappointment continues, but it's abated by what I can only hope are continued, frequent updates.
  5. Dec 12, 2010
    80
    GT5 lives up to "the real driving simulator" tagline, but in almost every other respect, there lies a sense that the grandaddy has been lapped by the competition.
  6. Dec 6, 2010
    80
    Considering the time it took Polyphony to complete what we believed would be a masterpiece, we really can't hide our disappointment. Although the number of cars, events and play modes on offer is surely impressive, Gran Turismo 5 is far from that level of perfection that the development team promised us during the last four years.
  7. Dec 6, 2010
    60
    Gran Turismo 5's core problem is that the broad scope of all these game modes diminishes the polish of the general product. There's no denying the feel of the actual driving, but everything else that makes up the game feels tedious and half-baked.

See all 82 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 77 out of 370
  1. Nov 25, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Gran cantidad de vehiculos, online, editor de pistas.....excelentes gráficos....es un excelente juego aunque esperaba un poco más. Lástima que personas profesionales y falta de sentido común utilicen este importante sitio para demeritar sin fundamento.... Expand
  2. Nov 30, 2010
    10
    Simply the best driving simulator ever! It wasn't meant to be like a Burnout or NFS style game. If u like simplified arcadey-style gameplay then by all means play those titles and stop knocking GT5. However, if u consider yourself a petrolhead, a motoring enthusiast or even a fan of the series, then you will definitely love this game. Everything has been majorly improved and expanded upon from the previous GT titles. The game continuously tests you, makes you think, sweat, and then rewards you. For the sheer amount of days or weeks of enticing gameplay contained within, GT5 is already worth your money. And when you want to take a break from the serious battles versus the sometimes relentless A.I, there's Karting, the Top Gear track, racing online with your mates (which I've played for hours against a friend thousands of miles away and, since the latest patch, it's flawless). There's also a photo mode for a change of scenery and GT TV for the die-hard petrolheads. I doubt that any of the negative reviewers ( twitch-gaming kids? lame-brained twits? Xbot trolls? etc) have even unlocked the rally races on GT mode. The rally cars handle superbly and the rallies play better than the rally game Dirt (and that's a bold claim!) The game has a few minor issues like occasional tearing and sometimes odd A.I, but the promise of regular patches based on the opinions of people who play the game via the PS blogs online, means that GT5 will continue to improve and EVOLVE. There's also a ton of FREE DLC coming our way!
    All in all I'm extremely happy with my purchase, GT5 is a great game to enjoyably pass the time when it's too cold to move outside in the bitter weather.
    Collapse
  3. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    While it is easy for developers to create a game surrounded around sex and violence simply to cash out on a quick buck, Polyphony Digital does the exact opposite. They spend 5 years making one single game that does not involve anything the current videogame industry is obsessed with (zombies, apocalyptic environments, open world gameplay, first-person shooters, etc...) and it does is executed in an extremely classy way. Gran Turismo 5 couldn't feel more refreshing to the gaming-enthusiast, especially when a market is saturated with macho-men titles. Yes it is a blockbuster sequel, but that does not make it feel any less awesome. Expand
  4. Aug 27, 2011
    9
    Let me start of by saying that this game starts off and gives you a horrible first impression. There is a half an hour install to make the loading times quicker, the first cars which you get are slow, usually without a **** view and not very fun to drive and lastly the menu's are generally messy and you don't know what's what. However, once you get past those few quibbles, the game completely opens up; the super cars, nascars, rally cars, f1, cars touring cars... they're all so beautiful and fun to drive. The graphics are awesome, especially with premium models, there's always something to do, be it kart race, top gear test track, seasonal events, licences, making your own track., driving countless amount of different cars.. Put simply, this game is all it needs to be! The simulation is perfect and if you like cars or driving, you will LOVE this game. Expand
  5. Jan 14, 2011
    8
    This is a great game that offers many hours of driving fun. The 200 premium car models are excellent, and most of the 800+ standard models are good, if not great. The driving itself is a lot of fun, with good differentiation between cars--in fact, its so good that I broke down and bought a DFGT wheel to fully experience it. PD has been providing new A-Spec events on roughly a weekly basis and I hope this continues. The game is mainly let down by a lack of out-of-the-box A-Spec events and lackluster Special Events such as the Top Gear challenges which are more annoying than fun. Expand
  6. Dec 15, 2010
    6
    They've put so much effort to make it the best driving simulator that they forgot everything else.
    The Up parts are the majority of cars, the
    driving, the detail level, the sound and everything that has to do with driving experience.
    The down parts are extensive loading times, lack of features that all previous GT had (for example 1000 meter test, Apricot Hill circuit, change rims in all cars and so on), not many manufactures to buy new car, plus that they left many models only in used cars... and for some reason it feels like they rushed it out, maybe is cause they did rushed it out and that is why already we got 2 updates.

    For sure GT5 (as every GT) will be the benchmark for every racing game till GT6.
    To sum it up, as a simulator is an 11/10, as a GT sequel is a 6/10, as a current console generation game is a 9/10.
    But as a GT fan from PSX and by being sure that Yamauchi via updates will complete he's work, I'll give a 10.
    Expand
  7. Dec 13, 2010
    0
    I love Sony and all its franchises, but i waited too long for this game, had dreams making LOVE with GT5... And... For what? I've been fooled... But you may say "it's still a good racing game", right? Yes, it's, but nothing near with expectations and Sony's promises. I'm really disappointed. Expand

See all 370 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell

    30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell Image
    Published: June 23, 2011
    After 15 years in development limbo, Duke Nukem Forever finally arrived in stores last week, though game critics aren't rejoicing. We look at that and other long-delayed games that eventually managed to shed their vaporware status, with results ranging from maligned to sublime.