• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Gran Turismo 5 Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 82 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1200 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Known for its signature beauty and precision, the highly anticipated racer showcases new jaw-dropping cars, real-life tracks, and diverse racing styles. Gran Turismo promises to deliver exciting advancements to the series in the most comprehensive racing experience ever. [Sony]
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Gran Turismo 5 TGS 2010 Trailer - Visual Effects
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 82
  2. Negative: 0 out of 82
  1. 100
    Kaz Yamauchi's passion for the racing sphere shines through every aspect of the game. The incredibly-detailed cars, the slick presentation, the spot-on physics. Polyphony Digital brought its A-game. Nothing else on the market can come close to the realism and immersion you feel throughout. Gran Turismo 5 is virtual racing at its very best.
  2. Dec 6, 2010
    92
    Uncompromising in design and steeped in car loving snobbery, GT5 is a petrol head's dream. For gamers it's good, for car enthusiasts it's quite brilliant.
  3. Jan 2, 2011
    90
    GT5 may have taken a lifetime to release, but it delivers on its promise of being 'the real driving simulator'.
  4. Jan 1, 2011
    85
    I never thought I'd see the day I gave a Gran Turismo game less than a 9. And then GT PSP happened. The disappointment continues, but it's abated by what I can only hope are continued, frequent updates.
  5. Dec 12, 2010
    80
    GT5 lives up to "the real driving simulator" tagline, but in almost every other respect, there lies a sense that the grandaddy has been lapped by the competition.
  6. Dec 6, 2010
    80
    Considering the time it took Polyphony to complete what we believed would be a masterpiece, we really can't hide our disappointment. Although the number of cars, events and play modes on offer is surely impressive, Gran Turismo 5 is far from that level of perfection that the development team promised us during the last four years.
  7. Dec 6, 2010
    60
    Gran Turismo 5's core problem is that the broad scope of all these game modes diminishes the polish of the general product. There's no denying the feel of the actual driving, but everything else that makes up the game feels tedious and half-baked.

See all 82 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 57 out of 361
  1. Nov 27, 2010
    10
    GT5 is a fun and rewarding game. Driving is perfectly simulated. It takes time to master, and to unlock many of the features, but this makesGT5 is a fun and rewarding game. Driving is perfectly simulated. It takes time to master, and to unlock many of the features, but this makes the journey of becoming a competent driver even more fun. Expand
  2. Nov 27, 2010
    10
    10 marshall
    please you need to play the definitive simulator of this gen GT5,dont get influenced by retard webs like IGNorant i dont have any
    10 marshall
    please you need to play the definitive simulator of this gen GT5,dont get influenced by retard webs like IGNorant i dont have any doubt about GT5 is the best racing game on the market,forza 3 is nothing compare GT5 its like compare **** agains pure gold.
    Expand
  3. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    This game is EPIC,online is great,just enjoy.its the best out there.
    the damage is really good and the level system is new and defo something
    This game is EPIC,online is great,just enjoy.its the best out there.
    the damage is really good and the level system is new and defo something they should keep.
    This destroys any xbox game by far.
    Expand
  4. Apr 9, 2011
    9
    id start by saying i wouldnt trust any review on here that doesnt have more then 20 reviews so many dumb asses make a account to just bash aid start by saying i wouldnt trust any review on here that doesnt have more then 20 reviews so many dumb asses make a account to just bash a game or give it more praise out of fanboyism. well for a game that was in devolpment for 6 years and had alot of ambition GT5 delivers for the most part . gettin the negitive things out of the way first . i was expecting a much more tournements and types of races much like GT3 had still there is alot like around 40 but GT3 had like tripple that. the music is horrid it sounds like lame emo elevator music so i just turned it off and cranked up my ipod hooked into my surround sound . also some of the tracks and cars dont look as good as they should also getting some of the cars you need to finish certain races can be such a freekin pain . that out of the way there are alot of great things about GT5 . first there are a 1000+ cars! what racing game gives you that! and you get a ton of tracks and a track maker . the graphics on most of the cars look amazing . there are alot of extras in this game you have special race selection where you do all kin ds of things from racing go karts , challanges in nascar from jeff gordon to racing on the top gear track in england . also has a mode where you manage a driver . its not the funnest thing to do but its a easy way to make money while your driver is running the race and you can get some other stuff done instead of racing the same track over and over to make money . there's still the license mode although i cant really figure out the point of it since they have a level up system that now grants you access to the higher harder modes and use to be completing the licneses in older GT games to do that. the online mode is alot of fun i like the fact you can do a private room with your friends and race each other any way you want and make money and get exp for doing it . they also have a photo mode where you can take pics of your cars . all in all GT5 gave me what i wanted in a racing game for the most part. its not perfect but its damn good . Expand
  5. Jan 14, 2011
    8
    This is a great game that offers many hours of driving fun. The 200 premium car models are excellent, and most of the 800+ standard modelsThis is a great game that offers many hours of driving fun. The 200 premium car models are excellent, and most of the 800+ standard models are good, if not great. The driving itself is a lot of fun, with good differentiation between cars--in fact, its so good that I broke down and bought a DFGT wheel to fully experience it. PD has been providing new A-Spec events on roughly a weekly basis and I hope this continues. The game is mainly let down by a lack of out-of-the-box A-Spec events and lackluster Special Events such as the Top Gear challenges which are more annoying than fun. Expand
  6. Nov 22, 2011
    6
    Sadly, after 5000 years in development, it wasn't worth the wait.
  7. Nov 12, 2011
    0
    I was a huge fan o gt series, but GT5 just sucks hard. The car sounds like a vacuum cleaner, many cars dont have interior view... omg. TheyI was a huge fan o gt series, but GT5 just sucks hard. The car sounds like a vacuum cleaner, many cars dont have interior view... omg. They just arruined the game. Expand

See all 361 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell

    30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell Image
    Published: June 23, 2011
    After 15 years in development limbo, Duke Nukem Forever finally arrived in stores last week, though game critics aren't rejoicing. We look at that and other long-delayed games that eventually managed to shed their vaporware status, with results ranging from maligned to sublime.