User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2571 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 28, 2010
    10
    I thoroughly enjoyed this game right from the day i got it and to this day i still enjoy playing it. The story is very well written and does its best to give players the freedom of choice from time to time. The multi player is good it has a lot of variety to it which makes it very enjoyable for players
  2. Aug 20, 2010
    8
    Despite all the hype, GTA is not the best game released in 2008, nor is it the best Grand Theft Auto available. San Andreas is still much better than IV. GTA IV is still a very good game, but vastly overrated. I had fun with this, but the game got so boring so fast after the storyline is finished, it's not even funny. There's only so many times when you can go to a comedy club and watchDespite all the hype, GTA is not the best game released in 2008, nor is it the best Grand Theft Auto available. San Andreas is still much better than IV. GTA IV is still a very good game, but vastly overrated. I had fun with this, but the game got so boring so fast after the storyline is finished, it's not even funny. There's only so many times when you can go to a comedy club and watch Ricky Gervais or Katt Williams recycle the same three acts and over and over again.

    The graphics are fantastic, the cars handle realistically, which I like. Sure, I wrecked the car the first couple of times I tried to drive, but the driving gets easy real fast.

    The shooting is okay, not bad, but not CoD-level. I hate auto-aim in this game, it's just so terrible.

    Overall, this is a really good game, just not as good as the mainstream reviews said it was.
    Expand
  3. Oct 6, 2010
    8
    Technically, GTAIV triumphs. The engine is strong and Liberty City is rich, diverse and alive. However, it's a step down from the previous generation of GTAs in terms of story, gameplay and, most importantly, fun. Niko Bellic bored me; I didn't care about him, I didn't care about his friends, and I didn't care about his enemies. GTAIV suffers from that prevalent yet unworthy trend amongTechnically, GTAIV triumphs. The engine is strong and Liberty City is rich, diverse and alive. However, it's a step down from the previous generation of GTAs in terms of story, gameplay and, most importantly, fun. Niko Bellic bored me; I didn't care about him, I didn't care about his friends, and I didn't care about his enemies. GTAIV suffers from that prevalent yet unworthy trend among games - the quest for realism. Perhaps the physics, story and [most of] the missions are more 'realistic', but parachuting on top of gang leaders and stealing fighter jets is fun, and visually Liberty City appears as though viewed through a scratched, dirty pair of sunglasses. It lacks the cartoonish colour and vibrancy of previous GTA games. Sometimes - in fact, often - realism does not make for a better game. GTAIV is the first in the series that I left half-way through and returned to at a later date. I didn't think much of it at the time, but in hindsight the game obviously didn't pull me in and entertain me.

    Of course, this isn't to say it's not a very good game; rather, it suffers from over-hype and exaggerated critical appraisal which, in light of the accusations leveled at Rockstar over their Red Dead Redemption PR, leaves a fairly bitter taste. Very good game, but it is certainly not anywhere near perfection have some reviews would have you believe. The Saints Row games feel more â
    Expand
  4. Sep 2, 2010
    10
    Quite simply, the most engrossing Sandbox game available for consoles. It may have lost the hilarity of San Andreas and the style of Vice City, but as a story, it shoves both of the previous two games down a hill. Moving, emotional, funny, sad and with a bitter/sweet ending, this game is definately worth the 25+ hours you can sink into it.
  5. Sep 27, 2010
    10
    Ahh, GTA IV....my personal favorite on my small library of games. I think the storyline is surprisingly interesting, with the plot twists and everything. I love the vast expanses of the newly rendered Liberty City. It looks much like NYC, so they have that down pat.
  6. Oct 15, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Grand Theft Auto Iv this game is very realistic but not that realistic i have got this and have played it twice nearly completed it for a second time but after a bit you do get bored of as you`v played it for long and you know everywhere but something still amaze me such as the quality`s of the cars and how fast they go this game does have very good graphics the graphics are amazing also from start to last the game does impress youv got alot of diffrent choices to choose from as which person to kill first and you get suprises from each of them .The first hand shooting on this game is actally quite amazing but the bad thing is when you aere going so fast in your car the tv will glitch adn freez the glitches on this are quite good as you can go online and you have to go to the secound islnd their is a swing there which if you keep hitting your car at it it flings you so far in the sky .This game would be my secound choice if i had it on a list even though it is good its not that good if you keep playing it and you get use to everything themusic on the game is quite intresting the radio i like is BEATS 87.2 this one has alot of rap on the radio.This game does amaze you some points as i bet you didnt know that you can give tramps money and also you have got alot of challeneges to complete in the game you have to shoot pigions to unlock something also you can ramp off ramps and fly and this will give you suprises i would appreiacte for looking Thanks for looking. Expand
  7. Nov 16, 2010
    10
    Grab a beer and wonder at the city lights and skylines that ooze of atmosphere. Atmoshere for me is what sets GTA apart from it's wannabees and clones. Just to peruse the city in a taxi is a joy in itself. The virtual world laid out before you is staggering. If the game had no plot and was just a free sprawling city that would be enough for me. Not surprisingly there is a plot and aGrab a beer and wonder at the city lights and skylines that ooze of atmosphere. Atmoshere for me is what sets GTA apart from it's wannabees and clones. Just to peruse the city in a taxi is a joy in itself. The virtual world laid out before you is staggering. If the game had no plot and was just a free sprawling city that would be enough for me. Not surprisingly there is a plot and a damned good one. The game has few flaws in my book, the only flaw would be that previous incarnations may have taken a tiny amount of shine off this version , but even then not much. Great fun online and just as good chilling by yourself with a Scotch overlooking the statue of liberty. Expand
  8. Dec 20, 2010
    10
    A perfect game. Liberty city is absolutely beautiful. The story is absorbing. I could not put the controller down. The missions are varied and fewer time limited missions, which was a frustrating factor in previous games is a welcome change. The addition of the other minigames, a friend system, girlfriend system, etc., all contribute to this masterpiece. There are so many good things forA perfect game. Liberty city is absolutely beautiful. The story is absorbing. I could not put the controller down. The missions are varied and fewer time limited missions, which was a frustrating factor in previous games is a welcome change. The addition of the other minigames, a friend system, girlfriend system, etc., all contribute to this masterpiece. There are so many good things for this I don't even know what to say. Just buy it and play for yourself. Expand
  9. Dec 7, 2010
    10
    Ive been playing GTA IV for over 20 years now its amazing ive been able to jump off the empire state building only to slide down the pyramids and land in amsterdam there i smoked weed
  10. Dec 16, 2010
    10
    THAT'S IT!THE BEST GTA EVER!Man this game is so good that is the best GTA game and best Xbox 360/PS3 game!This game is really good!No joke!The action BLAZES a lot!The perfect GTA game!
  11. Dec 31, 2010
    10
    Truly the best game I have ever played by a mile.
  12. Feb 8, 2011
    10
    Possibly the finest open world game ever created, and easily the best social satire ever concieved. A world were people live and breathe the lives of every one of us. From flipping open cell phones and chatting, going for coffee, having trouble parallel parking, hobo's at the bus stop, GTA4 is the single most immersive game world I have ever seen. Combine a lengthy campaign with aPossibly the finest open world game ever created, and easily the best social satire ever concieved. A world were people live and breathe the lives of every one of us. From flipping open cell phones and chatting, going for coffee, having trouble parallel parking, hobo's at the bus stop, GTA4 is the single most immersive game world I have ever seen. Combine a lengthy campaign with a fantastic story, brilliant dialogue, amazing graphics, great music, unthinkable scale (the buildings loom over you as drive through the downtown and its a beauty to behold), and hundreds of hours worth of stuff to do... oh and how about all of that WITH 8 players online? GTA4 is a modern masterpiece. When I first played it in 2008 my jaw was floored. Now in 2011 after playing it all again with the two (also incredible) DLC campaigns, I can say my stance is virtualy unaltered, if not improved. You are not allowed to claim to be a gammer without experiencing GTA4. In my top 3 games of all time. Expand
  13. Feb 22, 2011
    10
    These games just get better and better. Captivating story, great graphics, fun gameplay and some humour. Quite simply the best game around. New York or should i say liberty city is brilliantly realised.
  14. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    Great game.. I think its the best one in the series since San Andreas, the graphics are amazing, the combat is geat , and the game is better than other open world games, i dont know about peole but think its an amazing game.

    PS: i had to give this game a perfect 10 to counter all those trolls one the forums that said they will rate this game 0 , my real score is 9/10
  15. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    One of the best games this gen! , I cant believe how some people gave this game such low scores! Its an AWESOME! game.. I recommend this game to every "REAL" gamer out there
  16. May 12, 2012
    10
    Just ignore the trolls and naysayers this is the best game ever at this point you don't even need to do any missions since you would be wasting hours beating and pushing people off cliffs in other cars or train tracks.
  17. May 18, 2012
    10
    probably the best open world action-adventure video game made to date. There is so much to do and explore, even after you're done with the 20+ hour amazing storyline. Everything is beautiful and realistic in this game. And the online is suprisingly entertaining, a place where I can mess around for fun.
  18. Jul 2, 2012
    10
    The 2nd Best sandbox game, after GTA San Andreas. If only the adding some of the stuff CJ could with Niko Bellic. More custom mods for the cars and motor bikes. One item I miss, is the bmx bike, i hope they will put in the new GTA V game.
  19. Jul 20, 2012
    9
    I Love GTA's, I started from GTA:London in childhood, i loved it! I skipped GTA 3 but then my uncle did show me Gta Vice:City I WAS AMAZED oh my god, cars breaking and stuff. GTA:SA was my absolute favorite + online was amazing but GTA IV, IT looked epic, graphics and all. but something was missing.. where was the awsome planes and country? :( Story was with good sense of humor andI Love GTA's, I started from GTA:London in childhood, i loved it! I skipped GTA 3 but then my uncle did show me Gta Vice:City I WAS AMAZED oh my god, cars breaking and stuff. GTA:SA was my absolute favorite + online was amazing but GTA IV, IT looked epic, graphics and all. but something was missing.. where was the awsome planes and country? :( Story was with good sense of humor and enjoyable. Good game! 9/10 Expand
  20. Jul 21, 2012
    10
    A phenomenal game which is perhaps the best game to come out on the PS3 so far. I have played the other GTAs and I felt that GTA 3 and Vice City were the best of the series with San Andreas not quite delivering up to the standards that we expect from such a great gaming franchise. The developers at Rockstar must have had a similar thinking process as they stepped up their efforts toA phenomenal game which is perhaps the best game to come out on the PS3 so far. I have played the other GTAs and I felt that GTA 3 and Vice City were the best of the series with San Andreas not quite delivering up to the standards that we expect from such a great gaming franchise. The developers at Rockstar must have had a similar thinking process as they stepped up their efforts to produce a game which delivers in every aspect. Expand
  21. Apr 18, 2013
    10
    GTA IV is very nice!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  22. Oct 6, 2013
    8
    GTA IV is quality. The expanded game world and other additional features enhance game-play, and its undeniably long storyline fails to become un-exciting, even after hours. The new Liberty City is memorable, and provides the perfect backdrop for GTA IV's story to take place.
  23. Jul 3, 2013
    9
    I will not give a perfect score, because the graphics are amazing, the world is believable, the characters are perfect, but there are some problems with the game, such as driving, is a bit difficult to drive in this game, and once we got to the end of the game there are no activities to do. But the story is perfect, the voice acting is superb, and once again, rockstar made ​​a faithfulI will not give a perfect score, because the graphics are amazing, the world is believable, the characters are perfect, but there are some problems with the game, such as driving, is a bit difficult to drive in this game, and once we got to the end of the game there are no activities to do. But the story is perfect, the voice acting is superb, and once again, rockstar made ​​a faithful representation NY. I found no reason to play multiplayer because the single player did everything I was hoping for. Not the best game in the series, but it does many things right. Like the story, characters, graphics and an open world to explore. Expand
  24. Jul 5, 2013
    9
    I will not give a perfect score, because the graphics are amazing, the world is believable, the characters are perfect, but there are some problems with the game, such as driving, is a bit difficult to drive in this game, and once we got to the end of the game there are no activities to do. But the story is perfect, the voice acting is superb, and once again, rockstar made a faithfulI will not give a perfect score, because the graphics are amazing, the world is believable, the characters are perfect, but there are some problems with the game, such as driving, is a bit difficult to drive in this game, and once we got to the end of the game there are no activities to do. But the story is perfect, the voice acting is superb, and once again, rockstar made a faithful representation of NY. I found no reason to play multiplayer because the single player did everything I was hoping for. Not the best game in the series, but it does many things right. Like the story, characters, graphics and an open world to explore. Expand
  25. Jul 6, 2013
    8
    The review score for this game is an embarrassment and testament to what is happening to video gaming. The 10's given to this game by "professional" reviewers are clearly not just about the quality of the game. The reviewers have clearly been influenced by other factors. Gaming review scores in general have clearly become favors to the game developers, and this is an example of that takenThe review score for this game is an embarrassment and testament to what is happening to video gaming. The 10's given to this game by "professional" reviewers are clearly not just about the quality of the game. The reviewers have clearly been influenced by other factors. Gaming review scores in general have clearly become favors to the game developers, and this is an example of that taken to extremes.

    Now, having said that, I am not saying this is a bad game. In fact, it is actually a very good game, but to call it perfect or near perfect is absurd. It's also very odd that a lot of "professional" reviewers are indicating that they are scoring the game higher because it is newer and has better graphics, etc. Since when did we start doing this? If this is how we are going to look at games then all of the new games are all better than older games. I guess "Alone in the Dark: The New Nightmare" is way better than the original "Alone in the Dark" because it is so much newer and has graphics that are far more advanced. No, that can't be right because "Alone in the Dark: The New Nightmare" was almost universally declared a piece of garbage, while "Alone in the Dark" is frequently listed as one of the best games of all time. (It's worth mentioning that the game developer for the newer game threatened reviewers with a lawsuit over their reviews of the game when it came out.)

    Getting back to GTA IV, there are far too many flaws for it to be considered near perfect. This one is obviously subjective to some extent, but the music and radio is very disappointing when compared with previous versions. I'll allow this to not even count since it is so subjective, but I'm sure I'm not the only one who feels this way. I quickly turned off the radio and left it off. I never did that in any of the previous versions. Still, this is one of the great features of the GTA series that makes it standout from other games that do not even have this feature so I won't count this.

    This may also be subjective to some extent, but the story and characters are boring with a capital B. The characters look and sound boring. We went from actors like Ray Liotta as the main character in "GTA: Vice City" to the crap in GTA IV? I'm curious if anyone out there cares about Nikko and his cousin at all. Even the other hoods that give you your jobs are boring. While watching and listening to the video in the game for the first time I wanted to just skip over it. For me, the music, story, and characters alone make this game far less entertaining than all previous versions of the GTA series. This version of GTA is also too serious. I always thought some of the negative things (violence, sex, etc.) said about the GTA series in the media were a bit ridiculous because it was hard to see how anyone could take the games that seriously, but with this version I can see their point a little, (Just a little!) because it's too serious. One last thing, the game seems much less creative in it's content than previous iterations.

    I am not going to go over the good or great facets of this game because that has been done to death. I just wanted to post a review to comment on how overrated the game is, even though it is still an excellent game.
    Expand
  26. Oct 20, 2013
    8
    'Grand Theft Auto IV' is, lets face it, a great game.

    I found GTA IV to be so fulfilling, so deep, so interesting. The story based around Niko Bellic is a great one, possibly one of the best in the series. But, this great, beautiful game has a lot of drawbacks that for me lowered the score. The first; is that it isn't fun. Yes, GTA has always been fun, but, I feel that Rockstar
    'Grand Theft Auto IV' is, lets face it, a great game.

    I found GTA IV to be so fulfilling, so deep, so interesting. The story based around Niko Bellic is a great one, possibly one of the best in the series.
    But, this great, beautiful game has a lot of drawbacks that for me lowered the score.

    The first; is that it isn't fun. Yes, GTA has always been fun, but, I feel that Rockstar wanted to create a dramatic, serious film-like game where we just sit back and watch. I did mission after mission, because I couldn't find fun stuff to do in the spare time between missions.
    The atmosphere in Liberty City also makes the game seem boring, drab, and bland. Everything is colourless, grey, and just has an overall sad feel to it.

    The second; is that your friends will constantly call you whilst you're doing something important. I can't count how many times I've heard Roman (Niko's Cousin) ask me if I wanted to go 'bowling' with him. This may not seem like a major issue, but, I warn you that it will get very annoying when your cousin constantly interrupts your daily shoot-out with the police, or a very important part of a mission.

    Other than these issues, I found 'GTA IV' to be enjoyable. But, I have to say that I didn't enjoy it as much as I did its predecessors. Overall, I recommend 'IV' for a hardcore fan of the series, but, I must warn you that although 'IV' is similar to its predecessors, it lacks a lot of traits that made the previous installments so amazing!
    Expand
  27. Jul 12, 2013
    9
    I started playing GTA when it still was in 2D and I tried all GTA game. This one is a great one with still lot of freedom, lot of possibilities ,good story (the player have to take some choice)...a great game i had pleasure to finish 2 or 3 times!
  28. Jul 20, 2013
    10
    this game is epic i'm excited for gta v for those who thing this isn't that great,gta v is gonna blow your mind away. People says it has bad framerate? its your computer that is the problem get a decent one and it would work flawlessly the storyline is great actually
  29. Sep 25, 2013
    10
    EN: Grand Theft Auto IV doesn't only presents the player to the most charismatic protagonist of the whole series, but is emotionally deep, viscerally addictive and takes place at an amazingly built Liberty City. The handbreak is s*** and makes the car slide everywhere like a godd*** ski, and some missions like the pingeons one may be a pain in the a** for some, but overall, Grand TheftEN: Grand Theft Auto IV doesn't only presents the player to the most charismatic protagonist of the whole series, but is emotionally deep, viscerally addictive and takes place at an amazingly built Liberty City. The handbreak is s*** and makes the car slide everywhere like a godd*** ski, and some missions like the pingeons one may be a pain in the a** for some, but overall, Grand Theft Auto IV is a masterpiece.

    PT-BR: Grand Theft Auto IV não só apresenta o jogador ao protagonista mais carismático de toda a série, mas emocionalmente profundo, visceralmente viciante e se passa em uma Liberty City incrivelmente construída. O handbreak não funciona e faz o carro deslizar em todos os lugares como um maldito ski, e algumas missões secundárias, como a dos pigeons, podem ser um pé no saco para alguns, mas no geral, Grand Theft Auto IV uma obra-prima.
    Expand
  30. Jul 24, 2013
    10
    Reviews for this are probably a little too high mainly, because this is one of the first few great games to come out on the ps3. Although this game will keep playing for due to its compelling storymode in single player with several side missions and its online multiplayer has many different modes to keep you glued to the game. Also in first person story mode you can still roam around doingReviews for this are probably a little too high mainly, because this is one of the first few great games to come out on the ps3. Although this game will keep playing for due to its compelling storymode in single player with several side missions and its online multiplayer has many different modes to keep you glued to the game. Also in first person story mode you can still roam around doing whatever you want but the wanted level is more realistic seems tougher. The game does have glitches and cops have tried catching me after they hit my back bumper like I did something... Plus I had my police sirens on and was trying to catch someone and th police cars wouldn't get out of the way and I hit them and my car exploded. The busses in multiplayer are also glitchy and sometimes you could trapped under the map. Other than that everything was fine in the game to me. The critics grade should be more like a 91. Expand
  31. Sep 18, 2013
    10
    Pay absolute no attention to the ignorant buffoons that gave this masterpiece of a video game a negative score. Crybabies that no nothing about what makes a game playable and fun. This game is just that: playable and fun. The story, albeit dark, is brilliantly told, (there is one mission in particular that is absolute genius) the set of characters are the more colorful and engaging of anyPay absolute no attention to the ignorant buffoons that gave this masterpiece of a video game a negative score. Crybabies that no nothing about what makes a game playable and fun. This game is just that: playable and fun. The story, albeit dark, is brilliantly told, (there is one mission in particular that is absolute genius) the set of characters are the more colorful and engaging of any GTA game so far and the gameplay is polished. Oh, and the graphics are not bad at all. The effect used to make a rainy day look bleak and depressing is phenomenal. Make no mistake. This game deserves the hype. Expand
  32. Mar 22, 2015
    10
    10/10 ................................................................................................................................................
  33. PatL.
    May 3, 2008
    9
    It is definitely a great game, but I think that now it's getting overrated by many reviewers. I mean: it's great, but factors like innovations and defects like Framerate and some controls that don't work quite well (aim, for example) have been completely ignored. Of course this doesn't transform it in a bad game. Not at all. But it's not a perfect game at all and It is definitely a great game, but I think that now it's getting overrated by many reviewers. I mean: it's great, but factors like innovations and defects like Framerate and some controls that don't work quite well (aim, for example) have been completely ignored. Of course this doesn't transform it in a bad game. Not at all. But it's not a perfect game at all and it doesn't deserve all that hype. I really ask to reviewers to be more objective in the future, because there are limits to everything. Expand
  34. DazL
    Jul 8, 2008
    9
    Along with CoD4 and MGS this is a must have game for any PS3 owner. Graphically the game stands out from any of its predecessors and the gameplay as you would expect from the GTA series is superb. There are a few minor glitches in the targeting system, some features taken out from previous versions but the greatness of this game hugely outweigh the flaws and ultimately doesn't stop Along with CoD4 and MGS this is a must have game for any PS3 owner. Graphically the game stands out from any of its predecessors and the gameplay as you would expect from the GTA series is superb. There are a few minor glitches in the targeting system, some features taken out from previous versions but the greatness of this game hugely outweigh the flaws and ultimately doesn't stop this game from being absolute quality. Expand
  35. Tobias
    Apr 30, 2008
    9
    Brilliant story, great characters, fantastic atmosphere but the RAGE engine definitely has its problems - most notably the framerate is absolutely horrible and IMHO almost never reaches 30 fps. The PS3 version lacks antialiasing (360 has 2xAA) which is compensated by some sort of blur filter which makes everything a little bit too muddy. It's definitely not deserving 100%.
  36. EugeneT.
    May 19, 2008
    9
    A lot of people say that this game is a lot like all the other GTA in the series. But I ask you, is that not what all game series are are? From Tomb Raider to Duke Nukem to Fifa. They all follow their preset formats. GTA takes on the form of yet another villain ariving in Liberty City. You get all the things you got before and even more. There's nothing really bad about this game. If A lot of people say that this game is a lot like all the other GTA in the series. But I ask you, is that not what all game series are are? From Tomb Raider to Duke Nukem to Fifa. They all follow their preset formats. GTA takes on the form of yet another villain ariving in Liberty City. You get all the things you got before and even more. There's nothing really bad about this game. If you've played the other GTA games then you have a fair idea what you have to do, if you have never played it before it won't take long to get used to it. What makes this one slightly better than any other titles of the same name, is that it's not based on forming a gang. Remember the last GTA you had to form a gang, and it was all typical sterotypical American Style Gangsters. Well it's not this time around. You are integrated slowly into the Liberty City UnderWorld of corruption. Doing menial tasks to begin with, but with the use of Email and Mobile phone you stay in constant contact for missions. You forge relationships between the characters and even get the choice now and then to eliminate some of them. You make friends, and this allows you a break from the missions by visiting strip clubs, bars (getting drunk), play pool, bowling, darts and many other activities. The shooting and cop chases are totally revamped. The characters are interesting and plausible. Why did I give it a 9? Well here's the thing, every game that I buy there is never any sort of young people, animals or anything in there. No dogs, no cats, no kids, nothing really. It's all the same characters from adults to oap's. Now I'm not saying that you should be able to hurt the dogs, cats, fish, kids etc. it would be nice to see them. Because I've never visited a city that didn't have them. That for me takes the realism from the story and the game play. I know it's petty, but this day and age it can't be that hard to program so alternate characters. In fact you don't see grave yards or anything like. There are freighters parked at the docks you can't steal. Planes at the airport you can't steal. It just seems to me that you're going to build a city then you make all the vehicles accessible. There isn't even any bicycles, skateboards or anything there. You can't walk down a street these days without seeing some kids skateboarding, in any country. So for me, it gets a huge thumbs up, but the environment is a little stale and could use a brushing up of characters, like kids, dogs, cats, fish, a stray bear, and how about some fish in that water, a shark or something would be interesting. Expand
  37. RafaelP
    May 2, 2008
    10
    It's every great NYC movie made into a game. Everything just hits 10's!
  38. MarcV.
    May 2, 2008
    10
    One step closer to making gaming the entertainment medium!
  39. GuzzyL.
    May 31, 2008
    8
    The game is at first awesome and the content in the game is overwhelming. The missions are very well directed (Three Leaf Clover). The only downside to it is that it has a really slow beginning. I also would like my friends to call me less frequently (in the game :P) because somtimes they can get really annoying.
  40. LukeF.
    May 3, 2008
    10
    Quite possibly the best next-generation game so far.
  41. MorganC.
    May 4, 2008
    10
    Perfect, with only a few minor flaws that still don't detract from the game itself.
  42. NickU.
    May 4, 2008
    9
    This game has a lot of realism and makes the video game playing community take a real look at the series. Grand Theft Auto IV has become a next-gen game for a next-gen system. There are a lot of buildings that you can walk into like the previous games of the series, however the graphics and the modernization of the city very well makes up for this.
  43. JamesK.
    May 4, 2008
    10
    Best Game Ever
  44. RobertJ.
    May 4, 2008
    10
    World's best game!!
  45. FrankV.
    May 4, 2008
    10
    Great single payer! online mode is the best! Races are amazingly good!
  46. LimanimaL.
    May 5, 2008
    9
    What else is there to be said about this game? This game is just awesome. Taking a cab and enjoying the ride in the back seat, is one of the most realistic things I've ever seen on a video game. Fantastic game.
  47. BobW.
    May 6, 2008
    10
    It's been done to death, but never before on such a scale as this. Incredible, really.
  48. BobH.
    May 6, 2008
    8
    This is a great game, well designed and the story line has a great twist to it. Graphically i think this is the best game I have ever seen, but i think the missions are slightly too easy.
  49. EthanR.
    Jun 14, 2008
    8
    I understand why all of the critics give it a 100, it reaches a new level of realism and immersion. They go so far beyond imagination in terms of detail. But sometimes I wish there was an off switch for that stuff. I don't really feel like going on a boring date or driving across the city (though using a helicopter is great fun), but I always feel obligated to do it, as it is part of I understand why all of the critics give it a 100, it reaches a new level of realism and immersion. They go so far beyond imagination in terms of detail. But sometimes I wish there was an off switch for that stuff. I don't really feel like going on a boring date or driving across the city (though using a helicopter is great fun), but I always feel obligated to do it, as it is part of "real life." Well I have a life to do that stuff with, I just want to drive off cliffs and blow stuff up. Also, for a game that strives for realism, I can't help but feel like they could really do more with some easy tweaks. Some of the behaviors of people make no sense at all. I shot the driver of a car in the face and stole his car, and the passenger waited until I made a complete stop do get out of the car! Also, the aiming mechanism is crap. Try shooting the driver of a car. It is hard! Expand
  50. ShawnF.
    Jun 5, 2008
    9
    Great physics and story. The RAGE engine is beautiful and the city is well designed. However, the gameplay lacked some key GTA elements, such as buying safehouses or businesses. The multiplayer wasn't implemented very well and the removal of ambulance & fire truck missions was very disappointing.
  51. PatrickB.
    Jun 6, 2008
    10
    Amazing game. So what if it's not perfect? People just give it low scores because they're afraid poor little children may be corrupted by it or because they think they're smarter than other reviewers. All of the websites and magazines give it perfect scores because it's perfect despite its few flaws. It is utterly amazing and totally realistic.
  52. JackyJ.
    Jul 5, 2008
    10
    This game is one of, if not the best, game I have played in my whole life. The car textures are great, there are a large variety of weapons, and can do whatever you want to do in the city of Liberty City.
  53. Stuart
    Aug 10, 2008
    8
    Good game but simply not in msg4's class.
  54. Elwenil
    Oct 7, 2009
    9
    While I do not think this is the best game in the series, it is a very good game with an engaging storyline and memorable characters. The radio stations could use a lot of work as they lack a lot of the variety of San Andreas. As a matter of fact, the game lacks many aspects of San Andreas such as the large open world and variety of air vehicles. I found it strange that helicopters play a While I do not think this is the best game in the series, it is a very good game with an engaging storyline and memorable characters. The radio stations could use a lot of work as they lack a lot of the variety of San Andreas. As a matter of fact, the game lacks many aspects of San Andreas such as the large open world and variety of air vehicles. I found it strange that helicopters play a very small role in this game when flight was such an obsession with players in the last few games. Overall the game is very good and a must have for just about any gamer. Expand
  55. JoonasU
    Jan 8, 2009
    8
    almost great game. but there are few bad things about it. 1. the car controlls are way more crappier than in san andreas lets have an example: You speed up to 70 miles per hour then you SLIGHLY turn to left or right and BOOM you are doing 360 over and over and over again. so plz rockstar. make controlls as they were on san or vise city. oh and i dont even want to mention the motorcycle. almost great game. but there are few bad things about it. 1. the car controlls are way more crappier than in san andreas lets have an example: You speed up to 70 miles per hour then you SLIGHLY turn to left or right and BOOM you are doing 360 over and over and over again. so plz rockstar. make controlls as they were on san or vise city. oh and i dont even want to mention the motorcycle. And 2. PLZ FOR GOD SAKE MAKE THIS FRIEND OR GIRLFRIEND SYSTEM BETTER, it is for me that when finished a mission sum1 calls that "ooh lets go drinking or go to strip clup" it is fun... for while then it get's irritating like you need to go to some other place or you dont have much time to play he game sum1 like roman call let's go play pool, you say no and then what happens, he or she whines they like you lesser and something else. and it is terriple when 100 friends you are just thinking"oh shit when do they call or blablabla" you get my point. But in overall they maked the shootdowns better. graphics are better, and the overall is much better. but it still have some major bugs too like you get stuck on ladder where you need to restard the whole game so i give this game 8 out of 10 it is the game that everyone needs to buy. and in the end i just wish tho reach to inside the game. take that phone blow it up to million pieces and make it sure they will never have that phone thingy ever in gta series. Expand
  56. LukeZ.
    Nov 2, 2008
    8
    It's just like a movie; great story, great sound effects, great casting, great fun for a while, but then you leave the cinema never to see the movie again. I spent HOURS on San Andreas, causing mayhem with 2 pages of cheats and a multitude of weapons. Sadly, GTAIV only offers two tiny sets of weapons, a quarter of a page of cheats, which won't be that fun after a while. The It's just like a movie; great story, great sound effects, great casting, great fun for a while, but then you leave the cinema never to see the movie again. I spent HOURS on San Andreas, causing mayhem with 2 pages of cheats and a multitude of weapons. Sadly, GTAIV only offers two tiny sets of weapons, a quarter of a page of cheats, which won't be that fun after a while. The multiplayer, although interesting, doesn't suit countries or localities that have small amounts of players, who unfortunately experience lag. The game does little, to help those in that situation. Overall great, but no cigar. Expand
  57. RainyD.
    Oct 27, 2008
    8
    All the praiseworthy aspects of this game have already been been acclaimed over and over, so I won't bother with that and simply move on to what I want to say. Initially I gave this game a 9, a single point short of a perfect score due to the somewhat clunky controls when walking, driving and shooting. These are smaller annoyances, but the car handling doesn't seem natural when All the praiseworthy aspects of this game have already been been acclaimed over and over, so I won't bother with that and simply move on to what I want to say. Initially I gave this game a 9, a single point short of a perfect score due to the somewhat clunky controls when walking, driving and shooting. These are smaller annoyances, but the car handling doesn't seem natural when small sedans feel as backheavy as big stationwagons. Lately I withdrew another point when I switched from a 29" SD CRT TV to a 37" full HD LCD TV. The graphics looked impressive in SD, because it blurs out all the little imperfections, but on a large full HD TV these become painfully easy to spot and the sum of them is quite detrimental. Shadows in particular are so badly made they look like something from a game made 10 years ago, and people, cars and buildings look so rough around the edges sometimes you'd think they were partly pixel-based. Collapse
  58. JamesK.
    Apr 28, 2008
    10
    Best Game Ever
  59. VictorM.
    Apr 28, 2008
    10
    Best game ever
  60. JeffA.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    The words spectacular, jaw dropping, fantastic and breathtaking don't do justice to how great a game GTA IV is. GTA IV was make by 1,000 people at the cost of approximately $100,000,000 and the time, effort and attention to detail bleeds from this game. This is one game that will be spoken of in 20 years from now.
  61. FrankW.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    The sheer amount of detail is stunning. The city looks really lived in. The dialog is sharp, witty and any minor flaws can easily be overlooked when considering all of the options available to the player. Easily the greatest game this generation and most likely the greatest game I have ever played PERIOD.
  62. JimmyP
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    Beyond what I was expecting. I expected a great script, they include an incredible script. I expected awesome game play, they broke my legs and looked at me like I was an idiot. I expected a fantastic sense of humor, and was hit with a brilliantly insightful satire of American life. It truly rises above the notoriety of being an ultra violent cesspool of immorality that wants nothing but Beyond what I was expecting. I expected a great script, they include an incredible script. I expected awesome game play, they broke my legs and looked at me like I was an idiot. I expected a fantastic sense of humor, and was hit with a brilliantly insightful satire of American life. It truly rises above the notoriety of being an ultra violent cesspool of immorality that wants nothing but to corrupt the youth, and stands as a truly remarkable piece of digital art. 10 out of 10. Expand
  63. SteveT
    Apr 30, 2008
    8
    Good game but nothing new that we haven't already seen before. People giving this game perfect scores are just hopping on the hype wagon. Graphically I find it quite poor compared to some PC games. The game suffers from extreme blur with the more distant objects and I expect was done to keep the frame rate up. I expect the PC version to have much sharper graphics than the console Good game but nothing new that we haven't already seen before. People giving this game perfect scores are just hopping on the hype wagon. Graphically I find it quite poor compared to some PC games. The game suffers from extreme blur with the more distant objects and I expect was done to keep the frame rate up. I expect the PC version to have much sharper graphics than the console versions and if you have a good PC then you should wait for that version. Expand
  64. ChorneeF.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    This definitely the most anticipated game in 2008!
  65. MarkR.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    It's hard to fault this game - it simply rocks!
  66. GlennA.
    May 11, 2008
    8
    Masterfully made game with great attention to detail which creates an immersive game with few peers. Some issues graphically but otherwise a very crisp production. However it does not warrant a perfect score and clearly the 100% ratings are a reflection of the extensive marketing prior to and at release. It is further marked down for the gratuitous and excessive use of coarse language, Masterfully made game with great attention to detail which creates an immersive game with few peers. Some issues graphically but otherwise a very crisp production. However it does not warrant a perfect score and clearly the 100% ratings are a reflection of the extensive marketing prior to and at release. It is further marked down for the gratuitous and excessive use of coarse language, violence and sex that is inherent to the series. Parents should be very mindful of the mature content of this game and avoid buying it for younger children/teenagers. Expand
  67. SalG.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    having played all the games, even the original ones from ps1, this one definitely takes the cake.
  68. DillonB.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    Greatest game I've ever played. Great job Rockstar Games and Take-Two Interactive.
  69. IssaJ.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    The best. That's all I can say.
  70. Rudy
    May 14, 2008
    8
    This is not a revolutionary game. Its simply the next installment of the GTA series. I guess I'm too old to get into this game anymore. Graphics are nothing special either.
  71. SimonB.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    A truly amazing experience,very addictive
  72. AndrDT.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    This game is awesome. This is truly a must have game if you own a PS3. Its totally different from their predecessors, and its a good thing too.
  73. LukeR.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    Absolutely a masterpiece, this pulled me from WoW! and that's an accomplishment.
  74. B.T.R.
    May 2, 2008
    9
    I think a 100 score is a bit over-zealous and an effort to push the GTA series into the limelight. Bottom line, all of this has been done before, just not in such a large, living city such as Liberty City. The storyline so far (3.5 hours in) is great. There's great action, the AI is right on, the sound is great, but ultimately it's nothing all that ground-breaking to warrant a I think a 100 score is a bit over-zealous and an effort to push the GTA series into the limelight. Bottom line, all of this has been done before, just not in such a large, living city such as Liberty City. The storyline so far (3.5 hours in) is great. There's great action, the AI is right on, the sound is great, but ultimately it's nothing all that ground-breaking to warrant a 100 score. For crying out loud they don't even give Zelda for Wii a 100 and it broke all kinds of ground. Expand
  75. MikeG
    May 20, 2008
    10
    Quit your whining! This game is awesome.
  76. JamesT
    May 2, 2008
    10
    Fantastic game! Just go and buy it! You won't regret it!
  77. C.M.
    May 2, 2008
    10
    The brutalest game ever.
  78. MattS.
    May 23, 2008
    9
    Great game, only a few things that bug me, one being the ragdoll effect when you fly out of a car, but everything else is awesome, online is fun, though it can be laggy.
  79. LimanimaLima
    May 26, 2008
    9
    I give 8.8 to this game. The environment is awsome it makes me think: "wow, how did they manage to build an entire city with so much details?". But the game loses in gameplay. It's way too repetitive. "Go from point A to point B, get your mission, go from point B to point C, kill dude". I'ev played 40% of the game and I'm already tired of it.
  80. RobertV.
    May 2, 2008
    9
    I was extremely excited about this game, only to be slightly disappointed. I've played about two hours up till now and I like it, but I can't say I love it as much as VC or SA. Maybe I've just played GTA too much and gotten bored of it...anyways, graphics are a 10. I am not playing in HD right now and it still looks great; models in general look fantastic, damage looks I was extremely excited about this game, only to be slightly disappointed. I've played about two hours up till now and I like it, but I can't say I love it as much as VC or SA. Maybe I've just played GTA too much and gotten bored of it...anyways, graphics are a 10. I am not playing in HD right now and it still looks great; models in general look fantastic, damage looks great, environment also looks good. Gameplay so far is an 8; like I said, the concept is great, I might've just played the series too much and it seems a bit repetitive. Later on, I'll probably start getting into it more as the story gets more intense and more gameplay is explained; i.e. how the in-game internet works, how to access database in cop cars, etc. For everybody else, please pick this up as it is a fantastic game! Well worth the money. Expand
  81. JackT.
    May 2, 2008
    10
    Truly worthy of the 10. This game defines the generation and what it is possible to achieve with current technology. Enormous draw distances, euphoria physics / AI, lighting, HDR.. etc. The works. At lets not forget that the gameplay is second to none Amazing!
  82. Barry
    May 31, 2008
    8
    Could have been so much more. Physics, graphics seem to be the game's main strong points, but other than that it's a tad disappointing and simply wasn't worth the monsterous 12 o clock queues.
  83. MatB.
    May 3, 2008
    10
    Not perfect, but better than any other game I've ever played.
  84. BillyM.
    May 30, 2008
    10
    I think that GTA4 will definitely be long remembered and is an instant classic. It is incredible and no 2 times playing it are the same.It's way better than GTA San Andreas, graphics, engine, sound, characters, story, excellent game must-have. Also, multiplayer is incredible, no 2 times are the same and more than a few multiplayer modes which all suit any type of player.
  85. SebastianK.
    May 3, 2008
    10
    Hold on ocarina of time, here comes gta4!! the best game ever.
  86. SebasS.
    May 4, 2008
    10
    This is the best game ever.
  87. LoganM.
    May 4, 2008
    10
    The best GTA ever great graphics,best storyline,very fun multiplayer.
  88. KayN.
    May 5, 2008
    8
    As a guy said before me, 10 means perfect, this game is not perfect. Though this game is really good, it missed out on too many things that would have made it THE game. As other people have complained about, no haircuts, no tattoos, no car mods, no aeroplanes, cars have slippery tyres (though I'm a good driver), less weapons, hardly any gangs or gang wars, turf wars, no real perks, As a guy said before me, 10 means perfect, this game is not perfect. Though this game is really good, it missed out on too many things that would have made it THE game. As other people have complained about, no haircuts, no tattoos, no car mods, no aeroplanes, cars have slippery tyres (though I'm a good driver), less weapons, hardly any gangs or gang wars, turf wars, no real perks, such as buying massive mansions, businesses, night clubs and territory, that should not have been left out. I can understand why it has got so much critical acclaim as it is a technical achievement in gaming. But it feels as though reviewers are too afraid to say what they really feel. In the fear of being criticized. I can see this game isn't all it was cracked up to be. The multiplayer needs A LOT of work. They need to fix the technical issues such as continuous loading. It's not the perfect game, but since there has only been a few good games this gen, it has had a lot of praise. But I'm still angered that I have all this money and no Strip club, protection racket, car shop, Yacht, Casino or Mansion to spend it on Expand
  89. MarkH.
    May 5, 2008
    9
    Very good, slight graphical glitches at times, nothing serious, but still considerably better than the 360 version (which I owned before taking it abck and swapping it).
  90. SixS.
    May 5, 2008
    10
    Brilliant! One of the best games of all time. I can't wait for the PC version.
  91. AlanA.
    May 6, 2008
    10
    One of the best games ever made....EVER.
  92. JeffP.
    May 6, 2008
    10
    Everything is just incredible, a true sense of realism is brought out within the game.
  93. SC.
    May 6, 2008
    9
    GTA IV is a good game, sure, but who gives it 100% or 10 out of 10, really? Any game, for that matter. I'll give it a 9, yeah, but it's far from perfect. There are numerous stability issues and the aiming and shooting sequences (in particular) control like a dog.
  94. js
    May 9, 2008
    10
    Gameplay graphics everything speaks perfection
  95. DavidT.
    Jun 27, 2008
    10
    I'm very impressed with GTA IV. It seems RockStar has a good formula for making a Grand Theft Auto game and instead of changing it completely they tweak it and add more features. Now I imagine when you go from engine to engine some elements are lost, like physics. The car physics are difficult at first, but once you get the hang of it they become easy. Map is huge, lots of missions, I'm very impressed with GTA IV. It seems RockStar has a good formula for making a Grand Theft Auto game and instead of changing it completely they tweak it and add more features. Now I imagine when you go from engine to engine some elements are lost, like physics. The car physics are difficult at first, but once you get the hang of it they become easy. Map is huge, lots of missions, good characters and voice actors. I don't have a whole lot to complain about. For those who have been playing GTA from the beginning, you will find this addition to the series polished nicely. Expand
  96. Joey
    Jun 5, 2008
    8
    This Game is overrated by the press. Of course tt's very good and funny, but the missions are always the same. 100% is ridiculous.
  97. ArashR.
    Jul 25, 2008
    10
    This game had a great story and gameplay, but after it is done there really isn't much to do. You could do the side missions but lets face it they are there just to make getting 100% harder. This game got a 10 because of the online play. It has some issues on the ps3 version but when it works it is one of the best online games ever made.
  98. Anthony
    Aug 1, 2008
    10
    An incredible game, I don't see how you can bash the graphics, they are not great, but have the series graphics always been great, other than that incredible, a must buy.
  99. PranilT
    Aug 22, 2008
    10
    The best GTA game ever withe great graphics & more than expectedly good gameplay.
  100. AndyF.
    Aug 30, 2008
    8
    Definitely a strong addition to the series and a quantum leap in terms of city design and visuals. For those of you obessed with framerates et al, perhaps not quite the Crytek-fest you were hoping for, but the open-ended feel of the city more than makes up for this (besides, I think it looks just peachy). The combat is vastly improved (Gears of War has a lot to answer for), and missions Definitely a strong addition to the series and a quantum leap in terms of city design and visuals. For those of you obessed with framerates et al, perhaps not quite the Crytek-fest you were hoping for, but the open-ended feel of the city more than makes up for this (besides, I think it looks just peachy). The combat is vastly improved (Gears of War has a lot to answer for), and missions don't feel as random as before; I actually relished a fire-fight this time, whereas in San Andreas I prepared myself for being hosed down by an enemy I couldn't even target. I can't quite put my finger on it though, but *something* is missing now; some spark of tongue-in-cheek, a hint of cheekiness noticeably absent. Being able to get a taxi anywhere you want removes the tedium of having to drive halfway across the city to pick up your buddy, but isn't driving everywhere what this game is about? I finished the storyline in a few days, and just thought "Oh, is that it?". Though I didn't want to see Nico stealing jet-packs from Area 51 or parachuting onto a dam to blow up generators again, I did sort of miss that vein of silliness, just a little bit. SMile, Rockstar, it's only a game. Expand
Metascore
98

Universal acclaim - based on 64 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 64
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 64
  3. Negative: 0 out of 64
  1. Grand Theft Auto IV is not a perfect game, but it is fantastic through and through, from start to finish and beyond. It is so massive, vast and impressive that it is almost mind-boggling to imagine how much work must have gone into the game to come up with so much detail.
  2. But GTA IV will never get old, or start repeating itself. It will always offer anyone who turns it on an experience to savour.
  3. GTA4 is a traditional crime story through and through, with a script that rarely strays from its purpose, a pitch-perfect supporting cast, and an expert combination of in-game storytelling and crafted cut-scenes. [June 2008, p.80]