User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2430 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 2, 2010
    10
    After playing GTA III, Vice City and San Andreas it was hard to imagine being swept away again by another GTA game but man does this game deliver. The story, the characters, the setting and the game world are so well crafted and put together it's nice to see some developers still take time to prepare their works and not just milk a franchise with yearly releases.
  2. Dec 22, 2012
    9
    When I first played Gta IV I was instantly hooked. The atmosphere in the game was amazing. Missions were addictive, story was nice. there were many memorable characters and funny laughs. I rented this at first and played it for 22 hour then re-rented it and played it for 24 more hours and beat the game. This game is my 2nd favourite sandbox of all time and this game is awesome. The flaws I had with the game were the predictable missions. But none the less, an awesome game 9/10 Expand
  3. May 24, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. GAMEPLAY:

    Grand Theft Auto is renowned for having a sandbox, complete with a plethora of distractions like socializing and dating, going to clubs, bars, strip-clubs and just having a good time in game. You will definitely find a hard time getting bored in Liberty City, which is a whole different story. The city itself is huge, and at any glance no matter what burrow looks like Rockstar’s imagining of NYC but in their own GTA world.
    Combat at first glance may seem to be tricky but eventually you will get a handle on the combat system. The melee system consists of several different attacks that when used in different combinations can prove to be effective against the opponent. Gunfights can be a little boring but when in a large skirmish with the cops or online against waves of enemies will make lasting memories.

    Perhaps the finest points of combat in the game though is in the cars. There is nothing in the game that compares to doing a drive-by shooting or firing at the cops during a high-speed chase. Vehicular combat was fine-tuned perfectly that allows the player(s) to engage in awesome shoot outs on the road, no matter what the vehicle is... from a moped to an armored truck.
    Driving is easy, with basic controls for ALL vehicles though it may be hard to grasp the comfort of driving boats and aircraft. Perhaps the hardest vehicle to drive though are the motorcycles, they have a very high speed, horrible handling, and will pretty much launch you if you hit ANYTHING at a high velocity. Just another taste of reality but don’t expect to be a pro motorcyclist or pilot right off.

    SOUND/MUSIC:

    The game’s radio soundtrack is very unique and a lot of the songs fit well in not just the game but the story. Players can choose from an array of music like rock, hip-hop, rap, techno, and even talk shows. The citizens of liberty city all have very different personalities, and voices, Rockstar did a good job making the non-essential NPC’s seem unique.
    Other than the radio stations in the cars in the game, the game doesn’t have an “epic score” or an everlasting soundtrack that will have you streaming the web to listen to. But overall the sound quality of the guns, the people, the cars, and even the ambience really polish this game up and show how Rockstar games tried to make this game as realistic as possible.

    STORY:
    You play as Niko Bellic an eastern-european (it is never really made clear where Nikos is from) who just moved from his homeland to Liberty City. The game takes off with you joining your cousin Roman who has made himself a nice little taxi business that he calls the beginning of the “american dream”. Over the course of the game Niko has to fight bikers, russians, gangsters, and cops... when suddenly his past catches up with him.
    The plot spans from Niko going “from the streets of Liberty City to the skyline of wealth”. As the player helps different factions and crime lords, Niko himself finds out that America is no different than the very war and the troubling past he has suffered.

    ENGINE:

    Grand Theft Auto 4’s engine isn’t special by “today’s standards”. There are few bugs, but even the ones in game can turn out to be quite funny or amusing. Online gameplay is really great, and unique. Until Grand Theft Auto 5 comes out, Grand Theft Auto 4’s engine alongside Red Dead Redemption HAVE TO BE Rockstar’s finest works.
    Expand
  4. Feb 7, 2014
    9
    Despite the public opinion about violence in the GTA series, one can say this game is worthy of many praises. Firstly, it does not show a power-hungry as the protagonist, but a troubled man, disillusioned by corruption in society, despite his involvement in it. This makes the game much deeper and emotionally involving than the previous installment, GTA San Andreas. Although the designs of the buildings and vehicles are lackluster and mundane, the personalities of the characters fill the void left by the lack of any creative design in the game. The character-driven plot of this installment is a gem among all of the other installments in the GTA series. Expand
  5. Oct 15, 2011
    10
    an amazing game which highlights the superiority of the GTA series against other mediocre sandbox games. It improves upon previous GTA'S in every aspect and is a must own.
  6. Mar 12, 2012
    10
    As with previous GTA games, this one is packed with hours of action adventure fun in a sandbox that you can call yours. Shoot an old lady, blow up a helicopter, have complete fun causing a mini apocalypse. Make sure you buy the add ons for even more fun. Lost and damned and Ballads of gay tony. This game is yes, a step back from GTA SA, like no planes, no realistic clothing changing, no getting fat, no swimming underwater, etc, but its uber fun. Do you play online? This game is online and is SUPER fun. Wreck havoc on complete random strangers. Got a PSN? Add me: ccrogers15 Expand
  7. Jan 13, 2012
    10
    I've been playing this game on and off right since I got it in early 2011. This has the best controls I've ever used for driving in an action game. The lock-on shooting mechanics work surprisingly well and result in quick, satisfying shoot-outs, and the story, though hard to follow for twenty hours, is unbelievably good for a video game. A point off for some uneven texture sharpness. In cutscenes, it's very noticeable when the foreground is rather sharp and well animated, but the background settings seem so soft that they look like they're being viewed through wax paper. There's some pretty bad aliasing too (jagged edges that should be curved), and it's a pain to have to tap X or A to run. However, those gripes aside, this is consistently the most fun game I've ever played. Expand
  8. Apr 2, 2012
    10
    Didnt like it. It was good at first, but playing other Huge title games, it didnt stand out to me, they are focused on too much graphics! Bring San Andreas back!!
  9. Oct 13, 2012
    9
    GTA IV is more than a game. It's an experience that goes way beyond button bashing your controller. The story is magnificent but no surprises here. Everyone knows that Rockstar usually nails in this department. Technically the game is flawless for the common gamer (if there's any glitch didn't see it). Not a fan of the Multiplayer though. Other than this GTA IV will remain in gamers memory as a reference and it will be benchmarked by everyone. Expand
  10. Apr 7, 2013
    10
    I love this game is perfect everything is just awesome in every department the story the graphics, the gameplay is just perfect the general vibe that the game ends up giving you all together with the freedom it deserves a ten cause it's perfect
  11. Aug 17, 2013
    10
    10 out of 10.

    Excellent story. Unbelievable variation. Hilarious ragdoll physics. Incredible design. Amazing graphics. What else can I say? Grand Theft Auto IV surpasses any hype and brings on more of that open-world chaos that we love and hold dearly about the Grand Theft Auto series.

    But I do have some complaints... Firstly, some missions can feel repetitive. It's constantly about
    stealing things, killing targets and escaping whoever is chasing you. Of course it's fun, but it's bit too much a times. Also, in many missions, you are told to kill the person you're chasing, but you cant because you have to reach a cutscene or a certain point before they can actually take damage. That is misleading, quite annoying and just a waste of bullets.

    But over-all, such small gripes are, of course, nothing that can pull down this game from a perfect 10 out of 10 score, thanks to the things mentioned on the first row.
    Expand
  12. Jun 25, 2012
    9
    Spectacular game. One of my favorite games in this generation. The amount of freedom in this game is simply astounding...you can literally go anywhere and do anything you can think of. Almost every game has some major limitation that prevents you from doing something, but this game has almost no limitation. You can drive cars, drive motorcycles, drive boats, drive helicopters, jump you car off of ramps, run around on foot, shoot whatever you want, and blow up whatever you want...the fact that you can do all of these things in the same game is very impressive. No other game has so much going on in it, and yet Rockstar made all of these things fun and executed them well. Some games struggle to get one of these things right, yet Rockstar does them all well. Not to mention the city is interesting and full of variety, which makes it a great playground to drive around in...I love that the city has a lot of hills and uneven areas - this allows you to gleefully make your car spin out, jump, roll over, or whatever else you want to do with it...and the awesome car physics give your car a great sense of weight, which makes it so satisfying to watch your car soar through the air and come slamming down as the body wobbles from the impact. The car physics alone make this game worth playing. I actually think GTA's driving feels better and actual racing games. After experiencing this game, I can't see how any other game can be placed in the same league - the sheer amount of stuff crammed into this game just can't be matched. Expand
  13. Aug 15, 2010
    9
    Grand Theft Auto 4 is a great game however, it does have its flaws.For example, missions can get repetitive, the online mode does not have a well paced leveling system, and it also makes it very easy for people to spawn camp, although this mainly only happens when the spawn distance is set to near i think that the developers should have made the game so that it can sense when this may be happening and spawn you somewhere else automatically. So to wrap it all up very little is wrong with this game and only has minor problems. Expand
  14. Oct 28, 2010
    10
    I thoroughly enjoyed this game right from the day i got it and to this day i still enjoy playing it. The story is very well written and does its best to give players the freedom of choice from time to time. The multi player is good it has a lot of variety to it which makes it very enjoyable for players
  15. Sep 2, 2010
    10
    Quite simply, the most engrossing Sandbox game available for consoles. It may have lost the hilarity of San Andreas and the style of Vice City, but as a story, it shoves both of the previous two games down a hill. Moving, emotional, funny, sad and with a bitter/sweet ending, this game is definately worth the 25+ hours you can sink into it.
  16. Sep 27, 2010
    10
    Ahh, GTA IV....my personal favorite on my small library of games. I think the storyline is surprisingly interesting, with the plot twists and everything. I love the vast expanses of the newly rendered Liberty City. It looks much like NYC, so they have that down pat.
  17. Oct 15, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Grand Theft Auto Iv this game is very realistic but not that realistic i have got this and have played it twice nearly completed it for a second time but after a bit you do get bored of as you`v played it for long and you know everywhere but something still amaze me such as the quality`s of the cars and how fast they go this game does have very good graphics the graphics are amazing also from start to last the game does impress youv got alot of diffrent choices to choose from as which person to kill first and you get suprises from each of them .The first hand shooting on this game is actally quite amazing but the bad thing is when you aere going so fast in your car the tv will glitch adn freez the glitches on this are quite good as you can go online and you have to go to the secound islnd their is a swing there which if you keep hitting your car at it it flings you so far in the sky .This game would be my secound choice if i had it on a list even though it is good its not that good if you keep playing it and you get use to everything themusic on the game is quite intresting the radio i like is BEATS 87.2 this one has alot of rap on the radio.This game does amaze you some points as i bet you didnt know that you can give tramps money and also you have got alot of challeneges to complete in the game you have to shoot pigions to unlock something also you can ramp off ramps and fly and this will give you suprises i would appreiacte for looking Thanks for looking. Expand
  18. Nov 16, 2010
    10
    Grab a beer and wonder at the city lights and skylines that ooze of atmosphere. Atmoshere for me is what sets GTA apart from it's wannabees and clones. Just to peruse the city in a taxi is a joy in itself. The virtual world laid out before you is staggering. If the game had no plot and was just a free sprawling city that would be enough for me. Not surprisingly there is a plot and a damned good one. The game has few flaws in my book, the only flaw would be that previous incarnations may have taken a tiny amount of shine off this version , but even then not much. Great fun online and just as good chilling by yourself with a Scotch overlooking the statue of liberty. Expand
  19. Dec 20, 2010
    10
    A perfect game. Liberty city is absolutely beautiful. The story is absorbing. I could not put the controller down. The missions are varied and fewer time limited missions, which was a frustrating factor in previous games is a welcome change. The addition of the other minigames, a friend system, girlfriend system, etc., all contribute to this masterpiece. There are so many good things for this I don't even know what to say. Just buy it and play for yourself. Expand
  20. Nov 4, 2010
    9
    i have loved all of the GTA game sand this is no let down, provides hours of fun whether you follow the story line or go off and cause mayhem in the city..... the multi-player also adds another layer of fun whether your in the mood for a free for all or playing missions......
  21. Dec 7, 2010
    10
    Ive been playing GTA IV for over 20 years now its amazing ive been able to jump off the empire state building only to slide down the pyramids and land in amsterdam there i smoked weed
  22. Dec 16, 2010
    10
    THAT'S IT!THE BEST GTA EVER!Man this game is so good that is the best GTA game and best Xbox 360/PS3 game!This game is really good!No joke!The action BLAZES a lot!The perfect GTA game!
  23. Apr 11, 2012
    9
    Grand Theft Auto IV is a great game with a couple of irritating faults. Firstly, the world of Liberty City is quite drab and bland compared to the likes of San Andreas. In the same vein, the craziness of the series has been reeled in and sacrifices a lot of fun for realism. The game is also FAR too long. It just keeps going and going and going... If you want to see the end of the game, prepare to lose a huge chunk of your life in doing so! But all of these complaints ultimately mean nothing because GTAIV gives you much more good than bad. First and foremost, GTA is still the devil's playground. Want to blow off some steam? Roll a grenade into the hospital waiting room, baseball bat some policemen to death or stab a bunch of homeless people in the central park toilets. It's really sick and twisted but unbelievably hilarious. It's would be shocking if it wasn't so damn silly and glib. The multiplayer (particularly the racing) is also great and has very long legs, with people still playing online to this day. So yeah, There are certainly some quibbles but in the end GTAIV is a fantastic game. Expand
  24. Dec 31, 2010
    10
    Truly the best game I have ever played by a mile.
  25. Feb 8, 2011
    10
    Possibly the finest open world game ever created, and easily the best social satire ever concieved. A world were people live and breathe the lives of every one of us. From flipping open cell phones and chatting, going for coffee, having trouble parallel parking, hobo's at the bus stop, GTA4 is the single most immersive game world I have ever seen. Combine a lengthy campaign with a fantastic story, brilliant dialogue, amazing graphics, great music, unthinkable scale (the buildings loom over you as drive through the downtown and its a beauty to behold), and hundreds of hours worth of stuff to do... oh and how about all of that WITH 8 players online? GTA4 is a modern masterpiece. When I first played it in 2008 my jaw was floored. Now in 2011 after playing it all again with the two (also incredible) DLC campaigns, I can say my stance is virtualy unaltered, if not improved. You are not allowed to claim to be a gammer without experiencing GTA4. In my top 3 games of all time. Expand
  26. Feb 22, 2011
    10
    These games just get better and better. Captivating story, great graphics, fun gameplay and some humour. Quite simply the best game around. New York or should i say liberty city is brilliantly realised.
  27. Apr 3, 2012
    9
    San Adreas was a much better game. That being said, this has far better graphics and AI, and it separates itself from the other games by moving in a direction that's different. The map is a bit too small, and there's not many easter eggs... but it's still fun to drive around shooting at stuff and then launching your character out of windshields for hours on end.
  28. Apr 2, 2011
    10
    This game is a mindless package of your wildest fantasies of death, destruction, shooting, sex, drugs, rock 'n' roll and fast cars. The 4th generation in the hugely popular Grand Theft Auto franchise sees you as Niko Bellic, an Eastern European immigrant who comes to Liberty City to see his cousin Roman, who is supposedly rich and famous. The truth is that all Roman has is a seedy apartment, a small taxi company and is also thousands of dollars in debt to some unfriendly gangsters. So, typical GTA story; you need to work your way to the top of the ladder but to do so you must complete missions for various mob bosses, drug dealers and corrupt cops. The missions are genuinely fun and each one is perfect length. However, the real star of the show is Liberty City itself. The map is split into about five different islands, the main one being Manhattan or Algonquin as it is known in the game. The city is based off of New York City, and you will see plenty of iconic landmarks such as the Empire State Building, Chrysler Building and even the Statue of Liberty! My one complaint is that the huge size of the map is both a blessing and a curse, because to complete certain missions, you need to drive all the way back to them if you die or get arrested. The gameplay is fast and furious, and you will handle many different weapons throughout. My favorite is the combat shotgun. The cars are good too, and apart from cars you can steal bikes, trucks, police cruisers, ambulances, garbage trucks and even some helicopters are thrown in there, but sadly the BMX from San Andreas does not return. All these cars and open ended gameplay are enough to keep anyone occupied even without doing any missions. Overall, GTA IV is a roller coaster ride that demands your full commitment and it is simply the best action game on the PS3, bar Red Dead Redemption. Expand
  29. May 8, 2011
    9
    Very good open world sandbox game. The story is engaging and so is the lead character. 1 point off for graphics but it still gets a great 9 rating from me.
  30. Jun 3, 2011
    10
    Rockstar has done it again. This is the best GTA ive played. Also, give Rockstar some credit at least for creating Liberty City. It may not be as big as San Andreas but its big enough.
  31. Oct 10, 2011
    10
    In my opinion this is a masterpiece of a game and is still running in my ps3 thanks to the multiplayer and great gameplay.This game was one of my reasons why I even bought the ps3. Sure the other GTA:s (like Vice City and San Andreas) had more stuff in them but this is the first gta in this generation, so it makes it like GTA 3, which was the first gta of the previous generation (and loved it too). Cant wait for the next GTA. [HATERS GONNA HATE] Expand
  32. Jul 19, 2011
    9
    This game is one of the best sandbox games ever. Not the best, but one of the best. Grand Theft Auto IV is fun. Just fun. Pure fun. Though sometimes you may get bored, there still is a billion things to do. The city is so alive and the graphics are great, the car damage is one of the best in any sandbox video game. The handling of the cars, I admit, is not so great. They're just so hard to control, they sway left and right and it sometimes it's incredibly frustrating. The other vehicles besides motorbikes are fine, the main problem is the cars and bikes. The characters and kooky and the is a lot of vulgar language but the story and characters are very interesting. The game is flawed, it isn't perfect but there is tonnes of fun to be had in Liberty City. Expand
  33. Mar 23, 2014
    9
    This is the first GTA game I've ever played for myself. Other times, I played GTA games at a friend's house and we would do random funny stuff and try escape the cops. I borrowed this game from a friend and I was able to play the story. Man, I enjoyed it. You play as Niko Bellic, a Slavic man who travels to the US in search for a better life. But then he has to confront his past when he was a soldier in the Yugoslav Wars and then you want to see how things turn out. I heard that Niko is the most humane GTA protagonist, and that the protagonists in GTA V are just jerks, but I'd like to see for myself. There's lots to do and hilarious stuff does happen. You should get this game if you haven't already, even if its 6 years old. Stay tuned for my review of GTA V (if I ever should hehe). Expand
  34. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    Great game.. I think its the best one in the series since San Andreas, the graphics are amazing, the combat is geat , and the game is better than other open world games, i dont know about peole but think its an amazing game.

    PS: i had to give this game a perfect 10 to counter all those trolls one the forums that said they will rate this game 0 , my real score is 9/10
  35. Feb 24, 2012
    10
    GTA IV (along with uncharted 2,3) is by far the best game this gen! I dont why people hat it.. its an AMAZING game, The story and graphics are top-notch... i gave it 10/10
  36. Nov 7, 2011
    10
    GTA has been one of the world's biggest video game franchises, and GTA IV just helped the game get bigger. After i played GTASA i thought Rockstar Games woudn't be able to make a better GTA, well... they proved me wrong, GTA IV is worth all your money and time so if you love video games either your familiar with GTA or this is the first time you buy a video game of this type. YOU WON'T REGRET IT.
  37. Nov 16, 2011
    9
    Good grafics, great story-telling, great characters, nice drivng physics and the gratest game-city Liberty City, Baby! Negative: drive-by shooting a bit difficult, car-brakes, missions are a bit monoton. All in all for me as an big gta fan, it's one of the best GTA Games. 9/10
  38. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    Where should i start, GTA IV is one of the best games i have played in a while, after all it was GTA that turned me into a gamer. Play as Niko Bellic and hlep him confront in problems of loan sharks, the mob, and the cops. GTA IV really makes you feel for your character, you will start to grow on Niko and his family members as you play on, but it doesnt end, GTA IV introduces a new Multiplayer, wreck havoc in Liberty City with your friends online together, there are many modes availabe such as team deathmatch,etc. This game is amazing, Rockstar really nailed it this time, but then again, how often does rockstar fail? Expand
  39. Dec 1, 2011
    10
    An absolutely amazing game. The story is deep, and compelling; on multiple occasions, the game prompts you with a "moral choice", if you will, and in no other game have I been so stumped, and thought so hard on the repercussions of my actions. The characters in this game are also really impressive, each individual expressive, and characterized out the ass (note: this is a good thing). Gun play is responsive and fun, especially since your enemies react to each bullet differently, depending what gun you use, where you shoot them, and where you shot them before. Cars handle hyper-realistically, and when you hit stuff, your vehicle deforms in ways I've never seen in a game.

    Grand Theft Auto IV easily ranks in my top 3 games of all time, sharing the honor with Half-Life and Skyward Sword.

    Bravo, Rockstar; you are an incredibly mature, and intelligent developer, and I can't **** wait for Grand Theft Auto V.
    Expand
  40. Apr 19, 2012
    10
    It was hard to imagine what more could Rockstar deliver after the near-perfect PS2 ''not-trilogy'' of GTA III, Vice City and San Andreas; and the news that Grand Theft Auto IV would return to Liberty City and embrace a more serious style of story and gameplay made many people worry. Well, Rockstar did it once again, and I dare to say this is the best game of the series to date. GTA IV delivers a perfect combination of solid gameplay, compelling story and stunning graphics. Characters are more real and charismatic than ever, to the point where you find yourself saying that the new thieving/murderous protagonist Niko Bellic is a good person. All characters shine, from the most important ones to the ones that give you just a couple of missions; and this is powered up by great dialogue and voice acting. For the first time in the series the city fells alive, and at every turn you find a new, interesting area to explore. For those who expected the crime havoc of the previous installments, a little disappointment will come: GTA IV really is a lot more realistic than its predecessors. But give it a chance, enjoy the great graphics and soundtrack and you will find yourself enjoying this great game in no time. Expand
  41. Dec 26, 2011
    10
    after having so much fun playing vice city stories and liberty city stories gta 4 makes them too look like your average game better graphics more fun and much more graphics and extra realism makes this the best gta ever fact.
  42. Jan 4, 2012
    9
    GTA IV is a massive, fun, addictive, incredible game. It has a fantastic storyline which kept me hooked for hours on end. But in the end that was the only thing that kept me hooked. I was never bothered to explore Liberty City and destroy the entire place. I finished the story and felt satisfied. But I didn't bother doing anything else afterwards. There just isn't enough in this game to keep me playing. The fact that this game is more realistic isn't a problem. In fact it's one of the best things about GTA IV. You aren't some guy who just runs around the city wreaking havoc, destroying vehicles, using wacky weapons and vehicles etc. Instead you feel like a member of Liberty City. You don't feel like a superhuman who can take tonnes of bullet damage and someone who can just toy around with the city, you are a citizen. A citizen who gets tied up with drug dealers, gangs, the police and a lot more bad people. This is one of the best things about GTA IV. However there are just too many problems for it to be a 10. Bad vehicle handling, absolutely god awful helicopter controls, wonky cover mechanics, annoying auto- aim system that barely ever let's you switch targets without having to change to free aim, then go to auto aim again. It has incredibly annoying difficulty spikes that leave me punching the couch and yelling at the TV, and the stupid system where you have to hand out with your friends for them to like you. But there are still a lot of great things about this game, the sheer size of the city, the fantastic story filled with a great cast of memorable characters, good gameplay, incredible graphics ( even to this day), and a lot of things to do. Unfortunately, it just doesn't have that lasting appeal that so many people say that the GTA games do. GTA IV disappointed me a bit. But that little bit is so small, that this game is still so incredible. This was the first GTA game I ever played, and I only bought this early last year, and I can really see why the critics raved about this game. This is a must buy for people who still haven't played this masterpiece. Expand
  43. Feb 1, 2012
    9
    Having played all of Rockstars games that have been released on the various PlayStation systems, GTA stands out as my favorite series. GTA IV is right up there with the previous editions. Loved the graphics, loved the sound, loved the mini games, the only real dissappointment for me was the friendship part of the game. It was a hassle to me, to have to go and leave what i was wanting to do, to go and hang out and bowl, or play pool, or darts. I hope this is not implemented in any new versions of GTA. Other than the friendship part I thought everything else was pretty much what I expected. I didn't mind the more serious tone of this game, but it also wasn't a selling point for me either. Expand
  44. Feb 27, 2012
    9
    Grand Theft Auto IV is a game for the ages, one that is obviously included in gaming halls of fame and remembered fondly by everyone who was there to play it when it was released. We would never have thought that that by retreading the same patch of ground a studio could leave us feeling like we have just played one of the best videogames of all time. Yes, there's still the freedom to cause havoc, and inevitably you do; the difference is that you're no longer impelled to toy with GTA IV's world in quite the same sadistic way - you live in it. After playing GTA III, Vice City and San Andreas it was hard to imagine being swept away again by another GTA game but this game really delivers. The story, the characters, the setting and the game world are so well crafted and put together it's nice to see some developers still take time to prepare their works and not just milk a franchise with yearly releases. It of course comes with it's flaws though; The driving has become rubbish, mainly because of the brakes not working, And the framerate is a little choppy. Expand
  45. Feb 18, 2012
    10
    GTA IV is another prime example of perfection in video games. It's not the greatest game of all time, but it's one of the only games that I can say surpassed my own expectations. It's perfect in the way that it does everything that it wants to do, and nothing more. Where most games in this generation focus most on features, this game focuses on core gameplay, story, and physics. From the driving, to the shooting, to the movements, everything is flawless. This being the first GTA on the 7th generation of consoles, it's quite bleak regarding what you can and can't do, but as I said that's not the point. The feature's will come in the next installation. This time around Rockstar focused on creating the best game engine they could possibly make, and they really out-did themselves here. The time and painstaking attention to detail is what makes this game such a masterpiece. Rockstar take gaming and turn it into an artform. You will not be customizing your character in outrageous clothing, nor will you be customizing your ride into an ultimate pimp mobile. What you will be doing is having a blast shooting up the streets of Liberty City, drifting around town in your choice of car, and marveling at the utter beauty of it all. It sounds simple, and it is, but it's perfect. It feels perfect and it plays perfect. You can take this experience online as well. You can run around the streets of Liberty City with 16 player multiplayer, stretched across a plethora of game modes. Some of the greatest multiplayer is to be found here. The story is as well fantastic. You play an immigrant coming to America on a promise of your cousin's that it's a high life of women and money. Come to find out your cousin is full of **** you'll be working from the ground up doing just about every criminal activity you can imagine. Though the main reason to travel the journey is in finding and killing someone that had ruined your life. The story takes dips and turns with every encounter, and the characters you meet along the way are all equally entertaining and interesting. This game was more than what I anticipated in that it focuses on what it should be focusing on unlike most games. A game is nothing without it's core gameplay, and Rockstar's knowledge of that earns them praise by most every critic. The game might not allow you to do this and it might not allow you to do that, but what you can do, you can't do better anywhere else in gaming. And that is what makes this game such a masterpiece. Expand
  46. Mar 6, 2012
    9
    The first GTA game that I was interested enough to play-through. This game is an instant classic in my opinion. From the fun missions to the unforgettable finale it was definitely a experience I'll not soon forget.
  47. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    One of the best games this gen! , I cant believe how some people gave this game such low scores! Its an AWESOME! game.. I recommend this game to every "REAL" gamer out there
  48. Mar 15, 2012
    9
    I've never been a fan of the GTA series, but after playing GTAIV it totally changed my mind. This game is entertaining in so many ways. Multiplayer can be really addicting when you play with friends. Nothing is more fun than shooting your way out of the cops way while your car is on fire.
  49. Apr 11, 2012
    9
    Rockstar has delivered another amazing game. It's got everything you could ask for in a video game. Though some people say the graphics are dull, it's a realistic city and I got blown away at the look of buildings, vehicles and the environment. The gameplay is fun, the missions feel and look creative and the characters are believable. After travelling the city and playing the missions for several hours this game can get you hooked in...but the game is short from perfect. GTA IV has it's problems like frame rate issues and a good amount of glitches. The driving mechanics aren't perfect and combat is improved but could be better. Though I must point out that the cover and shoot mechanics won't dissapoint. This game will take a while to complete and the online multiplayer is a blast. GTA IV may not feel and/or look the same as previous GTA games like San Andreas or Vice City but it's a must buy for GTA fans or if you just want to have a fun time. Expand
  50. May 25, 2012
    9
    Strong story, strong game, not my genre of gaming but still really enjoyed playing through this.

    Well worth the time invested if you haven't done so already.
  51. May 22, 2012
    9
    This is one of the best GTA games for one simple thing. Niko Bellic is the greatest character ever in an open world game. The way his life's story is told, and how they treat the character like a human and not a video game character is really nice. All of the characters in this game are through the roof. For gameplay the one gripe I have is how Niko handles a bike, it's garbage. And the radio commercials are great, but the music they chose is debatable. Besides these two small things, this is one of the best games this generation, I've actually played through the story 7 times now. Expand
  52. May 12, 2012
    10
    Just ignore the trolls and naysayers this is the best game ever at this point you don't even need to do any missions since you would be wasting hours beating and pushing people off cliffs in other cars or train tracks.
  53. May 18, 2012
    10
    probably the best open world action-adventure video game made to date. There is so much to do and explore, even after you're done with the 20+ hour amazing storyline. Everything is beautiful and realistic in this game. And the online is suprisingly entertaining, a place where I can mess around for fun.
  54. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    What happens when you've crammed excellent physics, a really engaging plot line, hilarity, crime, and decent graphics into 1 video game? Grand Theft Auto IV. This game is nothing BUT fantastic, and if you actually have a real sense of humour, you would laugh at the flying cars blowing up in mid air while rotating in circles. It may not sound that great when you just read it from here, but believe me, you have GOT to try this game for yourself if you want any kind of fun. Expand
  55. Jul 2, 2012
    10
    The 2nd Best sandbox game, after GTA San Andreas. If only the adding some of the stuff CJ could with Niko Bellic. More custom mods for the cars and motor bikes. One item I miss, is the bmx bike, i hope they will put in the new GTA V game.
  56. Jul 20, 2012
    9
    I Love GTA's, I started from GTA:London in childhood, i loved it! I skipped GTA 3 but then my uncle did show me Gta Vice:City I WAS AMAZED oh my god, cars breaking and stuff. GTA:SA was my absolute favorite + online was amazing but GTA IV, IT looked epic, graphics and all. but something was missing.. where was the awsome planes and country? :( Story was with good sense of humor and enjoyable. Good game! 9/10 Expand
  57. Jul 21, 2012
    10
    A phenomenal game which is perhaps the best game to come out on the PS3 so far. I have played the other GTAs and I felt that GTA 3 and Vice City were the best of the series with San Andreas not quite delivering up to the standards that we expect from such a great gaming franchise. The developers at Rockstar must have had a similar thinking process as they stepped up their efforts to produce a game which delivers in every aspect. Expand
  58. Sep 19, 2012
    10
    Análisis por leandrogamer para metacritic, This review is in spanish!!!! Este análisis es en español!!!
    Grand theft auto IV: jugabilidad: un diez cerrado, los controles son cómodos y muy buenos, fácil de adaptarse a estos.
    historia: grandiosa historia, es emocionante y llena de personajes muy carismáticos, un ejemplo de estos es Roman bellic , un
    grandioso personaje que a la vez de ser gracioso se mete fácilmente en líos. Pero el verdadero personaje que llega hasta los extremos en carisma es little jacob... no en realidad es NIKO BELLIC, su historia, su pasado, su vida todo en el esta bien hecho.
    gráficos: Aquí en este aspecto podemos decir aunque este análisis es del 2012 que este juego tiene de los mejores gráficos de las consolas de esta generación... no puede compararse con un skyrim ni con uncharted 3 pues estos son de estos años pero comparado con lo visto en el 2008 (año en el que salio) podemos decir que los chicos de rockstar se lucieron!!! un 10 tecnología: impresionantes las físicas del juego, el uso de euphoria y RAGE es fenomenal, los choques y los movimientos ultra naturales le valen a este juego un 10 en tecnología.
    sonido: grandioso un 10 cerrado, la cantidad de acentos que tiene este juego no se compara con ninguno, las radios hasta la lluvia están muy bien, mejor dicho excelentes a nivel sonoro, repito un 10 bien merecido.
    innovación: innova mucho, el uso del celular, del Internet, un multiplayer sin tener que recurrir al equipo SAMP, este juego innova y mucho!!!!! no se podría mencionar todo lo que innovo pero lo justifico con este 10.
    Finalmente podemos decir dos cosas malas de GTA IV:
    1) Puede que halla unos ligeros pero casi no notorios problemas en las físicas del juego pero no perjudican el resultado final de tecnología ni del juego 2)Que no dispongas el tiempo para poder jugar este grandioso juego
    Lo mejor: La historia, te atrapa ademas de que cuenta la posibilidad de elegir el destino de algunos personajes y los DLC !!!
    Espero que les haya gustado este análisis, lo hice para que haya un análisis que no tenga que ser traducido.
    Expand
  59. Dec 27, 2012
    10
    Grand Theft Auto IV! So many things to say about this game! Rockstar's epic is simply amazing, and that is the reason it is the highest rated game on Metacritic. The story is amazing, it is fantastic throughout, and you can feel that a lot of work has been placed into it by the developer. Niko as a character is very well developed, a soldier coming into Liberty City, to the land of opportunity, to start a new life with his cousin Roman, but to also uncover some of the secrets of his past. This story will not be forgotten, and I find myself still knowing what Niko says throughout specific cut scenes. This story you will play again and again and you will never get bored of it. The real star of the game is Rockstar's imagination of New York City, Liberty City. So detailed and so closely related to NYC, so it is impossible not to love it! Also the cars, so realistic.
    This is one of my favorite video games ever, as it combines the fun combination of Grand Theft Auto into a more serious story, in a city where money is the key.
    This game should be in every gamer's collection, along with the 2 expansion packs of the game (especially The Ballad of Gay Tony.)
    Rockstar has simply done it again with this beautiful game, and pushes the bar even higher on open world games. The leap to the High Definition era is so big, and you will notice it just by comparing it to San Andreas. Of course, the game does not contain all the crazy things that San Andreas had like jet packs and planes, but it is beautiful in its own unique way. A must have!
    Expand
  60. Oct 7, 2012
    9
    The brilliant gangster epic enthusiastic across the board. Starting with the very realistic graphics with impressive light effects, to use exciting and rich story that draws you from the start in its spell.
  61. Oct 5, 2012
    10
    GTA IV. a Masterpiece from Rockstar Games. don't listen to others its a GOOD GAME, STORY, everything. dont complain about the frame rate, its a 2008 game.
  62. Oct 17, 2012
    10
    GTA IV is one of the greatest experiences I've ever had. It is a must have for PS3 & 360 owners. It offers amazing graphics and game play. This game is huge its fun exploring the city and you can finally go in buildings it so fun having a massacre at the hospital. Even better than GTA 3 this game is the best in the series
  63. Oct 9, 2012
    10
    Best game ever. Such a deep storyline and a few jaw dropping moments. Gameplay and driving is unreal realistic. And the characters are deadly. This game is the best GTA yet
  64. Nov 9, 2012
    10
    Awesome game, I don't even have any words to describe it. Even in 2012 it is still one of the most revolutionary and graphically spectacular games. It exceeds many of the free-roam game today. Cant wait for GTAV
  65. Nov 17, 2012
    10
    I keep good memories from this videogame. It was the first PS3 game I bought, the first I finished... It was made in 2008, and the graphics are still gorgeous nowadays. The best GTA talking about the story. Perhaps, a little bit more weird or absurd would make this game funnier. But, with his serious argument, this game is amazing.
  66. Nov 15, 2012
    9
    When this game first came out, I would have given it a 10. Being that I'm playing this in 2012, I have to rate it slightly lower. Don't get me wrong - the graphics still hold up, the game is fun, and the storyline is great. But there is one major complaint that I have that has been rectified in recent games - the controls. It is frustrating to fight in this game and the driving mechanics are... odd. If these two issues are addressed in GTA V, the game will be solid. Expand
  67. Jul 13, 2013
    9
    Grand Theft Auto bringing back a much larger world with a more for the story game unlike san andreas where you probably spent most of your time beating up hookers, hobos and the police and nato force. GTA4 brings you a wonderful cast of characters where you go in and fight for your American dreams.
  68. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    It is impossible to accurately express the dazzling heights of game-making Rockstar reached in creating GTA IV. A game so immersive it became philosophical, GTA IV is the pinnacle of the series so far. Niko Bellic is a truly-likeable protagonist, turning the series away from Saints Row-esque stupidity in favour of more realism and true meaning. Congratulations Rockstar, you've conquered.
  69. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One of the best GTA in the series for sure. The same good action, same good fun, same good shootings in the street with the police and the gangs. This is what i call a good and interesting stories. I felt so bad in the ending because of the Niko girlfriend's death (don't remember the name right now, played the game one or two years ago) and i love games that make me really feel the story that i almost cried like in the Red Dead Redemption ending. One of the best third shooter games i played and one of the top games on this generation. Perfect 10 in this game, perfect story, great gameplay, funny characters and cruel characters made this game so good! GTA San Andreas, GTA IV and Vice City stories are the best! Expand
  70. Dec 2, 2012
    9
    Great game! Loved the story, kept me interested in the game for a long time. The multiplayer could have been a bit better and more exciting. Also would have liked to see a bicycles and more cars in the game.
    But overall it's definitely worth buying
  71. Dec 17, 2012
    10
    There is not a single technical flaw with this game, however, that doesn't stop it from being under review of its entertainment factor. The only thing though is that it's just as fun. The script and dialogue is better than one would see in a high budget movie, all game mechanics are top notch, it plays smoothly, so much attention to detail you could waste time not even doing anything. "GTA IV" is a definite no-brainer and should be a part of any gamer's collection. Expand
  72. Dec 29, 2012
    10
    Grand Theft Auto 4 is easily the best game I have ever played. The adaption of New York in this game is phenomenal, and the storyline is the most exciting and interesting I have ever experienced. Rockstar did an amazing job on this game, and I don't think it will ever be topped.
  73. Jan 5, 2013
    10
    Bence GTA4 kadar derin bir hikayeye sahip oyun yoktur.Rockstar Games işini yapmayı biliyor.Ancak oyun ilk haliyle bir bug yuvası son sürüm patch'i yükelemeden asla oynamayın derim.İyi Oyunlar
  74. Jan 9, 2013
    10
    A good game as all the GTA series!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  75. Jan 10, 2013
    10
    This is currently the greatest videogame of all time imo. There's too many fans stuck in 2004. Ak47 and M4 in this game is even damn better than cod when you get use to them. At first I always thought that the GTA3 era was a better franchise but this **** just keeps growing and growing on you. The only downpoint in this game is friendships, dating and could have done better with the radio stations. Weapons:10/10. Driving: 9/10. Liberty City: 10/10. Characters:10/10. Soundtrack: 8/10. 100% Completion:10/10. Expand
  76. Apr 18, 2013
    10
    GTA IV is very nice!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  77. Feb 23, 2013
    10
    R* never fail to disappoint. While the map is limited compared to San Andreas, you can't help but feel attached to the characters and adore the weapons within the game. There's a bigger element of realism to GTA IV compared to all the previous games... but this makes it interesting to see progression unravel throughout the entire story. While the cars feel kind of cubic driving around in the new controls are much better than before. If you haven't played it before you do before V comes out. Expand
  78. Mar 9, 2013
    10
    Best game out there so far, I mean the graphics and physics does still own some of the new games coming out. The game is filled with action and the free roam aspect is the best of all the free roam games out there. If you haven't played this game yet, then you have missed something big in your life.
  79. Mar 20, 2013
    10
    Still my favorite game for the PS3 with the upgrade in car physics and fantastic storyline I have to give this game a 10 out of 10. for the past 6 years I been playing GTAIV over, and over, again beating it 100% three times and unlocking every trophy making it one of my first platinum trophy's for the PS3 my recommendation (Get it).
  80. Apr 23, 2013
    9
    I have never been a fan of the Grand Theft auto series due to the large maps and the ever increasing amount of rubbish you can do on them (get a hircut get tattoos and bunny hop over lampposts on bicycles). However i reluctantly agreed to purchase this game as a joint buy with my brother. Firstly i would like to say that the graphics have always lacked on these games due to the small disc sizes and the large maps and information needed to be stored. With the blueray discs though the huge maps and information is still great but there is a hell of a lot more memory on the discs to produce some of the greatest graphics you will see.

    The storyline is by far the best on any GTA game that has preceeded this one. And the gameplay is so amazing that even when you run people down in your car, they never ever fell the same way twice.

    The reason i gave this game 4 and not 5 stars was purely because i didnt think the online multiplayer was good enough, the lobby system was poor and you are left hanging around for long.

    If you want this game as an online multiplayer then i can suggest some which are much better. For a one player arcade game however. look no further! It is amazing.
    Expand
  81. Jun 2, 2013
    10
    This game was why I joined the site. Just to be able to take back all the bad things I said about GTA 4. There is no good excuse to not like this game. You could not like games like this, you could not like games at all, even in these situations, you have to admit GTA is impressive. I never found GTA fun before. I would play San Andres for 20 minutes, cause havoc, get bored, say how do people do this all day? GTA 4 is special. It gets boring still, but those twenty minutes are spectacular. They don't feel cheap, they feel like the perfect mix of simulator, mixed with arcade, mixed with art, and when it's over you can quit for the day, or you can play the story. Once I allowed myself to get immersed into the game, instead of playing out of spite because he wasn't Italian, didn't look like me, didn't like how he dressed, whatever I didn't feel like giving a chance at that point. Once you start to get a feel for the story it's just an obvious masterpiece in every way. If you're not into adult, Soprano-esk violence, you might be uncomfortable through some missions, but just to see how spectacularly realized this living, breathing, city is, I'd pick it up for the 10 bucks I'm sure it now costs. When I first played it I was annoyed at the driving, because I couldn't pick it up and be immediately and be good at it, because I had forgotten how games used to be. The game is not easy, it offers a challenge, usually a fair one, like all games should. And the driving, it grows on you, and I don't think they could have done a better job with it. I really don't. Expand
  82. Apr 23, 2013
    10
    This is one of the best games I have ever played. The graphics look amazing. The story line is great, the characters are amazing and the missions are awesome.
  83. Apr 30, 2013
    10
    Loved it i have played it multiple times since launch day and it is still the highlight of my gaming collection.
    It features a great story once you get past the 20 odd tutorial missions and a huge open high def world that rivals most open worlds to this date in terms of detail put into the world.

    The characters are very well developed and the sounds are great.
  84. May 5, 2013
    10
    Perhaps the greatest game of this generation. Not much else to said really. GTA is a phenomenal series. Not just because it sells billions of dollars worth of games but because the quality of Rockstars gaming giant is just simply outstanding. If you've been living under a rock of the last 5 or so years and haven't played GTA 4, the all I gotta say is. Play the sh!t outta this masterpiece of pixellated awesomeness. It's that good. Play it. Go. Expand
  85. Jul 3, 2013
    9
    I will not give a perfect score, because the graphics are amazing, the world is believable, the characters are perfect, but there are some problems with the game, such as driving, is a bit difficult to drive in this game, and once we got to the end of the game there are no activities to do. But the story is perfect, the voice acting is superb, and once again, rockstar made ​​a faithful representation NY. I found no reason to play multiplayer because the single player did everything I was hoping for. Not the best game in the series, but it does many things right. Like the story, characters, graphics and an open world to explore. Expand
  86. Jul 5, 2013
    9
    I will not give a perfect score, because the graphics are amazing, the world is believable, the characters are perfect, but there are some problems with the game, such as driving, is a bit difficult to drive in this game, and once we got to the end of the game there are no activities to do. But the story is perfect, the voice acting is superb, and once again, rockstar made a faithful representation of NY. I found no reason to play multiplayer because the single player did everything I was hoping for. Not the best game in the series, but it does many things right. Like the story, characters, graphics and an open world to explore. Expand
  87. Jul 12, 2013
    9
    I started playing GTA when it still was in 2D and I tried all GTA game. This one is a great one with still lot of freedom, lot of possibilities ,good story (the player have to take some choice)...a great game i had pleasure to finish 2 or 3 times!
  88. Jul 20, 2013
    10
    this game is epic i'm excited for gta v for those who thing this isn't that great,gta v is gonna blow your mind away. People says it has bad framerate? its your computer that is the problem get a decent one and it would work flawlessly the storyline is great actually
  89. Sep 25, 2013
    10
    EN: Grand Theft Auto IV doesn't only presents the player to the most charismatic protagonist of the whole series, but is emotionally deep, viscerally addictive and takes place at an amazingly built Liberty City. The handbreak is s*** and makes the car slide everywhere like a godd*** ski, and some missions like the pingeons one may be a pain in the a** for some, but overall, Grand Theft Auto IV is a masterpiece.

    PT-BR: Grand Theft Auto IV não só apresenta o jogador ao protagonista mais carismático de toda a série, mas emocionalmente profundo, visceralmente viciante e se passa em uma Liberty City incrivelmente construída. O handbreak não funciona e faz o carro deslizar em todos os lugares como um maldito ski, e algumas missões secundárias, como a dos pigeons, podem ser um pé no saco para alguns, mas no geral, Grand Theft Auto IV uma obra-prima.
    Expand
  90. Jul 24, 2013
    10
    Reviews for this are probably a little too high mainly, because this is one of the first few great games to come out on the ps3. Although this game will keep playing for due to its compelling storymode in single player with several side missions and its online multiplayer has many different modes to keep you glued to the game. Also in first person story mode you can still roam around doing whatever you want but the wanted level is more realistic seems tougher. The game does have glitches and cops have tried catching me after they hit my back bumper like I did something... Plus I had my police sirens on and was trying to catch someone and th police cars wouldn't get out of the way and I hit them and my car exploded. The busses in multiplayer are also glitchy and sometimes you could trapped under the map. Other than that everything was fine in the game to me. The critics grade should be more like a 91. Expand
  91. Sep 18, 2013
    10
    Pay absolute no attention to the ignorant buffoons that gave this masterpiece of a video game a negative score. Crybabies that no nothing about what makes a game playable and fun. This game is just that: playable and fun. The story, albeit dark, is brilliantly told, (there is one mission in particular that is absolute genius) the set of characters are the more colorful and engaging of any GTA game so far and the gameplay is polished. Oh, and the graphics are not bad at all. The effect used to make a rainy day look bleak and depressing is phenomenal. Make no mistake. This game deserves the hype. Expand
  92. Nov 25, 2013
    9
    This is simply the best GTA storyline i have ever played, even better than Grand Theft Auto V, the graphics are pretty nice for 2008 and the gameplay it's quite awesome, well the negative part is that the game abuse of the "Blur" technique and you don't got many personalization options for Niko.
  93. Mar 31, 2014
    9
    Although GTA IV has nothing to do in the massive world, but its missions, story, planning for heists, these stuffs to do combine the fragments that builds up GTA IV from nothing to everything. To be more than really satisfied playing this game, "Don't put it in your mind, that I want every single store to be available" that wish tries to threaten your whole experience. Amazing, I see.
  94. May 4, 2014
    10
    No game is perfect but this game is as close as it gets. At the same time this game is not without flaws. Gameplay: no checkpoints during missions whatsoever. Sound: in-car dialogues are kinda inaudible (good thing there are subtitles), also most radio stations are uninteresting. Graphics: low framerate, and actually one issue of this game is that it's literally too dark. Navigating at night is pretty hard sometimes even at the highest brightness setting. Yet this game is the best PS3 game I've ever played (if not the best game overall) and is much superior to GTA V. Don't believe the negative reviews on this site. Unless your favourite game is Crazy Taxi you're gonna love driving in GTA IV compared to driving in GTA 5. This game is probably the best game I've ever played and it's well worth its fame. Expand
  95. Mar 29, 2014
    10
    Grand Theft Auto IV ticks all the right boxes to be a great game, and it is still a great game even that GTA V came out less than a year ago. The story is brilliant, the voice actors and the characters.
  96. Jul 5, 2014
    9
    Mind Blowing, even for today's standards. Rockstar gave us such a refined and detailed game with realistic characters and a vicious gameplay. And what's more exciting about GTA IV is running from the police, do you know what's like to have dozen of police cars and police choppers chasing you? Shooting at the police cars, while driving a car (or a motocycle), with an AK-47 or a 9mm? It's f*cking exciting! The only small problem I had with this game is that after finishing the story, there's not much to do and it becomes boring. Expand
  97. Jul 28, 2014
    10
    2014, I played this on 360 upon release. PS3, my 3rd playthrough and this is still one of the best games of last generation consoles. Yes its clunky, the cars handle like ocean liners, the bikes are neigh on impossible to steer and Niko moves like he is wading hip deep through a Florida swamp. But all those little niggles cannot take away from on of my all time favourite games. I love the story, the double crosses, the playing for all sides, the characters. I love the grittiness, how they've captured Liberty City in is post 9/11 paranoia. The satire, how RockStar took trends current to the time and predicted what a farce the media, cell-phone culture and political correctness would get in the years since. After playing GTA 5 I can honestly same that GTA 4 is just as good for different reasons. Love it 10/10 Expand
  98. Jun 20, 2014
    10
    This game was and is far ahead of its time, it requires subtlety, patience and an attention to detail unlike any other game. First of all, I've put in well over 1500 hours into gta 4 and its two dlc's, so there are few if any gamers with as much experience in Liberty City as me. It's the first game that I played that the mature rating on the back dident just represent that there was blood and fowl language, but rather that this form of media is best appriciated by mature individuals. Clearly a large number of you were not ready for a true mature experience based on the 7.5 user score, rather they wanted a San Andreas sequel. If you wanted a San Andreas sequel, PLAY SAINTS ROW, OR SLEEPING DOGS, they were created to occupy the cavity that San Andreas left in the gaming market! Sigh...
    Im a huge driving sim fan, and this is easily my favorite game to drive a car or moterbike in, the driving physics are impeccable. Ive owned every GT(Gran Turismo) and Forza game to date, so I have some experience. WAY too many people complain about the driving physics, saying its "too hard" or "too much body roll", if you drove your car at 100mph in oncoming traffic or around a hairpin turn in real life, you would most likely crash, so WHY should it be any different in a game thats attempting to simulate life as realistically as possible? Try driving at a reasonable speed, if you dont want to because thats "boring" then you should know that your attention span does not meet the required limit of this game, and that should tell you something about yourself, not this game.
    So after complaint after complaint after complaint , Rockstar felt they needed to cut almost every thing that differentiated GTA4 from San Andreas, Sleeping Dogs, and Saints Row. In GTA 5 The driving physics were completely scrapped for an arcade style that you can master in less than a day, catching any air in any vehicle is beyond comical, I literly laughed out loud when I saw that there is a moon gravity cheat, maybe my game is just stuck on moon gravity. The fighting Physics are GONE, ive never experienced a more unenjoyable fighting element in any game, (you square up, then throw right hand haymakers that glitch across 10 feet of open ground and KO the peson in 1 to 2 hits...and the AI can throw the same scripted punch that can glitch across 10 feet). They called it GTA 5(which I beleve it should have been callled San Andreas 2 because GTA 3 brought a major change in the form of 3d graphics, GTA 4 brought a major change in that it was the first on PS3, Xbox 360, and greatly stepped up the graphics from San Andreas. What exactly was the major change GTA5 brought? An ability to switch between 3 protagonists? Graphically speaking it looks great, but the jump from San Andreas to GTA4 was far greater. It seems like Rockstar was saving the numbers for truly ground breaking titles, then got lazy, and now im sure the next GTA will me named GTA 6). I remember arguing with my parent about the negative perception of the grand theft auto games, GTA 4 was the first time I felt I had a valid argument that GTA wasent only about sex, drugs, and ultra violence. You could enjoy the many physics systems interacting with eachother in perfect harmony(at least I could). I can no longer defend the GTA series, because now it seems like the game includes profanity and violence just for the sake of profanity and violence, I mean Niko was an interesting, deep character, while Trevor is just a psycopath who rapes any and everything that moves. My favorite thing about GTA 5 is that its motto or message is "the pursuit of the almighty dollar" its the ultimate joke at the consumes expence, its Rockstar who is pursuing your money, get it?
    In conclusion GTA 4 is the greatst media I have ever experienced, and was so great that I was convinced GTA 5 was going to be the greatest thing ever, I WAS WRONG.
    ps- I GLADLY welcome somebody with opposing beliefs to challenge any of the points I made, (as long as you coherently state your points in a non confrontational manner).
    Expand
  99. Jul 3, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The best game ever!The best open-world game ever with good graphics quality,plot and city!You will be absolutely enjoy playing this game!Don't miss it! Expand
  100. Jul 15, 2014
    9
    What can I say besides the fact that Grand Theft Auto is a great series of games. From the glamorous skirts of Vice city, to the wealthy city of individuals in San Andreas, too the concrete economy ridden streets of Liberty City, all the games made by Rockstar is just amazing. Grand Theft Auto 4 was one of the better games of the city. The game captures the struggling streets of Liberty City as if it were right in front of me. The game takes place in modern 2008, which in my opinion, had the most unique and creative setting out of all the Grand Theft Auto games! Since I come from where the game takes place, I am able to better understand the struggles of main character Niko Bellic, and the hardships of other pedestrians, begging for spare change. Besides all this however, the game lacks in a few things. The NPC's AI is terrible, in many ways. From running into you, too driving their car furiously into your back bumper at a red light, all pedestrians take the "the city that doesn't sleep" phrase way too seriously. And speaking of cars, the driving mechanics in this game is flat out awful. It's as if your driving a monster truck on ice. A lot of uncalled frustration occurs from these driving mechanics. Also, the storyline sometimes became a major confusion, and often trailed away from my interest in it. But let's not nitpick here, Grand Theft Auto 4 has an enjoyable playlist of music, great characters, good graphics, awesome shooting mechanics... etc. Overall, I love this game, and you should too. Expand
Metascore
98

Universal acclaim - based on 64 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 64
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 64
  3. Negative: 0 out of 64
  1. Grand Theft Auto IV is not a perfect game, but it is fantastic through and through, from start to finish and beyond. It is so massive, vast and impressive that it is almost mind-boggling to imagine how much work must have gone into the game to come up with so much detail.
  2. But GTA IV will never get old, or start repeating itself. It will always offer anyone who turns it on an experience to savour.
  3. GTA4 is a traditional crime story through and through, with a script that rarely strays from its purpose, a pitch-perfect supporting cast, and an expert combination of in-game storytelling and crafted cut-scenes. [June 2008, p.80]