Grand Theft Auto IV PlayStation 3

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2977 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 11, 2012
    9
    Grand Theft Auto IV is a great game with a couple of irritating faults. Firstly, the world of Liberty City is quite drab and bland compared to the likes of San Andreas. In the same vein, the craziness of the series has been reeled in and sacrifices a lot of fun for realism. The game is also FAR too long. It just keeps going and going and going... If you want to see the end of the game,Grand Theft Auto IV is a great game with a couple of irritating faults. Firstly, the world of Liberty City is quite drab and bland compared to the likes of San Andreas. In the same vein, the craziness of the series has been reeled in and sacrifices a lot of fun for realism. The game is also FAR too long. It just keeps going and going and going... If you want to see the end of the game, prepare to lose a huge chunk of your life in doing so! But all of these complaints ultimately mean nothing because GTAIV gives you much more good than bad. First and foremost, GTA is still the devil's playground. Want to blow off some steam? Roll a grenade into the hospital waiting room, baseball bat some policemen to death or stab a bunch of homeless people in the central park toilets. It's really sick and twisted but unbelievably hilarious. It's would be shocking if it wasn't so damn silly and glib. The multiplayer (particularly the racing) is also great and has very long legs, with people still playing online to this day. So yeah, There are certainly some quibbles but in the end GTAIV is a fantastic game. Expand
  2. Nov 18, 2015
    8
    Rockstar produces a great game. Falls right in line with all the other GTA games. Does have a little bit more of a serious tone to it but that didn't take away from the game at all for me. The only thing in the game I didn't care for was the friends calling up wanting to do something all the time. Love everything else about the game though and have played it several times since beating theRockstar produces a great game. Falls right in line with all the other GTA games. Does have a little bit more of a serious tone to it but that didn't take away from the game at all for me. The only thing in the game I didn't care for was the friends calling up wanting to do something all the time. Love everything else about the game though and have played it several times since beating the story line Expand
  3. May 11, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A game that I played for many years. Masterpiece.great story.great characters. I do not have to say anything more. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it. Expand
  4. Jul 5, 2014
    9
    Mind Blowing, even for today's standards. Rockstar gave us such a refined and detailed game with realistic characters and a vicious gameplay. And what's more exciting about GTA IV is running from the police, do you know what's like to have dozen of police cars and police choppers chasing you? Shooting at the police cars, while driving a car (or a motocycle), with an AK-47 or a 9mm? It'sMind Blowing, even for today's standards. Rockstar gave us such a refined and detailed game with realistic characters and a vicious gameplay. And what's more exciting about GTA IV is running from the police, do you know what's like to have dozen of police cars and police choppers chasing you? Shooting at the police cars, while driving a car (or a motocycle), with an AK-47 or a 9mm? It's f*cking exciting! The only small problem I had with this game is that after finishing the story, there's not much to do and it becomes boring. Expand
  5. Oct 2, 2010
    10
    After playing GTA III, Vice City and San Andreas it was hard to imagine being swept away again by another GTA game but man does this game deliver. The story, the characters, the setting and the game world are so well crafted and put together it's nice to see some developers still take time to prepare their works and not just milk a franchise with yearly releases.
  6. Dec 31, 2010
    10
    Truly the best game I have ever played by a mile.
  7. Nov 5, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'm seeing a lot of dumb comments about people claiming to know "the truth" about gta4...because obviously this is just some big conspiracy by all the game reviewers to trick you into buying a bad game! no, artards gta4 is a great game and you are just incapable of seeing it. even worse though is your attitude that the reviews, all 64 reviews from different magazines websites and newspapers, are somehow rigged. Maybe they all got together and thought as a laugh they would give gta4 great ratings to trick you into buying it. idiots, this game got great ratings cause it deserved it. GTA4 is an amazing game, don't listen to those noobs who downrated it cause they sucked to hard to beat the campaign. Expand
  8. May 18, 2012
    10
    probably the best open world action-adventure video game made to date. There is so much to do and explore, even after you're done with the 20+ hour amazing storyline. Everything is beautiful and realistic in this game. And the online is suprisingly entertaining, a place where I can mess around for fun.
  9. Oct 19, 2014
    10
    What does the American Dream mean today? For Niko Belic, fresh off the boat from Europe. It's the hope he can escape his past. For his cousin, Roman, it is the vision that together they can find fortune in Liberty City, gateway to the land of opportunity. As they slip into debt and are dragged into a criminal underworld by a series of shysters, thieves and sociopaths, they discover thatWhat does the American Dream mean today? For Niko Belic, fresh off the boat from Europe. It's the hope he can escape his past. For his cousin, Roman, it is the vision that together they can find fortune in Liberty City, gateway to the land of opportunity. As they slip into debt and are dragged into a criminal underworld by a series of shysters, thieves and sociopaths, they discover that the reality is very different from the dream in a city that worships money and status, and is heaven for those who have them an a living nightmare for those who don't. Expand
  10. Jul 21, 2012
    10
    A phenomenal game which is perhaps the best game to come out on the PS3 so far. I have played the other GTAs and I felt that GTA 3 and Vice City were the best of the series with San Andreas not quite delivering up to the standards that we expect from such a great gaming franchise. The developers at Rockstar must have had a similar thinking process as they stepped up their efforts toA phenomenal game which is perhaps the best game to come out on the PS3 so far. I have played the other GTAs and I felt that GTA 3 and Vice City were the best of the series with San Andreas not quite delivering up to the standards that we expect from such a great gaming franchise. The developers at Rockstar must have had a similar thinking process as they stepped up their efforts to produce a game which delivers in every aspect. Expand
  11. Oct 31, 2016
    10
    Graphics: 9.6 Sound: 9.7 Gameplay: 9.5 Fun/Story: 9.8

    What a great game, storytelling, graphics, characters, plot and contemporary problems it reports. One more time, Rockstar has burst all done before.
  12. Jun 11, 2013
    8
    This is a great game! However, the frustrating save system and some boring missions that feel like they were just added as filler to make the game longer hold this back from being the instant classic that it could have been! but this is still a great game that anybody who is a fan of crime/ mobster movies should definitely check out!
  13. Mar 23, 2014
    9
    This is the first GTA game I've ever played for myself. Other times, I played GTA games at a friend's house and we would do random funny stuff and try escape the cops. I borrowed this game from a friend and I was able to play the story. Man, I enjoyed it. You play as Niko Bellic, a Slavic man who travels to the US in search for a better life. But then he has to confront his past when heThis is the first GTA game I've ever played for myself. Other times, I played GTA games at a friend's house and we would do random funny stuff and try escape the cops. I borrowed this game from a friend and I was able to play the story. Man, I enjoyed it. You play as Niko Bellic, a Slavic man who travels to the US in search for a better life. But then he has to confront his past when he was a soldier in the Yugoslav Wars and then you want to see how things turn out. I heard that Niko is the most humane GTA protagonist, and that the protagonists in GTA V are just jerks, but I'd like to see for myself. There's lots to do and hilarious stuff does happen. You should get this game if you haven't already, even if its 6 years old. Stay tuned for my review of GTA V (if I ever should hehe). Expand
  14. Mar 22, 2015
    10
    10/10 ................................................................................................................................................
  15. Jul 28, 2014
    10
    2014, I played this on 360 upon release. PS3, my 3rd playthrough and this is still one of the best games of last generation consoles. Yes its clunky, the cars handle like ocean liners, the bikes are neigh on impossible to steer and Niko moves like he is wading hip deep through a Florida swamp. But all those little niggles cannot take away from on of my all time favourite games. I love2014, I played this on 360 upon release. PS3, my 3rd playthrough and this is still one of the best games of last generation consoles. Yes its clunky, the cars handle like ocean liners, the bikes are neigh on impossible to steer and Niko moves like he is wading hip deep through a Florida swamp. But all those little niggles cannot take away from on of my all time favourite games. I love the story, the double crosses, the playing for all sides, the characters. I love the grittiness, how they've captured Liberty City in is post 9/11 paranoia. The satire, how RockStar took trends current to the time and predicted what a farce the media, cell-phone culture and political correctness would get in the years since. After playing GTA 5 I can honestly same that GTA 4 is just as good for different reasons. Love it 10/10 Expand
  16. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One of the best GTA in the series for sure. The same good action, same good fun, same good shootings in the street with the police and the gangs. This is what i call a good and interesting stories. I felt so bad in the ending because of the Niko girlfriend's death (don't remember the name right now, played the game one or two years ago) and i love games that make me really feel the story that i almost cried like in the Red Dead Redemption ending. One of the best third shooter games i played and one of the top games on this generation. Perfect 10 in this game, perfect story, great gameplay, funny characters and cruel characters made this game so good! GTA San Andreas, GTA IV and Vice City stories are the best! Expand
  17. Mar 12, 2012
    10
    As with previous GTA games, this one is packed with hours of action adventure fun in a sandbox that you can call yours. Shoot an old lady, blow up a helicopter, have complete fun causing a mini apocalypse. Make sure you buy the add ons for even more fun. Lost and damned and Ballads of gay tony. This game is yes, a step back from GTA SA, like no planes, no realistic clothing changing, noAs with previous GTA games, this one is packed with hours of action adventure fun in a sandbox that you can call yours. Shoot an old lady, blow up a helicopter, have complete fun causing a mini apocalypse. Make sure you buy the add ons for even more fun. Lost and damned and Ballads of gay tony. This game is yes, a step back from GTA SA, like no planes, no realistic clothing changing, no getting fat, no swimming underwater, etc, but its uber fun. Do you play online? This game is online and is SUPER fun. Wreck havoc on complete random strangers. Got a PSN? Add me: ccrogers15 Expand
  18. Nov 23, 2015
    8
    Grand Theft Auto VI

    Game-Play:The game-play is a very big improvement from the previous games of the series much better gun play that suits the series very well and now you can point a gun and fire while you are inside the car this last part is not very well executed but I am happy that they put it in the game.Also they put cover in the game that i think it was needed from the Grand
    Grand Theft Auto VI

    Game-Play:The game-play is a very big improvement from the previous games of the series much better gun play that suits the series very well and now you can point a gun and fire while you are inside the car this last part is not very well executed but I am happy that they put it in the game.Also they put cover in the game that i think it was needed from the Grand Theft Auto III .The driving is not that good sometimes it is like driving a boat not a car also the took out planes from the game witch i thing is really bad.Last but not least i would like more weapons in the game especially handguns I found only 2 in the game.

    Story:The story is very simple at times and very complicated in others but it is nothing very special except the final missions which were awesome.But the story in general will be just enough to get you going.The story took me about 25 to 30 hours to finish it.

    Graphics: The graphics are great and big improvement from previous titles in the series.

    Notes:The clothing options were very limited and most of them were not even good but the game is great and I totally recommend to everyone to buy it ,this game worth the full price.
    Expand
  19. Apr 11, 2016
    9
    After playing GTA III, Vice City and San Andreas it was hard to imagine being swept away again by another GTA game but man does this game deliver. The story, the characters, the setting and the game world are so well crafted and put together it's nice to see some developers still take time to prepare their works and not just milk a franchise with yearly releases.
  20. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    Great game.. I think its the best one in the series since San Andreas, the graphics are amazing, the combat is geat , and the game is better than other open world games, i dont know about peole but think its an amazing game.

    PS: i had to give this game a perfect 10 to counter all those trolls one the forums that said they will rate this game 0 , my real score is 9/10
  21. Dec 13, 2010
    8
    Grand Theft Auto 4 is a decent action-sandbox game which on a technological scale is one the best games out there. The graphics are really realistic: Character models are rendered beautifully as well as facial features and the lip-syncing is accurate most of the time. Liberty City looks awesome and the textures of the alleyways, the road and buildings really enhance the realistic feel ofGrand Theft Auto 4 is a decent action-sandbox game which on a technological scale is one the best games out there. The graphics are really realistic: Character models are rendered beautifully as well as facial features and the lip-syncing is accurate most of the time. Liberty City looks awesome and the textures of the alleyways, the road and buildings really enhance the realistic feel of the city. The cut scenes have a cinematic feel to them and help you to get sucked into the lengthy and interesting story. The game play is also great just like any Grand Theft Auto game I played and also improved with the introduction of a cover system which makes the combat a lot smoother and easier. The cars handle with a kind of weighty feel which is a good change from the more twitchier and floaty feel of the cars in Saints Row 2. A great feature of this game is that Niko can socialise with other characters. The various characters that you meet while you complete the story mode may - while in free roam - call you up and ask you whether you want to go on an activity with them. These can range from getting food at a diner to playing bowling. Some of these activities such as bowling and playing darts make up for some simple but somewhat enjoyable mini games. The amount of stuff that you can do is mind boggling. Even after you finish the story mode, there are still lots of side missions to do like vigilante missions, taxi missions and much more. The dialog is well written and due to the huge wealth of dialog in the game like general conversations, the dialog doesn't get tedious very quickly. What makes this game a little bit less frustrating than previous Grand Theft Auto games is that if you die or fail a mission, you receive a text message and you have a choice to restart the mission instead of driving (or walking/running) back to the start marker for that mission to try again like previous Grand Theft Auto games. The graphics maybe ultra realistic but at times it can be too dark. For value for money, this game is phenomenal. Even Rockstar North added a neat multiplayer mode to extend the lifespan even more although I wished you could play through the whole story in co-op mode with a friend. The realistic feel and attention to detail will appeal to some gamers but some of the fun has been sucked out because of this. Don't get me wrong, this is a really good, solid sandbox game and probably one of the best games I've played and captures reality really well but this game does take it a bit too seriously like the fact you can have a relationship with a girlfriend and play bowling, darts and even watch TV! This may sound great but come on. It's a lot better to just play bowling, play darts or socialise with actual people in real life. I mean why we would want to do it in a video game I don't know. Doing these activities in real life gets you more involved. The lunacy and humorous atmosphere that Saints Row 2 has just makes it more fun and enjoyable despite its inferior graphics. Saints Row 2 is a game that like I mentioned in the game review for that game, is a game that doesn't take itself too seriously. Don't let this put you off Grand Theft Auto 4 though as it is a great sandbox game with great depth to its game play and deserves a place in any gamer's action collection. Expand
  22. Feb 24, 2012
    10
    GTA IV (along with uncharted 2,3) is by far the best game this gen! I dont why people hat it.. its an AMAZING game, The story and graphics are top-notch... i gave it 10/10
  23. Oct 13, 2012
    9
    GTA IV is more than a game. It's an experience that goes way beyond button bashing your controller. The story is magnificent but no surprises here. Everyone knows that Rockstar usually nails in this department. Technically the game is flawless for the common gamer (if there's any glitch didn't see it). Not a fan of the Multiplayer though. Other than this GTA IV will remain in gamersGTA IV is more than a game. It's an experience that goes way beyond button bashing your controller. The story is magnificent but no surprises here. Everyone knows that Rockstar usually nails in this department. Technically the game is flawless for the common gamer (if there's any glitch didn't see it). Not a fan of the Multiplayer though. Other than this GTA IV will remain in gamers memory as a reference and it will be benchmarked by everyone. Expand
  24. May 11, 2012
    8
    While technically stunning for the time, it just doesn't have that oldskool GTA feel to it. Story and characters are interesting, but the game just takes itself too seriously. The city is bland and generic. The multiplayer is boring (you're better off playing Multi Theft Auto for PC, which supports up to 200 players), the soundtrack is way worse that those of previous installments, butWhile technically stunning for the time, it just doesn't have that oldskool GTA feel to it. Story and characters are interesting, but the game just takes itself too seriously. The city is bland and generic. The multiplayer is boring (you're better off playing Multi Theft Auto for PC, which supports up to 200 players), the soundtrack is way worse that those of previous installments, but overall the game is still good. It's like with the newer Final Fantasy games: they're good in their own right, but just poor installments in the series. Expand
  25. Apr 2, 2011
    10
    This game is a mindless package of your wildest fantasies of death, destruction, shooting, sex, drugs, rock 'n' roll and fast cars. The 4th generation in the hugely popular Grand Theft Auto franchise sees you as Niko Bellic, an Eastern European immigrant who comes to Liberty City to see his cousin Roman, who is supposedly rich and famous. The truth is that all Roman has is a seedyThis game is a mindless package of your wildest fantasies of death, destruction, shooting, sex, drugs, rock 'n' roll and fast cars. The 4th generation in the hugely popular Grand Theft Auto franchise sees you as Niko Bellic, an Eastern European immigrant who comes to Liberty City to see his cousin Roman, who is supposedly rich and famous. The truth is that all Roman has is a seedy apartment, a small taxi company and is also thousands of dollars in debt to some unfriendly gangsters. So, typical GTA story; you need to work your way to the top of the ladder but to do so you must complete missions for various mob bosses, drug dealers and corrupt cops. The missions are genuinely fun and each one is perfect length. However, the real star of the show is Liberty City itself. The map is split into about five different islands, the main one being Manhattan or Algonquin as it is known in the game. The city is based off of New York City, and you will see plenty of iconic landmarks such as the Empire State Building, Chrysler Building and even the Statue of Liberty! My one complaint is that the huge size of the map is both a blessing and a curse, because to complete certain missions, you need to drive all the way back to them if you die or get arrested. The gameplay is fast and furious, and you will handle many different weapons throughout. My favorite is the combat shotgun. The cars are good too, and apart from cars you can steal bikes, trucks, police cruisers, ambulances, garbage trucks and even some helicopters are thrown in there, but sadly the BMX from San Andreas does not return. All these cars and open ended gameplay are enough to keep anyone occupied even without doing any missions. Overall, GTA IV is a roller coaster ride that demands your full commitment and it is simply the best action game on the PS3, bar Red Dead Redemption. Expand
  26. May 1, 2014
    8
    This game was great. But I would honestly rate it a 7.85
    1.I loved the driving even though it was boaty.
    2. The shootouts were intense. 3. The story line was tough. 4. The map... since I'm form new york, I would rate it 7.25 5. The annoying calls from roman I didn't like. 6. The graphics were great, for it's time. 7. The online was good at first, but it got so boring. 8.The fact
    This game was great. But I would honestly rate it a 7.85
    1.I loved the driving even though it was boaty.
    2. The shootouts were intense.
    3. The story line was tough.
    4. The map... since I'm form new york, I would rate it 7.25
    5. The annoying calls from roman I didn't like.
    6. The graphics were great, for it's time.
    7. The online was good at first, but it got so boring.
    8.The fact that I needed to buy the DLC's to use more things did get on my nerves.
    9. The ending was great.
    10 The overall single player when the missions were done was boring.

    This is a great GTA. But is it better than GTA V or GTA SA no.
    Expand
  27. Apr 3, 2012
    9
    San Adreas was a much better game. That being said, this has far better graphics and AI, and it separates itself from the other games by moving in a direction that's different. The map is a bit too small, and there's not many easter eggs... but it's still fun to drive around shooting at stuff and then launching your character out of windshields for hours on end.
  28. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    One of the best games this gen! , I cant believe how some people gave this game such low scores! Its an AWESOME! game.. I recommend this game to every "REAL" gamer out there
  29. Feb 8, 2011
    10
    Possibly the finest open world game ever created, and easily the best social satire ever concieved. A world were people live and breathe the lives of every one of us. From flipping open cell phones and chatting, going for coffee, having trouble parallel parking, hobo's at the bus stop, GTA4 is the single most immersive game world I have ever seen. Combine a lengthy campaign with aPossibly the finest open world game ever created, and easily the best social satire ever concieved. A world were people live and breathe the lives of every one of us. From flipping open cell phones and chatting, going for coffee, having trouble parallel parking, hobo's at the bus stop, GTA4 is the single most immersive game world I have ever seen. Combine a lengthy campaign with a fantastic story, brilliant dialogue, amazing graphics, great music, unthinkable scale (the buildings loom over you as drive through the downtown and its a beauty to behold), and hundreds of hours worth of stuff to do... oh and how about all of that WITH 8 players online? GTA4 is a modern masterpiece. When I first played it in 2008 my jaw was floored. Now in 2011 after playing it all again with the two (also incredible) DLC campaigns, I can say my stance is virtualy unaltered, if not improved. You are not allowed to claim to be a gammer without experiencing GTA4. In my top 3 games of all time. Expand
  30. Oct 28, 2010
    10
    I thoroughly enjoyed this game right from the day i got it and to this day i still enjoy playing it. The story is very well written and does its best to give players the freedom of choice from time to time. The multi player is good it has a lot of variety to it which makes it very enjoyable for players
  31. Oct 6, 2013
    8
    GTA IV is quality. The expanded game world and other additional features enhance game-play, and its undeniably long storyline fails to become un-exciting, even after hours. The new Liberty City is memorable, and provides the perfect backdrop for GTA IV's story to take place.
  32. Jul 13, 2013
    8
    It's a great game overall. Maybe it's a little bit too realistic. I wanted to see a little bit of unrealism in it. I also think that the game is overrated. Like I said, it's a great game, but previous GTA games were better in some ways. So, 8/10
  33. Apr 23, 2013
    9
    I have never been a fan of the Grand Theft auto series due to the large maps and the ever increasing amount of rubbish you can do on them (get a hircut get tattoos and bunny hop over lampposts on bicycles). However i reluctantly agreed to purchase this game as a joint buy with my brother. Firstly i would like to say that the graphics have always lacked on these games due to the small discI have never been a fan of the Grand Theft auto series due to the large maps and the ever increasing amount of rubbish you can do on them (get a hircut get tattoos and bunny hop over lampposts on bicycles). However i reluctantly agreed to purchase this game as a joint buy with my brother. Firstly i would like to say that the graphics have always lacked on these games due to the small disc sizes and the large maps and information needed to be stored. With the blueray discs though the huge maps and information is still great but there is a hell of a lot more memory on the discs to produce some of the greatest graphics you will see.

    The storyline is by far the best on any GTA game that has preceeded this one. And the gameplay is so amazing that even when you run people down in your car, they never ever fell the same way twice.

    The reason i gave this game 4 and not 5 stars was purely because i didnt think the online multiplayer was good enough, the lobby system was poor and you are left hanging around for long.

    If you want this game as an online multiplayer then i can suggest some which are much better. For a one player arcade game however. look no further! It is amazing.
    Expand
  34. Nov 16, 2010
    10
    Grab a beer and wonder at the city lights and skylines that ooze of atmosphere. Atmoshere for me is what sets GTA apart from it's wannabees and clones. Just to peruse the city in a taxi is a joy in itself. The virtual world laid out before you is staggering. If the game had no plot and was just a free sprawling city that would be enough for me. Not surprisingly there is a plot and aGrab a beer and wonder at the city lights and skylines that ooze of atmosphere. Atmoshere for me is what sets GTA apart from it's wannabees and clones. Just to peruse the city in a taxi is a joy in itself. The virtual world laid out before you is staggering. If the game had no plot and was just a free sprawling city that would be enough for me. Not surprisingly there is a plot and a damned good one. The game has few flaws in my book, the only flaw would be that previous incarnations may have taken a tiny amount of shine off this version , but even then not much. Great fun online and just as good chilling by yourself with a Scotch overlooking the statue of liberty. Expand
  35. Oct 16, 2012
    8
    I feel like I'm judging the game too high by giving it an 8.
    The game's no where near to perfect. You'll get bored a couple weeks after buying it and only play it to kill random people and run around the city cause the story and campaign consist of the same boring bull crap missions in the previous games. (drive point A to point B.) or (kill this person).
    Overall it was a pretty damn
    I feel like I'm judging the game too high by giving it an 8.
    The game's no where near to perfect. You'll get bored a couple weeks after buying it and only play it to kill random people and run around the city cause the story and campaign consist of the same boring bull crap missions in the previous games. (drive point A to point B.) or (kill this person).
    Overall it was a pretty damn good game. Lots of customization options, missions and other things to do which is why the game is so charming,
    However being a dedicated fan of the series, I could no way in hell say it's better than San Andreas.
    Also no way in hell could I ever give this game a perfect 10 or rather a 9 for that matter, but it's still very well worth the $20 or $30 you'll pay for a used copy
    Expand
  36. Jun 25, 2012
    9
    Spectacular game. One of my favorite games in this generation. The amount of freedom in this game is simply astounding...you can literally go anywhere and do anything you can think of. Almost every game has some major limitation that prevents you from doing something, but this game has almost no limitation. You can drive cars, drive motorcycles, drive boats, drive helicopters, jump youSpectacular game. One of my favorite games in this generation. The amount of freedom in this game is simply astounding...you can literally go anywhere and do anything you can think of. Almost every game has some major limitation that prevents you from doing something, but this game has almost no limitation. You can drive cars, drive motorcycles, drive boats, drive helicopters, jump you car off of ramps, run around on foot, shoot whatever you want, and blow up whatever you want...the fact that you can do all of these things in the same game is very impressive. No other game has so much going on in it, and yet Rockstar made all of these things fun and executed them well. Some games struggle to get one of these things right, yet Rockstar does them all well. Not to mention the city is interesting and full of variety, which makes it a great playground to drive around in...I love that the city has a lot of hills and uneven areas - this allows you to gleefully make your car spin out, jump, roll over, or whatever else you want to do with it...and the awesome car physics give your car a great sense of weight, which makes it so satisfying to watch your car soar through the air and come slamming down as the body wobbles from the impact. The car physics alone make this game worth playing. I actually think GTA's driving feels better and actual racing games. After experiencing this game, I can't see how any other game can be placed in the same league - the sheer amount of stuff crammed into this game just can't be matched. Expand
  37. Mar 22, 2015
    9
    I'll be the first to admit that I don't appreciate the use of drugs and/or sexual content found in the game but Grand Theft Auto IV does thankfully improve over III massively. The open world and narrative are amazing and it seems as though a lot of work was put into designing such an intricate game. Open world is always something I love in games with this one not disappointing one bit. TheI'll be the first to admit that I don't appreciate the use of drugs and/or sexual content found in the game but Grand Theft Auto IV does thankfully improve over III massively. The open world and narrative are amazing and it seems as though a lot of work was put into designing such an intricate game. Open world is always something I love in games with this one not disappointing one bit. The combat's a huge improvement with its fluidity and swift controls. This installment in the GTA franchise isn't to be missed. Expand
  38. May 4, 2014
    10
    No game is perfect but this game is as close as it gets. At the same time this game is not without flaws. Gameplay: no checkpoints during missions whatsoever. Sound: in-car dialogues are kinda inaudible (good thing there are subtitles), also most radio stations are uninteresting. Graphics: low framerate, and actually one issue of this game is that it's literally too dark. Navigating atNo game is perfect but this game is as close as it gets. At the same time this game is not without flaws. Gameplay: no checkpoints during missions whatsoever. Sound: in-car dialogues are kinda inaudible (good thing there are subtitles), also most radio stations are uninteresting. Graphics: low framerate, and actually one issue of this game is that it's literally too dark. Navigating at night is pretty hard sometimes even at the highest brightness setting. Yet this game is the best PS3 game I've ever played (if not the best game overall) and is much superior to GTA V. Don't believe the negative reviews on this site. Unless your favourite game is Crazy Taxi you're gonna love driving in GTA IV compared to driving in GTA 5. This game is probably the best game I've ever played and it's well worth its fame. Expand
  39. Jun 28, 2013
    8
    Story: The story is really good on the 2nd and 3rd act, but takes it's time on the 1st act. The story can also be a little too long for most people stretching in around 25-30 hours without doing any side activities. The voice acting and writing are both great with some clever and funny dialogues to make you laugh a bit, and I actually liked some of the characters in this game.
    Graphics:
    Story: The story is really good on the 2nd and 3rd act, but takes it's time on the 1st act. The story can also be a little too long for most people stretching in around 25-30 hours without doing any side activities. The voice acting and writing are both great with some clever and funny dialogues to make you laugh a bit, and I actually liked some of the characters in this game.
    Graphics: Right now, GTA IV's visuals are nothing special, but back in 2008, I'm sure the graphics were innovative. Facial models are above average, but the one place GTA IV excels at is the world design. Liberty City was suppose to be Rockstar's version of NY, and even to this day, LC still looks great (especially at night). The atmosphere is great, and each pedestrian I meet looks different from the last.
    Gameplay: One innovation added in GTA IV is a cover system which is not bad, but I've seen better in Gears of War and Uncharted, the hand-to-hand combat felt awkward, and the shooting still works (auto-aim can get annoying since it sometimes aims at civilians instead of enemies). The vehicles are fun to drive, but the brakes take a second or 2 to work. Since the story is long, there are going to be a lot of missions to complete (94 in total). The biggest problem I had with this game is that the mission variety is low.(Shootouts, Running from the cops, a few heli missions, and vehicle chases). I really hated the motorcycle chases since I kept falling off the cycle, and the guy I'm chasing can handle 30 SMG rounds and not fall off the bike. This meant I had to RESTART THE MISSION since there's NO CHECKPOINT in missions there are checkpoints in the episodes however). I was also disappointed by the short number of cheats in the game.
    Multiplayer: Even though more people are playing on the episodic multiplayers, the main game's multiplayer is still fun to play. You got your standard deathmatches, races, and story CO-OP missions, but you also got free roam which is a blast to play online with others.
    Overall: GTA IV is starting to feel outdated with all the new sandbox games coming out, but that doesn't mean it's not fun to play. With a good story, funny dialogues, and crazy multiplayer, GTA IV is definitely worth $20 Rating: 8
    Expand
  40. Aug 10, 2015
    8
    A truly masterpiece. The best from the whole series. Deep characters, real life matters, choices, crime, money and all this 'dark city' kind of things. Spend alot of hours with this game like with a proper RPG or some. I am finding this game much more enjoyable and close to my taste than the comic GTA V where story or characters was shallow and spectacular as possible, even drivingA truly masterpiece. The best from the whole series. Deep characters, real life matters, choices, crime, money and all this 'dark city' kind of things. Spend alot of hours with this game like with a proper RPG or some. I am finding this game much more enjoyable and close to my taste than the comic GTA V where story or characters was shallow and spectacular as possible, even driving mechanism is way better in this one. GTA V is good but not in terms of story or realism, it is not serious anymore. GTA 4 is not perfect either, but its mature story rewarding experience make it closer to be perfect, or a game to my taste at least. Expand
  41. Aug 14, 2016
    10
    Лучшая игра на PS3 (после GTA 5)! Несмотря на сложную архитектуру PlayStation 3 и нераскрытый потенциал консоли - игра получилась достаточно красивой, с долей мрачности и серости Либерти-Сити. Единственный минус - апскейл до HD. Но стоит учитывать, то что игра вышла в начале поколения и все тонкости железа не знали. На этот раз игра стала серьезной, она повзрослела. Теперь сюжет стал болееЛучшая игра на PS3 (после GTA 5)! Несмотря на сложную архитектуру PlayStation 3 и нераскрытый потенциал консоли - игра получилась достаточно красивой, с долей мрачности и серости Либерти-Сити. Единственный минус - апскейл до HD. Но стоит учитывать, то что игра вышла в начале поколения и все тонкости железа не знали. На этот раз игра стала серьезной, она повзрослела. Теперь сюжет стал более драматичным и интересным. И игра действительно показывает, что связавшись с криминалом - ты будешь многое терять. И на этот раз Нико Беллик хотел начать новую жизнь, но всё пошло к черту. Теперь ему предстоит пройти сложный путь со своим кузеном Романом. Ещё интересно, что игра связана с Россией. Много персонажей из русской мафии Либерти-Сити, который срисован с Нью-Йорка. Ещё стиль игры и сюжет очень похож на фильм "Брат-2". Шедеврально. Expand
  42. Jul 5, 2013
    9
    I will not give a perfect score, because the graphics are amazing, the world is believable, the characters are perfect, but there are some problems with the game, such as driving, is a bit difficult to drive in this game, and once we got to the end of the game there are no activities to do. But the story is perfect, the voice acting is superb, and once again, rockstar made a faithfulI will not give a perfect score, because the graphics are amazing, the world is believable, the characters are perfect, but there are some problems with the game, such as driving, is a bit difficult to drive in this game, and once we got to the end of the game there are no activities to do. But the story is perfect, the voice acting is superb, and once again, rockstar made a faithful representation of NY. I found no reason to play multiplayer because the single player did everything I was hoping for. Not the best game in the series, but it does many things right. Like the story, characters, graphics and an open world to explore. Expand
  43. Jul 12, 2016
    10
    Grand Theft Auto 4 is the best in the series in my opinion and the reason for this is because it's more realistic, it's open world like the other games is great, it has a great story, it has more weapons and it has more vehicles that you can drive in. I just love going around and shooting and running over people (don't worry, i won't do that in real life).
  44. Jun 10, 2011
    8
    Take everything you loved about the old GTA games, revamp them with a new engine and you've got GTAIV in a nutshell. Niko is such a surprisingly endearing character and there's always a new host of characters to keep you entertained. Superbly written and paced like a perfect television drama, there's just so much to enjoy about GTAIV.
  45. Apr 19, 2012
    10
    It was hard to imagine what more could Rockstar deliver after the near-perfect PS2 ''not-trilogy'' of GTA III, Vice City and San Andreas; and the news that Grand Theft Auto IV would return to Liberty City and embrace a more serious style of story and gameplay made many people worry. Well, Rockstar did it once again, and I dare to say this is the best game of the series to date. GTA IVIt was hard to imagine what more could Rockstar deliver after the near-perfect PS2 ''not-trilogy'' of GTA III, Vice City and San Andreas; and the news that Grand Theft Auto IV would return to Liberty City and embrace a more serious style of story and gameplay made many people worry. Well, Rockstar did it once again, and I dare to say this is the best game of the series to date. GTA IV delivers a perfect combination of solid gameplay, compelling story and stunning graphics. Characters are more real and charismatic than ever, to the point where you find yourself saying that the new thieving/murderous protagonist Niko Bellic is a good person. All characters shine, from the most important ones to the ones that give you just a couple of missions; and this is powered up by great dialogue and voice acting. For the first time in the series the city fells alive, and at every turn you find a new, interesting area to explore. For those who expected the crime havoc of the previous installments, a little disappointment will come: GTA IV really is a lot more realistic than its predecessors. But give it a chance, enjoy the great graphics and soundtrack and you will find yourself enjoying this great game in no time. Expand
  46. Nov 4, 2010
    9
    i have loved all of the GTA game sand this is no let down, provides hours of fun whether you follow the story line or go off and cause mayhem in the city..... the multi-player also adds another layer of fun whether your in the mood for a free for all or playing missions......
  47. Dec 29, 2015
    10
    This was the most amazing gta after gta V.But i remember how bad was driving mechanics I always had to call taxi.I still love this game but its getting its age and no longer interests me.
  48. May 22, 2016
    10
    Graphic: 8/10
    Sound: 10/10
    + great story, awesome characters, big soundtrack, big open world, good multiplayer, tons to discover, +100 vehicles - blurry graphic/textures, spongy control of characters Conclusion: As a big fan of the GTA games I can say this is a great masterpiece of a game. The game shows how the eastern immigrants life and have to fight to survive, in a America
    Graphic: 8/10
    Sound: 10/10

    + great story, awesome characters, big soundtrack, big open world, good multiplayer, tons to discover, +100 vehicles

    - blurry graphic/textures, spongy control of characters

    Conclusion: As a big fan of the GTA games I can say this is a great masterpiece of a game. The game shows how the eastern immigrants life and have to fight to survive, in a America far away from the pleasant life you see in TV. The main character Nico and his cousin and all characters in this masterpiece are well done, the voice actors does it good, the soundtrack with hours of good music is also a big point in this game, especially the east European bands and your pop music is nice to hear. At long last, GTA 4 is a worthy successor with typical strong points of the series and a weak graphic (consoles) compared with a strong PC.
    Expand
  49. Jan 4, 2012
    9
    GTA IV is a massive, fun, addictive, incredible game. It has a fantastic storyline which kept me hooked for hours on end. But in the end that was the only thing that kept me hooked. I was never bothered to explore Liberty City and destroy the entire place. I finished the story and felt satisfied. But I didn't bother doing anything else afterwards. There just isn't enough in this game toGTA IV is a massive, fun, addictive, incredible game. It has a fantastic storyline which kept me hooked for hours on end. But in the end that was the only thing that kept me hooked. I was never bothered to explore Liberty City and destroy the entire place. I finished the story and felt satisfied. But I didn't bother doing anything else afterwards. There just isn't enough in this game to keep me playing. The fact that this game is more realistic isn't a problem. In fact it's one of the best things about GTA IV. You aren't some guy who just runs around the city wreaking havoc, destroying vehicles, using wacky weapons and vehicles etc. Instead you feel like a member of Liberty City. You don't feel like a superhuman who can take tonnes of bullet damage and someone who can just toy around with the city, you are a citizen. A citizen who gets tied up with drug dealers, gangs, the police and a lot more bad people. This is one of the best things about GTA IV. However there are just too many problems for it to be a 10. Bad vehicle handling, absolutely god awful helicopter controls, wonky cover mechanics, annoying auto- aim system that barely ever let's you switch targets without having to change to free aim, then go to auto aim again. It has incredibly annoying difficulty spikes that leave me punching the couch and yelling at the TV, and the stupid system where you have to hand out with your friends for them to like you. But there are still a lot of great things about this game, the sheer size of the city, the fantastic story filled with a great cast of memorable characters, good gameplay, incredible graphics ( even to this day), and a lot of things to do. Unfortunately, it just doesn't have that lasting appeal that so many people say that the GTA games do. GTA IV disappointed me a bit. But that little bit is so small, that this game is still so incredible. This was the first GTA game I ever played, and I only bought this early last year, and I can really see why the critics raved about this game. This is a must buy for people who still haven't played this masterpiece. Expand
  50. Oct 9, 2012
    10
    Best game ever. Such a deep storyline and a few jaw dropping moments. Gameplay and driving is unreal realistic. And the characters are deadly. This game is the best GTA yet
  51. Aug 20, 2010
    8
    Despite all the hype, GTA is not the best game released in 2008, nor is it the best Grand Theft Auto available. San Andreas is still much better than IV. GTA IV is still a very good game, but vastly overrated. I had fun with this, but the game got so boring so fast after the storyline is finished, it's not even funny. There's only so many times when you can go to a comedy club and watchDespite all the hype, GTA is not the best game released in 2008, nor is it the best Grand Theft Auto available. San Andreas is still much better than IV. GTA IV is still a very good game, but vastly overrated. I had fun with this, but the game got so boring so fast after the storyline is finished, it's not even funny. There's only so many times when you can go to a comedy club and watch Ricky Gervais or Katt Williams recycle the same three acts and over and over again.

    The graphics are fantastic, the cars handle realistically, which I like. Sure, I wrecked the car the first couple of times I tried to drive, but the driving gets easy real fast.

    The shooting is okay, not bad, but not CoD-level. I hate auto-aim in this game, it's just so terrible.

    Overall, this is a really good game, just not as good as the mainstream reviews said it was.
    Expand
  52. Oct 7, 2012
    9
    The brilliant gangster epic enthusiastic across the board. Starting with the very realistic graphics with impressive light effects, to use exciting and rich story that draws you from the start in its spell.
  53. Sep 25, 2013
    10
    EN: Grand Theft Auto IV doesn't only presents the player to the most charismatic protagonist of the whole series, but is emotionally deep, viscerally addictive and takes place at an amazingly built Liberty City. The handbreak is s*** and makes the car slide everywhere like a godd*** ski, and some missions like the pingeons one may be a pain in the a** for some, but overall, Grand TheftEN: Grand Theft Auto IV doesn't only presents the player to the most charismatic protagonist of the whole series, but is emotionally deep, viscerally addictive and takes place at an amazingly built Liberty City. The handbreak is s*** and makes the car slide everywhere like a godd*** ski, and some missions like the pingeons one may be a pain in the a** for some, but overall, Grand Theft Auto IV is a masterpiece.

    PT-BR: Grand Theft Auto IV não só apresenta o jogador ao protagonista mais carismático de toda a série, mas emocionalmente profundo, visceralmente viciante e se passa em uma Liberty City incrivelmente construída. O handbreak não funciona e faz o carro deslizar em todos os lugares como um maldito ski, e algumas missões secundárias, como a dos pigeons, podem ser um pé no saco para alguns, mas no geral, Grand Theft Auto IV uma obra-prima.
    Expand
  54. Dec 3, 2015
    10
    This is by no doubt the best game ever made. GTA IV is holding up so well, there are few games that are as good or will ever be as good.

    It is by no doubt it is one of the highest rated games of ALL TIME.
  55. Jul 20, 2012
    9
    I Love GTA's, I started from GTA:London in childhood, i loved it! I skipped GTA 3 but then my uncle did show me Gta Vice:City I WAS AMAZED oh my god, cars breaking and stuff. GTA:SA was my absolute favorite + online was amazing but GTA IV, IT looked epic, graphics and all. but something was missing.. where was the awsome planes and country? :( Story was with good sense of humor andI Love GTA's, I started from GTA:London in childhood, i loved it! I skipped GTA 3 but then my uncle did show me Gta Vice:City I WAS AMAZED oh my god, cars breaking and stuff. GTA:SA was my absolute favorite + online was amazing but GTA IV, IT looked epic, graphics and all. but something was missing.. where was the awsome planes and country? :( Story was with good sense of humor and enjoyable. Good game! 9/10 Expand
  56. Nov 17, 2012
    10
    I keep good memories from this videogame. It was the first PS3 game I bought, the first I finished... It was made in 2008, and the graphics are still gorgeous nowadays. The best GTA talking about the story. Perhaps, a little bit more weird or absurd would make this game funnier. But, with his serious argument, this game is amazing.
  57. Dec 16, 2010
    10
    THAT'S IT!THE BEST GTA EVER!Man this game is so good that is the best GTA game and best Xbox 360/PS3 game!This game is really good!No joke!The action BLAZES a lot!The perfect GTA game!
  58. Oct 18, 2012
    8
    The first time I played GTA was at the age of seven when GTA was released back in 1997. In my humble opinion GTA IV is a huge step forward, but in another view, a step back.

    + More mature and interesting storyline + Drastically improved driving physics and vehicle damage + A living, breathing city + Huge city - Repetitive and sometimes uninspired mission design (Go to A, shoot 10
    The first time I played GTA was at the age of seven when GTA was released back in 1997. In my humble opinion GTA IV is a huge step forward, but in another view, a step back.

    + More mature and interesting storyline
    + Drastically improved driving physics and vehicle damage
    + A living, breathing city
    + Huge city

    - Repetitive and sometimes uninspired mission design (Go to A, shoot 10 people, go to B)
    - To much blur and an awfull blue tint
    - Lack of interesting features outside of the storyline (clubs, barbershops, car dealerships etc.)
    - Lack of safehouses

    While some of these missing features was added i TBoGT many of them should have been in the game in the first place. I like the serious tone GTA IV story has, but the problem is, that outside of the story, the game often becomes repetetive and dull. There is simply not enough features; clubs, more races, drug deals, golf etc. Mission design is quite poor and the creativity (not talking about over-the-top action in TbOGT) is somehow diluted, and the game almost have the same mission design as in GTA III: Go there, kill a few people, go back.
    Expand
  59. Oct 15, 2011
    10
    an amazing game which highlights the superiority of the GTA series against other mediocre sandbox games. It improves upon previous GTA'S in every aspect and is a must own.
  60. Jun 17, 2012
    8
    The story could be much better. I felt bored for the story at the middle of the game somehow. Overall, the game is good and i like it. Graphic is great. The gameplay is great.
  61. Jul 13, 2013
    9
    Grand Theft Auto bringing back a much larger world with a more for the story game unlike san andreas where you probably spent most of your time beating up hookers, hobos and the police and nato force. GTA4 brings you a wonderful cast of characters where you go in and fight for your American dreams.
  62. Aug 17, 2013
    10
    10 out of 10.

    Excellent story. Unbelievable variation. Hilarious ragdoll physics. Incredible design. Amazing graphics. What else can I say? Grand Theft Auto IV surpasses any hype and brings on more of that open-world chaos that we love and hold dearly about the Grand Theft Auto series. But I do have some complaints... Firstly, some missions can feel repetitive. It's constantly about
    10 out of 10.

    Excellent story. Unbelievable variation. Hilarious ragdoll physics. Incredible design. Amazing graphics. What else can I say? Grand Theft Auto IV surpasses any hype and brings on more of that open-world chaos that we love and hold dearly about the Grand Theft Auto series.

    But I do have some complaints... Firstly, some missions can feel repetitive. It's constantly about stealing things, killing targets and escaping whoever is chasing you. Of course it's fun, but it's bit too much a times. Also, in many missions, you are told to kill the person you're chasing, but you cant because you have to reach a cutscene or a certain point before they can actually take damage. That is misleading, quite annoying and just a waste of bullets.

    But over-all, such small gripes are, of course, nothing that can pull down this game from a perfect 10 out of 10 score, thanks to the things mentioned on the first row.
    Expand
  63. Feb 18, 2012
    10
    GTA IV is another prime example of perfection in video games. It's not the greatest game of all time, but it's one of the only games that I can say surpassed my own expectations. It's perfect in the way that it does everything that it wants to do, and nothing more. Where most games in this generation focus most on features, this game focuses on core gameplay, story, and physics. From theGTA IV is another prime example of perfection in video games. It's not the greatest game of all time, but it's one of the only games that I can say surpassed my own expectations. It's perfect in the way that it does everything that it wants to do, and nothing more. Where most games in this generation focus most on features, this game focuses on core gameplay, story, and physics. From the driving, to the shooting, to the movements, everything is flawless. This being the first GTA on the 7th generation of consoles, it's quite bleak regarding what you can and can't do, but as I said that's not the point. The feature's will come in the next installation. This time around Rockstar focused on creating the best game engine they could possibly make, and they really out-did themselves here. The time and painstaking attention to detail is what makes this game such a masterpiece. Rockstar take gaming and turn it into an artform. You will not be customizing your character in outrageous clothing, nor will you be customizing your ride into an ultimate pimp mobile. What you will be doing is having a blast shooting up the streets of Liberty City, drifting around town in your choice of car, and marveling at the utter beauty of it all. It sounds simple, and it is, but it's perfect. It feels perfect and it plays perfect. You can take this experience online as well. You can run around the streets of Liberty City with 16 player multiplayer, stretched across a plethora of game modes. Some of the greatest multiplayer is to be found here. The story is as well fantastic. You play an immigrant coming to America on a promise of your cousin's that it's a high life of women and money. Come to find out your cousin is full of **** you'll be working from the ground up doing just about every criminal activity you can imagine. Though the main reason to travel the journey is in finding and killing someone that had ruined your life. The story takes dips and turns with every encounter, and the characters you meet along the way are all equally entertaining and interesting. This game was more than what I anticipated in that it focuses on what it should be focusing on unlike most games. A game is nothing without it's core gameplay, and Rockstar's knowledge of that earns them praise by most every critic. The game might not allow you to do this and it might not allow you to do that, but what you can do, you can't do better anywhere else in gaming. And that is what makes this game such a masterpiece. Expand
  64. Jul 3, 2013
    9
    I will not give a perfect score, because the graphics are amazing, the world is believable, the characters are perfect, but there are some problems with the game, such as driving, is a bit difficult to drive in this game, and once we got to the end of the game there are no activities to do. But the story is perfect, the voice acting is superb, and once again, rockstar made ​​a faithfulI will not give a perfect score, because the graphics are amazing, the world is believable, the characters are perfect, but there are some problems with the game, such as driving, is a bit difficult to drive in this game, and once we got to the end of the game there are no activities to do. But the story is perfect, the voice acting is superb, and once again, rockstar made ​​a faithful representation NY. I found no reason to play multiplayer because the single player did everything I was hoping for. Not the best game in the series, but it does many things right. Like the story, characters, graphics and an open world to explore. Expand
  65. Nov 25, 2013
    9
    This is simply the best GTA storyline i have ever played, even better than Grand Theft Auto V, the graphics are pretty nice for 2008 and the gameplay it's quite awesome, well the negative part is that the game abuse of the "Blur" technique and you don't got many personalization options for Niko.
  66. May 25, 2012
    9
    Strong story, strong game, not my genre of gaming but still really enjoyed playing through this.

    Well worth the time invested if you haven't done so already.
  67. Mar 15, 2012
    9
    I've never been a fan of the GTA series, but after playing GTAIV it totally changed my mind. This game is entertaining in so many ways. Multiplayer can be really addicting when you play with friends. Nothing is more fun than shooting your way out of the cops way while your car is on fire.
  68. Aug 31, 2016
    10
    This game describes how the crisis of 2008 maked the life of some americans fall down, because all in this game is based on that historical moment, i really enjoyed to play as Niko Bellic, a serbian guy whch comes becuase war destroyed his life, and he arrives a travel to liberty city, the worst city to live in america.
  69. Dec 20, 2010
    10
    A perfect game. Liberty city is absolutely beautiful. The story is absorbing. I could not put the controller down. The missions are varied and fewer time limited missions, which was a frustrating factor in previous games is a welcome change. The addition of the other minigames, a friend system, girlfriend system, etc., all contribute to this masterpiece. There are so many good things forA perfect game. Liberty city is absolutely beautiful. The story is absorbing. I could not put the controller down. The missions are varied and fewer time limited missions, which was a frustrating factor in previous games is a welcome change. The addition of the other minigames, a friend system, girlfriend system, etc., all contribute to this masterpiece. There are so many good things for this I don't even know what to say. Just buy it and play for yourself. Expand
  70. Aug 5, 2015
    9
    Great game in general, a good story, many things to do after you finish the game, an awsome online mode with a huge content, a must own for everyone, the online mode will attract you for many hours.
  71. Oct 6, 2010
    8
    Technically, GTAIV triumphs. The engine is strong and Liberty City is rich, diverse and alive. However, it's a step down from the previous generation of GTAs in terms of story, gameplay and, most importantly, fun. Niko Bellic bored me; I didn't care about him, I didn't care about his friends, and I didn't care about his enemies. GTAIV suffers from that prevalent yet unworthy trend amongTechnically, GTAIV triumphs. The engine is strong and Liberty City is rich, diverse and alive. However, it's a step down from the previous generation of GTAs in terms of story, gameplay and, most importantly, fun. Niko Bellic bored me; I didn't care about him, I didn't care about his friends, and I didn't care about his enemies. GTAIV suffers from that prevalent yet unworthy trend among games - the quest for realism. Perhaps the physics, story and [most of] the missions are more 'realistic', but parachuting on top of gang leaders and stealing fighter jets is fun, and visually Liberty City appears as though viewed through a scratched, dirty pair of sunglasses. It lacks the cartoonish colour and vibrancy of previous GTA games. Sometimes - in fact, often - realism does not make for a better game. GTAIV is the first in the series that I left half-way through and returned to at a later date. I didn't think much of it at the time, but in hindsight the game obviously didn't pull me in and entertain me.

    Of course, this isn't to say it's not a very good game; rather, it suffers from over-hype and exaggerated critical appraisal which, in light of the accusations leveled at Rockstar over their Red Dead Redemption PR, leaves a fairly bitter taste. Very good game, but it is certainly not anywhere near perfection have some reviews would have you believe. The Saints Row games feel more â
    Expand
  72. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    What happens when you've crammed excellent physics, a really engaging plot line, hilarity, crime, and decent graphics into 1 video game? Grand Theft Auto IV. This game is nothing BUT fantastic, and if you actually have a real sense of humour, you would laugh at the flying cars blowing up in mid air while rotating in circles. It may not sound that great when you just read it from here, butWhat happens when you've crammed excellent physics, a really engaging plot line, hilarity, crime, and decent graphics into 1 video game? Grand Theft Auto IV. This game is nothing BUT fantastic, and if you actually have a real sense of humour, you would laugh at the flying cars blowing up in mid air while rotating in circles. It may not sound that great when you just read it from here, but believe me, you have GOT to try this game for yourself if you want any kind of fun. Expand
  73. Mar 31, 2014
    9
    Although GTA IV has nothing to do in the massive world, but its missions, story, planning for heists, these stuffs to do combine the fragments that builds up GTA IV from nothing to everything. To be more than really satisfied playing this game, "Don't put it in your mind, that I want every single store to be available" that wish tries to threaten your whole experience. Amazing, I see.
  74. Jul 11, 2016
    9
    Grand Theft Auto IV presents new characters, new mechanics, a new setting and a new universe. A serious man with a dark past, Niko Bellic comes to America expecting to live the American dream with his rich cousin, who is actually mired in debt. Niko is then forced to deal with his cousin's problems, but ends up making friends - and enemies - in the way. Ultimately, he discovers theGrand Theft Auto IV presents new characters, new mechanics, a new setting and a new universe. A serious man with a dark past, Niko Bellic comes to America expecting to live the American dream with his rich cousin, who is actually mired in debt. Niko is then forced to deal with his cousin's problems, but ends up making friends - and enemies - in the way. Ultimately, he discovers the American dream has a price. A high price. While it may miss some good features from its predecessors, GTA IV manages to be perfect on its own way. Expand
  75. Oct 17, 2012
    10
    GTA IV is one of the greatest experiences I've ever had. It is a must have for PS3 & 360 owners. It offers amazing graphics and game play. This game is huge its fun exploring the city and you can finally go in buildings it so fun having a massacre at the hospital. Even better than GTA 3 this game is the best in the series
  76. Oct 10, 2011
    10
    In my opinion this is a masterpiece of a game and is still running in my ps3 thanks to the multiplayer and great gameplay.This game was one of my reasons why I even bought the ps3. Sure the other GTA:s (like Vice City and San Andreas) had more stuff in them but this is the first gta in this generation, so it makes it like GTA 3, which was the first gta of the previous generation (and lovedIn my opinion this is a masterpiece of a game and is still running in my ps3 thanks to the multiplayer and great gameplay.This game was one of my reasons why I even bought the ps3. Sure the other GTA:s (like Vice City and San Andreas) had more stuff in them but this is the first gta in this generation, so it makes it like GTA 3, which was the first gta of the previous generation (and loved it too). Cant wait for the next GTA. [HATERS GONNA HATE] Expand
  77. Feb 27, 2012
    9
    Grand Theft Auto IV is a game for the ages, one that is obviously included in gaming halls of fame and remembered fondly by everyone who was there to play it when it was released. We would never have thought that that by retreading the same patch of ground a studio could leave us feeling like we have just played one of the best videogames of all time. Yes, there's still the freedom toGrand Theft Auto IV is a game for the ages, one that is obviously included in gaming halls of fame and remembered fondly by everyone who was there to play it when it was released. We would never have thought that that by retreading the same patch of ground a studio could leave us feeling like we have just played one of the best videogames of all time. Yes, there's still the freedom to cause havoc, and inevitably you do; the difference is that you're no longer impelled to toy with GTA IV's world in quite the same sadistic way - you live in it. After playing GTA III, Vice City and San Andreas it was hard to imagine being swept away again by another GTA game but this game really delivers. The story, the characters, the setting and the game world are so well crafted and put together it's nice to see some developers still take time to prepare their works and not just milk a franchise with yearly releases. It of course comes with it's flaws though; The driving has become rubbish, mainly because of the brakes not working, And the framerate is a little choppy. Expand
  78. Apr 2, 2012
    10
    Didnt like it. It was good at first, but playing other Huge title games, it didnt stand out to me, they are focused on too much graphics! Bring San Andreas back!!
  79. Apr 7, 2013
    10
    I love this game is perfect everything is just awesome in every department the story the graphics, the gameplay is just perfect the general vibe that the game ends up giving you all together with the freedom it deserves a ten cause it's perfect
  80. Nov 7, 2011
    10
    GTA has been one of the world's biggest video game franchises, and GTA IV just helped the game get bigger. After i played GTASA i thought Rockstar Games woudn't be able to make a better GTA, well... they proved me wrong, GTA IV is worth all your money and time so if you love video games either your familiar with GTA or this is the first time you buy a video game of this type. YOU WON'T REGRET IT.
  81. Dec 26, 2011
    10
    after having so much fun playing vice city stories and liberty city stories gta 4 makes them too look like your average game better graphics more fun and much more graphics and extra realism makes this the best gta ever fact.
  82. Dec 22, 2012
    9
    When I first played Gta IV I was instantly hooked. The atmosphere in the game was amazing. Missions were addictive, story was nice. there were many memorable characters and funny laughs. I rented this at first and played it for 22 hour then re-rented it and played it for 24 more hours and beat the game. This game is my 2nd favourite sandbox of all time and this game is awesome. The flaws IWhen I first played Gta IV I was instantly hooked. The atmosphere in the game was amazing. Missions were addictive, story was nice. there were many memorable characters and funny laughs. I rented this at first and played it for 22 hour then re-rented it and played it for 24 more hours and beat the game. This game is my 2nd favourite sandbox of all time and this game is awesome. The flaws I had with the game were the predictable missions. But none the less, an awesome game 9/10 Expand
  83. Oct 12, 2015
    10
    The best grand theft auto game and the story is priceless. There is nothing that I would change its fun and makes you feel emotional for the people in the game.
  84. Oct 27, 2016
    8
    This was the first GTA game I ever got my hands on. Fun as hell! The driving was excellent, the missions was fun (except for that annoying ass motorcycle chase), pretty good story, alive world, great gameplay. Lazy review but I gotta have at least 150 words whateva
  85. Feb 22, 2011
    10
    These games just get better and better. Captivating story, great graphics, fun gameplay and some humour. Quite simply the best game around. New York or should i say liberty city is brilliantly realised.
  86. Jun 5, 2013
    8
    Its good, its fun, its great. its big. but its not perfect. The driving feels very heavy. Great game overall though. I Like how the game has so many different types of missions~
  87. May 5, 2013
    10
    Perhaps the greatest game of this generation. Not much else to said really. GTA is a phenomenal series. Not just because it sells billions of dollars worth of games but because the quality of Rockstars gaming giant is just simply outstanding. If you've been living under a rock of the last 5 or so years and haven't played GTA 4, the all I gotta say is. Play the sh!t outta this masterpiecePerhaps the greatest game of this generation. Not much else to said really. GTA is a phenomenal series. Not just because it sells billions of dollars worth of games but because the quality of Rockstars gaming giant is just simply outstanding. If you've been living under a rock of the last 5 or so years and haven't played GTA 4, the all I gotta say is. Play the sh!t outta this masterpiece of pixellated awesomeness. It's that good. Play it. Go. Expand
  88. Jul 3, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The best game ever!The best open-world game ever with good graphics quality,plot and city!You will be absolutely enjoy playing this game!Don't miss it! Expand
  89. Jan 18, 2015
    8
    First of all this is a great game in a great serie, no arguying there, but for me it did not feel as alive as some of the others, especially Vice City, which are my favourite. Some of the mission just did not feel that exciting to me, maybe because it is similar to the other gta games and It did not feel fresh anymore.
    I enjoyed it, but the story, the graphics and some of the mission
    First of all this is a great game in a great serie, no arguying there, but for me it did not feel as alive as some of the others, especially Vice City, which are my favourite. Some of the mission just did not feel that exciting to me, maybe because it is similar to the other gta games and It did not feel fresh anymore.
    I enjoyed it, but the story, the graphics and some of the mission where not top notch, so therefore I would give this game a 8/8.5.
    Expand
  90. Oct 7, 2017
    10
    лучшая часть гта на данный момент. Великолепная история, достойная хорошего фильма. Погружаешься в либерти-сити моментально и не покидаешь его, пока не проходишь игру до самого конца. История Нико действительно заставляет переживать и хочется узнать, что же с ним случиться в конце концов. Самая серьезная игра серии, ставящая перед игроком серьезные, порой даже философские вопросы, что, клучшая часть гта на данный момент. Великолепная история, достойная хорошего фильма. Погружаешься в либерти-сити моментально и не покидаешь его, пока не проходишь игру до самого конца. История Нико действительно заставляет переживать и хочется узнать, что же с ним случиться в конце концов. Самая серьезная игра серии, ставящая перед игроком серьезные, порой даже философские вопросы, что, к сожалению, большая часть игроков привыкшей к фану в гта оценить не смогло. Я играл в IV несколько дней подряд с перерывами на сон, а после прохождения остался осадок, история заставляет задуматься. Единственная игра серии, где ГГ развивается по ходу игры. Да, в игре не так много околосюжетного контента, как в гта СА или 5, но эта часть не создавалась как фановая песочница-стрелялка, а как история, рассказывающая, насколько это ужасная ноша иметь чужую кровь на своих руках. Одна из лучших историй рассказанных в видеоиграх Expand
  91. Sep 27, 2010
    10
    Ahh, GTA IV....my personal favorite on my small library of games. I think the storyline is surprisingly interesting, with the plot twists and everything. I love the vast expanses of the newly rendered Liberty City. It looks much like NYC, so they have that down pat.
  92. May 24, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. GAMEPLAY:

    Grand Theft Auto is renowned for having a sandbox, complete with a plethora of distractions like socializing and dating, going to clubs, bars, strip-clubs and just having a good time in game. You will definitely find a hard time getting bored in Liberty City, which is a whole different story. The city itself is huge, and at any glance no matter what burrow looks like Rockstar’s imagining of NYC but in their own GTA world.
    Combat at first glance may seem to be tricky but eventually you will get a handle on the combat system. The melee system consists of several different attacks that when used in different combinations can prove to be effective against the opponent. Gunfights can be a little boring but when in a large skirmish with the cops or online against waves of enemies will make lasting memories.

    Perhaps the finest points of combat in the game though is in the cars. There is nothing in the game that compares to doing a drive-by shooting or firing at the cops during a high-speed chase. Vehicular combat was fine-tuned perfectly that allows the player(s) to engage in awesome shoot outs on the road, no matter what the vehicle is... from a moped to an armored truck.
    Driving is easy, with basic controls for ALL vehicles though it may be hard to grasp the comfort of driving boats and aircraft. Perhaps the hardest vehicle to drive though are the motorcycles, they have a very high speed, horrible handling, and will pretty much launch you if you hit ANYTHING at a high velocity. Just another taste of reality but don’t expect to be a pro motorcyclist or pilot right off.

    SOUND/MUSIC:

    The game’s radio soundtrack is very unique and a lot of the songs fit well in not just the game but the story. Players can choose from an array of music like rock, hip-hop, rap, techno, and even talk shows. The citizens of liberty city all have very different personalities, and voices, Rockstar did a good job making the non-essential NPC’s seem unique.
    Other than the radio stations in the cars in the game, the game doesn’t have an “epic score” or an everlasting soundtrack that will have you streaming the web to listen to. But overall the sound quality of the guns, the people, the cars, and even the ambience really polish this game up and show how Rockstar games tried to make this game as realistic as possible.

    STORY:
    You play as Niko Bellic an eastern-european (it is never really made clear where Nikos is from) who just moved from his homeland to Liberty City. The game takes off with you joining your cousin Roman who has made himself a nice little taxi business that he calls the beginning of the “american dream”. Over the course of the game Niko has to fight bikers, russians, gangsters, and cops... when suddenly his past catches up with him.
    The plot spans from Niko going “from the streets of Liberty City to the skyline of wealth”. As the player helps different factions and crime lords, Niko himself finds out that America is no different than the very war and the troubling past he has suffered.

    ENGINE:

    Grand Theft Auto 4’s engine isn’t special by “today’s standards”. There are few bugs, but even the ones in game can turn out to be quite funny or amusing. Online gameplay is really great, and unique. Until Grand Theft Auto 5 comes out, Grand Theft Auto 4’s engine alongside Red Dead Redemption HAVE TO BE Rockstar’s finest works.
    Expand
  93. Feb 23, 2013
    10
    R* never fail to disappoint. While the map is limited compared to San Andreas, you can't help but feel attached to the characters and adore the weapons within the game. There's a bigger element of realism to GTA IV compared to all the previous games... but this makes it interesting to see progression unravel throughout the entire story. While the cars feel kind of cubic driving around inR* never fail to disappoint. While the map is limited compared to San Andreas, you can't help but feel attached to the characters and adore the weapons within the game. There's a bigger element of realism to GTA IV compared to all the previous games... but this makes it interesting to see progression unravel throughout the entire story. While the cars feel kind of cubic driving around in the new controls are much better than before. If you haven't played it before you do before V comes out. Expand
  94. Jun 17, 2013
    8
    This game is no doubt awesome. The story is fairly good, but who plays GTA for the story? I love to just drive around, picking up prostitutes and shooting cops. Whip out the phone, enter some cheats and you have infinite amounts of fun.

    The story was good though. Niko is an interesting character and likewise for his brother (Roman). I played through once and then got half way through a
    This game is no doubt awesome. The story is fairly good, but who plays GTA for the story? I love to just drive around, picking up prostitutes and shooting cops. Whip out the phone, enter some cheats and you have infinite amounts of fun.

    The story was good though. Niko is an interesting character and likewise for his brother (Roman). I played through once and then got half way through a second time. It was fairly engaging and enjoyable. But does offer limited scope for imagination.

    Driving around the city and doing your own thing is where the main fun of GTA:IV lies. If only I could without being called every five minutes. Bowling anyone?
    Expand
  95. Jul 6, 2013
    8
    The review score for this game is an embarrassment and testament to what is happening to video gaming. The 10's given to this game by "professional" reviewers are clearly not just about the quality of the game. The reviewers have clearly been influenced by other factors. Gaming review scores in general have clearly become favors to the game developers, and this is an example of that takenThe review score for this game is an embarrassment and testament to what is happening to video gaming. The 10's given to this game by "professional" reviewers are clearly not just about the quality of the game. The reviewers have clearly been influenced by other factors. Gaming review scores in general have clearly become favors to the game developers, and this is an example of that taken to extremes.

    Now, having said that, I am not saying this is a bad game. In fact, it is actually a very good game, but to call it perfect or near perfect is absurd. It's also very odd that a lot of "professional" reviewers are indicating that they are scoring the game higher because it is newer and has better graphics, etc. Since when did we start doing this? If this is how we are going to look at games then all of the new games are all better than older games. I guess "Alone in the Dark: The New Nightmare" is way better than the original "Alone in the Dark" because it is so much newer and has graphics that are far more advanced. No, that can't be right because "Alone in the Dark: The New Nightmare" was almost universally declared a piece of garbage, while "Alone in the Dark" is frequently listed as one of the best games of all time. (It's worth mentioning that the game developer for the newer game threatened reviewers with a lawsuit over their reviews of the game when it came out.)

    Getting back to GTA IV, there are far too many flaws for it to be considered near perfect. This one is obviously subjective to some extent, but the music and radio is very disappointing when compared with previous versions. I'll allow this to not even count since it is so subjective, but I'm sure I'm not the only one who feels this way. I quickly turned off the radio and left it off. I never did that in any of the previous versions. Still, this is one of the great features of the GTA series that makes it standout from other games that do not even have this feature so I won't count this.

    This may also be subjective to some extent, but the story and characters are boring with a capital B. The characters look and sound boring. We went from actors like Ray Liotta as the main character in "GTA: Vice City" to the crap in GTA IV? I'm curious if anyone out there cares about Nikko and his cousin at all. Even the other hoods that give you your jobs are boring. While watching and listening to the video in the game for the first time I wanted to just skip over it. For me, the music, story, and characters alone make this game far less entertaining than all previous versions of the GTA series. This version of GTA is also too serious. I always thought some of the negative things (violence, sex, etc.) said about the GTA series in the media were a bit ridiculous because it was hard to see how anyone could take the games that seriously, but with this version I can see their point a little, (Just a little!) because it's too serious. One last thing, the game seems much less creative in it's content than previous iterations.

    I am not going to go over the good or great facets of this game because that has been done to death. I just wanted to post a review to comment on how overrated the game is, even though it is still an excellent game.
    Expand
  96. Jul 12, 2013
    9
    I started playing GTA when it still was in 2D and I tried all GTA game. This one is a great one with still lot of freedom, lot of possibilities ,good story (the player have to take some choice)...a great game i had pleasure to finish 2 or 3 times!
  97. Jul 20, 2013
    10
    this game is epic i'm excited for gta v for those who thing this isn't that great,gta v is gonna blow your mind away. People says it has bad framerate? its your computer that is the problem get a decent one and it would work flawlessly the storyline is great actually
  98. Jun 17, 2016
    8
    Pretty good. There's a lot of detail and effort put into the game, some mechanics may seem outdated, but it lives up to its legacy. The framerate in PS3 might be a problem, but it doesnt break the fun overall.
  99. Sep 10, 2014
    8
    This game is very good if not even excellent but not perfect. Few problems in game are the new physics (Not a big problem, and it is something new so we have to give the slack), and the voice actor. Maybe it is a bigger problem for me because I am from part of the world that the main character is, but I just don't find his "native" language to be good and for me it is an issue, but beyondThis game is very good if not even excellent but not perfect. Few problems in game are the new physics (Not a big problem, and it is something new so we have to give the slack), and the voice actor. Maybe it is a bigger problem for me because I am from part of the world that the main character is, but I just don't find his "native" language to be good and for me it is an issue, but beyond that it is a great game. Expand
  100. Mar 5, 2016
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I don't care about negative comments. I have my opinion. In this game you feel like in criminal life. And I played GTA 5 which was great but something was missing. And I remembered that GTA 5 lacks good story. And until this day I am a big fan of GTA 4, because of atmosphere in this game. Expand
Metascore
98

Universal acclaim - based on 64 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 64
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 64
  3. Negative: 0 out of 64
  1. Grand Theft Auto IV is not a perfect game, but it is fantastic through and through, from start to finish and beyond. It is so massive, vast and impressive that it is almost mind-boggling to imagine how much work must have gone into the game to come up with so much detail.
  2. But GTA IV will never get old, or start repeating itself. It will always offer anyone who turns it on an experience to savour.
  3. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    100
    GTA4 is a traditional crime story through and through, with a script that rarely strays from its purpose, a pitch-perfect supporting cast, and an expert combination of in-game storytelling and crafted cut-scenes. [June 2008, p.80]