User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2547 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JitoM.
    May 2, 2008
    10
    Your going to need "Hot Coffee" because this game will keep you sleep deprived for weeks. 10 outta 10 breda !!!!
  2. DanielH.
    May 21, 2008
    10
    It has been the best game I have played on and it looks really good on blue ray disc. Then a normal crappy Xbox disc.
  3. TylerG.
    May 2, 2008
    10
    Astounding in every respect, this is the complete and total GTA experience with online muiliplayer. There isn't a game out there and that can match the sheer quality (or quantity) that GTA IV offers. For anyone who likes games or hates Jack Thompson, buy this game immediately.
  4. ChrisW.
    May 24, 2008
    10
    Too good to be true. though it may be missing a few things that were crammed into San Andreas, it gives you the feeling that you are so much apart of its environment. Bloody awesome.
  5. JakeM.
    May 26, 2008
    10
    A great all around game, but I was a little disappointed with the lack of ability to enter most buildings.
  6. JC
    May 26, 2008
    10
    Amazing game. Missing a few little things such as bycicles and stuff, but its still worth the 10.
  7. NeinW.
    May 4, 2008
    10
    Been a gamer since the Atari days.. this is by far the best, most complete video game I've ever played.
  8. jakejohns
    May 6, 2008
    10
    i love all the grand theft auto games, i got all the grand theft auto games for sony systems and i pesonaly think sony should get all gta games as eclusives, but gta4 is the most beautiful, and most impressive i have ever played, and i think rocstar games for that masterpiece of a game
  9. KyleC
    May 7, 2008
    10
    Stunning. Absolutely stunning. From the story, to the graphics, to the meticulous level of detail (go to sleep at night and go outside the next day to notice smudges of dirt that have gathered on your car from a rain storm that occurred earlier), to the often times hilarious voice acting, to the..well I could go on for a while...this game is superb from start to finish. Details you seldom Stunning. Absolutely stunning. From the story, to the graphics, to the meticulous level of detail (go to sleep at night and go outside the next day to notice smudges of dirt that have gathered on your car from a rain storm that occurred earlier), to the often times hilarious voice acting, to the..well I could go on for a while...this game is superb from start to finish. Details you seldom notice exist in real life have been captured by this game. Well done, Rockstar North. You have brought new meaning to next-generation gaming. A novel take on gaming that will be mimicked by other gaming companies for years to come. Expand
  10. FranciscoM.
    May 8, 2008
    10
    It's a wonderful game with a very good story.
  11. ThomasD.
    May 8, 2008
    10
    The First Great Game To Come Out For The PS3... Its About TIme.
  12. BenT.
    Jun 16, 2008
    10
    You know the saying you can't please everybody. Rockstar must be wondering what they did wrong, because nearly all the reviews on the internet I've read have missed the point. The gameplay is leaps ahead of SA, the graphics are good, not perfect, but good enough that you find yourself immersed in the city. Most of all, the detail in the game makes it worthy of a 10, and the You know the saying you can't please everybody. Rockstar must be wondering what they did wrong, because nearly all the reviews on the internet I've read have missed the point. The gameplay is leaps ahead of SA, the graphics are good, not perfect, but good enough that you find yourself immersed in the city. Most of all, the detail in the game makes it worthy of a 10, and the missions can be truly inventive on some occasions allowing you, in some, to approach it in different ways. Expand
  13. SimonV.
    Jul 23, 2008
    10
    There were too many expectations , and the game is as we can see the best game ever for PS3 and Xbox360 with fantastic graphics, great story, great sound. We may even say that this is the most original game of the GTA series and that completely turns around this series. Is a different game comparing with San Andreas, and inovates in very things, so this game is exacly waht the fans were There were too many expectations , and the game is as we can see the best game ever for PS3 and Xbox360 with fantastic graphics, great story, great sound. We may even say that this is the most original game of the GTA series and that completely turns around this series. Is a different game comparing with San Andreas, and inovates in very things, so this game is exacly waht the fans were expecting. Expand
  14. thebossman
    Sep 19, 2008
    10
    Probably the best free-roaming game ever made.
  15. DanteM.
    Feb 22, 2009
    10
    I think this is probably the best Playstation game ever. It has amazing graphics, a verry good gameplay, nice controlls. You can just keep playing this game forever, and you will never get tired off it. The blur for far away building is a bit disturbing, but that really is the only thing that isn't perfect in this game.
  16. DesmondL
    Jun 18, 2009
    10
    One most best game I ever played. This game is already defeat Zelda N64 after the released and most highest rank ever (expect game rankings). But sadly, this game is full of controversy and i bit disappointing.
  17. TheMan
    Jun 26, 2009
    10
    The best game game of all time, missions are a blast, the story is extremely confounding and the characters bring a strong sense of nostalgia towards the gaming Industry. It really is hard to believe that gta is over 10 years old and this game sets the gold standard for any competitor willing to follow.
  18. Hans
    Jul 16, 2009
    10
    Probably the best game i've played. Seems a lot of people come with some silly excuses and vote a 0 because they want to feel special and go against the hype. Most gamers aren't capable of being subjective, and that's clearly why metacritic doesn't involve user ratings in the metascore. This game has some of the best graphics, physics and story of any PS3 game, which Probably the best game i've played. Seems a lot of people come with some silly excuses and vote a 0 because they want to feel special and go against the hype. Most gamers aren't capable of being subjective, and that's clearly why metacritic doesn't involve user ratings in the metascore. This game has some of the best graphics, physics and story of any PS3 game, which all deserves a 10. Only negative thing i can think of is that the framerate sometimes goes down quite a bit, which can be annoying. I found the missions quite entertaining, but the majority of the missions follow the "drive to a destination and kill people" formula. Despite the negative things, I'd still give it a 10, partly because the multiplayer is so fun, and the overall entertainment level i got from the game was immense. Expand
  19. alecf
    Sep 29, 2009
    10
    i agree with steve m. this game is truly great. all the little kids that played gta san andreas might be upset because its not as crazy and stupid. this is a mature title with a mature story and characters that are actually interesting. the realism is what makes this game great, if your not looking for realism play saints row 2. however i dont believe it is the best game ever made andi agree with steve m. this game is truly great. all the little kids that played gta san andreas might be upset because its not as crazy and stupid. this is a mature title with a mature story and characters that are actually interesting. the realism is what makes this game great, if your not looking for realism play saints row 2. however i dont believe it is the best game ever made and people going into it expecting it to be might be dissapointed. seriously though if you are mature enough for this title pick it up, you wont be sorry Expand
  20. EoinF.
    Jan 19, 2010
    10
    Gripping Story, fantastic realistic gameplay and a living environment really does make GTA IV the best free world game out there. Now to those people who say its bad because it's not like the old GTAs, I'm sorry but we're not all 10 year olds who want boom boom kapowy games, we want a game that, in my opinion, IS the video game equivelant of The Godfather, it's just Gripping Story, fantastic realistic gameplay and a living environment really does make GTA IV the best free world game out there. Now to those people who say its bad because it's not like the old GTAs, I'm sorry but we're not all 10 year olds who want boom boom kapowy games, we want a game that, in my opinion, IS the video game equivelant of The Godfather, it's just pure video game excellence. Expand
  21. RhienS.
    Dec 5, 2008
    10
    An amazing game, and despite all theese users going against the grain, its a must buy! It utilises the power of all the next gen consoles and looks fantastic graphic wise. The gameplay it self is like being kissed by an angel, and in that i mean there is nothing bad about it (other than a few frame rate issues). The gameplay mechanics are amazing, it has a fantastic storyline and is by An amazing game, and despite all theese users going against the grain, its a must buy! It utilises the power of all the next gen consoles and looks fantastic graphic wise. The gameplay it self is like being kissed by an angel, and in that i mean there is nothing bad about it (other than a few frame rate issues). The gameplay mechanics are amazing, it has a fantastic storyline and is by far hands down the best game i have played on a next gen console. I would suggest you listen to the critics, and go out and buy this game. Expand
  22. EAIsgay
    Apr 16, 2008
    10
    omg uh if u play this game and dont like it please cut your hands off cause you never deserve to game again. ok jk but seriously this game is amazing. the story will be riviting, full of interesting characters, and this time the shooting mechanic wont disapoint. goty no question
  23. HelloDer
    Apr 22, 2008
    10
    Gotta love the 62 (now 63) people that have scored the game before it has even been released. No way they have gotten their hands on it. I'll give it a 10 just to counter-balance the low scores that people are giving it before they have even played the game.
  24. CrestonO.
    Apr 26, 2008
    10
    Flawless Good all Around gameplay great storyline and multiplayer.
  25. Chris
    Apr 27, 2008
    10
    I couldn't believe my luck when my copy of GTA IV Special Edition turned up on Saturday morning - 3 days early!! I've been playing it pretty much non-stop since then, and words can't describe how awesome it is. I really AM Niko, I feel for him, and care about what he does, the people he meets and the cops he inevitably has to shoot. I've never been so immersed in a I couldn't believe my luck when my copy of GTA IV Special Edition turned up on Saturday morning - 3 days early!! I've been playing it pretty much non-stop since then, and words can't describe how awesome it is. I really AM Niko, I feel for him, and care about what he does, the people he meets and the cops he inevitably has to shoot. I've never been so immersed in a game before, and I wonder if I ever will again... at least until GTA V. Believe the hype! Expand
  26. MikeH.
    Apr 27, 2008
    10
    I've played both versions:ps3 and xbox360. The ps3 version edges out the 360 slightly, graphically speaking but gameplay wise, both are incredible games for this generations of hardware.
  27. JosephM.
    Apr 27, 2008
    10
    This is the only game that I ever play, period. This is the only reason I bought a PlayStation 3.
  28. WesleyR.
    Apr 27, 2008
    10
    A gripping, polished, beautiful game from start to finish.
  29. AdolfoP.
    Apr 28, 2008
    10
    GTA IV is the best action game ever. The game has beautiful details, nice situations, extraordinary gameplay, sharp humor and great graphics. There are certainly a few minor negatives about the game, but the positive points are just too much. We have one piece of advice: Buy!
  30. JonahN.
    May 13, 2008
    10
    Excellent game. LC is a spot on representation of NYC. The streets are alive and bustling with people. It is very immersing. The gameplay works much better than in past GTAs, as targeting now isn't a hassle. Love the storyline. Great game, worth every penny.
  31. SethR.
    Jun 27, 2008
    10
    Anyone who thinks this game sucks, has bad graphics, or is too realistic, must take dick up their anal cavity. Expecially Smq....How could you possibly tihnk a game is too realistic? Thats the whole point of the game you flying fag. Best game ver, bar none OUT!
  32. ChristianV
    Dec 23, 2009
    10
    This game is incredible. Possibly the best video game I have ever played. Can't wait for GTA 5
  33. RyanL
    Dec 28, 2009
    10
    This is truly a masterpiece, Grand Theft Auto IV surpasses any of its predecessors such as GTA: San Andreas. The graphics are amazing, it really takes you into the game. The campaign is very long and will definitely keep you hooked from start to finish! Multiplayer is ok, theres no real problems its just that I dont want to be playing countless hours to get to the last level. Its all This is truly a masterpiece, Grand Theft Auto IV surpasses any of its predecessors such as GTA: San Andreas. The graphics are amazing, it really takes you into the game. The campaign is very long and will definitely keep you hooked from start to finish! Multiplayer is ok, theres no real problems its just that I dont want to be playing countless hours to get to the last level. Its all about the singleplayer here. One thing is though that there are not enough guns! I loved San Andreas because of your weapon arsenal! Heatseeking rocket launchers, harriers, they had it all! I really wish that exclusive DLC for the xbox (eg Ballad of Gay Tony) came to the PS3 because it really looks like San Andreas mixed with GTA IV!! Expand
  34. Oct 28, 2010
    10
    I thoroughly enjoyed this game right from the day i got it and to this day i still enjoy playing it. The story is very well written and does its best to give players the freedom of choice from time to time. The multi player is good it has a lot of variety to it which makes it very enjoyable for players
  35. Sep 2, 2010
    10
    Quite simply, the most engrossing Sandbox game available for consoles. It may have lost the hilarity of San Andreas and the style of Vice City, but as a story, it shoves both of the previous two games down a hill. Moving, emotional, funny, sad and with a bitter/sweet ending, this game is definately worth the 25+ hours you can sink into it.
  36. Sep 27, 2010
    10
    Ahh, GTA IV....my personal favorite on my small library of games. I think the storyline is surprisingly interesting, with the plot twists and everything. I love the vast expanses of the newly rendered Liberty City. It looks much like NYC, so they have that down pat.
  37. Oct 2, 2010
    10
    After playing GTA III, Vice City and San Andreas it was hard to imagine being swept away again by another GTA game but man does this game deliver. The story, the characters, the setting and the game world are so well crafted and put together it's nice to see some developers still take time to prepare their works and not just milk a franchise with yearly releases.
  38. Oct 15, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Grand Theft Auto Iv this game is very realistic but not that realistic i have got this and have played it twice nearly completed it for a second time but after a bit you do get bored of as you`v played it for long and you know everywhere but something still amaze me such as the quality`s of the cars and how fast they go this game does have very good graphics the graphics are amazing also from start to last the game does impress youv got alot of diffrent choices to choose from as which person to kill first and you get suprises from each of them .The first hand shooting on this game is actally quite amazing but the bad thing is when you aere going so fast in your car the tv will glitch adn freez the glitches on this are quite good as you can go online and you have to go to the secound islnd their is a swing there which if you keep hitting your car at it it flings you so far in the sky .This game would be my secound choice if i had it on a list even though it is good its not that good if you keep playing it and you get use to everything themusic on the game is quite intresting the radio i like is BEATS 87.2 this one has alot of rap on the radio.This game does amaze you some points as i bet you didnt know that you can give tramps money and also you have got alot of challeneges to complete in the game you have to shoot pigions to unlock something also you can ramp off ramps and fly and this will give you suprises i would appreiacte for looking Thanks for looking. Expand
  39. Nov 16, 2010
    10
    Grab a beer and wonder at the city lights and skylines that ooze of atmosphere. Atmoshere for me is what sets GTA apart from it's wannabees and clones. Just to peruse the city in a taxi is a joy in itself. The virtual world laid out before you is staggering. If the game had no plot and was just a free sprawling city that would be enough for me. Not surprisingly there is a plot and aGrab a beer and wonder at the city lights and skylines that ooze of atmosphere. Atmoshere for me is what sets GTA apart from it's wannabees and clones. Just to peruse the city in a taxi is a joy in itself. The virtual world laid out before you is staggering. If the game had no plot and was just a free sprawling city that would be enough for me. Not surprisingly there is a plot and a damned good one. The game has few flaws in my book, the only flaw would be that previous incarnations may have taken a tiny amount of shine off this version , but even then not much. Great fun online and just as good chilling by yourself with a Scotch overlooking the statue of liberty. Expand
  40. Dec 20, 2010
    10
    A perfect game. Liberty city is absolutely beautiful. The story is absorbing. I could not put the controller down. The missions are varied and fewer time limited missions, which was a frustrating factor in previous games is a welcome change. The addition of the other minigames, a friend system, girlfriend system, etc., all contribute to this masterpiece. There are so many good things forA perfect game. Liberty city is absolutely beautiful. The story is absorbing. I could not put the controller down. The missions are varied and fewer time limited missions, which was a frustrating factor in previous games is a welcome change. The addition of the other minigames, a friend system, girlfriend system, etc., all contribute to this masterpiece. There are so many good things for this I don't even know what to say. Just buy it and play for yourself. Expand
  41. Dec 7, 2010
    10
    Ive been playing GTA IV for over 20 years now its amazing ive been able to jump off the empire state building only to slide down the pyramids and land in amsterdam there i smoked weed
  42. Dec 16, 2010
    10
    THAT'S IT!THE BEST GTA EVER!Man this game is so good that is the best GTA game and best Xbox 360/PS3 game!This game is really good!No joke!The action BLAZES a lot!The perfect GTA game!
  43. Dec 31, 2010
    10
    Truly the best game I have ever played by a mile.
  44. Feb 8, 2011
    10
    Possibly the finest open world game ever created, and easily the best social satire ever concieved. A world were people live and breathe the lives of every one of us. From flipping open cell phones and chatting, going for coffee, having trouble parallel parking, hobo's at the bus stop, GTA4 is the single most immersive game world I have ever seen. Combine a lengthy campaign with aPossibly the finest open world game ever created, and easily the best social satire ever concieved. A world were people live and breathe the lives of every one of us. From flipping open cell phones and chatting, going for coffee, having trouble parallel parking, hobo's at the bus stop, GTA4 is the single most immersive game world I have ever seen. Combine a lengthy campaign with a fantastic story, brilliant dialogue, amazing graphics, great music, unthinkable scale (the buildings loom over you as drive through the downtown and its a beauty to behold), and hundreds of hours worth of stuff to do... oh and how about all of that WITH 8 players online? GTA4 is a modern masterpiece. When I first played it in 2008 my jaw was floored. Now in 2011 after playing it all again with the two (also incredible) DLC campaigns, I can say my stance is virtualy unaltered, if not improved. You are not allowed to claim to be a gammer without experiencing GTA4. In my top 3 games of all time. Expand
  45. Feb 22, 2011
    10
    These games just get better and better. Captivating story, great graphics, fun gameplay and some humour. Quite simply the best game around. New York or should i say liberty city is brilliantly realised.
  46. Apr 2, 2011
    10
    This game is a mindless package of your wildest fantasies of death, destruction, shooting, sex, drugs, rock 'n' roll and fast cars. The 4th generation in the hugely popular Grand Theft Auto franchise sees you as Niko Bellic, an Eastern European immigrant who comes to Liberty City to see his cousin Roman, who is supposedly rich and famous. The truth is that all Roman has is a seedyThis game is a mindless package of your wildest fantasies of death, destruction, shooting, sex, drugs, rock 'n' roll and fast cars. The 4th generation in the hugely popular Grand Theft Auto franchise sees you as Niko Bellic, an Eastern European immigrant who comes to Liberty City to see his cousin Roman, who is supposedly rich and famous. The truth is that all Roman has is a seedy apartment, a small taxi company and is also thousands of dollars in debt to some unfriendly gangsters. So, typical GTA story; you need to work your way to the top of the ladder but to do so you must complete missions for various mob bosses, drug dealers and corrupt cops. The missions are genuinely fun and each one is perfect length. However, the real star of the show is Liberty City itself. The map is split into about five different islands, the main one being Manhattan or Algonquin as it is known in the game. The city is based off of New York City, and you will see plenty of iconic landmarks such as the Empire State Building, Chrysler Building and even the Statue of Liberty! My one complaint is that the huge size of the map is both a blessing and a curse, because to complete certain missions, you need to drive all the way back to them if you die or get arrested. The gameplay is fast and furious, and you will handle many different weapons throughout. My favorite is the combat shotgun. The cars are good too, and apart from cars you can steal bikes, trucks, police cruisers, ambulances, garbage trucks and even some helicopters are thrown in there, but sadly the BMX from San Andreas does not return. All these cars and open ended gameplay are enough to keep anyone occupied even without doing any missions. Overall, GTA IV is a roller coaster ride that demands your full commitment and it is simply the best action game on the PS3, bar Red Dead Redemption. Expand
  47. Jun 3, 2011
    10
    Rockstar has done it again. This is the best GTA ive played. Also, give Rockstar some credit at least for creating Liberty City. It may not be as big as San Andreas but its big enough.
  48. Oct 10, 2011
    10
    In my opinion this is a masterpiece of a game and is still running in my ps3 thanks to the multiplayer and great gameplay.This game was one of my reasons why I even bought the ps3. Sure the other GTA:s (like Vice City and San Andreas) had more stuff in them but this is the first gta in this generation, so it makes it like GTA 3, which was the first gta of the previous generation (and lovedIn my opinion this is a masterpiece of a game and is still running in my ps3 thanks to the multiplayer and great gameplay.This game was one of my reasons why I even bought the ps3. Sure the other GTA:s (like Vice City and San Andreas) had more stuff in them but this is the first gta in this generation, so it makes it like GTA 3, which was the first gta of the previous generation (and loved it too). Cant wait for the next GTA. [HATERS GONNA HATE] Expand
  49. Oct 15, 2011
    10
    an amazing game which highlights the superiority of the GTA series against other mediocre sandbox games. It improves upon previous GTA'S in every aspect and is a must own.
  50. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    Great game.. I think its the best one in the series since San Andreas, the graphics are amazing, the combat is geat , and the game is better than other open world games, i dont know about peole but think its an amazing game.

    PS: i had to give this game a perfect 10 to counter all those trolls one the forums that said they will rate this game 0 , my real score is 9/10
  51. Feb 24, 2012
    10
    GTA IV (along with uncharted 2,3) is by far the best game this gen! I dont why people hat it.. its an AMAZING game, The story and graphics are top-notch... i gave it 10/10
  52. Nov 7, 2011
    10
    GTA has been one of the world's biggest video game franchises, and GTA IV just helped the game get bigger. After i played GTASA i thought Rockstar Games woudn't be able to make a better GTA, well... they proved me wrong, GTA IV is worth all your money and time so if you love video games either your familiar with GTA or this is the first time you buy a video game of this type. YOU WON'T REGRET IT.
  53. Mar 12, 2012
    10
    As with previous GTA games, this one is packed with hours of action adventure fun in a sandbox that you can call yours. Shoot an old lady, blow up a helicopter, have complete fun causing a mini apocalypse. Make sure you buy the add ons for even more fun. Lost and damned and Ballads of gay tony. This game is yes, a step back from GTA SA, like no planes, no realistic clothing changing, noAs with previous GTA games, this one is packed with hours of action adventure fun in a sandbox that you can call yours. Shoot an old lady, blow up a helicopter, have complete fun causing a mini apocalypse. Make sure you buy the add ons for even more fun. Lost and damned and Ballads of gay tony. This game is yes, a step back from GTA SA, like no planes, no realistic clothing changing, no getting fat, no swimming underwater, etc, but its uber fun. Do you play online? This game is online and is SUPER fun. Wreck havoc on complete random strangers. Got a PSN? Add me: ccrogers15 Expand
  54. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    Where should i start, GTA IV is one of the best games i have played in a while, after all it was GTA that turned me into a gamer. Play as Niko Bellic and hlep him confront in problems of loan sharks, the mob, and the cops. GTA IV really makes you feel for your character, you will start to grow on Niko and his family members as you play on, but it doesnt end, GTA IV introduces a newWhere should i start, GTA IV is one of the best games i have played in a while, after all it was GTA that turned me into a gamer. Play as Niko Bellic and hlep him confront in problems of loan sharks, the mob, and the cops. GTA IV really makes you feel for your character, you will start to grow on Niko and his family members as you play on, but it doesnt end, GTA IV introduces a new Multiplayer, wreck havoc in Liberty City with your friends online together, there are many modes availabe such as team deathmatch,etc. This game is amazing, Rockstar really nailed it this time, but then again, how often does rockstar fail? Expand
  55. Dec 1, 2011
    10
    An absolutely amazing game. The story is deep, and compelling; on multiple occasions, the game prompts you with a "moral choice", if you will, and in no other game have I been so stumped, and thought so hard on the repercussions of my actions. The characters in this game are also really impressive, each individual expressive, and characterized out the ass (note: this is a good thing). GunAn absolutely amazing game. The story is deep, and compelling; on multiple occasions, the game prompts you with a "moral choice", if you will, and in no other game have I been so stumped, and thought so hard on the repercussions of my actions. The characters in this game are also really impressive, each individual expressive, and characterized out the ass (note: this is a good thing). Gun play is responsive and fun, especially since your enemies react to each bullet differently, depending what gun you use, where you shoot them, and where you shot them before. Cars handle hyper-realistically, and when you hit stuff, your vehicle deforms in ways I've never seen in a game.

    Grand Theft Auto IV easily ranks in my top 3 games of all time, sharing the honor with Half-Life and Skyward Sword.

    Bravo, Rockstar; you are an incredibly mature, and intelligent developer, and I can't **** wait for Grand Theft Auto V.
    Expand
  56. Jan 13, 2012
    10
    I've been playing this game on and off right since I got it in early 2011. This has the best controls I've ever used for driving in an action game. The lock-on shooting mechanics work surprisingly well and result in quick, satisfying shoot-outs, and the story, though hard to follow for twenty hours, is unbelievably good for a video game. A point off for some uneven texture sharpness.I've been playing this game on and off right since I got it in early 2011. This has the best controls I've ever used for driving in an action game. The lock-on shooting mechanics work surprisingly well and result in quick, satisfying shoot-outs, and the story, though hard to follow for twenty hours, is unbelievably good for a video game. A point off for some uneven texture sharpness. In cutscenes, it's very noticeable when the foreground is rather sharp and well animated, but the background settings seem so soft that they look like they're being viewed through wax paper. There's some pretty bad aliasing too (jagged edges that should be curved), and it's a pain to have to tap X or A to run. However, those gripes aside, this is consistently the most fun game I've ever played. Expand
  57. Apr 19, 2012
    10
    It was hard to imagine what more could Rockstar deliver after the near-perfect PS2 ''not-trilogy'' of GTA III, Vice City and San Andreas; and the news that Grand Theft Auto IV would return to Liberty City and embrace a more serious style of story and gameplay made many people worry. Well, Rockstar did it once again, and I dare to say this is the best game of the series to date. GTA IVIt was hard to imagine what more could Rockstar deliver after the near-perfect PS2 ''not-trilogy'' of GTA III, Vice City and San Andreas; and the news that Grand Theft Auto IV would return to Liberty City and embrace a more serious style of story and gameplay made many people worry. Well, Rockstar did it once again, and I dare to say this is the best game of the series to date. GTA IV delivers a perfect combination of solid gameplay, compelling story and stunning graphics. Characters are more real and charismatic than ever, to the point where you find yourself saying that the new thieving/murderous protagonist Niko Bellic is a good person. All characters shine, from the most important ones to the ones that give you just a couple of missions; and this is powered up by great dialogue and voice acting. For the first time in the series the city fells alive, and at every turn you find a new, interesting area to explore. For those who expected the crime havoc of the previous installments, a little disappointment will come: GTA IV really is a lot more realistic than its predecessors. But give it a chance, enjoy the great graphics and soundtrack and you will find yourself enjoying this great game in no time. Expand
  58. Dec 26, 2011
    10
    after having so much fun playing vice city stories and liberty city stories gta 4 makes them too look like your average game better graphics more fun and much more graphics and extra realism makes this the best gta ever fact.
  59. Feb 18, 2012
    10
    GTA IV is another prime example of perfection in video games. It's not the greatest game of all time, but it's one of the only games that I can say surpassed my own expectations. It's perfect in the way that it does everything that it wants to do, and nothing more. Where most games in this generation focus most on features, this game focuses on core gameplay, story, and physics. From theGTA IV is another prime example of perfection in video games. It's not the greatest game of all time, but it's one of the only games that I can say surpassed my own expectations. It's perfect in the way that it does everything that it wants to do, and nothing more. Where most games in this generation focus most on features, this game focuses on core gameplay, story, and physics. From the driving, to the shooting, to the movements, everything is flawless. This being the first GTA on the 7th generation of consoles, it's quite bleak regarding what you can and can't do, but as I said that's not the point. The feature's will come in the next installation. This time around Rockstar focused on creating the best game engine they could possibly make, and they really out-did themselves here. The time and painstaking attention to detail is what makes this game such a masterpiece. Rockstar take gaming and turn it into an artform. You will not be customizing your character in outrageous clothing, nor will you be customizing your ride into an ultimate pimp mobile. What you will be doing is having a blast shooting up the streets of Liberty City, drifting around town in your choice of car, and marveling at the utter beauty of it all. It sounds simple, and it is, but it's perfect. It feels perfect and it plays perfect. You can take this experience online as well. You can run around the streets of Liberty City with 16 player multiplayer, stretched across a plethora of game modes. Some of the greatest multiplayer is to be found here. The story is as well fantastic. You play an immigrant coming to America on a promise of your cousin's that it's a high life of women and money. Come to find out your cousin is full of **** you'll be working from the ground up doing just about every criminal activity you can imagine. Though the main reason to travel the journey is in finding and killing someone that had ruined your life. The story takes dips and turns with every encounter, and the characters you meet along the way are all equally entertaining and interesting. This game was more than what I anticipated in that it focuses on what it should be focusing on unlike most games. A game is nothing without it's core gameplay, and Rockstar's knowledge of that earns them praise by most every critic. The game might not allow you to do this and it might not allow you to do that, but what you can do, you can't do better anywhere else in gaming. And that is what makes this game such a masterpiece. Expand
  60. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    One of the best games this gen! , I cant believe how some people gave this game such low scores! Its an AWESOME! game.. I recommend this game to every "REAL" gamer out there
  61. Apr 2, 2012
    10
    Didnt like it. It was good at first, but playing other Huge title games, it didnt stand out to me, they are focused on too much graphics! Bring San Andreas back!!
  62. May 12, 2012
    10
    Just ignore the trolls and naysayers this is the best game ever at this point you don't even need to do any missions since you would be wasting hours beating and pushing people off cliffs in other cars or train tracks.
  63. May 18, 2012
    10
    probably the best open world action-adventure video game made to date. There is so much to do and explore, even after you're done with the 20+ hour amazing storyline. Everything is beautiful and realistic in this game. And the online is suprisingly entertaining, a place where I can mess around for fun.
  64. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    What happens when you've crammed excellent physics, a really engaging plot line, hilarity, crime, and decent graphics into 1 video game? Grand Theft Auto IV. This game is nothing BUT fantastic, and if you actually have a real sense of humour, you would laugh at the flying cars blowing up in mid air while rotating in circles. It may not sound that great when you just read it from here, butWhat happens when you've crammed excellent physics, a really engaging plot line, hilarity, crime, and decent graphics into 1 video game? Grand Theft Auto IV. This game is nothing BUT fantastic, and if you actually have a real sense of humour, you would laugh at the flying cars blowing up in mid air while rotating in circles. It may not sound that great when you just read it from here, but believe me, you have GOT to try this game for yourself if you want any kind of fun. Expand
  65. Jul 2, 2012
    10
    The 2nd Best sandbox game, after GTA San Andreas. If only the adding some of the stuff CJ could with Niko Bellic. More custom mods for the cars and motor bikes. One item I miss, is the bmx bike, i hope they will put in the new GTA V game.
  66. Jul 21, 2012
    10
    A phenomenal game which is perhaps the best game to come out on the PS3 so far. I have played the other GTAs and I felt that GTA 3 and Vice City were the best of the series with San Andreas not quite delivering up to the standards that we expect from such a great gaming franchise. The developers at Rockstar must have had a similar thinking process as they stepped up their efforts toA phenomenal game which is perhaps the best game to come out on the PS3 so far. I have played the other GTAs and I felt that GTA 3 and Vice City were the best of the series with San Andreas not quite delivering up to the standards that we expect from such a great gaming franchise. The developers at Rockstar must have had a similar thinking process as they stepped up their efforts to produce a game which delivers in every aspect. Expand
  67. Sep 19, 2012
    10
    Análisis por leandrogamer para metacritic, This review is in spanish!!!! Este análisis es en español!!!
    Grand theft auto IV: jugabilidad: un diez cerrado, los controles son cómodos y muy buenos, fácil de adaptarse a estos.
    historia: grandiosa historia, es emocionante y llena de personajes muy carismáticos, un ejemplo de estos es Roman bellic , un
    Análisis por leandrogamer para metacritic, This review is in spanish!!!! Este análisis es en español!!!
    Grand theft auto IV: jugabilidad: un diez cerrado, los controles son cómodos y muy buenos, fácil de adaptarse a estos.
    historia: grandiosa historia, es emocionante y llena de personajes muy carismáticos, un ejemplo de estos es Roman bellic , un grandioso personaje que a la vez de ser gracioso se mete fácilmente en líos. Pero el verdadero personaje que llega hasta los extremos en carisma es little jacob... no en realidad es NIKO BELLIC, su historia, su pasado, su vida todo en el esta bien hecho.
    gráficos: Aquí en este aspecto podemos decir aunque este análisis es del 2012 que este juego tiene de los mejores gráficos de las consolas de esta generación... no puede compararse con un skyrim ni con uncharted 3 pues estos son de estos años pero comparado con lo visto en el 2008 (año en el que salio) podemos decir que los chicos de rockstar se lucieron!!! un 10 tecnología: impresionantes las físicas del juego, el uso de euphoria y RAGE es fenomenal, los choques y los movimientos ultra naturales le valen a este juego un 10 en tecnología.
    sonido: grandioso un 10 cerrado, la cantidad de acentos que tiene este juego no se compara con ninguno, las radios hasta la lluvia están muy bien, mejor dicho excelentes a nivel sonoro, repito un 10 bien merecido.
    innovación: innova mucho, el uso del celular, del Internet, un multiplayer sin tener que recurrir al equipo SAMP, este juego innova y mucho!!!!! no se podría mencionar todo lo que innovo pero lo justifico con este 10.
    Finalmente podemos decir dos cosas malas de GTA IV:
    1) Puede que halla unos ligeros pero casi no notorios problemas en las físicas del juego pero no perjudican el resultado final de tecnología ni del juego 2)Que no dispongas el tiempo para poder jugar este grandioso juego
    Lo mejor: La historia, te atrapa ademas de que cuenta la posibilidad de elegir el destino de algunos personajes y los DLC !!!
    Espero que les haya gustado este análisis, lo hice para que haya un análisis que no tenga que ser traducido.
    Expand
  68. Dec 27, 2012
    10
    Grand Theft Auto IV! So many things to say about this game! Rockstar's epic is simply amazing, and that is the reason it is the highest rated game on Metacritic. The story is amazing, it is fantastic throughout, and you can feel that a lot of work has been placed into it by the developer. Niko as a character is very well developed, a soldier coming into Liberty City, to the land ofGrand Theft Auto IV! So many things to say about this game! Rockstar's epic is simply amazing, and that is the reason it is the highest rated game on Metacritic. The story is amazing, it is fantastic throughout, and you can feel that a lot of work has been placed into it by the developer. Niko as a character is very well developed, a soldier coming into Liberty City, to the land of opportunity, to start a new life with his cousin Roman, but to also uncover some of the secrets of his past. This story will not be forgotten, and I find myself still knowing what Niko says throughout specific cut scenes. This story you will play again and again and you will never get bored of it. The real star of the game is Rockstar's imagination of New York City, Liberty City. So detailed and so closely related to NYC, so it is impossible not to love it! Also the cars, so realistic.
    This is one of my favorite video games ever, as it combines the fun combination of Grand Theft Auto into a more serious story, in a city where money is the key.
    This game should be in every gamer's collection, along with the 2 expansion packs of the game (especially The Ballad of Gay Tony.)
    Rockstar has simply done it again with this beautiful game, and pushes the bar even higher on open world games. The leap to the High Definition era is so big, and you will notice it just by comparing it to San Andreas. Of course, the game does not contain all the crazy things that San Andreas had like jet packs and planes, but it is beautiful in its own unique way. A must have!
    Expand
  69. Oct 5, 2012
    10
    GTA IV. a Masterpiece from Rockstar Games. don't listen to others its a GOOD GAME, STORY, everything. dont complain about the frame rate, its a 2008 game.
  70. Oct 17, 2012
    10
    GTA IV is one of the greatest experiences I've ever had. It is a must have for PS3 & 360 owners. It offers amazing graphics and game play. This game is huge its fun exploring the city and you can finally go in buildings it so fun having a massacre at the hospital. Even better than GTA 3 this game is the best in the series
  71. Oct 9, 2012
    10
    Best game ever. Such a deep storyline and a few jaw dropping moments. Gameplay and driving is unreal realistic. And the characters are deadly. This game is the best GTA yet
  72. Nov 9, 2012
    10
    Awesome game, I don't even have any words to describe it. Even in 2012 it is still one of the most revolutionary and graphically spectacular games. It exceeds many of the free-roam game today. Cant wait for GTAV
  73. Nov 17, 2012
    10
    I keep good memories from this videogame. It was the first PS3 game I bought, the first I finished... It was made in 2008, and the graphics are still gorgeous nowadays. The best GTA talking about the story. Perhaps, a little bit more weird or absurd would make this game funnier. But, with his serious argument, this game is amazing.
  74. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    It is impossible to accurately express the dazzling heights of game-making Rockstar reached in creating GTA IV. A game so immersive it became philosophical, GTA IV is the pinnacle of the series so far. Niko Bellic is a truly-likeable protagonist, turning the series away from Saints Row-esque stupidity in favour of more realism and true meaning. Congratulations Rockstar, you've conquered.
  75. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One of the best GTA in the series for sure. The same good action, same good fun, same good shootings in the street with the police and the gangs. This is what i call a good and interesting stories. I felt so bad in the ending because of the Niko girlfriend's death (don't remember the name right now, played the game one or two years ago) and i love games that make me really feel the story that i almost cried like in the Red Dead Redemption ending. One of the best third shooter games i played and one of the top games on this generation. Perfect 10 in this game, perfect story, great gameplay, funny characters and cruel characters made this game so good! GTA San Andreas, GTA IV and Vice City stories are the best! Expand
  76. Dec 17, 2012
    10
    There is not a single technical flaw with this game, however, that doesn't stop it from being under review of its entertainment factor. The only thing though is that it's just as fun. The script and dialogue is better than one would see in a high budget movie, all game mechanics are top notch, it plays smoothly, so much attention to detail you could waste time not even doing anything. "GTAThere is not a single technical flaw with this game, however, that doesn't stop it from being under review of its entertainment factor. The only thing though is that it's just as fun. The script and dialogue is better than one would see in a high budget movie, all game mechanics are top notch, it plays smoothly, so much attention to detail you could waste time not even doing anything. "GTA IV" is a definite no-brainer and should be a part of any gamer's collection. Expand
  77. Dec 29, 2012
    10
    Grand Theft Auto 4 is easily the best game I have ever played. The adaption of New York in this game is phenomenal, and the storyline is the most exciting and interesting I have ever experienced. Rockstar did an amazing job on this game, and I don't think it will ever be topped.
  78. Jan 5, 2013
    10
    Bence GTA4 kadar derin bir hikayeye sahip oyun yoktur.Rockstar Games işini yapmayı biliyor.Ancak oyun ilk haliyle bir bug yuvası son sürüm patch'i yükelemeden asla oynamayın derim.İyi Oyunlar
  79. Jan 9, 2013
    10
    A good game as all the GTA series!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  80. Jan 10, 2013
    10
    This is currently the greatest videogame of all time imo. There's too many fans stuck in 2004. Ak47 and M4 in this game is even damn better than cod when you get use to them. At first I always thought that the GTA3 era was a better franchise but this **** just keeps growing and growing on you. The only downpoint in this game is friendships, dating and could have done better with the radioThis is currently the greatest videogame of all time imo. There's too many fans stuck in 2004. Ak47 and M4 in this game is even damn better than cod when you get use to them. At first I always thought that the GTA3 era was a better franchise but this **** just keeps growing and growing on you. The only downpoint in this game is friendships, dating and could have done better with the radio stations. Weapons:10/10. Driving: 9/10. Liberty City: 10/10. Characters:10/10. Soundtrack: 8/10. 100% Completion:10/10. Expand
  81. Apr 18, 2013
    10
    GTA IV is very nice!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  82. Feb 23, 2013
    10
    R* never fail to disappoint. While the map is limited compared to San Andreas, you can't help but feel attached to the characters and adore the weapons within the game. There's a bigger element of realism to GTA IV compared to all the previous games... but this makes it interesting to see progression unravel throughout the entire story. While the cars feel kind of cubic driving around inR* never fail to disappoint. While the map is limited compared to San Andreas, you can't help but feel attached to the characters and adore the weapons within the game. There's a bigger element of realism to GTA IV compared to all the previous games... but this makes it interesting to see progression unravel throughout the entire story. While the cars feel kind of cubic driving around in the new controls are much better than before. If you haven't played it before you do before V comes out. Expand
  83. Mar 9, 2013
    10
    Best game out there so far, I mean the graphics and physics does still own some of the new games coming out. The game is filled with action and the free roam aspect is the best of all the free roam games out there. If you haven't played this game yet, then you have missed something big in your life.
  84. Mar 20, 2013
    10
    Still my favorite game for the PS3 with the upgrade in car physics and fantastic storyline I have to give this game a 10 out of 10. for the past 6 years I been playing GTAIV over, and over, again beating it 100% three times and unlocking every trophy making it one of my first platinum trophy's for the PS3 my recommendation (Get it).
  85. Apr 7, 2013
    10
    I love this game is perfect everything is just awesome in every department the story the graphics, the gameplay is just perfect the general vibe that the game ends up giving you all together with the freedom it deserves a ten cause it's perfect
  86. Jun 2, 2013
    10
    This game was why I joined the site. Just to be able to take back all the bad things I said about GTA 4. There is no good excuse to not like this game. You could not like games like this, you could not like games at all, even in these situations, you have to admit GTA is impressive. I never found GTA fun before. I would play San Andres for 20 minutes, cause havoc, get bored, say howThis game was why I joined the site. Just to be able to take back all the bad things I said about GTA 4. There is no good excuse to not like this game. You could not like games like this, you could not like games at all, even in these situations, you have to admit GTA is impressive. I never found GTA fun before. I would play San Andres for 20 minutes, cause havoc, get bored, say how do people do this all day? GTA 4 is special. It gets boring still, but those twenty minutes are spectacular. They don't feel cheap, they feel like the perfect mix of simulator, mixed with arcade, mixed with art, and when it's over you can quit for the day, or you can play the story. Once I allowed myself to get immersed into the game, instead of playing out of spite because he wasn't Italian, didn't look like me, didn't like how he dressed, whatever I didn't feel like giving a chance at that point. Once you start to get a feel for the story it's just an obvious masterpiece in every way. If you're not into adult, Soprano-esk violence, you might be uncomfortable through some missions, but just to see how spectacularly realized this living, breathing, city is, I'd pick it up for the 10 bucks I'm sure it now costs. When I first played it I was annoyed at the driving, because I couldn't pick it up and be immediately and be good at it, because I had forgotten how games used to be. The game is not easy, it offers a challenge, usually a fair one, like all games should. And the driving, it grows on you, and I don't think they could have done a better job with it. I really don't. Expand
  87. Apr 23, 2013
    10
    This is one of the best games I have ever played. The graphics look amazing. The story line is great, the characters are amazing and the missions are awesome.
  88. Apr 30, 2013
    10
    Loved it i have played it multiple times since launch day and it is still the highlight of my gaming collection.
    It features a great story once you get past the 20 odd tutorial missions and a huge open high def world that rivals most open worlds to this date in terms of detail put into the world.

    The characters are very well developed and the sounds are great.
  89. May 5, 2013
    10
    Perhaps the greatest game of this generation. Not much else to said really. GTA is a phenomenal series. Not just because it sells billions of dollars worth of games but because the quality of Rockstars gaming giant is just simply outstanding. If you've been living under a rock of the last 5 or so years and haven't played GTA 4, the all I gotta say is. Play the sh!t outta this masterpiecePerhaps the greatest game of this generation. Not much else to said really. GTA is a phenomenal series. Not just because it sells billions of dollars worth of games but because the quality of Rockstars gaming giant is just simply outstanding. If you've been living under a rock of the last 5 or so years and haven't played GTA 4, the all I gotta say is. Play the sh!t outta this masterpiece of pixellated awesomeness. It's that good. Play it. Go. Expand
  90. Jul 20, 2013
    10
    this game is epic i'm excited for gta v for those who thing this isn't that great,gta v is gonna blow your mind away. People says it has bad framerate? its your computer that is the problem get a decent one and it would work flawlessly the storyline is great actually
  91. Sep 25, 2013
    10
    EN: Grand Theft Auto IV doesn't only presents the player to the most charismatic protagonist of the whole series, but is emotionally deep, viscerally addictive and takes place at an amazingly built Liberty City. The handbreak is s*** and makes the car slide everywhere like a godd*** ski, and some missions like the pingeons one may be a pain in the a** for some, but overall, Grand TheftEN: Grand Theft Auto IV doesn't only presents the player to the most charismatic protagonist of the whole series, but is emotionally deep, viscerally addictive and takes place at an amazingly built Liberty City. The handbreak is s*** and makes the car slide everywhere like a godd*** ski, and some missions like the pingeons one may be a pain in the a** for some, but overall, Grand Theft Auto IV is a masterpiece.

    PT-BR: Grand Theft Auto IV não só apresenta o jogador ao protagonista mais carismático de toda a série, mas emocionalmente profundo, visceralmente viciante e se passa em uma Liberty City incrivelmente construída. O handbreak não funciona e faz o carro deslizar em todos os lugares como um maldito ski, e algumas missões secundárias, como a dos pigeons, podem ser um pé no saco para alguns, mas no geral, Grand Theft Auto IV uma obra-prima.
    Expand
  92. Jul 24, 2013
    10
    Reviews for this are probably a little too high mainly, because this is one of the first few great games to come out on the ps3. Although this game will keep playing for due to its compelling storymode in single player with several side missions and its online multiplayer has many different modes to keep you glued to the game. Also in first person story mode you can still roam around doingReviews for this are probably a little too high mainly, because this is one of the first few great games to come out on the ps3. Although this game will keep playing for due to its compelling storymode in single player with several side missions and its online multiplayer has many different modes to keep you glued to the game. Also in first person story mode you can still roam around doing whatever you want but the wanted level is more realistic seems tougher. The game does have glitches and cops have tried catching me after they hit my back bumper like I did something... Plus I had my police sirens on and was trying to catch someone and th police cars wouldn't get out of the way and I hit them and my car exploded. The busses in multiplayer are also glitchy and sometimes you could trapped under the map. Other than that everything was fine in the game to me. The critics grade should be more like a 91. Expand
  93. Aug 17, 2013
    10
    10 out of 10.

    Excellent story. Unbelievable variation. Hilarious ragdoll physics. Incredible design. Amazing graphics. What else can I say? Grand Theft Auto IV surpasses any hype and brings on more of that open-world chaos that we love and hold dearly about the Grand Theft Auto series. But I do have some complaints... Firstly, some missions can feel repetitive. It's constantly about
    10 out of 10.

    Excellent story. Unbelievable variation. Hilarious ragdoll physics. Incredible design. Amazing graphics. What else can I say? Grand Theft Auto IV surpasses any hype and brings on more of that open-world chaos that we love and hold dearly about the Grand Theft Auto series.

    But I do have some complaints... Firstly, some missions can feel repetitive. It's constantly about stealing things, killing targets and escaping whoever is chasing you. Of course it's fun, but it's bit too much a times. Also, in many missions, you are told to kill the person you're chasing, but you cant because you have to reach a cutscene or a certain point before they can actually take damage. That is misleading, quite annoying and just a waste of bullets.

    But over-all, such small gripes are, of course, nothing that can pull down this game from a perfect 10 out of 10 score, thanks to the things mentioned on the first row.
    Expand
  94. Sep 18, 2013
    10
    Pay absolute no attention to the ignorant buffoons that gave this masterpiece of a video game a negative score. Crybabies that no nothing about what makes a game playable and fun. This game is just that: playable and fun. The story, albeit dark, is brilliantly told, (there is one mission in particular that is absolute genius) the set of characters are the more colorful and engaging of anyPay absolute no attention to the ignorant buffoons that gave this masterpiece of a video game a negative score. Crybabies that no nothing about what makes a game playable and fun. This game is just that: playable and fun. The story, albeit dark, is brilliantly told, (there is one mission in particular that is absolute genius) the set of characters are the more colorful and engaging of any GTA game so far and the gameplay is polished. Oh, and the graphics are not bad at all. The effect used to make a rainy day look bleak and depressing is phenomenal. Make no mistake. This game deserves the hype. Expand
  95. May 4, 2014
    10
    No game is perfect but this game is as close as it gets. At the same time this game is not without flaws. Gameplay: no checkpoints during missions whatsoever. Sound: in-car dialogues are kinda inaudible (good thing there are subtitles), also most radio stations are uninteresting. Graphics: low framerate, and actually one issue of this game is that it's literally too dark. Navigating atNo game is perfect but this game is as close as it gets. At the same time this game is not without flaws. Gameplay: no checkpoints during missions whatsoever. Sound: in-car dialogues are kinda inaudible (good thing there are subtitles), also most radio stations are uninteresting. Graphics: low framerate, and actually one issue of this game is that it's literally too dark. Navigating at night is pretty hard sometimes even at the highest brightness setting. Yet this game is the best PS3 game I've ever played (if not the best game overall) and is much superior to GTA V. Don't believe the negative reviews on this site. Unless your favourite game is Crazy Taxi you're gonna love driving in GTA IV compared to driving in GTA 5. This game is probably the best game I've ever played and it's well worth its fame. Expand
  96. Mar 29, 2014
    10
    Grand Theft Auto IV ticks all the right boxes to be a great game, and it is still a great game even that GTA V came out less than a year ago. The story is brilliant, the voice actors and the characters.
  97. Jul 28, 2014
    10
    2014, I played this on 360 upon release. PS3, my 3rd playthrough and this is still one of the best games of last generation consoles. Yes its clunky, the cars handle like ocean liners, the bikes are neigh on impossible to steer and Niko moves like he is wading hip deep through a Florida swamp. But all those little niggles cannot take away from on of my all time favourite games. I love2014, I played this on 360 upon release. PS3, my 3rd playthrough and this is still one of the best games of last generation consoles. Yes its clunky, the cars handle like ocean liners, the bikes are neigh on impossible to steer and Niko moves like he is wading hip deep through a Florida swamp. But all those little niggles cannot take away from on of my all time favourite games. I love the story, the double crosses, the playing for all sides, the characters. I love the grittiness, how they've captured Liberty City in is post 9/11 paranoia. The satire, how RockStar took trends current to the time and predicted what a farce the media, cell-phone culture and political correctness would get in the years since. After playing GTA 5 I can honestly same that GTA 4 is just as good for different reasons. Love it 10/10 Expand
  98. Jun 20, 2014
    10
    This game was and is far ahead of its time, it requires subtlety, patience and an attention to detail unlike any other game. First of all, I've put in well over 1500 hours into gta 4 and its two dlc's, so there are few if any gamers with as much experience in Liberty City as me. It's the first game that I played that the mature rating on the back dident just represent that there was bloodThis game was and is far ahead of its time, it requires subtlety, patience and an attention to detail unlike any other game. First of all, I've put in well over 1500 hours into gta 4 and its two dlc's, so there are few if any gamers with as much experience in Liberty City as me. It's the first game that I played that the mature rating on the back dident just represent that there was blood and fowl language, but rather that this form of media is best appriciated by mature individuals. Clearly a large number of you were not ready for a true mature experience based on the 7.5 user score, rather they wanted a San Andreas sequel. If you wanted a San Andreas sequel, PLAY SAINTS ROW, OR SLEEPING DOGS, they were created to occupy the cavity that San Andreas left in the gaming market! Sigh...
    Im a huge driving sim fan, and this is easily my favorite game to drive a car or moterbike in, the driving physics are impeccable. Ive owned every GT(Gran Turismo) and Forza game to date, so I have some experience. WAY too many people complain about the driving physics, saying its "too hard" or "too much body roll", if you drove your car at 100mph in oncoming traffic or around a hairpin turn in real life, you would most likely crash, so WHY should it be any different in a game thats attempting to simulate life as realistically as possible? Try driving at a reasonable speed, if you dont want to because thats "boring" then you should know that your attention span does not meet the required limit of this game, and that should tell you something about yourself, not this game.
    So after complaint after complaint after complaint , Rockstar felt they needed to cut almost every thing that differentiated GTA4 from San Andreas, Sleeping Dogs, and Saints Row. In GTA 5 The driving physics were completely scrapped for an arcade style that you can master in less than a day, catching any air in any vehicle is beyond comical, I literly laughed out loud when I saw that there is a moon gravity cheat, maybe my game is just stuck on moon gravity. The fighting Physics are GONE, ive never experienced a more unenjoyable fighting element in any game, (you square up, then throw right hand haymakers that glitch across 10 feet of open ground and KO the peson in 1 to 2 hits...and the AI can throw the same scripted punch that can glitch across 10 feet). They called it GTA 5(which I beleve it should have been callled San Andreas 2 because GTA 3 brought a major change in the form of 3d graphics, GTA 4 brought a major change in that it was the first on PS3, Xbox 360, and greatly stepped up the graphics from San Andreas. What exactly was the major change GTA5 brought? An ability to switch between 3 protagonists? Graphically speaking it looks great, but the jump from San Andreas to GTA4 was far greater. It seems like Rockstar was saving the numbers for truly ground breaking titles, then got lazy, and now im sure the next GTA will me named GTA 6). I remember arguing with my parent about the negative perception of the grand theft auto games, GTA 4 was the first time I felt I had a valid argument that GTA wasent only about sex, drugs, and ultra violence. You could enjoy the many physics systems interacting with eachother in perfect harmony(at least I could). I can no longer defend the GTA series, because now it seems like the game includes profanity and violence just for the sake of profanity and violence, I mean Niko was an interesting, deep character, while Trevor is just a psycopath who rapes any and everything that moves. My favorite thing about GTA 5 is that its motto or message is "the pursuit of the almighty dollar" its the ultimate joke at the consumes expence, its Rockstar who is pursuing your money, get it?
    In conclusion GTA 4 is the greatst media I have ever experienced, and was so great that I was convinced GTA 5 was going to be the greatest thing ever, I WAS WRONG.
    ps- I GLADLY welcome somebody with opposing beliefs to challenge any of the points I made, (as long as you coherently state your points in a non confrontational manner).
    Expand
  99. Jul 3, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The best game ever!The best open-world game ever with good graphics quality,plot and city!You will be absolutely enjoy playing this game!Don't miss it! Expand
  100. Oct 5, 2014
    10
    I played this game after I had already beaten GTA V and I have to say that I was not disappointed. GTA IV had a great story (better than 5 in my opinion), and great gameplay and missions. Though I thought the graphics weren't the best, if I had played the game when it originally came out in 2008, I would have been very impressed. I only had a couple of issues with the game. One being thatI played this game after I had already beaten GTA V and I have to say that I was not disappointed. GTA IV had a great story (better than 5 in my opinion), and great gameplay and missions. Though I thought the graphics weren't the best, if I had played the game when it originally came out in 2008, I would have been very impressed. I only had a couple of issues with the game. One being that it was very dark in some missions and even when I adjusted the brightness, it was still hard to see what to do or where to go. Also, there were some glitches and bugs, but none of these issues took away from my overall experience with the game. I spent about 26 hours to beat the game and I would advise that anyone who likes open world, hilariously written, violent and vulgar games, should get this game. It is a masterpiece. Expand
Metascore
98

Universal acclaim - based on 64 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 64
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 64
  3. Negative: 0 out of 64
  1. Grand Theft Auto IV is not a perfect game, but it is fantastic through and through, from start to finish and beyond. It is so massive, vast and impressive that it is almost mind-boggling to imagine how much work must have gone into the game to come up with so much detail.
  2. But GTA IV will never get old, or start repeating itself. It will always offer anyone who turns it on an experience to savour.
  3. GTA4 is a traditional crime story through and through, with a script that rarely strays from its purpose, a pitch-perfect supporting cast, and an expert combination of in-game storytelling and crafted cut-scenes. [June 2008, p.80]