Metascore
97

Universal acclaim - based on 50 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 50
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 50
  3. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. 100
    GTA V fulfills the idea of a gaming sandbox, where you can entertain yourself in many different ways - and also experience a superbly written story of three gangsters, if you want. [Issue#234]
  2. Oct 7, 2013
    100
    Does GTAV live up to one of the pedigree of one of the best franchises gaming? There's no doubt for me that it does, and a few minor issues here and there don't get in the way of this game delivering such a lively and large world to explore or from presenting such an entertaining way to do dozens of activities - and I love that for the first time for GTA in nearly a decade, the developers aren't relying so heavily on mind-numbing, straightforward gunfights with thugs and cops.
  3. This year isn’t over yet – let alone the generation – so it’d be foolish and premature for us to throw acronyms like ‘GOTY’ or ‘GOTG’ at you just yet. Even still, we simply cannot see anything out on that horizon which looks like it’s up to the task of toppling this titan – and we don’t say such things lightly. Acquire this game at all costs. Thieve it in a heist if you have to. [November 2013, p74]
  4. Sep 24, 2013
    100
    Grand Theft Auto V is the rare entertainment experience that simply won’t let you down.
  5. Sep 24, 2013
    100
    Instead reading or talking about GTA V, you simply need to play it. I'm going to stay in Los Santos for a while longer, because I still have lots of things to do and see. GTA V is a better version of GTA IV - and is better in almost every way. Rockstar did it again - the game has class, is smart and is constantly entertaining and amazing. It's like a little universe at your fingertips - you have to come and visit. Yeah.. the race for the Game of the Year title is pretty much over.
  6. Sep 23, 2013
    100
    A remarkable gaming achievement.
  7. 100
    Marrying gameplay brilliance to compelling characters and a world matched only in size by the number of things you can do in it, Grand Theft Auto V is a masterpiece--one of the greatest games ever made.
  8. Sep 20, 2013
    100
    The gameplay is flawless as are the graphics which creates one of the finest games of 2013 and will be a contender for Game of the Year. It's easy to see why this is the most expensive game ever created and will be the most psychological game that you have ever played!
  9. Sep 20, 2013
    100
    Grand Theft Auto V is everything you’d expect in a Rockstar product and once again, they have managed to significantly outdo themselves.
  10. Sep 20, 2013
    100
    It isn’t a game that will appeal to everyone, as it is an open world, violent game without a moral compass. But boy can you have fun without worrying about morals.
  11. Sep 20, 2013
    100
    Without question, the most involving, top-to-bottom, start-to-finish, out-of-body experience ever presented in a video game.
  12. Sep 16, 2013
    100
    Grand Theft Auto V is the best the series has ever been, and that’s a compliment that speaks volumes.
  13. Sep 16, 2013
    100
    GTA5 does much more than repeat the San Andreas model, introducing many new features in the franchise. From those, the one that adds a whole new dimension to the game is the fact that for the first time we have three main characters instead of one. GTA is the king of controversy... long live the king.
  14. Sep 16, 2013
    100
    Grand Theft Auto V is not just the best sandbox game there is. It's not just one of the best 3rd-person shooters ever. It's not just a great action game, a great driving game, and a great piloting or sports game. It's not just the biggest audiovisual spectacle in the last few years. Grand Theft Auto V is the best game in the current console generation, period.
  15. Sep 16, 2013
    100
    What genius. Rockstar Games are still at the top level of open world videogames and they want everybody to know it, especially the rival titles. They will need a lot of creativity and great ingenuity to take the crown from the grip of the king GTA 5. No matter what happens next, a video game has never reached such depth in its gameplay. Gunfights from Max Payne 3, the exploration system from Red Dead Redemption, the driving system from Midnight Club: simply the best from the best. Simply perfect.
  16. Sep 16, 2013
    100
    GTA V is in line with our expectations. It offers what we expected: a beautiful and gigantic world, hours and hours of play... but it does it better than ever. GTA V also adds the ability to switch between three different characters, which is really interesting and fun during hold-up sequences. This is a must-have, obviously.
  17. Sep 16, 2013
    100
    Three incredible characters in a well-driven storyline, a ton of things to do and a ton of fun. GTA 5 is simply the best game of this generation.
  18. Sep 16, 2013
    100
    It is engaging, compelling, interesting, clever, funny and packed with things to do and see. It’s a personal story, or several personal stories, set in a magnificent world that ebbs and flows with thousands of people who all seem to be living their own personal stories. It’s a genuine landmark event in the history of videogames.
  19. Sep 16, 2013
    100
    Pull out the clichés and superlatives, because they’re all applicable. GTA 5 is the ultimate milestone for the series, as well as for gaming as a whole. When it comes to scale, detail, character, freedom and spectacle this generation of consoles has reached its absolute peak. It doesn’t trump The Last of Us or BioShock: Infinite in the form of emotional impact, but there’s no other game out there that does this much this well.
  20. Sep 16, 2013
    100
    It's the best and the biggest sandbox ever made. The story and how it's told, the deep world around us where there's always something happening, and the amount of content and things to do, make it the perfect closure for this generation.
  21. Sep 16, 2013
    100
    Part of what makes the game so generally appealing is that, for the most part, it drops the nagging feeling of “good for an open world game."...Grand Theft Auto V is a good shooter and a good driving game with responsive character control. While some of the extras might be spread a little thin, there are no compromises with these central mechanics, which is a feat for a game of this breadth.
  22. Sep 16, 2013
    100
    If a picture is worth a thousand words then the game itself is a novel every city block and every dusty trail. It’s the million dollar fireworks display at the end of the current generation cycle of the Xbox 360 and PlayStation 3 – handing out free beer and barbeque chicken wings.
  23. 100
    If anyone is still wondering if GTA has lost its ability to take on the politically correct about ‘appropriate’ content, do not fear, as it is full of violence, social commentary and explicit nature that is sure to aggravate someone with too much time on their hands.
  24. There’s simply more here than in any game before, and yet quality is never sacrificed for quantity. Personal favourites will persist, but it’s hard to put anything else on top of the pile. Everything you’ve ever wanted a GTA game to be, and a whole lot more. Consistently hilarious, constantly compelling and combining never-before-seen scale and ambition. This is going to make next-gen look bad for a long time to come.
  25. Sep 16, 2013
    100
    No other world in video games comes close to this in size or scope, and there is sharp intelligence behind its sense of humour and gift for mayhem.
  26. Sep 16, 2013
    100
    Rockstar shows one more time how to build a masterpiece. GTA V is not perfect but has everything you'll ever dream in a sandbox game. San Andreas is gorgeous and full of life, Trevor, Michael and Franklin are a trio full of charisma and the game simply raises the bar in so many aspects you won't believe that it runs on an eight years old hardware. It's worth your money, it's worth you time.
  27. Sep 25, 2013
    99
    With a swan song to the aging console generation Rockstar once again shows us what Open World really means. The Developer takes a sandbox, blows it up to the size of a football field, fills it with the most beautiful sand and all the toys we really want to play with.
  28. GTA IV was extraordinarily good, but it took itself a little bit too seriously. GTA V outdoes even San Andreas when it comes to changing up standard shootouts with more wacky, explosive and memorable missions. [October 2013 p.56]
  29. Sep 19, 2013
    98
    Grand Theft Auto V is the magnum opus of the current generation. It has an amazing game world filled with loads of content and the feeling that you can do literally anything you want. Add three fantastic main characters to it, with their flaws and virtues and you have the recipe for this magnificent game. Nothing less than a masterpiece.
  30. Sep 16, 2013
    98
    Grand Theft Auto V is nothing short of perfection. It has a bit of everything for everyone in terms of gameplay. A good story mixed with intense action sequences and a large scope to set all of it up in. If this was going to be the last big title from Rockstar on this generation, what a helluva way to go out.
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3407 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    Perfect Game for the Current Generation.

    I played a lot of games with a lot of hype built around it, and I'd say this is the first game to
    Perfect Game for the Current Generation.

    I played a lot of games with a lot of hype built around it, and I'd say this is the first game to truly exceed my extremely high expectations! Everything R* tried to accomplish, they hit a bullseye with. The scope of Los Santos is the largest of any game made, period. The world is full of possibilities and things to do, unlike GTA IV, and it is endlessly fun like GTA San Andreas. The characters are the most developed and interesting in this one than all of GTA (Next to Niko Bellic). The story has some of the best set pieces and hilarious interactions, seriously, this is one of the funniest games I've ever played. Playing the game is exhillieratingly fun and Epic, everything feels refined and realistic such as the Car driving which is now completely enjoyable.

    The score is brilliant, graphics breathtaking, gameplay over the top ridiculously fun and the amount of hours you spend on the game just flys by. This is not only my favourite in the GTA franchise, but one of my favourite games of all time.

    You done it again Rockstar Games, job well done!
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    The journey of the three protagonists and their pursuit of the dollar in the beautiful, sun-drenched state of San Andreas is a breath takingThe journey of the three protagonists and their pursuit of the dollar in the beautiful, sun-drenched state of San Andreas is a breath taking experience. Quite simply put, this is the best video game I have played for the current generation of consoles.

    EDIT:

    It seems as though the user score is being attacked by disgruntled PC fans. For the time being, i'd disregard the user score.
    Full Review »
  3. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    What an absolutely incredible game.

    I luckily received the game early to review it for a smaller gaming journalism website and I
    What an absolutely incredible game.

    I luckily received the game early to review it for a smaller gaming journalism website and I legitimately feel that this is the best game i've played in these eight years of the seventh console generation, perhaps even of all time. I hope I don't lose any manpoints but I am happy to tell you that at a certain point of the game (avoiding spoilers) I shed a tear. This isn't just a video game, it's artwork.

    Regardless of the consoles it has been released for, this game isn't just a 'taste' of next-gen... it IS next-gen.

    10/10

    (Be wary. It seems that the trolls are out in droves and giving it a negative userscore to lower the average. Likely PC users who won't have a chance to play the game for a very long time. My heart *bleeds*.)
    Full Review »