Grand Theft Auto V Image
Metascore
97

Universal acclaim - based on 50 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 4092 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Los Santos is a vast, sun-soaked metropolis full of self-help gurus, starlets and once-important, formerly-known-as celebrities. The city was once the envy of the Western world, but is now struggling to stay afloat in an era of economic uncertainty and reality TV. Amidst the chaos, threeLos Santos is a vast, sun-soaked metropolis full of self-help gurus, starlets and once-important, formerly-known-as celebrities. The city was once the envy of the Western world, but is now struggling to stay afloat in an era of economic uncertainty and reality TV. Amidst the chaos, three unique criminals plot their own chances of survival and success: Franklin, a former street gangster in search of real opportunities and serious cheddar; Michael, a professional ex-con whose retirement is a lot less rosy than he hoped it would be; and Trevor, a violent maniac driven by the chance of a cheap high and the next big score. Quickly running out of options, the crew risks it all in a sequence of daring and dangerous heists that could set them up for life. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
GTA Online: The Doomsday Heist - Official Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 50
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 50
  3. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Oct 24, 2013
    100
    GTA V fulfills the idea of a gaming sandbox, where you can entertain yourself in many different ways - and also experience a superbly written story of three gangsters, if you want. [Issue#234]
  2. Sep 16, 2013
    100
    GTA5 does much more than repeat the San Andreas model, introducing many new features in the franchise. From those, the one that adds a whole new dimension to the game is the fact that for the first time we have three main characters instead of one. GTA is the king of controversy... long live the king.
  3. Sep 16, 2013
    100
    Rockstar shows one more time how to build a masterpiece. GTA V is not perfect but has everything you'll ever dream in a sandbox game. San Andreas is gorgeous and full of life, Trevor, Michael and Franklin are a trio full of charisma and the game simply raises the bar in so many aspects you won't believe that it runs on an eight years old hardware. It's worth your money, it's worth you time.
  4. 100
    Marrying gameplay brilliance to compelling characters and a world matched only in size by the number of things you can do in it, Grand Theft Auto V is a masterpiece--one of the greatest games ever made.
  5. Sep 16, 2013
    98
    San Andreas is vast and sprawling and so much fun to explore. There are thousands of things to do and hundreds of missions, so this will not be a quick playthrough.
  6. Sep 19, 2013
    95
    Grand Theft Auto V is a gargantuan accomplishment, with an emphasis on the word “gargantuan.” It may still have an assortment of inconsistencies, idiosyncrasies and eccentricities, but one could argue that such missteps still give this franchise a singular character.
  7. Oct 7, 2013
    80
    Grand Theft Auto 5 is easily more likable than its predecessor, striking a better, more consistent tone than GTA4. Whereas Liberty City shifted jarringly from dire seriousness to slapstick, GTA5 is largely a purely fun, interweaving story of reluctant friendship amid shady activities.

See all 50 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 65 out of 715
  1. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    Perfect Game for the Current Generation.

    I played a lot of games with a lot of hype built around it, and I'd say this is the first game to
    Perfect Game for the Current Generation.

    I played a lot of games with a lot of hype built around it, and I'd say this is the first game to truly exceed my extremely high expectations! Everything R* tried to accomplish, they hit a bullseye with. The scope of Los Santos is the largest of any game made, period. The world is full of possibilities and things to do, unlike GTA IV, and it is endlessly fun like GTA San Andreas. The characters are the most developed and interesting in this one than all of GTA (Next to Niko Bellic). The story has some of the best set pieces and hilarious interactions, seriously, this is one of the funniest games I've ever played. Playing the game is exhillieratingly fun and Epic, everything feels refined and realistic such as the Car driving which is now completely enjoyable.

    The score is brilliant, graphics breathtaking, gameplay over the top ridiculously fun and the amount of hours you spend on the game just flys by. This is not only my favourite in the GTA franchise, but one of my favourite games of all time.

    You done it again Rockstar Games, job well done!
    Expand
  2. Dec 16, 2017
    10
    Simply one of the best games ever created! The story was really strong and the three protags really draw you in. The heist were really wellSimply one of the best games ever created! The story was really strong and the three protags really draw you in. The heist were really well done and the ability to pick out your supporting cast is also a welcome added feature. My review is late but as they always say, better late than never lol! Expand
  3. Sep 28, 2013
    10
    The best game since a long time, and for a long time I guess! I just Wonder what they will be able to improve in GTA VI, except the renderingThe best game since a long time, and for a long time I guess! I just Wonder what they will be able to improve in GTA VI, except the rendering engine!
    Also, I can't wait to be able to play it on PC with all the mods!
    Expand
  4. Sep 21, 2013
    10
    I admit I'm not a big fan of the GTA series, the one that I liked so far was GTA: San Andreas and it was not for its history ...
    This GTA V
    I admit I'm not a big fan of the GTA series, the one that I liked so far was GTA: San Andreas and it was not for its history ...
    This GTA V has a history almost perfect, the interaction between the characters is wonderful and the fact that three protagonists makes things more complex, interesting and even fun. The gameplay is simply one of the best if not the best in the series, the soundtrack is also very good longevity Not to speak, the story mode takes over 30 hours, with secondary missions, sports activities and operating all map takes more than 100 hours! The game has plenty of action, enjoys with some real life stuff taking them to their ridiculous extreme (but this is good, and several times made ​​me laugh). It is a recommended game for over 18 years and believe me, is a game of extreme quality that will amaze you.

    Note: Who gave 0/10 must have serious problems, and not played for sure. Must be one of the people is that it is anti-gaming.
    Expand
  5. Feb 19, 2014
    9
    This is an instant 10 / 10 from me. This is the best PS3 game I have played in current gen
    I hope R* are proud of themselves because I am.
    This is an instant 10 / 10 from me. This is the best PS3 game I have played in current gen
    I hope R* are proud of themselves because I am. The game features 3 main characters: Michael, Franklin and Trevor. They all have their own personalities which I like. The story is epic - I won't spoil it don't worry :D

    Don't get me started on Online! It's amazing! I can already think of 1,000 words to describe it: awesome, endless, fun, exciting, free, open, realistic and a lot, lot more. Online is what most people crave for when they get GTA V, but I see why. It's just so fun! It's addictive, but in a good way, not repetitive at least. But there is only 1 thing I don't like about online: people who just troll. It may seem too much to ask them to stop, it may be funny at first, but gets frustrating over time, most servers you can hear young children playing this game. It's not bad, but it's really awkward. People drive into you for no reason? Sniping you and killing you even if you don't have a bounty on your head? It's not like they are going to get rewarded for that! But that's not going to stop me from scoring 10 / 10 because it's just THE BEST.

    It's pretty much better than Call Of Duty by over 9,000 miles. Recommended for anyone WHO ARE OVER 12
    Expand
  6. Nov 25, 2013
    8
    More fun from the Rockstar Studio geniuses. Unlike the Sandbox-in-a-city predecessor GTA 4, This new outing takes some of the favouredMore fun from the Rockstar Studio geniuses. Unlike the Sandbox-in-a-city predecessor GTA 4, This new outing takes some of the favoured features from San Andreas and Vice city and combines it in an interesting and Hollywood style action packed crime-fest. Just like a good book it shouldn’t be put down until completion.
    I know people will find some faults and prefer Saints Row, or this and that, and that’s fine meh! I cannot stop kids from writing reviews, but anyway…

    On the technical side, The game does have some question marks over its head and it will clearly be a while until a lot of the niggly bugs are taken care of. But think to yourself about which is better? A release now or a release in 15 months 15 months’ time after extensive testing? If you answered in 15 months’ time, then you probably don’t smoke, drink, use a credit card or care about any short term enjoyment at the expense of long term pain.(Note. Not necessarily a bad thing!)

    Ok, It won’t be everyone’s game.(incidentally, GTA 4 wasn’t really MY thing either). GTA 5 certainly shouldn’t be played by anyone under at least 16, but its charming, and obviously intelligently written and thought out for its audience. I appreciate being treated by game designers to stories, missions and characters with consequences, personalities and interactions thought out as well as this game has done.

    As more games like this that have such a high entertainment level, take longer and longer to develop the waiting time between games tends to frustrate me though.

    With a world as open and varied and still yet largely untouched as GTA5 is. I reckon at least a couple of mind blowing DLC’s packs and missions will be needed to firmly cement this games position as that of one in the top 3 games on the PlayStation 3.
    Expand
  7. Nov 15, 2016
    0
    Awful, overrated and boring game. The graphics are outdated and washed out. Reused environments throughout the entire game. Boring andAwful, overrated and boring game. The graphics are outdated and washed out. Reused environments throughout the entire game. Boring and stereotypical characters. Expand

See all 715 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Quarterly Report: The 25 Best PlayStation 3 Games

    Quarterly Report: The 25 Best PlayStation 3 Games Image
    Published: December 31, 2015
    Our Quarterly Reports provide a handy list of the 25 best games for each platform, both for the current year so far and for all time. Here are the best games available for the PS3.
  2. The Best Videogames of 2013

    The Best Videogames of 2013 Image
    Published: December 30, 2013
    In our annual ranking of the year's best video games, get a list of 2013's best and worst releases by platform, view a comparison of the various game consoles, and find out which title earned Metacritic Game of the Year honors.