• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Nov 24, 2009
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Streamlined and pretty, this is an example of a simple idea being the best idea. [Jan 2010, p.84]
  2. A very good Thrust-clone with a nice level editor. Too bad there's no reactor carrying and internet multiplayer modes. [Jan 2010]
  3. 85
    Only its insane difficulty level lets it down. [Issue#187, p.87]
  4. Gravity Crash is an excellent, addictive title which fans of this genre will love. Highly Recommended.
  5. Gravity Crash does a great job of recapturing the old style of gravity-based shooters and giving it a nice visual upgrade that even bests Geometry Wars with more elaborate level design.
  6. Well crafted levels. [Feb 2010, p.92]
  7. It's challenging, often frustrating, but wonderfully satisfying. Buy it. Play it. Get the t-shirt.
  8. The slow gameplay and sensitive controls ensure that Gravity Crash isn’t for everyone. When you take the time to master the controls, you’ll get a game with very deep gameplay and warm, vector-like graphics that are a joy to watch. Both the multiplayer and the level editor lengthen the experience.
  9. For what it is Gravity Crash is an exceptionally well-realised game in almost every way but whether or not it finds a home amongst modern gamers will be its sternest test. I only hope that it passes that test as it is definitely a title and a style of game-play which deserves attention.
  10. Sharp controls and smooth physics create a great blend of challenge and fun in this retro-styled arcade game.
  11. 80
    Gravity Crash contains a fun diversity in planets and levels. The game is challenging and pushes the player to keep doing better. The graphics and the soundtrack finish it off. If you’re still not bitten by the retro-virus, this developer (Just Add Water) might give you the final push with Gravity Crash.
  12. The game looks good with its neon-coated retro visuals, plays well once you get the hang of it, and has a virtually never-ending amount of content thanks to its level editor. Just be sure you don't go into it expecting a fast-paced, shooting-focused experience.
  13. Gravity Crash is not for everyone, but if you have ever become emotional about the high score list on an arcade machine, it could be the right game for you. If you’re a whippersnapper to whom arcades are an ancient myth, then it may just piss you off.
  14. While it may not be for everyone with its physics & craft management, its style sometimes manages to save face for the overall product.
  15. It's oddly addictive, which feels like it should clash with the repetitive nature, but never does.
  16. A stern, if unspectacular, challenge. [Jan 2010, p.94]
  17. Gravity Crash is undeniably a well refined product: the graphics are derivative but amazing, the soundtrack is atmospheric and the whole package surely works. Yet the addictive "last one before i quit" factor, that's so typical of the great arcade classics, is kinda missing here, and the result is a game that will entertain you without making you go crazy. It's not an Apollo 13, but neither a big step for the retro-humanity.
  18. 70
    At least the user created levels wind up providing additional play and an extra challenge for a somewhat shallow experience.
  19. 70
    Gravity Crash is an old fashioned two dimensional fight against inertia. While there are a few things that bring it into the 21st century such as the bright neon colour palette, the online/multiplayer components and the build-a-level editor, it’s a simple game (simple in a good way) that is engaging, interesting and hard. Just like games in the olden days.
  20. Never before has retro been that modern. We love to play all the tricky levels with all the flashy lights in full HD.
  21. 67
    Considering the low price, multiple game modes, challenging single-player, level editor, and funky art style, Gravity Crash is nothing to give the high hat to.
  22. A lovely looking/sounding romp. [Feb 2010, p.82]
  23. Gravity Crash stands fairly well on its own, however it was a wise move to have gotten off the blocks first before the more refined and far more enjoyable PixelJunk Shooter arrived.
  24. 64
    Gravity Crash is a real traditional arcade shooter that is a little bit different than all those similar games you can find on the internet. It’s fun to play, but the story is crap and you can’t play the game online. It is a nice PSN game, but we’ve seen a lot, lot better.
  25. Gravity Crash is a modern clone of a couple of old retro games, such as Thrust from 1986. Clone-wise, it is flawless and great looking. When compared to modern games it lacks certain aspects that games today need. On top of it all, the multiplayer is not that good.
  26. 60
    Gravity Crash is a nice game to play when you don't have the time to start a full version of a retail game.
  27. It's just about worthwhile as a chance to test yourself against some long-forgotten mechanics, but you can't shake the feeling that Just Add Water is just joining the dots.
  28. There's little here to warrant dusting off your spacesuit. [Feb 2010, p.111]
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. MarkM
    Dec 10, 2009
    10
    I tried hard to find a reason to NOT give this game a score of 10. I own about 20 downloaded games on my PS3 and this game is in my top 2 or I tried hard to find a reason to NOT give this game a score of 10. I own about 20 downloaded games on my PS3 and this game is in my top 2 or 3 (my other favourite is Comet Crash). Pros: - $10 - Fantastic retro visuals and music. As another reviewer put it, it's a neon ice-cream that makes you want to lick the screen. - Fantastic controls. - You can land your spacecraft (to rescue crashed crews) and it's as challenging as the popular 'Moon Lander' type of games. My favourite part. - Cool water effects (yes, the spacecraft can swim.). - It doesn't deserve a 10/10 score if you're not into simple retro and must have the latest eye-candy like Madden, Barbie Adventures, or Final Fantasy. Cons: - It doesn't have a lot of depth.. the story is very light. However I'm a 20-minute-a-day gamer so this game suits me well. Full Review »
  2. GeorgeC
    Dec 4, 2009
    9
    Very good game, there are some small gripes but nothing that makes me regret purchasing it. I wish just a bit more time was taken to round Very good game, there are some small gripes but nothing that makes me regret purchasing it. I wish just a bit more time was taken to round out community interaction, but hey this is just what the Dr. ordered until pj Shooter!! Full Review »
  3. mobius
    Nov 30, 2009
    10
    reminds me of the old classic fount on the Atari ST. OIDS. the game uses the same graphics found in games like Geometry wars but give extra gameplay.