Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 39
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 39
  3. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. 100
    Many will balk at the game because it doesn’t offer a million different models of car. Those who do are missing the point. Grid is all about the fun and excitement of the race. It’s racing with a capital ‘R’ minus the frustration. You won’t find a more fun racing game this year.
  2. Like the powerhouse race thoroughbreds that populate it, GRID is an unrelenting ride that keeps rewarding you the harder you push it. [Aug 2008, p.64]
  3. Race Driver GRID is an immersing, addictive, exhilarating, beautiful and fun racing experience you can’t afford to miss, the best so far.
  4. If Colin McRae: DIRT was a sign of Codemasters regaining a foothold in the racing market, the latest Race Driver is evidence of the publisher taking full control. GRID makes the high points of its rivals feel like false dawns, and if what’s on offer here is a sign of things to come, we’re all in for a remarkable ride.
  5. Series vets with fond memories of the Pro Race Driver/TOCA games on previous systems should pick this up immediately, and if you're unsure about it, there's a demo available for download that’ll give you a good idea as to how easily most of the cars can be controlled, but won't give you a very accurate view of just how many kinds of racing styles are represented in the full game.
  6. Is GRID the next big thing in the automotive game genre? I think so. The game has incredible arcade form, and I think the Flashback feature is one of the best new ideas we've seen come from this genre in a long time.
  7. It essentially boils down to this: If you're a racing fan, arcade or simulation, you owe it to yourself to give GRID a try.
  8. I'd definitely suggest picking up Grid though; it's a game that can appeal to a wide variety of racing aficionados out there.
  9. A scintillating racing experience, and as a revitalisation of the Race Driver series it's utterly successful. [July 2008, p.90]
  10. This is the game of the summer and if you can look past its Achilles heel then you can change the overall score to the 10 that Race it really deserves.
  11. Race Driver: GRID is tearing up the tarmac this summer without a challenger in site.
  12. GRID's jostling pack racing and slithery, varied events are almost entirely pure driving pleasure. And that's what it's all about. [June 2008, p.98]
  13. A brilliant, hugely enjoyable racer - certainly the best on the PS3 so far - and one that we reckon no fan of the genre can afford to miss. It's deep, involving, fun to drive and an absolute blast with mates.
  14. Codemasters celebrates the racing circus with such enthusiasm that the gamer can’t resist. This game is surprisingly well done.
  15. GRID is a must-own classic that begs to be played now and will continue to hold your interested throughout the year.
  16. Although the drift racing is too dependant on the hand brake and I’d like more emotional investment in the cars in my garage (some tweaking would be nice, as would more of a sense of pride in each car I own), Grid is a shining example of how to make a fresh racing game that captures that age-old, fundamental desire to go screaming down the asphalt like a rubber-shredding, hell-bent maniac.
  17. Action packed, content-heavy and very beautiful, GRID sets a new PS3 racing standard. [July 2008, p.76]
  18. While not all that innovative, the game brilliantly implements a race-saving instant replay function and incorporates a strong strategic element with its sponsor management.
  19. GRID has something for everyone, and is enjoyable by all racing fans. The visuals are great, the gameplay is frantic and the atmosphere oozes perfection.
  20. Fulfilling all the promises and expectations, Codemasters offers a high quality racing game. In fact, GRiD not only sets a new path for the historical Race Driver series, but also manages to keep the high quality standards usually accomplished by the company. [June 2008]
  21. The campaign structure, the selection of events and vehicles, even the damage modelling and Flashback systems are all of a piece, and all intended to achieve one goal – to keep you on the racetrack, pedal to the metal, chasing the win. After all, isn’t that what it’s all about?
  22. The complete racing package, Race Driver GRID is perfectly tuned to produce a fine balance between fun and realism. A large range of classes means the comparatively small number of cars does nothing to detract from the sense of scale.
  23. GRID offers up an enthralling experience of fast-paced action and realistic tendencies in order to create the perfect hybrid racing formula.
  24. 87
    There are plenty of other racing games on the market, but Grid captures the soul of the track like none other.
  25. 86
    GRID is the type of game that straddles the line between sim and arcade so well that it actually works on both levels.
  26. All in all, Grid is a lot like candy, delicious in small doses, but too much could leave you feeling sick.
  27. 85
    Might not absorb and obsess you like "Gran Turismo," but for in-the-moment racing thrills it's right-on unbeatable. [Issue#167, p.94]
  28. GRID is a driving game that won’t disappoint speed fans, especially those who follow Codemasters games.
  29. GRID is a solid racing experience whether you like arcade style racing games or not.
  30. A solid racing game from Codemasters - certainly my favorite from them, to date. But in order to enjoy it, you will have to endure a rather steep curve in familiarizing yourself with the touchy controls.
  31. Both “x-treme” racing fans and racing aficionados alike will find something to enjoy, making it the possible Great Uniter of racing videogames.
  32. Grid won’t be for everyone, the handling is to blame for that, but Grid is far from stale and is exceptionally good at delivering wow moments, something that many other games in the genre fail to do.
  33. The Flashback feature is a splendid addition, which allows you to reverse time for a few seconds, despite having to use it sparingly.
  34. Grid is a classy arcade racing game, providing enough depth and variety to satisfy any fan of the genre.
  35. 80
    Race Driver: GRID is an excellent game and one that any racing fan should pick up. It may not feature any Australian content but the gameplay is addictive and enjoyable and that's what matters most.
  36. Race Driver: Grid looks excellent and presents many interesting car classes. Still, bad A.I. and unbalanced physics engine that works for some cars and feels absolutely awful for some other of them, ruins the good potential. Grid is great entertainment at the beginning to show the potential of recently bought new generation console, but that's basicly everything it offers. No multiplayer game tested. [Aug 2008]
  37. 80
    Purists may scoff at some of the on-road physics and the ability to play with time, but there aren't too many games that deliver as intense of a racing experience.
  38. 75
    It looks nice, moves at a good clip and you always feel like you’re able to control the car and know exactly when you lose your grip. The Flashback feature feels like something with a lot of promise and we can’t wait to see what the next racing game that rolls out of the garage at Codemasters will be like.
  39. 75
    Think of it as a racing fling, not asking you for any long-term commitment, and letting you walk away once you're finished so you can pursue something with more depth. Still, it's fun while it lasts.
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 85 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Oct 31, 2012
    8
    Well polished, nice sound and pretty okay challenge. Physics is a little bit average at times but this is up there with the very top racing games today. Nice AI! Full Review »
  2. Sep 2, 2012
    9
    Grid Reloaded is one of the best racing games I've ever played and I've played a LOT of racing games. Each car drives like the real cars and takes a little bit of getting used to but once you've got the handling down it's time to learn the tracks and if that's not enough on your plate you also have to work your way up through the pack without smashing into the other drivers, including your team mate to take 1st and 2nd and rake in the maximum from your selected sponsors. Working out which sponsors to add and where to place them for maximum payouts is pretty fun to figure out as well as what colors or designs you like for your team.

    The replay feature makes it GREAT because you can smash into the wall or an opponent and hit select to back up to just before the problem, pause, change cameras for precise viewing and use one of 5 tokens to unpause the race and take another crack at that moment in the race. EXCELLENT!!!

    Stop wishing for everything and enjoy one of the best racing games of all time.
    Full Review »
  3. Jul 7, 2012
    9
    I love the game Engine Codemasters uses. The lighting and bloom with the soft look and shine on the cars is a sight to behold.
    Now.....The
    game itself. It controls like a dream but there will be a little tweaking involved. Every car feels different. I do not think this is a sim based racer at all so I think it compares more to a Project Gotham instead of a Forza or GT. The handling feels like its own game and there is nothing wrong with that. The drifting is also the best I have seen. One problem......Because of the look of the game there are a few tracks where it is pretty easy to hit something on the side of the track. The soft textures are gorgeous but when there is bloom shining down onto the track you sometimes do not see the little things and like most racers you will stop dead in your tracks. Also this game tends to turn you sideways. They also need to fix a problem in the sequel. And that is the grass making you come to almost a complete stop. It is unrealistic and just plain stupid.
    Now- The car list is small but they have the cars that should be there and the look great. Codemasters always has the best in game liveries and this is no different. There is just enough customization to the look and parts for the cars but it is behind the competition. I personally hardly ever tinker in the garage in these games but for some that could be a drawback. The cars like I said before look great.
    The tracks- OK. I am sick of seeing the same tracks. Every developer used the same real world circuits and it is getting old. They are not really that fun to play on and every game ends up looking the same. Obviously, the soft look of Grid gives it a more unique look but how many times do I have to rave on these tracks?
    Thankfully, the fantasy tracks are second to none and Codemasters thankfully gave Grid more than the competition All are well designed.
    There is also a good variety of race types including a derby style race and drift racing including the Japanese downhill races which are my favorites. As for the sound I honestly can't remember the music but the cars sounded great and your team does not irritate you in any way.
    Codemasters has presentation down to a T and the career setup is wonderfully done and set up in a way it does not get repetitive and you open up cars or tracks regularly.
    It is not perfect but it is a worthy sequel to the Race Driver franchise and in my opinion the best street racer on the market other than PGR4. But there is a sequel coming and I expect it to take the crown from PGR4.
    I CAN'T RECOMMEND THIS GAME ENOUGH!!!! What it lacks in car selection it makes up for it with a quality instead of quantity battle. The tracks are also the best selection in the genre.
    The graphics and lighting could be considered a personal taste but I think they just stand high above almost every other racer out there. But the lighting is the best out there......No question.
    The best street racer this gen. Between Grid, F1, and the Dirt series, Codemasters is now the king of the genre.
    Highly recommended.
    Full Review »