• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 65 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 278 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Twenty-five years in the future. Governments have outsourced military operations to private multinational corporations. As Jake Carpenter, a newly enlisted soldier in the Mantel army, you are seeking fulfillment and thrills by fighting for a good cause. Thanks to their high-tech arsenal of vehicles, deadly weaponry, and performance enhancing bio-medical support, the Mantel Corporation's ruthlessly efficient soldiers are the most feared by terrorists, dictators, and the corporation's political enemies. Your conflict begins in a war-torn country in South America, where you have been sent to fight a vicious rebel faction, The Promise Hand. At first glance, all is well, but things quickly begin to look a little strange... State of the art multiplayer modes Fire up your console or PC for online battles on one of two carefully balanced sides. Choose from a variety of online modes including furious co-op action with your friends! [Ubisoft] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 65
  2. Negative: 13 out of 65
  1. After a steady diet of brilliant alternatives, Haze's innovations and compelling story aren't enough. [July 2008, p.80]
  2. Despite some early promise and hype, Haze has a lot of trouble living up to those high expectations set forth by its developers’ past triumphs.
  3. 64
    Although ambitious, Haze is let down by generic gameplay. [Issue#167, p.86]
  4. HAZE will go down in history as a missed opportunity.
  5. When it comes down to it, Haze isn't a bad game at all, just a very mediocre game that would have felt more at home a year and a half ago at the PlayStation 3's launch.
  6. We tried to like this game - we really did. The promise of online play, four person co-op play and a potentially gripping storyline all offered some great possibilities. Unfortunately, Haze never really fires the imagination and its numerous quirks ultimately leave you frustrated.
  7. Every developer is allowed to lay an egg, and this is definitely Free Radical’s turn to drop one.

See all 65 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 104
  2. Negative: 32 out of 104
  1. AlexA
    Dec 4, 2008
    10
    This game requires each gamer personal opinion. No question about it. In my opinion - its realy fun game. If you like Call of Duty and Sci-Fi, HAZE waits you, but not critics haze of course. Expand
  2. Avark
    May 20, 2008
    10
    Great game and lovely graphics. The sound is great and the nectar game mechanic is brill. Top marks!!!
  3. PaulM.
    May 24, 2008
    9
    The low scores are lies. Reviewers in the UK, Japan and Australia have rated haze as high as 9/10. Mantel represents the US Army. Nectar is the US Army's arrogance and the propaganda it uses. That's why US sites are bashing the game. Plain and simple. Expand
  4. Jun 22, 2013
    7
    For a $1.50, you can't go wrong. I added this dirty little gem to my collection yesterday. It lacks a lot of modern FPS tropes, and aesthetics. But the performance enhancing drug, Nectar, is a very refreshing gameplay mechanic that I would love to see implemented much more fully in a sequel. Which we won't be getting. The worst part about this game, is that it takes it's sole redeeming quality away from you so early in the game, that it will leave withdrawing for just one more hit. A 7 out of 10. If I took the price out of consideration, it would receive a 5 out of 10. Expand
  5. Aug 18, 2010
    5
    Haze just can't shake the fact that it looks and feels like a mid-PS2-life-cycle game. The graphics are some of the worst to be found on PS3, the gameplay never really takes off and glitches and bugs appear tremendously often. The amount of times I fell through a floor is unreal. Perhaps the only thing that saves Haze is that the perks of playing on each side are imaginative and fun to use, if a little overpowered on the Mantel side (your insta-heal-and-reveal-enemy-locations-and-give-you-Hulk-strength ability for example) and underpowered on the Rebel side (the ability to plant a mine was rarely used, and it didn't work in one instance where the game cried out for it to be used). Playing as a rebel is definitely the highlight, and using unique tactics to take down the Mantel soldiers is the saving grace of the game. If you can overlook the fact that this is indeed a sub-par looking PS2 game and let yourself shut off and enjoy the few perks of Haze, you may well enjoy it. I found it a fun, if incredibly lacking game. Expand
  6. Mar 26, 2011
    3
    The plot is a Hijacking mess.
    Ok, you're with the Mantel's...Now you're with the other guys but now you're not and now you're not on any
    team....and then BLAHBLAHBLAH!

    All the characters are unlikeable stone-cold dick-heads who I seriously want to die.
    And you are an annoying, whining little school boy, which is hard to beleive after you've mowed down entire colonies of Terrorists.

    And when you do swap sides, it makes NO SENSE.
    They're armour basically turns into cake.

    Oh, and when you do swap sides, your current team takes away your : Sights, Scope, HP Indicator, Nectar, all your Shotguns and Rifles and leaves you with a **** Magmum that wouldn't even count as a splinter.

    Too annoying, too stupid, and the characters are annoying.

    BUT! I played through the game about 5 times, and not one did I encounter a bug...And the Online modes are fun.

    Infact, you can even play the Campaign online, so more people from other countries can suffer too! ****
    Expand
  7. JamesC.
    May 12, 2008
    0
    People should stop voting before they've played this game. I have and it sucks.

See all 104 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews

    Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews Image
    Published: October 4, 2012
    Mediocre reviews for a high-profile videogame? It does happen from time to time, as the new release "Resident Evil 6" demonstrates. Inside, we look at 40 games from the past decade that earned disappointing reviews despite major anticipation.