• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Feb 23, 2010
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2244 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 11, 2011
    10
    It's difficult to comprehend how good this game is. Heavy Rain allows you to take on a completely new style of play so in depth and it is backed up with a strong plot to boot. Game of the Year by a mile for me because although not as immediately entertaining as say Mass Effect ,Call of Duty or God of War, those who stick with Heavy Rain will realise for a 10 hour game, it is 10 hours they have spent well on an experience like no other in gaming history since... well ever. Ultimately it is the way it grasps you from when your son is kidnapped at the start of the game that drifts away from 'just a game' to film-noire, and it is so excellently well done. It is very important that you play this game, because in 5 or 10 years time, game developers will attempt to copy Heavy Rain and most will most likely not hold a candle to it. Heavy Rain is the most innovative game of the 21st century so far and is going to be the prototype for the next step in gaming. Expand
  2. Feb 8, 2012
    9
    In an industry full of shooters and adventures and just the same formulas over and over this was a breath of minty fresh air. Only games that are truly great have me glued to the tv and I couldn't take my eyes off this one. I even replayed it a few times. Truly inventive game.
  3. Mar 17, 2012
    10
    Take the best Steinbeck novel you've ever read, takes the themes of judgement, human nature, what we need vs. what we want, and remove these themes from the novel. Take these themes and put them into a video game. Write the video game around these themes, all the while adding the best graphics I've seen period, as well as some very intricate characters, title this video game "Heavy Rain", and then release it to a widespread audience.

    That explains the perfect 10.
    Expand
  4. Apr 25, 2013
    9
    Not just 'Quick Time Event The Game'. I have not seen another game that matches the variety of story choices. This is one of the few games which allows the player to mold there own unique gaming experience.
  5. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I loved this game. It was like playing a movie, that was how real it felt. I was so attached to my players that I got really upset when I thought Ethan died in the power plant level. What was cool was that you never had to go back and repeat what you did. The music was nice, the controls intuitive, and the graphics splendid. I'm really happy I bought this game. My only possible complaint would be that the beginning is slow, but I didn't find that annoying at all. All I can say is get this game! Expand
  6. Oct 28, 2011
    10
    Best game I've ever played in my 28 years of gaming. Amazing, emotional, heart pounding, engaging. I think people who rated this low don't understand that everything you do changes the outcome of the entire game as you go along. There are thousands and thousands of combinations of outcomes, and it all depends on your own actions. Deep game. Never heard anyone (who knew what they were doing) say any different. Collapse
  7. Jan 11, 2011
    10
    This game is simply amazing! I have never played anything like this before and was blown away. The storyline is very emotional. I have never been so emotional playing a game. Heavy Rain really makes you really think about the decisions you make in the game. There were times where I had to pause the game and wonder what would happen I chose to do this instead of that and vice versa. Don't listen to the bad reviews of the game that you see here. If you are an action junkie then this game is simply not for you. If you are truly looking for a new game to try then I highly recommend playing this game. Kudos to you Quantic Dream for trying out something new and having great success with it! Expand
  8. Aug 5, 2013
    10
    A masterpiece. Storytelling in a way that is rarely seen and experienced. Great presentation and gameplay that really sucks you into the game. But the true star here is the story extremely well done. They should really make a movie out this game.
  9. Jul 28, 2012
    10
    Heavy Rain is the best game on PS3. Was that not enough to compel you to buy it? Well let's scrape the false claims out of the way first. Heavy Rain is NOT a quick time event driven game. It may feel like it as you fiddle with the thumbsticks and follow direction cues. But Heavy Rain makes so much sense out of them in context. For example when you fuss around trying to undo your seatbelt, the feedback feels dynamic. Now to the game itself. Quantic Dream has given us a masterpiece of storytelling and design. There are 18 diiferent ending scenarios. Above all else though is the story that drives them. The game asks you how far will you go to save someone you love and all the way through the protagonists are torn by the past and want to save the future. Ethan Mars clearly defines this. He loses his older son Jason by a vehicular rundown and throughout the game he struggles to live with himself, especially when Shaun goes missing. Heavy Rain pulls you in with plenty of action sequences and spins a yarn which is truly phenominal. If you don't feel anything by the end of the game (no matter how many run throughs you do) something is definately wrong with you. Expand
  10. Jan 18, 2011
    10
    There is a serial child killer known only as the Origami Killer who drowns his victimâ
  11. Dec 20, 2010
    10
    One of my favorite games 2010. It's a brilliant game that every hardcore gamer should experience!
    If you don't have a ps3 this is a great reason to buy it!
  12. Jan 28, 2011
    9
    An original gaming experience, nothing really like it. Cinematic and an interesting game. Strong engagement of the lead four characters really mean you feel something as the game moves on. Ground breaking.
  13. Mar 17, 2011
    10
    This is the greatest game ever made. There really isn't many games out there that could give a gripping story with so many twists and endings and do it an believable way. It really is a melding of game and cinema and if you play it - you will thank me and you will also never forget the experience.
  14. Jun 20, 2011
    10
    Amazing game. The graphics really show what the ps3 can do and the sound draws you in. Control wise the simple system serves to put you in authority but not detach you from the experience. In terms of story it really is blockbuster stuff and could easily be a movie!
  15. Jun 3, 2011
    10
    Heavy rain is truly revolutionary in design. This game changes the whole concept of what a game is, what it can be, what it should be. Heavy Rain is a riveting thriller that grabs you and makes you care about the characters, the decisions you have to make and the ramifications of those decisions. It is awesomely spectacular in the most mundane ways (which is a feat in itself). I eagerly look forward to the next Quantic Dream title. Who says that video games cannot be art? This game just proved that it is. Expand
  16. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    The most amazing gaming experience I have had in the last 5, maybe even 10 years. (Owned every console and I play all the blockbuster hits).This really pushes gaming in a whole new direction. For the most part it's a moral dilemma that involves mystery and some puzzle aspects. Its very cinematic in its styling the story is fantastic! The plot gets better and better as you go along. It became very addicting for both my brother and I.You become completely absorbed in the story of these characters and you really feel for them. You feel as if you ARE the characters themselves. Many games stake the claim that the story developments hinge upon the choices you make in the game. For many games it doesn't completely flesh out that way. For this game it's absolutely true! Decisions you make drastically change to direction of the story. There are substantial rewards and consequences for you decisions, different cinematics, play sequences and endings. Much of the game pushes you to make difficult decisions that make you really dig deep into your own value system and deeply held convictions. It is NOT an action game, though it does have action elements. Many people get frustrated because they seem to be expecting something different, and they are disappointed that its not like other games on the market. This is not Call of Duty or Batman. Take it for exactly what it is and you will be happy. At least four of my friends have played HR and everyone loved it. We all played through more than once. Graphics are top notch (especially given that it is slightly dated). In no way should it be rated anything close to a 6.8! I give it a solid 10; a rating I give VERY sparingly. This game is revolutionary and impactful to the future of gaming. At the discount you can get it for these days it SHOULD NOT BE MISSED. Expand
  17. Jul 22, 2013
    9
    Heavy Rain is in short, a dramatic mystery investigation movie. However, in this movie you get to interact with the objects and people around you. You play as four very different characters an FBI agent on the case of the origami killer, a Privet investigator who has been on the case for years now, a depressed father who has enough on his plate already, and a journalist. At first you have no idea how they are connected, if at all. As you delve deeper into the plot you uncover clues and leads and you get to make your own opinions. With these opinions you can make actions, and every action no matter how small plays a part on the outcome. Speaking of outcomes there are over 20 different endings to the game. The story is perplexing and riveting giving this game a 10/10! Wait a minute... Didn't I score this a 9/10? The reason behind this is simply because of how clunky the controls are I went through the entire game many many hours of game play. Still after all those hours there are points in the game where I can not walk in the direction I please. The camera angles switching 180 degrees only ads to my confusion. Although, all in all this is a must have game for the play station owner and I feel as though it is one of the best games of this generation. You know a game really strikes you when your emotions start to influence the decisions you make in the game. I caught myself yelling at my screen full of nothing but prescript-ed animations. I was not yelling at another player on Battlefield 3 for killing me with the modded M26 Dart I was yelling because the story had sucked me into the game. That is when you know it is good. Expand
  18. May 22, 2013
    10
    I'm one of the few people who don't mind quick time events. Yeah, if you hate them, avoid this game. However, if you're looking for a very engaging storyline with multiple endings, Heavy Rain has it. It was essentially like playing an awesome Rated R crime/thriller movie.
  19. Apr 4, 2012
    10
    The best game i have ever played hands down. The game has little actual gameplay is largely produced in QTE's but game play is not what the game is here for. It bridges the gap between films and games. The story of a twisted murderer who has good intentions, to find a father worthy of having a child. You play as 4 characters all tracking down said killer and bring back safety.
  20. Mar 18, 2013
    10
    Sure the movements of the characters are irritating at times and the voice acting is not the best in the world, but all that is forgotten when you play the game and come to realise what a truely awesome experience it is. Since when has dying or coming short in a game make you more anxious to play further and see how the rest of the story unfolds?! Not often, and that is how I felt when I played Heavy Rain! Love the game! Can play it over and over again... Expand
  21. Oct 2, 2013
    10
    Absolute brilliant piece of work. The plot was very well written and completely amazed after playing. Good graphics, the gameplay might be a bit boring for people who look for excited controls or gameplay. This is certainly one of the best stories I have ever heard through out my life. Too bad they are making a movie instead of another game though.....
  22. Mar 31, 2013
    9
    There are some technical issues (screen tearing and minor bugs), but the game is a masterpiece...It was like watching a very good movie that lasted for many hours.
  23. May 3, 2013
    9
    This game is incredible. The story is amazing with incredible character with a lot of personality. The environment in this game is just awesome, the graphics are very good just like the art design. The voice acting is pretty good. The game play is innovate and yes is all "quick time events" but what's the problem? it's a type of gaming so I don't see the big deal on it, it's actually pretty good and fun. Also I love how all your actions, may change the story, it makes you think twice in your decision's and actually makes you want to know, what it will be the ending. Expand
  24. Nov 26, 2013
    10
    Heavy Rain is Beautiful game, unique sensations.
    The music is wonderful, the brilliant script.
    it's fun and engaging

    I do not understand the low scores :S
  25. Jul 25, 2013
    10
    My friend told me that a FPS or a TPS game is going to come out. let me guess the summary of a game. Get to cover, move out and kill the bad guys again, again and again. Yes, this game is more like a interactive movie than a video game. But the story and the graphics are awesome. If you want a real and a different experience you should check this game out.
  26. Aug 18, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Heavy Rain is an extremely unique game and one of the best games I've played so far. The game has the best story of all games out there and is full of surprises. I've really enjoyed playing the game and I'm so happy for winning it. It will have it's space forever on my shelf. Expand
  27. Aug 3, 2011
    10
    This game is nothing less than revolutionary!Are you kidding me,this is the future in gaming.At the same time Sony is showing us how powerful it's system is and kinda a"put it in your face 360"kinda way.I'm honestly more of a 360 gamer but The PS3 has some of the best games period.See the PS3 has games that are so evolutionary that we can't even see the whole picture right now,seriously!LBP2 is a game that contains millions of games within a game,pure genius but I'll stick to this review that saying,you will pop this game in in 2015 and still get goose bumps and experience something different.Some choice different to change things.That's how good this is.It's not a game or an interactive movie its a evolution of life.Think about that. Expand
  28. Aug 25, 2010
    9
    One of the most memorable single player campaigns on the Playstation 3, Heavy Rain isn't so much a game in parts but an 'Interactive film'. Nevertheless, it still delivers an experience which is actually very fun. The story is emotional, professional and if this were to be made into a film, it would be equally stunning. Everything from the voice acting to the real emotion of the characters wouldn't look out of place in the cinema, that's how convincingly real this game is. There aren't a great deal of plot twists until the very end, but when it does come it is quite surprising. The sole complaint about this game is it's lack of 'lasting appeal'. All though you can go back to a few chapters before the end and replay the end a few times to unlock of the ending cutscenes, this won't be as enjoyable as your first playthrough when you'll be entirely immersed in the story. More than likely, you'll be trading this in a week or two after purchase, after finishing an immaculate story and completing a relatively easy trophy list. Also, added to that is the fact the 'choose who dies' emphasis on the story is pretty exaggerated. Likely on your second playthrough you'll realise your actions don't start taking huge effect until towards the end. But, there's no denying your first playthrough of the game will be more thrilling than almost any other. Expand
  29. Aug 30, 2010
    9
    Heavy Rain is an amazing experience. It is the kind of game that you play to be engrossed into the story. The story is very good and really pushes you to complete the game to see what happens to the various characters that you take control of during the entire game. The game-play is like that of Fahrenheit and requires you to do movements on the controller depending on what you are doing in the game. All the characters are 100% genuine and you feel that these people really could exist. The graphics for this game are some of the best I have seen and the entire package plays out in a unique way that you may have not experienced with other games. This really is a true masterpiece in storytelling. Expand
  30. Oct 28, 2011
    0
    Best game I've ever played in my 28 years of gaming. Amazing, emotional, heart pounding, engaging. I think people who rated this low don't understand that everything you do changes the outcome of the entire game as you go along. There are thousands and thousands of combinations of outcomes, and it all depends on your own actions. Deep game. Never heard anyone (who knew what they were doing) say any different. Collapse
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 107 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 99 out of 107
  2. Negative: 3 out of 107
  1. Put gaming conventions aside, go in with no expectations other than this is something new and massively good-looking, and you'll be rewarded with a unique experience that lurches between genius and madness, manages to be genuinely emotional, and that you'll be bursting to talk about with your friends. [Feb 2010]
  2. For many people Heavy Rain won’t be more than a progression of quick-time-events, but for me this game has everything a great game needs. The thrilling story, the beautiful graphics and the innovative controls will let you play on and on, till you just can’t look any longer into your TV.
  3. We're enjoying it immensely... It is a game like none other. [Mar 2010, p.66]