• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 107 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2458 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: How Far Will You Go To Save Someone You Love? Experience a gripping psychological thriller filled with innumerable twists and turns, where choices and actions can result in dramatic consequences. Spanning four days of mystery and suspense, the hunt is on for a murderer known only as theHow Far Will You Go To Save Someone You Love? Experience a gripping psychological thriller filled with innumerable twists and turns, where choices and actions can result in dramatic consequences. Spanning four days of mystery and suspense, the hunt is on for a murderer known only as the Origami Killer - named after his macabre calling card of leaving behind folded paper shapes at crime scenes. Four characters, each following their own leads and with their own motives, must take part in a desperate attempt to prevent the killer from claiming a new victim. [Sony] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 99 out of 107
  2. Negative: 3 out of 107
  1. We're enjoying it immensely... It is a game like none other. [Mar 2010, p.66]
  2. Heavy Rain isn’t just a masterpiece; it’s an ingenious step in the right direction...This may very well be the most “human” game ever made, and an absolute triumph for the industry. Take from that what you will.
  3. The presentation for Heavy Rain is nearly flawless with some stunning mo-cap work, not only for overall character movement and subtle character traits and idle animations, but also in the detailed facial capture and lip-synch.
  4. The excitement and emotion the experience playing Heavy Rain conveys is nothing short of remarkable making it a game that you definitely should pick up for your PS3.
  5. Quantic Dream again brings its unique vision of videogames with Heavy Rain, its latest gem. Maybe it’s not a perfect game, but if you want a deep and engaging history and believable and touching characters this is your game. It’s an incredibly original videogame.
  6. In spite of the negative aspects of the game, I highly recommend the interesting and unique experience that is Heavy Rain.
  7. The controls and interaction with the game world are suspect at best and downright awful at worst. And even looking past that I still come away disappointed. The script is weak, the characters' interactions/motivations are often left unexplained, and the voice acting is mediocre in some places and bad in others. The only thing Heavy Rain really has going for it is the composition of some of the individual scenes, and that's not nearly enough to carry the whole game on its own. So in the end we don't have much of anything except the spectre of what might have been.

See all 107 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 50 out of 397
  1. CharlieF.
    Mar 2, 2010
    10
    This game is downright incredible. The bad reviews you see are...ridiculous. Any of the reviews that give this a 90 or lower I just cant This game is downright incredible. The bad reviews you see are...ridiculous. Any of the reviews that give this a 90 or lower I just cant respect. I know we're supposed to respect other people's decisions (and i normally do) but in this case, I simply can't respect anybody that reviews Heavy Rain and doesn't give it a "good" score. This game deserves all of the praise it gets. Congratulations, Quantic Dream. You have made me feel more emotional about a video game than I ever have before. Expand
  2. Oct 11, 2011
    10
    Heavy Rain is a beautiful example of introducing a unique gameplay mixed with an exciting story. Multiple endings and the different charactersHeavy Rain is a beautiful example of introducing a unique gameplay mixed with an exciting story. Multiple endings and the different characters you get to play make this a game a 10. Expand
  3. SamH.
    Feb 25, 2010
    10
    Heavy Rain was a surprise to me. I loved Indigo Prophecy and so I was hyped up for Heavy Rain. It completely hit my expectations and Heavy Rain was a surprise to me. I loved Indigo Prophecy and so I was hyped up for Heavy Rain. It completely hit my expectations and sometimes surpassed them. Heavy Rain fixed a lot of problems that its predecessor had. First of all the story doesn't just drop off half way through, it actually keeps getting better and better. There was probably one or two plot holes but nothing major. The graphics are excellent and the music is amazing. Though on a few rare occasions (happens maybe 5 times for 1 second out of 10 hours of gameplay) the sound would drop out but instantly come back. At the ending of the game, which can be completely different from another ending, I found myself standing up and didn't realize it until the credits, that was definitely a first. Expand
  4. JordanA.
    Feb 24, 2010
    9
    This was one of the most creative games i've ever played. Without spoiling anything, it's a fairly short game (7-8 hours), with This was one of the most creative games i've ever played. Without spoiling anything, it's a fairly short game (7-8 hours), with lots of unexpected plot twists, and good story telling. It's very addicting, and even after the credits roll, I was still hungry for more. I gave it a 9/10, because there are a fair amount of unanswered questions and potholes in the story, and because i beat it in less than 2 days. for sure worth playing, if not buying Collapse
  5. Sep 16, 2013
    9
    Un asesino serial, un agente de policía y un padre desesperado son los ingredientes que dan pie a la trama de Heavy Rain, un juego exclusivoUn asesino serial, un agente de policía y un padre desesperado son los ingredientes que dan pie a la trama de Heavy Rain, un juego exclusivo para PS3 desarrollado por el equipo de Sony Computer Entertainment Europe con la colaboración de Quantic Dream.

    Una vida perfecta……
    Despiertas en tu recamara, el sol entra por la ventana, te asomas al jardín, tomas una ducha y recuerdas que es el cumpleaños de tu hijo Jason, el mayor, tu esposa lo llevo de compras junto con su hermano Shaun, para cuando regresan a casa ya es hora de la comida pero te das tiempo de salir y jugar un rato con los chicos.

    Así es como comienza todo en Heavy Rain, un juego con un estilo muy diferente a los demás, que bien se le podría llamar película interactiva antes de considerarlo un videojuego pero eso sería muy poco para describir todo lo que en realidad es; una experiencia inolvidable.

    Tratando de evitar los spoilers les puedo contar que la historia gira entorno a un asesino serial que azota la ciudad, todo esto visto a través de 4 personajes diferentes que en algún momento cruzaran sus caminos para darnos los diferentes ángulos de esta trama y así poder llegar a resolver el caso del “Asesino del Origami”.

    ¿Porque no corre?

    Lo primero que notaras al tomar el control de alguno de los personajes, es que no puedes correr, ni saltar, ni golpear, tan solo se limita a caminar, observar e interactuar con algunos objetos, pero aquí es donde está el detalle primordial de Heavy Rain, en todo momento estarás decidiendo si hacer o no diversas actividades, las cuales pueden tener consecuencias en los sucesos posteriores tratando de darte esa sensación que se tiene en la vida real al momento de tomar decisiones, estas van desde que tu personaje se bañe o se ponga a trabajar o ambas o ninguna y la historia continuara sin mayor problema hasta llegar a algunas más complejas donde estará en juego la vida de los personajes.

    En algunos momentos del juego tenemos la libertad de explorar diferentes áreas, en estas tendremos la posibilidad de escuchar los pensamientos de nuestros personajes con solo presionar un botón, para así entenderlo mejor y saber cuáles son sus reacciones ante las diferentes situaciones que se le presentan.

    Necesitaras buenos reflejos

    Existen varias secuencias de acción en donde tendremos que ir presionando los botones que aparecen en pantalla o realizar ciertos movimientos con los Sticks para que nuestro personaje en turno realice diferentes movimientos, en algunos incluso se utiliza el olvidado sixaxis y hace ya algún tiempo se agrego la compatibilidad con el PSmove para tratar de dar una mejor experiencia al momento de estarlo jugando.

    Se puede llegar a pensar que es un juego lento pero debemos de considerar que es el ritmo en el que estuvo pensado para que podamos asimilar todo lo que está pasando en esta historia tan compleja y así lograr obtener esa sensación de drama deseada por sus creadores.

    Realidad o Realidad Virtual

    Algo sobresaliente es el aspecto grafico, que si bien no es sorpresa al ser desarrollado por un estudio especialista en captura de movimiento, lo que lograron hacer con los rostros de los personajes dentro del juego fue lo que los llevo a ser considerados de los mejores en el mundo para la captura facial y de sentimientos en modelos virtuales.

    Durante las pantallas de carga entre las diferentes escenas nos muestran los rostros del personaje a controlar en un primer plano y es aquí donde podemos apreciar la cantidad de detalle con la que fueron hechos.

    ¿Por qué jugarlo?

    Como lo dije al principio, mas allá de un juego es una experiencia de vida, solo necesitas dejarte llevar por la historia de este fantástico thriller psicológico la cual te mantendrá enganchado y no te dejara soltar el control, el juego está hecho para que lo disfrutes como si fuera una película solo con el pequeño detalle que dura de entre 8 a 10 horas según tus acciones, por lo tanto creo que si lo terminas en unos 4 o 5 días tendrás toda la información aun fresca en tu memoria.

    ¿Por qué NO jugarlo?

    Para empezar, ¿se juega?, hay varios momentos en los que seremos simples espectadores de una película en HD, además de varias partes medias flojas en donde la historia va avanzando a cuenta gotas y en mi caso que lo jugué en español, de castilla, varias animaciones no van en ritmo con el sonido.

    Este es MI final

    La verdad me hice un fan del juego desde que lo terminé, pero no me animo a reiniciarlo para no perder esa historia que me toco y quedarme con esa versión como mi Heavy Rain, platicando con otras personas que lo han jugado nos dimos cuenta que todos teníamos un final diferente y creo que eso es lo que lo hace especial, el sentir que cada quien tiene su desenlace personal.

    Les recomiendo ampliamente que lo jueguen y no importa si solo lo rentan un fin de semana, lo que importa es no perderse la oportunidad de disfrutarlo.
    Expand
  6. RubenK
    Mar 6, 2010
    8
    Er werd aan dit spel toch heel wat ruchtbaarheid gegeven en Sony zelf beweert dat dit hun beste spel ooit is. Eerlijk gezegd kan ik dit Er werd aan dit spel toch heel wat ruchtbaarheid gegeven en Sony zelf beweert dat dit hun beste spel ooit is. Eerlijk gezegd kan ik dit slechts tot op een bepaald hoogte volgen. Grafisch en game-technisch gesproken is dit inderdaad een game van de bovenste plank en boeit de story line tot op de laatste seconde. Bovendien wordt er toch op de emoties van de gamer gespeeld. Ik heb zelf het spel 2 keer gespeeld om even te testen of de intelligente story line ook werkt en inderdaad de tweede keer lag de uitkomst van het verhaal toch helemaal anders. Naargelang je keuzes speel je ook meer of minder verschillende scènes. Los van dit alles zijn er toch een aantal minpunten die het vermelden waard zijn. De game komt in het begin nogal verwarrend over, het verhaal op zich is niet helemaal duidelijk en het helpt dus zeker niet dat je met 4 totaal onafhankelijke personages speelt. Verder duurt de overgang van één speldeel naar een ander (lees van één spelkarakter naar een ander) toch wel soms tot 1 à 2 minuten wat een beetje de atmosfeer breekt. Ook werd er reeds bij andere gamers vastgesteld dat het spel crasht, iets wat toch niet zou mogen bij dit soort hoogstandjes. Persoonlijk heb ik dit een 4-tal keer voorgehad, niet zo leuk dus als je net midden in een spannende scène zit. Ook de manier hoe de controller gebruikt moet worden in deze game, bracht hier en daar wel wat ergernis. De manier hoe je je personages moet laten lopen is verre van handig. Ook het feit dat je hele toetsencombinaties moet gaan gebruiken (al dan niet vasthoudend) om je personage bepaalde activiteiten te laten uitvoeren maken deze game niet erg gebruiksvriendelijk. Als laatste punt toch ook even aanhalen dat indien je een paar foute beslissingen maakt of één van je personages sterft, tja dan heb je echt wel pech want dan speel je dit speel op een regenachtige namiddag in één ruk uit. Je kan er natuurlijk voor opteren om het spel opnieuw te spelen en proberen beter te doen of andere beslissingen te nemen, maar dan nog speel je het spel in een mum van tijd uit. Ik had toch verwacht dat dit spel langer zou meegaan, zeker voor het prijskaartje wat er aan vasthangt. Besluit: al bij al zeker geen slechte game als je van adventures houdt, maar toch nog heel wat ruimte voor verbetering. Expand
  7. ChrisC
    Feb 23, 2010
    0
    I'm sorry but this game isn't any good. I admit that the graphics are fantastic. But I don't care about graphics! Gameplay & I'm sorry but this game isn't any good. I admit that the graphics are fantastic. But I don't care about graphics! Gameplay & story is what matters! And the gameplay is just a series of quick time events, the prologue is incredibly dull & the story doesn't start getting interesting until near the middle & overall this game is just boring. I mean Heavy Rain tries its hardest to be a video game & movie at the same time & ends up failing miserably! Now I know everyone is going to claim I'm a 360 fanboy, but I'm not! I'm just someone who is voicing his opinion on this overrated & dull game! Expand

See all 397 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Heavy Rain: Inside the Reviews

    Heavy Rain: Inside the Reviews Image
    Published: February 23, 2010
    The year's most talked-about Playstation 3 title is part game, part interactive fiction. We go deeper inside the reviews to find out what all the buzz is about.