Hitman: Absolution PlayStation 3

Hitman: Absolution Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 487 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Wear the uniform of the deadliest assassin, you have the ability to blend into your environment, kill with nothing but your bare hands and create a weapon from almost anything a la McGuyver. You are Agent 47, the world's most lethal assassin.
Buy On

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30
  1. Nov 25, 2012
    96
    An excellent game with an almost Grindhouse film aesthetic to it.
  2. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Nov 6, 2012
    90
    Hitman: Absolution absolutely nails the modern gaming trope of presenting oodles of gameplay choice. It would be an insult to polarise Absolution into 'stealth' or 'action', where the real beauty of the game is found in the fertile grey area in between. [December 2012, p66]
  3. Nov 18, 2012
    90
    Stealth is my genre, and from sneaky signature kills to spectacularly horrifying 'accidents', nobody does it quite like Agent 47.
  4. Nov 19, 2012
    80
    In essence Hitman: Absolution is still the stealthy murderous game you know. As usual there are dozens of ways to take out your targets, lots of disguises to wear and the environment can be scaled and used the way you want to. It's also as hard as you remember it, but doesn't linger in the past mostly due to an increased focus on action and it being easier to play and. Graphically the game looks wonderfully dark, the interface has been completely redone and Agent 47 is easier to control than ever. The artificial intelligence leaves something to be desired, but aside from that Absolution is a fine Hitman-game.
  5. 80
    Hitman: Absolution is a good game, and a proposal that will satisfy players who prefer a good dose of strategy and observation, but it has some flaws in terms of artificial intelligence.
  6. 80
    It's not perfectly executed, but it comes damn close.
  7. Nov 19, 2012
    30
    Hitman Absolution is a mistake. Even if in your mind the plot loops all the way past 'so bad it's bad' and back to 'so bad it's good' again, Hitman Absolution has more bugs than a service station meat pie and less direction than a headless chicken. A genuinely fun mode like Contracts can't save that. IO Interactive needs to restart from the Blood Money checkpoint and try again - they screwed up this run spectacularly.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 126
  2. Negative: 28 out of 126
  1. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    PERFECT GAME. The best Hitman ever. Nice story, no bugs, nothing wrong with this game. HITMAN 4 EVER! I think it is the best game of the year,PERFECT GAME. The best Hitman ever. Nice story, no bugs, nothing wrong with this game. HITMAN 4 EVER! I think it is the best game of the year, but we have to wait to far cry 3. But until now, hitman is the best. Expand
  2. Jan 3, 2013
    10
    THE GAME IS GOOD IN ALL ASPECTS ESPECIALLY THE KILLING THE AI AND ALSO THE GRAPHICS ARE EXCELLENT THE ONLY CON OF THE GAME IS THE STORY CUZTHE GAME IS GOOD IN ALL ASPECTS ESPECIALLY THE KILLING THE AI AND ALSO THE GRAPHICS ARE EXCELLENT THE ONLY CON OF THE GAME IS THE STORY CUZ THE STORY IS SHORT OR IS NOT THAT INTERESTING NOT THE BEST HITMAN GAME EVER BUT IF YOU LOVE STEALTH YOU'LL LOVE IT THIS GAME IS A 9.5 FOR ME SINCE THERE IS NO 9.5 IN METACRITIC I GIVE IT A 10!!! -----akashpunkfanno1 Expand
  3. Nov 26, 2012
    9
    I'm about halfway through this title and it has been a really fun game. I was surprised at the amount of negative reviews for this game andI'm about halfway through this title and it has been a really fun game. I was surprised at the amount of negative reviews for this game and they all fell into two categories: The first group loved previous Hitman games and Absolution to them has different gameplay and is a "corruption" of the franchise; the second group are gamers with some obvious agenda since they've mostly never reviewed any other games and reviewed EACH PLATFORM of Hitman 2:Absolution with a 0. That's desperation Expand
  4. Aug 5, 2014
    8
    I've always been a big fan of the Hitman games ever since playing the original on PC. I really liked what they did with Absolution. It isI've always been a big fan of the Hitman games ever since playing the original on PC. I really liked what they did with Absolution. It is somewhat of a departure from the formula in Blood Money but I think a lot of the new features are done really well. My only complaint would be that the mission structure doesnt really suit the storyline. Its more action this time instead of the stealth the game is known for. Some of the missions are brilliant and yet others fall flat and force you to engage in action sequences. Apart from that, its an excellent game. Expand
  5. Aug 26, 2013
    7
    If your new to the himan series and you start on this game you will love it if your a long time fan..you wont like this game. most of theIf your new to the himan series and you start on this game you will love it if your a long time fan..you wont like this game. most of the hitman elements are gone like for example: in the old hitmans it would be almost impossible to gun down everything in your way, in absoultion you can gun everything with no plan at all and still get alot of points. it does have good graphics and a deceant story and nice shooting but this is not a game for longtime fans. 6.7 Expand
  6. Sep 24, 2013
    5
    Watered down rubbish, a disposable game made for our culture of COD style instant gratification. Gone is planning, tactics, timing andWatered down rubbish, a disposable game made for our culture of COD style instant gratification. Gone is planning, tactics, timing and subtlety. In is guns blazing, quick time events and stupidity. Anyone who played Blood Money like me should remember a golden age of thinking stealth games, BM, MGS 3, Chaos Theory, these types of games are mostly dead. Remember in BM when you would stalk your target and spend considerable time running through different scenarios on how to kill your victim? Gone. Remember when you would spend considerable time murdering various people for their outfit which would lead to different ways to kill your victim? Gone. Gone is the patients of a proper Hitman, now it's all about explosions and Stephen Hawking-esque A.I. that can see through every disguise you where making that oh so important and iconic element of the Hitman series redundant.

    Much like most developers/pulishers Enix has catered for the casual, pick up and drop gamer that makes the COD franchise so much money. Oh and the much reported save data deletion problem hit me, one level before game completion. Awesome.
    Expand
  7. Mar 16, 2013
    0
    This game got stupiest AI i ever seen in modern games. Even trash COD got more intelligent targets to kill Story bored. Plz don't buy this trash.

See all 126 User Reviews