Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 60 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 60
  2. Negative: 6 out of 60
  1. Mar 14, 2011
    86
    Maybe the tasks are familiar, but the gritty concept of the game and its great multiplayer experience makes Kaos Studio's battlefield a great one. Fans of team-based online shooters will want to spend a lot of time on Homefront.
  2. Mar 17, 2011
    85
    The Multiplayer is fine how it is, the way I see it. As long as it maintains a healthy community of active players, it'll be around for a while.
  3. Mar 16, 2011
    85
    Homefront is shocking, realistic and atmospheric. Unfortunately, your fight for freedom ends quickly. Good thing there is a sweet multiplayer mode.
  4. May 24, 2011
    84
    The story is way too short and the multiplayer doesn't deliver the fun you know from the Call of Duty or Battlefield games.
  5. Mar 15, 2011
    84
    If you've been looking forward to Homefront since last year's E3 like we have, you'll be glad to know that Kaos has delivered a truly fantastic shooter. And if you're the kind of gamer that values quality over quantity, then you'll definitely want to check it out.
  6. Mar 16, 2011
    83
    Taken by itself, Homefront's campaign is just plain disappointing. A promising concept ultimately falls flat in the fast-paced, "I don't have time for reading" first-person shooter genre. Once you've accomplished all of the objectives in single-player, the game just "ends". Someone obviously wanted to leave room for a sequel. That person is saved by Homefront's well-designed multiplayer.
  7. Mar 12, 2011
    83
    As a five-hour solo-player game, it's clearly rental only. For online players the value is far greater - a solid, varied, Call of Duty rival, with fresher weapon load outs, plus vehicles and drones... Shocking but short, this is an intense shooter with a lack of finesse. [Apr 2011, p.66]
  8. Mar 21, 2011
    82
    Homefront manages to deliver a decent FPS experience with a strong multiplayer experience and an interesting story arc.
  9. Mar 15, 2011
    81
    The singleplayer-campaign may have nice story ideas and its iconic moments, but with only three to four hours of playtime and its disappointing and confusing ending, Homefront is certainly not worth your money, if that's what you are mainly interested in. If you are into multiplayer, it's a completely different story though! Nice Maps and Modes, exciting battles and a motivating XP-system make Homefront a worthy diversion until the release of BF3.
  10. We came to Homefront for its front lines and its heart, and it's here the war is won. [May 2011, p.80]
  11. Mar 27, 2011
    80
    Ultimately, Homefront a mixed bag. There's a lot of good in the single player game, weighed down by older mechanics and events that pull the player out of the excellent story. Meanwhile, the multiplayer is fairly terrific, but would have been served well by going a little further with the Battle Commander.
  12. Mar 27, 2011
    80
    Homefront's campaign misfires all revolve around poor pacing and a lack of identity. It's not as polished or as fast-paced as Call of Duty: Black Ops or Bulletstorm, but it's also not as tactical or true-to-life as Operation Flashpoint: Dragon Rising. Its multiplayer, where those issues aren't a problem, is worth a look, even if you have to pony up for $10 when renting it without an online pass code.
  13. Mar 19, 2011
    80
    A huge surprise. Whilst we went into it hopefully, we didn't quite expect such excellent gameplay in such a detailed world, and we certainly didn't expect to find revolutionary multiplayer concepts.
  14. Mar 18, 2011
    80
    A decent title game a campaign that doesn't meet expectations, but with a great and unique multiplayer mode.
  15. Mar 17, 2011
    80
    I'll say it right now: if you're considering buying Homefront today, it needs to be for the multiplayer. The campaign should only serve as a small distraction that you might want to goof around in if you're bored and have already gotten your money's worth out of the multiplayer.
  16. Mar 15, 2011
    80
    It is not without some minor freshman bumps, but the overall package is one of the more compelling so far in 2011.
  17. 80
    Homefront, with its gripping premise and well-orchestrated battles, is all about ambiance and emotion. This is a great starting point for a new series, and if Kaos Studios can fix some of the minor issues, Homefront could potentially topple its well-established competition.
  18. Great multiplayer. Quality, yet anorexic single-player. Knock [20] points off this score if you're an offline-only gamer. [April 2011, p.68]
  19. Mar 11, 2011
    80
    Homefront doesn't provide a long single player campaign, and the good narrative doesn't feel fully developed. On the other hand, multiplayer is interesting and funny.
  20. Mar 25, 2011
    78
    Homefront is a strong multiplayer game with a weak single-player campaign trying to drag it down. So if you like your FPS online then you'll have a great time, otherwise you might want to pass despite all the hype.
  21. Mar 28, 2011
    77
    Homefront is a pretty short shooter with an unique setting and a great story. The game is original in most aspects, but way too short and the graphics are a bit poor. There are also a lot of annoying bugs that's making the game impossible to play.
  22. Mar 14, 2011
    77
    In the end, Homefront is a solid experience even if it doesn't quite deliver what it promised. As a FPS, it's competent. As a story device, it does tells a tale, just not quite the way it was billed out. The issues Homefront has are not terrible individually, though some may think twice once they are all lined up side by side.
  23. Mar 24, 2011
    75
    It's a solid enough game that has its flaws. There have been better on the market in terms of technical prowess and overall well thought out gameplay options, however it's certainly worth experiencing.
  24. Mar 21, 2011
    75
    It's one of those instances where if you go in with high expectations, you're bound to be left feeling a tad empty, but if you're more moderated in your anticipation, you'll be better off. The campaign is worth playing; there's no doubt about that...But there are extenuating circumstances…
  25. Mar 17, 2011
    74
    It features plenty of enemies, some pretty awesome locations, and a killer premise. Though the story falls flat about halfway through, and the game needs at least five more chapters to feel complete, you will have lots of fun in the short amount of time that you do have with the single player.
  26. Mar 15, 2011
    72
    War isn't pretty and this horrifying tale of war on American soil makes for a heartfelt adventure. While the core gameplay feels a little "behind the times," the setting and narrative keeps things fresh.
  27. There isn't really a climax. It just finishes, coitus interruptus-style. [May 2011, p.114]
  28. Mar 29, 2011
    70
    Homefront is not an easy game to digest. If you look at quickly pointing out all the errors, it will certainly not be a very rewarding experience. But if you leave aside its flaws, there is "life" beyond them.
  29. Mar 29, 2011
    70
    It's not a terrible game, but it's agonisingly close to being SO much more.
  30. Mar 26, 2011
    70
    Homefront doesn't live up to the hype and suffers from a short campaign that will only entertain you for four hours. The graphics aren't great and the many glitches don't help either. Homefront's best points are its multiplayer and its brilliant vibe.
  31. Mar 23, 2011
    70
    Homefront doesn't live up to its expectations. The emotional and atmospheric story of the (way too short) single-player slowly changes into an over-the-top first-person shooter that lacks in character. Homefront is one of the biggest disappointments of 2011, while the game in and of itself, isn't that bad.
  32. Mar 22, 2011
    70
    Homefront is a game that will live or die based on its online component. For $60, if you are investing solely for the single-player campaign, you are truly wasting your money. The multiplayer has the potential to be something amazing with a few tweaks and a better selection of maps, currently there just aren't enough.
  33. Mar 21, 2011
    70
    'Kaos' may have been trying to spread their wings a bit, but the overall story in the campaign may have clipped their wings, more so with an abrupt ending. As interesting and deep as the SP world and MP gameplay can be, it's a tad outclassed by the rest.
  34. Mar 18, 2011
    70
    You can complete Homefront Campaign in less than 4 hours. And the multiplayer is miles away form the CoD and Battlefield excellence.
  35. Mar 16, 2011
    70
    As the FPS genre marches towards a Call of Dutified heat death, it seems success is based more on the strength of a brand than any semblance of innovative game design. Homefront is only adding to this growing mass of homogeneous goo but at the very least it's a solid game with moderately entertaining mechanics; completely generic but generally agreeable nonetheless.
  36. Mar 16, 2011
    70
    Homefront's campaign tells a good story, but that's about the only thing it does exceptionally well. The action is fun, but nothing special, and it sometimes feels so rigidly scripted that it's almost stifling. Meanwhile, the radically different multiplayer stands out as a much better game, with chaotic, drone-and-vehicle-filled action that's just fun an involving enough to make Homefront worth picking up.
  37. Mar 16, 2011
    70
    Homefront's engrossing vision of the future and gratifying competitive multiplayer outweigh its squandered potential and workaday game mechanics.
  38. Mar 15, 2011
    70
    Incredibly rough around the edges, wasteful of unique opportunities, and light on content, we quite frankly question the longevity of this title. But you know what? There are worse games you could spend your money on.
  39. Mar 15, 2011
    70
    Homefront is a good game, capable of entertaining the fans of the FPS genre only for a short period of time in singleplayer. The overall quality of the multiplayer is good but it's clear from where Kaos Studios took the inspiration, and it's not able to surprise us with entirely fresh new ideas.
  40. Mar 15, 2011
    70
    With its interesting premise, evocative opening sequence, and clever variation on multiplayer, Homefront has a strong foundation. It's a shame that technical limitations and a derivative single-player campaign keep the game from realizing its potential.
  41. Mar 15, 2011
    70
    There's enough material within Homefront's concept for it to spiral into something more interesting, and with plenty of talk about a sequel it's clear that's what THQ and Kaos is looking for, but this first crack of the whip falls far short of the competition.
  42. Mar 15, 2011
    70
    One of the most unique shooters I've ever played, driven by an ingenious and surprisingly well-fleshed out plot and a dark and dreary, realistic setting. But it also controls and feels like a typical shooter, looks like a game that's several years old, and most importantly, has an inexcusably brief campaign.
  43. Mar 21, 2011
    69
    An entertaining, if not a little under-polished, FPS that dares to strike out in new directions. [Issue#203, p.82]
  44. Mar 17, 2011
    67
    Homefront is a decent shooter but with a short play through time and limited online multiplayer, not to mention no offline multiplayer, it just doesn't seem worth full the retail value.
  45. Mar 15, 2011
    67
    It's apparent that the story and atmosphere of the game is much more important than actual gameplay.
  46. Mar 29, 2011
    65
    It's an easy game to recommend for a rental since the story is too interesting to pass up, but for those who were interested in buying it, wait to see if there is still a community after the title has been patched.
  47. Mar 29, 2011
    60
    THQ should have made a deal with MGM to turn Homefront into a tie-in for the upcoming Red Dawn remake. That game would have been way better than what we have now.
  48. Mar 25, 2011
    60
    Kaos Studios manage to offer an intense campaign with several memorable moments in what seems to be a very faithfully-realized urban American environment. Unfortunately, the campaign easily ends in less than five hours, making it hard to recommend it to anyone who is not interested in the competitive multiplayer portion of the game.
  49. Mar 17, 2011
    60
    Homefront is a solid, if uneven, experience that features an excellent multiplayer mode, with a very average single-player campaign attached.
  50. Mar 16, 2011
    60
    The storyline just has an amateurish overall feel to it, and the adventure is over almost before it even started. The multiplayer component somewhat saves the day, but in the end, Homefront is a big letdown.
  51. Mar 15, 2011
    60
    Kaos obviously had ideas for this game, yet seemingly couldn't bring any of those ideas to total fruition. The end result is a brief, brittle campaign bereft of impactful storytelling or creatively designed action, one that ends not with a bang, but with the build-up to a bang, followed by a title card.
  52. Mar 22, 2011
    50
    It's a shame the game engine isn't flashier, because it does put up a good fight, but without a sexy bullet point like Killzone's graphics, Bad Company's destructible buildings, or MAG's 256 players, it's going to be hard to draw new players in.
  53. 50
    Every aspect of the single-player campaign is poorly executed and designed. And when you finally push through it, the ending leaves far too much open to feel any sense of closure - you can tell that a sequel was always planned from the get go. Bad news Kaos and THQ, if this is what you give us, we don't want anymore.
  54. Mar 17, 2011
    50
    The improbable plot ends up being almost the only point of interest in this vapid and hopelessly unoriginal first person shooter.
  55. Mar 30, 2011
    45
    Homefront is an ambitious title with a solid idea, but lacked the courage to distance itself from the (media established) king of First Person Shooters.
  56. May 17, 2011
    40
    I'll admit that I've played games that are technically worse than Homefront, but I have not played a game that irritated me as much as this in a very long time.
  57. Mar 26, 2011
    40
    Yet for all the hours I've enjoyed putting into the multiplayer, I still feel insulted by the thoughtlessness of the single-player.
  58. Mar 24, 2011
    40
    But the problem with Homefront isn't just that it sucks, which it certainly does. The problem is that it reveals just how badly many first-person shooters are starting to suck. It's a game that magnifies the preexisting trend of developing to the lowest common denominator.
  59. Mar 21, 2011
    40
    It is difficult to say anything good about Homefront. It's a half-baked idea crammed into a half-baked game, and while I'll freely admit that a quasi-realistic military-style first-person shooter with a heavy focus on the multiplayer mode is not exactly my cup of tea, I've played enough of them at this point that I feel confident in saying when one has gone horribly, horribly wrong.
  60. Mar 17, 2011
    40
    Quotation forthcoming.
User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 164 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 76
  2. Negative: 29 out of 76
  1. Mar 19, 2011
    2
    I have to completely agree with the negative reviews submitted here, so much that i subscribed to metacritic in the hope to warn other gamersI have to completely agree with the negative reviews submitted here, so much that i subscribed to metacritic in the hope to warn other gamers of this atrocity. Firstly, Single player campaign, to put bluntly, GASH, too short, poor graphics, dialogue, lack of originality, empty, cliche ridden characters, just poorly designed really. It's glitch ridden, full of invisible walls, and at times i've had to reboot my ps3 because my character freezes in one fixed position and i'm unable to shoot or run, if i look around there is nothing obstructing me, i'm just locked. Oh, and the game has frozen on 3 separate occasions too. Online i was hoping for more, but again it's a mess. Having on countless occasions emptied entire magazines into enemy opposition, only for them to turn round and kill me with ONE SHOT, i have no other course of action other than to trade in this piece of **** Again online i have experienced being unable to move, thus being gunned down whilst i'm wide open, getting killed by, er ........... NOBODY!, literally, respawn in a building, walk a few feet then crumple in a bloody mess, no killcam, no, YOU WERE KILLED BY MR SO AND SO, just dead. What the **** up with that? So please, save your money, buy something else, KZ3, Black Ops, whatever, just not this, people knock COD, yes it has flaws, few don't, but compared to this steaming pile of ****e it's a **** masterpiece. Full Review »
  2. Mar 16, 2011
    5
    i didnt really enjoy this game the campaign is too short for my liking and the graphics arent the best but that would be forgivable if thei didnt really enjoy this game the campaign is too short for my liking and the graphics arent the best but that would be forgivable if the online play was any good. i was looking forward to another shooter game that could rival CoD and Bad co but this is not going to be the game that changes how ppl feel about CoD and i hate to say it but stick to CoD and maybe just give this game a rental try Full Review »
  3. Mar 16, 2011
    3
    First impression: great concept, poor execution. Diving in, the first thing I notice is that the dialog is cheesy and the story progression isFirst impression: great concept, poor execution. Diving in, the first thing I notice is that the dialog is cheesy and the story progression is predictable- somewhere between the movie 2012 and a late night infomercial. If you like either, you might not mind. The plot has all the basics: a hot chick, a tough guy, and certain promise of driving a vehicle, flying some kind of aerial combat mission, and a sniper level... then of course, the predictable story hook: getting you angry and in search of revenge, and feeding you some immediate action... But overall the game falls short of carving a new niche for a FPS. As far as the gameplay mechanics- Maybe I'm de-sensitized from some exciting recent shooters which offer unique tools like cover and team tactics... But in playing the first few levels, it feels like the game has gone back a few years in gameplay development, borrowing from games like Half Life or Rainbow 6... but overall it feels like some OG Doom game or something similar. Nothing comparable to Modern Warfare 2 or Medal of Honor (though I'm sure each have their critics too). Overall it feels like "just another shooter" with a cheesy, predictable story, B-side dialog script and acting, and poor gameplay mechanics. I guess THQ thinks we will be satisfied by giving us a new setting and decent graphics to shoot in to tie us over until the next shooter comes out... they got my $50 that I wish I didn't spend, so I guess I'll play it until the next game comes out. But I won't be waiting on pins and needles for the next offering from THQ. This one's a dud. Full Review »