User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 164 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 164
  2. Negative: 53 out of 164

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 16, 2011
    5
    i didnt really enjoy this game the campaign is too short for my liking and the graphics arent the best but that would be forgivable if the online play was any good. i was looking forward to another shooter game that could rival CoD and Bad co but this is not going to be the game that changes how ppl feel about CoD and i hate to say it but stick to CoD and maybe just give this game a rental try
  2. Mar 22, 2011
    1
    I wrote a review earlier giving the game a 8 but i had to delete that review and now it gets a 1 this is because the story is short only 5 hours max, but now the Multiplayer mode is unplayable, youll either freeze when you get in a match or youll sit in a empty lobby till you idle out, freeze again, or get kicked cause there wasnt enough people to play wiht....i was holding out for theI wrote a review earlier giving the game a 8 but i had to delete that review and now it gets a 1 this is because the story is short only 5 hours max, but now the Multiplayer mode is unplayable, youll either freeze when you get in a match or youll sit in a empty lobby till you idle out, freeze again, or get kicked cause there wasnt enough people to play wiht....i was holding out for the first patch which came with no impact, if anything it made the freezing worse...and now they said thier next patch will be out when its ready, which means it hasnt gone to sony for approval yet so at least another week. At this point all of my clan mates have traded the game in, im now the only one and im going to trade it in as well...by time the next patch comes out the game will have nobody playing it anymore. Expand
  3. Mar 22, 2011
    0
    Oh My, it took me only 3 hours to play the single part, and so I spent even time to look at the graphics in the pitches, but I feel cheated, the game is not 66 $ worth, which I have given for it in Denmark, highest 15 $ worth, I wonder why there are pirates when it comes to games, and so even with Steam, so I can not even resell it.

    I do not buy more games that requires a Steam account.
    Oh My, it took me only 3 hours to play the single part, and so I spent even time to look at the graphics in the pitches, but I feel cheated, the game is not 66 $ worth, which I have given for it in Denmark, highest 15 $ worth, I wonder why there are pirates when it comes to games, and so even with Steam, so I can not even resell it.

    I do not buy more games that requires a Steam account.

    This game is a failure, can you get your money refunded from the company, should be an option when they screwed people. Only buy this game if you can find it for 10-15 $
    Collapse
  4. Apr 8, 2011
    4
    Another game that I genuinely wanted to like... but couldn't. I was hoping for a title that would break the CoD stranglehold on the FPS market. Instead all I got was yet another sad clone. The gameplay is EXACTLY the same as CoD, EXACTLY. Only difference here being slightly stronger story potential. Slightly and potential, being the operative words here, and when you consider theAnother game that I genuinely wanted to like... but couldn't. I was hoping for a title that would break the CoD stranglehold on the FPS market. Instead all I got was yet another sad clone. The gameplay is EXACTLY the same as CoD, EXACTLY. Only difference here being slightly stronger story potential. Slightly and potential, being the operative words here, and when you consider the "attempting to be controversial" trash that has passed for CoD fare lately, that's not hard. Unfortunately, the promise of the story is never fulfilled... the game ends, cliffhanger style, just when things start to get interesing... an obvious alert to a potential sequel. A sequel I won't be playing. Let's be honest, though, if this was titled CoD:Homeland... all of the pro reviewers would be singing it's praises, lol. Expand
  5. Mar 17, 2011
    6
    First of All, I'm really tired of seeing people rating a game "0" when CLEARLY, it does NOT deserve it. Just because you can't open the doors, or the length of the game is short, or you just personally don't like the story, doesn't mean the game is a serious "0". All aspects of the game need to be taken into consideration. This is NOT the best FPS out there. its "O.K."! The graphics areFirst of All, I'm really tired of seeing people rating a game "0" when CLEARLY, it does NOT deserve it. Just because you can't open the doors, or the length of the game is short, or you just personally don't like the story, doesn't mean the game is a serious "0". All aspects of the game need to be taken into consideration. This is NOT the best FPS out there. its "O.K."! The graphics are mediocre. The sound is 'alright'. The story has a good concept, but it doesn't quite catch my attention (personally). Online is Actually pretty good! I can see a lot of hours being spent online because the variety is great. GOTY? Negative! ....But definitely worth some time if your looking for a FPS to play. Expand
  6. Mar 22, 2011
    4
    This game seems like a rushed project intended to capitalize on a unique idea. Homefront's story is an interesting ad fresh concept with extremely poor delivery. Other than the story, very little about this game is new or interesting. It has the exact same controls as Call of Duty, except you are fighting Koreans and Japanese rather than people of the Middle East. The outline of the storyThis game seems like a rushed project intended to capitalize on a unique idea. Homefront's story is an interesting ad fresh concept with extremely poor delivery. Other than the story, very little about this game is new or interesting. It has the exact same controls as Call of Duty, except you are fighting Koreans and Japanese rather than people of the Middle East. The outline of the story is neat, but the characters and level design are incredibly boring. A rental at best. Expand
  7. Mar 18, 2011
    5
    I have to agree with most, that the story is very original. I went into this game with high hopes, but from the first 15 min of gameplay I have to admit I was very let down. The graphics look like a game that should've been released during the second year of the current generation consoles. The audio is underwhelming for me as well. The gameplay was nothing new and the AI is absolutelyI have to agree with most, that the story is very original. I went into this game with high hopes, but from the first 15 min of gameplay I have to admit I was very let down. The graphics look like a game that should've been released during the second year of the current generation consoles. The audio is underwhelming for me as well. The gameplay was nothing new and the AI is absolutely ridiculous. Multiplayer is the only saving grace for this game and unfortunately it doesn't stack up to BFBC2 which is my game of choice. I can only recommend this game as a weekend rental. Expand
  8. Mar 22, 2011
    0
    This is an all time low for me. I really gave this a shot, played through the campaign with an open mind before i was going to try the multiplayer. The campaign was short, buggy and crappy designed. I could head from the street into a house first, then Connor would shout at me as he finally entered the house: "Get inside the house!". This stupid choreographic errors are all over theThis is an all time low for me. I really gave this a shot, played through the campaign with an open mind before i was going to try the multiplayer. The campaign was short, buggy and crappy designed. I could head from the street into a house first, then Connor would shout at me as he finally entered the house: "Get inside the house!". This stupid choreographic errors are all over the place. To top it all, they use voices/actors from South Park, which didn't exactly add to the "seriousness" the game tries to offer. I was initially thinking of giving this game a 4 for the single player. Then come the MP. It's at times kinda OK, I was just trying it out to get the feel of it. So I was deciding to start playing it a bit heavier, and register the "Battle Code" included in the box. I entered the code, and it wasn't accepted. Invalid code or wrong entered or something was the message. But I was certain I checked the code was entered right, and it was a brand new game, preordered to boot. And the effing code was invalid! So I thought "OK, I don't need the extra XP, and just kept playing. But then, after reaching level 5, I couldn't level up any more until I entered the "Battle Code"! I have written THQ.com twice about this. So far no reply other than "Thanks for contacting us" from a noreply email. This made me quite sick of the game, and I went back to GameStop. Of course they tell me to contact the maker (THQ). Sick of the game I just "traded" it in and got $20 back for the crap.Due to the MP part of the game flunking big time, I give this crap a total of 1 out of 10. Save your money, and don't buy this game. This "Battle Code" idea is a very, VERY bad idea. And No!, I don't want to buy a "Battle Code" on eBay. My guess is that hackers cracked the codes, selling them on eBay, rendering codes in gameboxes unusable.
    Btw THQ.com gets a 0 (zero) for their total lack of response and effort to try to solve this mess.
    GAH!
    Expand
  9. Apr 2, 2011
    3
    This is the shortest game i ever played.....I can't believe someone actually said it was a 7 hour gameplay where its no more than 3 hours. poor graphics, incomplete storyline, average sound effects, the only thing acceptable are the controls where it really doesn't make a difference. Never tried the multiplayer and i don't think i will.....if your bored of all other FPS games out there,This is the shortest game i ever played.....I can't believe someone actually said it was a 7 hour gameplay where its no more than 3 hours. poor graphics, incomplete storyline, average sound effects, the only thing acceptable are the controls where it really doesn't make a difference. Never tried the multiplayer and i don't think i will.....if your bored of all other FPS games out there, rent it out, otherwise don't bother your not missing anything Expand
  10. Mar 19, 2011
    2
    I have to completely agree with the negative reviews submitted here, so much that i subscribed to metacritic in the hope to warn other gamers of this atrocity. Firstly, Single player campaign, to put bluntly, GASH, too short, poor graphics, dialogue, lack of originality, empty, cliche ridden characters, just poorly designed really. It's glitch ridden, full of invisible walls, and at timesI have to completely agree with the negative reviews submitted here, so much that i subscribed to metacritic in the hope to warn other gamers of this atrocity. Firstly, Single player campaign, to put bluntly, GASH, too short, poor graphics, dialogue, lack of originality, empty, cliche ridden characters, just poorly designed really. It's glitch ridden, full of invisible walls, and at times i've had to reboot my ps3 because my character freezes in one fixed position and i'm unable to shoot or run, if i look around there is nothing obstructing me, i'm just locked. Oh, and the game has frozen on 3 separate occasions too. Online i was hoping for more, but again it's a mess. Having on countless occasions emptied entire magazines into enemy opposition, only for them to turn round and kill me with ONE SHOT, i have no other course of action other than to trade in this piece of **** Again online i have experienced being unable to move, thus being gunned down whilst i'm wide open, getting killed by, er ........... NOBODY!, literally, respawn in a building, walk a few feet then crumple in a bloody mess, no killcam, no, YOU WERE KILLED BY MR SO AND SO, just dead. What the **** up with that? So please, save your money, buy something else, KZ3, Black Ops, whatever, just not this, people knock COD, yes it has flaws, few don't, but compared to this steaming pile of ****e it's a **** masterpiece. Expand
  11. Mar 17, 2011
    3
    Concept: 10
    Execution:2
    Graphics: 2
    Guns:2
    Story:8
    Gameplay:5
    Online:2
    Verdict: 3.5
    Absolutely one of the worst games I've ever played. I think it's almost as bad as ET for the Atari 2600.
  12. Mar 18, 2011
    0
    Rogue Mar 18, 20110 Let me begin by saying I was a big fan of Frontlines Fuel of War both single player and multiplayer. When I heard KAOS was developing another game I was hoping for a sequel less the glitches, lag, etc. Like many of you I was checking the status of this greatly anticipated game on youtube for videos and various other websites for any information I could get. When theRogue Mar 18, 20110 Let me begin by saying I was a big fan of Frontlines Fuel of War both single player and multiplayer. When I heard KAOS was developing another game I was hoping for a sequel less the glitches, lag, etc. Like many of you I was checking the status of this greatly anticipated game on youtube for videos and various other websites for any information I could get. When the release date was set counting down the days began only to have it pushed back. Okay I thought, I'd rather see a delay then for them to release a game of poor quality. I was wrong, regrettably very wrong! Homefront could have been great; Homefront could have been ground breaking both in premise and game play. Like I said earlier; Frontlines was fantastic, so good in fact some of the "Big Guys"copied ideas from it such as drones etc. The battle point system was a great addition instead of kill streaks which more than likely will and should be copied by other developers. The single player is way to short, the graphics are average to say the least and the movement of your character is like he has a 20 pound dump in his pants! His movements are slow, methodical and not crisp or sharp like other FPS games. Multiplayer is a joke, that's if you can get in a game at all, joining friends is virtually impossible. It went from dedicated servers to P2P because they underestimated the online attraction; they're in the gaming industry right? MP is what many people play day in and day out and these guys are not prepared? All 16 player games will now be hosted on P2P not dedicated. Multiplayer is a camper / sniper haven make no mistake, the weapon selection is poor and the fact you can't add more than one attachment to your weapon is a joke. No sight and silencer, pick and choose WTF! All the while your character is still running around with a dump in his pants. Overall this game is a failure in every way, with such high hopes it pales in comparison to other FPS games past or present. Save your money and rent if you have to. Don't spend 60.00 or even 20.00 for this game, soon enough it will be in the bargain bin or on ebay for 8.00 to 10.00 dollars. Complete and utter fail KAOS you should be embarrassed and ashamed! Expand
  13. Mar 18, 2011
    0
    Whoops accidentally posted the Dragon age 2 review. Well anyway the basic summary from the PC mag I read said great on PC but watch out for poor ports on consoles. THIS IS A FACT.
    I played this on PS3 and it sucked, repetitious unhelpful dialogue ie. shoot the hummers, see previous statement multiple times. You will ask yourself there arenâ
  14. Mar 21, 2011
    0
    garbage ass game.... this **** had me so hyped only to figure out the game mechanics are **** horrible... give me a couple of days and i could program a better game than this piece of filthy **** seriously **** this ****
  15. Mar 16, 2011
    0
    This game is absolute ****!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I am not the kind of person that ever cares about rating things and what not but i pre-ordered this **** and waited for a new shooter with an awesome story and what did I get...the worst game I have ever played thats what! I created this account on here just to complain about this game because I'm so pissed at how much hype they put out there andThis game is absolute ****!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I am not the kind of person that ever cares about rating things and what not but i pre-ordered this **** and waited for a new shooter with an awesome story and what did I get...the worst game I have ever played thats what! I created this account on here just to complain about this game because I'm so pissed at how much hype they put out there and rendered preview videos that make it look better than it really is. The graphics are HORRIBLE! The physics are HORRIBLE! The guns are HORRIBLE! The sounds are HORRIBLE! The dialog is HORRIBLE! I could go on all ******* day! **** you THQ and KAOS! I'm not the only one that feels this way too. WHY DO YOU THINK YOU"RE STOCK DROPPED SO MUCH THQ? ******* IDIOTS! Expand
  16. Mar 16, 2011
    0
    Stop encouraging them. Buying games like this just encourages them to keep doing it. It is a popular scheme nowadays to just copy another game entirely, hype like no other, add a pre-order bonus, and rake in the launch day money.

    They will NOT patch, they will act like the game doesn't even exist.
  17. Mar 16, 2011
    0
    When you cannot open ANY door in the game by yourself. When you don't care about characters or storyline even in the most dramatic moments...well, that game have some issues
  18. Mar 16, 2011
    3
    First impression: great concept, poor execution. Diving in, the first thing I notice is that the dialog is cheesy and the story progression is predictable- somewhere between the movie 2012 and a late night infomercial. If you like either, you might not mind. The plot has all the basics: a hot chick, a tough guy, and certain promise of driving a vehicle, flying some kind of aerial combatFirst impression: great concept, poor execution. Diving in, the first thing I notice is that the dialog is cheesy and the story progression is predictable- somewhere between the movie 2012 and a late night infomercial. If you like either, you might not mind. The plot has all the basics: a hot chick, a tough guy, and certain promise of driving a vehicle, flying some kind of aerial combat mission, and a sniper level... then of course, the predictable story hook: getting you angry and in search of revenge, and feeding you some immediate action... But overall the game falls short of carving a new niche for a FPS. As far as the gameplay mechanics- Maybe I'm de-sensitized from some exciting recent shooters which offer unique tools like cover and team tactics... But in playing the first few levels, it feels like the game has gone back a few years in gameplay development, borrowing from games like Half Life or Rainbow 6... but overall it feels like some OG Doom game or something similar. Nothing comparable to Modern Warfare 2 or Medal of Honor (though I'm sure each have their critics too). Overall it feels like "just another shooter" with a cheesy, predictable story, B-side dialog script and acting, and poor gameplay mechanics. I guess THQ thinks we will be satisfied by giving us a new setting and decent graphics to shoot in to tie us over until the next shooter comes out... they got my $50 that I wish I didn't spend, so I guess I'll play it until the next game comes out. But I won't be waiting on pins and needles for the next offering from THQ. This one's a dud. Expand
  19. Mar 16, 2011
    1
    First time to deal with online passes - very angry. Just another way to sap more $$$$ out of the end user. So, everyone in my house has to pony up another $10 ???!!?!. Forget it! Last THQ title I'll be buying!
  20. Mar 15, 2011
    8
    i am really enjoying playing a good game that isnt COD!!!! i like the larger maps and vehicles, im new to it because ive never played battlefield or anything like that. the campaign is short but i look at it as more of a tutorial for the multiplayer, and honestly i actually like shorter campaigns.
  21. Mar 15, 2011
    10
    The single player is a bit short, but that is not what I purchased the game for. I got it for the multiplayer experience and must say I am quite pleased with it. Looking forward to many hours of fun to come!
  22. Mar 15, 2011
    10
    Great, bold storyline. Eventhough the campign is short, I think it's just the right duration since multiplayer compensate the lifespan of the game. Hope THQ makes a sequel for it. Keep it coming!
  23. Mar 15, 2011
    8
    Homefront is a fine game if you give it a chance. The graphics and sound,( voice acting in particular) are poor compared to bombs like BFBC2 or KZ3, and the capaign is shockingly short. I find the excellent multiplayer makes up for this though - once the controls sink in and you begin to adapt to the shoddy graphics there is a lot of fun to be had here. And no, its nothing like COD.Homefront is a fine game if you give it a chance. The graphics and sound,( voice acting in particular) are poor compared to bombs like BFBC2 or KZ3, and the capaign is shockingly short. I find the excellent multiplayer makes up for this though - once the controls sink in and you begin to adapt to the shoddy graphics there is a lot of fun to be had here. And no, its nothing like COD. Comparing games like BFBC2 and Homefront to COD is akin to comparing Gran Tourismo to Ridge Racer...HF is a squad based game, if you run around by yourself like a headless chicken hunting for kills you will be dead continuosly. Over HF does a great job in recreating large scale battles in a (somewhat) fresh environment, 32 players on a map is something we dont see too much of on console, vehicular combat, drones etc are easy to control and offer a satisfying experience regardless of skill level. Expand
  24. Mar 16, 2011
    8
    First time writing a review on metacritic so please bear with me a little and take the time to read the review.

    Homefront. Yes, it is another First Person Shooter. Yes it is made put out by THQ and not by the likes of EA or Activision. I have a feeling if it had been people would be praising it more than they are. In a world dominated by first person shooters like Call of Duty,
    First time writing a review on metacritic so please bear with me a little and take the time to read the review.

    Homefront. Yes, it is another First Person Shooter. Yes it is made put out by THQ and not by the likes of EA or Activision. I have a feeling if it had been people would be praising it more than they are. In a world dominated by first person shooters like Call of Duty, Killzone, Medal of Honor, and that Halo franchise on the other console, it's hard for most people to not be going into a game expecting those other games. I give Homefront some major props for being slightly different and focusing on the single player story even though it is essentially a five hour campaign. It has what all the other COD games lack. Heart. A lot of what I am hearing people complain about are the graphics, the short single player, the sound...Since when do video games have to have such a high level of gloss to them to be good? Doesn't anyone remember the Pac Man era. It wasn't about graphics it was about how much fun you had playing the game. And that is where Homefront stood out for me. The gameplay is very familiar to anyone that has ever played a first person shooter so picking it up and playing it out of the box was simple. The thing that it has going for it though is the fact that it's actually fun to play. Even though the single player is short I was still enjoying every second of it. Then there's the multi player. The best way to describe it is by saying COD, Medal of Honor, and Battlefield had a child together. The only thing I was disappointed with was the fact that they didn't include destructible environments like those from Battlefield. This is my final comment. To gamers out there that feel their games need high levels of polish, go screw yourselves. You obviously don't understand that it isn't the graphics that make a game. It's the playability of the game. Black Ops is broken on so many levels yet people were hailing it as the best COD game to date. I am sorry, it's the worst COD game to date if you ask me. Homefront is a nice addition to the world of First Person Shooters and I hope they do make a second one and work out some of the minor flaws the first one has.
    Expand
  25. Mar 15, 2011
    0
    Single played is only 5-7 hours, and horribly designed.
    And I don't want to play with some smirmy **** called "Multi-Players."
    Games with good multi-players (TF2, GMOD, Assasins Creed : Brotherhood, ECT ECT) At least have decent single-Player. Don't buy this **** If you can stand the **** called "Multi-Players" And can stand a terrible, short, and awkward campaig- Infact this isn't for you
    Single played is only 5-7 hours, and horribly designed.
    And I don't want to play with some smirmy **** called "Multi-Players."
    Games with good multi-players (TF2, GMOD, Assasins Creed : Brotherhood, ECT ECT) At least have decent single-Player.
    Don't buy this ****
    If you can stand the **** called "Multi-Players" And can stand a terrible, short, and awkward campaig- Infact this isn't for you even if you can, Because you're **** insane!
    Expand
  26. Mar 15, 2011
    10
    I must applaud to THQ for creating a game that's risky yet touches emotions. Never thought anyone would recreate the classic gameplay of Half-Life and give it a new twist. Despite the graphics not being competitive with Battlefield and COD, it was the least of my concerns since the campaign was so unique and inspiring with multiplayer features topping recent FPS games.
  27. Mar 15, 2011
    10
    Wow! This game is brilliant! I love the graphics eventhough they are not the best I have seen, they are definitly atmospheric and also the story is very exciting. The characters are very well chosen and they make this game feel "real" and dramatic. It's like a movie you cannout stop to watch. It reminds me a bit of the TV series Jericho.

    For me one of the best singleplayergames since
    Wow! This game is brilliant! I love the graphics eventhough they are not the best I have seen, they are definitly atmospheric and also the story is very exciting. The characters are very well chosen and they make this game feel "real" and dramatic. It's like a movie you cannout stop to watch. It reminds me a bit of the TV series Jericho.

    For me one of the best singleplayergames since Half-Life. Or even better, due to the characters.
    Expand
  28. Mar 16, 2011
    8
    I give Homefront a generous 8. and i will start with the campaign. i am an avid fps shooter fan, i try to play them all, and with that said i beat homefront in just under 3 hours. if your good at shooters this is going to be one of the shortest games you have ever played. the graphics are really bad, the voice acting is ok, and the premisce of the story is awesome. unfortunately this storyI give Homefront a generous 8. and i will start with the campaign. i am an avid fps shooter fan, i try to play them all, and with that said i beat homefront in just under 3 hours. if your good at shooters this is going to be one of the shortest games you have ever played. the graphics are really bad, the voice acting is ok, and the premisce of the story is awesome. unfortunately this story needed to be one of the best, since it was written and inspired by red dawn and apocalypse now, my biggest problem is that i am so sick and tired of the silent protagonist! nothing rips you right out of the story like a mute emotionless doll, also there isnt a whole lot of dialog to this game to begin with which is unfortunate. the gameplay is solid. (you may have to tweak sensitivity) this game also has fairly realistic damage, it only takes a couple shots to kill someone. if you dont play multiplayer this game is easily a 5 at best. but onto the multiplayer. the multiplayer is great! im going to use comparisons to describe homefronts mp. take battlefield bad company 2's lvl design, mix in call of duties adictive class and leveling system, and throw in some new twists and you have yourself a really good online shooter. now the twists are things called battle points that you earn for doing things for your team, or racking up kills, you spend theses points in battle to buy rpg's,flak jackets, predator missiles, uavs, and so on which is pretty cool. they also have a game type where one of your team mates is the leader and they can issue squad commands and pair team mates off to go complete tasks. I really suggest renting this game, because its not for everyone, this really is a good game and if it sounds like your cup 'o' tea it might be worth a purchase. i bought it and I dont regret it one bit Expand
  29. Apr 1, 2011
    1
    What a disappointing game this turned out to be. I was so looking forward to this and after that final trailer I was hooked. I started out playing MP and loved it! However I was shocked by how bad the graphics were. I thought Black Ops graphics were bad but this took it to a lower level. This game looks like a year 2000 game. Play a couple of FANTASTIC hours of Killzone 3 SP or MPWhat a disappointing game this turned out to be. I was so looking forward to this and after that final trailer I was hooked. I started out playing MP and loved it! However I was shocked by how bad the graphics were. I thought Black Ops graphics were bad but this took it to a lower level. This game looks like a year 2000 game. Play a couple of FANTASTIC hours of Killzone 3 SP or MP and then come back and play Homefront and you will be shocked! I was having fun and then 2 level ups later the lock up/freezes started. These freezes made me hard reset my PS3! 17 freezes later I started to really worry about my PS3's health. So at level 10 I stopped playing MP and started looking at the forums. A ton of gamers like me were experiencing the same problem. The wait for the patch started. Finally a patch came and made the freezing worse. 25 freezes and the MP is unplayable. I cannot tell you how many times I sat in a lobby by myself waiting for players. It also froze on my many times while I was waiting in the lobby! I was so disappointed and angry. With MP dead I started the SP campaign hoping they would get a patch out by the time I completed the SP. I started SP on Guerrilla mode which is the hardest. There were only a few areas that I had trouble with. The SP was extremely short and I took my time. I was able to only get near 6 hours out of the SP on the hardest mode!!! The story had a great start and then just fizzled to a lifeless mess. The Characters were horrible and the pacing was atrocious. You could never run ahead of your friends because you would instantly get killed. If you waited for them it would take forever to get to the next segment because they would walk and I am talking about a very slow walk! I didn't care for any of them and just wanted to get through the game. The banter between my teammates was very poorly written. The game had the worst abrupt ending that made me think that they didn't have any idea how finish the game. I immediately read 2 days after I got the game that they were already making Homefront 2 and that they would make the SP longer if the players wanted it. I am sitting here reading this crap and thinking why not put the effort into the first game before you start making or talking about a sequel!!! Seriously the end of the game was bad. It will take Homefront 1 and 2 SP portions to equal a true "1 Game" SP experience. Well, I finally got fed up and returned the game after a week of 30 PS3 freezes. Thankfully A*mazon was able to give me a full refund. A*mazon is my number 1 place to buy my games after this fiasco. Please if it says KAOS Studios DO NOT, DO NOT BUY THE GAME! This company took the Massively Multiplayer idea of raking in the premier first weeks money and then moving on. Right now, even though I don't have the game, went to their forums and there is still no fix for the freezing and lonely lobby issues. EPIC FAIL!!! Oh yeah, I gave it a 1 because when the MP worked I had a great time. Expand
  30. Mar 16, 2011
    8
    i picked the game up today & beat the SP Campaign with in 5 hours. for me this was disappointing because this game was hyped for it's story driven SP campaign mode. however, the story itself is really good, just a few hours too short. i really hope they do a really expansive DLC for the story mode. there will be sequels! i then played a few hours online multiplayer. like with any gamei picked the game up today & beat the SP Campaign with in 5 hours. for me this was disappointing because this game was hyped for it's story driven SP campaign mode. however, the story itself is really good, just a few hours too short. i really hope they do a really expansive DLC for the story mode. there will be sequels! i then played a few hours online multiplayer. like with any game it takes a little time to get used to it. overall i'm having fun with it. the maps are larger, more players on a map means that people can't camp out like in COD:BO. i like the fact that you can play in vehicles. one thing i don't like is that i have to spend BP=battle points to use my rocket launcher or drones, and etc. i like this game, can't say it's great and can't say it's horrible either. however, i can say it's fun. let's face it people HALO, COD, BF all had to start somewhere. just remember play the game and decide for yourselves if you like it or not, and there will always be people who have something positive and something negative to say about anything and everything. Expand
  31. Mar 22, 2011
    0
    Oh My, it took me only 3 hours to play the single part, and so I spent even time to look at the graphics in the pitches, but I feel cheated, the game is not 66 $ worth, which I have given for it in Denmark, highest 15 $ worth, I wonder why there are pirates when it comes to games, and so even with Steam, so I can not even resell it.

    I do not buy more games that requires a Steam account.
    Oh My, it took me only 3 hours to play the single part, and so I spent even time to look at the graphics in the pitches, but I feel cheated, the game is not 66 $ worth, which I have given for it in Denmark, highest 15 $ worth, I wonder why there are pirates when it comes to games, and so even with Steam, so I can not even resell it.

    I do not buy more games that requires a Steam account.

    This game is a failure, can you get your money refunded from the company, should be an option when they screwed people. Only buy this game if you can find it for 10-15 $
    Collapse
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 60 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 60
  2. Negative: 6 out of 60
  1. May 24, 2011
    84
    The story is way too short and the multiplayer doesn't deliver the fun you know from the Call of Duty or Battlefield games.
  2. May 17, 2011
    40
    I'll admit that I've played games that are technically worse than Homefront, but I have not played a game that irritated me as much as this in a very long time.
  3. There isn't really a climax. It just finishes, coitus interruptus-style. [May 2011, p.114]