Hyperdimension Neptunia PlayStation 3

Metascore
45

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 31
  2. Negative: 13 out of 31
Buy On
  1. Feb 15, 2011
    74
    All in all, it's decent to play, and Compile Heart is trying to improve, but they need more common sense in refining basic gameplay elements.
  2. Feb 14, 2011
    70
    This game is for gamers who love jrpg, manga, anime, moe and those kinds of entertainment. The main concept is funny enough to catch the player's interest, and the gameplay is quite good. Unfortunatly, the graphs engine is old and clumsy.
  3. Mar 11, 2011
    68
    One of those games that usually are relegated to Japan. A lot of cute girls, a bit of fan-service, much dialogue, many anonimous dungeons where the player will grind monsters and items. If you love this kind of game, you won't be disappointed.
  4. Feb 7, 2011
    68
    It has an interesting cast of characters, a lot of solid diversity in the environment, that patented and crisp anime artistry, and plenty of immersive depth. But on the downside, the combat feels awkward because you have to keep checking your combos, the item system is just plain ridiculous, the story is silly to the max, and despite that aforementioned variety, none of the locales really stand out.
  5. Mar 21, 2011
    65
    Generally, Hyperdimension Neptunia is certainly not the worst RPG on the PS3. However, in order to be included in the major leagues the game lacks a lot.
  6. May 27, 2011
    63
    Hyperdimension Neptunia is a game dedicated to an audience of fans of Anime and RPGs. It is a classic dungeon crawling JRPG with a intresting battle system, a pretty and fun shallow story, and also a poor graphic. If you are a fan of this genre, or just want something different and want to play a fun humorous game, this game is definitely recommended.
  7. Feb 24, 2011
    62
    If you like JRPGs, you obviously have to try this one. But, if this isn't your genre of choice, Hyperdimension Neptunia isn't likely to change your mind, no matter how cool the name of the game is.
  8. Feb 24, 2011
    60
    Besides some cool battle sequences, funny gaming jokes, and a few nice images, the rest of Neptunia is a middling RPG that doesn't put in the effort to make itself noteworthy or worth playing, which is ironic considering it's a game about SEGA trying to prove it's not just that.
  9. Feb 8, 2011
    59
    Hyperdimension Neptunia is a decent concept that is poorly executed. The story is forgettable, especially after spending countless hours watching poorly acted cut scenes that have no bearing on the story whatsoever.
  10. Feb 15, 2011
    58
    NIS has done some phenomenal translation work with Hyperdimension Neptunia, and it's too bad all their great writing and jokes are wasted on this technical mess. I really recommend checking this game out though. Despite all the flaws, you might fall in love the same way I did.
  11. Mar 14, 2011
    50
    The game strokes the nostalgic centers of my brain with simple RPG mechanics, and I respect the game's moxy in mocking gaming tropes. There's just no excusing the dearth of content variety and boring-as-hell gameplay.
  12. Mar 9, 2011
    50
    I really hate to do this. I love NIS. I'll say that until the end. But Hyperdimension Neptuina was just plain bad. There's no real positive to this game unless you like big breasted anime chicks in completely boring situations.
  13. Mar 1, 2011
    50
    Hyperdimension Neptunia could have been great, but even die-hard RPG fans would find little to like here.
  14. Feb 25, 2011
    50
    Its slow-paced combat and exploration, weak visuals, and plodding plot leave a lot to be desired.
  15. Feb 15, 2011
    50
    A lot of folks are looking for a slice of Japanese otaku life as a video game, or just some anime fan-service, and if that's you, you won't be disappointed.
  16. 50
    A funny twist to the console war, diverse characters, and an interesting take of healing are the positives. However these are far outweighed by bland dungeons, overly easy combat, and a rather boring story.
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 150 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 21
  2. Negative: 4 out of 21
  1. Mar 7, 2011
    10
    Don't believe the review sites, this is a great game! Neptunia and Trinity Universe are two of the most unique games you could ever play.Don't believe the review sites, this is a great game! Neptunia and Trinity Universe are two of the most unique games you could ever play. The healing system all of the critics whine about is not based on luck at all, but on percentages. At either level 8 or 9 Neptune already has 100 points and thus can get an automatic heal every time. Most of these "professional" reviewers simply played the game for an hour and were upset that Neptunia is something different and proceeded to unjustly bash the game. And honestly look at the cover of the box. If you don't like or are offended by Moe, bishoujo, or anime girls in general then why in the world would you buy this game of be assigned to review it? Rant aside Neptunia has some of the best english voice acting in any game ever. The dialog is superbly written and is absolutely hilarious. The battle system is pretty good, and does take some getting used to. The music is great, and it is too bad that we did not get the sound track as Japanese gamers did. This game is worth buying just for the characters, voice acting, and story alone. Overall a great unique game that is perfect for anyone who likes JRPGs or anime. Full Review »
  2. Mar 9, 2011
    10
    Seeing as not any of the so called official reviewers can pull their head out of their asses I shall have to compensate for it here a bit.Seeing as not any of the so called official reviewers can pull their head out of their asses I shall have to compensate for it here a bit. Despite what you have might have read about this game, you should definitely try it out. Full Review »
  3. Apr 7, 2011
    10
    I'm on IF_Awesome's side here. I have read reviews where people were talking trash about neptunia and yet, they aren't even rpg fans! There isI'm on IF_Awesome's side here. I have read reviews where people were talking trash about neptunia and yet, they aren't even rpg fans! There is no point in talking trash about a game that you KNOW you won't like. All of you out there who love anime and can tolerate(or like) a little fan service should definitely buy this game. Especially for the comedy, which i think is something we can all agree on as hilarious Full Review »