Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. I Am Alive is a surprising triumph. It's an original and satisfying challenge. A breath of fresh air. [April 2012, p71]
  2. Apr 5, 2012
    83
    There's a brutal, harsh overtone throughout that involves some explicit content and things of that nature, but it's all essential. And as I said before, if you get all anal about the control, the lack of total realism, and some erratic AI, you're going to be disappointed. But I think adventures like this are all about the experience.
  3. Apr 13, 2012
    82
    I Am Alive gives players a pure survival experience at a low price.
  4. Apr 22, 2012
    80
    I AM LIVE is an enthralling game that will draw you in from the very first few minutes that you start playing. Given the realism of the game, it can be quite frustrating, however this is the charm of the game as it opens up the title for quite a psychological ride that definitely challenges this genre, especially with how you interact with others from combat to conversations.
  5. Apr 17, 2012
    80
    No, this is actually not a bad game. On the contrary, it's short but sweet experience everyone should try out… even if the price is a little steep.
  6. Apr 10, 2012
    80
    Even with annoying design decisions like sacrificing atmosphere and deeper morale questions for the sake of arcade feeling this is a very interesting take on survival action. It manages to entertain you for about five hours and also serves as an appetizer for everybody looking forward to Naughty Dog's The Last of Us.
  7. Apr 6, 2012
    80
    Constant tension and difficult emotional decisions make I Am Alive a powerful adventure.
  8. 80
    A gripping survival adventure packed with solid puzzle design and meaningful decision-making.
  9. Bluff your way through a confrontation by aiming your empty gun at an attacker, forcing him back towards the ledge of a roof on a ten story building and then kick him into the abyss while screaming "This is Sparta!". [April 2012, p.102]
  10. Apr 9, 2012
    72
    Tense, tough and realistic often to the point of frustration, with a story and an original outlook. Mostly well designed - but sadly never 'fun.' [May 2012, p.110]
  11. I Am Alive is a near-perfect, gritty struggle to survive. [June 2012, p.78]
  12. A survival game that gets way more right than wrong. Resources are genuinely scarce, a real sense of danger permeates the whole thing, and the post-apocalyptic setting has been well crafted. That a game with such a troubled development has turned out so well is impressive, and as a different gaming experience it's well worth a play – even if it does feel like a warm up for The Last Of Us.
  13. Apr 17, 2012
    64
    For the first hour, I Am Alive is the greatest game you've ever played... Unfortunately, the inevitable need to scale up the challenge to keep things interesting exposes the underlying problems. [Issue#217, p.81]
  14. Apr 5, 2012
    60
    If you're longing for something different, and think you can overlook the game's nagging faults, I Am Alive has more than enough intriguing concepts to make it worth your while. Just be prepared to grit your teeth through some of the game's more maddening moments.
  15. Apr 21, 2012
    50
    Fans of Tomb Raider and Prince of Persia will doubtlessly find the occasional thrill in I Am Alive's platforming elements, but its shortcomings are nevertheless increasingly glaring. A myriad of baffling design decisions result in a game that can't seem to get out of its own way. There is absolutely nothing wrong with making a punishing game and rewarding the player for mastering its unforgiving gameplay systems. But you're not wrestling with systems here – you're wrestling with their integrity.
User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 101 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 25
  2. Negative: 6 out of 25
  1. Jun 24, 2012
    9
    I loved playing this survival game (no horror, just survival). I loved the scarcity of supplies, weapons and ammo. I loved being able to kill the leader in a pack of enemies and then intimidate the weaker ones to surrender. I loved getting stuck facing off against 3-5 enemies with only one bullet in my gun and having to think fast on my feet and then SURVIVING. I loved the graphics, both the toxic haze covering everything at street level and the skyscrapers collapsed onto each other above the dust. I loved climbing my way through an office building on its side, with everything topsy-turvy. I loved helping Mai and her mother, and the random survivors looking for food or first aid or just a last cigarette before they die. I loved "I Am Alive". 9/10 Full Review »
  2. Apr 10, 2012
    8
    I have been playing Skyrim and nothing else since December so I decided to give this a go (because it is a download I didn't have to take my Skyrim disc out of my PS3). I think that I needed this game. The graphics are a bit rubbish but only because they have a lot to live up to. I really enjoyed the sense of urgency you get when your stamina depletes while climbing or running through the dust covered streets. It's quite a linear game but you can go off the set path to assist people you hear calling to you though the dust clouds. Every person you help imparts a snippet of information about the 'event' and brings you up to date on what has happened since. I haven't finished the game yet but I do know that it is a short journey (10-12 hours maybe) that will soon be over. Put it this way - it's been an enjoyable and challenging diversion. Full Review »
  3. Apr 6, 2012
    8
    I found "I am alive" to be quite a surprising game. It has a lot of personality and it's a very, very ambitious downloadable title. It plays very nicely, it has great atmosphere, with constant fear and tension in the air; and, most importantly, the idea of not knowing what's around the corner. This makes any decision count, even the smallest one. To put it simple, if they had added a couple of zombies this game would easily be what the Resident Evil franchise is trying FOR YEARS without success. It's definitely worth a look! Full Review »