I Am Alive PlayStation 3

User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 132 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 132
  2. Negative: 34 out of 132

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 11, 2012
    7
    This game is actually good. The graphics aren't THAT bad as most of the people are saying. The intimidation combat system is great and it invovoles strategy. This game is a great challenge because bullets and food are limited. The way the enviroment is designed is interesting. The "idea" of the story is interesting. But only 5 hours? A bit disappointing. But the price tag is really goodThis game is actually good. The graphics aren't THAT bad as most of the people are saying. The intimidation combat system is great and it invovoles strategy. This game is a great challenge because bullets and food are limited. The way the enviroment is designed is interesting. The "idea" of the story is interesting. But only 5 hours? A bit disappointing. But the price tag is really good (20$). Graphics can be better and a longer gameplay will make it better. Expand
  2. Apr 27, 2012
    7
    While "I Am Alive" has some very real and frustrating technical problems, gamers in search of something unique, compelling, and engaging deserve to give this one a try. Just prepare yourself for a few moments of frustration and wishing they'd just given the game a little... more... polish. First the bad news, the game really does have clumsy and frustrating controls. Climbing aWhile "I Am Alive" has some very real and frustrating technical problems, gamers in search of something unique, compelling, and engaging deserve to give this one a try. Just prepare yourself for a few moments of frustration and wishing they'd just given the game a little... more... polish. First the bad news, the game really does have clumsy and frustrating controls. Climbing a perilous set of pipes high up the side of a crumbling skyscraper should cause your pulse to race, not your blood to boil as you can't quite get your character into the right spot to climb. Combat, which you're forced into regularly, requires a nimbleness that the game inputs just don't give you, and paired with an oddly-concepted "retry" system, players can find themselves wasting a lot of time replaying whole chapters because of an inability to properly control their character as desired. That said, the game has so many good ideas that bely a game that could have been really terrific. While the ash-fall that permeates most areas might be a graphical cover-up, it really does invoke a sense of despondency, claustrophobia, and foreboding that characterizes this game of "survival". While the game's city is overwhelmingly deserted and empty, one never loses the sense that danger, be it environmental or human, is omnipresent. Mission goals feel realistic, and human interactions, both sympathetic and threatening, feel true to what might happen in such a scenario. When you're not wrestling the controls to do what you want to do, the game is at turns compelling, frightening, moving, and a hell of a lot of fun. Be prepared for a few throw your controller moments, and a sigh of frustration when you realize how much better the game could have been, but enjoy this affordably priced, sometimes-flawed survival-adventure for what it is, and you might just come out alive. Expand
  3. Apr 13, 2012
    6
    I Am Alive is a digital game, and for this to give you a small discount.
    At the outset we notice something, the game is simply ugly, is not about graphics, but beauty, and I Am Alive has none.
    Then there is the Stamina system, which becomes annoying over time, in scalding the minimum error or delay, leads us to fail the next resting point and the stamina runs out. The fighting system is
    I Am Alive is a digital game, and for this to give you a small discount.
    At the outset we notice something, the game is simply ugly, is not about graphics, but beauty, and I Am Alive has none.
    Then there is the Stamina system, which becomes annoying over time, in scalding the minimum error or delay, leads us to fail the next resting point and the stamina runs out.
    The fighting system is also annoying for two reasons, if we find two groups with weapons and we have only one bullet is the same as being death, and the worst is that this is common because the bullets are stupidly limited.
    There is still Retryes system, which is beyond useless torn an obstacle and an irritation to the player.
    The narrative also brings nothing to the game, tath all together creates a game that barely stand in the median. However, this could be a set of 8/9, since the concept is interesting, unfortunately it was poorly executed.
    Expand
  4. Apr 6, 2012
    5
    As a $15 download "I Am Alive" was disappointing. Had it cost $50, I wouldn't be disappointed, I'd be angry. And my rating would be 2 instead of 5. ~ After trudging through visually, interactively and accessibly limited landscape while fighting extremely redundant skirmishes with nearly identical gangs, it seemed it may get a tiny bit interesting. Unfortunately it was only the last of theAs a $15 download "I Am Alive" was disappointing. Had it cost $50, I wouldn't be disappointed, I'd be angry. And my rating would be 2 instead of 5. ~ After trudging through visually, interactively and accessibly limited landscape while fighting extremely redundant skirmishes with nearly identical gangs, it seemed it may get a tiny bit interesting. Unfortunately it was only the last of the 18-20 chapters I found compelling. ~ O.k., I beat the game, now I can at least go back and play the one fun mission right? Wrong! The game deletes all of the levels on completion! You have to start over! NOT worth it. ~ Out of hundreds of games I've played, this has the least replay value of them all. ~ Even as a $15 download it is one of my most regrettable game purchases. Expand
  5. Dec 18, 2012
    7
    So far one of the best Survival games I've played...Its no tedious with crafting, skills, leveling, its SIMPLE. Which helps keep you sucked in the game. climbing could be a bit more smooth. Overall, I hope to see moar.
  6. Apr 16, 2016
    7
    Despite the dated gameplay, graphics, and overall feel of a PS2 game (especially in the way that the camera is always just a bit too close to the character) "I Am Alive" proves to be a good survival game. It's deficiencies are noticeable, but this still worth a look for fans of post-apocalyptic games.

    It definitely captures the feel of struggling to survive. Resources are limited,
    Despite the dated gameplay, graphics, and overall feel of a PS2 game (especially in the way that the camera is always just a bit too close to the character) "I Am Alive" proves to be a good survival game. It's deficiencies are noticeable, but this still worth a look for fans of post-apocalyptic games.

    It definitely captures the feel of struggling to survive. Resources are limited, combat is tough, and you always seem to be on the brink of collapse. You really need to scavenge the environments to stand a chance against the combat encounters. It's almost always just you against several enemies. You can intimidate them with your gun. You might not have any bullets, but they don't know that. Bluffing your way through encounters is sometimes the only way to go. Things get tougher when you aren't the only one with a gun.

    You have to take out the gunman or men fast before they blow you away. You have a melee option, but it's all but useless when more than one enemy is around. Which is basically all the time. It requires quick thinking and reflexes to stay. Combat is tense to say the least, but it can also be really frustrating thanks to the limited supplies and strict retry sytem. You basically have three lives at the start of each "episode"(level). You can get more by finding the rare one in the world or by rescuing survivors. It's not a bad system, but it can suck to lose your last life right at the end of a level and have to start over.

    As for rescuing other survivors, they're good for more than an extra retry. They boost your score at the end of the game. However going out of your way to find and rescue them burns through more resources than it's worth most of the time. As a result I only saved the ones that were directly in my path, which turned out to be 4 out of the 20 or so.

    The game also has it's fair share of platforming similar to that of Uncharted or Prince of Persia. These moments are made more realistic thanks to a constantly draining stamina bar. Just like combat it's either satisfyingly tense or tedious depending on the situation and your resources.

    To be honest that kind of describes the game as a whole. While I still enjoyed the game as a whole there are times when the survival aspects that make it worth playing in the first place make it kind of irritating to play through at times.

    So yeah it's got it's issues. Things like muddled, confusing level design and the dated mechanics hold it back from greatness. However they don't change the fact that if you're looking for a real survival this is the one to go for. It nails the feeling of trying to survive in a hostile, post-apocalyptic world and can be a real treat because of that. It just so happens to capture the frustration of doing that as well in the gameplay department. Something that does make it suffer as a whole. None of that changes the fact that this still a good game and an excellent choice for those looking for a real survival game.
    Expand
  7. Nov 6, 2013
    6
    This game is so insanely boring. Words don't do it justice. You basically climb, run, jump. All of these things take stamina. While it theoretically adds to the experience, I simply found it tedious. You deal with small groups of enemies with limited ammunition. This requires you to think about each bullet you spend. The gameplay is clunky and awkward. The story is pretty boring as well,This game is so insanely boring. Words don't do it justice. You basically climb, run, jump. All of these things take stamina. While it theoretically adds to the experience, I simply found it tedious. You deal with small groups of enemies with limited ammunition. This requires you to think about each bullet you spend. The gameplay is clunky and awkward. The story is pretty boring as well, and ends in a ridiculously unnecessary cliffhanger. Expand
  8. Mar 16, 2013
    7
    This is a good game, a really good game. "I Am Alive" was much better then I expected it to be. I thoroughly enjoyed this game from start to finish. This game is very tense, from little things like if you'll have enough energy to finish your climb without having to use some of your, oh so valuable resources, or having to take on five guys with only two bullets. Not to mention the parts ofThis is a good game, a really good game. "I Am Alive" was much better then I expected it to be. I thoroughly enjoyed this game from start to finish. This game is very tense, from little things like if you'll have enough energy to finish your climb without having to use some of your, oh so valuable resources, or having to take on five guys with only two bullets. Not to mention the parts of the game where you can help other survivors by giving them some of your items, if you help them you'll be rewarded with points, a retry, and gamerpoints if you help them all, if you don't help them they will die (in one mission if you don't help someone, she later kills herself).The story is paper thin, but that's ok because this game is all about a mostly lonely atmosphere. On your first play through it will most likely take you anywhere for 4-6 hours to complete. Don't listen to the critics that scored this game 4.5/10, it's much better then that and it's well worth your money. I give it a 7.5 out of 10. Expand
  9. Feb 12, 2014
    5
    I'll mention the pros first. The music is actually very good. The main menu theme sounds like Heavy Rain, and it helps create a very solitary, yet dangerous atmosphere. The voice acting is also good, and sounds rather professional. The control ideas are interesting, such as the ability to lose stamina while climbing, and how combat actually becomes a puzzle game based on your enemiesI'll mention the pros first. The music is actually very good. The main menu theme sounds like Heavy Rain, and it helps create a very solitary, yet dangerous atmosphere. The voice acting is also good, and sounds rather professional. The control ideas are interesting, such as the ability to lose stamina while climbing, and how combat actually becomes a puzzle game based on your enemies and the strategy you need to take in order to come out alive. Those are the good things. What is bad about the game is that it is a boring and frustrating experience that I wouldn't want to go through again. The map is difficult to follow, the world is difficult to explore unless you know everything about it, and dead ends are seemingly unlimited while you're looking for somewhere to replenish your stamina. 4-6 is more than enough of this dull, grey, out of focus, oppressive environment. Expand
  10. Oct 22, 2013
    5
    This game had potential at the beginning i enjoyed the climbing and all round atmosphere, but what let this game down was its linear first person mode and repetitive AI confrontation's I was bored fairly quick
  11. Nov 5, 2013
    7
    I Am Alive is a very interesting survival game. The story is decent, but the story is not what makes this game good its actually the gameplay that kept me playing. The other thing that was awesome about this game was that if you ran out of bullets or supplies you would have to find more if not it could mean death. I Am Alive gave me a certain feeling that a game has not made me experienceI Am Alive is a very interesting survival game. The story is decent, but the story is not what makes this game good its actually the gameplay that kept me playing. The other thing that was awesome about this game was that if you ran out of bullets or supplies you would have to find more if not it could mean death. I Am Alive gave me a certain feeling that a game has not made me experience in years and that is surviving and feeling like i could die even if i made a small mistake, and that is why this game kept me hooked until the end. Expand
  12. Dec 1, 2015
    7
    I Am Alive

    Game-Play:Very cool game-play with some original ideas that mix up great with a world of naturals disasters a true survival experience with some missed opportunities that hold it back a little. Story:A simple story but very likable it took me about 4 to 5 hours to complete.And I think that the ending was very bad with a very bad cliff hanger. Graphics:The graphics fits
    I Am Alive

    Game-Play:Very cool game-play with some original ideas that mix up great with a world of naturals disasters a true survival experience with some missed opportunities that hold it back a little.

    Story:A simple story but very likable it took me about 4 to 5 hours to complete.And I think that the ending was very bad with a very bad cliff hanger.

    Graphics:The graphics fits the game perfectly I really liked them.

    Notes:The game have some weapons that you should use very carefully because of the lack of ammo in this game.This is a good game but I think you should get it in a sale and not at full price.
    Expand
  13. May 12, 2015
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I do not have to say anything more. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it............................ Expand
  14. Aug 25, 2015
    7
    This is a good game, a really good game. "I Am Alive" was much better then I expected it to be. I thoroughly enjoyed this game from start to finish. This game is very tense, from little things like if you'll have enough energy to finish your climb without having to use some of your, oh so valuable resources, or having to take on five guys with only two bullets. Not to mention the parts ofThis is a good game, a really good game. "I Am Alive" was much better then I expected it to be. I thoroughly enjoyed this game from start to finish. This game is very tense, from little things like if you'll have enough energy to finish your climb without having to use some of your, oh so valuable resources, or having to take on five guys with only two bullets. Not to mention the parts of the game where you can help other survivors by giving them some of your items, if you help them you'll be rewarded with points, a retry, and gamerpoints if you help them all, if you don't help them they will die (in one mission if you don't help someone, she later kills herself).The story is paper thin, but that's ok because this game is all about a mostly lonely atmosphere. On your first play through it will most likely take you anywhere for 4-6 hours to complete. Don't listen to the critics that scored this game 4.5/10, it's much better then that and it's well worth your money. I give it a 7.5 out of 10. Expand
  15. Aug 16, 2016
    5
    I Am Alive is a survival video game developed by Ubisoft Shanghai and published by Ubisoft. The game takes place in a post-apocalyptic setting and focuses on facing the permanent insecurity of a dystopian, decaying and hazardous world, and humanity's darkest inclinations towards brutality and materialism.

    + Survival Elements
    + Plataforms
    - Combat
    - Ugly Graphics, Colors and Textures
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    May 7, 2012
    70
    I Am Alive is a near-perfect, gritty struggle to survive. [June 2012, p.78]
  2. Apr 22, 2012
    80
    I AM LIVE is an enthralling game that will draw you in from the very first few minutes that you start playing. Given the realism of the game, it can be quite frustrating, however this is the charm of the game as it opens up the title for quite a psychological ride that definitely challenges this genre, especially with how you interact with others from combat to conversations.
  3. Apr 21, 2012
    50
    Fans of Tomb Raider and Prince of Persia will doubtlessly find the occasional thrill in I Am Alive's platforming elements, but its shortcomings are nevertheless increasingly glaring. A myriad of baffling design decisions result in a game that can't seem to get out of its own way. There is absolutely nothing wrong with making a punishing game and rewarding the player for mastering its unforgiving gameplay systems. But you're not wrestling with systems here – you're wrestling with their integrity.