• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Jun 7, 2011
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1039 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 7, 2011
    10
    Better than the original. Why fix what wasn't broken I always say. A fun and engaging combat system, the same characters you love and an Interesting story.
  2. Jun 7, 2011
    10
    Great game !!! Another exclusive to ps3 and again it's brilliant! The rest obviously have no taste if they insult this game!!!Thanks sucker punch!!!Wow
  3. Sep 29, 2011
    9
    People usually say that the sequel isn't as good as the original, but this sequel is bigger and better. It's nothing less than what I've come to expect from games developer sucker punch.The story is just as interesting as the first game and features a surprising twist that few will see coming. You have a new environment, new characters, new enemies and amazing new powers. They even addedPeople usually say that the sequel isn't as good as the original, but this sequel is bigger and better. It's nothing less than what I've come to expect from games developer sucker punch.The story is just as interesting as the first game and features a surprising twist that few will see coming. You have a new environment, new characters, new enemies and amazing new powers. They even added an amazing new creative tool allowing you to create your own levels and let people play them online. You can't really fault this game. the only reason i didn't give it a ten is because of some glitches that occurred (although there will probably be a patch to fix this). Overall this is great for fans of the first game and for fans of action games and sandbox games. Expand
  4. Nov 12, 2011
    9
    A good addition in ps3 library.I enjoyed it more than previous game.Its more polished than previous one.The only problem that some times u feel same repetitive game play.But its OK as i m used to with Assassins creed which is also a kind of repetitive but good game as well.
  5. Nov 1, 2011
    9
    In a few words, that game is amazing. Effects are great, control are great, graphics are very good and control feel almost perfect.

    The power you get are awesome, very addictive game.

    Verdict: get that game asap, this game deserve at least to be looked at as a goty contender
  6. Feb 20, 2012
    10
    LMFAO @ xbox fanboy rating this AMAZING game 0 , This is an Amazing sequel! It Improves over the original. It The 2nd BEST game series this gen (Uncharted is 1st).. A little underrated too, i mean how can a game like this get an 7 or 8 while a **** game like call of duty gets a 9 or 10 , believe me.. you MUST buy this game.. Its really fun, the story is also AMAZING! You will really likeLMFAO @ xbox fanboy rating this AMAZING game 0 , This is an Amazing sequel! It Improves over the original. It The 2nd BEST game series this gen (Uncharted is 1st).. A little underrated too, i mean how can a game like this get an 7 or 8 while a **** game like call of duty gets a 9 or 10 , believe me.. you MUST buy this game.. Its really fun, the story is also AMAZING! You will really like Cole as a character.. I highly recommend this game to everyone with PS3! Expand
  7. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    I had a blast playing through this game. The concept is the same as the first one but yet it pushes forward on the typical superhero genre by bringin a charcter who outside or a cartoon series would not be though of as an interesting character. The powers you get are amazing and the story is very well driven and captivating. It is a must for anyone who would consider themselves a superheroI had a blast playing through this game. The concept is the same as the first one but yet it pushes forward on the typical superhero genre by bringin a charcter who outside or a cartoon series would not be though of as an interesting character. The powers you get are amazing and the story is very well driven and captivating. It is a must for anyone who would consider themselves a superhero nerd or fans of open world games Expand
  8. May 21, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. inFamous 2 is a masterpiece. It's hard to top the engaging, surprising story of the first inFamous, but this game comes very, very close with a story just as engaging. The game takes a very different and interesting turn by having you work together with other conduits, which I thought was really creative and it ultimately made for an awesome story in my opinion. The controls and mechanics again are stellar - the mechanics being even more tight than the first. The graphics in inFamous were already nice, but they went above and beyond and made the graphics absolutely pop out of the screen. I would recommend this game to anyone, it's great fun. Overall, this game took everything that inFamous 1 did right and improved even more on it - graphics, controls, mechanics, fun, all of that. The only thing that inFamous 2 came short on for me was the story. The story was very enjoyable and interesting, but inFamous 1's story was just a complete mind blowing experience towards the end. Expand
  9. Jun 3, 2013
    9
    I'm not entirely sure how you can't like inFamous 2, unless you are basing your review on the demo. It is by far the best open-world game I have played in all time. The way its story and world both react to your decisions is outstanding. The original inFamous didn't punish me for choosing the bad route, inFamous 2 does. It punishes you in terms of guilt, not power, which is very clever andI'm not entirely sure how you can't like inFamous 2, unless you are basing your review on the demo. It is by far the best open-world game I have played in all time. The way its story and world both react to your decisions is outstanding. The original inFamous didn't punish me for choosing the bad route, inFamous 2 does. It punishes you in terms of guilt, not power, which is very clever and really makes you feel as awful for choosing the quicker route to gaining the power to destroy the beast. I love this game. Especially its world which is full of dynamic events and user-generated content to keep you invested for longer. Expand
  10. Jul 6, 2013
    9
    I may be in the minority, but I actually liked Infamous 2 better than the first one. You start off the game with more powers, and I think the character and environments are more interesting.
  11. Jun 19, 2013
    9
    An improvement on Infamous 1 game-play, and character wise. Story wise Infamous 1 triumphs. It has a great ending unlike the first one, and now I cannot wait to play Infamous Second Son. I would recommend it to anyone who has a PS3.
  12. Sep 7, 2013
    9
    One of the best PS3 exclusives, the only reason I didn't give it a 10 was because of slight repetitiveness, but overall a great game... You are Cole Macgrath, delivery boy turned superhero (or villain). This is a game based on a moral choice system and over-the-top super powers... You progress through the game by doing Story Missions and Side Missions, and depending on your actions youOne of the best PS3 exclusives, the only reason I didn't give it a 10 was because of slight repetitiveness, but overall a great game... You are Cole Macgrath, delivery boy turned superhero (or villain). This is a game based on a moral choice system and over-the-top super powers... You progress through the game by doing Story Missions and Side Missions, and depending on your actions you will either become more good, or more evil... You enhance your powers through XP points, killing enemies, capturing the alive or sucking their soul out through their faces, it's up to you, but you get rewarded XP points for whatever you choose, which you can then use on upgrading powers, or getting similar powers, such as a more powerful lighting bolt attack... The game is full of interesting comic-book-esque cutscenes, and "dead drops" which are audio recording strapped to birds' necks, which are optional, but very interesting. inFamous 2 is a direct sequel to the ground breaking game inFamous 1, but there are many changes. The main character is modeled differently and has a different voice actor, and in game you have a new melee weapon called the "Amp" which is a dual pronged lighting rod device that you use to cave in the heads of many henchmen... Other than a few minor technical bugs, such as pop in textures, and sometimes a glitchy enemy, this game run very good. This game is very repayable and enjoyable from start to finish, I would highly recommend this game to anyone with a PS3. Expand
  13. Jan 25, 2014
    9
    Infamous 2 raises the bar in almost every way from its predecessor offering better exploration more choices a better combat system and a better plot. If you liked the original you will like this.
  14. Jun 7, 2011
    9
    Loved the first one. This is better. Free roaming in a huge sprawling environment is very liberating. The graphics and controls are highly improved also. It's more polished than the first but does suffer in one respect. If you have played the first to death it doesnt have as much impact as it would if you approached the game as a nooby. That said thats the nature of a sequel. This timeLoved the first one. This is better. Free roaming in a huge sprawling environment is very liberating. The graphics and controls are highly improved also. It's more polished than the first but does suffer in one respect. If you have played the first to death it doesnt have as much impact as it would if you approached the game as a nooby. That said thats the nature of a sequel. This time around actions and choices ( good or bad) have direct consequences and the game can be played in a multitude of way. The ending also changes depending on your choice. It is also rumoured that a plethora of DLC is due for this game , ensuring far more lastability/replayability than the prequel. Good stuff. Expand
  15. Jun 8, 2011
    9
    Actually a 9.75 , inFamous 2 is over the top high pumping action video game. You will be wondering over New Marais , exploring and doing whatever you want, tho thats the same concept from the first one, but this one feels more complete and better. The graphics looks great, the controls feels smooth and everything is well presented. Perfected and better .
  16. Jun 11, 2011
    9
    Very fun game - even better than the first. Great mission variety, smoother traversal (both in terms of the city design and Cole's powers), and excellent set pieces. Challenging, but rarely frustrating. Loved it.
  17. Jun 10, 2011
    9
    Infamous improves upon the original. I didn't look at any trailers for this game, save for one (with a kickass tornado), and I dived into this last night. Having replayed the first one earlier that day to get reacquainted with the controls, the second one is the first with better graphics and very thoughtful improvements. I think the bad reviews might be coming from people who just gotInfamous improves upon the original. I didn't look at any trailers for this game, save for one (with a kickass tornado), and I dived into this last night. Having replayed the first one earlier that day to get reacquainted with the controls, the second one is the first with better graphics and very thoughtful improvements. I think the bad reviews might be coming from people who just got overhyped for the game. Expand
  18. Jun 8, 2011
    10
    Great Game. I loved the first one but it was always lacking polish. This one adds polish and a lot of depth. You have much more options in terms of upgrades and the user generated content means you'll have endless levels to play.
  19. Jun 9, 2011
    10
    Really really good game for what i have seen. I dont think the technical problems make the whole experience feel less spectacular than actually is, and we should take this game for what has proven to be, which is a really improved game based on an already great game but now with better graphics and enhanced gameplay mechanics. A must own!
  20. Jun 11, 2011
    8
    Ladies and Gentlemen, I am a huge fan of the first Infamous. It is easily the best super hero game of all time. With that being said, I was a little dissapointed by Infamous 2. Lets start off with the good. The set pieces are amazing, the powers are great from the start, the voice acting and action is phenominal. So if you like the first game I will tell you that your in luck and youLadies and Gentlemen, I am a huge fan of the first Infamous. It is easily the best super hero game of all time. With that being said, I was a little dissapointed by Infamous 2. Lets start off with the good. The set pieces are amazing, the powers are great from the start, the voice acting and action is phenominal. So if you like the first game I will tell you that your in luck and you will like this one. But lets get down to the brass tax. This game shorts the player in a few rather large ways. Starters the story, there was no emotional draw in any way. I felt the same by the end as I did the beginning which dont get me wrong by the time I got their a few twists and turns had sprung up. But with the first I was blown away on more than one occasion. Next the enemies, the regular baddies are fine with their ice powers and then the larger titans and so on but the big bosses are pretty much nowhere to be found. I will tell you that you will encounter 2 otherworldly bosses and that is it. The last had at least 3 with the promise of the beast that flat out lets you down in every way. I would like to have seen a little more back story on some new and interesting bad guys but instead we were shunned and left feeling like their could have beeen more. Which brings me to the powers. For the most part there was nothing new to add to the table. Every power was either an extension of an existing one or just a throwaway upgrade. For instance the ice powers, the ice jump, the ice grenade, the ice rocket, all just the same with a few popcycles tacked on to the after effect. I'll stop gripeing but I will leave on this note. By the end of the first game I felt like I had been through an experience, I got what I wanted and walked away with what I needed. This one just left me wishing for more. Great for a quick playthrough, but I would push for a buy. Expand
  21. Jun 7, 2011
    10
    This game steps forward in every conceivable way. Rather than spitting bile at negative reviews, I found myself wondering where the disconnect was coming from. The visuals are vastly improved and Cole moves forward as a genuine hero/villain through a massive amount of fun content. I have yet to wet my tongue on the user generated missions, but given the unbelievable content games likeThis game steps forward in every conceivable way. Rather than spitting bile at negative reviews, I found myself wondering where the disconnect was coming from. The visuals are vastly improved and Cole moves forward as a genuine hero/villain through a massive amount of fun content. I have yet to wet my tongue on the user generated missions, but given the unbelievable content games like ModNation and Little Big Planet have put forth I have to admit it makes me that much more excited.
    I am now playing through on my second play-through as a villain and the differences between the archetypes are solid. Trust me when I say that the vistas are gorgeous and I take particular issue with the comment by Decitron in terms of the controls. Simply put I feel like I have far more control and the game is fluid. I do urge you to ignore this one glaringly simplistic review he/she has put forth as it's an obvious attempt to break the mold or appear contrary for the sake of "trolling." I suggest you put some time aside and enjoy a game that introduces/reintroduces you to what a super hero or villain can be: amazing.
    Expand
  22. Jun 7, 2011
    9
    Very much like the same game, which is great but thats not all it offers. With a new city, new clothes, new friends, and new enemies mean new powers as well. Combat is almost identical to the previous title and is just as satisfying and much like everything else is polished and tweaked to be better in subtle ways. The most improved aspect of the game has to be graphics, the first infamousVery much like the same game, which is great but thats not all it offers. With a new city, new clothes, new friends, and new enemies mean new powers as well. Combat is almost identical to the previous title and is just as satisfying and much like everything else is polished and tweaked to be better in subtle ways. The most improved aspect of the game has to be graphics, the first infamous was a great looking game in 09 but this is 2011 and this lives up to the expectations of AAA title. Really can't go wrong with this guy and if you finish the story, you can try out the new UGC . Expand
  23. Oct 21, 2011
    8
    the first infamous game was a pretty solid game the second is just the same . if you played the first one you will know what to expect . the game doesnt feel any differnt then the first outside of your in a new city , some new powers , and a new story. i wish they could have kicked it up a knotch but what we got is still a fun game. there are some fun boss fights.. the game is about 20the first infamous game was a pretty solid game the second is just the same . if you played the first one you will know what to expect . the game doesnt feel any differnt then the first outside of your in a new city , some new powers , and a new story. i wish they could have kicked it up a knotch but what we got is still a fun game. there are some fun boss fights.. the game is about 20 hours long which i think was actaully abit shorter then the first.. the nice thing is the story ends with this game so if you where worried this was gona be a series that dragged on for years no worries . i wish they would have made going good or evil abit more entertaining .still infamous 2 is worth buying if you liked the first. Expand
  24. Jun 10, 2011
    9
    This game is awesome. Its fun, addicting, looks great, sounds great. Its a great sequal to a great game. The new powers are fun and creative. And the story follows the first one nicely.
  25. Jun 27, 2011
    8
    Good game..in some ways its much better than the original, but in others it doesn't feel as exciting as the first one, with the first one I couldn't put it down , but this one I can take it or leave it doesnt "draw you in " like the first one..still a great game though but just short of being excellent., but it is fun and thats what gaming's about.
  26. Jun 16, 2011
    8
    Good sequel to one of the best PS3 exclusives. Graphics look even better then the first as do character models. Gameplay is still really fun and the story is interesting choosing different ways to deal with everything. Definitely a good buy for PS3 owners.
  27. Jun 14, 2011
    10
    Infamous2 cannot be matched by any other game... except the first one perhaps. :) Both games are 10's in my opinion and Infamous2 manages to feel different enough while retaining enough of the same to stay simply amazing.
  28. Feb 20, 2012
    10
    Amazing sequel! Improves over the original. The 2nd BEST game series this gen (Uncharted is 1st).. A little underrated too, i mean how can a game like this get an 7 or 8 while a **** game like call of duty gets a 9 or 10 , believe me.. you MUST buy this game.. Its really fun, the story is also AMAZING! You will really like Cole as a character.. I highly recommend this game to everyone with PS3!
  29. Jan 15, 2012
    10
    Insanely fun game, lots of action, great graphics, astonishing physics and a good mission variety. For me, besides the God of War series, this is the game to make owning a PS3 worthwhile.
  30. Jun 7, 2011
    10
    If you liked Infamous, you'll LOVE... LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOVE Infamous 2. I loved Infamous. If you did NOT like Infamous, save your money. This game is a great mix between more of the same vs. innovation. Just my opinion, though.
  31. Jun 7, 2011
    9
    Been playing all day. It's an amazing sandbox game. Lots of fun. User generated side quest are available and visible through out the city map while you play campaign. You gain xp from them too. Right of the bat you can feel how much polish went into the game in comparison to the first one. Tighter controls, the melee combat feels right this time around. So much detail in the environments.Been playing all day. It's an amazing sandbox game. Lots of fun. User generated side quest are available and visible through out the city map while you play campaign. You gain xp from them too. Right of the bat you can feel how much polish went into the game in comparison to the first one. Tighter controls, the melee combat feels right this time around. So much detail in the environments. Lots of improvement over the first game. A must play for any super hero fan. A must buy for any Ps3 owner. Dam straight! Expand
  32. Jun 7, 2011
    10
    Truly an amazing game. The original Infamous was the first game to really sell me on the PS3 and the sequel only improves upon it. The new voice acting, story, gameplay, and graphics are all better than the original and I can't wait to keep playing it. The user generated content is implemented smartly and it's going to have basically infinite replay value. I can't recommend this gameTruly an amazing game. The original Infamous was the first game to really sell me on the PS3 and the sequel only improves upon it. The new voice acting, story, gameplay, and graphics are all better than the original and I can't wait to keep playing it. The user generated content is implemented smartly and it's going to have basically infinite replay value. I can't recommend this game enough, but play the original first so you can fully appreciate Infamous 2 Expand
  33. Jun 7, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One of the best games Ive played on the PS3. Incredible free-roaming gameplay, smooth combat, lovely visuals, this game has it all. Could have done with the old Cole's voice, but all in all this is an unbelievably solid game. Lovers of Infamous 1 will eat this up. Expand
  34. Jun 7, 2011
    9
    As a fan of the original, playing the sequel constantly puts me in awe at how finely honed Sucker Punch's development skills are. This previous weekend I played through a good chunk of the original again, and was reminded how smooth the gameplay is and how dead on the controls are. Yes, the enemies tend to have a bit too precise of an aim, but you never feel like you're overwhelmed or inAs a fan of the original, playing the sequel constantly puts me in awe at how finely honed Sucker Punch's development skills are. This previous weekend I played through a good chunk of the original again, and was reminded how smooth the gameplay is and how dead on the controls are. Yes, the enemies tend to have a bit too precise of an aim, but you never feel like you're overwhelmed or in a no-win situation with them.

    The graphics are definitely a step up from the original as well, while not losing the fluid, solid 60fps feel of the game. It never hitches in large battles, even given how detailed the world is.

    If you enjoyed the original, it goes without saying that you will love this one. If you didn't like the first Infamous, there's probably not a lot here to draw you in, the controls are largely the same, which, for me, is great, since I really enjoyed the controls from the first game. The story, although not perfect, is still more interesting than most games that come out.

    Needless to say, I highly recommend the game.
    Expand
  35. Jun 7, 2011
    9
    If you own the first one and enjoyed it you will love this one. Almost every aspect of the game is better than it's predicessor. Beat the game good now playing evil. Tinkered with the UGC but have not played it enough to really have a strong opinion one way or another, other than to say that I am looking forward to creating a few missions. There are a couple of small annoyannces withIf you own the first one and enjoyed it you will love this one. Almost every aspect of the game is better than it's predicessor. Beat the game good now playing evil. Tinkered with the UGC but have not played it enough to really have a strong opinion one way or another, other than to say that I am looking forward to creating a few missions. There are a couple of small annoyannces with the game, but overall a much better experience and better graphically than the first. Get the demo or play the trial version through PS Plus gift subscription if you are on the fence. Expand
  36. Jun 12, 2011
    10
    inFamous was a really great game but inFamous 2 is better than just great - it has better graphics, story, characters, more action great gameplay-replayability - if you have a PS3 console and you like sandbox action games then it's a must have for you!
  37. Jun 8, 2011
    8
    If you liked the first game, you will like this one as well. If you hated the first one, you will likely hate this one as well. The game plays very similar to the original game, but with some improvements in the combat system. This game is not mind blowingly different from the original, but the improvements are notable. This is a very solid and enjoyable game. There are minor issues inIf you liked the first game, you will like this one as well. If you hated the first one, you will likely hate this one as well. The game plays very similar to the original game, but with some improvements in the combat system. This game is not mind blowingly different from the original, but the improvements are notable. This is a very solid and enjoyable game. There are minor issues in this game. The camera is a hindrance in melee combat. It isn't always a problem, but occasionally you cannot see the enemy that you are attacking at all, and you will just be swinging at air, while the enemy has backed up and started shooting you, and you cannot see this due to the camera angle. I am not impressed with the voice acting for the main character in this game either. I much preferred the original voice for the main character. The only other thing is that the game is still fairly repetitive. It has added a lot more enemy types than the original had, and that is an improvement, but most of the sidequests are still carbon copies of each other. That said, this game is still a lot of fun for me. I will likely be playing it to the exclusion of other games for the next month or so. Expand
  38. Jun 12, 2011
    10
    inFAMOUS 2 is one of the best open world games you will play this gen. The graphics, physics, voices and story make it a easy contender for GOTY 2011.
  39. Jun 11, 2011
    10
    This is a game that will make you think twice before making your decision, ESPECIALLY at the end. I'm incredibly amazed by how much emotion inFAMOUS 2 was able pull out of me. I never play any video game twice unless it has an amazing story and characters, something that will make me want to come back a second time.

    I played through the entire game with good karma, and to be honest, I'm
    This is a game that will make you think twice before making your decision, ESPECIALLY at the end. I'm incredibly amazed by how much emotion inFAMOUS 2 was able pull out of me. I never play any video game twice unless it has an amazing story and characters, something that will make me want to come back a second time.

    I played through the entire game with good karma, and to be honest, I'm so scared to see what the other side of the coin looks like. But this game ends in such a way that it's impossible to tell what's next for inFAMOUS, but I guess we'll find out soon, I hope. inFAMOUS 2 surpasses it's predecessor in every way, and all I can do now is hope that Sucker Punch continues this amazing franchise!
    Expand
  40. Jun 9, 2011
    10
    FIRST OF ALL all of these negative reviews are probably bitter XBox fanboys who wish they could play this incredible game. I've been a huge fan of Sucker Punch ever since Sly 1, and I can safely say this is their best game. If you liked the first, you'll love this!
  41. Jun 8, 2011
    10
    best open world game that I've ever played!!!
    The best graphics in this genre!!
    great gameplay!
    this is really wonderful choice that the protagonist becomes more!!
    you can be a hero or anti hero, you only solve!
    10 out of 10!!!
  42. Jun 8, 2011
    9
    Fantastic game. Many improvements upon the original. I am a fan of the new power upgrade system, and all of the additional ways to boost both good and evil karma. I don't know if the city will grow on me...Empire City was amazing, but it is hardly something to complain about. Excellent sequel, highly recommended.
  43. Jun 8, 2011
    10
    GOTY do ano, Gups vai amar. Jogo muito foda, to escrevendo aqui pq preciso atingir 150 caracteres entao tem q escrever qualquer coisa, acho q ja chegou em 150 flw
  44. Jun 9, 2011
    10
    inFamous 2 starts off at the end of inFamous 1 almost precisely. You have most of the same powers and from there it just gets awesome. You start playing with the familiar and slowly realise that allot has been added as you say "wow that was pretty cool" over and over again.
  45. Jun 10, 2011
    10
    This game is awesome!!! It's basically a mashup of mass effect, super powers, and gta. If you played the first one then buy it! If you didn't, then go play the first one (it's free).
  46. Jun 11, 2011
    10
    Great game. If you loved the first one, this one takes everything that worked and improves it. The graphics are definitely better, not that the first one's were lacking really. What really shines, though, is the gameplay. The combat, moves, and experience is all made much deeper. The amp improves the pretty much ignored melee combat of the original, allowing stylish sequences and takeGreat game. If you loved the first one, this one takes everything that worked and improves it. The graphics are definitely better, not that the first one's were lacking really. What really shines, though, is the gameplay. The combat, moves, and experience is all made much deeper. The amp improves the pretty much ignored melee combat of the original, allowing stylish sequences and take downs. Unlocking new upgrades requires different stipulations, some of which are extremely fun trying to unlock. The user generated content also adds a whole other element to the game. It's very fun going around completing other users missions. Some are pretty difficult, some are wacky, some are just completely out there. But trying them is definitely worth it. I have yet to create my own, but I'm going to give it a try soon.

    Overall, inFamous 2 is an improvement over the original. Sucker Punch have crafted an experience that makes owning a PS3 a great investment.
    Expand
  47. Jun 11, 2011
    9
    Just like Uncharted 2 was a leap forward from the original, inFAMOUS 2 improves upon it's predecessor. I couldn't stop playing until I beat the game. Love the new powers, enemies and story. My only complaint is that the moral system is still weak and inflexible. Bring on 3!
  48. Jun 12, 2011
    9
    inFamous 2 has you once again play as Cole MacGrath while powering up in order to face the Beast. Like the first game, you have the option to play as a hero or an anti-hero based on your actions throughout the game, and ultimately deciding the fate of the world. While the story doesn't have a different story line as a hero or a anti-hero, you now have the option to play story missions toinFamous 2 has you once again play as Cole MacGrath while powering up in order to face the Beast. Like the first game, you have the option to play as a hero or an anti-hero based on your actions throughout the game, and ultimately deciding the fate of the world. While the story doesn't have a different story line as a hero or a anti-hero, you now have the option to play story missions to reinforce your karmic choice. A big improvement has been the graphics. While the last game didn't look bad, its visuals weren't on par with games like Uncharted 2 and Resistance 2. My only big gripe is the voice acting, where at times you can't hear what certain characters were saying due to slurred speech. Fans of the first game should certainly pick this one up. New comers won't be completely left out to lunch, but I recommend playing the first game before this one. To sum up, inFamous 2 overall is an improvement over the first game. Expand
  49. Jun 16, 2011
    10
    Well Done Sucker Punch!! Great Game! Amazing Graphics! Good Story.....its funny because a lot of games these days only look good but are never fun most fun ive had since uncharted 2 gears of war god of war series !! playing through the game again!! !!! cant wait for the next instalment!!!
  50. Jul 8, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. InFamous 2 is one of the greatest game on PS 3. It's contains lots of activities side missions and it is fun to play with cole's superpowers. It can be even better if some little problems could fix.

    briefly inFamous 2 is on of the best games on this generation!
    Expand
  51. Jul 4, 2011
    10
    It's just fun. One of those games that gamers love and critics pass on. I don't understand the phenomenon. This game rocks. there are some mission types that feel a little repetetive, but you will love it anyway and wish for more. The way you can approach battles from any direction using an array of powers that wreak destruction. Do I throw a burning car at the baddie? or do I smash itIt's just fun. One of those games that gamers love and critics pass on. I don't understand the phenomenon. This game rocks. there are some mission types that feel a little repetetive, but you will love it anyway and wish for more. The way you can approach battles from any direction using an array of powers that wreak destruction. Do I throw a burning car at the baddie? or do I smash it with my amp? or maybe I powerbomb from a rooftop stick him with a grenade, smash him into his buddies with my amp and watch them all explode!!! My only gripe is that even on easy mode it takes one to many hits to drop these guys. Expand
  52. Dec 28, 2011
    10
    Finally got this game and WOW I can't believe this is what I have been missing. So many improvements over the original. I'll mention the new camera tweaks first. It makes running and melee much more cinematic and intense! I love the effect it adds to gameplay. Yes it can get in the wrong places sometimes because nothing is perfect, and in an open world game like this the camera is bound toFinally got this game and WOW I can't believe this is what I have been missing. So many improvements over the original. I'll mention the new camera tweaks first. It makes running and melee much more cinematic and intense! I love the effect it adds to gameplay. Yes it can get in the wrong places sometimes because nothing is perfect, and in an open world game like this the camera is bound to get hung up on something. easy to fix and to those complaining, don't you know the right stick moves the camera for you so you can manually fix it on the fly. Now gameplay. very similar but not a bad thing. if you played the first you can hop right back in and you have a good amount of your powers from the first game to get you right into the action. You new powers are awesome and they only get cooler and more powerful as the game progresses. I love the quick select menu for switching powers on the fly too, took a little while to get enough powers to use it and then a bit to get used to it, but once you do between different enemy types you will have your favorite ways to defeat them and you will be switching back and forth quite a bit. minor things I had to adjust to was your force push "blast" power doesn't deflect or throw back grenades/rpgs as easily. at first I thought it didn't work because you have to actually aim and hit them instead of just blasting away like in the first game. but traversal is just as fun and the new elements only help you move around the city faster! I hope for the next game though they adopt some sort of free run button that you can just hold like in AC because mashing x does get tedious and old. Graphics are better but not by huge margin. The world is designed better this time around and as a result is much more fun to explore, things like rpg smoke trails, explosions look improved and other things, like tentacle bug pods as an example, look great!. npcs/enemies look nicer too this time around, just about as dumb but look nicer. which brings me to enemies. I love the new ones. Nice variety with many different attacks and fighting styles, from guns to spit, from militia to monsters they are bigger, better and much more fun and challenging to fight! Way more diversity than the three gangs in the first game. Story is good and a list of new characters make their debut. The presentation and development of new characters is much better than the first I feel, but still not the best in the open world genre. They are good though don't get me wrong, not bad at all. Side missions are varied a bit more and I like how they added the good and bad side bits you can just walk up on and do really fast. those ones are repetitive with only four or so different ones depending on your karma but they are so fast and easy you don't mind doing them over and over. so story overall did it's thing and I enjoyed it, but not as much as I enjoyed just messing around in the really fun open world environment of New Marais. User Generated Content, AMAZING! now granted you will play cruddy or frustrating levels in UGC but it's made by people and so you have hundreds of new opportunities for different missions. The best part, you can make your own missions!! I am such a big fan of this type of stuff, from tony hawk in the old days making parks to LBP and LBP2 and now this!! I love creating my own characters and scenarios, this just adds to the replay value so much that I will be messing around in this game for a long time. The tools to make your own missions have learning curve, but if you are willing it is to me one of the best things an open world game has ever done! So in the end this is a must have for your collection and Sucker Punch has made the right choices for this series. Expand
  53. Nov 6, 2011
    8
    I had a great time playing Infamous 2, if you are a fan of the first one, then you will enjoy this one too. Same game-play strategy, just a few new powers, and a pretty cool new story. The User-Generated Content missions can be fun as well, and get you some experience points for unlocking powers. If you haven't played the first one though, I would recommend that you do, or else the storyI had a great time playing Infamous 2, if you are a fan of the first one, then you will enjoy this one too. Same game-play strategy, just a few new powers, and a pretty cool new story. The User-Generated Content missions can be fun as well, and get you some experience points for unlocking powers. If you haven't played the first one though, I would recommend that you do, or else the story in inFamous 2 might get confusing. Expand
  54. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    First game i bought with my Ps3 and it was just glorious.
    Despite not offering a "real" sandboxworld like GTA 4 its just great to run or better fly tjrough the streets and going on full ramapge.
    The game itself offers a great and deep story with actual choices that matter in the end.
  55. Aug 4, 2011
    8
    Whether its being a samaritan or ruling the city the choice is yours again in infamous 2 with the same concepts of the karma mechanic, you will have a blast with all the powers you can get from a basic grenade to giant ice shards blasting at your enemies.

    The story in the game is basically that Cole Macgrath (the main character) has to defeat a giant mutant called "the beast' it is
    Whether its being a samaritan or ruling the city the choice is yours again in infamous 2 with the same concepts of the karma mechanic, you will have a blast with all the powers you can get from a basic grenade to giant ice shards blasting at your enemies.

    The story in the game is basically that Cole Macgrath (the main character) has to defeat a giant mutant called "the beast' it is basically his destiny whether you choose the good or evil side along the way he meets new allies and new enemies in a new area where i repeated earlier: rule them or protect them while trying to fend off "The Militia" a paramilitary group hired by "Joseph Bertrand III" who wants to exterminate the conduits.

    Gameplay wise this game has retained its old formula but with added powers and new powers meaning your lightning bolt from the first one is now called an "Alpha Bolt" you can unlock some of the powers by doing stunts retained from the first one but with a different structure, the melee system has also been changed with you getting a electric stick called the Amp you can pull of fancy when your "triangle" meter fills up.

    The graphic style in this game is great and that there are many places to explore whether from a southern style to a washed up flood town.. you might not be amazed at the graphics but its unique in its own way.

    VERDICT:
    8.0

    Length is long enough but there is user generated content adding more replay value however after you complete the story there isn't much to do but collect blast shards and dead drops from the last game which is easier to find this time.
    Expand
  56. Jun 8, 2011
    9
    Well for starters, I don't know what the heck is up with Gamespot and Gamepro. I must be playing a different game than the two guys that did this review for those sites. The only problem I have run across so far is that the camera can be a little wonky. Other than that, this game is better than the first. More colorful, better combat, better AI, better graphics, and a better story.

    On
    Well for starters, I don't know what the heck is up with Gamespot and Gamepro. I must be playing a different game than the two guys that did this review for those sites. The only problem I have run across so far is that the camera can be a little wonky. Other than that, this game is better than the first. More colorful, better combat, better AI, better graphics, and a better story.

    On another note, a game review is usually ONE person's opinion. That's why I visit this site. You get an average of all *ahem* "professional" reviews. As well as an average of user reviews. I tend to find user reviews to be more accurate anyway.
    Expand
  57. Nov 13, 2011
    9
    Infamous 2 is one hell of an experience. Sucker Punch manages to nail almost everything from the combat, to the graphics and story. The gameplay is very similar, but just enough has been added (or removed, depending on previous quality) to make it original yet familiar. The story this time around is phenomenal, especially the ending which I would never spoil. Both endings for good and evilInfamous 2 is one hell of an experience. Sucker Punch manages to nail almost everything from the combat, to the graphics and story. The gameplay is very similar, but just enough has been added (or removed, depending on previous quality) to make it original yet familiar. The story this time around is phenomenal, especially the ending which I would never spoil. Both endings for good and evil pack an enormous emotional punch, and one can tell that Sucker Punch really invested their writers' talents to produce the drama. The only downside is Cole ironically enough. His voice and appearance have been changed for the worse. While SP did modify him after the E3 rage, he doesn't look like the Cole I knew from the first game; Tattoos on his arms are ugly, and his voice was much better in the last game. Overall though, Infamous 2 is a fantastic game, and you owe it to yourself to pick it up if you have a PS3. Expand
  58. Jun 8, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I preordered the Hero Edition months back, because I was DYING to get it. Now, Ive been real excited up until i finished the game 22 hours after recieving it. Flawless. I loved it. Much better than the original with updated graphics, fun powers, and a 'either-you-love-it-or-hate-it' voice cast. Now, I DO wish the story ended differently, not that it ended poorly, just that none of us knew it'd be the last game. I for one am saddened that there will not be another inFamous installment, but they did end it very well. My recommendation: Buy. This. Game. You will not be disappointed. Expand
  59. Jun 10, 2011
    9
    Clearly one of the funniest game i ever played on ps3.
    The game is more polished, and the graphics and controls are also highly improved.
    The first one was huge, this one is even bigger
  60. Jun 10, 2011
    9
    I usually don't care about reviews, but GameSpot's 7.5 score has to be the worst score for a game this good. After all that's from the same site that gave another sequel a 9.0. Perfect Dark Zero. Lame. Anyways this game is fun, awesome and a worthy successor to first game. Solid 9.
  61. Jun 17, 2011
    8
    I want to give it a 8.5 but never mind.
    im about to finish it, amazing game, defently a 180c turn out on graphics and gameplay.
    infamous 2 needed a polish, on alot of things, and this game is clearly does the job. -More Living, Bigger City, best, you will spend like 3-4 hours or more by doing side mission/being in a city. -Gameplay & Graphics Improved By Alot, Seriously, as i mention.
    I want to give it a 8.5 but never mind.
    im about to finish it, amazing game, defently a 180c turn out on graphics and gameplay.
    infamous 2 needed a polish, on alot of things, and this game is clearly does the job.
    -More Living, Bigger City, best, you will spend like 3-4 hours or more by doing side mission/being in a city.
    -Gameplay & Graphics Improved By Alot, Seriously, as i mention.
    -But, there is alot of bugs in the game, like FPS drops, camera problems, and more, and another dissapointment was the AMP, your melee weapon, 90% of the time you will not have any space to fight with it, and if so - you will get kicked in the ass.

    PS dont listen to DEATHSMILES, another xbox ****
    Expand
  62. Jun 25, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'll admit it, inFamous 2 was just as fun as the first game. The introduction of the new melee combat and varying powers was a blast. The re-playability of the game is enhanced with the User Generated Content available but a little confusing (especially if you have MY patience). The reason though for the lower score is that the story is lacking incredibly. Instead of different twists and turns the story of the first game had, inFamous 2's plot was terribly straight forward and narrow. The antagonist Joseph Bertrand was ill defined and seemed tacked on as a character and was not as story driving as other baddies in inFamous 1. The gameplay is fantastic, fun, and revamped since Empire City, but the story is boring and mundane. Half the reason I did not like the story is that i predicted it from the first (a testament to its straight and narrow plot). All in all though, there is ENOUGH story for it to make since and the gameplay is fantastic enough for it to get a positive review. I love all of sucker punch's games, the characters they put in them, and the great and fresh gameplay they always bring since Sly Cooper. Expand
  63. Sep 8, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Just beat this game a few weeks ago and I enjoyed every minute of it. Although I only did one of ending (the good side), Cole dying at the end was a shocker. I'm sure they could bring him back somehow for another installment, but it was nice to see that kind of end to a game for a change. Expand
  64. Sep 21, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is very well made and is even better than its prequel. The gameplay is very lively and intense, and has great replay value. Although at times the story may seem slightely weak. It completes the story on Cole McGrath. The only disappointment is the devastating ending which is the death of cole McGrath Expand
  65. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    InFAMOUS 2 is a very good game! , I cant believe how some people gave this game such low scores! Its an AWESOME! game.. I recommend this game to every "REAL" gamer out there.
  66. Apr 7, 2012
    9
    inFamous 2 is better game than the first one, gameplay wise. Unfortunately, the story can not compete with inFamous and the characters presented in inFamous 2 is boring as hell. The Story is not bad at all, but the whole story surrounding Cole in the first game, how he got the powers, what he wanted to do with them, was a engaging story, while the story in this game doesn't seem to getinFamous 2 is better game than the first one, gameplay wise. Unfortunately, the story can not compete with inFamous and the characters presented in inFamous 2 is boring as hell. The Story is not bad at all, but the whole story surrounding Cole in the first game, how he got the powers, what he wanted to do with them, was a engaging story, while the story in this game doesn't seem to get to you that much. All this being said, this is still a fantastic game and a worthy follow-up to one of my favorite ps3 games. I have beaten the first numerous times, but the 3 cities all looked like each other, which was extreamly frustrating, because it felt like you ran around the same locations all the time. This time around though, Sucker Punch have only made 2 big cities, but they look nothing alike. If you liked the first one, don't miss out. Expand
  67. Apr 26, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This here is one of the best games ever made so far. infamous 2 joins the play station 3 line up to make it even greater and also joins the group of the most underrated games ever ,mi have played both infamous 1 and 2 and i can easily recommend the second over the first because simply it is better in every way its a huge improvement with much more powers and now the choice between being good or evil gives you totally different powers to use and the variety of the enemies makes this game an exciting experience from get go . the story is really good iv seen some people complaining but that'r not true sucker punch know what they are doing here with the story . in infamous 2 there's more focusing on characters and allies as u can find a different ally when you chose between good karma or evil karma and both powers are amazing and fun and unique .
    i highly recommend this game for any super hero games fan and it pains me to see this game getting this score only it deserves much more since u can beat it twice with totally different missions so this game has 2 great stories and 2 great different styles to play. and it has the best boss fights ever.
    Expand
  68. Jul 4, 2012
    10
    This Game was absolutely AMAZING!. 100 times better than the first!. The first was an amazing game. The things in this game are much better, the melee(Which is really badass), The variety for Powers like ice and fire and electricity. The story was compelling and has 2 Twists that made me go ":O" One after the Behemoth boss fight, and the evil ending. The city is way different then mostThis Game was absolutely AMAZING!. 100 times better than the first!. The first was an amazing game. The things in this game are much better, the melee(Which is really badass), The variety for Powers like ice and fire and electricity. The story was compelling and has 2 Twists that made me go ":O" One after the Behemoth boss fight, and the evil ending. The city is way different then most sandbox games which is refreshing. The city isn't a nice little friendly town. No. It's a dangerous, dark, yet full of life and colors. Creepy looking buildings and churches and a clocktower. All surrounded by a swamp. with these swamp monsters, ice monsters, and Militia and the Human Purist Bertrand. Overall This game if Fantastic! Expand
  69. Nov 5, 2012
    9
    This game is muchhhhhhhhhhhh better than infamous 1. The graphics, the history, are a great evolution, and i liked too much. Its not in the top-level of open world games, but its a very good experience
  70. Jun 9, 2011
    10
    I would have probably given the original an 8.5/9 out of 10. But this...this is a massive step up from the original. First of all the graphics, you can really tell Sucker Punch have pushed the PS3 hardware, because the graphics are superb. The framerate issues that the original suffered from are completely gone. The story is really cool, like the first, and there are loads of sideI would have probably given the original an 8.5/9 out of 10. But this...this is a massive step up from the original. First of all the graphics, you can really tell Sucker Punch have pushed the PS3 hardware, because the graphics are superb. The framerate issues that the original suffered from are completely gone. The story is really cool, like the first, and there are loads of side missions and collection items to keep the hardcore happy too. The gameplay has also been polished, melee combat is just awesome now, really makes you want to fight all the baddies with your new toy "The Amp". Everything else has also been refined like movement and the powers. If you didn't like the original then you probably won't like this. However, if you didn't like the original because the graphics were pretty poor or the framerate issues put you off; then you should definitely buy this game! Fans of the original this should be a no brainer, because this game is most definitely a must buy. Expand
  71. Jun 9, 2011
    10
    Fans of the first inFamous will not be disappointed! This game is an absolute must play for fans of open world and action games. Not an Uncharted killer but still one of the best games to come out in 2011!!
  72. Jun 9, 2011
    10
    Amazing game, sucker punch deliver a perfect sequel that isn't repitave, the graphics are better, the map is big, the story is ace, and there are different levels to match your karma. Perfect improvement from the 1st although I love the first which is good from a sequel nowadays. Love my hero edition only downside is the 50%off infamous 1 code although I have it already and it's now freeAmazing game, sucker punch deliver a perfect sequel that isn't repitave, the graphics are better, the map is big, the story is ace, and there are different levels to match your karma. Perfect improvement from the 1st although I love the first which is good from a sequel nowadays. Love my hero edition only downside is the 50%off infamous 1 code although I have it already and it's now free with the psn welcome back pack. However for what this game offers and all the other extras in my hero pack, I'm not complaining. WELL DONE! Bout time the playstation shines again I have both consoles but my love is always with playstation. Expand
  73. Jun 12, 2011
    9
    I had a great time with the first infamous and I absolutely love the successor

    design: 9 -powers look great -some comics are back and look even better than in the first game -improved character animations -New Marrais is a wonderful place to be a superhero: swamps, city and more sound: 8 -my only problem is that sometimes you can't hear anything for example I stood next to 20 people
    I had a great time with the first infamous and I absolutely love the successor

    design: 9
    -powers look great -some comics are back and look even better than in the first game
    -improved character animations
    -New Marrais is a wonderful place to be a superhero: swamps, city and more

    sound: 8
    -my only problem is that sometimes you can't hear anything for example I stood next to 20 people but there wasn't any sound

    gameplay: 9
    -more powers that are easy to change, buy etc.
    -improved combat with a sword like weapon
    -getting from here to there has never been so easy before
    -my problem: sometimes the camera has a few problems

    story: 9
    -sometimes you will have to make a choice between being evil or good what gives it extra taste
    -in the end you will suffer with the characters
    -the story also changes how you play
    -my problem: slow beginning

    replay ability: 9
    -user generated content give you freedom to make your own missions or just play other ones like in little big planet or modnation racers
    -there are a lot of sidemissions that are not as repetitive as in infamous 1
    -play the game in your style, there are enough powers to start a new game just for experiencing them all
    -you have to play the games twice for seeing all powers, the good ones and the evil ones

    Overall is infamous 2 a game with a unique setting and probably the best superhero/villain game around.
    Don't miss it!
    Expand
  74. Jun 11, 2011
    10
    Adding to Playstation's exclusives in 2011, inFamous 2 is the sequel to Sucker Punch's first endevour on the PS3. Now, this is the sequel and and it manages to become one of the best titles I've played this year. Picking up from where the last game left off, inFamous 2 requires some knowledge of the previous game, but you won't be left in the dark if you haven't done so. The game is openAdding to Playstation's exclusives in 2011, inFamous 2 is the sequel to Sucker Punch's first endevour on the PS3. Now, this is the sequel and and it manages to become one of the best titles I've played this year. Picking up from where the last game left off, inFamous 2 requires some knowledge of the previous game, but you won't be left in the dark if you haven't done so. The game is open and your free to do what you want. There are two paths to go down (good or bad) and each one comes out with differing results, so you will get replay value in that sense. The graphics are great for an open world game, with no pop ins what so ever. Misson variety is expanded from the first and no mission ever over stays its welcome.What really moved me through the game was its story. I have never beaten an open world game with 100% so quickly in my life. Not because its short, but because the story is driving the experience. Only issues really were the enemy variety and camera issues every once and a while. This game is amazing, and it pushes Portal 2 and LA Noire out of my top spot for 2011. Expand
  75. Jun 11, 2011
    10
    Without a Doubt this is a Must have Game... there have been several games this year that i have loved and Infamous 2 is the Current top of my list... the Controls are tight and responsive.. The environments are varied and there is a ton more in the way of side quests to do this time around .. Sucker Punch has craft a great game GG
  76. Jun 24, 2011
    8
    After the success of inFamous a sequel was inevitable. And 2 years on what do you know, inFamous 2 is here. The big question posed was could it improve on the original? In a word.. infact three; yes and no! I loved the original. It was fresh, badass and just fun. And whilst inFamous 2 maintains that I still feel that this was a missed oppertunity to propel inFamous into a householdAfter the success of inFamous a sequel was inevitable. And 2 years on what do you know, inFamous 2 is here. The big question posed was could it improve on the original? In a word.. infact three; yes and no! I loved the original. It was fresh, badass and just fun. And whilst inFamous 2 maintains that I still feel that this was a missed oppertunity to propel inFamous into a household franchise like the Uncharted's and co. The game picks up from where the first outing left off Cole, having killed Kessler heads of to confront the beast. Old favourites like Zeke return and a new assistant as such Lucy Kuo an NSA agent. A problem that inFamous 2 had for me was the story wasn't as engaging and failed to draw you as much as the original you feel the same the majority of way through and it lets down the impact of the twists and turns that come towards the end of the game which is a shame as depending on which kharma you build the ending is a clever and leaves questions over future outings. Regardless of that the gameplay is still as fun as ever, theres not been any huge surgery but there wasn't any needed in all honesty! One disappointment is the lack of new powers. The powers are basically an upgrade or am extension like ice slides, grenades nothing really fresh. The enemies in this game are a letdown compared to the first inFamous. Particuarly the big boss battles comapred to normal enemies was like chalk and cheese and you had three big ones that possessed a challenge. However inFamous 2 only really offers two big otherwordly boss battles, and whilst I grant you they are fun theres more approval to be had with the regular baddies. Visually there are some notable improvements in the setting and environment, its nothing overwhelming but is a step in the right direction. Overall inFamous 2 is a great game. Its bigger in many ways and you will have endless fun as Cole zapping enemy after enemy sliding or fyling from mission to mission but in comparison to its predecessor its not as much of an experience and I was left thinking what could have been. That aside its certainly worth a buy! Expand
  77. Jun 10, 2011
    10
    No matter how much you loved or hated inFamous, inFamous 2 is a brand new installment that will leave you breathless. With the characters looking spiff and new and a continuing storyline, your mind will be blown. It's great to have this is your collection and it definitely has replay value because of it's returning duel karma paths. Whether or not inFamous was your cup of tea, this isNo matter how much you loved or hated inFamous, inFamous 2 is a brand new installment that will leave you breathless. With the characters looking spiff and new and a continuing storyline, your mind will be blown. It's great to have this is your collection and it definitely has replay value because of it's returning duel karma paths. Whether or not inFamous was your cup of tea, this is absolutely a game you need to own. Expand
  78. Jun 9, 2011
    10
    LOL at Gamespot and Gamepro trolling to get more web traffic to their site. Shame on them! This is the best game to come out this year so far. It has everything: an engaging and well writen story, great voice acting, superb gameplay and action, beautiful graphics, a beautifully created open world to explore, 2 completely different playthroughs with different missions and different endingsLOL at Gamespot and Gamepro trolling to get more web traffic to their site. Shame on them! This is the best game to come out this year so far. It has everything: an engaging and well writen story, great voice acting, superb gameplay and action, beautiful graphics, a beautifully created open world to explore, 2 completely different playthroughs with different missions and different endings as good and evil, a user generated content system.... what the hell is there not to love about infamous 2??? Expand
  79. Jun 9, 2011
    10
    Loved this game! way better then the original, and that's saying something, the voice acting is superb and Zeke's character becomes something more then expected. The only issue is camera angles but that doesn't stop it from being one of the best games I've played.
  80. Jun 10, 2011
    10
    Awesome Game !!!! Anyone who has given thisgame less then 9 is insane. what do u normally expect from a good game- story,graphics,gameplay,replaybility and most importantly fun. This game has got every thing in it & that too in abundance. Trust me guys if u have a Ps3 nd u dont Have IF2 in ur collection then ur missing something.As far as gamespot review goes they crazy bunch of peopleAwesome Game !!!! Anyone who has given thisgame less then 9 is insane. what do u normally expect from a good game- story,graphics,gameplay,replaybility and most importantly fun. This game has got every thing in it & that too in abundance. Trust me guys if u have a Ps3 nd u dont Have IF2 in ur collection then ur missing something.As far as gamespot review goes they crazy bunch of people This game is Seriously good. Try it to believe it Expand
  81. Jun 10, 2011
    10
    Another great game only for PS3! Was a fan of the first, if you haven't played it I suggest you do. Probably one of the best sequels of all time. Fun free running and much more than you expect from any game. A must buy for PS3 Owners.
  82. Jun 13, 2011
    10
    I created an account on here just so that I can write a review for this game. I seriously put my PS3 up for sale 3 days before I got this game in the mail. I had gamefly'd it and totally forgot. When I got it, I thought, "what the hell, I will give it a shot." I have now taken my PS3 off the market and am hooked on this game. I played the 1st one and liked it. I love this one! This is a must buy!
  83. Jun 10, 2011
    10
    I'll be brief...if you enjoyed the original you will absolutely love Infamous 2. It is truly a fantastic gaming experience and should be recognized as such. Sure some of the side missions are stale but that is a trivial complaint. Infamous accomplished what it set out to do...to make you feel powerful and it does it as good as any game on the market. Couple that with excellent gameplay,I'll be brief...if you enjoyed the original you will absolutely love Infamous 2. It is truly a fantastic gaming experience and should be recognized as such. Sure some of the side missions are stale but that is a trivial complaint. Infamous accomplished what it set out to do...to make you feel powerful and it does it as good as any game on the market. Couple that with excellent gameplay, stellar acting, and a good story you end up with Pure Gaming Goodness. What are you still doing here? Play the game! Expand
  84. Mar 27, 2015
    10
    Even better than Infamous Second Son PS4, which I loved and played first. The graphics aren't as good as that, but they are terrific and the story and main character is even better.
  85. Jun 17, 2011
    9
    well it took me a couple of days to finish this game and i have to say i enjoyed all of it. while alot the missions can be a bit repetitive the suspense that the story provides keeps the player going as with me i had to keep going because i had to know what happened next. There was also a good variety of powers available to the player which made the game more fun as well.
  86. Jul 26, 2011
    10
    I just got the platinum trophy for this game. It is REALLY fun, and an improvement over the original in every way. I loved the first one, but it was a bit too repetitive. The second one is less repetitive, more fun, with better graphics, better story, more powers, and better game play. Playing through the game twice to see the good and evil endings adds to the longevity of the game.I just got the platinum trophy for this game. It is REALLY fun, and an improvement over the original in every way. I loved the first one, but it was a bit too repetitive. The second one is less repetitive, more fun, with better graphics, better story, more powers, and better game play. Playing through the game twice to see the good and evil endings adds to the longevity of the game. The user generated content is a bit hit and miss, but there are some entertaining missions being posted by the Infamous community. Overall a really enjoyable experience and probably my favourite game of 2011 so far. Expand
  87. Jun 22, 2011
    10
    I cannot say enough good things about this game. I am in the middle of my second playthrough right now and I can safely say this is my favorite PS3 game. The gameplay is phenomenal, graphics are high quality, the story is rather good. There are lots of choices to make in this game and tons of side quests to keep you busy for days. Unlike in the original InFamous New Marais doesn't feelI cannot say enough good things about this game. I am in the middle of my second playthrough right now and I can safely say this is my favorite PS3 game. The gameplay is phenomenal, graphics are high quality, the story is rather good. There are lots of choices to make in this game and tons of side quests to keep you busy for days. Unlike in the original InFamous New Marais doesn't feel like the same boring buildings copy pasted over a map but each new area you unlock looks amazing and is fun to play through. The mission creator feature is a bit complicated to use but you can make a mission practically anywhere on the map, you can make anything from a race to a storyline you come up with all on your own. Expand
  88. Jul 7, 2011
    10
    I am baffled by people whom do not think this game is the best thing since milled flour. I am ASTOUNDED by the nature of this game in terms of the creativity and the tight tight tight game-play mechanics. This overall is much better than the original in terms of the classes of enemy you will face throughout the campaign, and the variability in enemy boss levels as well as the AI qualityI am baffled by people whom do not think this game is the best thing since milled flour. I am ASTOUNDED by the nature of this game in terms of the creativity and the tight tight tight game-play mechanics. This overall is much better than the original in terms of the classes of enemy you will face throughout the campaign, and the variability in enemy boss levels as well as the AI quality will keep you going back for more ass kicking antics. Cole is a bad-ass, and the characters are well fleshed out. There is a cut scene where Ziek and Cole are sitting watching the TV, I was laughing rather hard at just how good the motion capture lighting effects and composition was. It's incredibly difficult to fathom how much work this game took to make it this good. But DAMN it is certainly 11 good. Expand
  89. Jun 16, 2011
    9
    This is a fun game. The major drawback is the extremely weak A.I and the respawning issues (particularly with cars after you have launched them at an enemy). Minus the poor A.I this game is clearly better than the original. It's not for everyone, but if you liked the original you will love this one. I'd give it an 8.5 if I could.
  90. Jun 14, 2011
    8
    Great game. Did a fantastic job of improving problems in gameplay from first title and had a story every bit as enthralling. Great controls and gorgeous graphics make it a must-play for PS3 owners.
  91. Jul 4, 2011
    10
    InFamous 2 is yet another example of the technological breakthroughs slowly beginning to appear in contemporary games. Every aspect of a successful game is evident in final chapter of the Infamous series. Spectacular graphics, a well written and credible plot and qualitative game-play give you a gaming experience like no other. A credit to Sucker Punch and a masterpiece of gaming.
  92. Jun 15, 2011
    10
    The game is absolutely brilliant. For the past 6 months games have let me down a lot and I just couldn't get immersed into a games world or relate to any character in any of the 10 or so games I've played since Christmas. Well Infamous 2 changed all that. The games great. Great story, beautiful world with lovely graphics and mind blowing powers. The game has some of the best enemies I haveThe game is absolutely brilliant. For the past 6 months games have let me down a lot and I just couldn't get immersed into a games world or relate to any character in any of the 10 or so games I've played since Christmas. Well Infamous 2 changed all that. The games great. Great story, beautiful world with lovely graphics and mind blowing powers. The game has some of the best enemies I have seen in a game ever. From enemies that have Ice powers that use an Ice jump to move around the city or summon Ice towers from underneath them to shoot you from high ground. There's also swamp monsters that come in all shapes and sizes and human militia that come with all types weapons ranging from shotguns to assault rifles and sniper rifles. You also have two companions that have super powers and they serve as your good and bad karma partners. I recommend this game to anyone who likes Open world games and great stories Expand
  93. Jun 13, 2011
    10
    inFAMOUS 2 is everything and more what I wanted from inFAMOUS 1. So glad I made this purchase, I am defiantly looking forward to what Sucker Punch has in store for their next IP.
  94. Mar 18, 2012
    9
    inFamous 2's improved combat and momentum, emotionally satisfying story, and increased number of set pieces make it much improved over it's predecessor. The game isn't flawless, but it is definitely worth a purchase.
  95. Aug 5, 2011
    8
    Not a bad game. The story progresses nicely and the powers are nicely set and done. But the gameplay gets a little old towards the end. I can say it's a little repetitive for my taste. Still the gameplay, story, characters were nicely done. The music in this game is one of the best I've seen
  96. Jun 17, 2011
    10
    a masterpiece that improves on its predecessor in almost every aspect, dont be fooled by the troll reviews, this game is a must get for PS3 owners, heck it's even my fav game this gen.
  97. Jul 2, 2011
    9
    When I got this game on opening day, I was pretty happy. When I started playing this game, I immediately got hooked and got even more happy! This is one of the PS3's best exclusives yet and is even stronger than its predecessor. The story has a comic book feel to it and the gameplay is amazing once once you start playing! If you have a PS3, you owe it to yourself to own this and the firstWhen I got this game on opening day, I was pretty happy. When I started playing this game, I immediately got hooked and got even more happy! This is one of the PS3's best exclusives yet and is even stronger than its predecessor. The story has a comic book feel to it and the gameplay is amazing once once you start playing! If you have a PS3, you owe it to yourself to own this and the first inFAMOUS. Expand
  98. Jul 11, 2011
    10
    Infamous 2 is one of the best games I've ever played. It's improved over the superb first game in every way. The graphics are far more colorful and detailed, the soundtrack is amazing, and the story is far more exciting and emotional than the first. The new powers that are available are fun to use, and thanks to these the city of New Marais is a blast to explore. Overall, Sucker Punch hasInfamous 2 is one of the best games I've ever played. It's improved over the superb first game in every way. The graphics are far more colorful and detailed, the soundtrack is amazing, and the story is far more exciting and emotional than the first. The new powers that are available are fun to use, and thanks to these the city of New Marais is a blast to explore. Overall, Sucker Punch has done what few companies have done before. They started an amazing story in one game and put two very satisfying endings to it in the next, without falling back on modern moneymaking traditions such as spin-offs or trilogies. The inFamous games are two of the best games on the PS3. Expand
  99. Jan 8, 2012
    8
    this game is so much better than the original i have played a couple minutes of the 1st one and yet i still say this is better why because he does not squeak everytime he moves now! the 1st one i could not play because his pants or his bag or something would be squeaking everytime you move him. now im going to get on with my actual review this game is pretty good when it comes tothis game is so much better than the original i have played a couple minutes of the 1st one and yet i still say this is better why because he does not squeak everytime he moves now! the 1st one i could not play because his pants or his bag or something would be squeaking everytime you move him. now im going to get on with my actual review this game is pretty good when it comes to graphics,gameplay and the variety of missions the only thing i had a problem with was the voice acting it was pretty good but for gods sake could they not have found people that could speak properly i mean a couple of the main characters have really bad slurrs which can be annoying but wont make me stop playing the game all in all its great and worth it for most gamers i say this because there are some that will give up on this because there are parts that can be a little bit chalenging Expand
  100. Jun 14, 2011
    10
    inFAMOUS 2 is simply amazing ! It's a big fat diamond that should be in every Ps3 gamer collection, no...wait...It should be in every "real" gamer's collection. Technically it's also quite the achievement, if i may say so. Although the game may not run at 60fps, it often does feel that way. The game runs incredibly smooth and fluid, has no screen tearing, and no blur when you move theinFAMOUS 2 is simply amazing ! It's a big fat diamond that should be in every Ps3 gamer collection, no...wait...It should be in every "real" gamer's collection. Technically it's also quite the achievement, if i may say so. Although the game may not run at 60fps, it often does feel that way. The game runs incredibly smooth and fluid, has no screen tearing, and no blur when you move the camera fast to the left or to the right. inFAMOUS 2 is also much more colourful then the first one, which is a big plus imo, you just have to see the city for yourself to experience how amazing it is, and how fluid. The game also never gets dull, or boring, there's always something to do, to see, or to find. The chemistry and vibe that this game brings is also amazing. A big plus is also the soundtrack played in the game, it's in the background allot, and really makes the game more dynamic, and alive. There are only 2 things imo which inFAMOUS 1 did better, it was the original voice cast that was better, and Cole's appearance, he just looks to "clean" in 2, and he sounded more "raw" in the first one. These are the only things i can come up with, which were better in the first one. The game definitely deserves a 10/10 imho, and is the first game that came out this year that's in line for game of the year ! This game is the best open world / sandbox game i have seen or played this generation. Expand
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 90 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 77 out of 90
  2. Negative: 0 out of 90
  1. Nov 28, 2011
    80
    inFamous 2 doesn't make many missteps. It may lack the polish and big name license of the recent Batman games, but for a solid and dependable superhero videogame, there aren't many more enjoyable and more consistent than this excellent superpowered romp.
  2. Nov 14, 2011
    90
    Whether you're a fan of the first inFAMOUS or new to the series, the amount of gameplay and riveting story should please all. A few small tweaks to the Move controls would go a long way in improving the overall feel of the game but an absolutely fantastic and worthwhile title nonetheless.
  3. Pelit (Finland)
    Oct 19, 2011
    88
    A very good superhero's sandbox. There's a lot fighting, but it's good fighting. A lot of replay potential. The level editor is a worthy bonus, too. [Aug 2011]