Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Oct 8, 2012
    90
    Even after all those years Jet Set Radio is still superb, thanks to the impressive and timeless design of its graphics, sound and game mechanics.
  2. The infectious beats of DJ Professor K washed all our frustrations away in no time. [Nov 2012, p.85]
  3. The Dreamcast classic returns. In HD! The soundtrack is still brilliant. Depending on who you ask, the gameplay might not have aged as well. But for any true nostalgic fan, Jet Set Radio is still the best rollerblading game around. [November 2012, p.92]
  4. Oct 15, 2012
    80
    Far from a bad game, Jet Set Radio HD suffers from long loading times, silly controls and overall repetitiveness.
  5. Sep 18, 2012
    80
    The HD upgrade has given an already visually impressive title a fresh lick of paint, and the fact that Sega has been able to secure almost all of the original soundtrack means that it sounds as good as it looks. Fuse this effortlessly cool presentation with some engaging and challenging gameplay and you've got one of the few genuinely timeless classics of the past few decades.
  6. Sep 17, 2012
    75
    The "video" or "music video" portion of Jet Set Radio amounts to something so special that I think anyone who truly believes in the artistic potential of the medium should experience it.
  7. Sep 17, 2012
    75
    The artistic aspects of the game are timeless, and I'd recommend the game without batting an eye to anyone that's interested in quirky games or unique visual design. People that just want a fun game though, that's trickier. By all means play it if you missed it the first time around, just understand that the value is in theme and presentation rather than timeless gameplay.
  8. Uniquely, irresistibly charming. [Dec 2012, p.114]
  9. Oct 18, 2012
    70
    Jet Set Radio is by no means a perfect game, nor was it originally, but it's the world, its ideas and that same unique energy that keep it relevant today.
  10. Sep 13, 2012
    70
    It looks and sounds as amazing as it ever did, but even if the control issues are a little more obvious now this is still a fantastically energetic and imaginative arcade game.
  11. Sep 17, 2012
    67
    Overall, it's a pretty solid port of a fun but flawed game. JSR certainly paved a path for future games with its super-unique art style and soundtrack, but it's hard to say that the controls and physics found within stand the test of time as well as the rest of the package. I definitely think its worth checking out if you have any love for the game from your youth, but if you've never experience the series before I'd hold off until a demo becomes available.
  12. Sep 11, 2012
    65
    While Sega clearly put some effort into this reissue, an HD coat of paint can't correct the Jet Set Radio's fundamental control flaws and repetitious design. I'm sure this sounds like heresy to Dreamcast faithful, but it's the truth: This game wasn't that good in the first place.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 38 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 5
  2. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. Sep 21, 2012
    10
    I've been waiting on this game for years. It was by far my favorite Dreamcast game, and with PSN and XBLA releasing titles such as Crazy TaxiI've been waiting on this game for years. It was by far my favorite Dreamcast game, and with PSN and XBLA releasing titles such as Crazy Taxi and Sonic Adventure, I had always wondered to myself, "WHY IS THERE NO JET SET RADIO?!" Alas, it's finally here, and alas, it's the most perfect version of the game. Sure, it has the framerate drops of the original. But that just adds to the exact feel of the game as I played it religiously so many years ago on my black sports edition Dreamcast. This version of the game also includes much, much better camera control. You can turn the auto camera reset off and the graffiti camera off for when you're painting small tags around the beautifully rendered, gorgeously HD remastered cities. I loved this game as a kid, and I love it now. For me, it was 'the' Dreamcast game to have back then. Now, it's simply one of my favorite games of all time, in hindsight. It's so near perfect it makes me sick with happy. It looks great. It sounds great. It controls great. IT'S GREAT. If you ever played this, buy it. If you never had the chance to play this, just go ahead and buy it. You'll be in for a nice surprise. Sure, a game about rollerblading around a city doesn't sound fun. But the game doesn't control Tony Hawk style. Not at all. It controls more like a platformer, where you're given the simple task of marking your territory with a set amount of spots to tag with your paint cans throughout the levels. Don't let the childish, cartoon absurdity fool you. Deep down, this game is as gritty as 90s culture wanted you to believe it was. It's centered around gang warfare, living in a police state, and a lust for power, just to name a few. It's, quite simply, one of the best overlooked gems ever made, and I'm definitely not the type of person to throw that term out there. I can't say enough good things about Jet Set Radio, so I'll stop for now. Just do yourself a favor and spend the 9 or 10 bucks on it. You won't be sorry. Full Review »
  2. Jul 17, 2013
    6
    I'm mixed on this game. I received this for free via Playstation Plus, and decided to jump right in without playing the tutorial.i enjoyed theI'm mixed on this game. I received this for free via Playstation Plus, and decided to jump right in without playing the tutorial.i enjoyed the first few stages, figuring out the controls on my own, and decided to hop into the tutorial. Big mistake. This game has the most difficult and frustrating tutorial I have ever seen in a game. It only provides basic information, and you're going to have to view some external sources to get a grip on the game physics, and just how to approach certain tasks. Once you've cracked the shell, however, you'll be surprised. Jet Set Radio is different, from the floaty in-line skating controls, to the art style that makes it look like a three-dimensional cartoon, the game doesn't contain a real worthwhile story, but it seems nonessential to the overall package in the first place. No doubt about it JSR is a blast once you learn it's tricks, but it can be frustrating to learn those tricks in the first place. Full Review »
  3. Sep 27, 2012
    7
    This has the worst control of any game I can remember. But do you know what? That's not the point. This release is all about originality andThis has the worst control of any game I can remember. But do you know what? That's not the point. This release is all about originality and nostalgia. When a game that seemed ahead of it's time years and years ago still seems ahead of it's time today, it really makes you think. I feel this way when I first played it on the dc and I still feel this way now. However, if you never played this back in the day, there's a very good chance you will hate this game more than anything you can possibly imagine. We have the worst controlling game ever, but it is still kinda fun. Also, I only paid $9 for this and I always take into account price. Anymore $$$ and my review score would drop like crazy. Full Review »