Joe Danger PlayStation 3

Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 48 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 48
  2. Negative: 0 out of 48
  1. 99
    If you love video games and love having fun, then you need to do yourself a favor and download Joe Danger. I guarantee you this, it will be high on top of my game of the year list come December.
  2. Play UK
    96
    Full of charm and packed with variety, this is easily one of the best PSN games you can currently buy. [Issue#194, p.102]
  3. 95
    In a lot of ways, Joe Danger feels like it was made by Nintendo: it will constantly surprise and delight you, in the way the best first-party Nintendo games do.
  4. Joe Danger is one of the surest things you can find on the PlayStation 3 and deserves to be on every single system out there. It's that good.
  5. 92
    Joe Danger is one of the best PlayStation Network games. It's got very funny gameplay in a 2D environment. You can race on many different tracks and do the craziest stunts. Besides of the singleplayer the game also has a level editor and the possibility to play one of the custom made levels in multiplayer.
  6. Joe Danger surprised the crap out of me. I'll freely admit that. It's just so much fun and so ridiculously addictive.
  7. Hello Games' debut is a fine stunt in its own right, a game bursting at the seams with play that is never anything less than perfectly focused.
  8. I'm the type of player who has a threshold of patience when it comes to trial and error games, and Joe Danger doesn't come close to crossing it. Far from it.
  9. It's amazing to say that this little gem came from a development team of only 4 guys, and not a Sega or a Nintendo developer. It is a case of David vs. Goliath where David kicks ass again, and provides enough content, game play, and charisma that many will take notice of this little studio by the name of Hello Games.
  10. Joe Danger arrives on the gaming landscape as a refreshing experience despite its strong resemblances with other titles in the genre. It's cartoony visuals, bright colors and intuitive gameplay makes it a worth-checking out title.
  11. Jan 2, 2011
    90
    There is no question that Joe Danger is one of the best PSN titles of the year.
  12. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    90
    Indie studio Hello Games' debut release hooked us from the get-go, and with good reason: It's one of the best original games to hit PSN. [Sept 2010, p.82]
  13. It's an ambitious and exciting new franchise, but more importantly it shows off a small developer that deserves some big attention.
  14. It's good, really good. Hello Games might only be four strong but their first game has production values and a sense of purpose many retail PS3 games can only dream of. It's a focused, concentrated game, apparently clear of feature-creep and publisher intervention, and manages to tick all the right boxes.
  15. Despite containing and combining elements from a number of different games, Joe Danger feels completely unique. This game will keep you coming back for more as you attempt to boost your score with insane combos.
  16. It has a ridiculously high replay ability factor, it's a game that is dressed in its proverbial Sunday best with regards to both aesthetic and technical ability, and it makes the age-old videogame designer headache of creating an experience that is "easy to pick up, hard to put down" look easy.
  17. A marriage between Excite Bike and Trials HD that everyone should attend.
  18. Joe Danger is one of the best games I have experienced in digital format, it is worth every cent of its value and perhaps even more. It offers much more fun than most games.
  19. 2008 was the year of Braid, 2009 was the year of Trials HD and 2010 is the year of Joe Danger. This is the best game you can buy right now on the PlayStation Network.
  20. 90
    Don't hazard anymore guesses, Joe Danger is a must own on the PSN.
  21. What it comes down to is that one word I've been tossing around throughout the review: fun. Joe Danger is simply fun. I can't see how I could possibly say anything better about the game.
  22. Magnetic. Joe Danger is a cartoon-style Trials HD, showing a perfect level design and a compelling structure.
  23. games(TM)
    90
    If you can't find at least one thing you love about this deceptively deep arcade game then you're probably not a gamer at all. [Aug 2010, p.118]
  24. Joe Danger is the most "Nintendo" of the not-Nintendo games; a statement that clarifies the awesome quality of this wonderful PSN game.
  25. All in all, Joe Danger is everything that's great about indie games on consoles.
  26. If Joe Danger had online multiplayer and an online hub to exchange track creations, it would be darn near perfect. Even without these additions, the game's still an incredible value.
  27. Joe Danger is everything I hoped it was. The game's incredibly fun, highly addictive, and offers a decent amount of replay value to those who wish to complete every last challenge, and stay number one amongst their friends on the leaderboards.
  28. Games Master UK
    87
    Essential and utterly addictive. [Aug 2010, p.101]
  29. Joe Danger is the perfect example of a downloadable title. It's fun, infinitely replayable, and 75% cheaper than most discs you would buy in a store.
  30. Jan 9, 2011
    85
    An old school videogaming experience, filled with nice graphics and exciting tricks. Definitely worth the bucks.
  31. Joe Danger is an absolute delight. Fast, colourful, playable and fun it delivers on every front.
  32. 83
    A truly enjoyable game with some minor quibbles. You can pick it up and race in five-minute sprints when you feel like killing a little time, or you can drill down into it with the level editor and the myriad unlockables.
  33. PSM3 Magazine UK
    83
    Innovative and deceptively deep. Another PSN masterpiece. [Aug 2010, p.90]
  34. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    80
    Simple without being simplistic, this is a gem. It requires a bit of patience though. [September 2010 p79]
  35. AceGamez
    80
    Joe Danger isn't quite Mario on a Motorbike – it doesn't have the depth, variety or genre-shaping progressiveness for that. Instead, it's a warmly nostalgic tribute that manages to land itself in between the inventive, physics-based precision of Trials HD and the frenetic speed runs of Excitebike – which is a pretty impressive trick for anyone to pull off.
  36. If you like collecting things, going fast, beating times, posting scores... If you like videogames, basically, you ought to like this.
  37. This delightful stunt racer more than makes up for lacklustre multiplayer with an excellent solo career.
  38. A cheerier, more versatile alternative to Trials HD, that manages to make trial-and-error fun.
  39. Great controls, nicely varied (and genuinely challenging) goals, a good sense of humor and cartoonish physics make Joe Danger a real treat to play.
  40. On the whole though Joe Danger is still popcorn entertainment at its finest.
  41. A charming and highly addictive racing platformer with plenty of staying power assured by the excellent level designer tool. Great value.
  42. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    80
    A refreshing breath of nostalgic gaming, and brilliant value at under a tenner. [July 2010, p.104]
  43. As a happy note of homage to the 90s classics, Joe Danger will especially appeal to everyone who grew up during the same period – though its delights are universal. Its frustrations never compromise the sense of fun.
  44. Enjoyable from beginning till end, even with the spikes in difficulty as challenges became harder at the tail end of the game, Joe Danger has helped put Hello Games on the map as a developer to watch out for.
  45. 78
    Joe Danger is great fun wrapped around a retro sound track and some clean cartoon graphics. He's a likeable little motorhead with a goofy grin and, as with all daredevils, a rather unhealthy obsession with fame and a charming little death wish.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 74 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Aug 20, 2010
    9
    Excellent game that keeps on giving and giving as you play.
    Initially I was disappointed with the purchase but 3-4 hours in and the game kept
    Excellent game that keeps on giving and giving as you play.
    Initially I was disappointed with the purchase but 3-4 hours in and the game kept introducing new, more exciting and more addictive levels and I was blown away.
    Trying to get all medals will leave you locked to your TV for hours and they are very fun and balanced to try and get so even if they are difficult, you never feel annoyed. I am disappointed created level sharing can only be done between friends instead of like LBP where you can just download any level from the world but I guess I was expecting too much. Definitely one of the many PSN gems. Highly recommended.
    Full Review »
  2. May 27, 2017
    8
    I did not finish all the levels, but I did play quite much. Joe Danger is very entertaining, one of the best bike tricks games I have played;I did not finish all the levels, but I did play quite much. Joe Danger is very entertaining, one of the best bike tricks games I have played; I think its arcade style is the key. This is, for example, obviously better than Bumped BMX. It also poses a nice challenge if you want to get all the stars (something I intended to, but ended up dropping it). Full Review »
  3. May 12, 2015
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. I do not have to say anything more. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it............................ Full Review »