• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Mar 13, 2012
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 78 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 77 out of 78
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 78
  3. Negative: 1 out of 78
  1. Mar 22, 2013
    100
    An ethereal, innovative, emotional cooperative experience, thatgamecompany’s Journey is one that any PlayStation 3 owner should take.
  2. Mar 21, 2012
    100
    Journey is really an amazing journey from start to finish.
  3. Mar 21, 2012
    100
    Journey is incredibly short - you'll finish in about two hours - and it's not really all that challenging in the traditional gameplay sense. But it will be meaningful to you in a way that a bigger, louder, flashier game won't.
  4. Mar 19, 2012
    100
    There is nothing to keep you coming back for more besides the absolutely exquisite environments, the very-clean interface, solid controls, and Triple-A camera cutscenes.
  5. Mar 19, 2012
    100
    Journey is a marvel, a hallucination of gameplay that feels as deep and immersive as the borderless desert where it begins.
  6. Mar 15, 2012
    100
    I haven't been more captivated by a video gaming in years. There were moments in Journey that I stopped pushing the directional stick because I was too busy taking in my character's surroundings. Should you play Journey? Yes. You should play Journey. Right now.
  7. Mar 13, 2012
    100
    Certainly a game that offers up aesthetic beauty, both in its visuals and score. But where it truly shines is in the experience of playing it. In Journey, the mere acts of jumping, running, and sliding around a painstakingly crafted world are enough to invoke strong emotional responses from the player. Every element, every mechanic, every single little thing works in seemingly effortless concert to deliver a game that is experientially beautiful from surface to core.
  8. Mar 13, 2012
    100
    Journey's visual and sound design sets new standards for interactive entertainment. This alone makes it an extraordinary work, but it's the way that these aesthetic elements come together with beautifully subtle direction and storytelling to create a lasting emotional effect that elevates this to one of the very best games of our time.
  9. Mar 12, 2012
    100
    Games that summon up emotions from a cold son of a bitch like me are incredibly rare... Journey had me grabbing the box of tissues by the time it was over.
  10. Mar 12, 2012
    100
    After playing Journey, I couldn't get it out of my head for days. Journey goes left, where every other game goes right; the game is a crafted experience that has been built with such care and attention that it easily transcends the label of "game" and expands into a broad, delightful experience.
  11. Mar 6, 2012
    100
    Journey stands head and shoulders above all other artistic games. It's truly avant-garde and pushes the boundaries of what a video game can mean to its audience.
  12. 100
    Miss out on Journey, and you'll deny yourself one of the greatest gaming experiences on any platform to date.
  13. Mar 5, 2012
    100
    Journey is the surprise of the year. It is also a must-have title for everyone thinking that virtual worlds are meant to be more than just a playground where they would while a couple of mindless hours away.
  14. Mar 5, 2012
    100
    When games take it to the next step and become art!
  15. Mar 2, 2012
    100
    Journey is a different game that everyone will love. If you like videogames you must play Journey. It is a very special experience you will never get enough of.
  16. Mar 1, 2012
    100
    Journey is something that purely relates to who we are and what we are, an experience that will give you as much as you give to it, that needs to be absorbed and processed.
  17. Mar 1, 2012
    100
    From the first spec of sand to the last flake of snow, developers thatgamecompany have managed to get more emotion and more life into a video game than anything else in recent memory; and the striking confidence that the game exudes drags you along for the ride without once letting you go, until the credits roll by two or three hours later.
  18. Mar 1, 2012
    100
    I don't want to be misconstrued as generic or uninspired when I say that Journey is an awesome game. In the most classical, archaic sense of the word, Journey is a beautiful, evocative and unequivocally transcendental experience.
  19. Mar 1, 2012
    100
    Journey isn't a game - it's an experience. The few hours that this complete gem contains are completely breathtaking, and cement Thatgamecompany's status as visionaries.
  20. Mar 1, 2012
    100
    Experiences like Journey don't come around very often in any form of media. thatgamecompany's crafted an interactive tour de force that's triumphant in its ability to cycle through human emotions. It's a game that demands your involvement on a spiritual level, rather than a purely mechanical one, and while it's never preachy in its philosophical intentions, it's hard not to get wrapped up in the divine nature of Journey's tale.
  21. Mar 1, 2012
    100
    The fact that Journey has so effectively condensed the experience into a two-hour interactive poem is an astonishing achievement. It is the evolution of Jason Rohrer's art game Passage, bringing an unmatched humanity to the experience through its multiplayer.
  22. It's one of the few games you'll genuinely reflect on after completion, and an object lesson in how less can be more when it comes to crafting narrative and eliciting investment. This is a game about which I would change nothing, and I can't remember having said that too many times before.
  23. Mar 5, 2012
    97
    Even though it's only two hours long, you won't forget playing Journey anytime soon. And more importantly, you won't regret it: this game is absolutely gorgeous, complemented by simple, but incredibly effective gameplay. If you're a gamer with some form of self-esteem, you'll pick this up as soon as possible.
  24. Mar 23, 2012
    96
    Journey transcends conventional gaming and becomes more of an interactive experience designed to evoke (not force) emotional responses through subtle imagery, sublime music, and the perfect balance of adventure and discovery. It is easily one of the best games I've played this year and one of the top 5 PSN titles of all time.
  25. Mar 14, 2012
    96
    Yes, there have been experiences like Journey before, but it has been far too long since we've seen one.
  26. Sep 20, 2012
    95
    If there was ever a game deserving of the word beautiful in it's description, it's Journey. The game is stunning to look at, satisfying to play and oozes atmosphere from every angle of its dynamic story and immersive world. Sure it's short by regular game standards but Journey is not a regular game. If your ready for an experience that will surprise you, move you and stick with you for many years after its done, then maybe this is the Journey for you.
  27. Mar 19, 2012
    95
    Anyone who loved Team Ico's games or thatgamecompany's other efforts like fl0w and Flower will love this – it's easily worth the $15 asking price.
  28. Mar 14, 2012
    95
    It might sound like like an exaggeration, but it's not - Journey makes people stop what they are doing and then it holds them in its thrall, making them sit down to watch in silence (barring the occasional exclamation.) When I played it towards the end of an entertaining Saturday night, my living room slowly filled up with my roommates' guests, none of them saying anything, just sitting and watching. If thatgamecompany ever decides to take over the world we will all be in trouble.
  29. Mar 13, 2012
    95
    Great visuals, wonderful audio, varied gameplay, interesting idea for internet co-op and remarkable atmosphere make this Journey unforgettable. [April 2012, p.68]
  30. Mar 12, 2012
    95
    I can ramble on about Journey for pages and pages on end but nothing I say can really explain the delight of such a game.
User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1140 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 34 out of 358
  1. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    Are you are tired of gaming? Has your interest in gaming been dulled over time with the endless games that are just the same but in aAre you are tired of gaming? Has your interest in gaming been dulled over time with the endless games that are just the same but in a different clothing? Or are you just plain fed up of all that DLC and penny pinching that is plaguing the industry these days? Then let me tell you, you need this game!

    Save this game for a rainy day where your feeling a little melancholy, a little tired of the world around,
    close the door on society and make sure no one can interrupt you for the next two hours and be absorbed into what will be the most touching two hours of your gaming life!
    You will embark on a journey with another, they will become your video gaming soul mate for the next 2 hours. Both will share an understanding, like two people who speak different languages but can communicate just by knowing what the other person is gesturing. This is gaming nirvana and it has given me a little faith back in video games.
    When its done like this no other medium can speak to you this way! I'm afraid companies like this are in a minority but by god am I going to support them to put out more games like this. Ive stood up and applauded my favorite bands, Ive even stood up and applauded my favorite movie in the theater! But never and I mean never have I stood up and applauded a game after I have completed it, that is until now and I'm not ashamed to tell you that is exactly what I did...even shaking my own head in disbelief of what I was doing!....this piece of art is THAT good!
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    The word "experience" is thrown around a lot in the gaming industry these days, but this game is truly an experience like no other.From startThe word "experience" is thrown around a lot in the gaming industry these days, but this game is truly an experience like no other.From start to finish, it is a beautiful, emotionally engaging adventure and a real masterpiece. For anyone who says that video games can't be art, this game might have a few things to say to you. Full Review »
  3. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    I had never heard of this game when I bought it... I was just bored. When it finally finished downloading and I got to start playing, itI had never heard of this game when I bought it... I was just bored. When it finally finished downloading and I got to start playing, it quickly became one of the best things I've ever downloaded from the PS store. I love the silence, the lack of direction, and the mood music. I didn't realize that the other [whatever you are] that showed up at some point was actually another person. I thought it was just the computer... It was pretty jarring when the game ended so soon, but the environment was so rich that I didn't mind at all. I just liked running around the world, so I just played it over again... At least as much fun the 2nd time through. I'm going to have to go check out Flow and Flower now as well because Journey was just an incredibly enjoyable experience. Thanks ThatGameCompany! Full Review »