• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Mar 13, 2012
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 78 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 77 out of 78
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 78
  3. Negative: 1 out of 78
  1. Mar 1, 2012
    90
    Journey celebrates the poignancy of nature, it startles you with the unexpected, and empowers you in an exhilarating, unforgettable conclusion...The hours spent completing Journey will create memories that last for years.
  2. Mar 2, 2012
    90
    By the alchemy of developer thatgamecompany's skill and vision, it is also unique, exciting, mysterious, and utterly lovely, with mesmerising landscapes and stirring music. It deploys more 'gamey' elements than any of the developer's works before it, and does so successfully, while maintaining the feel of an evocative, interactive art piece.
  3. Mar 14, 2012
    96
    Yes, there have been experiences like Journey before, but it has been far too long since we've seen one.
  4. Mar 1, 2012
    90
    Journey is a visual stunner thanks to some remarkable sand movement technology and excellent animation work, both on the main character and the strange creatures encountered along the way. For a game all about dry, harsh deserts, the way things move in the world make everything feel much more like a vast ocean. The graphical beauty is accompanied by an equally breathtaking musical score, which responds to character actions and changes in location with ease.
  5. Mar 1, 2012
    90
    If Journey is about God, then God has played an awful lot of video games. One of the most fascinating things about thatgamecompany's sand-blown chunk of spiritual eye candy isn't that it reinvents gaming, or extends the medium's reach: it's that it takes old ideas - sometimes very old ideas - and repackages them in clever, stylish, and unexpected ways.
  6. Mar 15, 2012
    100
    I haven't been more captivated by a video gaming in years. There were moments in Journey that I stopped pushing the directional stick because I was too busy taking in my character's surroundings. Should you play Journey? Yes. You should play Journey. Right now.
  7. Mar 1, 2012
    90
    Altough short and not very challenging, Journey is a different and extraordinary kind of videogame, an experience you cannot miss for every other title someone could advise you.
  8. Mar 13, 2012
    93
    One of the most emotionally charged gaming pilgrimages ever devised. Tiny but tremendous. [Apr 2012, p.92]
  9. Mar 23, 2012
    96
    Journey transcends conventional gaming and becomes more of an interactive experience designed to evoke (not force) emotional responses through subtle imagery, sublime music, and the perfect balance of adventure and discovery. It is easily one of the best games I've played this year and one of the top 5 PSN titles of all time.
  10. Mar 2, 2012
    90
    Journey is an unforgettable experience. Even when the details fade, the emotions that it evoked will stay with us for years.
  11. Mar 2, 2012
    100
    Journey is a different game that everyone will love. If you like videogames you must play Journey. It is a very special experience you will never get enough of.
  12. Mar 19, 2012
    95
    Anyone who loved Team Ico's games or thatgamecompany's other efforts like fl0w and Flower will love this – it's easily worth the $15 asking price.
  13. Mar 6, 2012
    100
    Journey stands head and shoulders above all other artistic games. It's truly avant-garde and pushes the boundaries of what a video game can mean to its audience.
  14. Mar 1, 2012
    80
    Journey's real issue, if it has one, goes much deeper than that. It's a resolutely linear game in which your range of interactions is minimal. For some, that will make it a pretty but hollow novelty; boring, perhaps. But for those who play games to explore strange lands, see beautiful sights and to immerse themselves – for however brief a time – in a new world, Journey is perfect. And what's more, they'll find someone like them to share it with.
  15. Mar 2, 2012
    90
    Where Journey truly excels is in its top-of-the-range visuals, inventive world and its tonal breadth. One moment you will find yourself avoiding the spotlights of menacing, sentient war machines 20 times your size in a barely lit dungeon, and the next plodding through the harsh mountain peaks with almost no visibility, all accompanied by a genuine sense of dread as your character visibly starts to die and can barely walk anymore.
  16. Mar 1, 2012
    90
    An immaculately constructed, expertly choreographed experience that tells a story in a unique, intelligent way, exploring themes of faith and fate, death and rebirth with a rare delicacy of touch. That it comes at a time where risk is routinely avoided, sent out into a landscape clouded by doubt and dominated by the safe, the tried and tested? Maybe that's the real wonder.
  17. Mar 2, 2012
    93
    Journey is captivating, beautiful and elegant. This game manages to be unusually engaging with its artistic proposal and unique gameplay. Absolutely brilliant.
  18. Mar 2, 2012
    90
    Journey is a defiant bridge between art and game, managing to emotionally connect without being cloying, and succeeding in being mysterious without becoming pretentiously vague and obfuscating. Journey's interactive, visual, and aural elements work together, rather than fight with each other, in order to provide a flowing, seamless, influential, and utterly exhilarating experience...This is interactive art. This is how it's done.
  19. Mar 30, 2012
    80
    Journey's worth playing for the unique experiences offered but the actual involvement with the mechanics isn't always engaging enough to match.
  20. Apr 17, 2012
    93
    Journey is a mysterious adventure game where you travel through deserts, caverns and blizzards while trying to reach a faraway mountain. Even though the game is only a couple hours long it makes up for it by being really atmospheric and original. There really aren't any other games like it. It also has quite a bit of replay value, since you can play it in multiplayer mode as well. [Apr 2012]
  21. Mar 5, 2012
    82
    All you need is two hours, two buttons to play with and when you're exploring you almost always get awards. This is one of the most compelling journeys in a desert you'll ever get.
  22. Mar 1, 2012
    90
    Another amazing and beautiful spell from "that" game company. Don't think about it... just live it!
  23. Mar 1, 2012
    85
    You can hardly call Journey a game, it's more of an experience. The images are hard to forget and the music is absolutely beautiful. The only disappointment is that the game takes only three hours to complete.
  24. May 12, 2012
    90
    Journey is short, very short, clocking in at a little over an hour. But that hour is an hour of unique and magical experiences.
  25. 90
    Less is most definitely more in this beautifully understated co-op adventure, that dares you to make sense of its enigmatic voyage.
  26. Mar 1, 2012
    90
    Journey's DNA consists of two intertwining strands: mystery and beauty. These two ideals weave together a wordless experience that manages to feel both familiar and foreign, which is no small feat. While this excursion through the sands may be just a brief stopover from the glut and glitz of other games' well-stocked campaigns and multiplayer suites, Journey still delivers a complete package with the artistic vision intact.
  27. It's one of the few games you'll genuinely reflect on after completion, and an object lesson in how less can be more when it comes to crafting narrative and eliciting investment. This is a game about which I would change nothing, and I can't remember having said that too many times before.
  28. Apr 4, 2012
    90
    Journey is an amazing achievement for thatgamecompany and it shows just how far Jenova Chen's studio has come since since flOw. The game controls like a dream, is startlingly beautiful and will be one of those games people will talk about for months.
  29. Mar 1, 2012
    90
    My gaming tastes are such that I'm perfectly conditioned to fall in love with something like Journey. Keep that in mind - if you're more about visceral action or epic 40-hour experiences, you should possibly look elsewhere. But in my opinion, this is one of the best games out there that can provide you with an experience - and a memorable, highly positive one at that.
  30. Mar 19, 2012
    90
    Whether it's seen as an incomplete art object or a transcendent masterpiece, Journey is beautiful from its solemn opening to its masterful ending.
User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1173 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 35 out of 365
  1. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    Are you are tired of gaming? Has your interest in gaming been dulled over time with the endless games that are just the same but in aAre you are tired of gaming? Has your interest in gaming been dulled over time with the endless games that are just the same but in a different clothing? Or are you just plain fed up of all that DLC and penny pinching that is plaguing the industry these days? Then let me tell you, you need this game!

    Save this game for a rainy day where your feeling a little melancholy, a little tired of the world around,
    close the door on society and make sure no one can interrupt you for the next two hours and be absorbed into what will be the most touching two hours of your gaming life!
    You will embark on a journey with another, they will become your video gaming soul mate for the next 2 hours. Both will share an understanding, like two people who speak different languages but can communicate just by knowing what the other person is gesturing. This is gaming nirvana and it has given me a little faith back in video games.
    When its done like this no other medium can speak to you this way! I'm afraid companies like this are in a minority but by god am I going to support them to put out more games like this. Ive stood up and applauded my favorite bands, Ive even stood up and applauded my favorite movie in the theater! But never and I mean never have I stood up and applauded a game after I have completed it, that is until now and I'm not ashamed to tell you that is exactly what I did...even shaking my own head in disbelief of what I was doing!....this piece of art is THAT good!
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    The word "experience" is thrown around a lot in the gaming industry these days, but this game is truly an experience like no other.From startThe word "experience" is thrown around a lot in the gaming industry these days, but this game is truly an experience like no other.From start to finish, it is a beautiful, emotionally engaging adventure and a real masterpiece. For anyone who says that video games can't be art, this game might have a few things to say to you. Full Review »
  3. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    I had never heard of this game when I bought it... I was just bored. When it finally finished downloading and I got to start playing, itI had never heard of this game when I bought it... I was just bored. When it finally finished downloading and I got to start playing, it quickly became one of the best things I've ever downloaded from the PS store. I love the silence, the lack of direction, and the mood music. I didn't realize that the other [whatever you are] that showed up at some point was actually another person. I thought it was just the computer... It was pretty jarring when the game ended so soon, but the environment was so rich that I didn't mind at all. I just liked running around the world, so I just played it over again... At least as much fun the 2nd time through. I'm going to have to go check out Flow and Flower now as well because Journey was just an incredibly enjoyable experience. Thanks ThatGameCompany! Full Review »