• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Mar 13, 2012
User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1141 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    Are you are tired of gaming? Has your interest in gaming been dulled over time with the endless games that are just the same but in a different clothing? Or are you just plain fed up of all that DLC and penny pinching that is plaguing the industry these days? Then let me tell you, you need this game!

    Save this game for a rainy day where your feeling a little melancholy, a little tired of
    Are you are tired of gaming? Has your interest in gaming been dulled over time with the endless games that are just the same but in a different clothing? Or are you just plain fed up of all that DLC and penny pinching that is plaguing the industry these days? Then let me tell you, you need this game!

    Save this game for a rainy day where your feeling a little melancholy, a little tired of the world around,
    close the door on society and make sure no one can interrupt you for the next two hours and be absorbed into what will be the most touching two hours of your gaming life!
    You will embark on a journey with another, they will become your video gaming soul mate for the next 2 hours. Both will share an understanding, like two people who speak different languages but can communicate just by knowing what the other person is gesturing. This is gaming nirvana and it has given me a little faith back in video games.
    When its done like this no other medium can speak to you this way! I'm afraid companies like this are in a minority but by god am I going to support them to put out more games like this. Ive stood up and applauded my favorite bands, Ive even stood up and applauded my favorite movie in the theater! But never and I mean never have I stood up and applauded a game after I have completed it, that is until now and I'm not ashamed to tell you that is exactly what I did...even shaking my own head in disbelief of what I was doing!....this piece of art is THAT good!
    Expand
  2. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    The word "experience" is thrown around a lot in the gaming industry these days, but this game is truly an experience like no other.From start to finish, it is a beautiful, emotionally engaging adventure and a real masterpiece. For anyone who says that video games can't be art, this game might have a few things to say to you.
  3. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    I had never heard of this game when I bought it... I was just bored. When it finally finished downloading and I got to start playing, it quickly became one of the best things I've ever downloaded from the PS store. I love the silence, the lack of direction, and the mood music. I didn't realize that the other [whatever you are] that showed up at some point was actually another person. II had never heard of this game when I bought it... I was just bored. When it finally finished downloading and I got to start playing, it quickly became one of the best things I've ever downloaded from the PS store. I love the silence, the lack of direction, and the mood music. I didn't realize that the other [whatever you are] that showed up at some point was actually another person. I thought it was just the computer... It was pretty jarring when the game ended so soon, but the environment was so rich that I didn't mind at all. I just liked running around the world, so I just played it over again... At least as much fun the 2nd time through. I'm going to have to go check out Flow and Flower now as well because Journey was just an incredibly enjoyable experience. Thanks ThatGameCompany! Expand
  4. Mar 17, 2012
    10
    The game is short, but I assure you will live a unique experience, I loved the game, the graphics are excellent, the music is amazing ... the game is linear, but worth the $ 14.99 and more
  5. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    Very few games offer an experience that shows so much through the use of so few words. The beautiful art style leads you to see a once beautiful society that only exists fully in the minds of the player. Thank you to thatgamecompany for creating what could possibly be the most thoughtful and thought provoking game of this year.
  6. Mar 16, 2012
    10
    I usually don't review games on Metacritic. And no, that's not because I'm affiliated with thatgamecompany (I have actually reviewed Bastion before), but I won't blame anyone for thinking so. The reason I'm writing this review, as opposed to other games, is that I actually think Journey is delivering something I have never before experienced in gaming. I have read people complain about theI usually don't review games on Metacritic. And no, that's not because I'm affiliated with thatgamecompany (I have actually reviewed Bastion before), but I won't blame anyone for thinking so. The reason I'm writing this review, as opposed to other games, is that I actually think Journey is delivering something I have never before experienced in gaming. I have read people complain about the two hours, arguing that the game "is not worth it". That's all fair, but for me $15 (or 115 SEK as I paid here in Sweden) is in my opinion a reasonable price. We pay almost the same price for a movie ticket here, and in my book the two hours Journey take to "finish" one time is by far a better time to spend than most films. But enough of arguing about price and length. The main reason for writing this review is that I really hope people give this game a chance (whether you buy it or play it at some friends house). As someone here hinted at, this is not what I would call a "game" per se, as much as en experience. It's not for everyone, I get that, but I felt more joy, wonder and excitement while sliding on sand dunes and slowly exploring the different areas, than I have done with any media product before. What made me really take to it was when I stumbled upon another character in game (or she/he stumbled upon me). At first I didn't know what to do - should I follow her/him, can we communicate in some way, do I even want to play this with someone? We ended up joining each other, and started exploring. As we solved puzzles, traversed beautiful landscapes and faced some dangers together, I grew more and more attached to this stranger I was travelling with. Whoever it was, I felt that we were in this together, that despite our not being able to speak we connected and wanted to experience this world together. When we got lost from each other, both tried to find our way back together. We always waited for the other, and when one of us found something of interest, we would try to get the other's attention to go look at it together. I have never felt this connection with another player in any other game - I genuinely cared for my friend, and in some way hoped that we would - on another playthrough - happen upon each other and somehow recognize one another. There are of course other factors that make this game such a unique experience - the incredibly intuitive and unobtrusive feeling of control, the fantastically realized vistas and halls, the emerging musical score - but the "multiplayer" aspect is what really struck home with me. It is not a flawless product: the openness of the areas are mostly illusory, and I would enjoy some way of playing this without having to worry about the length of the scarf. But it doesn't have to be flawless (and what is?) when it enable me to feel and enjoy things I have never before done. If more games tried to do what Journey does, I would have a less pessimistic view of the gaming industry than I do now. Make what you will of this review, but do not dismiss the game simply on questions about Metacritic's system, the potentially **** practice of some reviewers, or the length of the game. Dismiss it because you've tried it and it's not your thing, if something. But at least give it a shot, these types of games does not come often enough to afford skipping them. Expand
  7. Apr 14, 2012
    4
    I do not understand these reviewers, it's as if we played a different game. I encourage you to read this before you spend the steep 15 dollars on this game. In short, Journey had so much potential and was initially so intriguing but by the end your journey is for nothing; there is no pay off, no explanation, and if you really made a bond with your SIX (or more) random pals may I introduceI do not understand these reviewers, it's as if we played a different game. I encourage you to read this before you spend the steep 15 dollars on this game. In short, Journey had so much potential and was initially so intriguing but by the end your journey is for nothing; there is no pay off, no explanation, and if you really made a bond with your SIX (or more) random pals may I introduce you to my wall? Really.

    I enjoy artsy games and movies. I love a good and a simple storyline because generally games like those have one or two profound things to say. On the surface Journey seems to have that. When you meet your "partner" for the first time it's exciting: here's someone who can help me along in this place. But in the end it's a solo experience. At first, I thought it might be important to wait for my partner as they bounded this way and that, so I did. Then I lost them. Then I forged ahead and determined there was no need for them. You literally have no need for the other person and in fact they slow you down.

    Then things get more intense and you're faced with an enemy.... who hits you hard and does basically nothing to you, so there's no danger and nothing a partner could have done anyway. Things get more intense, you're fighting against the elements but while you're freezing nothing is really happening to you. I found another partner and they just ran from me, there was no reason for us to be together.

    You get to the end and you expect some epiphany, something as touching as these reviewers claim there is but there is NOTHING. You walk into a white light and it literally says "Thank you for playing Journey!" ...really? You leave the game as clueless as you entered it. The description promises you'll uncover or learn something and that is just a flat lie.

    A beautiful game with a great concept and tons of hype but in the end it could not be less worthwhile.
    Expand
  8. Mar 16, 2012
    10
    Simply incredible, it may be short but what a beautiful ride to the horizon. 10 pounds may seem a little steep but when the visuals and audio are this fantastic who cares. A completely refreshing experience when compared to the modern hum drum by the numbers games that most developers pump out. A perfect example of when a game elevates itself to true art. The imagination that went intoSimply incredible, it may be short but what a beautiful ride to the horizon. 10 pounds may seem a little steep but when the visuals and audio are this fantastic who cares. A completely refreshing experience when compared to the modern hum drum by the numbers games that most developers pump out. A perfect example of when a game elevates itself to true art. The imagination that went into this is reason I play video games... To be entertained. Expand
  9. Apr 7, 2012
    10
    This isn't a game my friends, it's an experience. An experience that every self proclaimed gamer should have on their ps3. The whole time I was blown away by the beautiful landscapes and by the mystery surrounding everything. The ending was magnificent to say the least.
  10. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    It isn't often, these days, when a game inspires you to think. It's even less often that it asks you to consider what is of real importance in life. It's also rare to bring a single, poignant tear to your eye after just a couple of hours. Journey might not do that for you, but it did for me. Games like Heavy Rain have tried, and failed in my view, to merge gaming with cinematicIt isn't often, these days, when a game inspires you to think. It's even less often that it asks you to consider what is of real importance in life. It's also rare to bring a single, poignant tear to your eye after just a couple of hours. Journey might not do that for you, but it did for me. Games like Heavy Rain have tried, and failed in my view, to merge gaming with cinematic storytelling. Journey tries, and greatly succeeds, at merging gaming and art. Don't miss this one, folks. It isn't about where you're going... Expand
  11. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    Journey can be summed up in one word: captivating. My experience playing Journey was like no other; no other game has tugged on my emotions in such an eccentric manner. I found myself giggling uncontrollably as I wandered the strange and alien landscapes and observed the strange motions of my companion. I knew nothing of my companion, neither did he know anything of me; however, I learnedJourney can be summed up in one word: captivating. My experience playing Journey was like no other; no other game has tugged on my emotions in such an eccentric manner. I found myself giggling uncontrollably as I wandered the strange and alien landscapes and observed the strange motions of my companion. I knew nothing of my companion, neither did he know anything of me; however, I learned a lot about my partner, and he did the same: we understood our motions, patterns, and goals, something that I have never experienced in a game with no literal communication integrated. It almost seemed we were best of friends from the time we adventured! Journey captures the feeling of adventure and companionship without missing a hitch. In a sense of adventure, I still find myself wide-eyed as I recall the environments I trudged through. The vast landscapes jawed and mantled outward, putting me under the impression that the land was endless, absorbing me further into the adventure. In a sense of companionship, I have never felt so attached to a person I know nothing of. We stayed close, we rushed to each other's aid, and we made sure no one was left behind. I'm sure the developers were yearning for this friendship, but I am still captivated. I will say no more, for I fear I will spoil if I continue. If you are bored and yearn for a new gaming experience, purchase Journey. You will not regret it. I am sure I will be playing it many times, as I wish to meet new companions and aid them on their journey. Expand
  12. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    Just had the most Unique, touching and amazing gaming experience ever. I must applaud ThatGamCompany and Santa Monica studios for sculpting a game with a radical inception and builds to a glorious finale. Art and Music weave this story flawlessly, without Dialogue or any sort of narrative. All I have to say is at the center of this game there is a beating heart... and of course this gameJust had the most Unique, touching and amazing gaming experience ever. I must applaud ThatGamCompany and Santa Monica studios for sculpting a game with a radical inception and builds to a glorious finale. Art and Music weave this story flawlessly, without Dialogue or any sort of narrative. All I have to say is at the center of this game there is a beating heart... and of course this game is no other than JOURNEY. Expand
  13. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    This game is a wonderful experience all should have. The length is really not a problem. I would rather have a short quality game than a long game that is mediocre. This is a simply fantastic experience.
  14. Mar 14, 2012
    6
    Sure this game is worth 9/10 if you didn't pay for it: I'm looking at you professional reviewers. It would even be 9/10 if it were 5 bucks and I wouldn't be pissed that it is only 1 hour of gameplay. But no, this game is FIFTEEN DOLLARS for a 1 hour game (a good one hour game nonetheless). However it is the very definition of linear, and the art style is just a ripoff of Team ICO games.Sure this game is worth 9/10 if you didn't pay for it: I'm looking at you professional reviewers. It would even be 9/10 if it were 5 bucks and I wouldn't be pissed that it is only 1 hour of gameplay. But no, this game is FIFTEEN DOLLARS for a 1 hour game (a good one hour game nonetheless). However it is the very definition of linear, and the art style is just a ripoff of Team ICO games. Save your money and watch on youtube if you are really bored. Expand
  15. Mar 26, 2012
    9
    You probably already have heard that Journey is a bit short. And that it's also a fantastic experience. What else is there to add? Well, there is one thing that truly fascinates me. As you slide down sand dunes and glide smoothly in air, and as you solve the (not too difficult) obstacles you encounter other players (if you're online). So what, you say? The beauty of other players inYou probably already have heard that Journey is a bit short. And that it's also a fantastic experience. What else is there to add? Well, there is one thing that truly fascinates me. As you slide down sand dunes and glide smoothly in air, and as you solve the (not too difficult) obstacles you encounter other players (if you're online). So what, you say? The beauty of other players in journey is that there is no way to communicate with them. Everyone's anonymous so you can't write to your "partner", there's no voice communication available and you can't decide to invite friends. The only way you communicate is through your actions and an additional "blip" feature (which is acctually a "loading feature", i.e you use it to activate certain environmental objects and/or load up your partners ability to jump and fly further). Togheter you can make the game even more amusing and find new ways to conquer the journey. It's also essential to cooperate in order to attain certain trophies. This means Journey makes the trophy system a bit more interesting than your average game. But are there no cons? Journey is beautiful, relaxing and I've been playing it over and over, as I've already said but it can't be emphasized enough. The only con is that it should've been just a little longer. I want more! Expand
  16. Mar 13, 2012
    9
    A natural progression from flow thru to flower and now journey. That Game Company once again comes up shining with yet another new experience. If you could convey the feeling you get while playing journey to the human race the world would be a more peaceful place. Journey manages to create/convey an almost spiritual feeling of peace/ wonderment/ relaxation and beauty all rolled into oneA natural progression from flow thru to flower and now journey. That Game Company once again comes up shining with yet another new experience. If you could convey the feeling you get while playing journey to the human race the world would be a more peaceful place. Journey manages to create/convey an almost spiritual feeling of peace/ wonderment/ relaxation and beauty all rolled into one for the experience that is journey. That game company do this by using some clever minimalistic design concepts. Of minimal interaction and communication with other players while at the same time the game promotes and plays better if you journey together searching and investigating or later as a spirit guide for the newer players helping them achieve the final hidden gems. Although short at just over 3-hours on my first playthru. Journey requires multiple playthrus to see everything and for it to reveal its secrets. So you can at least triple the game-time. another different idea is you never know how many people you actually met or interacted with until completion of the run thru it could be 1 player or more usual multiple players. A must play if you want to play a totally new concept game instead of the stale shooter genre. Expand
  17. Mar 13, 2012
    9
    One of the best games I've ever played. This will get criticism for being too short, but that maybe can't be helped as the pacing is just right. I must buy 4 games a month, all platforms, and this is the first game in a very long time that has really made me sit up and take notice. If you like Shadow of the Colossus, Ico or Portal, definitely give this a go. A gamer's game.
  18. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    I just played through Journey and decided it was important enough to make a Metacritic account and give it a 10. It's that impressive. The safest way to come at this would be to look at it like you would a dramatic, Oscar-worthy movie. When you watch a movie in the theaters that blows you away, do you walk out and say, "____ movie was okay, but i wish there was an extra hour of footage."I just played through Journey and decided it was important enough to make a Metacritic account and give it a 10. It's that impressive. The safest way to come at this would be to look at it like you would a dramatic, Oscar-worthy movie. When you watch a movie in the theaters that blows you away, do you walk out and say, "____ movie was okay, but i wish there was an extra hour of footage." No, you just enjoyed it for the artform that it was. It stands alone, just as the director edited it down to a succint experience. It is a beautiful, moving film. This game should be viewed in that light. Everything works perfectly together to create 2 hours of the most moving gaming experience you will probably ever have. It is the most moved i have ever been by a game and i have been playing games consistently since i got Super Mario brothers on the NES when i was in 2nd grade. A single playthrough might take about 2 hours. It did for me. I recommend that you block out 2 hours, dim the lights, throw on some headphones and sit down and really immerse yourself in this game. The score is haunting and beautiful, i would buy the soundtrack just to listen at work. The music matches the scenes effortlessly. The visuals, controls, and music are so perfect that you really forget that you are playing a game. Finally the way that multiplayer is approached may be the greatest single greatest achievement of this game. They have somehow removed the ability for anonymous online shooter tea-baggery by making the only form of interaction a cute little sound note when you press the O button. Your fluid movement through the landscape is enhanced by your proximity to the other person. Secondly, (and importantly), the multiplayer is limited to only 2 people in your world at a time. You and one other; which is an interesting dynamic in this foreign, desolate landscape. The psychology of only ONE other person bonds you with the other anonymous, yet real, person and both of you have to figure out how to get through to the the next area. I can only compare it to travelling in a foreign country. You share a basic bond with this foreign other cloaked person who you can only communicate by bleeping to, or sending off a power orb. Finally, you move and fly better when you help the other anonymous player out, so the incentive is to not be a lone wolf. To sum it all up, i can not think of a bigger gaming return on investment than the $15 you will spend for this experience. This is the kind of game you can show to people who dont "get gamers" and say this is why gaming is an artform. Truly awesome. If you have a PS3, and have read this far, just buy it already. You won't be sorry. Expand
  19. Mar 14, 2012
    9
    This game is awesome, wonderful and inspiring. I think, it's primarily intended for an adult audience, because young and very young gamers will possibly describe it as boring - but it isn't. In fact, it offers a gaming experience, which hasn't seen for a long time. Personally, I was flashed for two hours - that is short, but rather inspiring entertainment for two hours than playing aThis game is awesome, wonderful and inspiring. I think, it's primarily intended for an adult audience, because young and very young gamers will possibly describe it as boring - but it isn't. In fact, it offers a gaming experience, which hasn't seen for a long time. Personally, I was flashed for two hours - that is short, but rather inspiring entertainment for two hours than playing a boring "blockbuster" game like Mass Effect 3 for endless hours. Big shouts to the composer of the game music. Expand
  20. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    After 10 minutes, I couldn't put the controller down until I finished the game. Many artsy-games stray too far into art and fall into confusing, messes of frustration. Journey, on the other hand, is one of the best examples of artistic expression and story-telling through the video game medium. If the art style, wordless narrative, or discovery don't grab you, the anonymous multiplayerAfter 10 minutes, I couldn't put the controller down until I finished the game. Many artsy-games stray too far into art and fall into confusing, messes of frustration. Journey, on the other hand, is one of the best examples of artistic expression and story-telling through the video game medium. If the art style, wordless narrative, or discovery don't grab you, the anonymous multiplayer will. You communicate by "sing-shouting" to one another, which quickly becomes familiar and delightful. There's something humbling about exploring a world with a stranger while having a vocabulary that's been reduced to one word and I felt more connected with my anonymous companions in Journey than any other gamers I've met in public online gaming sessions. Journey is an amazing story-telling experience that didn't lose its video game hat. Expand
  21. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    There's not much to say. And I don't want to repeat what it's being said about it. The beauty, the loneliness, the haunting atmosphere, the anonymous encounters. I'm in awe, speechless, still. "Journey" is not a game. It's a miracle.
  22. Mar 18, 2012
    4
    After becoming fatigued from constant big budget games that require you to shoot stuff in the face I thought I'd give this a try as it looked so unique and different. After playing Journey though my feelings have changed. The game play isn't unique or different so much as it is none existent.

    All you seem to do is press forward on the left stick to the point where at the end of the game
    After becoming fatigued from constant big budget games that require you to shoot stuff in the face I thought I'd give this a try as it looked so unique and different. After playing Journey though my feelings have changed. The game play isn't unique or different so much as it is none existent.

    All you seem to do is press forward on the left stick to the point where at the end of the game my thumb was starting to ache. There is no challenge, nothing to interact with, no humor and the game generally is all about the graphics.

    It's more of an interactive piece of art rather than a game that's meant to be experienced rather than played. But at just an hour and a half long I was relieved when it was over and for the price it's really not worth it.
    Expand
  23. Mar 13, 2012
    8
    Journey is a great little game. Amazing graphics, great music, and a somewhat unique multiplayer mechanic make it a memorable experience. I especially liked the fact that there was no dialogue so you were forced to use the sounds and body language of your character in order to communicate with your companion. I felt like it could have been just a little bit longer.. maybe another hour orJourney is a great little game. Amazing graphics, great music, and a somewhat unique multiplayer mechanic make it a memorable experience. I especially liked the fact that there was no dialogue so you were forced to use the sounds and body language of your character in order to communicate with your companion. I felt like it could have been just a little bit longer.. maybe another hour or so. All in all, definitely worth $15. Expand
  24. Mar 14, 2012
    8
    It's a great game, it's better then great it could of been one of the BEST games of 2012 if it was an actual 60$ game. bottom line is it shouldn't be called journey, a journey doesn't take 1 hour of gameplay, it was one of the biggest game teases, because i was having so much fun taking my time, admiring the beuty and then Bam the ending hits you and it's a game over. im not sure if iIt's a great game, it's better then great it could of been one of the BEST games of 2012 if it was an actual 60$ game. bottom line is it shouldn't be called journey, a journey doesn't take 1 hour of gameplay, it was one of the biggest game teases, because i was having so much fun taking my time, admiring the beuty and then Bam the ending hits you and it's a game over. im not sure if i would have spent 15 dollars if i knew it was this short, but it does deserve an 8 because of everything else except lasting appeal Expand
  25. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    Loved everything about this game. As others have said it is short if you only play through once but I have played through several times and will definately be doing several more. Brilliant!
  26. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    People who complain about Journey being short, are just ignorant and can't enjoy the simple games play, environments, and fun of it. This game is beautiful and leaves you in a good mood.
  27. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    I can only think that the people giving this negative reviews are the sort of people who switched off WALL-E after 10 minutes because 'no-one says anything'. The sort of people who walked out of Schindler's List because 'it's all in black and white'. The sort of the people who'd read Tess of the D'Urbervilles and...no sorry, these aren't the sort of people who'd read books, appreciate artI can only think that the people giving this negative reviews are the sort of people who switched off WALL-E after 10 minutes because 'no-one says anything'. The sort of people who walked out of Schindler's List because 'it's all in black and white'. The sort of the people who'd read Tess of the D'Urbervilles and...no sorry, these aren't the sort of people who'd read books, appreciate art or love music and they certainly don't know the definition of the word Philistine. Expand
  28. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    Triumph of thatgamecompany. Pure masterpiece! The most emotional gaming experience. The bigger your heart the bigger shock and catharsis you will get in the end) Every pixel, camera angle and note form magic nonstop. Deep and yet simple. Genius made multiplayer. Fully confirms statement that games can be art.
    Amazing.
  29. Mar 18, 2012
    10
    i was so moved by this game, i signed up to metacritic just to give this a 10. my favourite gaming experience since demon's souls, and easily the most a video game has affected my emotions.
  30. Nov 22, 2012
    10
    I'm gonna keep it short and spoiler free. Journey is probably the closest you'll get to a perfect game. It's the best downloadable game on PSN, and in my opinion one of the best games ever made. I have nothing negative to say about it. It's short but It's so unique and amazing that it doesn't really matter. The music is excellent, The graphics is top notch and can be compared with God ofI'm gonna keep it short and spoiler free. Journey is probably the closest you'll get to a perfect game. It's the best downloadable game on PSN, and in my opinion one of the best games ever made. I have nothing negative to say about it. It's short but It's so unique and amazing that it doesn't really matter. The music is excellent, The graphics is top notch and can be compared with God of War III and Uncharted 3. The story really touched me emotionally and had me shed a tear, when I completed the game for the first time and the credits was over I got very surprising message, it had me just sitting there, thinking: "I have just been on an incredible Journey". Journey made my heart and soul full of love, it made me happy. One of the best gaming experiences out there.

    If you are a person with patience, open and positive to a new gaming experience, then you should definitely get Journey. If you're in doubt you can always try the free demo available for download on PlayStation Store.
    Expand
  31. Apr 8, 2012
    4
    Journey is not bad game, it's not fun, yet still has an appeal to it, but the whole time I played it there was that niggle in the back of my mind saying "I only like this because I've been told how good it is." In truth journey is a fairly linear and boring, and my initial perception was altered by what I had heard of the game. Twenty minutes into the game this wore off and I began to seeJourney is not bad game, it's not fun, yet still has an appeal to it, but the whole time I played it there was that niggle in the back of my mind saying "I only like this because I've been told how good it is." In truth journey is a fairly linear and boring, and my initial perception was altered by what I had heard of the game. Twenty minutes into the game this wore off and I began to see what Journey really was; a obsessed with it's own self importance that it can't be bothered to tell a coherant story but instead uses pseudoistic imagery to cover up for the non-existant story. Towards the end I did garner something from the game as me and my fellow adventurer which the game had seamlessly connected me too slowly trudged through the snow. It was to say the least brilliant. It was the only real moment me and my companion shared and we'd been together since the start of the game. Marching onward close to death until we fell into the snow unable to continue. It was raw, it was powerful, no thought is as colloasal as that of failure.

    However in the game industry there is a misconception that for a game to be good it must have a happy ending and suddenly the raw emotion and loss I felt from me and my companion dying evaporated as we were miraculously revived and finished out journey. Regardless of how good a game is if that satasfaction only occurs for 15 minutes towards the end of a two hour game and that moment is then stripped away and may as welll never occured then I'm sorry but it's not worth my time or money.
    Expand
  32. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    There really nothing I have seen or read that could have prepared me for this experience. Regardless, I don't want to spoil a single inch of this game. This may sound ridiculous, but perhaps after playing it you will understand. This game completely challenges the very concepts of what video games can be and the kinds of long inert emotions we've never known existed. Anyone with anThere really nothing I have seen or read that could have prepared me for this experience. Regardless, I don't want to spoil a single inch of this game. This may sound ridiculous, but perhaps after playing it you will understand. This game completely challenges the very concepts of what video games can be and the kinds of long inert emotions we've never known existed. Anyone with an open-mind and taste for exploration and art should be playing this game. Expand
  33. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    The game is beautiful and immersive. Mechanics are smooth and wonderfully intuitive. In short, it is a joy to play. The experience stuck with me long after I was away from my PS3. Some have complained about length, but for me, this is non-issue. The replay value is great, especially for the second and even third play through. Also, my time is valuable. I would rather play a greatThe game is beautiful and immersive. Mechanics are smooth and wonderfully intuitive. In short, it is a joy to play. The experience stuck with me long after I was away from my PS3. Some have complained about length, but for me, this is non-issue. The replay value is great, especially for the second and even third play through. Also, my time is valuable. I would rather play a great game that lasts an hour an half than a merely good game that lasts much longer. Highly recommend. Expand
  34. Mar 18, 2012
    10
    Despite everything I'd heard and seen of "Journey", no one could have convinced me that I would be close to tears by the end of it -- first of sadness, then of joy. Ninety of the best minutes I've spent holding the PS3 controller. You'd pay twice this price for an incredible ninety-minute film on Blu-Ray -- and consider the support you're giving thatgamecompany to develop more gems like this one.
  35. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    This game is truly amazing, its not often games live up to the hype but this one does. It is the most beautiful game I have ever played and if your playing this with a good stereo im sure you would agree. The music is as much a part of the game as the gameplay itself. The experience is so beautiful that I am going to be booking sessions for my friends so they can experience the game in myThis game is truly amazing, its not often games live up to the hype but this one does. It is the most beautiful game I have ever played and if your playing this with a good stereo im sure you would agree. The music is as much a part of the game as the gameplay itself. The experience is so beautiful that I am going to be booking sessions for my friends so they can experience the game in my theater. I personally wasnt bothered by the short length, I thought it was appropriate and well worth the price considering the quality. This is yet another to have get a ps3 if you dont have one. Expand
  36. Mar 16, 2012
    10
    Not so much a game as a work of art come to life. During the closing sections of this title, I burst into tears. It moved me like no other game has. I don't know why, exactly... But if you are looking for true catharsis in a video game, look no further. People sometimes mention that the game is too short. Yes... It is very short, but every second you hold the controller is wonderful. It'sNot so much a game as a work of art come to life. During the closing sections of this title, I burst into tears. It moved me like no other game has. I don't know why, exactly... But if you are looking for true catharsis in a video game, look no further. People sometimes mention that the game is too short. Yes... It is very short, but every second you hold the controller is wonderful. It's a perfectly formed and executed game and the fact that you can finish it in just one sitting merely adds to the cohesive, unique atmosphere that Journey offers... And it is a Journey that I plan to take quite a few more times. Expand
  37. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    i loved flower and was already interested in buying this as soon as i found out it was from thatgamecompany. i was not dissapointed. there are little elements of flower like the way there are mini little tornados of cloth swirling around. but the game is much different. much more different than anything ive played. its a fantastic game that deserves recognition just for breaking away fromi loved flower and was already interested in buying this as soon as i found out it was from thatgamecompany. i was not dissapointed. there are little elements of flower like the way there are mini little tornados of cloth swirling around. but the game is much different. much more different than anything ive played. its a fantastic game that deserves recognition just for breaking away from the pack. then a whole other level of respect for just being damned good. the game is short but worth playing several times. its a game i want to show to all of my friends. the graphics are beautiful with a unique art style and the soundtrack is flawless. some people are saying it took less than an hour to finish the game. if thats the case, they just rushed through it without exploring and finding the secret temples and other things that make the game so fun. im pretty sure i read Gaea say that he expects an hour of gameplay for every dollar spent... thats absurd. god of war 3 and the uncharted games werent 60 hours a piece, yet im completely happy with them. Expand
  38. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    A very refreshing game. I've already played through it 4 times and plan on having a couple more goes at it. Good games are hard to come by now a days. It seems too often that I buy a game only for it to sit on my shelf for months without being beaten because after a couple hours of game play it becomes a chore to continue playing the game. This was not the case with Journey. JourneyA very refreshing game. I've already played through it 4 times and plan on having a couple more goes at it. Good games are hard to come by now a days. It seems too often that I buy a game only for it to sit on my shelf for months without being beaten because after a couple hours of game play it becomes a chore to continue playing the game. This was not the case with Journey. Journey is everything I could have asked for in a perfect game: simple, compelling, visually mesmerizing, and short. The anonymous multiplier was a welcomed twist. Journey was wonderful from beginning to end and I'd gladly work an hour or two to pay for this inexpensive and awesome game. Expand
  39. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    This is what I play video games for! No other medium could make me feel like Journey just did. A truly unique experience anybody should give a try! The anonymous cooperative play works fantastic and you really bond with your partner despite the minimal interaction with each other.
  40. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    The game is short, but totally worth it! It has to be said, it's very short, I finished it in about 2 hours, but IMO it has good replay value so don't worry about it. Oh and I really recommend playing through it in one go, it was truly a fantastic thing to experience the journey together with the same companion, even if you have no idea who it was.

    Actually, I found out later that I had
    The game is short, but totally worth it! It has to be said, it's very short, I finished it in about 2 hours, but IMO it has good replay value so don't worry about it. Oh and I really recommend playing through it in one go, it was truly a fantastic thing to experience the journey together with the same companion, even if you have no idea who it was.

    Actually, I found out later that I had played with two seperate people, but I had still played through a majority with one, and it showed. It's hard to explain, but you build up this trust with the other companion, I don't wanna say to much but know this... This journey will be somewhat challenging if you intend to do it the "right way" instead of just rushing through, and doing this with another player gives that "we fight together, we die together"-bond. I was expecting actually to do travel mostly by myself but this was indeed a welcome surprise.

    I say that not only is this an unique and fantastic game worth every penny... It's also really beautiful, and then I'm talking not only about the visuals which themselves are absolutely outstanding, the music is also really amazing. It's simply a very complete package. It was fun, the game is... Well, the best word to describe it is playful.

    "Journey" might not be for everyone, but for anyone wanting a break from all the games about shooting or slashing different creatures, even if it's only 2 or 3 hours, should really look into this game. Seriously, go get it if you haven't already, that is if you have access to a Ps3. If that's the case then buy one, borrow one or steal one if needed... BECAUSE THIS GAME IS FRIKKIN' BEAUTIFUL!

    So the price is a bit high, but I still recommend it, it's a truly unique game and I hope to see similar multiplayer in other games in the future. 10/10.
    Expand
  41. Mar 16, 2012
    10
    This game is beautiful. The environments are stunning. The music is haunting. The best PSN game I have ever purchased and I haven't felt this good since Dear Esther on the PC. Buy this game, it is better if you do not know much about it before playing it. Go BUY IT.
  42. Mar 13, 2012
    9
    I could go into great, nonsensical, detail on the many reasons as to why you should play this simply magnificent game but I will only give you one; you will have never played anything like it before, and I doubt you ever will again. Unique, emotional, brilliant and enjoyable. The only way to understand how good this game is is to organically experience itself, not by reading the words ofI could go into great, nonsensical, detail on the many reasons as to why you should play this simply magnificent game but I will only give you one; you will have never played anything like it before, and I doubt you ever will again. Unique, emotional, brilliant and enjoyable. The only way to understand how good this game is is to organically experience itself, not by reading the words of other critics. Expand
  43. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    I've used metacritic for years, but have never felt compelled to actually write any reviews... until now.

    I cannot stress enough what an amazing experience this game was. I sat in my room, eye level to my tv, turned out all the lights and let the game take me away. I beat the game in less than two hours, yet I know my adventure will forever be a part of me. This game was incredibly
    I've used metacritic for years, but have never felt compelled to actually write any reviews... until now.

    I cannot stress enough what an amazing experience this game was. I sat in my room, eye level to my tv, turned out all the lights and let the game take me away. I beat the game in less than two hours, yet I know my adventure will forever be a part of me. This game was incredibly powerful and moving.

    I don't want to ruin anyone's experience by providing too much information. I just want to argue that this game, this masterpiece, is a direct rejection of Roger Ebert's unfaltering stand that video games can never be art. After playing this game, I can honestly say, he is incredibly wrong in his assessment.

    This game is beautiful and I cannot recommend it enough. Play. This. Game.

    Maybe I'll run into some of you out there :)
    Expand
  44. Mar 14, 2012
    2
    After all the hype, when it's all said and done this is a terrible game. The developers tried to pull a Shadow of colossus or Ico kind of presentation but they failed miserably. The game itself is pretty but oh so simple and boring. As for the co-op all you do is watch other people doing their own thing. What a joke. and the game is so short it's not even funny.
    If you want to play games
    After all the hype, when it's all said and done this is a terrible game. The developers tried to pull a Shadow of colossus or Ico kind of presentation but they failed miserably. The game itself is pretty but oh so simple and boring. As for the co-op all you do is watch other people doing their own thing. What a joke. and the game is so short it's not even funny.
    If you want to play games that are surreal and beautiful you're better off getting the Ico and Shadow of the colossus HD release. I can't believe sony made such a big deal out of this mediocre title, flow was good but not this. There are some great games coming out around this time and you should spend your money on those instead of this drivel. I'm sorry if my review is harsh but almost everyone is making this game out to be so much more than it really is and I can't stand it.
    Expand
  45. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    If you have enjoyed FLOW and FLOWER this game will truly please and surprise you. It is unadulterated joy. If you want to settle the endless debate whether games are art than this game should convince anyone that disagree withe the above statement that games can be art.
    Journey is an experience. It is very difficult to say anything about it without spoiling the experience. However one
    If you have enjoyed FLOW and FLOWER this game will truly please and surprise you. It is unadulterated joy. If you want to settle the endless debate whether games are art than this game should convince anyone that disagree withe the above statement that games can be art.
    Journey is an experience. It is very difficult to say anything about it without spoiling the experience. However one thing can be said: if you manage to connect to the experience you will feel emotional by the time the end credit will appear on the screen. Your would want to meet the people that shared the Journey with you, for some of them you will be a mentor and for some others you will be a mentee. The only downside to this game is that the experience will only last an average of 2 hours. I know, it is a short time for a game that cost a tenner but please remember that the journey does not have to end and ca be restarted again and again. Jenova Chen is a visionary developer and if Sony does not renew the contract for 3 more games I will personally go to Santa Monica to make them see sense.
    Expand
  46. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    I literally just created a Metacritic account, whilst listening to the soundtrack of this game, just so I could review it.. Don't listen to some of the poor reviews.. They are all valid points, yes the game is short, yes the game is simplistic.. But the simple nature of the game is what makes it so amazing.. The online goes hand and hand with this.. The music, the visuals.. There areI literally just created a Metacritic account, whilst listening to the soundtrack of this game, just so I could review it.. Don't listen to some of the poor reviews.. They are all valid points, yes the game is short, yes the game is simplistic.. But the simple nature of the game is what makes it so amazing.. The online goes hand and hand with this.. The music, the visuals.. There are points in this game that will make your jaw drop.. Make you want to cry.. And even make you feel a bond.. All you have to do is go into the game with an open mind.. You're going on a Journey, make the best of it. Expand
  47. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    First off let me say that if you go into this with any kind of expectation you're doing it wrong. Don't buy this game thinking you'll be doing any extreme platforming or monster hunting. That aside, this game is a work of art. I went into this with my suspicions but take my word for it, this game is breathtaking. I have never experienced anything that exudes so much raw emotion. Without aFirst off let me say that if you go into this with any kind of expectation you're doing it wrong. Don't buy this game thinking you'll be doing any extreme platforming or monster hunting. That aside, this game is a work of art. I went into this with my suspicions but take my word for it, this game is breathtaking. I have never experienced anything that exudes so much raw emotion. Without a single spoken word you can take this journey both alone and from time to time with other people who happen to be playing and you can almost feel a connection with the other person. In a gaming society of nerdrage and hatred that crops up pretty much anywhere there's multiplayer, Journey manages to make you feel good inside as you explore the gorgeous scenery with someone whom you can't speak to or even know their name. The only flaw is its length and even that isn't as bad as it seems because it allows you to take an entire journey in one sitting. I can not recommend this game more. Expand
  48. Mar 16, 2012
    10
    I have never liked a psn game so much. This game may be short but it is beyond awesome. The visuals are breathe taking. Bottom line this game is rocks.
  49. Mar 17, 2012
    10
    This is more than a game, with games like this you have to be proud to be a gamer, remember your first kiss, how long that was? nonetheless you will remember it forever.
  50. Mar 18, 2012
    10
    I'm new here. While some people are claiming all the reviews are being written by people who worked on the game, I can safely say that most aren't. For some people, this game will fall short of expectations... not because it doesn't achieve something great, but because it doesn't follow the usual conventions of the gaming industry.

    Journey is very different from most games. In spite of
    I'm new here. While some people are claiming all the reviews are being written by people who worked on the game, I can safely say that most aren't. For some people, this game will fall short of expectations... not because it doesn't achieve something great, but because it doesn't follow the usual conventions of the gaming industry.

    Journey is very different from most games. In spite of its mechanics and playstyle being far more akin to conventional games, in many ways, it's less of a typical game than thatgamecompany's previous titles, flOw and Flower.

    The basic premise is simple - you're given an objective to reach, and little else. The controls are simple - you can walk, jump, and sing.

    If that was all there was to the experience, that would be disappointing. If you're disappointed, you missed the point. The game is about emotion, connecting with a stranger, and experiencing beauty.

    The user "aspentitan" has written a "5/10 Buyer Beware" review. I VERY STRONGLY recommend reading it. The game is short, but it's BEAUTIFUL. And it's not just beautiful in the sense of art style, or graphics (although those are beautiful too). It draws on the emotions of the player in ways that very few games do.

    I'm rating the game 10/10. That doesn't mean 100% and doesn't mean the game is perfect. It DOES mean, however, that it's something EVERYONE should experience.

    If you play the game online, and are disappointed, try again without being online. For some people, the solitary experience is more powerful. If you tried it offline first, and it didn't live up to your hopes, sign in and try again. For many, the connection with another Journeyer makes the experience worthwhile.

    There's a reason I keep using the word "experience" in this review - it's because "play" doesn't fit. I've already said this game isn't your usual game. It's barely a game at all, and treating it as nothing more than a game isn't going to do it justice.
    Expand
  51. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    Journey of any strict attempt cunningly escapes. Even when the surprising conclusion is reached, what remains is more dazzling than factual information â
  52. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    This is by far one of the best gaming experiences I've ever had since 1984 when I started playing games. But you need to know what your getting yourself into first. There are no bullets, no nudity, no spoken words and no blood and gore. This is a game about beauty, religion, life, and death. There is truly nothing else like it. This is for the intellectual crowd. Longtime gamers whoThis is by far one of the best gaming experiences I've ever had since 1984 when I started playing games. But you need to know what your getting yourself into first. There are no bullets, no nudity, no spoken words and no blood and gore. This is a game about beauty, religion, life, and death. There is truly nothing else like it. This is for the intellectual crowd. Longtime gamers who have seen and done everything and feel jaded with the market. The people who require more than a gun and a target to be entertained. It's true the game can be completed in about two hours but it's made to be replayable and I promise you those two hours are more entertaining than games at $60 that last 80 hours. In other words you will be blown away by this experience. It's that good! There is no filler material in here and everything here is all top notch. Don't bother calling yourself a gamer if you don't play this game...GAME OF THE YEAR material no doubt!! Expand
  53. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    Telling you what happens would do the experience a disservice. This isn't a game to wield skills to triumph over tricky challenges - it's a place to feel wonder, camaraderie, adversity and joy. You've no doubt heard lots of vague over the top claims about it already, but you may even find the meaning of life in this game. It's that profound. It's not an hour - it's 2 or 3 the first timeTelling you what happens would do the experience a disservice. This isn't a game to wield skills to triumph over tricky challenges - it's a place to feel wonder, camaraderie, adversity and joy. You've no doubt heard lots of vague over the top claims about it already, but you may even find the meaning of life in this game. It's that profound. It's not an hour - it's 2 or 3 the first time through. Still, that gives you good odds of encountering another player in the same area and even in the last 10 minutes it made me feel more than a whole box of 60-hour games could.

    It manages to convey more meaning than most games or movies, without using a single word (outside of the clumsy "how to play" overlays at the start...) In fact, it would have lost some impact if it tried to spell things out for you - instead, the moments you encounter may be the same as most other players find, but they are yours. Like life itself, you may be like countless others who went before you, but you are you and this is your story. Everything is fleeting, so just enjoy the moment and push on to what's next.

    Meeting other players, you may not be able to articulate your communication well, but there's a common understanding that the other who is with you is another living person and that changes the nature of the experience knowing that you're sharing it with someone else. It's a beautiful experience and I'd recommend it to anyone who feels some connection to other humans, no matter how little.
    Expand
  54. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    Journey reminds us that long ago we came to "see" art as something far deeper than photo-realism.
    Like a beautiful dream, this experience though brief. . . is hauntingly memorable.Playful yet purposeful
    gaming elements create moments of joy, originality, and emotion not to be missed!
  55. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    i suppose this is a short product if you like to finish games as fast as you can. if you're like me and enjoy searching every nook and cranny it will last much longer. soaking in the visuals and ambiance is a must, and you will want to replay it. if you have bad taste, and enjoy the michael bay style of in your face moremoremore, it is not for you. the people giving this game badi suppose this is a short product if you like to finish games as fast as you can. if you're like me and enjoy searching every nook and cranny it will last much longer. soaking in the visuals and ambiance is a must, and you will want to replay it. if you have bad taste, and enjoy the michael bay style of in your face moremoremore, it is not for you. the people giving this game bad scores are the same people who give god of war games "10's" even though it is a $60 game that lasts 5 hours. Expand
  56. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    If you're at all skeptical about this game, especially regarding its 2-hour storyline and pricetag, forget your concerns - because this game is worth it.

    This is not a game, but an experience that is well worth playing. I cannot stress just how absorbing it is; the graphics (whilst simple and minimalist) work beautifully with the lighting used. There is one particular scene in which
    If you're at all skeptical about this game, especially regarding its 2-hour storyline and pricetag, forget your concerns - because this game is worth it.

    This is not a game, but an experience that is well worth playing. I cannot stress just how absorbing it is; the graphics (whilst simple and minimalist) work beautifully with the lighting used. There is one particular scene in which you're 'sand surfing', which is so beautifully done that it could literally take your breath away. Normally, poor music could distract you from such an engaging backdrop. However, it's beautfully composed, well written, and fits into each part of the game seamlessly. Whether it's a particularly stressful part of the game or if it's conveying doom/gloom, it works.

    Co-op doesn't have chat, avatars, names (until you complete the game), but while playing this game, you realise how little those things matter. I completed the game with one person - never said a word. And yet, for the entirety of the game, we stuck together like two brothers, helping one another through each step of the way. Even when I was knocked back and hurt, he came back for me. This accentuates what co-operative gaming is all about and how it should be.

    All in all, this game, despite the fact I had to buy a Playstation Plus membership to buy this game and it only took me 2 hours at most to complete it, buy this game. It was worth the hassle. This is one of the most engaging, stunning, touching gaming experiences that I have been lucky enough to play in my lifetime, and I only hope this is not the last we hear of thatgamestudio.
    Expand
  57. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    Journey is a rare breed, a game that's a refreshing breath of originality and that's all about the experience, rather than score-chasing. Journey tells a strong story which I wont spoil, but I was not expecting it to grab me the way it did. And it does so using only visuals and music. And the musical score of this game is among the best of the best. It envelopes the player in the settingJourney is a rare breed, a game that's a refreshing breath of originality and that's all about the experience, rather than score-chasing. Journey tells a strong story which I wont spoil, but I was not expecting it to grab me the way it did. And it does so using only visuals and music. And the musical score of this game is among the best of the best. It envelopes the player in the setting and sets the mood perfectly. The audio in Journey really is as important as the visuals, which are fantastic. This game has some of the best use of colour you can find in videogames and the animations are fluid. All adding up to an emotional connection with the player. The game occasionally has minor framedrops, but they are and few and far inbetween. The people saying this game is too short are wrong. Yes, I'm sure you can finish it in an hour, if you just rush through it instead of taking your time, and in the process going against everything this game is about; The journey, not the endpoint, the clue lies in the name. I personally took my time with the game during my first playthrough, I tried to explore everyting, collect everything and interacted with and helped other players. Doing so took me over two hours (according to Raptr), I belive I was close to three. These other caped random travellers remain anonymous until the end of the game, making for a great online experience where you either cooperate or ignore other players. No annoying shouting kids with microphones to ruin your experience here! The only form of communication you have is your character making a sound with a "speechbubble" in an alien language. It's simple and weird at first, but it works perfectly. The game is designed to be played in one sitting, like a film (movie), which is why it's not the longest game ever, but there's also no needless filler and there's nothing stopping you from replaying it. Expand
  58. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    Like all other thatcompanygame productions Journey is something else. Thou short, the game makes it up with a sublime sound-score and superb visuals. Its surprising how attached you can feel to random travelers you meet along the way. In terms of quantity the game is just right, its meant to be played repeatedly. Its one of those cases of quality over quantity. I had never written a reviewLike all other thatcompanygame productions Journey is something else. Thou short, the game makes it up with a sublime sound-score and superb visuals. Its surprising how attached you can feel to random travelers you meet along the way. In terms of quantity the game is just right, its meant to be played repeatedly. Its one of those cases of quality over quantity. I had never written a review or bothered signing up for metacritic, I felt compelled to honor the game. Expand
  59. Mar 16, 2012
    10
    I was a fan of thatgamecompany's previous efforts such as flow and flower, But journey is definitely my favourite of their games and one of the best psn games ever made. Its more 'gamey' than flow and flower so if you were put off by their simplistic control this could change your mind around. Describing journey is difficult as its basically a work of art, You play an undescribed cloakedI was a fan of thatgamecompany's previous efforts such as flow and flower, But journey is definitely my favourite of their games and one of the best psn games ever made. Its more 'gamey' than flow and flower so if you were put off by their simplistic control this could change your mind around. Describing journey is difficult as its basically a work of art, You play an undescribed cloaked wanderer who wakes up upon the desert and see a light from the mountain and through the games 3 hour length you work closer and closer to your destination with a quick sing with the circle button to interact with other players and the X button to jump/fly. Its a game I highly recommend to my highest degree and for anyone who says that video games can't be art, this game will certainly change your mind. Expand
  60. Mar 18, 2012
    10
    In 25 years of gaming I never had a gaming experience like this.

    Playing the last two Chapters with a stranger was just incredible. Like many others here said before, you start caring for each other in a way you never experienced before. We tried to stay as close to each other as possible to keep each other warm, we cared for each other if one of us got struck by an enemy and we always
    In 25 years of gaming I never had a gaming experience like this.

    Playing the last two Chapters with a stranger was just incredible. Like many others here said before, you start caring for each other in a way you never experienced before. We tried to stay as close to each other as possible to keep each other warm, we cared for each other if one of us got struck by an enemy and we always waited for the other to catch up.

    There was a moment near the end where the heart warming music got to an emotional peak and I suddenly started crying tears of joy...It was just so incredibly intense.

    So if you own a PS3, buy this game, make yourself comfortable, turn up the volume and turn down the light. I'm pretty sure you won't regret it.
    Expand
  61. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    I knew what I went into buying this game, 2 hours of gameplay and that's it, but what I didn't knew was those were the 2 hours best spent with my PS3 ever. You play it and realize this is what gaming are truly capable of, there is nothing but movement, no dialog, and still the game reach inside you make you feel like no game has ever done before. This is fact!. And multiplayer is trulyI knew what I went into buying this game, 2 hours of gameplay and that's it, but what I didn't knew was those were the 2 hours best spent with my PS3 ever. You play it and realize this is what gaming are truly capable of, there is nothing but movement, no dialog, and still the game reach inside you make you feel like no game has ever done before. This is fact!. And multiplayer is truly beautiful. You are not capable of communicating in any way, Thatgamecompany does not force you to cooperate, but you do it because otherwise you'll be all alone. When I played it I befriended another player, and we helped each other, when I got kick back by a flying creature, my new unknown friend ran back to me and helped me up. A truly touching moment in my gaming carrier. Sadly we got lost to each other, like losing a someone you loved and I was all alone.... Truly amazing :) Expand
  62. Apr 14, 2012
    9
    A unique, amazing experience. Play this if you own a PS3. Visuals and music are perfect. Multiplayer is unique but doesn't add anything gameplay-wise. Story is open for interpretation but the ending is pretty emotional.
  63. Aug 9, 2012
    3
    Sony promised us so much and I am so disappointed with this title. Flow was ok but this one is not. There are some great games coming out around this time and you should spend your money on those instead of this letdown. Ok I like the arty style but I do not get taken away by the game contents for even one moment.
  64. Mar 16, 2012
    10
    If there's an afterlife I want it to be exactly like this game. It's art. It's love. It's human compassion and trust and beauty and peace. It is what humanity would be if it lost the power to hate. It isn't a game. It's..... God!
  65. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    I'm not a casual gamer but this one intrigued me. it was incredible. Short, but very memorable. I haven't had a gaming experience like Journey. If I had to criticize anything, it would be the length, but it was just long enough that made it came together so well.
  66. Mar 18, 2012
    10
    The fact that Journey has so effectively condensed the experience into a two-hour interactive poem is an astonishing achievement. It is the evolution of Jason Rohrer's art game Passage, bringing an unmatched humanity to the experience through its multiplayer.
  67. Mar 17, 2012
    10
    Best game I have ever played. If ever there was an argument for games as art, this is it. The mechanics are intrinsically tied to the story, and it's just...awesome. Short, yes. But nevermind $15, I could've paid $60 for this and still been happy.
  68. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    this is an amazing experience that everyone must play you're really stupid if you don't buy it you'll be missing out on game of the year. Theres so much more then the videos reviews show and I LOVE THIS GAME
  69. Mar 18, 2012
    10
    Many people ask "can games be art?" This bite-sized piece of entertainment answers this question with an emphatic "YES!" with unbelievable particle effects, haunting music and gorgeous visuals . More often than not games constantly bark orders at the player and tell them what to do all the time. Journey has one goal. From the beginning of the game you see a huge mountain in the farMany people ask "can games be art?" This bite-sized piece of entertainment answers this question with an emphatic "YES!" with unbelievable particle effects, haunting music and gorgeous visuals . More often than not games constantly bark orders at the player and tell them what to do all the time. Journey has one goal. From the beginning of the game you see a huge mountain in the far distance, and without any prompting you instantly know you must get your little pointy-legged thingy there safely. The lack of heads up display accentuates the biting solitude, making you feel blissfully alone. The finale of this all too short trek leaves you with a genuine sense of accomplishment and wonder. Thatgamecompany has yet again surpassed itself and delivered a mini masterpiece which needs to be played by everyone. Trust me, this is the best ten pounds you will ever spend! Expand
  70. Jhe
    Mar 15, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. In most games, is easy to say "Is like this, this and that; you will enjoy this; you will hate that, etc etc"
    Not for this one.This is a game that you HAVE to play to pass judgement on... All i can tell you ( if you "beat" it already), is that If it only took you an hour to "finish", and you are not at peace....then you did not understand the game. You have...HAVE to think about the path you take in the game. Do you linger? or do you head straight through?
    Do you finish all the pieces of the puzzle? or just enough to get by?
    Which way do you go?
    and why?


    As a general notion (if you haven't played it, yet):

    Imagine waking up in the middle of the desert....


    what do you do?
    and why?
    Expand
  71. Mar 16, 2012
    10
    I haven't really been playing much games lately because of lack of time so it was nice to finish a game in one sitting. I loved it. Beautiful game I think it its definitely worth the 15 bucks. If you can you should definitely check it out.
  72. Mar 19, 2012
    9
    I can't understand people who gave a 0 or 1 to this game... they probably did'nt understand it at all... Journey is not really a game... But it's clearly a piece of art as FlOwer did ! It's a interactive "journey"... with poetic and artistic ambiance, I clearly loved it ! It's a game with no violence, just relaxing and tripping !
  73. Jul 11, 2012
    5
    this game is VERY exaggerated. Graphics are AMAZING. Sounstracks are OUTSTANDING. But come on... NO DIALOUGE? CHARACTERS ARE UNKNOWN? The goal is unclear... They want to reach the mountain...really unclear! Yes there is some beauty, peace... for 2 hours? SERIOUSLY.
    Make a better, clearer, more interesting story...
    PROS: Amazing Graphics, Sensational Soundtracks CONS: Unclear story, Way
    this game is VERY exaggerated. Graphics are AMAZING. Sounstracks are OUTSTANDING. But come on... NO DIALOUGE? CHARACTERS ARE UNKNOWN? The goal is unclear... They want to reach the mountain...really unclear! Yes there is some beauty, peace... for 2 hours? SERIOUSLY.
    Make a better, clearer, more interesting story...
    PROS: Amazing Graphics, Sensational Soundtracks
    CONS: Unclear story, Way too short, Unknown character?
    i am simply expressing my opinion. You have yours and i have mine.
    Expand
  74. Mar 17, 2012
    10
    For me at least, this is as good as it gets towards an interactive multi-player (2 player only) experience. The music is beautiful and memorable. The environment changes just enough to stay interesting but not so much that the obvious connection between areas is lost and retains the curiosity to explore it further. The limited interaction between players reflects how people from anywhereFor me at least, this is as good as it gets towards an interactive multi-player (2 player only) experience. The music is beautiful and memorable. The environment changes just enough to stay interesting but not so much that the obvious connection between areas is lost and retains the curiosity to explore it further. The limited interaction between players reflects how people from anywhere can still communicate without words and work together, while the length of the game is also ideal because its not so long that you constantly get pulled away from your companion and not too short to feel like nothing more than a preview of a future game. It's well worth the $15 if you want this experience, but probably way overpriced for anyone that wants an actual traditional game. Pac-man has more 'game' than Journey, but this is a much greater experience than any other game I've played. Expand
  75. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    Journey is not a game for everyone, if you don't think a game is fun unless you are shooting zombies in the face, its probably best to avoid Journey. As the 10's rush in from open-minded gamers there is bound to be a bunch of 0's from people who find this game 'boring' and are shocked that people actually enjoyed this game.
    This game starts off a bit slow, but by the time its ended you
    Journey is not a game for everyone, if you don't think a game is fun unless you are shooting zombies in the face, its probably best to avoid Journey. As the 10's rush in from open-minded gamers there is bound to be a bunch of 0's from people who find this game 'boring' and are shocked that people actually enjoyed this game.
    This game starts off a bit slow, but by the time its ended you have experienced something unlike any other experience. The game only took me 2 and 1/2 hours, but then another hour was spent sitting on the porch looking at the trees in the wind and just reflecting on the experience. This game is a truly meditative zen experience. Flower was just a flight sim in disguise but Journey is unique in almost every way. If you took screenshots randomly throughout the game almost every screenshot would be a work of art worth hanging on your wall.
    The online experience is great, it really feels like you are sharing something special with a stranger. The game is the perfect length, as its certainly not a game that would be good to play with any breaks, you need to sit alone, get comfy, turn up the volume and just chill.
    ThatGameCompany is an amazing developer and I dearly hope Sony renews their contract for another 3 works of art.
    Expand
  76. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    natural progression from flow thru to flower and now journey. That Game Company once again comes up shining with yet another new experience. If you could convey the feeling you get while playing journey to the human race the world would be a more peaceful place. Journey manages to create/convey an almost spiritual feeling of peace/ wonderment/ relaxation and beauty all rolled into one fornatural progression from flow thru to flower and now journey. That Game Company once again comes up shining with yet another new experience. If you could convey the feeling you get while playing journey to the human race the world would be a more peaceful place. Journey manages to create/convey an almost spiritual feeling of peace/ wonderment/ relaxation and beauty all rolled into one for the experience that is journey. That game company do this by using some clever minimalistic design concepts. Of minimal interaction and communication with other players while at the same time the game promotes and plays better if you journey together searching and investigating or later as a spirit guide for the newer players helping them achieve the final hidden gems. Although short at just over 3-hours on my first playthru. Journey requires multiple playthrus to see everything and for it to reveal its secrets. So you can at least triple the game-time. another different idea is you never know how many people you actually met or interacted with until completion of the run thru it could be 1 player or more usual multiple players. A must play if you want to play a totally new concept game instead of the stale shooter genre Expand
  77. Mar 13, 2012
    9
    Journey is a fantastic game. It took me approximately 3 hours to complete it, and for the experience it gave me, it was well worth the $15. I compare it to the The Artist, the Oscar 2011 Best Picture. Journey has no dialogue, but the amazing music composed by Austin Wintory is just splendid. Any true gamer should purchase this diamond, created by the same company that brought flOW and Flower.
  78. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    Journey is a perfect example of what can happen when a developer decides to try something different. The game features stunning visuals and a great soundtrack. The multiplayer aspect of the game is unique in a great way. The game is about 2 hours long which may sound short to some at first but after playing the game I can say that 2 hours is just the right amount of time and I can also sayJourney is a perfect example of what can happen when a developer decides to try something different. The game features stunning visuals and a great soundtrack. The multiplayer aspect of the game is unique in a great way. The game is about 2 hours long which may sound short to some at first but after playing the game I can say that 2 hours is just the right amount of time and I can also say without a doubt that it was probably the best 2 hours of gaming I've ever experienced. Journey is truly a work of art that should be experienced by everyone can't wait to start my second playthrough. Expand
  79. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I paid close attention to Journey since its development, intrigued by thatgamecompany's previous offerings and eagerly anticipating their next project. Journey retains Flow and Flower's inimitable style and visual brilliance, while simultaneously blowing them out of the water. Journey is above and beyond everything I expected. I did not expect to to gasp at moments of cinematic sublimity. I did not expect to feel compassion towards bits of floating cloth. I did not expect to suffer incredible loss only to be lifted up to euphoric highs. And most of all, I did not expect to enjoy the entire experience with a nameless stranger. The final moment of the game articulated what I had been feeling for the previous two hours: That the journey is not about your final destination, but what and who you discover along the way. So much has never been said with so little words. Expand
  80. Mar 13, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Journey is a wonderful game that I can not put down, the imagery, the art, everything is here for a gamer like me. As a fan of Ico, SoTC, Portal, and others similar to the eerie yet beautiful gameplay Journey provides, I felt right at home. I Especially love running into another anonymous player while Im wearing my Transcendence cloak and having them revere me as an in game God. Lol Expand
  81. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    Oh my god I cannot believe some of you people are giving the game a low score because it's short. Are you honestly serious? Games do not need to be long to be a good experience. It was worth every penny.
  82. Mar 16, 2012
    10
    Journey is one of the best looking games on PS3 both technically and artistically. Music is amazing. And multiplayer suites it very well. Yes, it's about two hours long, but this game, I think, was meant to be finished in one sitting. And if you liked previous titles from thatgamecompany, you will find plenty of re-playability in Journey. Plus, there are collectibles, few interestingJourney is one of the best looking games on PS3 both technically and artistically. Music is amazing. And multiplayer suites it very well. Yes, it's about two hours long, but this game, I think, was meant to be finished in one sitting. And if you liked previous titles from thatgamecompany, you will find plenty of re-playability in Journey. Plus, there are collectibles, few interesting secrets and a bunch of trophies. Journey offers a unique experience for a fair price of $15 and it's worth it. BEYOND! Expand
  83. Mar 16, 2012
    10
    This is just an amazing game. Something new, beautiful, emotional and creative. The co-op is such an amazing idea, and it suits the game perfectly. ThatGameCompany have found gold. If you have a PS3, go to the PS Store to buy Journey. If you don't have a PS3, buy one!
  84. Mar 17, 2012
    10
    I have never played a game more emotionally satisfying. Journey sets out to achieve something beautiful, memorable and accessible and it does it. Somehow it pulls everything off perfectly. I have thought and thought about it and there is nothing at all wrong with this game. Nothing it tries to do fails. Multiplayer is seamless and beautiful, there is literally no lag or glitches and theI have never played a game more emotionally satisfying. Journey sets out to achieve something beautiful, memorable and accessible and it does it. Somehow it pulls everything off perfectly. I have thought and thought about it and there is nothing at all wrong with this game. Nothing it tries to do fails. Multiplayer is seamless and beautiful, there is literally no lag or glitches and the download space is tiny. Gameplay is smooth, music and visuals are unmatched. No game is like this, so it sets itself apart. There is nothing else left to say. Go, play and feel the amazement for yourself. Expand
  85. Mar 17, 2012
    10
    This is what games should be. A book describes, a film shows and a game lets you experience. Now we know for sure that games can be art. Truly wondrous.
  86. Mar 17, 2012
    10
    Amazing game, art - whatever oyu call it. It's also one of the best games out there on PSN. I don't care if it's short, the most important thing it delivers on all aspects - graphics, soundtrack and the general climate of the the whole story. A must buy if you own a PS3 - if you don't, buy one or play this at friends house. Thank you, thatgamecompany.
  87. Mar 18, 2012
    10
    This game is pretty amazing. beautiful visuals and beautiful sound. Approximately two hours was a very much fantastic experience.
    After complete the game had to wipe tears. Beautiful. It's beautiful.
  88. Mar 19, 2012
    10
    Can somebody please get these intellect-lacking users giving 0s and 1s off this site?!

    Anyways, this is now officially the greatest downloadable title of ALL TIME.
    No game will touch you on the high subliminal, emotional, and intellectual level that Journey does.
    When you get the game, you'll realize how high the production values are, and you'll see why 15 dollars may even be too low.
  89. Mar 30, 2012
    10
    We were walking through the snow, fighting the wind. We had spent the whole chapter staying as close together as possible to keep ourselves from freezing, and we were constantly signaling to encourage one another. I saw it coming and got under the nearest cover and frantically signalled for my partner to join me, but it was too late. He had been spotted and we were both thrown back. WeWe were walking through the snow, fighting the wind. We had spent the whole chapter staying as close together as possible to keep ourselves from freezing, and we were constantly signaling to encourage one another. I saw it coming and got under the nearest cover and frantically signalled for my partner to join me, but it was too late. He had been spotted and we were both thrown back. We landed near each other, and both gave a short signal. I knew mine was out of frustration, but I can only assume that my partner was apologizing. We carried on, and soon the creature had circled back. We both sat under cover, but my partner was too exposed and we were attacked once more. This time we were thrown in separate directions. When I got up, I saw the creature circling my partner and in that moment I knew I had to leave him. As I ran for the safety of the gate ahead, I actually felt sadness and shame for abandoning a complete stranger that had, over the course of a few minutes, become my companion. When I reached the gate, I lingered and looked into the thick snow to see if my partner could make it through. A few seconds later I saw him emerging from the white and was overcome with joy. I let out a large signal as he approached, and when he reached me he did the same. I knew mine was of excitement, but I can only assume his was out of frustration for being left. As we both ran ahead, though, we continued with our signals of encouragement, and in that moment I knew he had forgiven me. That is what Journey is to me. It's experiencing fear, sadness, uncertainty, joy, wonder, and even grief in a very short time, and sharing this experience with a completely anonymous stranger. The game's ability to convey these different emotions without a single word, combined with its simply beautiful aesthetics makes this game a true work of art. Expand
  90. Mar 16, 2012
    9
    Lots of people are complaining about this because it was fifteen dollars and less than two hours. That is true, but fifteen dollars really isn't much for a video game. A movie ticket cost almost as much and doesn't give the sense of mystery and exploration this does. People need to understand that THE PEOPLE MAKING THESE GAMES HAVE TO MAKE MONEY. It's not something they do for fun alone.Lots of people are complaining about this because it was fifteen dollars and less than two hours. That is true, but fifteen dollars really isn't much for a video game. A movie ticket cost almost as much and doesn't give the sense of mystery and exploration this does. People need to understand that THE PEOPLE MAKING THESE GAMES HAVE TO MAKE MONEY. It's not something they do for fun alone. The game is beautiful and fun. Don't be cheap. Expand
  91. Apr 2, 2012
    9
    Journey is an artistic game with so much emotion, but has no dialog, which is a great accomplishment, much like ICO and Shadow of the Colossus. Journey is a beautiful game to look at from the Sun reflecting off the sand to the movement of your character. This game proves that video games are art. The game is very simple to play, but since it is simple it makes it relaxing and helps youJourney is an artistic game with so much emotion, but has no dialog, which is a great accomplishment, much like ICO and Shadow of the Colossus. Journey is a beautiful game to look at from the Sun reflecting off the sand to the movement of your character. This game proves that video games are art. The game is very simple to play, but since it is simple it makes it relaxing and helps you enjoy the story. You play a character that is traveling to a high mountain in the distance. On the way you will be walking through a desert then high up in the snowy mountain. There are creatures on the game, which you are tasked with staying out of their sight. The game also has a co-op aspect, which is simple yet helpful. As you make the journey you might meet up with other players that can help you solve puzzles quicker and even help each other regenerate you magic which makes you fly for a brief period. Journey is a simple yet entertaining fun game that proves that video games are art. Expand
  92. Mar 16, 2012
    10
    There is no doubt this game will become a fundamental part of gaming canon. The art, music, and design are world-class. It's innovative, beautiful, and simply moving. I REALLY enjoyed this one.
  93. Mar 18, 2012
    10
    An experience like none other. One of the most beautiful and appealing games to grace gaming in a long time. The game is short, but was created to play in one sitting. The game simply places you in the shoes of a mysterious robbed figure who, for some reason, is on a Journey across the desert to a Mountain Top in the distance. The game features some of the most visually stunningAn experience like none other. One of the most beautiful and appealing games to grace gaming in a long time. The game is short, but was created to play in one sitting. The game simply places you in the shoes of a mysterious robbed figure who, for some reason, is on a Journey across the desert to a Mountain Top in the distance. The game features some of the most visually stunning landscapes, flawless and easy to navigate controls that are fluid and easy to get through, as well as some of the most mesmerizing music that syncs up perfectly with everything you do on your adventure. Journey includes a new twist on the co-op gameplay, walking around the desert landscapes are actually really fun, and this other figure following you, or leading you around will become one of your best friends, even with no way to communicate (other than musical chirps), on top of that it displays no name.

    This game is an artistic and emotional experience that most people will love, while some who would rather like explosions or gun play may get tired of it. Keep an open mind to a new experience and expect something completely different, because this game features not only that, but an emotional Journey that will be remembered for years to come. Simply amazing, and deserves to be played by anyone.

    10/10.
    Expand
  94. Mar 18, 2012
    10
    If Terrence Malick and Hayao Miyazaki had gotten together to make a game, this would be it. Journey is an amazing, haunting experience. Yes, it is short, but that is also the point; it's supposed to be played in 1 sit, like watching a movie. Don't be fooled though; it's short, but VERY re-playable. I play it at least once a day, so that should tell you something. I've payed $60 bucks forIf Terrence Malick and Hayao Miyazaki had gotten together to make a game, this would be it. Journey is an amazing, haunting experience. Yes, it is short, but that is also the point; it's supposed to be played in 1 sit, like watching a movie. Don't be fooled though; it's short, but VERY re-playable. I play it at least once a day, so that should tell you something. I've payed $60 bucks for games that are much much longer, but ultimately got boring and repetitive, and I ended up ditching them. It's sad that Journey is only available for PS3, because EVERYBODY should experience this at least once. Thatgamecompany has crafted one of the most beautiful games on any platform. Expand
  95. Mar 18, 2012
    10
    Journey is a game that makes you smile the entire way through. Which is, unfortunately short, yet each chapter is different visually, and constantly impresses. The journey to the mountain is excellent, with a clear sense of progression.
    If you happen to stumble upon another traveller, this game begins to shine brighter than the sand. It's exhilarating to travel with someone you do not know
    Journey is a game that makes you smile the entire way through. Which is, unfortunately short, yet each chapter is different visually, and constantly impresses. The journey to the mountain is excellent, with a clear sense of progression.
    If you happen to stumble upon another traveller, this game begins to shine brighter than the sand. It's exhilarating to travel with someone you do not know at all (their psn name only appears upon finishing the game) and you have no way of properly communicating, which somehow bonds you to this unknown person, as you guide each other through.
    To this point, it is a truly sad experience if your journey is interrupted, and you must communicate the fact that you have to leave to your companion, and as you quit the game, your traveller dissipates like sand in the wind.

    The game also has enough variation in the short span, with collectibles and secret areas. Buy this game, play through it, once, twice, doesn't matter, you won't regret it.

    ps. sand dune sliding is the most pleasurable
    Expand
  96. Mar 16, 2012
    10
    If you judge Journey as just a game, it's not that great. It's short, it's easy, there's not even all that much to it, in terms of gameplay. However, thinking of it in broader terms, as unique form of entertainment, that just happens to use the PS3 as a medium, it's incredible. More enjoyable than just a game, more of an experience, and giving it a 10 doesn't even seem adequate.
  97. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    Thatgamecompany definitely knows how to attract such gamers like me. Gamers who are interesting in art. Who like outstanding design and unusual approach to gameplay. Who enjoy meditations and feel so comfortable to relax while playing. Who like beauty.

    Journey is that game. It is beautiful. Short though, but I felt like I was born again when the game is over.
  98. Mar 16, 2012
    9
    A short, but sweet serene adventure. The simplistic art style is absolutely gorgeous, and you'll never look at video game sand the same again. Bumping into fellow wanderers and helping them along the way is a highlight, and the limited communication is in end a thing of beauty. No screaming children or disgruntled neck-bearders. Just a quiet companion to join you.

    The only thing I could
    A short, but sweet serene adventure. The simplistic art style is absolutely gorgeous, and you'll never look at video game sand the same again. Bumping into fellow wanderers and helping them along the way is a highlight, and the limited communication is in end a thing of beauty. No screaming children or disgruntled neck-bearders. Just a quiet companion to join you.

    The only thing I could ask for is for even more play area to explore. I've attained platinum already!
    Expand
  99. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    Wow. I am shocked, I expected a good game but this is truly beyond compare. Very few games such as these exists and I must say I am speechless. I just can't describe how glorious game it is, sure it might be short, but it is better to spend 1 hour and something of this rather than mindlessly shooting the same Russian, Nazi, whatever constantly for 4 hours.

    Graphics: 10 Sounds and music:
    Wow. I am shocked, I expected a good game but this is truly beyond compare. Very few games such as these exists and I must say I am speechless. I just can't describe how glorious game it is, sure it might be short, but it is better to spend 1 hour and something of this rather than mindlessly shooting the same Russian, Nazi, whatever constantly for 4 hours.

    Graphics: 10
    Sounds and music: 10
    Game-play: 10
    Environments: 10
    Attention to detail: 10
    Originality: 10

    overall: 11/10 !!!!
    Expand
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 78 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 77 out of 78
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 78
  3. Negative: 1 out of 78
  1. Mar 22, 2013
    100
    An ethereal, innovative, emotional cooperative experience, thatgamecompany’s Journey is one that any PlayStation 3 owner should take.
  2. Sep 20, 2012
    95
    If there was ever a game deserving of the word beautiful in it's description, it's Journey. The game is stunning to look at, satisfying to play and oozes atmosphere from every angle of its dynamic story and immersive world. Sure it's short by regular game standards but Journey is not a regular game. If your ready for an experience that will surprise you, move you and stick with you for many years after its done, then maybe this is the Journey for you.
  3. May 14, 2012
    90
    Clever, emotive, and easily the best downloadable game so far this year. [June 2012, p.58]