Journey PlayStation 3

Journey Image
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 78 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1407 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Enter the world of Journey, the third game from indie developers thatgamecompany (creators of "flOw" and "Flower"). Journey is an interactive parable, an anonymous online adventure to experience a person’s life passage and their intersections with other’s. You wake alone and surrounded byEnter the world of Journey, the third game from indie developers thatgamecompany (creators of "flOw" and "Flower"). Journey is an interactive parable, an anonymous online adventure to experience a person’s life passage and their intersections with other’s. You wake alone and surrounded by miles of burning, sprawling desert, and soon discover the looming mountaintop which is your goal. Faced with rolling sand dunes, age-old ruins, caves and howling winds, your passage will not be an easy one. The goal is to get to the mountaintop, but the experience is discovering who you are, what this place is, and what is your purpose. Travel and explore this ancient, mysterious world alone, or with a stranger you meet along the way. Soar above ruins and glide across sands as you discover the secrets of a forgotten civilization. [thatgamecompany] Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Journey Teaser Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 77 out of 78
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 78
  3. Negative: 1 out of 78
  1. Mar 22, 2013
    100
    An ethereal, innovative, emotional cooperative experience, thatgamecompany’s Journey is one that any PlayStation 3 owner should take.
  2. Mar 1, 2012
    100
    Journey isn't a game - it's an experience. The few hours that this complete gem contains are completely breathtaking, and cement Thatgamecompany's status as visionaries.
  3. Mar 12, 2012
    100
    After playing Journey, I couldn't get it out of my head for days. Journey goes left, where every other game goes right; the game is a crafted experience that has been built with such care and attention that it easily transcends the label of "game" and expands into a broad, delightful experience.
  4. Mar 2, 2012
    90
    Journey is a defiant bridge between art and game, managing to emotionally connect without being cloying, and succeeding in being mysterious without becoming pretentiously vague and obfuscating. Journey's interactive, visual, and aural elements work together, rather than fight with each other, in order to provide a flowing, seamless, influential, and utterly exhilarating experience...This is interactive art. This is how it's done.
  5. May 12, 2012
    90
    Journey is short, very short, clocking in at a little over an hour. But that hour is an hour of unique and magical experiences.
  6. 90
    Journey may be short, but it will leave you entranced for the entire ride. You will go from being mystified to intrigued to moved to much more. Throw out your expectations for platforming games and enjoy either the loneliness or the community in the desert of anonymity.
  7. Mar 19, 2012
    40
    It mostly reminded me of some of the dull and barely interactive bits of Uncharted 3. I think the lesson here is that deserts are often poorly suited to games without dune buggies...There's no challenge and no real gameplay, which isn't necessarily a criticism. It's sort of like Shadow of the Colossus without any colossi, or Ico without the little girl.

See all 78 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 29 out of 378
  1. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    Are you are tired of gaming? Has your interest in gaming been dulled over time with the endless games that are just the same but in aAre you are tired of gaming? Has your interest in gaming been dulled over time with the endless games that are just the same but in a different clothing? Or are you just plain fed up of all that DLC and penny pinching that is plaguing the industry these days? Then let me tell you, you need this game!

    Save this game for a rainy day where your feeling a little melancholy, a little tired of the world around,
    close the door on society and make sure no one can interrupt you for the next two hours and be absorbed into what will be the most touching two hours of your gaming life!
    You will embark on a journey with another, they will become your video gaming soul mate for the next 2 hours. Both will share an understanding, like two people who speak different languages but can communicate just by knowing what the other person is gesturing. This is gaming nirvana and it has given me a little faith back in video games.
    When its done like this no other medium can speak to you this way! I'm afraid companies like this are in a minority but by god am I going to support them to put out more games like this. Ive stood up and applauded my favorite bands, Ive even stood up and applauded my favorite movie in the theater! But never and I mean never have I stood up and applauded a game after I have completed it, that is until now and I'm not ashamed to tell you that is exactly what I did...even shaking my own head in disbelief of what I was doing!....this piece of art is THAT good!
    Expand
  2. Mar 7, 2013
    10
    Journey is the best example of how most simple of a game can be it opens up an endless amount of stories to be told and experience!
    I beg to
    Journey is the best example of how most simple of a game can be it opens up an endless amount of stories to be told and experience!
    I beg to differ on how someone said it's a short game well,the concept of journey is the meaning of life itself.
    The truth is life IS short but are you going to make it a good journey till' the end?
    The concept behind Journey cannot be beat you start off on the Journey of your life you meet people,some just comes and go some are there to guide you or helping get past all the obstacles in the end you know that you are never a loner.
    It's the game that cannot be describe by words just play it and if you feel warm deep inside after the credits roll you know it's QUITE a Journey. No numbers can properly rate this "game" just the way the meaning of life is,it cannot be measured!
    Expand
  3. Jul 29, 2013
    10
    This is a beautiful videogame, an spiritual experience that changes my view of videogames is an art videogame the graphics, the celestialThis is a beautiful videogame, an spiritual experience that changes my view of videogames is an art videogame the graphics, the celestial music all is perfect. A masterpiece Expand
  4. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    Journey reminds us that long ago we came to "see" art as something far deeper than photo-realism.
    Like a beautiful dream, this experience
    Journey reminds us that long ago we came to "see" art as something far deeper than photo-realism.
    Like a beautiful dream, this experience though brief. . . is hauntingly memorable.Playful yet purposeful
    gaming elements create moments of joy, originality, and emotion not to be missed!
    Expand
  5. Jan 31, 2013
    9
    Beautiful. That is the best way to describe this game. Whether the player had an emotional reaction or just an appreciation for the visualBeautiful. That is the best way to describe this game. Whether the player had an emotional reaction or just an appreciation for the visual and audio art all comes down to preference. And that's what's so special about this game. Expand
  6. Mar 16, 2012
    9
    Lots of people are complaining about this because it was fifteen dollars and less than two hours. That is true, but fifteen dollars reallyLots of people are complaining about this because it was fifteen dollars and less than two hours. That is true, but fifteen dollars really isn't much for a video game. A movie ticket cost almost as much and doesn't give the sense of mystery and exploration this does. People need to understand that THE PEOPLE MAKING THESE GAMES HAVE TO MAKE MONEY. It's not something they do for fun alone. The game is beautiful and fun. Don't be cheap. Expand
  7. Nov 1, 2016
    0
    Didn't find any story here, and I wonder how could someone actually did. Yes, storytelling is an odd one, but the story itself as simple as itDidn't find any story here, and I wonder how could someone actually did. Yes, storytelling is an odd one, but the story itself as simple as it uninspired. It maybe not a big deal for the genre, but slow and stupid gameplay with kindergarned puzzles makes playing this 'game' a torture. Expand

See all 378 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2012

    The Best Videogames of 2012 Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    As our Best of 2012 series continues, we reveal the year's best video games for each platform.
  2. The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 2: Platform Exclusives

    The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 2: Platform Exclusives Image
    Published: January 14, 2011
    Our preview of the year in gaming concludes with a look at the top titles expected in 2011 that will be exclusive to the 360, PS3, Wii, PC, or handheld platforms.