• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 78 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1171 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Enter the world of Journey, the third game from indie developers thatgamecompany (creators of "flOw" and "Flower"). Journey is an interactive parable, an anonymous online adventure to experience a person’s life passage and their intersections with other’s. You wake alone and surrounded byEnter the world of Journey, the third game from indie developers thatgamecompany (creators of "flOw" and "Flower"). Journey is an interactive parable, an anonymous online adventure to experience a person’s life passage and their intersections with other’s. You wake alone and surrounded by miles of burning, sprawling desert, and soon discover the looming mountaintop which is your goal. Faced with rolling sand dunes, age-old ruins, caves and howling winds, your passage will not be an easy one. The goal is to get to the mountaintop, but the experience is discovering who you are, what this place is, and what is your purpose. Travel and explore this ancient, mysterious world alone, or with a stranger you meet along the way. Soar above ruins and glide across sands as you discover the secrets of a forgotten civilization. [thatgamecompany] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 77 out of 78
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 78
  3. Negative: 1 out of 78
  1. Mar 22, 2013
    100
    An ethereal, innovative, emotional cooperative experience, thatgamecompany’s Journey is one that any PlayStation 3 owner should take.
  2. Mar 1, 2012
    100
    Journey isn't a game - it's an experience. The few hours that this complete gem contains are completely breathtaking, and cement Thatgamecompany's status as visionaries.
  3. Mar 12, 2012
    100
    After playing Journey, I couldn't get it out of my head for days. Journey goes left, where every other game goes right; the game is a crafted experience that has been built with such care and attention that it easily transcends the label of "game" and expands into a broad, delightful experience.
  4. Mar 2, 2012
    90
    Journey is a defiant bridge between art and game, managing to emotionally connect without being cloying, and succeeding in being mysterious without becoming pretentiously vague and obfuscating. Journey's interactive, visual, and aural elements work together, rather than fight with each other, in order to provide a flowing, seamless, influential, and utterly exhilarating experience...This is interactive art. This is how it's done.
  5. May 12, 2012
    90
    Journey is short, very short, clocking in at a little over an hour. But that hour is an hour of unique and magical experiences.
  6. 90
    Journey may be short, but it will leave you entranced for the entire ride. You will go from being mystified to intrigued to moved to much more. Throw out your expectations for platforming games and enjoy either the loneliness or the community in the desert of anonymity.
  7. Mar 19, 2012
    40
    It mostly reminded me of some of the dull and barely interactive bits of Uncharted 3. I think the lesson here is that deserts are often poorly suited to games without dune buggies...There's no challenge and no real gameplay, which isn't necessarily a criticism. It's sort of like Shadow of the Colossus without any colossi, or Ico without the little girl.

See all 78 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 35 out of 364
  1. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    Are you are tired of gaming? Has your interest in gaming been dulled over time with the endless games that are just the same but in aAre you are tired of gaming? Has your interest in gaming been dulled over time with the endless games that are just the same but in a different clothing? Or are you just plain fed up of all that DLC and penny pinching that is plaguing the industry these days? Then let me tell you, you need this game!

    Save this game for a rainy day where your feeling a little melancholy, a little tired of the world around,
    close the door on society and make sure no one can interrupt you for the next two hours and be absorbed into what will be the most touching two hours of your gaming life!
    You will embark on a journey with another, they will become your video gaming soul mate for the next 2 hours. Both will share an understanding, like two people who speak different languages but can communicate just by knowing what the other person is gesturing. This is gaming nirvana and it has given me a little faith back in video games.
    When its done like this no other medium can speak to you this way! I'm afraid companies like this are in a minority but by god am I going to support them to put out more games like this. Ive stood up and applauded my favorite bands, Ive even stood up and applauded my favorite movie in the theater! But never and I mean never have I stood up and applauded a game after I have completed it, that is until now and I'm not ashamed to tell you that is exactly what I did...even shaking my own head in disbelief of what I was doing!....this piece of art is THAT good!
    Expand
  2. Jun 21, 2012
    10
    A perfect 10 for Journey. This title is a testament to man's ability to create a piece of art to the highest of standards. There's not much IA perfect 10 for Journey. This title is a testament to man's ability to create a piece of art to the highest of standards. There's not much I can say that hasn't already been said, nor would I choose to - because Journey simply needs to be played to experience what it offers. It sets the audiovisual standard in the gaming industry, and is the absolute highest calibre of what a developer can hope to create.
    thatgamecompany have set a standard which I can only hope their future projects can come close to meeting, I am very thankful I was able to play through their vision and I wish them the best of luck in the future! Journey is my 'Game of the Year' for 2012.
    Expand
  3. Oct 30, 2013
    10
    I simply cannot find any reason to give this game anything less than a full score here.

    The visuals are simply gorgeous, the gameplay is
    I simply cannot find any reason to give this game anything less than a full score here.

    The visuals are simply gorgeous, the gameplay is deceptively simple and yet it's very engrossing and the music and sound are as close to perfect as mortal hands could make to the point where it's a very engaging experience and more times than not will leave you with the feeling that you've played something that doesn't come around very often.

    That said, it IS an odd-duck and for gamers that are more used to the usual games on offer, this might make them be less impressed. But, if you can step outside of your usual game expectations and just let it take you in, you may find yourself with an experience that will likely leave a lasting impression on you.

    Sure, it's a short game... you can beat it in 2 hours on average... However, in the "Quality vs Quantity" argument, it wins the "Quality" award many times over.

    That said, if you're a gamer that prefers your games to be intense in action and with a fast-paced feel to them, this might not be your cup of joe... the game is (I hate to say it because it will sound incredibly poncy) more a work of art and if you simply cannot stand a game that likes to take it's time you might not find this game as enjoyable as other games you may have in your library.

    Still, if you are willing to give it a chance and are okay letting yourself get swept up in a truly immersive experience then this might be a game that will give you memories that you'll carry with you for a long, long time.
    Expand
  4. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    This is by far one of the best gaming experiences I've ever had since 1984 when I started playing games. But you need to know what yourThis is by far one of the best gaming experiences I've ever had since 1984 when I started playing games. But you need to know what your getting yourself into first. There are no bullets, no nudity, no spoken words and no blood and gore. This is a game about beauty, religion, life, and death. There is truly nothing else like it. This is for the intellectual crowd. Longtime gamers who have seen and done everything and feel jaded with the market. The people who require more than a gun and a target to be entertained. It's true the game can be completed in about two hours but it's made to be replayable and I promise you those two hours are more entertaining than games at $60 that last 80 hours. In other words you will be blown away by this experience. It's that good! There is no filler material in here and everything here is all top notch. Don't bother calling yourself a gamer if you don't play this game...GAME OF THE YEAR material no doubt!! Expand
  5. Jul 30, 2013
    9
    This was a nice divergence from your typical AAA game. I took one point away because of the price, though...I don't think it's worth $15,This was a nice divergence from your typical AAA game. I took one point away because of the price, though...I don't think it's worth $15, $5-10 is more appropriate. Expand
  6. Mar 13, 2012
    9
    I could go into great, nonsensical, detail on the many reasons as to why you should play this simply magnificent game but I will only give youI could go into great, nonsensical, detail on the many reasons as to why you should play this simply magnificent game but I will only give you one; you will have never played anything like it before, and I doubt you ever will again. Unique, emotional, brilliant and enjoyable. The only way to understand how good this game is is to organically experience itself, not by reading the words of other critics. Expand
  7. Mar 23, 2013
    0
    Now I know this as loads of acclaim and stuff but it's way overrated with some awards for multiplayer and STORY. First there's no story just aNow I know this as loads of acclaim and stuff but it's way overrated with some awards for multiplayer and STORY. First there's no story just a random cloaked faceless thing that walks across across a desert for a bit then you get to the top of the mountain and a pointless ending £/$15 is a rip-off don't buy it NEVER Expand

See all 364 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2012

    The Best Videogames of 2012 Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    As our Best of 2012 series continues, we reveal the year's best video games for each platform.
  2. The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 2: Platform Exclusives

    The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 2: Platform Exclusives Image
    Published: January 14, 2011
    Our preview of the year in gaming concludes with a look at the top titles expected in 2011 that will be exclusive to the 360, PS3, Wii, PC, or handheld platforms.