User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 161 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 161

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 27, 2013
    10
    I had to create an account just to say this: This game is criminally underrated. Critics are bashing it and critisizing it for what it's not. This isn't your next DmC or Bayonneta. If you're a Suda 51 fan then you already know you're gonna love it. It is very enjoyable. The story is all kinds of anime style crazy and the gameplay is simple yet very fun.
    This is the type of game that you
    can just sit back, relax and play the hell of. Expand
  2. Aug 27, 2013
    9
    Don't let the white knight reviewers fool you into thinking Killer Is Dead is a bad game due to the sexualisation of women in it. It's not perfect, that's true. The combat isn't as deep as Devil May Cry or flashy as Bayonetta, but it's incredible over the top Suda51 fun. Fighting enemies is fast paced and enjoyable, and on higher difficulties, requires serious skill. I don't use the word often, but Killer is Dead is just awesome. The art style looks amazing, genuinely artistic. Colors are vibrant and flashy, and make Mondo Zappa and co. really come to life. The characters aren't necessarily fleshed out, but it feels like a Tarantino movie in the sense that they don't have to say a lot to know their life story.
    As for Gigolo Missions, they're great too. Before everyone starts screaming MISOGYNIST, get off your high horse and enjoy Killer is Dead for what it is: a flashy, over the top game that's about fighting robots/monsters, and banging buxom babes.
    Killer is Dead is my favorite Suda51 title yet, and I highly recommend it.
    Expand
  3. Aug 27, 2013
    10
    Pay no heed to the reviewers of this game that gave it low scores because the Gigolo mode "offended" them in some way, I'm fairly certain that they're fundamentally retarded. To condemn a game for such a minor feature that they deem to be sexist is laughable, at best. When people like these are reviewing games based off features that irk them instead of focusing more on gameplay, art direction, characters, and story, it really makes me fear for the gaming industry as a whole.
    "B-but, the Gigolo mode is perverted and gross!"
    To this, I ask, "Who cares?". It's an optional mode anyway, you don't even have to play it if it really irks you so much. Besides, I sincerely doubt that any of the (This comment is mostly aimed at the males) critics have any qualms with watching porn. Not one of them shudders at the thought, telling themselves "No, porn is perverted and gross!" Then why the would they apply this to Video Games?
    Ignore the moronic reviews of critics. This is an excellent game, with enjoyable combat, a great soundtrack, and a fantastic art style.
    Expand
  4. Aug 27, 2013
    10
    Anyone complaining about sexism in this game needs to get their priorities straight. I just read a book by someone called Mark Twain and he says the n-word a lot, it's pretty outrageous.
  5. Aug 27, 2013
    9
    As always Suda never disappoints to create a game that is fun and creative at the same time. Don't listen to those apparent "professional Journalists" They dont' know jack about games, all they care for is click bait femi-nazi bull****. Just play the damn game for yourself
  6. Aug 27, 2013
    10
    Great game play, Great Art style and direction, Suda51's newest game has the feel almost of a Tarantino Film. The Game is directed at a niche market such as his other games and it hits the mark. This game was made like all games should be; for the enjoyment of those who made, and the fanbase Suda51 has built over the years on a platitude of titles. Pandering to common denominator to sell to wider audience doesn't create good games, or memorable experiences. Developers who make the games they want to play is something the industry desperately needs nowadays. Expand
  7. Aug 27, 2013
    10
    Suda51 and Grasshopper Manufacture have delivered another excellent, but misunderstood, action game. The combat is fast and frantic, the music cool and original, the graphics lovely and colorful. The story is as expected the good kind of weird, and is complemented by great voice acting. Sure, it doesn't have the battle depth of Ninja Gaiden or the production values of Grand Theft Auto, but a lot of thought and creativity clearly went into Killer Is Dead, making it very fun to play at almost all times. It's like a faster-paced, 3D version of a 90's arcade brawler. Special mention must be given to the fantastic boss fights, which are genuinely exhilarating.

    Many reviewers seem to be docking this game a lot of points for a feature known as "Gigolo Missions". In truth, they're kind of sleazy, but no worse than a PG-13 movie. They literally amount to nothing more than some dude staring at his date's cleavage. How this can be considered "sexist" while nobody bats an eye at the actual sex mini-game in God of War (also not sexist) is beyond me. Said Gigolo Missions make up less than 5% of the game's overall content, can all be completed in a total of no more than 20 minutes, and are entirely optional. Priorities.

    If you liked past Suda51 games, you'll like Killer Is Dead. If you like strange, unique games, you'll like Killer Is Dead. If you like 3D action games, you'll like Killer Is Dead. If you aren't the kind of person who gets up in arms about the sexuality in James Bond films, you'll like Killer Is Dead. You should buy Killer Is Dead.
    Expand
  8. Aug 27, 2013
    9
    Suda51 games are never the most well-received. In fact, if you ask most video game enthusiasts, they'll likely be able to only name NMH and Lollipop Chainsaw, and maybe Killer7 if you're lucky.

    Suda has always gone a bit against the grain, and the way the games he directs are received by Western gaming journalism tends to suffer for it. With Killer Is Dead, there's a lot of aspects of
    the game that simply don't jive with what's popular among the Gaming Journalism clique.

    For one: Challenging combat. On the hardest difficulties, Killer 7's combat is rough. Sure, it's no DMC3's Dante Must Die, but it provides enough challenge (And Frustration, if you are a certain Gamespot reviewer), to be derided as "inconsistent", and sloppy by many major gaming sites. In an age where cinematic, story-driven games are the most popular, narrative is king, anything that hinders a player from getting to the next cutscene (such as challenging gameplay) is often looked down upon.

    The art direction, aside from the stylish combat, is one of the prime strengths of Killer Is Dead, and Suda51's creativity simply oozes out of every bit of design present, from Mondo's outfit to the exquisitely beautiful backgrounds and settings he rides around in.

    The world is a crazy, hyper-eccentric parody of a Bond film, from the way Mondo interacts with women, to his exaggeratedly 'cool' personality. Unfortunately, this has struck a bit of a negative chord with many reviewers, especially those with a Social Justice agenda, unable to see the hyperbole and exaggeration present, and simply cry about Misogyny, taking the scenes presented at face value just because a woman is in a sexy outfit.

    With the current state of what is popular in gaming, Suda unfortunately released it at the wrong time, but to all of his fans, this is more of what you love from him, and the only reason this isn't getting a 10 from me is that the camera is finicky, and gets in the way at times, and that the somewhat short length of the game may not justify the 60 dollar price tag for many gamers.

    If you are a fan of Suda51, there is absolutely nothing to fear, despite what the major critics are saying. He hasn't changed, and is giving you more of his unique brand of creativity.

    If you're a regular video game enthusiast looking for something a little out there compared to what you usually play, give this a shot. Give No More Heroes a shot, you may find yourself surprised.
    Expand
  9. Aug 27, 2013
    9
    While not the most stellar character action game on the market, this is definitely a game I enjoyed. The combat is very punchy, similar to Suda's No More Heroes series. The characters are funny and I genuinely enjoyed the story, if not for it's tone of a serious/not serious moments in juxtaposition; very self aware as you would expect of Suda himself. Of course, the game does have it's flaws, while fun, it's combat does feel a bit heavy handed at times, being there because it's is still a game. Overall, I believe that it's not worth a $60 purchase unless you are a fan of Suda51, but it definitely deserves your cash. Expand
  10. Aug 27, 2013
    10
    Amazing game. Super underrated game. love love love the art style, combat, story, charaters, music, everything about the game. Give it a shot!!!!!!!!!
  11. Sep 3, 2013
    9
    I'm not sure why critics were so mixed about this game. Killer is dead is simply amazing. From start to finish I was immersed in this crazy story. It is no doubt confusing but I am playing through again a second time and noticing things I didn't on my first playthrough. This is a game you must replay to truly understand what is going on. The cell shaded graphics are beautiful, the voice acting is well done (aside from Mika, she is straight up annoying), and the gameplay is simple yet extremely satisfying. The gameplay is not as deep as DmC or Metal Gear Rising but it is still very fun to hack and slash your way through waves of enemies then using your musselback arm to dish out some cool moves to keep the combo going. The game has a very anime style feel to it which I personally loved. The only part I wasn't a fan of was the gigolo missions which detracted from the overall experience. They are just lame but hilarious at the same time. I don't think they were meant to be taken seriously. Once you get all the sub weapons from the "beauties" you don't have to play them anymore if you don't want to.That and only that is the one downfall of Killer is dead. This game is a must play in my opinion. One of the most original yet far out there games I have ever played. Expand
  12. Aug 31, 2013
    9
    White knight reviewers need to grow up a little bit and stop getting offended for all of us. The gameplay is great whilst not too challenging it provides a lot of depth similar to the Arkham games, the art style is fantastic and the characters ooze personality. The gigolo mode is a little bit of fun and I don't think its something you are supposed to take seriously, if you are so easily offended though just skip them.

    I recommend you pick this up as it is the most fun I have had this year since Hotline Miami was re-released on the Vita.
    Expand
  13. Aug 29, 2013
    10
    If you are a Suda fan, you will love this game. The graphics and gameplay are great, over the top suda style. If you dont like Suda, dont' bother. The feminazis will tell you its all evil. Games have ratings, they need to get over it already.
  14. Aug 30, 2013
    9
    In my opinion this is Suda51's first real must play title since the "No More Heroes" series. Acting as a spiritual successor to Suda51 and Grasshopper Manufacture 's previous works, "Killer is Dead" really does feel like an expansion and an improvement upon the gameplay and style that Suda51 is known for. The gameplay is tight and responsive, managing to be one of the best hack n' slash titles to come out recently. If you've ever played a game made by these guys you know to expect a crazy, weird, and humorous story. This is all true here, but I have to say that out of all the games I've played made by Suda this ones story is the zaniest and the hardest to follow. I was able to understand everything right up until the bizarre ending that still makes no sense to me. Despite its flaws the story still managed to entertain thanks to its characters and sense of humor. As far as gameplay modes go, outside of the story mode you have various side missions, challenge rooms, and something called "Gigolo Missions". No doubt you've heard the controversy surrounding these "Gigolo Missions", as far as I'm concerned yes they are perverted and somewhat immature, but most of the bad things you're hearing about it have been blown out of proportion. It's not nearly as sexist as the people are making it out to be, as a matter of a fact it's downright tame compared to a lot of what is out there in video games nowadays. I mean look at the "Witcher" series that comes complete with full blown naked sex scenes, and what about the "God of War" series that had sex mini-games! Did we hear anything about how sexist and perverted they were? No. So it's not as bad as people are making it out to be, but it's still a little inappropriate. The core gameplay in this mode consists of trying to woo a woman whom you are on a date with. You do this by filling up your "Guts gage" so that you can give her presents and she will sleep with you. Here's where the controversy comes in, to fill up your guts you have to look at the ladies breast and other private areas with ex-ray glasses (there is no nudity in this game) when she is not looking. Yes it is perverted and awkward, but again tame when compared to all the games that want you to look at women's naked breasts and watch them have sex. Overall this mode is awkward, but it's also boring and the only reason I recommend playing this mode is to unlock the sub-weapons. The only other reason to play this mode is to unlock some trophies. Overall it's a small portion of an otherwise excellent game. The action is fast, addictive, and packs that lovable Suda51 charm. So if you're a fan of Suda51 and Grasshopper Manufacture 's previous works than I recommend "Killer is Dead". Even if you aren't a fan this game is good enough to recommend, especially when you consider how so many other hack n' slash action games that have come out this year have disappointed *cough* dmc *cough*. Expand
  15. Aug 31, 2013
    8
    Killer is Dead is unmistakably good. Gameplay is the main reason to play, as it is fast-paced and fun with the fantastic accompanying soundtrack. Power-ups noticeably enhance the experience and give the player something to work towards.
    The graphics are wonderful and very fitting to the feel of the story. I never noticed any major graphical hiccups besides one or two textures that load
    late (as is normal with games running on Unreal).
    Where the game falters is story, as it is short and a bit wanting. It's interesting for the most part and has just what you'd expect from Suda51.
    Overall, it's a great game. I definitely recommend buying it, as it is loads of fun to play and replay.
    Expand
  16. Aug 30, 2013
    10
    Please ignore the unfair reviews of this game, it's actually very funny how the critics assume this game will somehow offend all women because the women in this game are sexy. I'm female, and I completely ADORE this game. It's a hack-n-slash much like DMC, Metal Gear Rising, and Bayonetta, the cel-shaded art style is gorgeous, and the story is completely campy and insane in the best possible way. What the biased reviewers at Polygon and IGN won't tell you is that the female characters in this game are incredibly competent, some of them are quite intelligent, and some of them can (and do!) even beat up Mondo. Yeah, the dating missions can come off as a bit cheesy to some people, but the whole game is supposed to be cheesy. What a professional reviewer shouldn't do is take off 4 or 5 points out of 10 just because they were offended at a small minigame. Honestly, I'm getting quite sick of this third-wave feminist "SEXY=BAD" mentality in gaming, and I ask you to buy the game for yourself before listening to these foolish "professional" reviews. Expand
  17. Aug 30, 2013
    10
    I was kinda bummed out by the bad reviews but that really doesn't surprise after Lollipop chainsaw and shadows of the damned both did not receive to well of reviews but those two are some of my favorite video games ever made there both bizarre weird funny as hell and just plays with the fourth wall concept. Suda 51 games are rare nowadays in this industry that's why I had to give Killer is dead a shot and wow I was surprised how amazing this game is truly is best Suda 51 game ever in my opinion don't listen to the reviews if you like any other previous titles from Suda 51 buy it or if your just looking for an awesome fun weird and funny as hell game buy Killer is dead! Expand
  18. Aug 29, 2013
    8
    Killer is dead is the newest title from the twisted mind of Suda 51, who we know mostly for No more heroes and his masterpiece "killer 7". Killer is dead sounded a game that I thought will mostly approach to something in between of no more heroes and killer 7. Killer is dead has a twisted plot just like Killer 7 but unfortunately its too much twisted and sometimes some parts will not be explained and will leave the gamer confuse, I think they would have done a much better job in crafting the story. The dialogues are no match with beautifully crafted dialogues that previously we have seen in No more heroes or killer 7 but still they are quiet weird and somehow sound hilariously funny sometimes.
    Aside of the weird story, characters are very well designed. They have this weird feelings sin themselves and they will show up even more weird during the game itself. The main protagonist and his assistant or somehow quiet interesting characters but I would have loved to know more about their past or their relationship.
    I Think story in this game is very interesting and its a really new approach to a different kind of story but also I feel like its lacking so much to explain itself to the gamer.
    The gameplay is something between Lollipop and no more heroes well a way more action, this time we have a melee weapon and a gun in hand which does give more variety to the gameplay but i wish they could have put more depth in the combos, the slashing scenes are insanely fun and the gruesome battles have chilled up the action which is really good. overall the gameplay is really fun but its not as awesome as no more heroes.
    in terms of its presentation its quiet sexualized but its no reason to smash this game i mean I have no idea why websites such as IGN or many others just see this game from point of view of a sexualized game and try ti smash it and blame it This game is rated for adults, and its no worst than Miley Cyrus slutty VMA performance for 14 year old children... i mean seriously this game has been criticizes unfairly. And if those reviewers just see the game through its sexism and stuff I should say they are quiet closed minded.
    this is what ART is awlays about. in terms of presentation and visual style I should say Killer is dead is a brave and awesome approach to its goal, sure the gigolo missions sounds perverted but they are no difference with movies or other types of media so its no reason to blame it I like how the game has focused on woman and presented it it sounds quiet a brae approach and it has things to tell that sure the poeple who are into art would understand more.
    Technically the graphics are quiet good, animations are smooth but i wish they would have more real feel in themselves, characters are well crafted, some of the environments feels a little empty but its overall presentation is good. the enemeis are as cool as other Suda 51 games as well. A little bit screen tearing appears to be in ps3 version which anoyed me sometimes as well.
    Soundtrack is a masterpiece and i have absolutely no word to describe Akira Yamaoka works so listen to it and enjoy.
    Overall I think Killer is dead is an enjoyable game, sure it does lack in terms of story and a little bit gameplay compare to no more heroes and killer 7 but its so much better than lollipop chainsaw. I hope we can see more stuff in near future from grasshopper interactive !
    Also if u pre ordered the limited edition u gonna get an art book, poster, DLC and soundtrack..
    Expand
  19. Sep 2, 2013
    3
    I dont care about the sexist stuff. It not feminist but its no more blatantly sexist than the other artless dreck you see in popular culture. But that brings me to the real problem here, I meant it when I said OTHER artless dreck, all the people harping about "liberal" this and "feminist" that, trying to dismiss the scores of negative reviews as only being that way because the reviewer was offended, they should try READING these reviews instead of the cliff notes. ITS ONE BIG ENDLESS MESS, it makes no sense at all, and every single thing that people here love to say is "art" is a poorly executed carbon copy of stereotypical japanese "cool" stolen from some anime that executed it with more skill and originality. Unless thats what you want, the same old garbage, stay away. Expand
  20. Aug 29, 2013
    8
    Killer is Dead is a good game. Don't let any reviews that you may find on YouTube or any other gaming website tell you otherwise. To start off the game has a really unique and beautiful art style. It really draws you into the game. I did find myself unable to see where I was going in some parts of missions though because the art style did make it hard to navigate through really dark areas. The story is confusing but you're basically a guy named Mondo who is given orders to assassinate certain people around the world. It isn't an amazing story but it isn't a forgettable one. The soundtrack of Killer is Dead is really pleasing to the ears. You'll be fighting enemies and listening to rock music and after the fight it'll cut to a loading screen and you'll be listening to some blues. Surprisingly that made me laugh considering how diverse the soundtrack is. The game play is also very good. Although I found myself doing the same sword attacks in missions and evading attacks constantly, I never got bored of the combat. It's weird but I was always having fun fighting through the level to get to the boss. All in all the game play (although repetitive) was very enjoyable. Some people are complaining about awful camera angles but I don't see why. You control the camera angles. If you can't see most of the action then readjust the camera. Then there are the side missions. You have some random side missions that branch off of the main story's episodes and then there are Gigolo missions. The side missions are fun but can become boring after playing a few times. Gigolo missions are where you basically gawk at a girl you have met in the main story and try to fill up a meter. Once the meter is full you can give her a present. Depending on the girl's taste the love meter will fill up a certain amount. Once that love meter is full you'll go through a cut scene and get a gift in return for your hard work. The gift could be a new sub weapon or crystals to upgrade skills. There are people complaining about the sexist side missions you can go attempt and the Gigolo mode that lets you see through the girls clothes. These missions aren't meant to be taken seriously and I found them really funny. But, those side missions aren't that fun after a while and you will get bored with them after a while. All in all, the game had a pretty good story, a beautiful art style, a diverse soundtrack, and enjoyable game play. The only complaints that I had with the game is that it's a little short in my opinion (takes about 6-8 hours to beat) and that the frame rate seemed to drop in some cut scenes. However, those negatives didn't ruin the experience for me. All that taken into consideration I decided to give the game an 8. There will be more episodes released in the future as downloadable content which will lengthen the story even more. Killer is Dead is not a game that should be passed up. If you enjoyed previous Suda 51 games (let alone action games in general) you'll definitely have fun with this one. Expand
  21. Oct 15, 2013
    10
    I'm stuck in this game over a boss fight, I took the chance to have a break since in the meanwhile Beyond came out, nonetheless I'm currently planning to finish the thing off.

    Aside being easy to learn but difficult to master this game is a gem, an unexpected gem by my point of view, I'm not a great Goichi Suda fan, I've appreciated Killer 7 as well as the No More Heroes even if I found
    the last ones to be so and so, furthermore I've not appreciated at all Lollipop Chainsaw cause I found it to be way too much lowbrow, I've been pleasantly surprised by the turn Suda did with Killer Is Dead, while being in his very same line of excess, blood, sex, swords and rock 'n roll it accomplishes something, it's a gorgeous and well balanced mix of various excesses with captivating visual art style and over the top, phenomenal soundtrack, a meaningful skill system well integrated in a combat system, as already said, easy to learn but difficult to master, thing which is already an accomplishment just -per se-.
    This game is a blast, a piece of art, there are few things which could be better but I keep in mind that's difficult to flawlessly put together something aligned with the tastes of so many people around the whole world, in his complex is nothing less than a true action masterpiece, my final rating, being not possible to assign a 9.5 will be rounded up to 10 for the price at which the game was launched.
    Expand
  22. Oct 29, 2013
    8
    Forgetting about it's lackluster mini game and absurd confusing story Killer Is Dead can actually be entertaining from time to time. Though the beginning of the game feels shallow and slow things take a turn for the better, gameplay becomes more intense, up to speed, and upgrades make the game more enjoyable. The amount of bonus missions is a nice touch since the story is about 8 hours. It doesn't stand well with other Suda51 games such as No More Heroes or Killer 7 but it is still worth mentioning. Expand
  23. Aug 29, 2013
    5
    Mediocre trash, bad camera angles, a story that consists of one twist that you find out 30 minutes in yet they try to stretch out across the game. Gameplay consists of spamming X and O. Visuals are nice. I bought this expecting something similar to killer7, a great puzzle inspired FPS with a great plot. This game is basically kill the enemies, advance, kill the enemies, advance, lame story time, repeat. Suda51 jumped off the bandwagon big time with Lollipop, and this game doesn't help Expand
  24. Oct 23, 2013
    9
    The game is a lot of fun and I am already playing it again. Normally, I hate cel-shaded games, but I really like this one. The game has sub-missions which are fun, mondo missions to get dates by giving gifts, and challenges. Critics didn't like it because they have played games like this before. I bought the collectors edition and the Sebastian mission is the best. Definitely worth a look. I really enjoy this game. Expand
  25. Jan 13, 2014
    8
    Killer is Dead has a memorable art and cool combat mechanics that will make SUDA 51 fans enjoy the game.

    Depending on how the game is rendered, we can have a different point of view. This game uses a shader that looks like a blend between realism and cel shading, which is pretty different from what we see on other games and it accentuates special effects in a mixing of lights, blood
    spill and contrasts. It's just beautiful.

    The story is interesting, but has nothing special to be highlighted. In fact, it doesn't follow a linear timeline and makes you interpret some things in a subjective way like viewing dreams and the past memories of the protagonist. All the characters have traits that belong to the japanese culture, which may not be attractive to the western culture.

    Combat is very fun made with simple combos. The evade and guard features make the experience even better as they challenge your reflexes. Skills can be unlocked and upgraded.

    The main story can be finished in a short time, but there's a lot of content to be explored too, like side missions and quick challenges. If you're looking for a cool action game or if you simply trust on SUDA's games, Killer is Dead is a good choice.
    Expand
  26. Jan 23, 2014
    5
    A shallow but but fun combat system that can't quite measure up to the best in the genre. Killer is dead has loads of style to go with it's surreal settings and crazy characters but is let down badly by it's technical flaws.

    Loading times feel long and the sub standard graphics are made worse with an inexcusable amount of screen tearing. The camera and art style can obstruct your view
    also.

    As for the gigolo mode? What do you say to someone who walks in on you playing that? Very embarrassing. Sexy police bikinis, anyone?
    Expand
  27. Jan 8, 2014
    9
    Another smashing classic from suda51. This game has been unfairly panned by the majority. This is very much in the mould of no more heroes. Instead of mashing a and b and tilting the wii remote you mash the square button. This game has a great timed dodge which takes a bit of mastering and a combo meter which once it hits 5 you can perform gruesome and satisfying qt kills. The story is the big letdown in this game. It is nowhere near as good as nmh. But saying you play a game for the story is like saying you watched jaws for its interactive elements. The graphics are truly stunning with beautiful contrasted colours and a level of colour intensity I have not seen much. All in all a pleasure to play through. I would heartily recommend this game to any lovers of third person fighting games who especially enjoy a timed dodge/block game mechanic. Expand
  28. Jan 14, 2014
    10
    Stupid journalists do not understand games. Do not listen to them.

    Killer is Dead is a great game. If you are a fan of Japanese style and hurricane slashers, then you must buy this game without a doubt.

    About the sexualisation of women in it. I laughed. Play your glamorous Mass Effect with gays and lesbians, stupid idiots!
  29. Sep 4, 2013
    10
    This game just proves how most reviewers should not being reviewing anything, let alone video games. Yes, this game has it's flaws like every other game, but giving this game such a low score like what it's at right now is insulting. While it's not Bayonetta tier stuff, it's still amazing. Highly recommended, especially for Suda51 fans.
  30. Oct 2, 2013
    8
    Goichi Suda (Suda51) has done it again...used his complete madness to make a completely mental hack and slash....a hack and slash with style to say the least.The critic reviews for this game are f*cking stupid they seem to think that this game was gonna be the next DmC,Bayonetta or even God of War when its far from it.If you enjoyed other suda 51 games (Shadows of the Damned,lollipop chainsaw,No More Heros) then your gonna love this. The graphics of this game are some of his best they are f*cking amazing,the game is so flashy so over the top and so stylish.Now i come to find myself alittle lost with the story and found it alittle uncomfortable with "Gigolo Mode" its a very simple stare at her and have sex with her.Nothing fleshed out about it just it is pretty funny i just do not see the point lol. The game now is pretty cheap go out and get it and bloody enjoy it coz its a tone of fun BUT it is not for everyone just chill out and have some fun with it. Expand
  31. Sep 10, 2013
    10
    Gorgeous game. Crazy story with great humor and even depth, if you can see through all the stereotype virtuosity. Brilliant bosses. Superb production design. Tight, challenging, rewarding and fair gameplay with enough distractions from the perfectly executed hack and slash to never get boring. Unbelievably fantastic art style. Every still could be blown up as a wall sized piece of art. I love it.
  32. Sep 3, 2013
    10
    If you like hack and slash games with a good history and playable like Bayonetta, Metal gear rising revengeance

    BUY THIS GAME

    All the hate about this game is just the press doing a bad job just because is a "japanese title" and "it's a weird", go to youtube, see gameplay, it plays just like Killer7 and No more heroes, its a good game and the lower score its just because the femi-nazi
    press doing a bad review on this title Expand
  33. Oct 1, 2013
    8
    Structured like an anime series it reminds me of "Darker than Black", great gameplay, some missions are rock hard but as you build up your skills you start to progress with style! It feels a bit rushed in development with chronic screen tearing and load screen interruptions but they got the important bits right, good control and creativity. It's one of those rare games that others like to watch you play. Expand
  34. Oct 9, 2013
    8
    I really love this game even if my eyes sore because of the graphics, the story of the game is very confusing that i dont know what is the climax that ive been waiting to flashed throughout, and the gigolo stuff that not so relevant being in the game
  35. Oct 9, 2013
    5
    It is a decent game. You pretty much get what you get from other games by Suda 51. The game style lacks substance and besides some distractions the game gets boring quickly. On the hand of the "sexist" themes in Killer is Dead people need to realize that this game bases out of Japan. Their customs are different and this type of humor and behavior is typical. For me it made me uncomfortable that you couldn't skip the mini games but what can you do? Expand
  36. Oct 23, 2013
    4
    As a fan of Suda51's previous works, especially the No More Heroes series, I was looking forward to Killer is Dead. It's a fun hack and slash beat 'em up however the bad really outweighs the good.

    After playing the first few missions I was finding the story to get interesting but unfortunately it ends up being a missed opportunity with a plot that goes all over the place and characters
    that really get no development.

    I admire it's stylish cel-shaded look but with the repetitive gameplay and unsatisying story I couldn't recommend anyone to buy this.
    Expand
  37. Jan 3, 2014
    7
    Killer Is Dead's game play is so satisfying. It handles smoothly and is not too difficult to grasp. The art and animation also complements the game play.
  38. Feb 18, 2014
    10
    Killer is Dead is really a good game. It surely excels in the field of artwork, I've never seen such beautiful work in may years. The gameplay and it gameplay mechanics is really unique. Totally fun and crazy story as we can expect from Suda51. This game is for those who like to try new things and search for load of good art works and also for the people with anime minds (Otaku) only they can understand the actual story of this game.
    Those who are telling this was a waste game. They may be right but only from their point of view. If they tell you not to play this game then they are telling you wrong things.
    It is you who are to decide that the game is good or bad as you are to play the game. Not they. So i urge everyone to enjoy this as much as you can.

    Lastly my heartiest respect to Mr. Goichi Suda for bringing us a unique and beautiful game to us. Hope you bring us such good works in future.
    Looking forward for "Lily Bergamo"
    Expand
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 39
  2. Negative: 3 out of 39
  1. 60
    Stylish and most of the time entertaining as well, this carnage from the mind of a well known weirdo designer Suda 51 doesn't bring anything new to the table, except for its bizarre aesthetics that may or may not suit you. [Issue#234]
  2. While the narrative is bonkers, Killer Is Dead iterates on tired gameplay to make a gorgeous game playable. [November 2013, p84]
  3. 50
    Killer is Dead is a decent action game, but seeing as the genre is brimming with other titles that offer a much more complete experience, there’s little reason to spend your time here rather than elsewhere.