• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Feb 22, 2011
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 85 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 85
  2. Negative: 0 out of 85
  1. Feb 18, 2011
    100
    As good as Killzone 2 was, Killzone 3 tops it in every respect. The excellent PlayStation Move controls and stereoscopic 3D support certainly don't hurt either. So if you're looking for an intense and polished sci-fi first person shooter for the PlayStation 3, then Killzone 3 is obviously your game.
  2. The blade shines brightly and with a razor's edge; the time for killing is here. [March 2011, p.44]
  3. 100
    Killzone 3 is the ultimate ending to a new form of sci-fi epic. It is a story of interpersonal conflict and struggle more than two civilizations at war. By taking full advantage of the PlayStation 3 Guerrilla Games has created an expansive world and proves that even shooters can have a compelling narrative With plenty of variety to keep the action fresh throughout the entire campaign, it never feels tiresome.
  4. Feb 3, 2011
    100
    As close to perfect as online shooters get, and I do not say that lightly. The single-player could still use a little bit of work, but its faults pale in comparison to the amount of entertainment that the multiplayer provides, not to mention that the story mode itself really provides some greatness when it needs to. I don't think the PlayStation 3 has ever had quite such a rounded, satisfactory package as this, with this level of polish, refinement and pure, simple, unpretentious action.
  5. Feb 24, 2011
    96
    Killzone 3 is far superior than its predecessors and this will definitely be the must have first person shooter game on the PS3 for 2011.
  6. Mar 2, 2011
    95
    Killzone 3 is one of the most intense and polished shooters on the market and comes highly recommended.
  7. Feb 3, 2011
    95
    The graphics are absolutely phenomenal, making Killzone 2 look obsolete in the process.
  8. 95
    Killzone 3 is one of the best PS3 exclusives, and with local co-op, brutal melee combat, and an enormously deep multiplayer mode, it's clear that Guerrilla Games really appreciates its fans. Buy this game as soon as you can.
  9. Feb 3, 2011
    95
    Killzone 3 is the best entry in the series so far and one of the best shooters of all time. The game is the new genre king and sets the visual bar very, very high for future PS3 games.
  10. Mar 18, 2011
    94
    Killzone 3 is an amazing game that doesn't necessarily push any genre boundaries, but it does push the PS3 and the people who play it to new levels of immersion and realism, creating a revolutionary new gaming experience that no one should miss.
  11. Feb 8, 2011
    94
    Killzone 3 is one spectacular game - sure, it's really only doing the basics in terms of gameplay, but it does it in the balls-to-the-walls, damn-the-expense, ultra-intensity manner that only a top-shelf, big-budget, mega-spectacular can.
  12. Feb 3, 2011
    94
    The revamped controls result in the best Killzone experience yet, and the thoughtfully-conceived multiplayer elements will keep you in the game until you've maxed out and mastered its finer points. Killzone hasn't forgotten its roots--it's just improved its fundamentals in every way that matters.
  13. Feb 4, 2011
    93
    Guerilla Games has done an amazing job of creating both a compelling campaign and a solid online component. The pacing is near perfect and the vehicle segments break up the action at just the right times.
  14. 93
    Killzone 3 is epic. Players get some of the best graphics ever and a lot of variety in gameplay. Move gameplay is very intuitive. This Month, Call of Duty will be dethroned.
  15. 92
    Certainly the best shooter we've seen on the PlayStation 3 platform. In addition to its great story, perfectly-paced gameplay, and stunning visuals, Killzone 3 has a certain charm to it that can't be denied (despite its at-time apocalyptic visuals.)
  16. Feb 3, 2011
    92
    Although it has lost part of the impact of the previous game, Guerrilla Games has again achieved a great first-person shooter, greatly improving the campaign mode and emphasizing its personality.
  17. Feb 28, 2011
    91
    The only disappointment is that Guerrilla didn't shave off the offline co-op in favor of offering many more maps to let the new toys and graphics tricks shine.
  18. Feb 21, 2011
    91
    A game that begs to be played; an experience that begs to be had. It's super intense and is, in many ways, the epitome of nonstop entertainment. You never feel like it's getting too repetitive, you always feel completely involved in what's happening.
  19. Feb 7, 2011
    91
    Killzone 3: Definitely a must-have, boasting its great graphics, messing with your perception, and a pretty nice storyline. Aside from that, there's still some issues in the handling sector, sometimes there's just too little time to react appropriately. While the singleplayer mode on its own is good, multiplayer's simply awesome.
  20. Killzone 3 stands as a fantastic entry to the series and an engrossing action romp for any fan of the first-person shooter genre. All of the things we loved about Killzone 2 have made a return and have been built upon. However, with some minor issues across the board and a campaign length that's a little too Modern Warfare 2 for our liking, Killzone 3 is held back from the dizzying heights of perfection. [March 2011, p64]
  21. Mar 9, 2011
    90
    This third episode is more similar to the classical shooter of this generation than its prequel lacking some of the originality of the saga. It remains a major step from a tachnical point of view.
  22. Mar 9, 2011
    90
    Killzone 3 will not disappoint fans of the series.
  23. Mar 3, 2011
    90
    Killzone 3 might not be perfect, but it is still a fantastic game and well worth the investment. It improves upon a number of different things, doesn't remove anything substantial and should continue to be the de-facto, go-to FPS on the PS3 for a very long time.
  24. Feb 28, 2011
    90
    Another great production form Guerrilla Games. The story continues and you will have this time more possibilities to kill the Helghast and there are also new gameplay elements, like the jetpack for example. This is one hell of a shooter with a nice singleplayer and a great multiplayer!
  25. Feb 28, 2011
    90
    Killzone 3 is a definite must have for the discerning PS3 owners. With great sound, great visuals, and some very solid gameplay, only the story hurts this whole experience, but all other areas manage to carry the game, including the well implemented multiplayer modes.
  26. Feb 26, 2011
    90
    Killzone 3 doesn't show a shred of innovation within the games industry but shows plenty of improvement within the franchise itself. The Dutch have delivered a product to be proud of! So buy this game and go and shoot, shoot, shoot!
  27. Feb 25, 2011
    90
    Well, let me put it this way; if you have a PlayStation 3, then without a doubt, you need to experience its single player campaign. If you are not going to touch the multiplayer then given this game's campaign length, as much as I hate to suggest it, then maybe a rental would be your best choice.
  28. Feb 25, 2011
    90
    Killzone 3 is a sequel that improves upon its predecessor in just about every way, and is a visually astonishing spectacle to look at.
  29. Feb 24, 2011
    90
    Killzone 3 might miss an abundance of multiplayes modes and the singleplayer isn't perfect. But that shouldn't stop you from buying this game. As an experience Killzone 3 waltzes over pretty much all of its competition of the same genre. Guerrilla knows what makes Killzone different from other shooters and combines those elements with some refinements in its controls, variation and style, which makes Killzone 3 into what it always should have been.
  30. Feb 23, 2011
    90
    These minuscule gripes aside, Guerrilla Games has done and outstanding job in crafting, what is easily the best FPS exclusive for the PlayStation 3, and a rollicking ride in it's own right.
  31. Feb 22, 2011
    90
    Killzone 3 promises a lot, but manages to live up to almost most of them. The Move implementation is at the top of it's class, and the multiplayer experience is deep and rewarding. A triumph for the series and gaming technology as a whole.
  32. Feb 21, 2011
    90
    Killzone 3 is the best first-person shooter on PS3, with its varied and stunning single-player campaign and all-out action-packed multiplayer.
  33. Feb 18, 2011
    90
    Killzone 3's shocking and abrupt campaign ending serves as a suitable wrap to Guerilla's extended war-themed trilogy. Even if it is a conclusion of sorts, Killzone 3 stands on its own. The franchise has always fallen just shy of greatness for me. This time, there's plenty for any action gamer to dig his or her teeth into.
  34. Feb 14, 2011
    90
    It's exactly what the fans were waiting for: a technical masterpiece, filled with breathtaking fights, and a rich multiplayer. It's a shame that the narrative feels so unpolished and incomplete, limiting the overall experience.
  35. Feb 11, 2011
    90
    Prepare to be the main character in the last chapter of a spectacular and frantic war that will blow you away. With revamped multiplayer, local co-op, Move and 3D support, Killzone 3 delivers one of the best 2011's FPS experiences.
  36. Feb 9, 2011
    90
    Killzone 3 stands above its precursor thanks to an interesting plot, a peaced progression, and a varied Single Player Campaign. Multiplayer is still one of the best on Ps3.
  37. Feb 8, 2011
    90
    Killzone 3 is a great, excellent game, but it has lost some personality compared to its predecessors.
  38. Feb 4, 2011
    90
    Correcting seemingly every complaint critics had about Killzone 2, Killzone 3 is visually impressive, relentlessly entertaining and far more fun than we expected. This is everything a good sequel should be.
  39. From a purely technical perspective, there's no question that it merits full marks. But for all of the things it does right, and there are many of them, Killzone 3 doesn't revolutionize or advance its genre in gameplay terms. [Feb 2011, p.91]
  40. Feb 3, 2011
    90
    We could be critical of Killzone 3 because of its more of the same offering, but the fact that it offers great action, more variety and relentlessly entertaining shooting simply shines through it.
  41. Feb 3, 2011
    90
    As a multiplayer game, then, Killzone 3 will rise to the top of many a PS3 owner's collection. As a single player game it's really good – inventive, impressive, even smart in places, but generally playing to familiar strengths: solid gunplay, but wholly linear, and rarely pushing the envelope in terms of gameplay mechanics.
  42. Dec 12, 2011
    87
    Is Killzone 3 deep enough to snipe PSN players from the COD: Black Ops fold? Probably not. Is Killzone 3 outstanding enough to warrant single-player awards for its narrative? Nope. But let there be no doubt that when it comes to intense gameplay that gives not one spare second for players to catch their breath or laze their way into a routine, Killzone 3 is near the top of the pack. The fact that it's the best-looking game we've seen and happens to support full stereoscopic 3D is just icing on the cake.
  43. Mar 30, 2011
    87
    Killzone 3 is ultimately a flawed yet stunning experience. It gets the production values and the intensity just right. If it lacks anything, it would be a bit of character but fans will find it absolutely thrilling while it lasts.
  44. Mar 3, 2011
    85
    Although its single player campaign is quite short and with a weak story, Killzone 3 brings back the epic, over-the-top action of its predecessor, this time with a multiplayer mode that rivals most of the major FPS games out there.
  45. Mar 1, 2011
    85
    Though its story lacks imagination and its one-note pacing cries out for greater variety, Killzone 3 looks fantastic and contains an incredible wealth of detail and excellent action. It plays every bit as good as it looks and a compentent multiplayer component guarantees an extended life beyond the single-player campaign. The story may disappoint you but squaring off against the Helghast is still remarkably satisfying.
  46. Feb 25, 2011
    85
    While the competitive multiplayer will rock your face, the implementation of co-op in Killzone 3 is a little disappointing - specifically the lack of online co-op in any fashion.
  47. Feb 15, 2011
    85
    The bottom line is that while it offers veteran FPS players nothing new, Killzone 3 does boast some of the best console FPS graphics yet, and very slick gameplay to go along with it. Lack of innovation and the horrible story aside, it's an outstanding release that all PS3 owners should get their hands on as a matter of priority.
  48. Feb 3, 2011
    85
    Killzone 3 isn't the game it could have been, but when it comes to capturing the madness of larger-than-life planetside battles, few games do it better.
  49. 85
    At heart, Killzone 3 is still a ridiculously good looking thrill-fest that challenges little more than your reaction speed - and your visual expectations. She's not marriage material and eventually, her charms will wear thin. But we can at least guarantee that shooter fans won't regret spending a fair few evenings alone in her company.
  50. Feb 3, 2011
    85
    Along with its fun multiplayer, Killzone 3 is so enjoyable because it's not just a shooter, it's an experience. Guerilla has crafted scene after gorgeous scene that made me feel like you're a part of a brutal, human war that is somehow fantastic in setting but also eerily reminiscent of the wars we see on TV. Combine this with the superb pacing and you have a campaign that's totally fun despite its boring characters and uninspired story.
  51. Mar 1, 2011
    83
    A visual feast that's a joy to play in multiplayer but fails to impress to the same degree in single player. Its campaign is competent and technically impressive but ultimately forgettable. Get it for the multiplayer.
  52. Feb 28, 2011
    83
    The story is convoluted, the single player is short, the immersion is completely gone and there is little replay value, but Killzone 3 still manages to be great despite its shortcomings. It looks great, it plays great and is one of the better shooters out there. But coming off Killzone 2, part 3 could be considered a letdown.
  53. Feb 23, 2011
    83
    There are reasons to choose this game over others in the field-namely the heavier-feeling physics, the visual design, and more thoughtful multiplayer options, but I question if it has a distinct enough identity to hold its own without reference or comparison to other titles.
  54. Feb 3, 2011
    83
    And even though the game's overall single-player campaign wasn't as memorable or as consistent of an experience as I was expecting it to be, the game's robust multiplayer modes more than make up for those disappointments. It's definitely one of the better multiplayer games available on PlayStation 3 and easily one of the best-looking games available to console gamers today.
  55. Mar 27, 2011
    80
    Killzone 3 doesn't do anything that the genre hasn't seen before. That said, everything that it does is done very well: the fantastically detailed visuals, the brilliant shooting mechanic, the variation of the levels.
  56. Mar 9, 2011
    80
    Highly recommended if you love multiplayer matches.
  57. Mar 7, 2011
    80
    In theory, Killzone 3 has all the tools to be a great shooter, but its "ho-hum" story and broken pacing teeter the momentum, failing to complete an otherwise solid product.
  58. Mar 7, 2011
    80
    No matter what mode you play, KZ3 looks great. I don't have a 3DTV to test the 3D mode on, but your eyes and ears are in for a visual treat nonetheless.
  59. Mar 1, 2011
    80
    An impressive-looking shooter with a well-balanced tempo and great sound effects and really good Move support. The campaign is a bit too sloppy told and the game is not as unique as Killzone 2 was, but it's still a great game.
  60. Feb 25, 2011
    80
    Killzone 3, like its predecessor, is in no danger of pushing any boundaries (despite the inclusion of Move and 3D support). Indeed, it feels very much like a game which has been created with a good knowledge of the competition and at times it threatens to lose its identity. However, there's just about enough top-notch shooting action in the single-player game to keep the franchise fans happy while the multiplayer genuinely feels like a step forward for the series. It's still Killzone, folks. Just about.
  61. Feb 23, 2011
    80
    The game looks great and has phenomenal presentation, but the actual meat of the experience is lacking, overall. Multiplayer, co-op, Move support, and bot options earn back what's lost in single-player.
  62. Feb 23, 2011
    80
    So, there's enough of merit here to warrant a fourth outing, but Guerrilla will have to step up their game if Killzone is to be remembered as one of the truly great FPS series.
  63. Feb 21, 2011
    80
    Killzone 2 felt like a landmark event that finally gave the PlayStation 3 a world-class first-person shooter that you couldn't play anywhere else. After two years, Killzone 3 hasn't changed enough to reignite all of those feelings, but it's still a thrilling ride when you're alone and a well-designed multiplayer experience, as well.
  64. Feb 21, 2011
    80
    Online, Killzone 3 isn't going to cause mass outbreaks of tumbleweed on CoD and Battlefield servers but, once again, it improves on Killzones 1 and 2.
  65. Feb 20, 2011
    80
    It won't go down in history as a game that pushed the FPS into new territory. [Issue#202, p.76]
  66. Feb 17, 2011
    80
    The generally short length of the campaign (5-10 hours) will leave some consumers wanting more for their 60 bucks but the beautiful graphics and balanced multiplayer will be enough to keep most pining for Killzone 4.
  67. Feb 17, 2011
    80
    Some of the best multiplayer action money can buy. In fact, it's a testament to how good the multiplayer mode is that this title scores as high as it does, given that Killzone 3's campaign plot is undercooked to the point that it's actually still bleeding.
  68. Feb 13, 2011
    80
    Visually epic with stunning 3D, but same daft plot and one-note thrills. [Mar 2011, p.78]
  69. Feb 12, 2011
    80
    Oh, and it's taken three games, but the team at developer Guerrilla Games has finally provided players with the definitive Killzone multiplayer experience.
  70. 80
    Killzone 3 is undoubtedly a game recommended to fans of the genre who are seeking an alternative to the more common scenarios, and this is still a great asset in the series of Guerrilla Games, its futuristic scenario. However, much of its new personality seems to be very inconsistent and often fails to become interesting.
  71. Feb 7, 2011
    80
    Killzone 3 shows a great variety, both on the environments side and the gameplay side, while respecting of course the DNA of the series. The single player campaign is more pleasant than in Killzone 2, and the multiplayer is really solid. As expected, Guerilla offers us a very good shooter, which stands out as a landmark of its kind on PlayStation 3.
  72. Feb 3, 2011
    80
    Fans of Killzone 2 will love the improved multiplayer, but may find that the single-player side of things has lost a lot of its identity. It's always polished and breathlessly paced, but it no longer offers a distinct change of pace from the rest of the shooter herd.
  73. Feb 14, 2011
    77
    A great-looking credible shooter but without the depth to be a real contender. [Mar 2011, p.86]
  74. Feb 25, 2011
    75
    If clichés that permeate Killzone 3's story and gameplay do not turn you off, than, by all means, plan your trip to Helgan today. Its denizens sorely lack in originality and intelligence, but they still manage to entertain.
  75. Feb 23, 2011
    75
    Killzone 3 is a fun game, but it's also a pedestrian one. Nothing, aside from its PS3 exclusivity, makes it particularly notable, and in the shooter genre, if you're not named Call of Duty, then you'd better do something different and better than your competition.
  76. 70
    Although the third part of the entire Killzone series is the weakest one it is still a very above-average piece of entertainment every PS3 owner should have this in their collection. [Mar 2011]
  77. Mar 7, 2011
    70
    Technically speaking, Killzone 3 is one of the best shooters regardless console with partly success on implementing both Move and 3D. On the other hand it lacks an X-factor, a good level-design, and struggles to stand out in the genre gameplay-wise.
  78. Feb 22, 2011
    70
    Guerrilla's follow up to the action fest that was Killzone 2 falls short in every area, save from the graphics. It's still a rock solid action game, but now feels more streamlined, not as heavy and the multiplayer leaves a lot to wish for.
  79. Feb 20, 2011
    70
    A few steps forward and a few steps back leave this technically accomplished shooter exactly where it was: still searching for a heart and identity of its own.
  80. Feb 17, 2011
    70
    Less striking than the previous installment, Killzone 3 is a nevertheless solid experience, delivering everything we're entitled to expect from a modern FPS. Amazing graphics, good multiplayer and compatibility with the hot PlayStation features (Move, 3D), makes it the perfect match for PS3 fans looking for exclusives. This being said, it's a shame it does not live on its promises on a more consistent solo mode, along with a more innovative gameplay and a compelling story.
  81. Feb 4, 2011
    70
    Previous instalments in this technically strong but creatively lacking series have been one-note, papering over a lack of originality with a hefty dose of shock and awe. Killzone 3, by contrast, attempts to wage a more varied war. It succeeds, just, by offering a tour of locations both more visually interesting and diverse than its forebears, but it all still depends heavily on the brutal impact of the shooting at its core.
  82. Feb 3, 2011
    70
    From a single-player point of view at least, Killzone 3 is the biggest disappointment of the year so far. It does have a few exhilarating moments, and it can probably still just about claim to have the best graphics ever, but it fundamentally plays more like a formulaic Call Of Duty clone than a successor to the current generations most intense, visceral FPS.
  83. Feb 3, 2011
    70
    No amount of 3D waggle can change the fact that the Killzone 3 campaign is a miserable experience. Killzone 3 certainly offers more bells and whistles than its predecessor -- it's just a shame they've been affixed to an inferior game.
  84. Feb 22, 2011
    67
    In trying to be all things to all gamers, Guerrilla has lost sight of what they do best: letting you shoot interesting enemies with cool weapons in beautiful environments. By filling Killzone 3 to the brim with extras, they've let the core game suffer. And while the well-designed multiplayer has been left largely intact, the changes will certainly irk fans of its predecessor.
  85. Mar 21, 2011
    50
    It's precise, practical, ticks boxes and has been too quick to shed its defining credentials; credentials that made the earlier games a must buy for any enthusiast. Killzone 3 feels generic, rushed and greatly unloved by its creators. A huge, huge disappointment.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 781 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 250
  1. Feb 23, 2011
    10
    kloborgg, kyo1980, and xbox360 users this is how i feel. looking at every fps to hit the market in recent memory ....black ops, battlefield, medal of honor.... can killzone3 compete...yes....enough to spend 65$ ...yes.... i don't play fps very well... ok i stink...so botzone is fine by me that make me feel the online experience without getting 1 billion deaths... the game reminds me of halo and halo 2, because of its other world planetary atmosphere...the graphics are awesome, there is junk flying and swirling around you... plus the people big enough i can see and identify what i need to plus the enemies ....the story is as long as everybody else so i really can't mark it down for that.... killzone3 is actually a 9.25 maybe 9.5.... its helped out by being interesting enough to make me want it, and being accessible enough so that even with my suckiness i can play a first person shooter to...and understand what i'm doing ...the little reticule that tells you where you need to go is smart...i'm usually overwhelmed and confused by fps...the GRAPHICS ARE REMARKABLE...explosion and sound are on point... multiplayer connects fine runs fine, loud obnoxious people lol...botzone is sweet...level design is nice... game is 9.25 because i enjoy it 10... it rocks....i am amending my review to add in obvious xbox360 fanboy hatred...metacritic did remove the zero scores however, kloborgg your review bothers me...you only compare killzone 3 to other similar games but seem to forget its its on universe...its not halo, or black ops so if killzone 1 and 2 didn't have 1000 weapons why would killzone 3 ? they also wear bodysuits, black ops and battfield don't maybe that explains the slowness...you have only reviewed 2 games 1 on xbox360 halo you gave a 10... wow on pc. a 10...suddenly your in ps3 giving killzone 3 a 6...your halo review insults halo...your killzone 3 review insults halo yet you gave it a perfect score...you attacked every component of killzone 3 listing it as inferior...that smells of ps3 hatred......like you said at the end of your halo review if you was going to dislike us anyway...hate our game, try and nitpick it, and clown its scores with trash....nobody at sony said its the best fps ever as you claim...like you said leave us alone... killzone 3 is a highly worthy threequel and your reviews along with the three removed 0's is just hatred and spite...nothing you said gives ANY indications you were after any other verdict....botzone is included for people like me...you asked i'm answering Full Review »
  2. Feb 22, 2011
    10
    I am really impressed with this game, it is simply amazing great graphics, story mode and multiplayer . i feel this is a game i will be playing for a long time to come. Full Review »
  3. Feb 23, 2011
    6
    An unremarkable game. The only things "outstanding" about this game are its visuals. The gameplay feels much less "sluggish" than the last game, which is good, but it's still sluggish compared to most others. Some mark this as a good thing, saying it gives weapons a feeling of "weight". The thing is, there's a difference between weight and response time. The fact that it wobbles and slows the character down gives a great sense of the physical interaction between you and your gun. The fact that it takes a second after you move the joystick to register movement..does not. Let me put it this way:

    If you're carrying a 40lb gun, you're probably not going to be able to jump freely and run and twist like a maniac. However, if you want to turn 45 degrees to face an enemy, you'll be able to that nearly instantly; there is no delay between your brain signaling and your arm moving. In that regard, Killzone 3 still feels sluggish. If you want a weight-y feeling without loss of control, try Crysis 2.

    On to visuals and audio.. they're some of the best on the consoles. I was never a fan of the super-intense blurring that they like to apply on to every single object, but the terrain is chock-full of detail and high-res textures. It doesn't quite measure up to the best games on the PC, but it's pretty damn impressive for a console that's 4-5 years old. The audio is loud, booming, and intense. Personally, I'd say Bad Company has got it beat, but that aside there's no competition. I could do without that annoying N64 beep sound every time I kill an enemy, but hey, that's just me.

    Storymode.. is depressing. I can't remember the last time an FPS story has really stood out to me. I enjoyed Halo 3, but that's because I enjoyed the first Halo, not because the game itself had a great story. Reach and ODST (in my opinion), were both pretty disappointing. All the recent Call of Duty games are completely forgettable, though Black Ops did at least try to make some sort of plot twist (thought not with a very good conclusion). And so with Killzone 3 you get awfully typical, sometimes ridiculous action storyline that you will forget in a few weeks. Apparently, the campaign story is just there to move you from place to place in today's shooters. So, if we want quality storytelling, look to RPGs.

    Multiplayer.. the reason most people buy the game. Well, it's really nothing special. The only things unique are "Botzone" and the game-changing feature Warzone that return from KZ2. I don't understand why you would need to play against Bots on a console that has built-in WiFi with free access to the internet, but it's certainly cool that they added it. Warzone keeps longer game sessions less tedious, but I found they sort of thin out the aspect of teamwork. I feel Battlefield games excel in almost forcing random people into working together to get the job done. In Warzone, every 5 minutes you have a new objective, pretty much convincing you to work at it by yourself in the best way possible. I'm not going to say there's no teamwork, and in fact there's probably more than in most Deathmatch games. Those features aside, everything else is what you expect. Call of Duty-esque gameplay, on some good maps (more variety than KZ2). You can unlock slightly more guns than last time, in a much less linear fashion. But really, the progression can't really measure up to its competitors. Black Ops went full out with their gun-customization and credit system, and even Reach gave a pretty bountiful armory to fill up. Plus, in terms of custom games or any other non-ranked multiplayer, KZ3 falls desperately short. Black Ops has their little betting system, and Reach has Forge-World and unmatched Custom Game editing.

    So there you have it. For the record, I own a Playstation 3, an Xbox 360, and a gaming PC. I play games based on merit, not based on what company decided to sponsor it. I compared this game to BlOps and Reach several times because those are the main console shooters these days, not because I have any love for those too. I can't stand playing Black Ops are after so many years of MW, and while I enjoy Reach, I do feel it was a disappointment campaign-wise, and I don't think it measures up to the prior games in the series. The FPS market has been a bit dry recently, so I highly recommend waiting for two games: Crysis 2 and Battlefield 3, both for the PC if possible. The gameplay in Crysis 2 will feel familiar to CoD-fans, and the thought of playing Battlefield 2 with next-gen graphics and destruction just makes me feel warm and happy. If you have only a PS3, yes, get Killzone. It's a technical achievement and a decent game, but in substance it's not anywhere near "the best FPS ever".
    Full Review »