• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Feb 22, 2011
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 85 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 85
  2. Negative: 0 out of 85
  1. Feb 18, 2011
    100
    As good as Killzone 2 was, Killzone 3 tops it in every respect. The excellent PlayStation Move controls and stereoscopic 3D support certainly don't hurt either. So if you're looking for an intense and polished sci-fi first person shooter for the PlayStation 3, then Killzone 3 is obviously your game.
  2. The blade shines brightly and with a razor's edge; the time for killing is here. [March 2011, p.44]
  3. 100
    Killzone 3 is the ultimate ending to a new form of sci-fi epic. It is a story of interpersonal conflict and struggle more than two civilizations at war. By taking full advantage of the PlayStation 3 Guerrilla Games has created an expansive world and proves that even shooters can have a compelling narrative With plenty of variety to keep the action fresh throughout the entire campaign, it never feels tiresome.
  4. Feb 3, 2011
    100
    As close to perfect as online shooters get, and I do not say that lightly. The single-player could still use a little bit of work, but its faults pale in comparison to the amount of entertainment that the multiplayer provides, not to mention that the story mode itself really provides some greatness when it needs to. I don't think the PlayStation 3 has ever had quite such a rounded, satisfactory package as this, with this level of polish, refinement and pure, simple, unpretentious action.
  5. Feb 24, 2011
    96
    Killzone 3 is far superior than its predecessors and this will definitely be the must have first person shooter game on the PS3 for 2011.
  6. Mar 2, 2011
    95
    Killzone 3 is one of the most intense and polished shooters on the market and comes highly recommended.
  7. Feb 3, 2011
    95
    The graphics are absolutely phenomenal, making Killzone 2 look obsolete in the process.
  8. 95
    Killzone 3 is one of the best PS3 exclusives, and with local co-op, brutal melee combat, and an enormously deep multiplayer mode, it's clear that Guerrilla Games really appreciates its fans. Buy this game as soon as you can.
  9. Feb 3, 2011
    95
    Killzone 3 is the best entry in the series so far and one of the best shooters of all time. The game is the new genre king and sets the visual bar very, very high for future PS3 games.
  10. Mar 18, 2011
    94
    Killzone 3 is an amazing game that doesn't necessarily push any genre boundaries, but it does push the PS3 and the people who play it to new levels of immersion and realism, creating a revolutionary new gaming experience that no one should miss.
  11. Feb 8, 2011
    94
    Killzone 3 is one spectacular game - sure, it's really only doing the basics in terms of gameplay, but it does it in the balls-to-the-walls, damn-the-expense, ultra-intensity manner that only a top-shelf, big-budget, mega-spectacular can.
  12. Feb 3, 2011
    94
    The revamped controls result in the best Killzone experience yet, and the thoughtfully-conceived multiplayer elements will keep you in the game until you've maxed out and mastered its finer points. Killzone hasn't forgotten its roots--it's just improved its fundamentals in every way that matters.
  13. Feb 4, 2011
    93
    Guerilla Games has done an amazing job of creating both a compelling campaign and a solid online component. The pacing is near perfect and the vehicle segments break up the action at just the right times.
  14. 93
    Killzone 3 is epic. Players get some of the best graphics ever and a lot of variety in gameplay. Move gameplay is very intuitive. This Month, Call of Duty will be dethroned.
  15. 92
    Certainly the best shooter we've seen on the PlayStation 3 platform. In addition to its great story, perfectly-paced gameplay, and stunning visuals, Killzone 3 has a certain charm to it that can't be denied (despite its at-time apocalyptic visuals.)
  16. Feb 3, 2011
    92
    Although it has lost part of the impact of the previous game, Guerrilla Games has again achieved a great first-person shooter, greatly improving the campaign mode and emphasizing its personality.
  17. Feb 28, 2011
    91
    The only disappointment is that Guerrilla didn't shave off the offline co-op in favor of offering many more maps to let the new toys and graphics tricks shine.
  18. Feb 21, 2011
    91
    A game that begs to be played; an experience that begs to be had. It's super intense and is, in many ways, the epitome of nonstop entertainment. You never feel like it's getting too repetitive, you always feel completely involved in what's happening.
  19. Feb 7, 2011
    91
    Killzone 3: Definitely a must-have, boasting its great graphics, messing with your perception, and a pretty nice storyline. Aside from that, there's still some issues in the handling sector, sometimes there's just too little time to react appropriately. While the singleplayer mode on its own is good, multiplayer's simply awesome.
  20. Killzone 3 stands as a fantastic entry to the series and an engrossing action romp for any fan of the first-person shooter genre. All of the things we loved about Killzone 2 have made a return and have been built upon. However, with some minor issues across the board and a campaign length that's a little too Modern Warfare 2 for our liking, Killzone 3 is held back from the dizzying heights of perfection. [March 2011, p64]
  21. Mar 9, 2011
    90
    This third episode is more similar to the classical shooter of this generation than its prequel lacking some of the originality of the saga. It remains a major step from a tachnical point of view.
  22. Mar 9, 2011
    90
    Killzone 3 will not disappoint fans of the series.
  23. Mar 3, 2011
    90
    Killzone 3 might not be perfect, but it is still a fantastic game and well worth the investment. It improves upon a number of different things, doesn't remove anything substantial and should continue to be the de-facto, go-to FPS on the PS3 for a very long time.
  24. Feb 28, 2011
    90
    Another great production form Guerrilla Games. The story continues and you will have this time more possibilities to kill the Helghast and there are also new gameplay elements, like the jetpack for example. This is one hell of a shooter with a nice singleplayer and a great multiplayer!
  25. Feb 28, 2011
    90
    Killzone 3 is a definite must have for the discerning PS3 owners. With great sound, great visuals, and some very solid gameplay, only the story hurts this whole experience, but all other areas manage to carry the game, including the well implemented multiplayer modes.
  26. Feb 26, 2011
    90
    Killzone 3 doesn't show a shred of innovation within the games industry but shows plenty of improvement within the franchise itself. The Dutch have delivered a product to be proud of! So buy this game and go and shoot, shoot, shoot!
  27. Feb 25, 2011
    90
    Well, let me put it this way; if you have a PlayStation 3, then without a doubt, you need to experience its single player campaign. If you are not going to touch the multiplayer then given this game's campaign length, as much as I hate to suggest it, then maybe a rental would be your best choice.
  28. Feb 25, 2011
    90
    Killzone 3 is a sequel that improves upon its predecessor in just about every way, and is a visually astonishing spectacle to look at.
  29. Feb 24, 2011
    90
    Killzone 3 might miss an abundance of multiplayes modes and the singleplayer isn't perfect. But that shouldn't stop you from buying this game. As an experience Killzone 3 waltzes over pretty much all of its competition of the same genre. Guerrilla knows what makes Killzone different from other shooters and combines those elements with some refinements in its controls, variation and style, which makes Killzone 3 into what it always should have been.
  30. Feb 23, 2011
    90
    These minuscule gripes aside, Guerrilla Games has done and outstanding job in crafting, what is easily the best FPS exclusive for the PlayStation 3, and a rollicking ride in it's own right.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 780 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 250
  1. Feb 23, 2011
    10
    kloborgg, kyo1980, and xbox360 users this is how i feel. looking at every fps to hit the market in recent memory ....black ops, battlefield, medal of honor.... can killzone3 compete...yes....enough to spend 65$ ...yes.... i don't play fps very well... ok i stink...so botzone is fine by me that make me feel the online experience without getting 1 billion deaths... the game reminds me of halo and halo 2, because of its other world planetary atmosphere...the graphics are awesome, there is junk flying and swirling around you... plus the people big enough i can see and identify what i need to plus the enemies ....the story is as long as everybody else so i really can't mark it down for that.... killzone3 is actually a 9.25 maybe 9.5.... its helped out by being interesting enough to make me want it, and being accessible enough so that even with my suckiness i can play a first person shooter to...and understand what i'm doing ...the little reticule that tells you where you need to go is smart...i'm usually overwhelmed and confused by fps...the GRAPHICS ARE REMARKABLE...explosion and sound are on point... multiplayer connects fine runs fine, loud obnoxious people lol...botzone is sweet...level design is nice... game is 9.25 because i enjoy it 10... it rocks....i am amending my review to add in obvious xbox360 fanboy hatred...metacritic did remove the zero scores however, kloborgg your review bothers me...you only compare killzone 3 to other similar games but seem to forget its its on universe...its not halo, or black ops so if killzone 1 and 2 didn't have 1000 weapons why would killzone 3 ? they also wear bodysuits, black ops and battfield don't maybe that explains the slowness...you have only reviewed 2 games 1 on xbox360 halo you gave a 10... wow on pc. a 10...suddenly your in ps3 giving killzone 3 a 6...your halo review insults halo...your killzone 3 review insults halo yet you gave it a perfect score...you attacked every component of killzone 3 listing it as inferior...that smells of ps3 hatred......like you said at the end of your halo review if you was going to dislike us anyway...hate our game, try and nitpick it, and clown its scores with trash....nobody at sony said its the best fps ever as you claim...like you said leave us alone... killzone 3 is a highly worthy threequel and your reviews along with the three removed 0's is just hatred and spite...nothing you said gives ANY indications you were after any other verdict....botzone is included for people like me...you asked i'm answering Full Review »
  2. Feb 22, 2011
    10
    I am really impressed with this game, it is simply amazing great graphics, story mode and multiplayer . i feel this is a game i will be playing for a long time to come. Full Review »
  3. Feb 23, 2011
    6
    An unremarkable game. The only things "outstanding" about this game are its visuals. The gameplay feels much less "sluggish" than the last game, which is good, but it's still sluggish compared to most others. Some mark this as a good thing, saying it gives weapons a feeling of "weight". The thing is, there's a difference between weight and response time. The fact that it wobbles and slows the character down gives a great sense of the physical interaction between you and your gun. The fact that it takes a second after you move the joystick to register movement..does not. Let me put it this way:

    If you're carrying a 40lb gun, you're probably not going to be able to jump freely and run and twist like a maniac. However, if you want to turn 45 degrees to face an enemy, you'll be able to that nearly instantly; there is no delay between your brain signaling and your arm moving. In that regard, Killzone 3 still feels sluggish. If you want a weight-y feeling without loss of control, try Crysis 2.

    On to visuals and audio.. they're some of the best on the consoles. I was never a fan of the super-intense blurring that they like to apply on to every single object, but the terrain is chock-full of detail and high-res textures. It doesn't quite measure up to the best games on the PC, but it's pretty damn impressive for a console that's 4-5 years old. The audio is loud, booming, and intense. Personally, I'd say Bad Company has got it beat, but that aside there's no competition. I could do without that annoying N64 beep sound every time I kill an enemy, but hey, that's just me.

    Storymode.. is depressing. I can't remember the last time an FPS story has really stood out to me. I enjoyed Halo 3, but that's because I enjoyed the first Halo, not because the game itself had a great story. Reach and ODST (in my opinion), were both pretty disappointing. All the recent Call of Duty games are completely forgettable, though Black Ops did at least try to make some sort of plot twist (thought not with a very good conclusion). And so with Killzone 3 you get awfully typical, sometimes ridiculous action storyline that you will forget in a few weeks. Apparently, the campaign story is just there to move you from place to place in today's shooters. So, if we want quality storytelling, look to RPGs.

    Multiplayer.. the reason most people buy the game. Well, it's really nothing special. The only things unique are "Botzone" and the game-changing feature Warzone that return from KZ2. I don't understand why you would need to play against Bots on a console that has built-in WiFi with free access to the internet, but it's certainly cool that they added it. Warzone keeps longer game sessions less tedious, but I found they sort of thin out the aspect of teamwork. I feel Battlefield games excel in almost forcing random people into working together to get the job done. In Warzone, every 5 minutes you have a new objective, pretty much convincing you to work at it by yourself in the best way possible. I'm not going to say there's no teamwork, and in fact there's probably more than in most Deathmatch games. Those features aside, everything else is what you expect. Call of Duty-esque gameplay, on some good maps (more variety than KZ2). You can unlock slightly more guns than last time, in a much less linear fashion. But really, the progression can't really measure up to its competitors. Black Ops went full out with their gun-customization and credit system, and even Reach gave a pretty bountiful armory to fill up. Plus, in terms of custom games or any other non-ranked multiplayer, KZ3 falls desperately short. Black Ops has their little betting system, and Reach has Forge-World and unmatched Custom Game editing.

    So there you have it. For the record, I own a Playstation 3, an Xbox 360, and a gaming PC. I play games based on merit, not based on what company decided to sponsor it. I compared this game to BlOps and Reach several times because those are the main console shooters these days, not because I have any love for those too. I can't stand playing Black Ops are after so many years of MW, and while I enjoy Reach, I do feel it was a disappointment campaign-wise, and I don't think it measures up to the prior games in the series. The FPS market has been a bit dry recently, so I highly recommend waiting for two games: Crysis 2 and Battlefield 3, both for the PC if possible. The gameplay in Crysis 2 will feel familiar to CoD-fans, and the thought of playing Battlefield 2 with next-gen graphics and destruction just makes me feel warm and happy. If you have only a PS3, yes, get Killzone. It's a technical achievement and a decent game, but in substance it's not anywhere near "the best FPS ever".
    Full Review »