Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 49 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 278 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In KINGDOM HEARTS HD 1.5 ReMIX, players can indulge in the KINGDOM HEARTS universe once again with Sora, Riku and the timeless cast of Disney characters, including Mickey, Donald and Goofy. The game marks the first time a KINGDOM HEARTS title has made its way onto the PlayStation 3 system.In KINGDOM HEARTS HD 1.5 ReMIX, players can indulge in the KINGDOM HEARTS universe once again with Sora, Riku and the timeless cast of Disney characters, including Mickey, Donald and Goofy. The game marks the first time a KINGDOM HEARTS title has made its way onto the PlayStation 3 system. The fully remastered HD compilation includes KINGDOM HEARTS FINAL MIX, previously exclusive to the Japanese market, and KINGDOM HEARTS Re:Chain of Memories. The compilation also features HD cinematic story videos from KINGDOM HEARTS 358/2 Days, enhanced gameplay mechanics and PlayStation 3 system trophies. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 49
  2. Negative: 1 out of 49
  1. 95
    There is a certain magic present here that a decade has only made stronger. Newcomers and fans alike will find enjoyment in this collection and you won’t able to help smiling at plenty of moments, even if you’ve seen them play out before.
  2. Oct 7, 2013
    85
    This will be the most complete Kingdom Hearts game ever. And it’s in HD! Finally we can go back and fight with Sora, Donald and Goofy. The disappointing aspect of the package is the lack of Kingdom Hearts II, while 358/2 Days feels a bit strange.
  3. Sep 11, 2013
    84
    Just like in the first go around, there’s a lot to do in this game.
  4. There’s a wealth of new content here, and it’s all been given the love and care this beloved franchise deserves. Whether you’re a veteran, or somebody who doesn’t know the business end of a keyblade, give this a shot. [October 2013, p81]
  5. Sep 19, 2013
    80
    A fantastic collection of three of the earliest Kingdom Hearts games and stories. There isn’t a mountain of must-play new material here, but the updated visuals, bonus content, adjustable difficulty, and trophy support for all three games should make a repeat playthrough of the games as satisfying as the first.
  6. Sep 16, 2013
    75
    Kingdom Hearts HD 1.5 Remix offers a great opportunity to live the beginnings of an epic saga. Even if it didn't include Chain of Memories and 358/2, this would be a great experience for all those that missed its launch 10 years ago and for those who did play it and fell in love with its story and characters.
  7. Sep 12, 2013
    40
    Kingdom Hearts 1.5 HD Remix is full of beautifully animated worlds and nostalgic throwbacks to classic Disney movies. Unfortunately, it brings virtually nothing new or fresh to this aging series.

See all 49 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 45
  2. Negative: 4 out of 45
  1. Sep 11, 2013
    10
    Game is everything it was and then some. The updated graphics make everything feel smooth and the overall gameplay feels better with theGame is everything it was and then some. The updated graphics make everything feel smooth and the overall gameplay feels better with the improvements. One of the things I am most happy to see is simply the new action button being triangle like 2 instead of having the attack switch to it. Wish I could actually play 358/2 days but hearing the story was fun too. Hopefully enix will release KH2 final mix with BBS and maybe D3 with it as well. Expand
  2. Dec 24, 2013
    10
    Starting to play now I was waiting for the last game on ps3 cd then realise was a story...but starting to play number 1 till 2...merryStarting to play now I was waiting for the last game on ps3 cd then realise was a story...but starting to play number 1 till 2...merry Christmas everyone Expand
  3. Oct 31, 2013
    10
    Great compilation with the first game of the franchise and one of the best games of PS2. Besides Chain of Memories and 358/2 days, veryGreat compilation with the first game of the franchise and one of the best games of PS2. Besides Chain of Memories and 358/2 days, very important games that connects with Kingdom Hearts II (2.5 HD remix in 2014!). Must buy for fans and JRPG lovers. Expand
  4. Nov 22, 2013
    8
    Its so fun! Story is huge! Combat is better! Looks gorgeous! Just play it.

    Not a fan of playing as a kid, though I understand why.
    Its so fun! Story is huge! Combat is better! Looks gorgeous! Just play it.

    Not a fan of playing as a kid, though I understand why. Platforming is iffy.
    Expand
  5. Jul 13, 2015
    8
    Kingdom Hearts is a series that has earned its way into the hearts of gamers. (SEE WHAT I DID THERE?) And this remake of the original game isKingdom Hearts is a series that has earned its way into the hearts of gamers. (SEE WHAT I DID THERE?) And this remake of the original game is a most welcome addition to the franchise. I'm not going to really get into the whole product, so much as I'm going to get into the only reason to buy this. That reason being the original Kingdom Hearts remake. But I'll touch on the other two things here and now.

    Chain of Memories is so badly crippled by it's gameplay, that it's virtually unplayable. Because of this I would recommend watching a play through before playing the game. The other thing in this collection is a movie made up of cinematic scenes from 358/2 and should only be watched if you care about a character from the second game. Other then that, it doesn't really ad to the story.

    Anyway, on to the reason for why you should buy this game. Kingdom Hearts. The game just makes me feel good. Yes the ending is bitter sweet, but the story is good if you're into Disney. The narrative follows a boy named Sora who is looking for his friends, with the help of Donald and Goofy. Along the way the three of them embark on an epic adventure that spans many worlds. Meeting and befriending characters from both the Disney and Final Fantasy universes. The game also has it's own unique art style that plays to the strengths of the previous mentioned franchisees.

    But where this game really shines is it's gameplay. The genera is an action RPG with the effervescence being on "actions." Forgoing the normal turn based system in most RPG's of it's time, for more a beat'em up feel. This game still had a standard level system, the more enemies you fight and defeat in battle, the more powerful Sora and company will become. Sora has a lot of unique weapon designs, but that's the only piece of equipment that will change shape, size and color. The normal enemies in this game (or heartless if you want) are variant in both appearance and behavior. Though, once you understand how they will act, they don't really offer much of a challenge. Unless you play on a higher difficulty. In which case, don't let the enemy attack ever.

    But if you want to talk about combat then you have to talk about the boss fights. Or to be more specific the secret boss fights. I can honestly say that I've never had as much of a challenge with a boss as I did with The Unknown boss fight. Though he did have one attack that was a little too broken for it's own good. But the Sephiroth boss fight was also something that I enjoyed. Both of which have their own style of fighting that keeps the player constantly on his feet.

    All in all, I could go on all day about Kingdom Hearts and everything it has to offer. It built a franchise that is still going strong today. It has one of the strongest follower base today, and for good reason. Kingdom Hearts is perfectly in its designed, and executed flawlessly. The Remake is that game with more to offer. The only problem is that it's on the PlayStation 3, which will cause some frame-rate issues. Oh and it feels like it takes forever to loads things at times. But that's just a general problem with the PlayStation 3. If you own a PlayStation 3, then you owe it to yourself to buy this game. 8/10
    Expand
  6. Nov 9, 2013
    7
    The original Kingdom Hearts for PS2 was one of the sleeper hits I think I only tried on a whim the first time around. The concept, a mergingThe original Kingdom Hearts for PS2 was one of the sleeper hits I think I only tried on a whim the first time around. The concept, a merging of Final Fantasy and Disney, struck me as odd. As it turns out, not only was it incredibly fun, but the concept actually worked. It was a pleasure to encounter classic Disney characters and take on favorites like Cloud, or meet Aerith in a new setting.

    So basically when I heard it was getting the HD treatment for PS3 I was very psyched.

    Graphics:
    KH HD is bright and beautiful, and looks great on a wide screen HD TV. The artists did a wonderful job on the upgrade. It's not going to have that realistic quality you see on a game like Final Fantasy XIII--it occasionally looks a little polygonated still--but it works really well.

    Story:
    The story is unchanged from the original. All the different Disney worlds exist in a connected universe, and these shadows called the Heartless around going around destroying those worlds. Our hero, a young boy named Sora, has to travel around with his magic keyblade and seal the worlds against the Heartless.

    It's ridiculous, but relatively fun.

    Gameplay:
    So, here's where I have mixed feelings about the game. The gameplay is basically unchanged from ten years ago, and that's both good and bad. Because things that I accepted back then now annoy me as they've been phased out of game design a bit. The platforming, in particular, was sometimes more frustrating than fun. The way enemies sometimes spawn out of nowhere, repeatedly, and more pointedly, the amount the game makes me backtrack, was sometimes irritating. It was far too easy to fall off a ledge--or worse, be forced off by one by having to fight enemies--then having to backtrack through the same area five times. What do I mean having to fight enemies? Well you can't interact with the environment unless you clear all the enemies, which, in some areas is truly annoying.

    Now, don't get me wrong, in the beginning and towards the end, I was truly enjoying reliving the experience. Taking down Cerberus in the arena (in fact all the arena fights) was still awesome, and some of the later fights were classic. There were times, however, when I felt the game showing its age. I simply don't have the patience for some things I did back then.
    Expand
  7. Dec 18, 2013
    2
    I tried the first game and never got to the other games/videos on the disc.
    I rarely buy new games but this one I bought new from day one,
    I tried the first game and never got to the other games/videos on the disc.
    I rarely buy new games but this one I bought new from day one, that's how excited I was. But after a while a noticed the gameplay is pretty boring and repetitive, it's just slow button bashing (you can bash fast but the character won't swing the giant key any faster). And what's worse is that the camera is pretty bad, it's supposed to be better then the original but it's still pretty annoying and I couldn't control it properly.
    I especially expected the story to be more interesting and engaging but I was disappointed. It was very slow movies, a cliché and pretty boring to be honest.
    Big disappointment.
    Expand

See all 45 User Reviews