Kingdom Hearts HD 1.5 ReMIX Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 49 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 325 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In KINGDOM HEARTS HD 1.5 ReMIX, players can indulge in the KINGDOM HEARTS universe once again with Sora, Riku and the timeless cast of Disney characters, including Mickey, Donald and Goofy. The game marks the first time a KINGDOM HEARTS title has made its way onto the PlayStation 3 system.In KINGDOM HEARTS HD 1.5 ReMIX, players can indulge in the KINGDOM HEARTS universe once again with Sora, Riku and the timeless cast of Disney characters, including Mickey, Donald and Goofy. The game marks the first time a KINGDOM HEARTS title has made its way onto the PlayStation 3 system. The fully remastered HD compilation includes KINGDOM HEARTS FINAL MIX, previously exclusive to the Japanese market, and KINGDOM HEARTS Re:Chain of Memories. The compilation also features HD cinematic story videos from KINGDOM HEARTS 358/2 Days, enhanced gameplay mechanics and PlayStation 3 system trophies. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 49
  2. Negative: 1 out of 49
  1. 95
    There is a certain magic present here that a decade has only made stronger. Newcomers and fans alike will find enjoyment in this collection and you won’t able to help smiling at plenty of moments, even if you’ve seen them play out before.
  2. Oct 7, 2013
    85
    This will be the most complete Kingdom Hearts game ever. And it’s in HD! Finally we can go back and fight with Sora, Donald and Goofy. The disappointing aspect of the package is the lack of Kingdom Hearts II, while 358/2 Days feels a bit strange.
  3. Sep 11, 2013
    84
    Just like in the first go around, there’s a lot to do in this game.
  4. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Sep 8, 2013
    80
    There’s a wealth of new content here, and it’s all been given the love and care this beloved franchise deserves. Whether you’re a veteran, or somebody who doesn’t know the business end of a keyblade, give this a shot. [October 2013, p81]
  5. Sep 19, 2013
    80
    A fantastic collection of three of the earliest Kingdom Hearts games and stories. There isn’t a mountain of must-play new material here, but the updated visuals, bonus content, adjustable difficulty, and trophy support for all three games should make a repeat playthrough of the games as satisfying as the first.
  6. Sep 16, 2013
    75
    Kingdom Hearts HD 1.5 Remix offers a great opportunity to live the beginnings of an epic saga. Even if it didn't include Chain of Memories and 358/2, this would be a great experience for all those that missed its launch 10 years ago and for those who did play it and fell in love with its story and characters.
  7. Sep 12, 2013
    40
    Kingdom Hearts 1.5 HD Remix is full of beautifully animated worlds and nostalgic throwbacks to classic Disney movies. Unfortunately, it brings virtually nothing new or fresh to this aging series.

See all 49 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 51
  2. Negative: 4 out of 51
  1. Sep 11, 2013
    10
    Game is everything it was and then some. The updated graphics make everything feel smooth and the overall gameplay feels better with theGame is everything it was and then some. The updated graphics make everything feel smooth and the overall gameplay feels better with the improvements. One of the things I am most happy to see is simply the new action button being triangle like 2 instead of having the attack switch to it. Wish I could actually play 358/2 days but hearing the story was fun too. Hopefully enix will release KH2 final mix with BBS and maybe D3 with it as well. Expand
  2. Oct 10, 2013
    10
    i love kingdom hearts.actually kingdom hearts the most amazing game ever ,everyone should play it ^_^
    thanks to the creatures im so exiting
    i love kingdom hearts.actually kingdom hearts the most amazing game ever ,everyone should play it ^_^
    thanks to the creatures im so exiting for Kingdom hearts 3
    Expand
  3. Jun 9, 2015
    10
    Game: Kingdom Hearts HD 1.5 Remix
    Genre: RPG-Action
    Developer: Squareenix/Disney System: Playstation 3 (PS3) Total Score: 97/100
    Game: Kingdom Hearts HD 1.5 Remix
    Genre: RPG-Action
    Developer: Squareenix/Disney
    System: Playstation 3 (PS3)
    Total Score: 97/100
    Value Score: 97/10

    • Story: 10/10
    • Characters: 10/10
    • GamePlay: 10/10
    • Graphics: 9/10
    • Sound: 10/10
    • Music: 10/10
    • Length: 10/10
    • Replay Value: 8/10
    • Player Value: 10/10

    Pros
    +Includes Kingdom Hearts 1 Remix, Kingdom Hearts Re:Chain of Memories as two playable games both with trophy support and remastered in HD.
    +Includes the Kingdom Hearts 358/2 Days but as a 3 hour movie.
    +Remastered music for all three pieces of content
    +Content never before released in the west are included such as extra cards in Chain of Memories and Final Mix content in Kingdom Hearts 1 which include alternate colors for enemies, new bosses and cutscenes along with changes to items and abilities.
    +Three Playstation 3 themes are included
    +Proud mode difficulty added to both Kingdom Hearts 1 and Chain of Memories

    Cons
    -Some FPS drops in Chain of Memories
    -Pixelation during cutscenes in Chain of Memories
    -The Final Mix cutscenes in the western versions of Kingdom Hearts HD Final Mix do not have voice overs but are instead under subtitles
    Expand
  4. Oct 29, 2013
    8
    Even though Square Enix has brought better visuals into one of the most beloved series in gaming playing through the series truly shows how itEven though Square Enix has brought better visuals into one of the most beloved series in gaming playing through the series truly shows how it has aged. The game becomes repetitive and loses itself in it's own story. Kingdom Hearts is still a great series but it isn't what everyone makes it out to be, leave the fanboy at the door and you'll see that the original titles have not aged well. Expand
  5. Jul 13, 2015
    8
    Kingdom Hearts is a series that has earned its way into the hearts of gamers. (SEE WHAT I DID THERE?) And this remake of the original game isKingdom Hearts is a series that has earned its way into the hearts of gamers. (SEE WHAT I DID THERE?) And this remake of the original game is a most welcome addition to the franchise. I'm not going to really get into the whole product, so much as I'm going to get into the only reason to buy this. That reason being the original Kingdom Hearts remake. But I'll touch on the other two things here and now.

    Chain of Memories is so badly crippled by it's gameplay, that it's virtually unplayable. Because of this I would recommend watching a play through before playing the game. The other thing in this collection is a movie made up of cinematic scenes from 358/2 and should only be watched if you care about a character from the second game. Other then that, it doesn't really ad to the story.

    Anyway, on to the reason for why you should buy this game. Kingdom Hearts. The game just makes me feel good. Yes the ending is bitter sweet, but the story is good if you're into Disney. The narrative follows a boy named Sora who is looking for his friends, with the help of Donald and Goofy. Along the way the three of them embark on an epic adventure that spans many worlds. Meeting and befriending characters from both the Disney and Final Fantasy universes. The game also has it's own unique art style that plays to the strengths of the previous mentioned franchisees.

    But where this game really shines is it's gameplay. The genera is an action RPG with the effervescence being on "actions." Forgoing the normal turn based system in most RPG's of it's time, for more a beat'em up feel. This game still had a standard level system, the more enemies you fight and defeat in battle, the more powerful Sora and company will become. Sora has a lot of unique weapon designs, but that's the only piece of equipment that will change shape, size and color. The normal enemies in this game (or heartless if you want) are variant in both appearance and behavior. Though, once you understand how they will act, they don't really offer much of a challenge. Unless you play on a higher difficulty. In which case, don't let the enemy attack ever.

    But if you want to talk about combat then you have to talk about the boss fights. Or to be more specific the secret boss fights. I can honestly say that I've never had as much of a challenge with a boss as I did with The Unknown boss fight. Though he did have one attack that was a little too broken for it's own good. But the Sephiroth boss fight was also something that I enjoyed. Both of which have their own style of fighting that keeps the player constantly on his feet.

    All in all, I could go on all day about Kingdom Hearts and everything it has to offer. It built a franchise that is still going strong today. It has one of the strongest follower base today, and for good reason. Kingdom Hearts is perfectly in its designed, and executed flawlessly. The Remake is that game with more to offer. The only problem is that it's on the PlayStation 3, which will cause some frame-rate issues. Oh and it feels like it takes forever to loads things at times. But that's just a general problem with the PlayStation 3. If you own a PlayStation 3, then you owe it to yourself to buy this game. 8/10
    Expand
  6. Mar 26, 2016
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The following score above represents the value of the overall package, not the individual games themselves.

    The ReMix is a little misleading since it is not your typical Hd collection or release. It provides some new content to the original Kingdom Hearts and a few new features. The I.5 is reflective of the package since there are really two games and the third involves only the cut scenes. With that said though it is a great return for veterans and an excellent start to the franchise for new fans.

    Kingdom Hearts Final Mix: 9/10
    The original Kingdom is by far the most balanced in the series. Its story is easy to grasp as Sora tries to find his friends across several Disney themed worlds. The combat involves the use of the key blade with a few spells that could be used to aid your fight against the heartless. It can be difficult at times but it has a balanced system (for the most part). It will require a lot of time and some bits of grinding to reach a high enough level in order to fight a certain boss. With that said, the bosses are the most memorable in the series which require different strategies to defeat them. Some will really test your patience such as the fight against Giant Ursula and the fight against Riku. The final mix also have optional bosses such as phantom and an optional fight agianst future antagonist Xemnas. One downside of the combat is that it only runs at 30 fps. A game in which you are surrounded by enemies could benefit from a higher framerate. With that said though, this game is still a great to be introduced to not only the Kingdom Hearts series but also the JRPG genre as a whole. If one can only play a singe game in the series I would recommend playing this one.

    Kingdom Hearts Re: Chain of Memories: 6/10
    The sequel though will have more of niche fan base.The story itself is actually pretty compelling with Sora's first encounter with the devious Organization XIII. Along his journey he starts to loose his memories due to the magic of the which Namine who is speculated to be his love interest Kairi's nobody. He eventually starts to use his skills to gain his memories after the climatic battle with Marluxia. The other story involves Riku fighting the organization and fighting Ansem's influence. His story is intriguing as he accepts the darkness within him and decides to use it to help his friends. Where the game stumbles is the card placed game play. People wither love or despise this kind of combat system, I personal fall into the later category. The card based system involves drawing the right card to land an attack or to merely use an item. I greatly dislike this system because it seems that your success depends soely on sure luck as opposed to skill. It can get very frustrating when fighting a n enemy or a boss when I draw a card but the enemy just draws a card with a higher number at the last minute. Some will argue that gives more immersion with the card combat combined with real time but in my personal experience it causes frustration. I personally prefer if a game does one or the other.

    Kingdom Hearts 358/2 Days Movie 6.9/10
    As mentioned before, the game play for this title has been removed in favor of giving a movie told through the remastered cut scenes and text boxes with still images in between these cut-scenes. The story resolves around Roxas who is Sora's nobody who was created after Sora got lost in the darkness during the events of the original Kingdom Hears for a brief time. He is in conflict with the other members of the organization as he tries to find his own heart and develops a deep friendship with two other nobodies named Xion and Axel. The story ultimately ends in tragedy as Xion disappears from memory and he looses his own after his fight with Riku. The story does keep you invested but it does move in a slow pace. I personally would not advise watching the entire film in one sitting though because the story moves in a slow pace in the same locations.

    In conclusion although I believe that only one of the games in this collection is exceptional, this remix is still a good way to be introduced to the series and will bring new elements in for veterans who are not from Japan.
    Expand
  7. Dec 18, 2013
    2
    I tried the first game and never got to the other games/videos on the disc.
    I rarely buy new games but this one I bought new from day one,
    I tried the first game and never got to the other games/videos on the disc.
    I rarely buy new games but this one I bought new from day one, that's how excited I was. But after a while a noticed the gameplay is pretty boring and repetitive, it's just slow button bashing (you can bash fast but the character won't swing the giant key any faster). And what's worse is that the camera is pretty bad, it's supposed to be better then the original but it's still pretty annoying and I couldn't control it properly.
    I especially expected the story to be more interesting and engaging but I was disappointed. It was very slow movies, a cliché and pretty boring to be honest.
    Big disappointment.
    Expand

See all 51 User Reviews