User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 342 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 39 out of 342

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 30, 2013
    8
    Even in a time when we have the likes of Skyrim and the games of Bioware to fill our RPG needs, there are plenty of reasons why this semi open-world RPG is worth your time. From countless hours worth of content to an excellent combat system, this game will keep you entertained with its polished adventures for a very long time. Hopefully this is the start of new RPG series. I know I willEven in a time when we have the likes of Skyrim and the games of Bioware to fill our RPG needs, there are plenty of reasons why this semi open-world RPG is worth your time. From countless hours worth of content to an excellent combat system, this game will keep you entertained with its polished adventures for a very long time. Hopefully this is the start of new RPG series. I know I will support it.

    The land of "Amalur" is filled to the brim with enough content to rival even the mighty Skyrim. Countless side-quests, hidden treasures, and new enemies are around every corner. You can play this game for almost 100 hours and still find something new to do. The best part is that you can approach these situations any way you see fit, thanks to the ability to make any sort of character you want at any time. It's easy to take your fully leveled up character and start from scratch in order to try different approaches to combat. Combat in this game is fantastic. It's more like playing an action game than an RPG. In some ways you can compare the combat experience to games like God of War or Devil May Cry. It's that good.

    Exploration is a blast as well. Fighting your way through dungeons or looking for hidden loot is a heck of a lot of fun. It's not quite an open world game, but is very similar. The game consists of several micro-sandboxes that are all connected. Each one has their own unique style and feel. From enchanted forests to icy plains, exploring a new area always brings new sights to see. The game also has a very deep, very detailed lore. Unfortunately that is where I think the games biggest flaw is. I just never really cared about the fiction set up here. I found the story and the characters to all be pretty much forgettable. The storytelling just lacks the pop and flare that some of the RPG other series have. It's not really all that bad, but I did find myself not caring about the boring conversations the game frequently brings up.

    All in all this is a great RPG. The melding of a flexible, action oriented combat system with RPG style exploration and character building makes this game a huge success that is a heck of a lot of fun to play. So if you have passed this game by just because it doesn't have a big name attached to it then let me just say that, like me, you've made a big mistake. I have no doubt that this might be the first entry in the next big RPG series. At least that is what I hope. I would love to see more from this series in the future.
    Expand
  2. Dec 18, 2013
    4
    I stopped this game after hours off gameplay. The game is very long but it's always the same. It's very very very repetitive and if there's a story to keep you going that helps but the story isn't very interesting. What's worse is that the world isn't interesting, the world never feels engaging, never feels real and never sucks you in. Another disappointment because this was supposed to beI stopped this game after hours off gameplay. The game is very long but it's always the same. It's very very very repetitive and if there's a story to keep you going that helps but the story isn't very interesting. What's worse is that the world isn't interesting, the world never feels engaging, never feels real and never sucks you in. Another disappointment because this was supposed to be a good rpg for a noob like me. Expand
  3. Feb 28, 2012
    9
    This gets a 9 because it just doesn't give you a reason not to play it. It's like 1+1+1+1=5. Nothing is exceptional but it is all sooo enjoyable. Skyrim might be a game (10 btw) that you can lose youself in but this is the 'cooldown' from that. You just fight, run, fight, talk, but it is all so friendly (which is my new fav word). Just always push forward and have fun. But it is not immersive.
  4. Oct 29, 2012
    9
    KOAR is a an almost flawless game. No, seriously, it's almost perfect [in my honest opinion, of course]. It's main issue is that it was released under Skyrim's shadow, so it didn't raise much awareness about it. People just didn't give it a chance [me included]. Once I gave up on Skyrim [PS3 version, for reasons I don't need to explain, we all know about them], I decided to give KOAR aKOAR is a an almost flawless game. No, seriously, it's almost perfect [in my honest opinion, of course]. It's main issue is that it was released under Skyrim's shadow, so it didn't raise much awareness about it. People just didn't give it a chance [me included]. Once I gave up on Skyrim [PS3 version, for reasons I don't need to explain, we all know about them], I decided to give KOAR a try. And what a pleasant surprise. There's just so much content it's almost obscene. There's a lot of customization as well and many, many, many sidequests to complete (in a way that I don't even care about the main plot anymore). My only complaint, I'd say, is about the voice acting. It's a bit sub-par; and the cartonesque atmosphere might not please everyone. But, apart from that, this is an almost perfect western RPG. Should not be missed. Specially if you have time to dedicate to it. Expand
  5. Oct 28, 2013
    7
    To be honest i was expecting a lot more from KoA: Reckoning, that being said i dont like RPGs at all, but this one seemed to hook me like no other rpg's have. I only played it for 12 hours, the game starts really good and gets boring the more you play it. KoA: Reckoning has the best gameplay for an rpg. I never finished the game so it might have gotten better later on, but as it standsTo be honest i was expecting a lot more from KoA: Reckoning, that being said i dont like RPGs at all, but this one seemed to hook me like no other rpg's have. I only played it for 12 hours, the game starts really good and gets boring the more you play it. KoA: Reckoning has the best gameplay for an rpg. I never finished the game so it might have gotten better later on, but as it stands this game is good and id recommend it to any rpg fan or newcomers to the genre. Expand
  6. Feb 5, 2013
    7
    Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning has many treasures and riches in its RPG ensemble. A brilliant sense of weight defines every bludgeon from an axe and every swing of the greatsword. The colour and the melodic tones that shimmer in the background as you play, define the elegance of Amalur's creation. The big drawback though is that it feels comparatively small when the likes of Skyrim areKingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning has many treasures and riches in its RPG ensemble. A brilliant sense of weight defines every bludgeon from an axe and every swing of the greatsword. The colour and the melodic tones that shimmer in the background as you play, define the elegance of Amalur's creation. The big drawback though is that it feels comparatively small when the likes of Skyrim are giving you some awe inspiring landscapes. You tend to trundle the forests on your merry way, then you stumble across narrow paths densely populated either side by cliff faces. There isn't a grand sense of scale and awe. Furthermore it feels like you've been there and pillaged that when you are out and about completing fetch X amount of these items or kill Y amount of this. KOA therefore feels forged by the conventional trappings of a massively populated genre. With that said, it's still an impressive, elegant, rich and satisfying RPG that has some gusto to deliver your post Skyrim needs. Expand
  7. Feb 8, 2012
    8
    A game like this takes me back to the PS2 era when we had a lot of these types of games. Not exactly the open world size, but there were games like Baldur's Gate and Champions of Norrath which is probably better to compare KoA to. When these kind of RPG's were called action rpg's that is. I'm not sure what the lobbying about the battle system is. It's a cool but there isn't a lot of depthA game like this takes me back to the PS2 era when we had a lot of these types of games. Not exactly the open world size, but there were games like Baldur's Gate and Champions of Norrath which is probably better to compare KoA to. When these kind of RPG's were called action rpg's that is. I'm not sure what the lobbying about the battle system is. It's a cool but there isn't a lot of depth to it. Comparing it to god of war? Come on... The game is awesome but I'm not giving it a ten, I think a ten is too much because this game isn't perfect. My game froze once, within the first hour of my playtime actually. I have seen a few bugs as well but not anything Skyrim-esque. I fell through the map and had to reload my last auto save. So lucky for auto save otherwise I'd hate this game. The story is alright and the voice acting ranges from good to ok.. It's not Uncharted 3 or something not a lot of these types of RPG's have stellar VA. I personally enjoy the soundtrack it's amazing and goes well with the environments you're put in. I haven't seen any weather effects, which I find is disappointing.. There is a night/day cycle but it's almost like it's broken. I've seen NPC's sleep during the day and not during the night. Weird things like that. There are a lot of side-quests, in fact... sometimes it gets to the point where it can be a bit overwhelming. Graphics are nice and shiny just the way I like them, NPC's are kind of ugly but no problem when the environment looks so pristine. This game is amazing and is well worth the money. I can find myself putting a ton of time into this game, the world is massive and takes hours to get through. KoA is no skyrim or dark souls but it's a good game on it's own and well worth playing. Expand
  8. Apr 30, 2012
    8
    Kingdoms of Amalur is a mixed bag collection of all the popular features of the rpgs of the past. It can best be described as a (PS2) Champions of Norrath/Baldurs Gate backbone into which they stole elements and expanded the gameplay based on certain inspirations of other popular rpgs such as oblivion, fable, white knight chronicles and to some degree even god of war. A few new featuresKingdoms of Amalur is a mixed bag collection of all the popular features of the rpgs of the past. It can best be described as a (PS2) Champions of Norrath/Baldurs Gate backbone into which they stole elements and expanded the gameplay based on certain inspirations of other popular rpgs such as oblivion, fable, white knight chronicles and to some degree even god of war. A few new features have been added such as "reckoning mode" and "fate" and so the developers in my opinion despite ripping off every other rpg game have made a brilliant game with a ton of customization. I can't see anyone who isn't a rpg fan not liking this game. The game is role playing through heavy customization, not role playing in the sense of heavy story and immersion. This is by far a hack and slash oriented towards actionable customization. There is an abundance of stuff to do although most of this is fetch-questing which i'm not really a fan of to be honest but this game was enjoyable none the less because I found the enemy bestiary quite well crafted. Each enemy or creature acts as a unique creature which really helped boost the appeal of the game for me - each creature has their own unique strengths and weakness' and in turn this made combat very fun and allowed tactiles to be enjoyed, unlike most hack and slashes this one has unique ways to fight, and this is especially fun by being able to toggle difficulty at any time anywhere in the game. For an EA game they finally did a good job on this one!!!: Very few software problems. Camera can be a little wonky and could definately use a rebuild in certain spots of the game it was very frustrating. This is the real major gripe but the games very playable in most areas with no problem. A few glitches remain such that sometimes quest icons get lost but they come back with a small amount of menu changing and also some stuff you quick slot cannot actually be enabled. Typical EA gltichs right but as least they are not overwhelming in this game. Overall there is plenty to do in this game albeit a hack and slash, but with the customization available and a lot of the other goodies embedded in this game I think an 8 for a score is very reasonable. Expand
  9. Feb 28, 2012
    10
    LOL! @ Skyrim fanboys giving this game low scores, This game is BETTER than Skyrim, i dont care if skyrim looks more "realistic" KOA:Reckoning is millions times better and more fun than that buggy game called skyrim! I recommend this game to EVERYONE
  10. Feb 28, 2012
    10
    I dont care what people say.. This game is BETTER than Skyrim, i dont care if skyrim looks more "realistic" but KOA:Reckoning is millions times better and more fun the ln skyrim! I recommend this game to every "REAL" gamer outhere
  11. Dec 27, 2012
    10
    I don't know why great games like this don't sell, this game is better than Skyrim, if you deny that you're not an Rpg fan, I'm really sad this game didn't sell well, this is one of the best games I have ever played, please, do yourself a favour and go buy this game if you're a real gamer
  12. Aug 15, 2012
    8
    Great game, I enjoyed it much more then some of the other big RPG's, A different take on combat which is great fun, beautiful environment and graphics, sound's spectacular.. Lot's to do, although 100+ is promised, I completed the game 100% in 80 hours (all quests, Items, lore stones etc)
    Really worth more attention then it got, go get this game!..
  13. Oct 30, 2012
    9
    im close to 40 hours in and I have to say its a great rpg experience. First off the combat system is addictive as hell, it takes elements from Dragon Age Origins and improves on them. It plays like a fighting game mixed into a huge RPG. Ive ran into a couple seconds of slow down at one point in the game and that was it, the rest of the time it runs great and the world is awesomelyim close to 40 hours in and I have to say its a great rpg experience. First off the combat system is addictive as hell, it takes elements from Dragon Age Origins and improves on them. It plays like a fighting game mixed into a huge RPG. Ive ran into a couple seconds of slow down at one point in the game and that was it, the rest of the time it runs great and the world is awesomely detailed by comic book artist Todd Macfarlane of Spawn. Some complaints that some of the dungeons are little less detailed than say Skyrim, which I think this game deserves some comparison to it. Skyrim world is a little more involved and interesting. but one thing this game allows you to do is change your class anytime in the game. Tired of playing as tank and smasher, switch it up and become a battlemage or ranger. You are not limited to a class throughout the game as you are in Skyrim. Its a good challenge even in Hard, despite giving you freefrall during Reckoning mode where you can kill just about anything will in a short amount of time. Expand
  14. Oct 22, 2013
    6
    an alright game. it's really easy, no matter the difficulty. the story is alright as well, but not great. the combat itself is pretty fun, although the i felt that there could have been more combat animations. the fates system is pretty cool and is based off how you distribute your skill points.
  15. Jan 13, 2014
    6
    The only reason I played this game is because I had it for free on PS Plus few months ago. I have no idea why IGN rated this game 9 making it close to Skyrim.
    If Skyrim was 10 this game shouldn’t go any near to 7. I couldn’t help myself comparing it to skyrim each moment. Even trophies are clone form Skyrim. But the game itself is nothing close to Skyrim gameplay, role-play and visuals.
    The only reason I played this game is because I had it for free on PS Plus few months ago. I have no idea why IGN rated this game 9 making it close to Skyrim.
    If Skyrim was 10 this game shouldn’t go any near to 7. I couldn’t help myself comparing it to skyrim each moment. Even trophies are clone form Skyrim. But the game itself is nothing close to Skyrim gameplay, role-play and visuals. There are fictions in the game exactly the same as those in Skyrim with different names. Main story quests aren’t interesting and boring. The 3rd person style is annoying with additional annoying camera. I hated that I couldn’t jump. Reminded me of LOTR: War in the North game. Same gameplay style which I really hated.
    I can’t give this game more than 6.
    Expand
  16. May 1, 2012
    7
    This game is a bit bland story-wise, game-plays decent, it has a impressive length and a great bit invested in crafting and variations in items like armours etc. I'm a bit suspicious of the people who gave this game a 10/10 on all platforms and that's their only reviews. I say pay $40 or less for it if you just want a game that will last a long while to avoid buyer's remorse.
  17. Aug 8, 2012
    10
    Im not much of an rpg fan and I must say to date this is the only RG that took me and gave me a magnificient experience. It's theawesome action in the great fightig system that makes this game so much more valuable to me that skyrim is. I need action in games and this is the only rpg that delivers on the action front. Love it!
  18. Mar 13, 2012
    9
    A great RPG action game. Awesome combat that is closer in pedigree and especially gameplay to top-down hack and slashers Torchlight and Diablo than to Skyrim. In other words, there is lots and lots of loot and boxes to smash and creatures to button mash into oblivion as you wander it's serviceable and very large environments. While there is slight overload of superficial, fetch-sideA great RPG action game. Awesome combat that is closer in pedigree and especially gameplay to top-down hack and slashers Torchlight and Diablo than to Skyrim. In other words, there is lots and lots of loot and boxes to smash and creatures to button mash into oblivion as you wander it's serviceable and very large environments. While there is slight overload of superficial, fetch-side quests, the main and faction story lines are solid and deep.

    I also love the ability to completely respec your character at any time! A downside is the somewhat clunky inventory system to manage the massive amounts of loot drops. The last caution is the difficulty level. Except for some spikes in a couple of places, the difficulty level is a bit too easy. But if you set the difficulty up to Hard or above it does present some tactical combat challenges that require a bit of strategic use of powers and positioning.
    Expand
  19. Feb 10, 2012
    9
    Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning provides the most fun I've had in a fantasy RPG since the 16-bit era. It has already been compared to The Elder Scrolls, Dragon Age, Fable, and even Dark Souls, but frankly, I think it feels more like an evolution of hack-n-slash action RPGs like Diablo or Champions of Norrath, albeit with much deeper role-playing mechanics than you normally get from thoseKingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning provides the most fun I've had in a fantasy RPG since the 16-bit era. It has already been compared to The Elder Scrolls, Dragon Age, Fable, and even Dark Souls, but frankly, I think it feels more like an evolution of hack-n-slash action RPGs like Diablo or Champions of Norrath, albeit with much deeper role-playing mechanics than you normally get from those games. The focus is obviously on combat, which borrows heavily from the Devil May Cry lineage (God of War, Bayonetta, etc.). With loot waiting to be snagged around every corner and after every battle, you can quickly build a character in any direction, and weapon-armor loadouts make an enormous difference in how that character handles. You also don't need to worry about experimenting with a set of skills, since you always have the option of wiping the slate clean or simply shifting your focus to a different set of abilities. Destiny cards then allow you to buff your character out with stat enhancements that match your desired focus, kind of like a flexible class system. You can easily create a magic-using rogue or a wizard with a longsword on standby, pretty much any combination you can dream up. There's no shortage of content, either, since the game's story quests and optional missions easily add up to 200+ hours. You can buy houses to store your junk, restore your health, and allow makeover options, and these residences can be upgraded in a variety of ways. There's also a day-night cycle that impacts NPC/enemy activity as well as adding some pretty environmental effects to the lush environments, though no dynamic weather is present like it is in Skyrim. On that subject, many players have criticised Amalur's level design for being more restrictive than Skyrim's, but in my opinion, the inability to cross mountains or go whereever you please adds to the brilliance of the map layout. Every area is designed in a memorable way, and getting from one place to the other can be a sort of environmental puzzle, more like classic 16-bit RPGs than the recent open-world trend. I see that as a positive, since it not only illustrates greater focus on design but also makes it a challenge to get from one side of the map to the other. You'll need to meet quest requirements, defeat bosses, and gain key items to access some of the coolest locales, and considering the intelligence of some enemy mobs, that provides a real sense of accomplishment. It's not Dark Souls, by any stretch, but if you fancy yourself a strong gamer, I would highly encourage playing on Hard, as Normal mode can seem too easy for veterans of the genre. Like Dark Souls, though, battles require a bit of strategy and precise strikes, but all of it is much faster and more forgiving than Souls. This game really is meant for fans of loot, combat, and exploration, and it does all of these elements very well. The only shortcomings are its minor technical flaws (mostly in glitchy audio) and its fairly standard fantasy lore/plot. The scripting and scenario writing isn't bad within those confines, though, since R.A. Salvatore provided most of the storytelling. Also, Todd McFarlane's artistic direction is cool, but it's much lighter-hearted than some of his comic book and action figure designs, resembling a more detailed World of Warcraft or Fable-esque aesthetic. Even the game's controls are a little like Fable, but again, Reckoning is clearly the more advanced evolution between the two. All in all, I would actually call Reckoning my favorite fantasy RPG of this generation, above Skyrim or Dragon Age: Origins, but considering it satisfies a different set of criteria than either of those games, it can co-exist with your other favorites just fine. Buy it for its fun factor. Buy it for its unique mixture of elements from other RPG heavyweights. Buy it because it's the first time we've seen God of War combat in an action RPG, and frankly, I want more! Expand
  20. Feb 17, 2012
    9
    Kingdoms of Amalur is a bit of everything, yet does not disappoint. It may not be the game of a generation, but surely is a must-play. It has the refreshing feeling of Borderlands to a standard FPS game, when compared to typical open-world RPGs such as Skyrim. The dialog system is successfully borrowed from EA's Mass Effect series. The standardKingdoms of Amalur is a bit of everything, yet does not disappoint. It may not be the game of a generation, but surely is a must-play. It has the refreshing feeling of Borderlands to a standard FPS game, when compared to typical open-world RPGs such as Skyrim. The dialog system is successfully borrowed from EA's Mass Effect series. The standard crafting/smithing/composing/skilling/looting/binding system is present with no obvious flaws. It is the first game that succeeds in combining God of War, Elder Scrolls, and Diablo (previous attempt, Hunted: Demon's Forge failed miserably). KoA's strength is also its biggest disappointment - its game elements are varying, but does not excel in any of them. The fighting feels like a cheap God of War ripoff; the loot system has nothing surprising; the open world is vast and empty; the storyline is great but unattractive. Maybe if the fighting is harder / detailed like Demon's Souls / Dark Souls, this game would get a higher score. But I guess that would involve a complicated AI design that may ruin some of the smashing-fun part. Despite the downsides, KoA is still a worthy game to waste time on - it has me hooked for 20 hours now and will probably continue to do so for the next couple of weeks. And I do think this game deserves the 85-90 score range due to the developer's dedication to a 200+ hr game and bug-free launch (well, I haven't seen any yet). I hope to see a KoA 2 sometime in the future with better storyline and possibly co-op to make this a franchise hit. Expand
  21. dpc
    Feb 7, 2012
    5
    I agree with Orc, but even his rating is too generous. Gameplay is good and definitely fun, but I doubt anyone will be having orgasmic seizures over the originality of it. The other reviews here, especially CMPN, seem too neatly written and succinctly structured to sound like a genuine player. While playing the game, I had a vague deja vu feeling. After a little while you get the senseI agree with Orc, but even his rating is too generous. Gameplay is good and definitely fun, but I doubt anyone will be having orgasmic seizures over the originality of it. The other reviews here, especially CMPN, seem too neatly written and succinctly structured to sound like a genuine player. While playing the game, I had a vague deja vu feeling. After a little while you get the sense that this is really nothing new. Don't get me wrong, it's good, but to me it's as enjoyable as Two Worlds II (which I sorta liked before the lack of polish and weird ideas finally did me in). The art style while kind of cool takes away that feeling of being immersed in a world like Skyrim does. And I'm not saying all games have to try to be "realistic" (yes, we know Skyrim isn't either), but you don't get the sense that you own the world. You always know you're playing an arcade-y type game. And that may appeal to a lot of people. To me, it's just ok. Expand
  22. Apr 2, 2012
    4
    Kingdoms of Amalur is an extremely boring chore. Though not the worst rpg, it lacks the one thing that makes an awesome rpg, the immersion. The story elements and npcs are a letdown and there is nothing in this game that actually stands out. Nothing!! While ithe game offers a huge map, it is not entirely an open-world as the story paths are highly linear. Character customisation isKingdoms of Amalur is an extremely boring chore. Though not the worst rpg, it lacks the one thing that makes an awesome rpg, the immersion. The story elements and npcs are a letdown and there is nothing in this game that actually stands out. Nothing!! While ithe game offers a huge map, it is not entirely an open-world as the story paths are highly linear. Character customisation is limited, there isn't any memorable moments in quests and while npcs have lots to say, they are very generic and lack any form of personality.. There's not much decision making involved in the story and therefore you don't have to listen and understand all the long conversations. You will likely skip them too as they are so monotonous and dull. While some people think the gameplay makes up for these infuriating flaws, in actual fact, the gameplay is like God of War, meaning repetitive hack-and-slash as you fight swarms of enemies in your path. Good if you're into that kind of stuff, otherwise this will be a chore for you. KoAR holds so much potential but instead chooses to be mediocre in a wide range of area withought being good in any of them. NO THANK YOU!! I've fallen for their marketing ploy and am here to tell you, turn back now!! Expand
  23. Feb 7, 2012
    9
    Kingdoms of Amalur can only be described in one way and that is.....AWSOME!!!
    When I played the demo I didn't think much since it was very buggy and unpolished at the time,but I decided to get this game anyway's and see the finished product and I'm Happy I did so.koa is worth a look since it doesn't have game breaking bug's like Skyrim which I haven't played since 11/13/11 thanks to
    Kingdoms of Amalur can only be described in one way and that is.....AWSOME!!!
    When I played the demo I didn't think much since it was very buggy and unpolished at the time,but I decided to get this game anyway's and see the finished product and I'm Happy I did so.koa is worth a look since it doesn't have game breaking bug's like Skyrim which I haven't played since 11/13/11 thanks to Bethesda not being good enough on their promise of patch 1.4 being released on time *go Figure*KOA is a must own for any rpg fan.now there are some technical problems here but none are game breaking so far and I'm enjoying KOA alot.this game get's a good ole 9 out of 10 from me.
    Expand
  24. May 24, 2012
    9
    Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning is the greatest surprise of 2012, so far. It's an awesome action-RPG game with a huge and beatiful world.
    Kingdoms of Amalur focuses more in combat than in story. It can be said that the game's story is quite hollow and simple, and you just don't feel like interested on it part because the voice acting is not that good and part because it's really not good.
    Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning is the greatest surprise of 2012, so far. It's an awesome action-RPG game with a huge and beatiful world.
    Kingdoms of Amalur focuses more in combat than in story. It can be said that the game's story is quite hollow and simple, and you just don't feel like interested on it part because the voice acting is not that good and part because it's really not good. But the fact that the voice acting isn't good doesn't mean it's bad. I'll talk about this later on this review.
    Speaking of the gameplay, here's where the game's awesome. The combat is just fast and simple. Some may think it's just button smashing and in part it is, but it's still fun swing your huge badass hammer and roll to avoid a bunch of attackers. Hardcore RPG players would barely like it. The role-playing part of the game isn't deep and doesn't offer you much choice. You can be a mage, a thief or a soldier. Mixing it up doesn't feel good. The game may be a little easy for some, even on hard. The game menus are easy to go through and the junk functionality makes your life easier. Long story short about gameplay: it's and action-RPG but feels like a hack 'n' slash. It doesn't take away the greatness of testing your skills and having fun in a well animated combat though.
    The graphics are goddamn stylish. They give the game a playful appearance and take away all the serious **** you usually find in other RPGs. Colorful landscapes and bright visual effects are remarkable. These graphics play along with the voice acting and the script in dialogues to create a less dramatic and serious world. You barely note a character speaking with a serious tone and even when you do it doesn't feel that serious. The graphics and the "careless" voice acting make a good pair and work well. Plus, the soundtrack may be a bit repetitive, though it matches the feeling of the epic world of Amalur.
    Speaking of Amalur, it's an enormous place, beatiful as I said, but with few to explore. Sometimes, you find yourself in an open area with absolutely nothing to do, leading to a sense of no life. that's a bad point about the game.
    If you're looking for an RPG experience that's different of almost every single one that you had, enjoy a good combat, beautiful graphics and can forgive the lack of a good story, Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning is your game. A surprisingly good game!
    Expand
  25. Jun 20, 2013
    7
    Amalur is a BIG, HUGE game for sure. But did they gave us a huge amount of content for us to explore and to find out. Yeah...? Amalur has a pretty interesting plot, but with few highlights. A colorful and beautiful world, but with a kinda awkward camera and the maps are always connect via the same pathway/tunnel. A fun combat system that reminds me of God of War. No buts on the combat. AAmalur is a BIG, HUGE game for sure. But did they gave us a huge amount of content for us to explore and to find out. Yeah...? Amalur has a pretty interesting plot, but with few highlights. A colorful and beautiful world, but with a kinda awkward camera and the maps are always connect via the same pathway/tunnel. A fun combat system that reminds me of God of War. No buts on the combat. A huge list of sidequests and they are fully voiced, but only a few of them got me really interested. Fun fate/class system, but a not so interesting character customization. Amalur does so many things right, but at the same time there are many small flaws that hold this game back from it's true potential.
    Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning 7.5/10 A'IGHT!!!
    I do have to admit that it's always fun to just walk around enjoying the beautiful landscapes and environments of Amalur.
    Expand
  26. Feb 25, 2012
    9
    Say farewell to the dreary grey of winter and welcome the spring-like joy of Amalur.It's not just
    the vibrant,sun-splashed color ; it's a new beginning---perhaps the most captivating,fun combat
    yet found in a fantasy RPG.As I progress, (now 60 hours on hard difficulty) I sometimes long for greater,varied challenge, but I realize it's not Dark Souls.The usual RPG elements as well as novel
    Say farewell to the dreary grey of winter and welcome the spring-like joy of Amalur.It's not just
    the vibrant,sun-splashed color ; it's a new beginning---perhaps the most captivating,fun combat
    yet found in a fantasy RPG.As I progress, (now 60 hours on hard difficulty) I sometimes long for
    greater,varied challenge, but I realize it's not Dark Souls.The usual RPG elements as well as
    novel aspects make for an engrossing experience.
    Expand
  27. Feb 14, 2012
    10
    This cast of fantastic game designers have taken the best parts of so many games and have create one better than all of them. If you've enjoyed Fable, Darksiders, Torchlight even, you will love this one. It is so gorgeous, the music is incredible, reminiscent of Rockstar's Bully, The fighting system is loads of fun, you never stop improving your character, there is an incredible amount ofThis cast of fantastic game designers have taken the best parts of so many games and have create one better than all of them. If you've enjoyed Fable, Darksiders, Torchlight even, you will love this one. It is so gorgeous, the music is incredible, reminiscent of Rockstar's Bully, The fighting system is loads of fun, you never stop improving your character, there is an incredible amount of things to do and ways to improve your character, the missions are fun and varied, the plot is interesting, and it seems to never get boring, the longer I play the more incredible it seems. The magic the weapons the special moves, just so many things to look forward to and so much loot it'll make you hungry for more. It is truly a game that is impossible to put down once you've started it. The camera isn't ideal but you'll get used to it, and the dialog and NPC textures might put some off a bit early on, but once you get into the game, all these things disappear into the background and you're left with an incredible experience that will get you hooked for very long hours. Haven't had this much fun in a long time. Expand
  28. Nov 5, 2013
    8
    "Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning overcome it's weak main story, a terrible questline logic and some camera problems with an amazing combat system, stunning visuals and a large world full of exploration. Unfortunately, it has some gameplay problems that may disappoint some people."
  29. Feb 22, 2012
    3
    The most comical thing on here is CMPNs review of the game, it's been lifted straight from the advertising blurb and pasted to the reviews of Amalur on all 3 platforms and it's the only thing he's reviewed, suspicious much? Anyway, I've played the full game a bit longer now, probably for 10 hours and have given up. It gets old fast, repetitive questing, that hemmed in feeling, out datedThe most comical thing on here is CMPNs review of the game, it's been lifted straight from the advertising blurb and pasted to the reviews of Amalur on all 3 platforms and it's the only thing he's reviewed, suspicious much? Anyway, I've played the full game a bit longer now, probably for 10 hours and have given up. It gets old fast, repetitive questing, that hemmed in feeling, out dated cartoon graphics and that oh so annoying lack of being able to get over tiny obstacles, how hard would it be to let me JUMP! and the fact I just stand there during cut scenes, not doing or saying anything, anyway, I give up. I'm not playing it again. Back to Skyrim until ME3 comes out. Expand
  30. Feb 10, 2012
    9
    Buy this game. I'm about 7 hours in and I'm having a true blast. From the opening menu, the game heavily reminds me of playing World of Warcraft II on my PlayStation 1. From the wonderful music (which is like a Danny Elfman score, a good thing!) the font they use for all the menus, the dialogue and the overall look--it will keep you wrapped in it's world. I played the demo and thought itBuy this game. I'm about 7 hours in and I'm having a true blast. From the opening menu, the game heavily reminds me of playing World of Warcraft II on my PlayStation 1. From the wonderful music (which is like a Danny Elfman score, a good thing!) the font they use for all the menus, the dialogue and the overall look--it will keep you wrapped in it's world. I played the demo and thought it was "okay, not bad" but I had two friends tell me it's really fun and I should pick it up. Very happy I did! The only thing two things I think that can bring the game down is the lip syncing in dialogue scenes and the facial expression are a little average, not wonderful. Along with frame rate drops here and there but it doesn't distract from the game much at all. The voice acting is great, I've been roaming towns and what's great is I haven't heard a voice repeated yet. The greatest two pros are the combat system (amazing) and story. I really feel like the story is Lord of the Rings meets Spawn. You play a person brought back to life from the Well of Souls and no one knows how you are changing "fate" where everyone else's fate is predestined. I'm currently playing the game on hard, which I recommend if you want a fair challenge! I think the real magic of the game begins when you start seeing that doing a quest for someone actually gains you some nice items or a lot of gold, useful things unlike a lot of fetch questing in games where you get junk. Also, the story is strong enough that I can't see you just side questing for too long between story missions. If you're looking for a game with a lot of character building, an awesome Gauntlet style combat system and a solid story--pick up, "Reckoning!" Expand
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. Mar 8, 2012
    76
    Needless to say, Reckoning is a repetitive experience. If you've played the first five hours, you've seen everything the game has to offer except a few bosses and superficially different environments.
  2. Mar 5, 2012
    85
    When you set aside the forgettable characters and boring dialog you find a game that is so well polished in many of its other aspects. The title boasts one of the best combat systems ever in an action-RPG and a highly flexible class system that allows the player to choose to be whatever they want to.
  3. Reckoning is not about narrative. In this respect, it's a defiantly linear experience. What it is about is gameplay choice within the oft-rigid of an RPG. The way it accomplishes this is particularly fresh, and maybe even suggests a new precedent in the evolution of the genre. It's about time, right? Big Huge Games has clearly been paying a lot of attention to what's going on, and the result is that Reckoning is a patchwork of everything great that's been done to forward modern RPGs in recent times. [March 2012, p70]