Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 21
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 21
  3. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Limbo is simply one of the most impressive titles that PSN has to offer, and at $15, it's an experience that no gamer should pass up. [Oct 2011, p.80]
  2. Jul 27, 2011
    100
    When it was released in 2010 on Xbox Live Arcade, Limbo had everything of the absolute video game gem. A year later, its charms are stronger than ever. Wrapped in its simple yet elegant visuals, with a unique atmosphere, this platformer will challenge your sense of observation, your wits, and your brains... without forgetting to twinkle your emotions. A masterpiece yesterday, a masterpiece today.
  3. Jul 26, 2011
    100
    If someone ever tells you videogames aren't art, strap them to a chair and make them play Limbo. Yes, it's that perfect.
  4. Jul 20, 2011
    100
    LIMBO keeps you sucked into its bleak, grim universe with unique puzzles, simple controls, and an approach to game design Playdead calls "trial and death" gaming for long enough to be effective, but certainly leaves some length to be desired.
  5. Jul 27, 2011
    95
    A design masterpiece that is always challenging us in a different way, combining simple platforming, puzzle and action, and with an oustanding visual design.
  6. Sep 16, 2011
    90
    Oozing atmosphere and filled with deliriously evil puzzles, it's a beautifully crafted game that becomes impossible to put down. [Issue#209, p.98]
  7. 90
    40% substance, 60% style, Limbo is an engrossing puzzle game and one of the highlights of PSN games this year.
  8. Jul 27, 2011
    90
    It's the experience of playing the game that demands attention, because there is very little quite like it. It's a strange and unusual game that plays in a familiar manner to explore an unfamiliar world, and it's worth exploring. As long as you don't mind dying a few times to get there.
  9. Jul 21, 2011
    90
    Thoughtful puzzles and striking aesthetics make Limbo a cerebral adventure you must experience.
  10. Jul 20, 2011
    90
    An incredible achievement. Very few games are as original, atmospheric, and consistently brilliant. It belongs in everybody's collection. The journey may be over too quickly, but you will be entertained every minute. This is one of my favorite games.
  11. Jul 19, 2011
    90
    Limbo is one of those games that just begs to be played.
  12. Jul 19, 2011
    90
    Regardless, LIMBO is an excellent title that PlayDead Studios should be proud of. It's a strong game that hopefully won't be overlooked because it's an "indie" project that doesn't feature a lot of explosions or guns. It's a title that, given half a chance, will both impress and disturb you.
  13. Aug 1, 2011
    89
    Limbo is a game with a great atmosphere and a fine style. The gameplay is original and different than usual and also challenging. The puzzles are really simple, but it can be hard to figure out what the solution is. The game is also a bit short.
  14. Jul 22, 2011
    88
    It's one of these games that can be instant classics. It's addictive, dying even more motivates you and it's simply one of the best games you can get via PSN.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 204 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 36
  2. Negative: 2 out of 36
  1. Sep 25, 2011
    2
    Dull and lifeless. Slow and repetitive gameplay, with disparate levels and retreads. Poor, unsaturated, depressing art direction. This is no mario. Its E-mario (emo mario) and a sad excuse for an indie game. I'm ashamed I played the demo and that this what gaming has become. I'll be playing the much more elegant and exciting Blade Kitten instead of this junk. If this was the only game in hell, I wouldn't play it. Full Review »
  2. Jul 21, 2011
    10
    In this day and age of frenetic, adrenalized gunplay, twisting and weaving plot-lines, overwrought character development and a bombardment of on-screen displays, hints and information, LIMBO is truly a breath of fresh air. Or rather, a thick, deeply atmospheric dream-like fog. With no on-screen HUD, no prompts, no introductory cut-scenes and no real idea who this little boy is or why he has just woken up in this eerily beautiful black and white world, we are given no choices but to progress and explore what lies ahead of us, and for him.
    It is a magic, yet slightly disturbing feeling, akin to the confusion one senses for those first brief moments after awaking from a particularly vivid and surreal dream of ones own.

    Death is a part of life, and you'll witness death first hand many times as you traverse the world of LIMBO.
    The deaths are quick, yet quite brutal to witness, and even though there is no significant penalty to dying, you realize after only a few minutes that the boy is indeed very fragile. So your movements become cautious, you want to study the seemingly insignificant ground before you step forth.

    Animations are smooth as silk. As for the sound, if you don't have a surround sound set-up, I recommend headphones, as it can be vital to anticipate what lies ahead via subtle audio cues.
    If you are playing through tv speakers, I guarantee you after 10 minutes you'll catch yourself leaning ever towards the screen- not because of poor audio. Rather, the immersion will pull you in.

    Rarely have I experienced such a game. LIMBO deserves to be recognized as true art. Without the use of quotation marks.
    10/10. The sense of loneliness and despair is very real.
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 4, 2011
    9
    I loved this game. Simple but incredibly moving. Got a little too tricky near the end, but kept me on my toes, even if I was getting quite frustrated at times. Wish it was about 2-3 times longer though! Full Review »