LittleBigPlanet 2 PlayStation 3

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Jan 18, 2011
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 669 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 44 out of 669
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 27, 2011
    10
    For any real gamer, the notion of progress is a double edged sword when it comes to justifying our belief in or appreciation of games as a medium. We raise one hand protesting the need for change, while crossing our fingers on the other, in hope that those things we loved before are still present. This tension is no more telling than when a sequel is developed. Especially when then its theFor any real gamer, the notion of progress is a double edged sword when it comes to justifying our belief in or appreciation of games as a medium. We raise one hand protesting the need for change, while crossing our fingers on the other, in hope that those things we loved before are still present. This tension is no more telling than when a sequel is developed. Especially when then its the sequel to one of the most imporant games in or any generation. From its humble beginnings, it is clear that LittleBigPlanet 2 feels like a more polished article, like a band making the second album, with more money, resources and technical capabilities at their disposal. In the same respect though, some of the charm has been lost. Sackboy seems less an archetype for personalisation in character identification and more of an objective entity. The cut and paste levels of the first games, with their brilliant imperfections have been replaced with a more contextual narrative. With cut scenes, technical feats, musical direction and item trickery offering a more holistic experience. Despite this, some charm has been lost, as the cracks that allowed you to see the majesty of the first games parts have been glazed over. The pre-designed levels still serve as a inticing anicdote of the new horizons that LBP2 could offer. The variety of new items, stage devices, AI charcters and visons into the realm of future possibilities replaces charm with a self recognition that this is only the first chapter in the story. Media Molecules faith in its userbase is unparalled. For they know it is up to us to keep constantly re-writing its narrative. Which is where, as we all know, the point at which LBP2 we live or die. It is an extension of an idea that is suprisingly profound, that gaming can in fact be an organic process, being shaped and reshaped over time. The most important element therefore, is the tools that are given at our disposal. It is here, that LBP2 transcends its predecessor in everyway. The most imporant element of all, being that of combination. Whereas in LBP there were a limited number of items at your fingertips, the wealth of riches at your disposal raises the challenge of creation, and the wonder of discovery ever more. It seems unncessary to list them, but special must be given to the creatinator. A device that allows you to create any functioning mechanical device you so wish. Within a short time there has been a wealth of 2d retro replicas, nods of nostalgic reminisence and attempts at genres that it didn't seem possible to produce (i.e. type in Zelda and see for yourself). More than anything though, the realm of possibiity has evolved anew. Seemingly raising the bar in terms of faith in the gaming community and what is possible. Who knows what the future will hold. Im just glad Im part of the story. Expand
  2. Jul 10, 2012
    8
    the first LBP was a fun game and a nice venture into some thing new . LBP2 is a fun new sequel to the first that lets you do it all over again. The best part of this game is playing the stuff people have come up with . i found myself amazed at some of the levels and movies people put together . The biggest downside is the game doesn't feel like it adds alot of new stuff . the biggest thingthe first LBP was a fun game and a nice venture into some thing new . LBP2 is a fun new sequel to the first that lets you do it all over again. The best part of this game is playing the stuff people have come up with . i found myself amazed at some of the levels and movies people put together . The biggest downside is the game doesn't feel like it adds alot of new stuff . the biggest thing i remember the devs saying about this one was how much easier it would be to make your own levels compared to the first and how much faster it would be . well its still a huge chore and if you look at some of the amazing levels people made it took them 100s of hours if not more to put together. which as much as i would like to make some thing like that i don't want to spend that kind of time doing . hopefully LBP3 will streamline this alot more. still its a fun game and if you enjoyed the first you will enjoy this one. Expand
  3. Jan 19, 2011
    9
    You can try to play this game without a silly little grin on your face and a giggle here or there... but i doubt you will succeed. It has to be one of the most amusing games on the market and without a doubt, is a crowed pleaser for any age!
  4. Mar 7, 2011
    10
    How could anyone really rate or review this game 100% accurate?It's impossible because a game like this is far on and beyond any video games that have ever been created.This has no end and all of the gameplay and fufillment you will encounter will blow you away at all times,it's that good.It is like they said,they gave us the tools the first time around to make custom levels and this timeHow could anyone really rate or review this game 100% accurate?It's impossible because a game like this is far on and beyond any video games that have ever been created.This has no end and all of the gameplay and fufillment you will encounter will blow you away at all times,it's that good.It is like they said,they gave us the tools the first time around to make custom levels and this time around they gave us the tools to create our own games.Until little big planet 3 comes out you bet I will be enjoying the brilliance of everything this experience,not game,will endow upon me. Expand
  5. Jan 18, 2011
    10
    Not since Uncharted 2 & Resistance 2 have I seen a game be improved on in every way. Astounding, magical, amazing and a whole bunch of positive adjectives Apple normally use to wrongfully to describe there products now have a little sack boy next to them in the dictionary YOU OWE IT TO YOURSELF TO GO BY THIS GAME. NOW.
  6. Mar 9, 2011
    10
    This is a great game. It has a great story and an even better online multiplayer. There is a endless amount of levels to play. This is a must buy for any PS3 owners.
  7. Jan 18, 2011
    10
    LittleBigPlanet 2 is brilliant. It's much more in-depth in every way from the first game. There's a variety of things to do and see, it never gets old. It's Gameplay and Presentation is amazing, the story is great, and creating has never been more fun. Honestly, i have no regrets or complaints after buying this game.
  8. Jan 24, 2011
    10
    Will this game cause a revolution in user generated content... maybe...

    The editor is simple enough for anyone to create basic levels. The tutorials are there to help people to learn... the game is there to show what is possible. And I think most importantly people can link there levels together to create a geography... The question is whether there are a. enough people out there who
    Will this game cause a revolution in user generated content... maybe...

    The editor is simple enough for anyone to create basic levels. The tutorials are there to help people to learn... the game is there to show what is possible. And I think most importantly people can link there levels together to create a geography...

    The question is whether there are a. enough people out there who want to create a world and b. enough people who will care if they do...
    Expand
  9. Oct 12, 2014
    9
    This is what you expect from a sequel to one of the most creative and alluring platformers of all-time. Gameplay has improved slightly with the addition of new items to use, and the graphics are a bit sharper. Where it really excels, though, is in its array of new editor tools. There are more creative levels to play than the first LittleBigPlanet, and by a large margin.
  10. Mar 15, 2011
    10
    Amazing game,its really for kids n teenages and people wanting to make their own game since u can make any game you feel like and if not just play the single player n online user created levels.

    There is no end tot his game since u can just make n do what you want,do not listen to the low scores since they are just 360fanboys who mark down every ps3 game.
  11. Jan 18, 2011
    10
    This game is INSANE. it'll freakin rock your socks off kiddos!!! if you liked the 1st one youll love LBP2. Mario who? Wii what??? they aint got nothin on sackboy
  12. Apr 1, 2013
    10
    It's like modern Mario Bros. Seriously but with way better graphics, a hell of lot more time spent and most of all, gameplay that's for everyone. Even the most douchiest of aholes with play this game and enjoy it
  13. Jan 18, 2011
    10
    Simply superb. This game is so brilliant, It's hard to imagine the developers of this game would've been able to push beyond what the first LBP did. This game is not just a game it's an experience that while it might not be for everyone it is sure to captivate millions. I play with someone and we have a blast but even playing solo is still infinitely entertaining. LBP2 is the first game inSimply superb. This game is so brilliant, It's hard to imagine the developers of this game would've been able to push beyond what the first LBP did. This game is not just a game it's an experience that while it might not be for everyone it is sure to captivate millions. I play with someone and we have a blast but even playing solo is still infinitely entertaining. LBP2 is the first game in a huge list of amazing PS3 exclusives this year. Great times to be a PS3 owner Expand
  14. Jun 14, 2011
    8
    Little Big Planet 2 was something that was needed, something fresh, that i havent played before but is not without its faults. The story is unimpressive and is just a distraction to show what can be done in the game. I also didnt like the fact that the game forces one to play the story mode in order to collect important collectibles for the editor. The fun of the game is creating your ownLittle Big Planet 2 was something that was needed, something fresh, that i havent played before but is not without its faults. The story is unimpressive and is just a distraction to show what can be done in the game. I also didnt like the fact that the game forces one to play the story mode in order to collect important collectibles for the editor. The fun of the game is creating your own levels( which makes use of ones brain which is less and less evedent in games nowadays ) and seeing what other people can create with their imaginations. The game faults are the limitations that limit the creator in sense of size that a creator wants to create his or her game ( The gauge overheats very easily and a very annoying thing i often see is "the shape is getting too complicated aswell as you cannot put any more stickers" which somewhat puts me off quite alot make me want to stop playing the game, also the fact that i must buy costume dlc really pisses me of( I HATE DLC) but besides that the game is very fun and good value for money as long as you dont lack imagination, are lazy or are lazy to think. 7.5/10. Expand
  15. Feb 7, 2011
    10
    Very excellent game. Loved every second of my time spent on it. Level creator is just as addicting as the first if not more with the amount of new content available you can spend hours end wasting away on this game. One of the must buy's for PS3.
  16. Jan 24, 2011
    8
    An amazing and complete game. I was not a fan of LBP but LBP2 is like a 2.0 engine upgrade. You can access all the user created content for both games, and have a vast library of new physics controls with the much-improved creator, and even in single player LBP2 offers an improved experience. For those wondering about trophies, they are easier than before. Rent or buy, it's well worthAn amazing and complete game. I was not a fan of LBP but LBP2 is like a 2.0 engine upgrade. You can access all the user created content for both games, and have a vast library of new physics controls with the much-improved creator, and even in single player LBP2 offers an improved experience. For those wondering about trophies, they are easier than before. Rent or buy, it's well worth playing in its entirety. Expand
  17. Jan 18, 2011
    10
    Purely sublime. It builds on all the previous games acomplishments and goes the next level. It may not look that much different and doesn't play that much different. But it has more levels, more power up & and attachments, as well as AI helper bots. The campaigh ( as with LBP1) is solid , but it's the scope for making levels that make this game a notch above any other. Like its predecessorPurely sublime. It builds on all the previous games acomplishments and goes the next level. It may not look that much different and doesn't play that much different. But it has more levels, more power up & and attachments, as well as AI helper bots. The campaigh ( as with LBP1) is solid , but it's the scope for making levels that make this game a notch above any other. Like its predecessor it requires patience , but that patience pays off in the long run. Its also compatible with all old LBP levels. Overall if you havent played LBP1 This is a must . If you have played LBP1 this is STILL a must. Expand
  18. Feb 9, 2011
    10
    Returning with 2 million levels already created and even more tools at the disposal of all you clever creators out there, this is definitely something to check out. A worth investment, I don't believe I will ever regret buying either of these games as they are a gift that just keep on giving. There has already been some amazing community levels created for this game. And the beauty is theyReturning with 2 million levels already created and even more tools at the disposal of all you clever creators out there, this is definitely something to check out. A worth investment, I don't believe I will ever regret buying either of these games as they are a gift that just keep on giving. There has already been some amazing community levels created for this game. And the beauty is they aren't all platformers! They are ACTUAL games! From a tower defense game to a top down shooter, the diversity is finally there. A must buy for any gaming enthusiast. Expand
  19. Feb 27, 2011
    10
    Amazing game through and through. Way better than LBP1 and the story makes it seem more advanced. I love the new tools and powerups too. Deserves way more than a 10. Also, ignore these 2 ignorant fanboys that gave it a 0. One doesn't have an imagination and is a xbox fanboy, and the other can't even use correct grammar, much less use english well anyways, indicating his intelligence level.Amazing game through and through. Way better than LBP1 and the story makes it seem more advanced. I love the new tools and powerups too. Deserves way more than a 10. Also, ignore these 2 ignorant fanboys that gave it a 0. One doesn't have an imagination and is a xbox fanboy, and the other can't even use correct grammar, much less use english well anyways, indicating his intelligence level. They are both jealous that they can't play such an amazing game. Expand
  20. Jan 26, 2011
    10
    OUTSTANDING!

    Media Molecule are on fire, LittleBigPlanet2 has all the best things from the first game but brings over a LOT more for what you can do, from your costumes, building levels and even making a whole game. Such fun online and please play the street fighter 4 game on the community levels OMG i played it on launch day and still cant stop laughing. Replay value 100% i cannot
    OUTSTANDING!

    Media Molecule are on fire, LittleBigPlanet2 has all the best things from the first game but brings over a LOT more for what you can do, from your costumes, building levels and even making a whole game.
    Such fun online and please play the street fighter 4 game on the community levels OMG i played it on launch day and still cant stop laughing.
    Replay value 100% i cannot get bored of this, best value for money for the best game in the shops, its like a guy selling you a bugatti for the price of a saxo you cant beay it!!!

    One or two issues however, why did england get the game last as Media Molecule are an english company??

    and for those of you who play online and get a loading screen, press you guide button on and off or go to send someone a message and cancel it and it should be fine.

    Appart from this, this is a review for the game and the game is near perfect, best game i have played in a LONG time. 10
    Expand
  21. Jan 28, 2011
    10
    Little big planet 2 is an awesome game....... import your game save from LBP1 and your sackboy + created levels are in your pod and moon for you to tinker with. Play your LBP1 levels on little big planet 2 and the graphical difference is amazing...more smooth, more specular effects and loads more colour to boot. The level creater is in there but this time round there's much more you canLittle big planet 2 is an awesome game....... import your game save from LBP1 and your sackboy + created levels are in your pod and moon for you to tinker with. Play your LBP1 levels on little big planet 2 and the graphical difference is amazing...more smooth, more specular effects and loads more colour to boot. The level creater is in there but this time round there's much more you can do with it from making the usual LBP1 type standard levels to creating a new game altogether...race games, rpg zelda type games, the choice is yours.......is it better than LBP1------oh yes! and then some....10 out of 10 without a doubt. Expand
  22. Feb 4, 2011
    10
    I enjoyed it more than the first one... And I thought the first one was incredible. The addition of the neat gadgets and more engaging side games (along with the existing LBP brilliance) makes this game absolutely remarkable.
  23. Jan 21, 2011
    10
    This game is genuinely, one of the best games ever. Firstly, the story is much better with the addition of AI and the new futuristic theme. But, as if we bought the game for story mode. Create is an absolute masterpiece. It takes a while to learn how stuff like movers work, but then it's fine. It's only after a few hours on create that the true genius of the tools is revealed. You can makeThis game is genuinely, one of the best games ever. Firstly, the story is much better with the addition of AI and the new futuristic theme. But, as if we bought the game for story mode. Create is an absolute masterpiece. It takes a while to learn how stuff like movers work, but then it's fine. It's only after a few hours on create that the true genius of the tools is revealed. You can make almost ANYTHING. And I mean that. Just go on community to see what I mean. An absolute masterpiece, with infinite replay value. Expand
  24. Jan 24, 2011
    10
    It has already been said a thousand times but LBP 2 is an incredible game. The sheer capacity for creativity is its main strength and while, at first, I thought that put too much reliance on the community and we'd be left with nothing but mediocrity and boredom the community is showing a lot of promise. The new additions to the level editors are all easy to use and effectively used asIt has already been said a thousand times but LBP 2 is an incredible game. The sheer capacity for creativity is its main strength and while, at first, I thought that put too much reliance on the community and we'd be left with nothing but mediocrity and boredom the community is showing a lot of promise. The new additions to the level editors are all easy to use and effectively used as demonstrated by the myriad levels posted online everyday. The game may still be young but it is showing lots of promise and I am having a blast playing both the story levels and online with all kinds of people. This game, if nothing else, is a great way to spend time with friends and maybe even make a few from around the globe. A great game, hands down. Expand
  25. Jan 23, 2011
    9
    The game is a fantastic platformer with unlimited possibilities and a ton of replayability due to the in-depth level designer that lets you create games of almost any genre. LittleBigPlanet 2 is a sure-fire Game of the Year contender.
  26. Feb 1, 2011
    10
    One word: brilliant. Excluding the Assassin's Creed saga, LittleBigPlanet is my favourite game. It is quirky with brilliant game-play and each level may be played over and over again without becoming boring. But the complexity of the level creator is another story. The level creation system has been transformed allowing you to not only make levels but entire games. One of the best games onOne word: brilliant. Excluding the Assassin's Creed saga, LittleBigPlanet is my favourite game. It is quirky with brilliant game-play and each level may be played over and over again without becoming boring. But the complexity of the level creator is another story. The level creation system has been transformed allowing you to not only make levels but entire games. One of the best games on the market. Expand
  27. Mar 18, 2012
    9
    This is a rare sort of game, it's the kind of game I can see satisfying any kind of gamer, it's perfect for gamers of any age, kids will love it for it's lighthearted gameplay and older gamers will love it for it's references to games from the past, and surprisingly deep gameplay and level creating system, the game looks gorgeous and has a phenomenal soundtrack, it's a fun and sometimesThis is a rare sort of game, it's the kind of game I can see satisfying any kind of gamer, it's perfect for gamers of any age, kids will love it for it's lighthearted gameplay and older gamers will love it for it's references to games from the past, and surprisingly deep gameplay and level creating system, the game looks gorgeous and has a phenomenal soundtrack, it's a fun and sometimes downright bizarre game, it has a nice story mode that packs a weird story, and while it's mostly a platformer it does shake it up in some surprising ways so it doesn't get stale, the real big thing here is the level creator that has fantastic online support and the things you can do with it is amazing you can create all sorts of different game types and it really lets your creativity soar, and when you create a level you can share it online for others to play, and you can also download other peoples creations, it does have some issues holding it back from true greatness like some questionable platforming and irritating moments, but if you have a PS3 this is a must play game, it's truly unique and outstanding and a must play. Expand
  28. May 15, 2011
    10
    Amusing, boisterous, convivial, diverting, enjoyable, entertaining, lively, merry, pleasant, witty and amazing. What else can I say? This game is an absolute masterpiece. The developers have evolved so much on the first game and the integrated levels are amazing. The campaign was awesome and each level made sense. The end was great and all else followed. Mind-blowing.
  29. Jan 19, 2011
    9
    Rarely in gaming am I overtaken by the complete fun of what I'm doing that I burst into laughter regularly. The changes are great without overdoing anything. My girlfriend and I were up into the wee hours of the morning playing.
  30. Jan 18, 2011
    10
    I've been playing LittleBigPlanet since it's release several years ago. I've been playing LittleBigPlanet 2 since the beginning of the beta. This is, IMO, one of the greatest video game accomplishments I've seen. The creation mode is so incredibly deep, your imagination is the only thing holding you back. Not a fan of LittleBigPlanet platforming? No problem! The tools this game givesI've been playing LittleBigPlanet since it's release several years ago. I've been playing LittleBigPlanet 2 since the beginning of the beta. This is, IMO, one of the greatest video game accomplishments I've seen. The creation mode is so incredibly deep, your imagination is the only thing holding you back. Not a fan of LittleBigPlanet platforming? No problem! The tools this game gives you to create are capable of creating just about any experience. As a game content player, or a platform to share your ideas with the world.... this is the greatest user-generated-content game ever created. If you own a PS3, you MUST have this game. You will still be playing it several years from now. Fantastic! Expand
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 86 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 84 out of 86
  2. Negative: 0 out of 86
  1. Dec 12, 2011
    85
    If you build it, they will come. The only limiting factor in creating new games here is your own mind. Dive into the chaotic beauty of LittleBigPlanet 2.
  2. Apr 12, 2011
    96
    Quotation forthcoming.
  3. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Mar 17, 2011
    90
    Lush, beautifully rendered graphics with amazing particle physics. You'll not see a demonic custard tart explode more realistically... LBP2 is already a contender for game of the year. [March 2011, p74]