• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Oct 27, 2008
User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 5155 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Not as big little planet, can be as little note to users. For me it is one of the best games of this generation.
    The story perhaps, could be improved ... But what this game is a masterpiece.
    In these times, innovate for me is the best. Many do not dare, play it safe .. SHOOTERS. In order to ensure sales ... instead there are companies, such as "Media Molecule" that take risks, and
    Not as big little planet, can be as little note to users. For me it is one of the best games of this generation.
    The story perhaps, could be improved ... But what this game is a masterpiece.
    In these times, innovate for me is the best. Many do not dare, play it safe .. SHOOTERS.
    In order to ensure sales ...
    instead there are companies, such as "Media Molecule" that take risks, and eventually make a great game.
    As "little big planet"
    Expand
  2. Oct 21, 2010
    10
    This is one extreme creative and intelligent game. No, its not childish! It only got a different style than the other games of this generation. LittleBigPlanet is fun, creative and beatiful. Media Molecule keeps patching and updating with new things for players. You can create your SackPerson any way you want, you can make a spaceship level, or just a place to hang out with friends, theThis is one extreme creative and intelligent game. No, its not childish! It only got a different style than the other games of this generation. LittleBigPlanet is fun, creative and beatiful. Media Molecule keeps patching and updating with new things for players. You can create your SackPerson any way you want, you can make a spaceship level, or just a place to hang out with friends, the choices are infinite! What more could you want on a game? (10.0) Expand
  3. Sep 30, 2010
    10
    I was shocked to see the user score for this game. This is not the score it deserves. An infinite playground of innovation and fun with creative potential rivaled only by its sequel certainly deserves better. I'm not a fan of insulting opinion, but this is just wrong.
  4. Sep 15, 2010
    10
    To truly enjoy this game, play with a friend or go online and join a game - the gameplay, puzzles and humour throughout this game can be lost when playing on one's own. However, other than the occasionally annoying plane switching mechanics, this is a thoroughly enjoyable game. The story will take you plenty of time to complete, without being overly long or drawn out, and the puzzles areTo truly enjoy this game, play with a friend or go online and join a game - the gameplay, puzzles and humour throughout this game can be lost when playing on one's own. However, other than the occasionally annoying plane switching mechanics, this is a thoroughly enjoyable game. The story will take you plenty of time to complete, without being overly long or drawn out, and the puzzles are mostly varied. Even once you've completed the story the unlockables offer much more game time, with prize bubbles to collect, bonus levels to unlock and other players' scores to beat. The level editor is also a great addition to this game and the community levels (which mainly consist of mini-games rather than full platforming levels) are some of the most fun you can have with a few mates on a console game. Expand
  5. Sep 15, 2010
    10
    8 LittleBigPlanet is good game with great qualities but suffers from boring game-play and a limited level creator that prevents it from being a masterpiece it could of been. It offers a great online and offline component that any gamer should happy with. It also shines in the main campaign as every level look hand crafted with attention to every level. It was a great experience in the main8 LittleBigPlanet is good game with great qualities but suffers from boring game-play and a limited level creator that prevents it from being a masterpiece it could of been. It offers a great online and offline component that any gamer should happy with. It also shines in the main campaign as every level look hand crafted with attention to every level. It was a great experience in the main campaign unlike anything out on the market. Unfortunately, the camera works against you in some level that prevents you from getting the prizes and some unreasonable level designed that could make levels imposable to pass. The level creator is average because the tutorials take forever to finish and unclear at some section on what to do. The level editor doesn`t recommend what objects worked well in a level and has glicthes. It dose offer a wide range from a variety of tools you can use to make the best level you possibly can. However, only dedicated players can stand how long it would take to make a level and dosen`t offer split screen for offline players. The reason that I gave it a eight is because it`s a game that the whole family can play which makes a for unforgettable experience. Expand
  6. Sep 23, 2010
    10
    Nary a fault to be found. This is platforming, community, and art direction blended into one of the most revolutionary games to hit the genre since Mario ate his first mushroom so many years ago. With Solid Snake out of the picture, Sackboy is arguably the frontrunner to be PlayStation's totem for years to come.
  7. Oct 12, 2010
    10
    Looking at the User Score and seeing a 6.5 really broke my heart. Littlebigplanet is perfect. Its simple as that. It's essentially a side-scrolling platfomer starring Sackboy, your character, as he explores worlds in order to stop an evil collector. The story mode is fun and kid friendly but creation is where Littlebigplanet really shines. You can create your own levels using differentLooking at the User Score and seeing a 6.5 really broke my heart. Littlebigplanet is perfect. Its simple as that. It's essentially a side-scrolling platfomer starring Sackboy, your character, as he explores worlds in order to stop an evil collector. The story mode is fun and kid friendly but creation is where Littlebigplanet really shines. You can create your own levels using different materials and tools. Its really incredible what you can create but little kids can have trouble with the level creator because its so immense. After creating your dream level you can publish it online for others to play. There's literally millions of levels to play so you never ever get bored. Please just ignore the users' low scores this is an amazingly perfect title that must be experienced by any video game lover. Expand
  8. Oct 17, 2010
    10
    greatgreat game................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................ Expand
  9. Oct 28, 2010
    10
    A game like none else. This is by far one of the best games of all time. It has amazing story levels, and ENDLESS, I mean ENDLESS opportunities for creating your own levels. You have an idea, you can make it. You wanna make Super Mario, you can make it. Metal Gear Solid? You can make it. Shortly said this is the best reason to buy a PS3, and the only thing you have to be afraid of is thatA game like none else. This is by far one of the best games of all time. It has amazing story levels, and ENDLESS, I mean ENDLESS opportunities for creating your own levels. You have an idea, you can make it. You wanna make Super Mario, you can make it. Metal Gear Solid? You can make it. Shortly said this is the best reason to buy a PS3, and the only thing you have to be afraid of is that it will give you sky-high expectations for Little big planet 2, but I think they will be able to handle it. If it was possible the score would be higher. Expand
  10. Feb 27, 2011
    10
    Ok, whoever reads this, ignore these ignorant Microsoft fanboys that are extremely jealous that they aren't able to get a game as good as this. Any score lower than a 9 is complete bull**** and are just jealous fanboys. This game is amazing and with over 3 million levels, it's time-consuming. Really Fanboys? Jealous? I think yes. Now go play your oversaturated Mario and Halo games.
  11. Nov 28, 2010
    10
    For all those people who complain that either "the graphics are bad, this is boring, or this game sucks" do not listen to them. LittleBigPlanet is one of the greatest games I have ever played. Not only that but it is amazing and fun. The graphics are stunning, the gameplay is dangerously addictive, and it is one of the best games avaliable right now (for all ages). If you own a PS3, and itFor all those people who complain that either "the graphics are bad, this is boring, or this game sucks" do not listen to them. LittleBigPlanet is one of the greatest games I have ever played. Not only that but it is amazing and fun. The graphics are stunning, the gameplay is dangerously addictive, and it is one of the best games avaliable right now (for all ages). If you own a PS3, and it works, buy this game. Oh, bd get the game of the year addition. Good times. Expand
  12. Nov 28, 2010
    10
    Just when you thought the Playstation was lacking amazing exclusive's along comes LittleBigPlanet, you will see some review's from older audience's (And The Non-Creative) Among Us saying that it's a baby-ish child's game. Don't let that spoil your purchase idea's, if your buying a game for your children (I recommend around the ages from 5-15) this game is fun, if you don't likeJust when you thought the Playstation was lacking amazing exclusive's along comes LittleBigPlanet, you will see some review's from older audience's (And The Non-Creative) Among Us saying that it's a baby-ish child's game. Don't let that spoil your purchase idea's, if your buying a game for your children (I recommend around the ages from 5-15) this game is fun, if you don't like creativeness then don't buy it, its that simple. This is a must purchase. Expand
  13. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    I have to say this game is one of the best I've ever played. Graphically it's gorgeous, the presentation is top-notch, and beyond all that the gameplay is refreshing and a throwback to the platformers of old. I could be considered a M$ fanboy in most respects as I did not own a single PS3 game since I bought it back 2 years ago (I use it mostly as a blu-ray player), until now. It is simplyI have to say this game is one of the best I've ever played. Graphically it's gorgeous, the presentation is top-notch, and beyond all that the gameplay is refreshing and a throwback to the platformers of old. I could be considered a M$ fanboy in most respects as I did not own a single PS3 game since I bought it back 2 years ago (I use it mostly as a blu-ray player), until now. It is simply amazing how the developers were able to push the graphics on the PS3 like they did. Let's face it, the PS3 in terms of it's GPU performance is out-matched by the xbox360 (most developers like me would agree). LBP forces us to think about that sentiment. Major props for Media Molecule for developing a game for the history books. Expand
  14. Aug 24, 2010
    10
    This is one of the best games I've ever played. First off the game contains 50 pre-built levels, this is the main storyline of the games. It takes you across many different locations. The game also has 3 million+ community levels. Tis is a must buy for PS3
  15. May 5, 2012
    10
    This is definitely in my "Top 5" List. This game was the reason I wanted a PS3 so badly. It's for Kids, but Adults too! Kids will love going through the multiple obstacle courses throughout the game, and if they're good at that, making levels of their own will be even more fun! I highly recommend this game for all players with a PS3!
  16. May 12, 2012
    10
    Not a ps3 owner myself but my cousin occasionally brings his ps3 and he had a demo of this game i gotta say its really awesome the transition from keyboard and mouse to controller really confuses you. But this game is really friendly so people who recently bought ps3 should definitely get this game along its fun and challenging platforming.
  17. May 25, 2013
    10
    The funniest part of this game is creating. I have made in total around 70 levels with almost 2 hours of gameplay on each one. You can create almost any kind of 2D level as you want and you can play on them online or offline with your friends up to 4 players or maby both of them together if you want. In total, the players created over 4 million levels together and every one of them areThe funniest part of this game is creating. I have made in total around 70 levels with almost 2 hours of gameplay on each one. You can create almost any kind of 2D level as you want and you can play on them online or offline with your friends up to 4 players or maby both of them together if you want. In total, the players created over 4 million levels together and every one of them are stored in the huge community available for you to play. The story are fun and sometimes hard. If you are an creative person or know one this is the ultimate game for you. Expand
  18. Apr 6, 2013
    10
    This game relinquishes all my worries and just lets my imagination take control again. Seriously, this game is addictive. The user created levels using the tools MM has given you is the selling point of the game. Unlimited levels across the world from people who are incredibly talented at this never ceases to amaze me. You don't go into LittleBigPlanet expecting a superb story, you justThis game relinquishes all my worries and just lets my imagination take control again. Seriously, this game is addictive. The user created levels using the tools MM has given you is the selling point of the game. Unlimited levels across the world from people who are incredibly talented at this never ceases to amaze me. You don't go into LittleBigPlanet expecting a superb story, you just want to have some mindless fun with your friends! And the connection is pretty stable. Needless to say, I've looked tons of hours socialising with other players, playing levels with them, creating levels with them and then screwing them over by b****slapping them. :p The levels are unique and the interface is concise and helpful so you can find exactly what you're looking for. The story missions are pretty creative aswell, I especially like the prizes you get for not dying and the prizes you get for collecting prizes bubbles. Did I mention this is one of the few games that gets collectables right? For one they're actually useful in designing your own levels and they are located in places you'de have to think to look. Adding a degree of challenge to the game. The only critiscm I can give is that it can be a bit laggy online, especially on the last level of the story mode. With everything else the game does right it's easily rectified though.

    BTW: The narrator (Stephen Fry) is awesome. He also guides you through mechanics of the game (Such as prize bubbles or level creating.)
    Expand
  19. Apr 24, 2013
    10
    The game that captured my heart. Filled with endless possibilities from taking off on an epic adventure to having a hilarious mess around making whatever you can think of with some friends.

    The community for LittleBigPlanet is the best game community you can find, and that is saying something! The millions of levels created by users and uploaded are all very unique and offer as much
    The game that captured my heart. Filled with endless possibilities from taking off on an epic adventure to having a hilarious mess around making whatever you can think of with some friends.

    The community for LittleBigPlanet is the best game community you can find, and that is saying something! The millions of levels created by users and uploaded are all very unique and offer as much entertainment as you can dare to find!

    Also Steven Fry is the icing on the cake.
    Expand
  20. May 10, 2013
    10
    Guys, trust me, this game is amazing, people who give this game a 0 are Nintendo fanboys who can't stand any reputation, there was even a retard here that said that this game's about the holocaust.. seriously people, grow up.
  21. Dec 26, 2010
    10
    Best Game that has ever been made in my life time. I love it like my dog. If you gave this game anything below a 9 your a loser and dont have any kind of life or tast of good games.
  22. Dec 13, 2011
    10
    This game is a lot of fun and I only just played a demo version and it rocked so I can't wait to get the full version! This little game is full of BIG surprises and is appropriate for all ages, and the cat. I recommend you go and buy this game!
  23. Jun 15, 2011
    10
    Holy crap. I'm shocked! User score of this game is 6.5, that was surprising. But I'm giving this game a 10 cause this game is something special. It's fun, it's relaxing (sometimes not, which is good), it's cute, it's fun online and even funnier with a buddy (coop). The story is charming, the soundtrack is amazing, the gameplay and the physics are incredible. And it's great to be able toHoly crap. I'm shocked! User score of this game is 6.5, that was surprising. But I'm giving this game a 10 cause this game is something special. It's fun, it's relaxing (sometimes not, which is good), it's cute, it's fun online and even funnier with a buddy (coop). The story is charming, the soundtrack is amazing, the gameplay and the physics are incredible. And it's great to be able to create you're own levels. It's like being God, who doesn't want to be God? Expand
  24. Aug 4, 2011
    10
    This is one of the greatest games of all time. For this game to have a user score of 6.5 is a reflection of society itself. If you can't appreciate this game in its entirety then you are either ignorant, insecure, lazy, stupid, a liar, or all of the above. It has no bugs, no gimmicks, millions of levels to play, great sound and video. It could be the closest thing to a perfect game I'veThis is one of the greatest games of all time. For this game to have a user score of 6.5 is a reflection of society itself. If you can't appreciate this game in its entirety then you are either ignorant, insecure, lazy, stupid, a liar, or all of the above. It has no bugs, no gimmicks, millions of levels to play, great sound and video. It could be the closest thing to a perfect game I've ever seen. Very few games these days offer this much without asking for anything in return. Normally if you spend close to 1000 hours playing a game there is a monthly subscription included. Don't miss out on this masterpiece because you're too cool to play it. Expand
  25. Feb 4, 2012
    10
    I have had LBP for a long time now. I have platinum in the game so am suitably experience to review it. I think this game is wonderful. Its solid gameplay and endearing graphics make it a real treat for all gamers alike. Create a level to have even more enjoyment. These controls are brilliantly thought out with excellent tutorials. The voice over by Stephen Fry is simply the best II have had LBP for a long time now. I have platinum in the game so am suitably experience to review it. I think this game is wonderful. Its solid gameplay and endearing graphics make it a real treat for all gamers alike. Create a level to have even more enjoyment. These controls are brilliantly thought out with excellent tutorials. The voice over by Stephen Fry is simply the best I have ever experienced in a game. What a laugh. What a beautiful voice. So much fun. So much replay value. So much game. This is also fully compatible with LBP2, so all the DLC that was excitingly bought can be utilised again and again. Expand
  26. Oct 13, 2011
    10
    Amazing. Fantastic. Incredible. Colourful. Whimsical. Unique. Refreshing. This is one of the best games on the PS3, the best family friendly game of all time and one of the best games of all time. Experiences like these are rarely seen, so I suggest you go pick this up.
  27. Dec 28, 2011
    10
    People who hate this game might be these stupid xbox fans or nintendo fans. I say this game is one of my favorite. It has alot of fun and i can customize these amazing levels. Overall, this game is superb.
  28. Jan 30, 2012
    10
    A Very good game, the fact that you have to Co-Operate in levels helps with friendship. but the thing is, there are 2x zones that require 2 players, 3x zones that require 3 players. and 4x zones, that will get annoying. you need 4 controllers to get through those. and controllers are $50 each. 50 x 4 = $200... which is $100 cheaper than the most expensive type of PS3, it's ridiculous. ButA Very good game, the fact that you have to Co-Operate in levels helps with friendship. but the thing is, there are 2x zones that require 2 players, 3x zones that require 3 players. and 4x zones, that will get annoying. you need 4 controllers to get through those. and controllers are $50 each. 50 x 4 = $200... which is $100 cheaper than the most expensive type of PS3, it's ridiculous. But what makes up for that is the DLC(Downloadable content) such as POTC(Pirates of the Caribbean) and MGS(Metal Gear Solid). Those add new levels to play. and with Online gaming, the fun is infinite expanded. with community levels, made by other people, there's like 100 new ones per day. The really really REALLY annoying thing is the massive amounts of Back-Tracking. There are switch triggers where you need a certain sticker to get items, which those you don't get until a later level. Like let's say you're missing some stickers due to switch triggers, 20 levels later you find it, than have to go back to that level and beat it again. than that switch trigger gives you more switch triggers, and on and on and on. some switch triggers you have to go through2,3,and 4x zones to get. The conclusion: i give this game. a 9.9 :) have fun, and totally get this game. let's say you have your own ideas than you can make your ideas in your levels! you can make rockets,cars, everything. in the level editor, now go to gamestop/wal*mart and get this game........ WHY ARE YOU STILL READING THIS!!!! GO GET IT! Expand
  29. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    Anything that meets up to par with LittleBigPlanet isn't LittleBigPlanet. This games stands out from any other platformer or puzzler, or puzzle-platformer. After you've played the multiplayer portion of the game, the believable storyline should explain everything. (Or most things, anyways.) Whether it be gandering for friends, or just simply playing it for the trophies, you should findAnything that meets up to par with LittleBigPlanet isn't LittleBigPlanet. This games stands out from any other platformer or puzzler, or puzzle-platformer. After you've played the multiplayer portion of the game, the believable storyline should explain everything. (Or most things, anyways.) Whether it be gandering for friends, or just simply playing it for the trophies, you should find some entertainment in this non-repetitive linear-ish masterpiece that is also called a video game. Expand
  30. Sep 25, 2012
    10
    Great game for both single and multiplayer with enough challenges to have you coming back over and over. Like many games now, it's primarily built for social play, but more than holds it's own as a single player game. Subjectively, I've voted this game a 10 considering the endless hours I've played both alone and with friends, but objectively I cannot see how the game can be faulted belowGreat game for both single and multiplayer with enough challenges to have you coming back over and over. Like many games now, it's primarily built for social play, but more than holds it's own as a single player game. Subjectively, I've voted this game a 10 considering the endless hours I've played both alone and with friends, but objectively I cannot see how the game can be faulted below a 7/10. It's a definition of the genre. Expand
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 85 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 85
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 85
  3. Negative: 0 out of 85
  1. There simply isn't anything else like LBP on any system, anywhere. It's a beautifully elegant and powerful creative tool that puts unlimited potential in the palm of your hand. [Nov 2008, p.92]
  2. We're just happy to see a flagship game for a modern system that's about running from left to right and jumping over things. New ideas are great, great old ideas are better, and LittleBigPlanet has both: it's the future and the past of videogames, rolled into one.
  3. Little Big Planet is revolutionary thanks to its flexible, fun and powerful editor. Creating a quality level takes time but the feeling of achievement is overwhelming. A must for everyone who loves creativity or likes to explore what the creativity of a passionate community can produce.