User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 67 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 67
  2. Negative: 11 out of 67
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DannyL.
    May 17, 2010
    7
    Lost Planet 2 for the PS3 is a good game. The campaign is co-op which is a plus to me, I have always been more of a co-op guy than a VS. guy. The graphics are amazing, the explosions are great, the size and scale of the monsters you fight is jaw dropping. 4 player co-op, takin down huge monsters? Its like Monster Hunter with guns. Why didnt I give this game a 10 out of 10 you ask? Because Lost Planet 2 for the PS3 is a good game. The campaign is co-op which is a plus to me, I have always been more of a co-op guy than a VS. guy. The graphics are amazing, the explosions are great, the size and scale of the monsters you fight is jaw dropping. 4 player co-op, takin down huge monsters? Its like Monster Hunter with guns. Why didnt I give this game a 10 out of 10 you ask? Because of some poor design and storytelling options the devs decided to take. The 6 episodes are broken up into 3-4 chapters per episode, thats not that bad. But what makes it unenjoyable is the fact that it is unclear who you are playing at times, the storyline is basically non-existent till after the 3rd episode. Your basically trompin through the woods getting orders barked at you without any real significance to WHY your being given the order. So for me, the game in that aspect didnt have a engaging aspect to it to keep me glued to my seat and play hours on end. It felt slapped together and unpolished. Expand
  2. Jan 20, 2012
    5
    the first lost planet game was ok . it was like a arcade game with lots and lots of giant aliens to shoot ...but was lacking in some things. now capcom says people where begging for the next one...really??? who??? i didnt know any one who wanted another lost planet game . thats not to say they made some improvements cause they have but they screwed the pooch on one major one. remember howthe first lost planet game was ok . it was like a arcade game with lots and lots of giant aliens to shoot ...but was lacking in some things. now capcom says people where begging for the next one...really??? who??? i didnt know any one who wanted another lost planet game . thats not to say they made some improvements cause they have but they screwed the pooch on one major one. remember how the first one you where fighting lots and lots of giant aliens ... well now you are very rarely fighting them . you are plowing through tons of really bad AI human's . where are the waves of aliens hordeing around you like in the first one? thats what i felt was the best part of the game . it has 4 player co-op which i love in games and feels great in thoose giant boss fights but the rest of the game feels so ho hum fightin through lame human drones. the story was dull and i just started skipping it . alot of the missions are really short some only like 2-3 min long. over all the game is about 4-5 hours so it is very short. the wepon selection is pretty much the same from the first one they didn't add any thing new . the graphics do look great and the explosions do as well. the online didn't do any thing for me and is on its last legs now adays . i got this game on clearence for only $8 new so i dont feel ripped off but i feel bad for any one who payed more then $15 for this game .if your looking for a game to kill aliens in go play the first lost planet game or get earth defense force incect armagedon much better games then this. Expand
  3. Jul 16, 2011
    6
    Nice presentation of huge monster, with exaggerated fighting combat. Even with those good stuff, is flawed and boring. The graphics, simply bad, do not pull me to give it a 7 or a 8 at least. The gameplay is confusing and bad. There isn't to much content in the story, because it's just to bad and negative. The multiplayer is horrible, too much recoil, add barely good maps and you haveNice presentation of huge monster, with exaggerated fighting combat. Even with those good stuff, is flawed and boring. The graphics, simply bad, do not pull me to give it a 7 or a 8 at least. The gameplay is confusing and bad. There isn't to much content in the story, because it's just to bad and negative. The multiplayer is horrible, too much recoil, add barely good maps and you have what it takes too leave the game in couple of days. Capcom is a fantastic publisher, but talking to the game it has this days, isn't going nowhere , even with masterpieces like Mega Man and Resident evil. Expand
  4. Apr 9, 2012
    7
    Broken, but fun. Gameplay and controls are frustrating, but the presentation is godlike. A lot of content and fun co-op play make this game worth buying,
  5. Jun 20, 2013
    5
    After beating the story i just lost all interest on the game. The good about this game was the split-screen co-op, so i completed the story with my sister and i don't call it a great story, it is simply decent. The monster design is good and the weaknesses and also the arsenal. It's simply a "ok" game and i would recommend if you want a good split-screen game but if your playing alone, theAfter beating the story i just lost all interest on the game. The good about this game was the split-screen co-op, so i completed the story with my sister and i don't call it a great story, it is simply decent. The monster design is good and the weaknesses and also the arsenal. It's simply a "ok" game and i would recommend if you want a good split-screen game but if your playing alone, the bots will do everything for you. I can't talk about the MP because i don't even tried it. Expand
  6. Feb 7, 2016
    7
    Grafik: 8/10
    Sound 7/10
    + Big awesome Boss fights, nice Explosions, good Multiplayer / Character variations - Sometimes Laggy, missions recur Conclusion: Lost Planet 2 is a good game, i wounder why this series is rated soo bad, ok it´s not a 90+ but easy a 70-80 Titel. The story is ok, nothing special (6 chapter 8-10 h), but the Boss fights are awesome and bombastic, the
    Grafik: 8/10
    Sound 7/10

    + Big awesome Boss fights, nice Explosions, good Multiplayer / Character variations

    - Sometimes Laggy, missions recur

    Conclusion: Lost Planet 2 is a good game, i wounder why this series is rated soo bad, ok it´s not a 90+ but easy a 70-80 Titel. The story is ok, nothing special (6 chapter 8-10 h), but the Boss fights are awesome and bombastic, the mechanics of the VS feel´s cool, mixed with a good multiplayer this game is the best of the Lost Planet Saga.
    Expand
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 56 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 56
  2. Negative: 0 out of 56
  1. In the build up to its release, Lost Planet 2 was seriously hyped up but as is so often the case in the games industry it sadly fails to live up to its billing offering nothing more than an at best an average shooter and one that is left to hardcore fans of the original rather than the gaming masses.
  2. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    70
    Ostensibly, Lost Planet 2 has been built with multiplayer in mind. As a single player experience is competent but slightly underwhelming. [June 2010 p72]
  3. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    60
    For nearly every aspect of the game, awesomeness comes with a caveat. The shooting mechanics are responsive, intuitive...and annoying as hell. The run-and-gun style works just fine - as long as we never let a bullet touch us. [June 2010, p.66]