Lost Planet 3 PlayStation 3

Lost Planet 3 Image
Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 103 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Lost Planet 3 is the third entry in the Lost Planet franchise. With numerous multiplayer modes and a cinematic single player experience, Lost Planet 3 delves deeper into the Lost Planet universe, uncovering hidden truths within the unique environment of E.D.N. III.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 30
  2. Negative: 3 out of 30
  1. Sep 29, 2013
    85
    Those flaws are easy to forgive in light of what the game gets right, though. As a reviewer who's constantly in search of games which try new things or buck expectations, Lost Planet 3 was quietly, calmly fantastic. Everything about it has a very mature, measured approach which sets it apart from the pack, and the character work on display is some of the best I've seen in quite some time.
  2. Aug 27, 2013
    75
    Spark Unlimited has drastically changed the Lost Planet formula, making Lost Planet 3 feel more like a reboot than a sequel. The gameplay feels tighter and more accessible than ever, but comes at the price of the diversity and openness found in previous titles. Fans of the series might not like these changes, but the big amount of content, beautiful environments and exciting boss battles make this a quality title that stands above the average third-person shooter.
  3. Sep 5, 2013
    70
    We believed in Lost Planet 3. Capcom wanted to come back to the origins of the series, focusing on solo mode and had some good arguments to get us absorbed again by the planet EDN-III's atmosphere. Everything is here: a nice character, efficient gameplay, and interesting content. But nothing really makes Lost Planet 3 a really big game. Graphics aren't that impressive, really commonplace and the game lacks of rhythm and epic moments. Nowhere near the first episode.
  4. Aug 27, 2013
    60
    With a few eyes on Alien, The Thing or EA's Dead Space, Capcom make use one more time of an external western developer to carry a project. Spark Unlimited brings us back to where we shouldn't have left, to the frozen landscapes of that lost planet in a prequel where mechas are not carrying guns. Simple, straightforward entertainment, drive a gunless mecha and explore lost space ships in this TPS with touches of survival horror is fun, but there's nothing in this game we have seen a few times before on bigger titles of the genre.
  5. Sep 11, 2013
    60
    The game can be highly frustrating, annoying and borderline upsetting, but the brilliantly told story and intense atmosphere keep you going. Jim Peyton is one of the best defined protagonists in a video game, and his story deserves to be experienced.
  6. Sep 3, 2013
    60
    It starts very promising but after only a few hours you’ll get monotonous action with framerate issues and sometimes poor visuals. From time to time you can feel the games’ strengths, but they are soon overwhelmed by run-of-the mill design.
  7. Sep 1, 2013
    40
    Lost Planet 3 isn't a lost cause. There's some genuine emotion to be found in its storyline and a spattering of variety to its combat, but this is marred by unoriginal core gameplay and lackluster level design.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 18
  2. Negative: 5 out of 18
  1. Sep 6, 2013
    10
    Pros:Story/Ending is fantastic its tell a whole life of a man...and E.d.n.3 planet,music pretty good,
    robot view,places,characters,non
    Pros:Story/Ending is fantastic its tell a whole life of a man...and E.d.n.3 planet,music pretty good,
    robot view,places,characters,non linear gameplay.
    Cons:can't play old jim...Graphics, sometimes even lost planet 1 is nicer...Unreal3 engine is too old.
    gameplay sometimes get boring.
    Expand
  2. Oct 20, 2013
    10
    What's with the bad reviews? I waited to buy this until I was able to purchase it for $20 because the reviews were so lousy, yet this is theWhat's with the bad reviews? I waited to buy this until I was able to purchase it for $20 because the reviews were so lousy, yet this is the best game in the Lost Planet series. Lost Planet 1 was mediocre, Lost Planet 2 was flat out bad, but Lost Planet 3 is like a love letter to Aliens inspired by elements of Dead Space 1 with hub environments, side quests, interactivity within the hub environments, great atmosphere, excellent graphics, great gameplay, etc. Again, what were the reviews going on about? It's a travesty that this has such a low Metacritic score. This has far more depth, far better voice acting, far better characters, far better gameplay, etc. than prior Lost Planet titles. Expand
  3. Aug 29, 2013
    9
    The story is engaging and got me invested early especially the interactions between Jim and Grace. That was unique. I appreciated the gameplayThe story is engaging and got me invested early especially the interactions between Jim and Grace. That was unique. I appreciated the gameplay and the option to go hand-to-hand or in the mech. I have played several other games from Spark in the past few years and this was by far the most thoughtful and most fun to play. Of the LP games, I started with 2 and felt the story in 3 was more interesting and fleshed out. It's good, summer fun and I'd recommend it. Collapse
  4. Feb 16, 2016
    7
    So the reviews are generally unfavourable and I just say people like to complain allot. It's different enough to keep you going and there'sSo the reviews are generally unfavourable and I just say people like to complain allot. It's different enough to keep you going and there's nothing particularly bad about this game. I just would'nt pick it up for more than 15$. Expand
  5. Sep 12, 2013
    6
    There is nothing really wrong with this game, on a alarming amount of glitches and bugs. The problem with this game is that it is just boringThere is nothing really wrong with this game, on a alarming amount of glitches and bugs. The problem with this game is that it is just boring as it takes now new concepts are ideas and instead is very generic with standard graphics, undeveloped characters which have no development through out the campaign leaving with nothing and no memory's to take away from it. I have not tested the multi player enough to be able to give detailed review but it seems to be an improvement on the reparative and dull story line.

    In a nut shell this game does not loose any points but it does not gain any either which makes it a mediocre at best with only the multi player bosting the final score slightly. If you played the previous games or are a fan of the series I recommend you don't purchase this one as this is a real let down.
    Expand
  6. Aug 29, 2013
    5
    Just a game. Interesting station,interesting machine. Boring story. Without blacklist,sr4, dragons crown and coming rayman maybe this gameJust a game. Interesting station,interesting machine. Boring story. Without blacklist,sr4, dragons crown and coming rayman maybe this game could be longer for me. Expand
  7. Nov 5, 2016
    0
    I played this game because a lot of people said that it looks and plays like dead space 3 & I got the game free so I thought why not but thereI played this game because a lot of people said that it looks and plays like dead space 3 & I got the game free so I thought why not but there were right the graphics look good of course but I could not play this for more then two hours. But there's this bit at the start of the game where your lock in with all these aliens & all you've got is a pistol & I killed all of them without a scar. Expand

See all 18 User Reviews