Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 53 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Experience first-hand what it's like to Fight for Every Yard in Madden NFL 10. With the all-new Pro-Tak animation technology, players have more control over the outcome of each play. Whether driving a receiver towards the first down, or battling for a fumble at the bottom of a pile, the play won't end until the whistle blows. Add to that the most immersive broadcast presentation and online innovation to date, and Madden NFL 10 captures the authenticity and emotion of the NFL like never before. Pro-Taks's all new animation technology provides unprecedented control over the outcome of every play. Drag defenders towards the first down marker, including up to 9-man gang tackles, fight for a fumble at the bottom of the pile, and evade the rush with all-new quarterback avoidance actions. Enhanced play at the line of scrimmage features a new blocking system that allows the quarterback to step into the pocket and gives the defensive line more control over the rush. Authenticity - Referees peeling players off a fumble pile, the chain gang rushing in to measure for a key first down, and all-new player equipment ensure that if you see it on Sunday, you’ll see it in Madden NFL 10. Fight for Online Dominance - Delivering the most comprehensive online offerings in franchise history, Madden NFL 10 includes new modes to satisfy the competitive and cooperative football gamer. New TV broadcast-style presentation and cinematic cameras bring the suspense and intensity of the NFL to your living room. Enhanced Franchise Mode - Run each aspect of an NFL franchise: draft players, sign free agents, manage the salary cap - just like a real GM. Enjoy all of the action throughout the league via a new, network inspired highlight show. The most customizable version of Madden NFL to date. Alter gameplay options to adjust the experience to your liking. A revamped play calling system and menu takes you to kickoff faster than ever before. Speed up online matches with accelerated clocks, streamlined presentation and more. [Electronic Arts] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. The improvements that Madden 10 offers over Madden NFL 09 are vast. In fact, aside from a new console generation, Madden 10 might provide the most significant year-over-year upgrade in the 21-year history of the series. Even gamers who have been wishing for a sequel to ESPN NFL 2K5 will be impressed, and for a football fan, buying this year’s Madden is a no-brainer.
  2. An impressive all around performance from Madden this year makes it the best Madden recently released if not of all time.
  3. Immersive, addictive, and authentic, it's a sensational return to form for the series. [Oct 2009, p.118]
  4. Excellent value and another step forward. [Oct 2009, p.82]
  5. If you have a solid internet connection and have the time to dedicate to the game’s impressive franchise mode, Madden NFL 10 is a must-buy. But if you’re a more casual gamer just wanting to play this game for a bit, you might be better pressed to get last year’s version of the game.
  6. 82
    Feels even meatier and more believable than ever. [Issue#184, p.81]
  7. Like every other year, the Madden-series exceeds the limits of what a sports game can do. Stunning graphics and great, addictive game modes makes this one an instant buy for every Madden-fan, but the stinky decision of selling player upgrades for real money really hurts the overall score.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 15
  2. Negative: 5 out of 15
  1. Zach
    Aug 18, 2009
    10
    This is, by far, the best Madden they've made. I've been playing Madden since 1994, and this is the most complete, true-to-the-game incarnation. They've gotten rid of irritating things, like the mini-games when you create a superstar, and have added cool things like Pro-Tak. If you've been staying away from Madden for a few years, now is the time to come back. Expand
  2. td
    Aug 30, 2009
    9
    Basically all the nay sayers are clearly 2k fanboys who are still living in 2005. Get over it already. 2k is finished. All Pro Football 2k8 was there chance to prove to the world they are the dominant developers and they FAILED MISERABLY. Now basing Madden 10 on its own merits, it is a very good game and a DEFINITE improvement over the past iterations of the game. The game will never appeal to everyone and there will always be people wanting more. Well you can't have it all but this game is far from a bad rating. Perhaps if EA switched to the PS3 as its lead console and take advantage of the 50GB disc space we will "HAVE IT ALL" but as long as we are limited by the disc space of the Xbox 360 we will just have to settle with what we got...........and that aint bad. Expand
  3. EnzoP.
    Sep 17, 2009
    9
    Madden NFL 10 was a huge hit the critics liked it, it made a lot of money. But me personally I LOVED IT! It's very close to 10 but night quite the full cigar though. So far it's the best sport game of the year but with NHL 10 getting very good reviews they might not have the crown for long. Also something I have to add in this review is what a good cover. The cover is great, the cover actually has a big part in the intro and at the main menu. It's all Troy Polamalu and Larry Fitzgerald. To add on loving this game I am a big fan of the halftime report. When you do a season it shows the scores around the league and the big stats. Of course, the highlights too. This is a very smart video game I am a big fan of EA Sports. I also liked NBA Live 09 but the critics thought it was a lot worse then my perspective. I'm not that big of a fan of 2K sports the only one I liked was 2K5 football but they don't make football games anymore! To wrap this review up Madden NFL 10 is so far the best sports game of the year. Expand
  4. AnonymousMC
    Aug 28, 2009
    7
    I boycotted Madden after their first attempt for the PS3. However, after reading all the "professional" reviews I finally thought they hit gold. While the game play is good there are still a ton of annoying glitches that make a very unpolished game once again. Till EA loses the exclusive rights they will never be pushed to create another great football game. Expand
  5. cd
    Sep 20, 2009
    6
    The commentary is all wrong, like they are not watching the game, rather hear nothing, the other really big deal is when the opponent is in the no huddle they catch your defense offside all the time, this is terrible when you stop them jus to get a 5 yard penilty and down over, this to me takes away from the game, not realilistic at all, 09 was better, next time ea should learn the game. Expand
  6. Peaches
    Oct 6, 2009
    5
    Were the reviewers playing the version of Madden 10 we got? I wouldn't think so reading their reviews, when it shows players on the sidelines there numbers often show up as 00 for 6 different guys! The game itself is decent but the superstar mode SUCKS! No interviews, no movie deals, no progression nothing that would make you want to play it. I think people get paid to give games good scores Collapse
  7. TylerH
    Aug 15, 2009
    0
    I have to counter that 10 score because that is just ludacris. This is maybe a 2 and only because of the graphics. This is a terrible game with a nice coat of paint to hide the rust. Once you get past the glitter there is no depth... and at other times, too much. Roughly 30 features were blantently left out of the game to be used as overpriced dlc on PSN and LIVE, that were all released on the same day of the game. This is rediculous that EA would go so low for are money. I for one got away with a rental and not a full waste of $60. Slow, unblanced, and boring gameplay. So what if the players have authetic 'cleats' and 'towels'? EA is a corporatation built on blantent greed, and every year were fed with the same crap that each year will be better and better, but sadly, every year something is always left out, and every year is worse than the previous. How can the ps2 versions of madden 04 and 05 be so superior compared to these 'next gen' versions? Do not buy this trash, do not waste your money. EA needs competition, and until they get some, they will continue to make terrible games that were led to believe from the critics are actually good, and the day after its released, they will immedatiately begin making the next years, forgetting this years version quicker than you can blink. Expand

See all 15 User Reviews