Magus Image
Metascore
32

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 12 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dating to the creation of the world and mankind, loyalty to the gods and their whims was the central point of the lives of all who inhabit the lands created by the divine. However, as the gods disappeared from people's daily lives, their power and influence began to wane, and cynicism andDating to the creation of the world and mankind, loyalty to the gods and their whims was the central point of the lives of all who inhabit the lands created by the divine. However, as the gods disappeared from people's daily lives, their power and influence began to wane, and cynicism and secularism replaced piety and belief. Amidst the world's slow abandonment of the gods, a profoundly devotee and servant of the gods named Kinna infiltrated one the many prisons of the Waterfall Realm in hopes of finding one who would become a god. Encountering Magus, a prisoner who has spent his entire life incarcerated, she believes that she has found who she was sent to look for. After claiming the powers that were his birthright and learning his true identity, Magus, with Kinna by his side, takes his first steps towards an unknown future. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 7 out of 8
  1. Mar 7, 2014
    75
    I don't think I can argue that Magus is a "good" game. In fact, there's a strong argument to be made that it's kind of terrible. It's short, it's ugly, it's easy, it's kind of stupid — basically, by any conventional judging of good/bad, it probably comes out on the wrong side of the ledger...Here's the thing, though: I loved it.
  2. 40
    Give me a quality plot, or an interesting setting, or something to impress me enough to work through its weaker elements. Magus doesn't offer any stand out feature, which makes it difficult to get too excited over.
  3. Mar 5, 2014
    30
    The more one looks back on it, the more it feels like Magus' primary purpose was to acquaint a new development team with the tools at hand while building up a few skills.
  4. Mar 7, 2014
    30
    Unlike Deadly Premonition, Earth Defense Force 2025, or other games that hide genuine depth behind an awkward presentation, Magus has no hidden quality, charm or saving grace. It's entirely witless, and none of its mechanics strive for anything beyond mediocrity. Despite its issues, though, Magus is surprisingly breezy to play.
  5. Mar 2, 2014
    20
    Like Birdemic or The Room, Magus is so terrible that it can only be called a masterpiece.
  6. Mar 12, 2014
    20
    Magus is not an entertaining game. It suffers from repetitive gameplay, bugs, glitches, and abhorrent visuals. Worse still, it’s expensive, with the release currently commanding a laughable $24.99 price point on the PlayStation Store. Put your time and money towards something better than this.
  7. 10
    In closing, skip this game. It should not have happened, and hopefully the world will not see it happen again.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 5
  2. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. Feb 28, 2014
    10
    Ladies and gentlemen, boys and girls, do you like bad games? Of course you don't, you toss.
    But do you like so bad it's good games? If so,
    Ladies and gentlemen, boys and girls, do you like bad games? Of course you don't, you toss.
    But do you like so bad it's good games? If so, Magus is the best of this example since Deadly Premonition. Hell, other than Magus, Earth Defense Force, and Deadly Premonition, I can't think of any other decent example of this phenomenon. It's absolutely hilarious, horrible script, pointless dialogue choices, mediocre gameplay, bad if non-existent music. Everything bad all the time.

    This being said though, I can't help but love the game due to it's sheer stupidity. It's completely bonkers and unfinished, much more fun to play than the complete trash that is Ride to Hell : Retribution.

    I recommend Magus if you want a really good laugh, I implore you to purchase it and have a grand time making fun of it on your 10 hour long journey with it.
    Expand
  2. Feb 28, 2014
    10
    I agree with everything Loophole572 said.....EVERYTHING! Love this game! A game this bad can be extremely enjoyable to play as long as theI agree with everything Loophole572 said.....EVERYTHING! Love this game! A game this bad can be extremely enjoyable to play as long as the gameplay doesn't get frustrating or too repetitive. If you play this in small increments (an hour a day) then you will have a blast. Ridiculous dialogue, tons of glitches, bad sound design, and a main character that transitions from being a huge douche to being a REALLY huge douche. Love it! Love it! Love it!!!!!!!!! Collapse
  3. Sep 28, 2014
    9
    Magus is more or less 2014's Ride To Hell Retribution, only it's not as annoying or frustrating like most really bad games. In fact it'sMagus is more or less 2014's Ride To Hell Retribution, only it's not as annoying or frustrating like most really bad games. In fact it's ridiculously easy. The story and writing are beyond atrocious, it's like an idiot tried to create clever one liners that don't fit at all in a medieval setting, but that just makes it more enjoyable. The game is exceptionally unbalanced, but surprisingly in the player's favor. You get all these ridiculous powers while you retarded enemies never seem to get any stronger. It goes without saying that the graphics are **** There's not a single texture that looks even decent.

    The thing is, everything that's bad about the game provides accidental entertainment value. I got it for like ten dollars and somehow it's turned out to be a worthy investment. Words can only begin to describe how utterly hilarious and stupid Magus is as a game. It fails in ways previously inconceivable. And because it's such a guilty pleasure, I'm giving it a 9, otherwise, well there's only one rating for a game like this.
    Expand
  4. Jun 9, 2014
    5
    Well, what can I say, it's a mediocre game, it was fun for the first hour, bat after that, meh that was a bit annoying, the story it's boringWell, what can I say, it's a mediocre game, it was fun for the first hour, bat after that, meh that was a bit annoying, the story it's boring and absolutely bad, and the graphic..., it's true that the graphic doesn't count in a game, but man.., in this one it's terrible, it's looks like like a PS2 game in the first years of production...., even Drakengard 3 have a better graphic than this (but at least Drakengard 3 it's a very good game), and the game it's too easy, no challenge; at least it have a easy platinum and the the voice acting a ok.......... Expand
  5. Mar 3, 2014
    0
    one of the worst games I have ever played.
    Fling different color lights at endless string of enemies in bland environments
    The only thing
    one of the worst games I have ever played.
    Fling different color lights at endless string of enemies in bland environments

    The only thing worse that I have played recently is Blood Knights
    Expand