Mass Effect 2 PlayStation 3

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1053 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 12, 2014
    9
    This is a fantastic game. It improves upon its predecessor with better gameplay, and a more interesting narrative. Its world can feel linear, and interestingly enough the side content is far more compelling than the main narrative, but this is one of the best Western RPGs in existence.
  2. Jan 18, 2011
    10
    One of the best games ever made. I own this on pc, xbox and ps3 and I still want to pump my fist in the air and cheer for Shepard and my team when taking down the collectors.
  3. Jun 30, 2014
    9
    Finished Mass Effect 2 last week.
    So far, this is the best Mass Effect series i have ever played (Still haven't touched Mass Effect 3 though).
    So the story begins weeks after Shepard killed Saren & destroy the Sovereign. But the Galaxy are still in constant threat of the Reapers. One day, the Normandy was out on a mission when "The Collector" arrives and destroy the Normandy, killing
    Finished Mass Effect 2 last week.
    So far, this is the best Mass Effect series i have ever played (Still haven't touched Mass Effect 3 though).
    So the story begins weeks after Shepard killed Saren & destroy the Sovereign. But the Galaxy are still in constant threat of the Reapers. One day, the Normandy was out on a mission when "The Collector" arrives and destroy the Normandy, killing most of the crews, including Shepard. Cerberus, an underground mercernary organization, is trying to revive shepard. And after 2 years, they succeed in bringing Shepard back, for two reasons, To destroy the collectors and to protect humanity. Can Shepard saves the galaxy..again? What is Cerberus? Who is the Collector and what are their ties to the Reapers? Play and find it out yourself.

    Plus point:
    - Better graphic than the first one! ME2 totally got an upgrade in that part. The characters are more detail, and also now we got a collection of Weapon & Armor which is just too awesome.
    - No more exploring with the tank! Well, finally Bioware decided to change their exploration system. No more tank in an unknown planet. Although of course they are still annoying scanning and sending probe system. But that will prove useful when you got Mordin, the one who will do research on your weapon, armor, and Normandy.
    - Lots of characters to choose. We got quite a line up here! And everyone has their own unique skills (When you finished their loyalty mission). Which makes them different one to another). Also we got to see some reccuring characters like GARRUS! (still with his cool scouter!)
    - Subquests are more fun. Secondy quests are fun! I mean there are stories to all of it, no matter how simple it is. From finding items to stopping a ship from an explosion, every mission counts.
    - Choices DOES make a difference. I mean finally, we got a lot of choices to decide whether someone lives or dies. And also, the new Paragon/Renegade actions (with L2 & R2 buttons), making the game more interesting.
    - Epic Story! It was really cool, they "killed" shepard and then "revived" him. Making a brand new chapter in his life, with some old members. Also, the choices you make on ME1, DOES have an effect on this game.
    Also the story about the collectors, the protheans, and the reapers, ARE interesting. I'm not much of a fan of sci-fi, but Mass Effect is too damn awesome. Can't wait to play the 3rd one.

    Minus Point:
    - Crappy final boss. It was either i was overlevel or the boss is just too easy. It didn't took more than 5 minutes to beat the final boss, so that was kind of disappointing to me. Although, that was in the normal difficulty, i wonder how it'll be on the insane difficulty.
    - A new battle system. I mean at the first game, you got unlimited ammo. You only need to keep your weapon from overheating. But not now, you got limited ammo! So it IS possible that you ran out of ammo when fighting hordes of enemies. But you'll get used to it as time goes by. But at the beginning it'll be quite annoying.

    The Verdict:
    Mass Effect 2 is FAR better than the first game. It's full of actions, better graphics, great lines of characters, and more than that GREAT story. To tell the truth, i was pessimistic about the series. But right now, i can say that this game is AWESOME. It barely has any weak points, other than the easy last boss & adapting to the new battle system, but other than that everything is just great. 9/10 from me. A must play if you have a PS3.
    Expand
  4. Aug 1, 2012
    9
    This is really the first game that I've had that has really pulled me in. Some people compare it to a movie, but I compare it to any long running TV show where you really get to know and identify with the characters. Anyone who says this is worse that Mass Effect 1 is delusional. This game is so much better organized and visually appealing. The first game was kind of a mess. It was good,This is really the first game that I've had that has really pulled me in. Some people compare it to a movie, but I compare it to any long running TV show where you really get to know and identify with the characters. Anyone who says this is worse that Mass Effect 1 is delusional. This game is so much better organized and visually appealing. The first game was kind of a mess. It was good, but a mess. This is streamlined, but you don't lose anything from the streamlining. The writing for this game is great. The graphics aren't amazing, but they present the game well. The length of the game varies greatly. The top end is probably between 40-50 hours. The lower end: 20-30 hours. More games are going to the silent protagonist, which I believe is easier to write for. But, this game allows you to truly make your speaking protagonist in any way you want. Expand
  5. Mar 19, 2015
    8
    This game was outstanding! Interesting dialogues, great action and characters and good graphics (some technical issues on the ps3 version).. It gets repetetive sometimes but i can't deny the pleasure this game brought to me! Looking forward for Mass Effect 3
  6. Apr 23, 2014
    9
    Incredible game with beautiful graphics, a few interesting characters, deep storyline, and a great RPG elements and combat system but it also has its flaws. One of the few small problems is that it feels like more of a first person shooter than a RPG like what was ME1. Some of the squadmates and LI's are not nearly good as the original Mass Effect squad but you find a few quality gems hereIncredible game with beautiful graphics, a few interesting characters, deep storyline, and a great RPG elements and combat system but it also has its flaws. One of the few small problems is that it feels like more of a first person shooter than a RPG like what was ME1. Some of the squadmates and LI's are not nearly good as the original Mass Effect squad but you find a few quality gems here and there. Theres also not a lot of emphasis on character development unless you're romancing a certain character which didn't really work out for me because I usually stay faithful to Ashley from ME1, the equipment management is terrible and too simple, and there was too many side quests. I also wish the Collector Base mission could have been a bit longer and more difficult, also the human-proto reaper was downright underwhelming to me at least Expand
  7. Jan 16, 2014
    9
    ME2 continues the story from ME1 with improved graphics, better mechanics, and a higher degree of complexity. This is the greatest game of the series in my opinion. Recommend the series for anyone that is a fan of Sci-Fi and vast, intriguing gaming experiences.
  8. May 11, 2014
    10
    My first Mass Effect game, and I can't say I was disappointed.
    From the great opening sequence to the hold-your-breath end battle, Mass Effect 2 is a stellar experience that everyone calling themselves a gamer needs to experience.
    This game has changed my outlook on life, possibly my inner soul. It's that good. Not many games can have you genuinely attached to the characters, planets and
    My first Mass Effect game, and I can't say I was disappointed.
    From the great opening sequence to the hold-your-breath end battle, Mass Effect 2 is a stellar experience that everyone calling themselves a gamer needs to experience.
    This game has changed my outlook on life, possibly my inner soul. It's that good. Not many games can have you genuinely attached to the characters, planets and cities. It feels so real that you could almost live in it.
    Expand
  9. Nov 7, 2014
    9
    I am The Destroyer. I will break games, complain about the littlest detail, and tell you whether or not the game is worth buying. A lot of things to say, but can't due to the 5000 character limit. In the interest of fairness, the review is based on without an import or DLC.

    1. Story 2 years have passed since Commander Shepard (character you play as) ended Sovereign's invasion along
    I am The Destroyer. I will break games, complain about the littlest detail, and tell you whether or not the game is worth buying. A lot of things to say, but can't due to the 5000 character limit. In the interest of fairness, the review is based on without an import or DLC.

    1. Story
    2 years have passed since Commander Shepard (character you play as) ended Sovereign's invasion along with the threat of the Geth. But the war with the reapers has just begun.
    In the beginning, the Normandy get's attacked & destroyed, with Commander Shepard sacrificing themselves in process in order to save his/her crew. Their body is then recovered by an underground terrorist organization known as Cerberus, where they eject billions of credits in order to bring Shepard back from the dead. A new enemy known as the Collectors has revealed itself overtime, and Cerberus tasks the newly born Shepard to bring them down before they wipe humanity from existence. But will Shepard be able to gain trust from his/her squadmates, and successfully adapt to the new atmosphere that surrounds them?

    2. Voice Acting
    This is what we need for voice acting! This is perfect! I have never heard such a beautiful cast in like ever! When the actors & actresses speak, you're believing it, and it brings tears to your eyes because you never thought this would ever be possible.

    3. Graphics and Visuals
    Sometimes the frame rates go a little slow; and when that happens, you begin to notice a little bit of fuzzyness of pixels. But when it doesn't happen, it is astounding! Galaxy maps are detailed to the core with colourful design. Areas you explore during combat are never bland or boring to look at. The sci-fi textures are pushed to it's limit. If this art doesn't impress you, nothing will!

    4. Gameplay
    Gameplay refers to it's battle system, customization & level up, and the galaxy map exploration. Put it all together and it's Awesome.

    -Battle System-
    There are plenty of areas to take cover at all times. Every weapon in this game is deadly enough or usable in some way. Boss enemies are balanced, provide a challenge, and get introduced to you at the best possible timing. The game is very balanced. Of course it can be annoying when all your powers are on charge and you have a krogan coming after you at close range, but this still adds to the experience. As you play on, you'll have to develop strategies and come up with tactics just to get through areas.

    -Customization-
    You get plenty of variety in this game, form the class you choose to play as, the character's appearance, even their armor will change visually. The weapon variety however will feel limited, but it's all due to balancing. When you finally acquire them, the game gives you plenty of squadmates. Customization will not feel dead here.

    -Galaxy Exploration-
    Exploring the galaxy is only fun on your first playthrough, and it can't be explained why in this review due to spoilers. From 2nd playthrough and beyond, it will be boring, fortunately not boring enough to deduct from the experience.

    5. Soundtrack
    And yet, another amazing thing done with this game. Though it does kind of feel empty having no music when walking around most of your ship. The mood music for cut-scenes was chosen excellently, and more-so after you finish a mission you'll really feel like you've accomplished something.

    6. Bugs
    Even the most perfect of games seems to be hit in the PS3 era, and there's one bug that is the most evil of them all: corrupted saves. It's happened to me, and it's happened to many other players. And then there's these bugs...
    - The galaxy map will play itself twice if you exit to the Normandy and re-enter the map quickly.
    - Storyline cut-scenes do not proceed sometimes, forcing you to reload a save.
    - Sometimes loading screens will take 3 times longer than they should.

    7. Personal Enjoyment
    I have done so many playthroughs by now that I've lost count. This game packs an experience that you will never feel anywhere else.

    8. Overall Verdict
    The only thing that's holding this back from a perfect rating is the corrupted saves. Even the other bugs aren't that bad because of the amount of auto saves given, and because crashes don't happen often. Mass Effect 2 earns it's high rating, and I am going to issue this a 9 out of 10! This game deserved to be Saved instead of destroyed. Nice one, Bioware! Keep up the good work!
    Expand
  10. Mar 29, 2011
    9
    Great game, very addictive. love the liberty like in fallout to choose your path. When you are engaged in battle, it turns into a First person Shooter game. The companion AI is quite smart, rather than running striaght into a fight, they actually run for cover then attack. The dialogue is a bit unnatural, i played with shephard, and his tone at times didn't match the conversation, butGreat game, very addictive. love the liberty like in fallout to choose your path. When you are engaged in battle, it turns into a First person Shooter game. The companion AI is quite smart, rather than running striaght into a fight, they actually run for cover then attack. The dialogue is a bit unnatural, i played with shephard, and his tone at times didn't match the conversation, but otherwise it was a great run. Can hardly wait for mass effect 3. Some people keep mentioning how many bugs they had, i must say that l played the game for over 3 hrs at times and didn't encounter any issues. Expand
  11. May 20, 2011
    9
    Great game, improvement from the 1st. Great storyline, which is what I'm most looking from an RPG. I've played too many RPGs recently with boring quests and dry predictable storyline, this game is more ambitious than that.
  12. Mar 17, 2011
    9
    A great masterpiece, all the download content until date in one Blu-ray disc, with a better engine and ready for the incoming sequel at the playstation world.
  13. Mar 21, 2011
    9
    A brilliant addition to the RPG market. Simply an excellent game. Sure it may have a few cracks around the edges but the story immerses you so heavily that you won't even notice. I've played it over and over and each time choosing new options and paths to take. A must buy for any RPG/Sci-Fi fan.
  14. Mar 26, 2011
    9
    The Mass Effect Saga always will be a masterpiece on any platform and it's not different on Sony console. Incredible graphics, sound and a good crafted Sci-Fi story makes this game unique. Unfortunately the PS3 version do not aim accurately right in some major facts about the character's story, First Normandy members, and the decisions on all the course of the story that the original MassThe Mass Effect Saga always will be a masterpiece on any platform and it's not different on Sony console. Incredible graphics, sound and a good crafted Sci-Fi story makes this game unique. Unfortunately the PS3 version do not aim accurately right in some major facts about the character's story, First Normandy members, and the decisions on all the course of the story that the original Mass Effect game had, which leaves incomplete the storytelling about the first game. Bioware did right but all the emotion from the first game can't be described in a sort of Interactive Comic Book. To finish I need to tell that Bioware didn't go wrong on bring Mass Effect to PS3, it certainly gave the developer a bunch of new fans, including me. Expand
  15. Mar 31, 2011
    9
    Un jeu hyper puissant, un scénario en béton et un gameplay bien géré, l'exploration spatiale est au rendez-vous, rien à redire sur ce jeu que tout fan de RPG doivent posséder sur PS3, dommage que le 1 ne seras jamais sur le même support, mais la BD interactive résume parfaitement leUn jeu hyper puissant, un scénario en béton et un gameplay bien géré, l'exploration spatiale est au rendez-vous, rien à redire sur ce jeu que tout fan de RPG doivent posséder sur PS3, dommage que le 1 ne seras jamais sur le même support, mais la BD interactive résume parfaitement le premier opus, et les DLC sont d'une très bonne qualité.
    Bref un super jeu arrive sur PS3, maintenant j'ai plus qu'à attendre la suite qui s'annonce passionnante.
    Expand
  16. Apr 25, 2011
    9
    Mass Effect 2 Has easily climbed into my top PS3 games in my library. From start to finish, Mass Effect 2 makes sure there is never a dull moment in the game. Graphically, the game looks very nice and detailed. But that is not the draw for this game. The story of Mass Effect 2 is brilliant. Bioware has captured lightning in a bottle with this series, and I constantly found myself drawn toMass Effect 2 Has easily climbed into my top PS3 games in my library. From start to finish, Mass Effect 2 makes sure there is never a dull moment in the game. Graphically, the game looks very nice and detailed. But that is not the draw for this game. The story of Mass Effect 2 is brilliant. Bioware has captured lightning in a bottle with this series, and I constantly found myself drawn to the characters of the game. Besides the story and the awesome characters of ME2, the gameplay is fun and the mechanics allow you to attack a situation in many different styles if you so choose. For example, you can run into a fight guns-a-blazin, or you can be a tacticle sniper using powers and carefully placed head shots to eliminate enemies quickly. ME2 is a rare game that does a lot of things, but also does all of these things very well. Some may knock the game for having no multiplayer component to it, but those of you who have played the game understand that this game definitely does not need a multiplayer. But there are other valid arguments which I will discuss that put a very tiny smudge on the armor of an otherwise amazing game. -----Cons:------ ME2 seems to be unsure how to handle itself under one specific situation. Is it linear or is it a sand-box? While not on a mission you are free to travel anywhere in the vast universe you want which is awesome. But once you begin a mission there is pretty much a set corse you have to take to complete the mission and you can't deviate much if at all. This is not a major gripe, because this game still manages to handle this well by offering plenty of enemies and perfectly paced story being delivered throughout every mission. ME2 uses the cover system for fights and does it well for the most part. But ME2 has absolutely no "ambush" factor in any of the fights. Once you enter a room you can tell right away if you are going to get attacked by enemies because you will see hundreds of perfectly placed chest-high walls. To me this detracts from the game slightly, because at no point in the game will you be surprised or caught off guard by an enemy. If they are going to stick with the same system for ME3 they need to be able to handle these situations better, and be able to mix in a variety of battles not just chest-high wall shoot outs otherwise the game will feel more like a shooting gallery than a shooter. ----Final Thoughts----- Even though ME2 can be at times "linear" and fights can be predictable at times, The story and the mechanics of the game just seem to overcome these obsticales like a champ. ME2 is a fun game, and has a ton of replay value because of all the different choices you can make. You can't possibly make all the same choices in 1 play through, and some of these choices can drastically change your game. This game is close to perfect. But still needs just a little more work and polish before it can be called a perfect game. But Mass Effect 2 comes damn close to it. Final score................9/10. Expand
  17. Aug 15, 2014
    9
    Mass Effect 3 could have been the best of the series, but unfortunately, I have to give it to ME2. That is NOT to say that ME3 is bad; it is a MUST play, and its ending is quite great, once you have the Extended Cut. But the reason why I say ME2 is better is because it's give you more freedom in speaking, which is one of the things which made the series spectacular in the first place. InMass Effect 3 could have been the best of the series, but unfortunately, I have to give it to ME2. That is NOT to say that ME3 is bad; it is a MUST play, and its ending is quite great, once you have the Extended Cut. But the reason why I say ME2 is better is because it's give you more freedom in speaking, which is one of the things which made the series spectacular in the first place. In ME3, while you you still make the major decisions, I feel like I've lost too much freedom in deciding what Shepard says. Combat mechanics, however, are better in ME3. But in any case, get this game. Get ALL of the Mass Effect games. Expand
  18. Sep 8, 2011
    8
    If you think Mass Effect 2 were cool back when it was released for the PC and the 360, well think again, 'cause the PS3 version is way better. You'll be getting better graphics, a better game engine, and what's more? You'll be getting all dlcs.... for FREE!! Excluding the boring Arrival dlc, Yay! Mass Effect 2 has an intriguing storyline and is a direct sequel to the first instalment.If you think Mass Effect 2 were cool back when it was released for the PC and the 360, well think again, 'cause the PS3 version is way better. You'll be getting better graphics, a better game engine, and what's more? You'll be getting all dlcs.... for FREE!! Excluding the boring Arrival dlc, Yay! Mass Effect 2 has an intriguing storyline and is a direct sequel to the first instalment. Couldn't play it 'cause you have a PS3? No worries, you'll be getting an interactive comic at the start of the game to learn what happened in Mass Effect 1. The characters are likable, choices are fun, and the game has some bad@ss moments (especially when triggering renegade actions. Okay, but the game isn't perfect of course. Some bad points would be the gameplay. If you play on Normal and higher difficulty, you'll find that during combat, everytime you stick your head out you'll definitely get shot even though there are 3 of you in your squad. This is annoying and unrealistic. And therefore, combat is lacking. You can't jump, you can't roll, the combat is plain and basic. Graphics are alright but nowhere near the best (Bioware are NOT known for good graphics anyway). Character creation/customisation is very limited and can't exactly create anyone you like.. It's not a very long game, 20-30 hours at most. But overall, I really enjoyed the epicness of the game despite its flaws. So if you haven't already pick this one up, take my word if you're an RPG fan this game is a must. Expand
  19. Aug 31, 2011
    9
    A very good game. I'm not into space games or RPG but this one got me. I missed the original, and never played this on the Xbox. I got this off a trade-in because of it's high reviews, which having played it, i agree with...for the most part. The story is great, and characters are also very well written. Mission wise, this game is very heavy. There are loads of missions to do and they areA very good game. I'm not into space games or RPG but this one got me. I missed the original, and never played this on the Xbox. I got this off a trade-in because of it's high reviews, which having played it, i agree with...for the most part. The story is great, and characters are also very well written. Mission wise, this game is very heavy. There are loads of missions to do and they are all fun. Each is vastly different in narrative, choices and outcomes so it goes without saying that replay value is very high, but i don't really like replaying stuff i've seen already just to see a slight alteration. Controls are occasionally stiff, but they are minor glitches. Shooting is very fun, but there's no melee combat though. Overall, it's definitely one of the best games this gen. Expand
  20. Oct 13, 2011
    9
    A absolute masterpiece. Mass effect was a already amazing experience. BioWare made a even more emotional game, with better gameplay mechanics and character development. Shortlist for the best PS3, Xbox360 and PC game of all time.
  21. Oct 14, 2011
    9
    Mass Effect II is one of the most enjoyable games on the PS3. The story is deep and interesting, the characters feel almost real, the visuals are stunning and the gameplay is as smooth as it can be. Sure it has some flaws like cheap parts in the story e.g. the "trap" Sheppard walks into on the Reaper spaceship; sometimes the stunning visuals are missing, especially on the smallMass Effect II is one of the most enjoyable games on the PS3. The story is deep and interesting, the characters feel almost real, the visuals are stunning and the gameplay is as smooth as it can be. Sure it has some flaws like cheap parts in the story e.g. the "trap" Sheppard walks into on the Reaper spaceship; sometimes the stunning visuals are missing, especially on the small individual mission on the "mineable planets"; on PS3 the game has several visual and crash bugs and so on, but all in all, Mass Effect II is one of the best games I have ever played on my precious PS3. Expand
  22. Nov 10, 2011
    9
    A great game, love ability to import character from me 1. Good - great RPG, nice story, multiple playthroughs, lengthy game
    Bad - at times too long dialogue
  23. Jan 30, 2012
    9
    Mass Effect 2 is even better looking than the xbox 360 version *I played both versions*and all I can say is *wow*the new graphics look amazing and the game runs very well, with barley any frame rate drops and very little amount of bugs/glitches since the final patch on ps3 for mass effect 2.however there are still some minor problems and that's why I'm giving me2 a 9 out of 10,even thoughMass Effect 2 is even better looking than the xbox 360 version *I played both versions*and all I can say is *wow*the new graphics look amazing and the game runs very well, with barley any frame rate drops and very little amount of bugs/glitches since the final patch on ps3 for mass effect 2.however there are still some minor problems and that's why I'm giving me2 a 9 out of 10,even though this game king on ps3 and Bioware Did a Great Job on rewriting codes for ps3 *unlike Bethesda and broken Skyrim*.I love the Dragon age series and Mass Effect series and hope to see Bioware give us ps3 gamers some of the best games ever. Expand
  24. Mar 8, 2014
    9
    I'm playing the Mass Effect series quite a long time after release, but I've just completed the trilogy.

    ME 2 is a great follow on to ME 1, but has a darker feel to itt. The story is good. You build your team and care about them. The mechanics are good. The follow through from one game to the next (you import your character to the next game) is good. The Sound, music and voice acting is
    I'm playing the Mass Effect series quite a long time after release, but I've just completed the trilogy.

    ME 2 is a great follow on to ME 1, but has a darker feel to itt. The story is good. You build your team and care about them. The mechanics are good. The follow through from one game to the next (you import your character to the next game) is good. The Sound, music and voice acting is good. The graphics get noticeably better from one game to the next. In ME 2 the locations may feel a bit smaller than ME1, but that fits the tone of the sequel.

    ME is right up there with Skyrim as an epic RPG.
    Expand
  25. Apr 19, 2012
    9
    I arrived a little late at the Mass Effect party; when I first started playing the first game the second had already been released for some time. When I moved on for Mass Effect 2, it was natural for me to get it on the PS3 since it had all DLC to date included on the disc. I expected great things from it, and was pleasantly unsurprised; Mass Effect 2 is a great game. The story is seriousI arrived a little late at the Mass Effect party; when I first started playing the first game the second had already been released for some time. When I moved on for Mass Effect 2, it was natural for me to get it on the PS3 since it had all DLC to date included on the disc. I expected great things from it, and was pleasantly unsurprised; Mass Effect 2 is a great game. The story is serious and very well written; even if now and then you have the feeling it is more a bridge between Mass Effect and Mass Effect 3 than a story by its own. Both the old and new characters are interesting, and it is always fun to see how their different personalities interact. Combat (shooting) was greatly improved from the last game, and the character evolution mechanic was simplified. This makes Mass Effect 2 much more dynamic than the original, and speeds up the action to frenetic levels. The moral choices are deeper than ever, and everything you say may or may not have severe consequences later; and not knowing is great. The Mass Effect Genesis interactive comic allowed me to choose many things I had done in the original's PC version, but still lacked many important moral choices. DLC is pretty weak, and I assume I would not have been happy had I bought it separately. Expand
  26. Jan 26, 2012
    9
    Great game, another good Bioware game. The only flaws would be at times boring because of repetitive combat. Highly recommend especially if you're into Sci-fi and RPGs. Enjoyed having dialogue choices and the fact there are actual consequences for some of your actions/choices.
  27. Feb 28, 2012
    9
    A damn fine game, that more than delivers on the promise of its predecessor. Combining BioWare's signature world building and interactive narratives with a polished third person shooter mechanic Mass Effect 2 is an atmospheric, character based action-roleplayer that continues Commander Shepard's struggle against the godlike Reapers and their proxies. Although not without a few minor flawsA damn fine game, that more than delivers on the promise of its predecessor. Combining BioWare's signature world building and interactive narratives with a polished third person shooter mechanic Mass Effect 2 is an atmospheric, character based action-roleplayer that continues Commander Shepard's struggle against the godlike Reapers and their proxies. Although not without a few minor flaws (inventory and skills a bit too streamlined for some tastes, a bland planet scanning mechanic replacing the wonky driving sections of ME1, and a few levels that are not much more than corridors), Mass Effect 2 certainly deserves all of its GOTY awards for 2010. The art direction, voice acting, and music are all part of a quality presentation that more than makes up for those minor nitpicks, and it also succeeds in a rarely tried experiment of importing saves from ME1, providing a unique and personalised continuous experience throughout the franchise for each player. Add to this a selection of reasonably chunky DLC, including the excellent "Lair of the Shadow Broker", this is a grand space opera to even rival the likes of Star Wars and Star Trek. Expand
  28. Mar 19, 2012
    9
    Unique third person Shooter-Style Game. The Game Story is fascinating, the characters are charismatic, Unlike most recent games, from the Hardcore mode on the game gets really hard (REAL PLAYERS NEED REAL CHALLENGES). The decision-making thing makes you feel that you ARE the commander, not just the player. Online mode is fun. There could be more Side Missions (I finished the game tooUnique third person Shooter-Style Game. The Game Story is fascinating, the characters are charismatic, Unlike most recent games, from the Hardcore mode on the game gets really hard (REAL PLAYERS NEED REAL CHALLENGES). The decision-making thing makes you feel that you ARE the commander, not just the player. Online mode is fun. There could be more Side Missions (I finished the game too fast... Wanted to play more missions.) Expand
  29. May 25, 2012
    9
    Tremendous main story coupled with strong enough RPG and combat elements.

    Severely let down by excruciatingly long "recruit your crew" filler sub-plots.
  30. Mar 11, 2013
    8
    This is definitely a great video game. It offers the player a remarkable sense of galactic exploration, which I think is, together with the fully detailed scenarios and arts, its strongest points. The interpersonal relationships are somehow reasonably well developed, with quality voice actors and credible characters summing up for excellent and numerous dialogues throughout the title. EvenThis is definitely a great video game. It offers the player a remarkable sense of galactic exploration, which I think is, together with the fully detailed scenarios and arts, its strongest points. The interpersonal relationships are somehow reasonably well developed, with quality voice actors and credible characters summing up for excellent and numerous dialogues throughout the title. Even as a shooter, during the frequent action passages, shows enough charisma not to distract the player too much from the real pleasure: to explore all these amazing unknown planets, forbidden ships and cosmopolitan space stations. Expand
  31. Jul 16, 2012
    10
    OK, I am Kazakstan gamer, I love Sci-Fi, and Mass Effect 2 is the same for me as Doctor Who. This Masterpiece of an experience has 10 on athmosphere, 10 on Gameplay, 9 on graphics, 11 on story. Most usually my reviews are longer, but words are not needed. I have just completed this Masterpiece, And I am listening to epic credits music (Music is 10 by the way)
  32. Jan 22, 2013
    8
    The gameplay it´s so slow and frustrating in the shooter section, i enjoyed a lot the storytelling more than gameplay, but i must say maybe commander shepard is the most memorable character from the western RPGs.
  33. Mar 15, 2013
    9
    Mass Effect 2 is my favorite game in the Mass Effect Trilogy, It introduces tons of great characters and has some great third person shooter gameplay, It's a shame that it loses some of it's RPG elements but the choices you make and the world that you experience in Mass Effect 2 is just amazing, the PS3 version comes with extra DLC on the disc which would have to be bought separately onMass Effect 2 is my favorite game in the Mass Effect Trilogy, It introduces tons of great characters and has some great third person shooter gameplay, It's a shame that it loses some of it's RPG elements but the choices you make and the world that you experience in Mass Effect 2 is just amazing, the PS3 version comes with extra DLC on the disc which would have to be bought separately on Xbox 360 and PC so the PS3 version is the best to get in terms of what you get from your purchase, It will last you about 20-40 hours depending how fast you play and what side content you do, This is an easy recommendation for any gamer. Expand
  34. Aug 28, 2013
    9
    This is The best game i have played in ages i can play ME2 from start to finish in a single session because it is such a good game. it has likable characters great voice acting great shooting mechanics. Mass effect 2 is the best one of the series because the story is good from start to finish unlike mass effect 3 with its terrible ending. But i cant rate this game a 10 even though it is myThis is The best game i have played in ages i can play ME2 from start to finish in a single session because it is such a good game. it has likable characters great voice acting great shooting mechanics. Mass effect 2 is the best one of the series because the story is good from start to finish unlike mass effect 3 with its terrible ending. But i cant rate this game a 10 even though it is my favorite game of all time because it has quite a few glitches especially on the ps3 where the game will freeze and tons of frame rate drops and lengthy loading time can kind of drop you out of the game and cause you to have to restart it which can be annoying. other than that it is a tremendous game and i recommend getting the 3 disk trilogy so you can have an imported save all the way through every mass effect. Expand
  35. Nov 20, 2013
    8
    This is a great game due largely to the story surrounding it, but there is a few things that people getting this game to reflect on when playing this game in the years to come. The gun-play can get repetitive and with a very lengthy game it can feel like ages. If you want a good start you'll have to get the Mass Effect trilogy to get a good beginning where the galaxy doesn't see you as aThis is a great game due largely to the story surrounding it, but there is a few things that people getting this game to reflect on when playing this game in the years to come. The gun-play can get repetitive and with a very lengthy game it can feel like ages. If you want a good start you'll have to get the Mass Effect trilogy to get a good beginning where the galaxy doesn't see you as a blight. Overall one of my favorites! Expand
  36. Jul 17, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Mass Effect 2 picks up where the first one left off- in most aspects it succeeds and in some it falls a little bit flat. The galaxy and the characters feel more alive than they ever did. This is on one hand due to the beautiful designs and on the other the many missions that bring life to an already established galaxy, flesh out the different cultures and bring the relationship with the crew-members to the next level. And although there are 10 (12 with DLCs) core crew-members this time around one cares for every one them as they all get their own personal missions.
    While the scope of the story from Mass Effect 1 was much bigger and apocalyptic, the story here is no let-down at all. This can be immediately felt during the first 2 minutes of the game. It's much more personal and character driven as Shepard finds himself allied with an old enemy, Cerberus, and has to make moral decisions which eventually result in different endings. And while talking about choice one cannot skip over the fact that the decisions from Mass Effect 1 can be imported or rewritten through a short Comic at the beginning of the game.
    Bringing back things from ME1 is what makes this game more than "just" a sequel. Many places and situations from the predecessor are revisited and can be experienced from a different perspective this time around. The characters all make sense in this setting and although the story is about as sci-fi as it can get the characters are relate-able and the conversations feel appropriate and sometimes even smart. All that shows that a lot of care was put into the development of this game.
    Also improved or emphasized was the humor in the game as there is more than one situation that made me at least smile.
    The game also introduces the "Interrupt"-system which changes the flow of the conversation which gives the player an additional layer of immersion. It is not only a nice gimmick which breaks up the gameplay but both given options (either Paragon or Renegade) always feel more than satisfying.
    The fighting was improved as well- it feels much faster and more brutal. Skills feel different and powerful after leveling up. Taking cover is key as Commander Shepard is no superhuman and will die after taking some hits. Although the change from overheating to changing heat sinks was a little bit off. If they needed to implement something like Ammo, I would have used it to strengthen the difference between alien and human technology.
    Also mini-games are present in form of hacking which is always a fun way to mix things up.
    After all the praising I have to talk about the negatives as well:
    The RPG elements are stripped away to the absolute minimum. Each character has only 5 to 6 powers to choose from. Weapons are of course present and the player can choose from a set of different guns: sniper rifle, assault rifle, Shotgun, pistol and new additions in form of the SMG and HW. The player can collect armor pieces but there is almost no freedom in modifying them. The crew-members receive an alternate look at one point in game but it feels ultimately disappointing after all the options that were given in ME1. Upgrades are present but the game lacks in making changes visible which makes it ultimately forgettable.
    Furthermore, shops are now selling "designs". This means one has to buy the designs, fly through the galaxy search the needed resources and use them to built the weapon. This seems just as a forced way to make mining essential for completion, which it should never be. Resources can't be sold to shops, which more than once resulted in the situation that I had a huge amount of resources but no money.
    Mining is now done by scanning the surfaces of planets and sending down a probe which collects the scanned resources. This is of course an improvement over the Mako's campy controls but it still feels like a cheap way of prolonging the gameplay.
    Although the game gives us choice on how to resolve a conflict (Paragon or Renegade), I often switched and went the middle way. But instead of spending leveling points on Persuasion-skills because I CHOSE to have more options during discussions, I had to have a high enough rating on either Paragon or Renegade to have the chance to resolve a situation in a favorable manner. This takes away choice, which is one of the core-gameplay-elements.
    Another point is that the game is pushing more towards hypocrisy than anything else: While Paragon-Shepard always stops his crew-members from killing, he is always going into a mission guns-blazing. It would have been interesting to be able to finish missions in more than one way like neutralizing enemies using neurotoxin rather than killing all of them.
    Finally, there are so many DLCs which cost as much as the game itself. That would usually be no problem but they seem like they were taken out of the game in an afterthought as means of quick-cash-ins.
    Overall, no one can deny that this is a fantastic game to spend hours and hours with
    Expand
  37. Apr 5, 2015
    9
    Often, over the years, I heard talking about Mass Effect 2 as the best chapter in the saga. I do not agree. Assuming that the first chapter is unsurpassed, the second chapter is great but not at the levels of the first.

    The plot of ME 2 is strange: for the first half of the game I found it slightly slow, as if something epic would still start but could not do it. It was not bad, but it
    Often, over the years, I heard talking about Mass Effect 2 as the best chapter in the saga. I do not agree. Assuming that the first chapter is unsurpassed, the second chapter is great but not at the levels of the first.

    The plot of ME 2 is strange: for the first half of the game I found it slightly slow, as if something epic would still start but could not do it. It was not bad, but it was as if the best was still to come, but it couldn't do it. Fortunately in the second half of the game, the story took off in a single breath, and going forward I was more and more surprised by the plot twists. The game's plot culminated in the final mission, the "Suicide Mission" that is absolutely perfect, fantastic, made in every detail: the choice of the main team, choice of specialist, choice of the chief of the second team, perfect atmosphere, perfect setting, perfect soundtrack, enemies and boss are extraordinary. Really, it seems to you to be there in front of the apocalypse, in front of the end of all things, in a daring ride with no return. This mission saved the whole game.

    For the gameplay the thing is a bit different: the whole rpg section of the first chapter has been reduced to the bone. There is no longer a real inventory, there are no statistics of the weapons and armor, the freedom to manage the clothing is ridiculous. The number of available weapons is negligible. The planetary exploration with Mako, has been replaced by a system of mining extractions with probes that although is fun has nothing of exploratory. The only thing that has improved is the exploration of the galaxy with the Normandy slightly deeper, and the third-person shooter mechanics that have been improved. I liked the fact that there are more teammates, 12 instead of 6. The longevity is also slightly higher than the first chapter. It's actually a pretty good and fun gameplay, but the problem is that it doesn't seem Mass Effect.

    Definitely improved is the graphics component, and the Unreal Engine 3 has been used optimally. The sound is very nice, and as I said before the soundtrack of the final mission is fantastic. Sometimes game loadings are a bit too long.

    It is complicated. If Mass Effect 2 could have had the same gameplay of the previous chapter, it would probably be the best chapter in the series, as many say. However things went differently: Mass Effect 2 is a great game, but it is far from being better than the first chapter.
    Expand
  38. Jan 23, 2011
    10
    Phenomenal game. I've never been more invested in a game than I was with Mass Effect 2. The last mission is one of the greatest endings I have ever seen in a video game.
  39. Jan 22, 2011
    10
    Mass Effect 2 on the PS3, is simply amazing. The shooting is fun, conversations are interesting, and besides who doesn't like saving the human race and being able to hit people in the face. 10/10
  40. Apr 28, 2011
    10
    No review would be fair to this game. Mass Effect 2 is not a game, it is an experience. It must not be "played", this is too mundane. It must be lived. I've been playing games since the 80's and I say, without doubt, this is one of the best games I have ever played. It is in my Hall of Fame, together with Shadow of The Colossus, Chrono Trigger and other few gaming gems. I give it 11 out of 10.
  41. Jan 22, 2011
    9
    One of the best games I've ever played, the story traps you from first to last minute, and the gameplay is just perfect.

    Also the PS3 version is clearly better than the Xbox360 one.
  42. Jan 27, 2011
    10
    Yes Yes Yes! This is what games should be. Although controls are sometimes a bit frustrating the game itself is awesome. 40+ hours of awesomeness. If you like 3th person shooters -> Get this game NOW!
    If you like exploring and roaming around -> Get this game NOW!
    If you like Start Trek/Star Wars -> Get this game NOW!

    If you want a social life -> Do not get this game!
  43. Jan 24, 2011
    10
    This is one of THE BEST games on the PS3 right now...dont listen to those mediocre reviews, so what if PS3 gamers have missed out on the ME1 that doesnt take away from this being a truly immersive game full of depth and action. This game will give you that "just one more go" feeling as it sucks you into its fantastic universe., and with all the DLC being included on the disc PS3 gamers areThis is one of THE BEST games on the PS3 right now...dont listen to those mediocre reviews, so what if PS3 gamers have missed out on the ME1 that doesnt take away from this being a truly immersive game full of depth and action. This game will give you that "just one more go" feeling as it sucks you into its fantastic universe., and with all the DLC being included on the disc PS3 gamers are getting more for there money with this game, Bioware deserve a medal, because this is how games should be made and they know how to look after the people that pay their wages..thats you and me. Dont delay in getting this game, if you havent got the money, sell somthing to get it and kiss your life goodbye for 40+ hours, as you ride the Mass Effect universe! Expand
  44. Jan 25, 2011
    10
    This is one of the best games ever made & I'm not even a sci-fi fan, The characters are believable and keep you entertained, The game play is engrossing, smooth & tons of fun, there is a great mix of shooting exploring and mingling. In my opinion this ones a definite purchase worth every penny,
  45. Apr 3, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I remember when i first heard about Mass Effect 2.

    I am a huge fan of Dragon Age and i finished it around 7 times (on PC and PS3 combined) and when i first heard about Mass Effect 2, i just simply had to play it, but never got the chance (since i am a PS3 gamer...) But when BioWare announced that they were making a PS3 version of the game, it made my day.
    Mass Effect 2 got the same spirit as Dragon Age; Romancing option, companions, making your own decisions, you can choose to be a male or a female, and all the RPG stuff..

    I bought Mass Effect 2 on the first day and wasn't disappointed.
    It was much better than i thought it would be, and i wasn't too hyped for Dragon Age anymore.. Mass Effect 2 was the new Dragon Age in my eyes.

    Pros:

    - Magnificent graphics that just blew my mind
    - Very realistic and as you play, you want to make sure you keep your team alive through the suicide mission, as you will see this isn't a game that you give a crap about everything and want to 'kill this one or this one for fun'
    - Every decision you make has an effect on Mass Effect 3
    - 10/10 in voice-acting
    - Romancing aliens
    - Very Re-playable as you can be Good (Paragon) or Evil (Renegade) and make a lot of choices
    - Great combat system
    - Many different classes to choose from

    Cons:

    - Can be a little buggy sometimes


    Overall i give Mass Effect 2: 10/10

    Strongly recommended.
    Expand
  46. Jan 29, 2011
    10
    ME 2 has it all, and more...., don't miss this game, it will be like missing Ocarina of time, Resident Evil 4, and other Masterpiece Classics
    (Tip: don't only run through the main-quest, you'll be missing some unforgettable moments in Gaming History!)
  47. Feb 2, 2011
    10
    I personally think that giving this game a negative review is criminal. Even if you think the progression and RPG elements of the first Mass Effect were better (and I agree), this is still a FANTASTIC game. The story is engaging, gameplay is crisp and fun, and the graphics rock. This game is a must have.
  48. Jan 28, 2011
    10
    Mass effect 2 for PS3 at last....iv'e played through it on xbox360 and i have to say that the story is epic...i never bought the DLC for 360 which is why i got Mass effect 2 for PS3 complete with over 6hours of DLC missions included on the disc. First things first....do you need to play ME1 to understand ME2? - NO!...the included back story does a good job of filling you in on what happensMass effect 2 for PS3 at last....iv'e played through it on xbox360 and i have to say that the story is epic...i never bought the DLC for 360 which is why i got Mass effect 2 for PS3 complete with over 6hours of DLC missions included on the disc. First things first....do you need to play ME1 to understand ME2? - NO!...the included back story does a good job of filling you in on what happens in the previous game. Once the game boots up and you see the in game graphics up and running, you know your in for a treat...having played both PS3 and 360 versions of the game, i can say that the developers have made the PS3 sing, i was a bit worried that bioware would have done a half arsed port but they have come up trumps and improved on the already impressive 360 version. Mass effect 2 on PS3 is the definitive version of the game and is a must for any rpg/shooter fan. Anyone who rates the game at less than 8/10 is either a 360 fanboy and is sore at seeing yet another once 360 exclusive move to PS3 or they simply haven't played it......10 out of 10...it's only the end of January and already PS3 is out fighting with two of the best games ever created..Mass effect 2 and Little big planet 2 as well. Expand
  49. Feb 1, 2011
    10
    This is the Empire Strikes Back of sequels. Even though the first one was on PS3 Bioware managed to treat us with a motion comic recapping the first game and yes you actually get to make decision which will affect the game and includes every DLC. Every minute I spent with it it grabs me emotionally on every decision I make. It make you believe that the characters are real people thanks toThis is the Empire Strikes Back of sequels. Even though the first one was on PS3 Bioware managed to treat us with a motion comic recapping the first game and yes you actually get to make decision which will affect the game and includes every DLC. Every minute I spent with it it grabs me emotionally on every decision I make. It make you believe that the characters are real people thanks to the marvellous acting and amazing dialogue.
    The RPG elements work very well, it isn't as complex like any RPG which is good news for newcomers or if an RPG fan wants a break from FFXIII.
    This is a must-buy for any PS3 owner and so can't wait for the third and final installment this year
    Expand
  50. Jan 23, 2011
    10
    This is easily one of the best games I have ever played. The update in graphics makes this one of the best looking games made, the gameplay is every bit as tight as uncharted 2, and has probably one of the greatest and most intriguing story lines ever. As someone who never played the first ME i still had an immediate attachment to shepherd right from the first moving scene. and with theThis is easily one of the best games I have ever played. The update in graphics makes this one of the best looking games made, the gameplay is every bit as tight as uncharted 2, and has probably one of the greatest and most intriguing story lines ever. As someone who never played the first ME i still had an immediate attachment to shepherd right from the first moving scene. and with the ps3 getting the interactive novel which fills in the gaps from the first one, this game is a complete package, $20 dollars in free dlc, 1 free character, and a novel that fills in the gaps from the first one, bioware truly had the ps3 fans in mind on this one. dont rob yourself of this amazing game, if you like firefly, serenity, dune, star trek, or farscape, even the riddick movies, there is deffinately something here for you to love. Expand
  51. Jan 19, 2011
    10
    This is hands down probably one of the most amazing games I have ever touched. I played Mass Effect 1 but held off on 2 after hearing of the PS3 release and wow I can't believe I waited to play this. Absolute masterpiece and a game that fans of RPGs and shooters alike must play.
  52. Jan 19, 2011
    10
    I have been a fan of the franchise since the first game hit the 360. I bought it for that system bought the PC version and bought all three versions of Mass Effect 2. I will admit that some of the RPG elements have been stripped down and the game has seen a more "action" oriented style, but it works and the story telling and character development is still amazing. This is one of the rareI have been a fan of the franchise since the first game hit the 360. I bought it for that system bought the PC version and bought all three versions of Mass Effect 2. I will admit that some of the RPG elements have been stripped down and the game has seen a more "action" oriented style, but it works and the story telling and character development is still amazing. This is one of the rare franchises where I feel a connection to the characters and want to know more about them. Expand
  53. Jan 23, 2011
    10
    If you haven't played the 360 version, you have to play this game now. With the graphics upgrade and free additional content, Mass Effect 2 should win game of the year twice.
  54. Jul 2, 2011
    10
    Amazing game, one which keeps you hooked and you don't want to end. The characters, locations and story are so entralling you'll find it hard to put the controller down.
    Also the PS3 version, whilst cheap, features a host of DLC essentially for free and add a lot to the game in terms of new characters and locales. You don't want to miss out on Mass Effect 2. (having the interactive comic
    Amazing game, one which keeps you hooked and you don't want to end. The characters, locations and story are so entralling you'll find it hard to put the controller down.
    Also the PS3 version, whilst cheap, features a host of DLC essentially for free and add a lot to the game in terms of new characters and locales. You don't want to miss out on Mass Effect 2. (having the interactive comic at the start allows for quick new games in which you can decide new ways to play the game, and set up a different perspective very easily. This adds a lot of replayability)
    Expand
  55. Jan 20, 2011
    9
    One of the best Xbox games is finally on Playstation! As a fan of the first, I noticed big difference's. Graphics are the same the only thing that has changed is better character quality. A lot of bugs. Sound glitches are the most often. Nothing else I've seen happen. Mass Effect is still one of the best story games out there. Exploration is huge in this game. Also the ability to travelOne of the best Xbox games is finally on Playstation! As a fan of the first, I noticed big difference's. Graphics are the same the only thing that has changed is better character quality. A lot of bugs. Sound glitches are the most often. Nothing else I've seen happen. Mass Effect is still one of the best story games out there. Exploration is huge in this game. Also the ability to travel whenever you want is a big thumbs up! Getting to know your crew is the most interesting, actually getting to know their back story. Paragon and Renegade options are still amazingly put in to the game, just having the chance to play how you want to and gives you different replay choices. Like if you want to play as a Paragon or a Renegade, be hero everybody respects or an **** that everyone is afraid you no matter where you go. Mass Effect is a must own for PS3 owners! Expand
  56. Jun 28, 2011
    10
    Gonna join the party train over here and give this a 10. Everything is fabulous. The only things worth **** about are the ridiculously long loading times and the bugs. C'mon Bioware, get your stuff together! Despite this, though, it's still amazing. Go buy it. I'm serious.
  57. Mar 13, 2011
    10
    I can't give this game anything less than a 10. This is art. It's a rare developer that understands that game elements that are frustrating don't extend the playability of a game in a positive way. This game does it all - engaging missions, splendid graphics, amazing leveling and XP system. Nothing is broken. The only issue I might point out in the PS3 port is that there are certainI can't give this game anything less than a 10. This is art. It's a rare developer that understands that game elements that are frustrating don't extend the playability of a game in a positive way. This game does it all - engaging missions, splendid graphics, amazing leveling and XP system. Nothing is broken. The only issue I might point out in the PS3 port is that there are certain rare instances in cut scenes that the audio does not sync with the video (dialogue and special effects play ahead by about 2 seconds in some cases.) The rest of the game is so incredible that you'll not care. Get this game and watch your weekends dissolve into 10 hour marathons. Expand
  58. Apr 1, 2012
    9
    Mass Effect 2 is a fantastic sci-fi third person shooter / RPG hybrid. It has an interesting plot filled with tons of dialogue trees and branching options. The graphics are beautiful and some of the vistas that the game throws up are truly breathtaking. The cover / shooter mechanics aren't perfect, but they work well enough to carry the action sequences. The combat is made more fun by theMass Effect 2 is a fantastic sci-fi third person shooter / RPG hybrid. It has an interesting plot filled with tons of dialogue trees and branching options. The graphics are beautiful and some of the vistas that the game throws up are truly breathtaking. The cover / shooter mechanics aren't perfect, but they work well enough to carry the action sequences. The combat is made more fun by the tactical element of using both your own and your squad-mate's biotic powers. Pulling up the skill menu every two seconds while in the middle of a raging battle can be a bit jarring at first, but it ultimately becomes second nature and reminds you that you are actually playing something a breed apart from other shooters. Despite suddenly ending just when it seems that the real adventure is about to begin, ME2 is a wonderful game that is a must for any science fiction fan. Expand
  59. Jan 23, 2011
    9
    Right up there with KOTOR as one of Bioware's crowning achievements, Mass Effect 2 on the PS3 looses some of it's potency without the ability to import saves from the original Mass Effect, but almost makes up for it with the included DLC.
  60. Feb 19, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's simply the best game I have ever played.
    I played it through three times on the xbox and now 2 times on the PS 3. Graphics haven't improved as much as everyone is saying but it's still, after the PC version, the best version to get.
    Expand
  61. Mar 15, 2011
    10
    Played 30 hours without even realizing I did it. Not even COD did that for me. Brilliant, deep, well voice-acted writing, enthralling plot. Engrossing interactions. Action and face animations might not always be perfect, but the single best one-player experience of my life.
  62. Aug 19, 2011
    9
    It's great, but short of perfect because the missions do become repetitive at some point.But towards the end it regains the fun factor and addictive tension it had previously lost.The (mostly) alien characters are so well defined, each one with their personal quirks and personality, that when the climatic final battles arrive at the end, we are totally immersed in their adventure.Being anIt's great, but short of perfect because the missions do become repetitive at some point.But towards the end it regains the fun factor and addictive tension it had previously lost.The (mostly) alien characters are so well defined, each one with their personal quirks and personality, that when the climatic final battles arrive at the end, we are totally immersed in their adventure.Being an RPG, there are many ways to engage in conversations and the results of our behaviour affect greatly the curse of events.Luckily, the inventory component present in RPGs has been streamlined, making it more fun to peruse, select and choose items to carry.Then again, this key modification to the gameplay design may upset hardcore RPGs fans, accustomed to painfully thorough customization options.The graphics are beautiful in regards to the creatures design, not so much with the enviroments, which needed more complex textures if you ask me.Nothing too worrysome, though.Did I mention this game is Epic long? It is.All in all the ups are more than the downs, so this game's Highly recommended! Expand
  63. Sep 10, 2011
    9
    Pure brilliance, that is all. It takes a bit of playing to get the gist of how things go and to get into it, but once it's been played, the time taken to get there would not have been wasted! Can be repetitive at times with the shooting but otherwise, a great game with a great story and countless possibilities.
  64. Jun 14, 2012
    9
    Mass Effect 2 is a great game that introduces some interesting characters, innovates and is an experience that cannot be missed. The Mass Effect games have been phenomenal, and this game is no exception. The game focuses on your squad and and their stories with a over arching plot The game is superb and demands a 9/10 I recommend you buy it with a clear conscious.
  65. May 15, 2014
    9
    An emotionally gripping and beautiful game wherein your decisions "effect" the rest of the game's story. Make sure to get the PS3 version because it has extra levels.
  66. Jan 5, 2016
    9
    Mass Effect 2 is an amazing epic Shooter, but what really surprised me, the epic Story and amazing Combat System. And in what other Games can you probe Uranus?
  67. Jan 20, 2011
    9
    This game is great. Such a solid combat mechanic and great story. I'm glad it finally came to the PS3 as well, as I didn't want to buy it on the PC. Bioware never seems to disappoint.
  68. Jan 19, 2011
    10
    This in an awesome game, and the PS3 version is the most complete version.
    but only buy if you haven't got xbox/pc because you can pick it up pretty cheap on the other formats
  69. Jan 27, 2011
    10
    ME2 was the last game I played before I traded in my 360 for a PS3, and I still bought it day one for the PS3, knowing full well every plot twist, and what every mission entailed. Any PS3 owner who hasn't played the Mass Effect series should jump into this now, before 3 comes out later this year. The interactive comic does a great job of summing up the first game as well for gamers whoME2 was the last game I played before I traded in my 360 for a PS3, and I still bought it day one for the PS3, knowing full well every plot twist, and what every mission entailed. Any PS3 owner who hasn't played the Mass Effect series should jump into this now, before 3 comes out later this year. The interactive comic does a great job of summing up the first game as well for gamers who never played the first, but it doesn't hold a candle to actually being able to experience the original in all of it's glory. The game looks better than it did on the 360 due to it running on ME3's engine, and all of the DLC being bundled into it from the start appealed directly to me as I was never able to play any of it when I first played it. If you don't own this, get it the first chance you can. Expand
  70. Apr 22, 2011
    10
    This here is the perfect example that arpg's are no longer in the shadow of the jrpg's. This is by far the best rpg i have ever played in this current generation of console's. Still not good enough to beat ff7-8&9 but maybe that's me being an nostalgic to the epicness that i felt back in the days lol
  71. Jun 13, 2013
    6
    Mass Effect 2 or just plain Mass Appeal?!

    Mass Disappointment more like... RPG elements reduced, half-baked character concepts (Kasumi, Thane), replacing atmospheric planetry exploration with a mineral scanner, poorly designed interface, being interrupted by compulsory story missions, smaller maps and increased linearity that carries you from one yawning modern warfare spectacle to the
    Mass Effect 2 or just plain Mass Appeal?!

    Mass Disappointment more like... RPG elements reduced, half-baked character concepts (Kasumi, Thane), replacing atmospheric planetry exploration with a mineral scanner, poorly designed interface, being interrupted by compulsory story missions, smaller maps and increased linearity that carries you from one yawning modern warfare spectacle to the next, god-awful and uncustomisable upgrade system, no weapon purchases, confusing paragon and renegade points, scrapping vehicle sections completely before inserting that horrific ship control in the Overlord mission, underwhelming finale, killing off my favourite character in the suicide mission without discussion or reason, unenjoyable side quests and assignments which offer no individuality when all you receive is 125 experience points, problematic central story that merely serves as filler for a cash-grabbing sequel, a combat system that only rewards you if your wall humping, putting in the archaic ammo clips instead of the unique over heating....So yeah?! Need I go on?

    How is this an evolution from the first one? It's certainly not as good...
    Expand
  72. Feb 21, 2011
    10
    Nothing short of phenomenal. A true milestone in gaming history. The action and plot is fun. The RPG elements could've been much better, however. That seems to the major gripe with the game. I'm not a big RPG fan, so it doesn't really make any difference too me. This game is great, pick it up as soon as possible.
  73. Feb 8, 2011
    10
    I gave this game a perfect score, although it isn't perfect. But it IS that enjoyable. A ton of fun, great story, great replay value, and a superbly polished product. My only complaints were that the missions structure became repetitive by the end of the game (around the 30-35 hr mark) and the DLC add-ons involving 'driving' were poorly done. The gameplay is smooth and polished (a fewI gave this game a perfect score, although it isn't perfect. But it IS that enjoyable. A ton of fun, great story, great replay value, and a superbly polished product. My only complaints were that the missions structure became repetitive by the end of the game (around the 30-35 hr mark) and the DLC add-ons involving 'driving' were poorly done. The gameplay is smooth and polished (a few minor issues with the cover system, but nothing that detracts from the experience) and the story/presentation are second to none. The RPG elements are light compared to ME1, but I never felt like it was detrimental to the experience. This game really pulls you into the Mass Effect world, and I can't wait for Mass Effect 3 to come out. I am really interested to see how the choices I made in ME2 are going to affect the final chapter. Expand
  74. Feb 12, 2011
    10
    Don't hesitate for a second buying this game. If you have played the short demo released fairly recently of this game but wasn't a big fan of it, don't be scared, the full game is a hundred times better as the demo lacked the characterisation and depth that is so vast in the full game. With the added free downloadable content, you just cannot lose when purchasing this game, ignore theDon't hesitate for a second buying this game. If you have played the short demo released fairly recently of this game but wasn't a big fan of it, don't be scared, the full game is a hundred times better as the demo lacked the characterisation and depth that is so vast in the full game. With the added free downloadable content, you just cannot lose when purchasing this game, ignore the terrible reviews at the bottom, they are Xbox fanboys jealous of the huge graphical upscaling given to the PS3 version. Expand
  75. Feb 6, 2011
    9
    Beautiful, balanced and beyond awe inspiring . The story is wonderful as are the graphics. It reminds me of a very good book, you wont put it down until you have finished and you will yearn for the sequel. I have never played the original and I'm almost tempted to borrow an xbox just to play it....almost.
  76. Mar 3, 2011
    10
    This was my first taste of the series and all I can say is that its one of the freshest shooters and rpgs I've played since Bioshock. The story is expertly presented with excellent voice acting and character animation leaving every JRPG's storytelling in the dust. MUST BUY :)
  77. Dec 23, 2011
    10
    I guess there is a reason why Mass Effect 2 is so well recieved by everyone. The game is extremly polished in every department. I must say, I wasn't impressed by the demo at the time, but after getting into the story and experiencing the game to it's fullest I can say it's outstanding. Sci-fi was never my thing, but this game transfers the "sci-fi" mood very well, in a way that wasn'tI guess there is a reason why Mass Effect 2 is so well recieved by everyone. The game is extremly polished in every department. I must say, I wasn't impressed by the demo at the time, but after getting into the story and experiencing the game to it's fullest I can say it's outstanding. Sci-fi was never my thing, but this game transfers the "sci-fi" mood very well, in a way that wasn't expected. Besides the fact that every race speaks perfect English, everything else looks believable and not "low budget" like most of these movies. Besides that, there is an amazing dialog and a veriety of choices and decisions that affect the outcome of your story. The main goal in the game is recruiting team mates for your mission, to fight against a new threat to the galaxy. Seems predictable, but if you have played the first game you would appreciate the subtle references and characters that pop up during your adventure. Mind you, the characters and their arcs were more interesting then the story itself, but there is more then enough politics and race struggles, somehow always involving humans and always decpicting them as giant **** The cover based shooting mechanics are brilliant here, and are near perfect. There are AI issues but they are very minor. I loved the fact that you can bring different characters to battle, and they will always ahve something to say in between battles, and it's amazing that the dialog is so varied considering there are about 12 of them in the game. Each character has it's own mission or story, that is usually resolved by shooting aliens in their faces. The graphics are jaw dropping. So much work has been put into the graphics in this game I'm speechless. So many different worlds and locations that look varied, odd and beautiful alike. They set the amazing atmosphere that lingers throughout most of the game. I believe this game is a huge success, and I'm so glad it came out for PS3 owners to enjoy. The game oozes with quality, and you can see the care and love Bioware have put into it. Truly deserves it's high reputation. Expand
  78. Jan 28, 2011
    10
    I genuinely cannot remember a game that has had me hooked, and trully engrossed like this for a long time. At present Iam now approximately 25hours in to the game and have seldom put the pad down....save for sleeping, eating, and Uni work of course. The story offers great variety in mission design and provides a great antagonist in the Collectors. The combat is solid, with great gunplayI genuinely cannot remember a game that has had me hooked, and trully engrossed like this for a long time. At present Iam now approximately 25hours in to the game and have seldom put the pad down....save for sleeping, eating, and Uni work of course. The story offers great variety in mission design and provides a great antagonist in the Collectors. The combat is solid, with great gunplay and battle commands mechanic that can only be likened to that of Uncharted 2. The main story will have you hooked, but the enjoyment of ME2 does not end here. There are many different planets and worlds to investigate and explore throughout the universe with side missions providing great entertainment and sources of intrigue into the world. As you meet/recruit new team members each has their very own compelling and well thought out backstory that seamlessly fits into the plotline of the main story. I would defy anyone to criticise this game as being short of perfect, its port to PS3 is one of absolute perfection; and failing a catastrophe in the storyline in the remaining time I have left to play this is a solid 10/10 from me. I would recomend this game to anyone that has waited so long for the Space adventure/RPG to be done to a fantasic standard. Adding to that, Bioware have including all the DLC created for the 360 version and included it for FREE, giving you even more story and value for your money. Already waiting tentatively to preorder Mass Effect 3 due for release Autumn 2011. This is ESSENTIAL Playstation gaming. Expand
  79. Nov 27, 2011
    8
    Very good game. Interestingly, I maybe enjoyed it a little less than the first one, not because it's not a better game, but because some of the novelty wore off. Story was still fun, and I did find myself investing in the characters, which seems to be Mass Effect's strong suit. Gameplay still feels a bit stiff compared to, say, Gears of War. But it's still pretty good. For me, thisVery good game. Interestingly, I maybe enjoyed it a little less than the first one, not because it's not a better game, but because some of the novelty wore off. Story was still fun, and I did find myself investing in the characters, which seems to be Mass Effect's strong suit. Gameplay still feels a bit stiff compared to, say, Gears of War. But it's still pretty good. For me, this game is more of an 8.5. And I'll certainly buy the third one, if only to see how this epic story ends. Expand
  80. Feb 29, 2012
    9
    Several glitched firefights and blemished cutscenes that are absolutely dwarfed by the game's profound lore, vivid colors, characters backed by excellent voice overs, and a veritable emphasis on ramifying decisions. Perhaps the Deus Ex: Human Revolution soundtrack would have fared as a tighter glove than Jack Wall's compositions in this sci-fi epic. Aside from that, the confluence ofSeveral glitched firefights and blemished cutscenes that are absolutely dwarfed by the game's profound lore, vivid colors, characters backed by excellent voice overs, and a veritable emphasis on ramifying decisions. Perhaps the Deus Ex: Human Revolution soundtrack would have fared as a tighter glove than Jack Wall's compositions in this sci-fi epic. Aside from that, the confluence of shooting behind cover along with the different types of powers is strategic and fun even on the highest difficulty. I wish developers would make more sci-fi RPGs of this caliber. Too many recent games, that when juxtaposed, have no relevancy among each other, but far too many things in common, such as a bunch of elves casting magic and dwarves wielding axes. Mass Effect 2 is my most beloved game yet because it breaks free of that. Expand
  81. Jan 26, 2011
    10
    An amazing game. I love RPGs and dont really like FPS, but this game mixes them both together in an intriguing story and excellent playability. I loved every second of it. Had never played ME 1 before trying this. After my heart settled down after first playthrough I rushed out to buy ME1 before playing them both twice back to back. I now have two different stories to continue when ME 3An amazing game. I love RPGs and dont really like FPS, but this game mixes them both together in an intriguing story and excellent playability. I loved every second of it. Had never played ME 1 before trying this. After my heart settled down after first playthrough I rushed out to buy ME1 before playing them both twice back to back. I now have two different stories to continue when ME 3 comes out...and I cant wait! Expand
  82. Jan 29, 2011
    10
    This is a game that truly has it all. The graphics are smooth and stunning, the controls are just so good and well thought out and the story, oh my god the story is just amazing, you really get caught up in it. The replayabillety is good, because you have so many different choices to make and different classes to use on commander Shepard and lets not forget the additional DLC`s from theThis is a game that truly has it all. The graphics are smooth and stunning, the controls are just so good and well thought out and the story, oh my god the story is just amazing, you really get caught up in it. The replayabillety is good, because you have so many different choices to make and different classes to use on commander Shepard and lets not forget the additional DLC`s from the Playstation Store. You can also use hours and hours exploring the vast galaxy for hidden bases and minerals for diverse upgrades, both to the Normandy and to your self and your crew.

    This game is just a must have and i give it both thumbs up! Go buy it, you wont regret it:) This truly is a 10/10 game
    Expand
  83. Feb 22, 2011
    10
    This is the best RPG ever. The graphics and voice acting are top notch. The conversation system is both incredibly detailed and easy to operate. Not to mention that it has great gameplay, with both fun shooting and biotic powers.It also has athe best cast of characters from any game i've played
  84. Mar 11, 2011
    9
    An incredible game. There are elements not for everyone, such as the customization sought by hardcore RPG fans. But Bioware does a fantastic job of integrating large elements of the traditional RPG with the fast-paced gaming of an action game. For those who appreciate both, this game is a must.
  85. Mar 13, 2011
    9
    One of the best games ever made. A little bit worse than ME1 ( no freeroaming in the citadel, instead you get loading screens) but comes damn close. Mordin is one of the best characters I've ever seen in a videogame.
  86. Mar 15, 2011
    9
    Mass Effect 2 delivers on its promise to merge the shooting and (albeit light) RPG genres into one delightful package. The engrossing narrative and vibrant atmosphere never felt dull or contrived, and in the games final hours you can't help but feel that you are an integral part of the action as you battle your way towards ME2's epic conclusion. That being said I wish that the RPGMass Effect 2 delivers on its promise to merge the shooting and (albeit light) RPG genres into one delightful package. The engrossing narrative and vibrant atmosphere never felt dull or contrived, and in the games final hours you can't help but feel that you are an integral part of the action as you battle your way towards ME2's epic conclusion. That being said I wish that the RPG portion of the game was more fleshed out i.e. companion armor, more equipment and shield choices, as well a full fledged loot system. I also found the difficulty system to be a bit unbalanced, the game too easy on normal or lower which makes most ammo and biotic talents useless and unnecessary. I actually found that ME2 truly shined on insanity difficulty when it forced you to think tactically because taking almost any damage was simply not an option. A great example of this is at any point when you encounter husks. Husks are armored at higher difficulties and you and your team can easily get swarmed and die in seconds. Cryo ammo, which I honestly gave up using during my first normal difficulty play-through, became my best friend. Had I never played ME2 on insanity difficulty, I feel this review score might be several points lower because I would have failed to truly understand the finer points of ME2's mechanics. Overall I found the graphics, voice acting, animations, and environment design to be on par or better than most games this generation, and only one notable glitch during Tali's recruitment mission which occurred on both of my play-throughs. Definitely worth picking up if you like shooters blended with RPG elements. Expand
  87. May 18, 2011
    10
    Without a doubt my favorite game of all time.. rich immersive story; Excellent voice acting and action sequences, Breath taking sound design.. i enjoyed this game so much i bought it on PC, PS3 and again for my Son on Xbox 360.. if you havent played this game what are you waiting for
  88. May 27, 2011
    10
    The last game I played before this was Dragon Age 2 and having felt badly let down by that game I decided to give Bioware a chance to redeem themselves by getting myself a copy of Mass Effect 2. Having finished the game recently I was very glad I did. Wow, what a game this is. Sci-fi isn't usually my thing but having started the game I was instantly sucked into the amazing story andThe last game I played before this was Dragon Age 2 and having felt badly let down by that game I decided to give Bioware a chance to redeem themselves by getting myself a copy of Mass Effect 2. Having finished the game recently I was very glad I did. Wow, what a game this is. Sci-fi isn't usually my thing but having started the game I was instantly sucked into the amazing story and great characters of the Mass Effect world. The combat was interesting and fun and no matter how many waves of enemies I faced on the various planets I never got bored of fighting my way through the levels. I enjoyed meeting and getting to know the companions and using their various abilities to help me through. Also doing their loyalty quests was fun and I enjoyed some of the side quests, taking great pleasure in exploring and finding the beacons on various planets. The story throughout the game felt like I was in a film at times and building to the climatic finale left me finding myself saying wow, that was a great game, when it was over. The only slight criticisms I have of the game was I found scanning the planets for resources a bit tiresome sometimes and I would have liked to have been able to talk to my romance option much more than I could. I enjoy the romance aspect of bioware games and it's nice to be able to have chats and cut scenes with your chosen love interest sometimes for a bit of light relief from the main campaign so I felt this could have been fleshed out a bit more as after 2 or 3 chats with them I just kept getting the same dialogue repeated until the end of the game. I understand you can't expect to have different conversations with characters every time you do a quest but to have a new one every 3 or 4 quests would be nice. Overall due to these slight criticisms I give the game 9.8 out of 10 but as I have to put a round number I've given 10. I just really hope Bioware in future gives us more quality games like this one than the one I played before it. Expand
  89. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    I bought this game as it was cheap and wasn't sure if I'd like it or not but I can say that Mass Effect 2 is, without exception, the best game I have ever played on the PS3. It is completely immersive, action packed and compelling. True, some of the audio in the cut scenes is a little glitchy but it's completely forgiveable when you consider the sheer volume of dialogue that had to beI bought this game as it was cheap and wasn't sure if I'd like it or not but I can say that Mass Effect 2 is, without exception, the best game I have ever played on the PS3. It is completely immersive, action packed and compelling. True, some of the audio in the cut scenes is a little glitchy but it's completely forgiveable when you consider the sheer volume of dialogue that had to be recorded.
    I was a bit worried going in that I hadn't played Mass Effect but the digital comic included with the PS3 version does a great job of filling in the back-story and allows you to make the crucial decisions from the first game. A "quick" hours play frequently turned into 3 or 4 hours for me as you get sucked into the storyline and can't help but do just one more mission. The tension builds throughout and I can honestly say I have never been so nervous going into a final battle - I mean, it's a video game for goodness sake but I was so involved, it had that affect on me !!
    Another great feature of the PS3 version is the 6+ hours of DLC included for free which all helps to flesh out the story.
    For me, this is an absolute must have for your game collection. Now roll on Mass Effect 3. In the mean time I'll settle for another play through of Mass Effect 2 !!!
    Expand
  90. May 15, 2011
    10
    I would argue that ME2 is the best game made to date. The story is immersive, the gameplay is exciting and smooth, the voice acting is phenomanal, and the characters are incredible. 10/10 in every aspect.
  91. May 27, 2011
    10
    Mass Effect 2 is a reason to buy to a next-gen system and start playing video games if you ever needed a reason. From the start of this one, you're flying through the darkest corners of space all to somehow stop a sentient race of machines from destroying civilization as we've come to know it.
    The storyline is great, the graphics are beautiful, the gameplay is tight as are the controls.
    Mass Effect 2 is a reason to buy to a next-gen system and start playing video games if you ever needed a reason. From the start of this one, you're flying through the darkest corners of space all to somehow stop a sentient race of machines from destroying civilization as we've come to know it.
    The storyline is great, the graphics are beautiful, the gameplay is tight as are the controls. The voice acting is top notch with 5 star actors such as Martin Sheen playing the role of the Illusive Man. Joker is also played by Buffy's own Seth Green, who is hilarious everytime he opens his mouth or breaks a bone(you'll see what I mean when you play!)
    Get up and go buy this game right now. RIGHT NOW!
    Expand
  92. May 28, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Because of how deep this game takes you, it's worth it buying the DLC. The bugs are passable, even. I've done everything in this game and am looking forward to future DLC. I especially love the many choices you can make. A-ma-zing. Good or bad Shepard? Choice is yours! Expand
  93. Jun 3, 2011
    10
    This game is in my top 10 ever played games, and that says a lot. The story is amazing, characters are amazing and the graphics are nearly perfect. To like this game you must have a interest in the story otherwise you will be bored in a halve hour that's for sure. But even then you should go to a doctor when you do not like this game. So therefore a 9.8.
  94. Jun 16, 2011
    10
    Mass Effect 2 is an epic that is even better on the PS3. I heard of many bugs in the PS3 version. But I didn't run into any bugs and I also didn't notice dropping frame rates. This is the best sci-fi game I've ever played!!!!!!
  95. Jul 13, 2011
    9
    The surprising event to occur at the start of ME2 got me very intrigued on my first play through and as the story unfolded I became hooked in anticipation. ME2 is not a good game because it improves on the short comings of Mass Effect 1, its good because it has an interesting story and setting that has depth and things are at stake to care about, well designed characters aesthetically andThe surprising event to occur at the start of ME2 got me very intrigued on my first play through and as the story unfolded I became hooked in anticipation. ME2 is not a good game because it improves on the short comings of Mass Effect 1, its good because it has an interesting story and setting that has depth and things are at stake to care about, well designed characters aesthetically and with personality, the decision making is not only ambitious but is pulled off very well, brilliantly and originally designed environments, creatures, costume and armour, and technically performs well at least on my PC with game play that feels satisfyingly good. The characters are good and memorable, I actually felt dread when some of them die, if you dont fall in love with Garrus, Tali, Legion, and Thane by the end of ME2 you have problems, I even grew attached to the space ship. I also want to make a big shout out to the legendary soundtrack, everyone must download the track Suicide Mission from Itunes now, its freaken awesome. The lack of depth in the RPG at first seems like a good thing as the shooting mechanics are good but after playing the game for over 60 hours it starts to show is thin side and has you missing some of the lacking RPG of the first game. I also dont think the decisions a player can make are perfect, who in their right mine didnt save the alien counsel in ME1? Who didnt save Wrex? But overall ME2 is a remarkable achievement and a new benchmark for modern single player games! Expand
  96. Oct 31, 2011
    9
    This Review will not be lengthy, I will just have a line on each of m marking factors, when rating games.

    Presenation: 9- Everything is set out in the game efforlessly and the presentaion style is truly fantastic, especially as compared to the first (only on Xbox) the presentation is greatly improved. Graphics: 8 - The graphics are for the most part fantastic, but some of the grphical
    This Review will not be lengthy, I will just have a line on each of m marking factors, when rating games.

    Presenation: 9- Everything is set out in the game efforlessly and the presentaion style is truly fantastic, especially as compared to the first (only on Xbox) the presentation is greatly improved.
    Graphics: 8 - The graphics are for the most part fantastic, but some of the grphical hiccups cannot be avoided such as jagged edges and very occasonal pop up.
    Sound: 10 - The sounds, music and sfx sounds within the game are truly amazing and really contribute to the atmosphere desired and the story told.
    Gameplay: 8 - The gameplay is engaging and the speech system and choosing between paragon or renegade actions is fantastically implemented. The reason this section is marked down is due to various gameplay glitches which occur in every version of the game be it PC or PS3. Lasting Appeal: 10- You'll remember how great an experience this was long after its over, and the main playthrough can weigh in at a substantial amount of hours especially if you want a perfect ending.
    Expand
  97. Sep 20, 2011
    9
    I was a little dissapointed with the game, but then again I had expectations that were through the roof... I'm content is saying that the game is incredible, though I have to admit the game failed a little to make me develop a connection between all characters. The game is cinematic and offers an incredible amount of replayability.
  98. Sep 23, 2011
    10
    Mass Effect 2 is truly outstanding game. I never thought much about it when it was X360 and PC exclusive. My impression was that this was Microsoft over hyped title to emphasize "superiority" of X360 over PS3. Anyways ME2 is exceptional game. One year late but at least we got all extra content and improved graphics all included in the price of the game.I had blast playing it and iMass Effect 2 is truly outstanding game. I never thought much about it when it was X360 and PC exclusive. My impression was that this was Microsoft over hyped title to emphasize "superiority" of X360 over PS3. Anyways ME2 is exceptional game. One year late but at least we got all extra content and improved graphics all included in the price of the game.I had blast playing it and i cannot wait for ME3. Collapse
  99. Oct 16, 2011
    10
    Close to perfect. You just can't stop playing. The story, the characters and the overall atmosphere and worlds are so rich and deep that you just feel absorbed by this fascinating adventure. A must-have SF game. Graphics, sound and the overall production also are amongst the best ever made on a 128-bit machine.
  100. Nov 25, 2011
    9
    I agree i absolutely loved this game. EVERYTHING about it was superb from the characters the planet excavation this game was epic. This game was the only thing that helped me over come an extremely bad toothache. I'm hoping my anticipation for the next install isn't a big let down like many great games before it a la FF13 and MW3
  101. Sep 23, 2011
    0
    Mass Effect 2 is truly outstanding game. I never thought much about it when it was X360 and PC exclusive. My impression was that this was Microsoft over hyped title to emphasize "superiority" of X360 over PS3. Anyways ME2 is exceptional game. One year late but at least we got all extra content and improved graphics all included in the price of the game.I had blast playing it and iMass Effect 2 is truly outstanding game. I never thought much about it when it was X360 and PC exclusive. My impression was that this was Microsoft over hyped title to emphasize "superiority" of X360 over PS3. Anyways ME2 is exceptional game. One year late but at least we got all extra content and improved graphics all included in the price of the game.I had blast playing it and i cannot wait for ME3. Collapse
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 62 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 62
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 62
  3. Negative: 0 out of 62
  1. May 24, 2011
    90
    Mass Effect 2 is a masterpiece of Sci-Fi-Storytelling. The characters in the Mass Effect universe are offering a deep background. The Game is exciting until the very end.
  2. Mar 29, 2011
    95
    Mass Effect 2 is still a game you shouldn't miss at all costs, and one of the best RPG's of this generation of consoles. You need an internet connection to download all of the contents which EA didn't include on the main BR disk.
  3. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Mar 17, 2011
    100
    Yes, ME2 isn't perhaps the most technical RPG ever created, but it's easily one of the slickest, bearing the unmistakable master craftsmanship of RPG luminaries, BioWare. Not only is this supersized Sony edition of ME2 outstanding value for money – it also represents a sound long-term investment. If the Mass Effect 3 reveals are anything to go by, the conclusion of this saga will be similarly unmissable and the galactic apocalypse will be decided in our own backyard: Earth. [March 2011, p70]