User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1665 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 31, 2012
    10
    Do not listen to the people rating this game badly. Mass Effect 3 is utterly amazing and if you liked the first 2 this won't change that.

    Some of the people writing on here either had completely unrealistic expectations of what Bioware would pull off with the import stuff (although pretty much everything but the end is influenced quite a lot by what you do) or just weren't pleased because
    the series didn't end exactly as they wanted.

    Get this game, and ignore the haters. They are the same kind of supergeeks that hate on Star Wars etc for tiny little things that really don't matter at all. Honestly. Get. A. Life.
    Expand
  2. Mar 10, 2012
    9
    I think if you fan of 1 mass effect this game for you will be a peace of s**t but if you are a fan of 2 mass effect you will enjoy this game a lot.Briliant story,cool characters,great action this are waiting for you
  3. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    A 10 from me since it doesn't deserve the negative reviews its getting, I don't want this to turn out just like Modern Warfare 3 did an this is a game i actually like.
  4. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    Bioware retrurns to the stage to provide a magnificent end to an epic series!

    Mass Effect 3 provides beautiful scenery, invigorating combat, heart wrenching stories and an all around immersive experience. Bioware has once again proven that they are one of the greatest developers around!

    Check out Mass Effect 3 available on EA Origin alongside other great hits such as: Battlefield 3, The
    Sims 3, annd Star Wars - The Old Republic! Expand
  5. Mar 9, 2012
    9
    Though somewhat saddened by the conclusion, I cannot in good conscience give this game a 0 or 1 score just to "get back" at BioWare. Mass Effect 3 was an amazing game. Once I started, it was hard to stop before hours of my life flew by. After playing Mass Effect and Mass Effect 2 and all of the DLC I don't think I was ever more excited about playing a game as I was about Mass Effect 3. The story starts off quick and brutal. The tone set all the way to "OMG WE ARE IN TROUBLE" and it's up to Shepard to finish what he/she started. I will now review the various aspects of the game below, as well as my impressions of the PS3 version.

    Combat is fun. If you enjoyed the combat experience from ME2, then you will feel right at home here. Though some of the jumping and hurtling obstacles can be trial and error, the cover based system does what it's supposed to. Like all Mass Effect titles, you can command squadmates to use powers or ammo in fights to bring down challenging enemies. The level designs are mostly good with a few questionable design choices towards the end. Though, this game offered me some of the most intense battles in the series since my first encounter with a Thresher Maw in ME1. Graphics and voice acting are on par with previous games. A few bad apples are in the bunch but overall the voice acting is solid and the animations not overtly stiff. What really grabs you is the score and sound, which BioWare seemed to go all out on. When you encounter a Reaper up close and hear it's "trumpet" growl, you'll know what I mean. The engine is starting to look dated, but overall it is a beautiful game.

    Storywise, ME3 delivers for the most part. I will not spoil anything here. Some of the decisions from the previous titles could have been felt more but some resonate through the game. My only few gripes are the amount of dialogue choices seemed skimmed down to just your basic Paragon or Renegade options, not much middle ground here. And of course the conclusion, which I will not elaborate on because of spoilers.

    Problems with the game are few, but some are more noticeable then others. The Journal from the Start menu tracks all of your quests, but unlike ME1 and ME2, where the Journal tracked everything on three different tabs (Priority Missions, Side Missions and Completed Missions) ME3 decided to condense all of those into one tab and throw the Codex in there in place of tabs 2 and 3. AND, to top it off, the quests do not track status as it did in previous games. No grayed out objectives that have been completed under your current status of a given mission. As a consequence to this, you have no idea what Side Missions you have the requires item to complete (they are all basically fetch "quests" more later), so you end up running around the Citadel to try and see what you have done or not. Your map is supposed to have a NavPoint (basically just says a person of interest is available in the area) to lead you to a completed side mission quest giver, but in my playthrough this was not always the case. And the way of picking up most side quests by basically eavesdropping as you rung by is also a little lackluster. Once you are used to it however, you adjust quickly and it does not ruin the overall experience.

    Now, for those wondering about the silly planet scanning mechanic from ME2, it's still there but not even close to how much time you spent doing it in ME2. When you enter a system, you will scan the area for EDI to find something of interest. If a planet lights up, you select it and then scan a la ME2, but only to guide the scanner to the white dot, exactly like how you found "miscellaneous" missions in ME2. You then send a probe and collect the reward. Rewards are everything from War Assets, Credits to Side Mission items. Most side missions are completed by collecting various items this way. Oh, and no Mako or Hammerhead missions either, so if you were not a fan of vehicle based missions, you are in luck. If you were, well ... sorry.

    War Assets, as mentioned above, are an important factor of ME3. To get ready for the final battle, Shepard is tasked with gathering as many forces, items and people possible for success. It adds a new element to the ME questing purpose and it sort of fun when you read about your progress on the War Asset Terminal. In short, the more you have, the better off you'll be in the last battle. Multiplayer. I only played a few hours of it and it is fun but not really my cup 'o tea. ME combat works well for the single-player campaign but in multiplayer, the sometimes clunky controls can be annoying. But the overall experience is fun. All I have on that since it was not the reason I bought the game anyway.

    Lastly, the PS3 version of the game played fine in most respects. The beginning was a little choppy but evened out quickly. Though I had 3 freezes which caused me to manually reset, the game played great otherwise.
    Expand
  6. Mar 9, 2012
    10
    This game is absolutely amazing, it combines the things i loved about the first 2 games into a highly entertaining experience. Some hardcore RPG fans may be put off because of the higher emphasis on action but most of the things that made the first 2 great are here. The game doesn't deserve this user rating i dont get what people could possibly complain about, it is the conclusion to one of the greatest franchises of all time. Stop spamming and **** about this game cause it doesn't deserve it. Expand
  7. Mar 19, 2012
    9
    People are over-reacting about this game's ending. I would like to start by saying that the ending does not ruin the OVERALL game to such an extent that it gets a 0/10! It is ridiculous. This is a damn good game and deserves a much better score. The improvements in this game mainly go into combat. Combat is much easier compared to Mass Effect 1 and 2 and Shepard feels more agile. But the game feels much more like a shooter and sometimes while using the "soldier" class the skills i have become less apparent and i shoot at my enemies without ever using my biotics.

    The Side quest system is pure and utter **** I dont even want to emphasize on this one.
    I dont know how bioware would get such a simple Quest-Tracker system wrong.

    The Story is great and lovable and was seriously good until the ending.
    The Ending is so wrong. Just so very wrong.
    Im not going to spoil anything but im just going to say one line about the ending

    " The Shepard i know would NEVER do that "

    Buy the game. It's a good game and should never ever ever ever ever. get a 0/10 because of the ending.
    It's a damn good game if not for it's shortcomings such as the :
    - Quest System
    - Ending
    - It's moving more towards a shooter than an RPG.
    Expand
  8. Mar 7, 2012
    9
    One of the better games I've played in the last decade; Mass Effect 3 improves on the other preceding titles in virtually all manners barring some subjective ways others may deem inaccurate or useless. To explain: The combat is much better and smoother, conversations are more realistic and just in general top-notch, the characters both new & old are vastly improved, voice acting (especially from Mark Meer) is vastly superior and the emotion runs high in the story throughout. Most importantly, the story is much better than Mass Effect 2's, although it falls short (barely) of Mass Effect 1. I strongly suggest buying it for these reasons alone, but there is more...

    The multiplayer, which is unexpected to say the very least, had me underwhelmed when I first saw it disclosed, but when I played the demo, and now in the retail, I have grown to see it as an integral component to the game and like the rest of it is of massive quality. The supplementary "Galaxy at War" is also interesting, if underdeveloped, and I would like to see it improved in future DLC.

    Lastly, I should mention what I found to be bad:

    -Animations when taking cover can sometimes glitch and freeze characters or make them look lifeless (i.e. you have full control but while on the wall they don't breath etc)
    -Some old friends in the textures popping up; this is rare, and happens almost universally after you finish an N7 mission.
    -I would have liked if it was more difficult, it's easy (to an extent) for a gamer of my skill (Average, possibly slightly above-average).
    -A few plot holes, easily forgivable given their minimal impact/enjoyable repercussions

    Other than those small gripes, the game is outstanding, and is well worth the price of the retail and even the Collector's edition; if you own an Xbox or PC (I do not recommend for Playstation due to lack of Mass Effect 1) you owe it to yourself to play -experience- Mass Effect 3 for yourself. Don't listen to the 10's who blindly love the game, or the reds/0's who give their gripes with EA/Bioware/DLC as reasons for hate, carefully evaluate what the critics say and compare it with a rental or a purchase; I promise you will not regret it.
    Expand
  9. Mar 18, 2012
    10
    Macnificent game the other people just have no taste!!!! One of my top 3 best games ever played!Graphically superb! Great story line! Loved it!!!!:-) I hope the movie is close I as good as this!
  10. Mar 7, 2012
    10
    Do yourself a favor and ignore the negative reviews that come from angry haters who have not played this game. The User score has more to do with anger about DLC and does not fairly reflect what this game has to offer. I picked up this game yesterday morning, put it in my system and spent the entire day with a giant smile on my face. The game is that good! It felt wonderful to be back in the Normandy, surrounded by old friends as well as new faces. If you enjoyed the first two games, you will have a hard time not enjoying this game... well... unless you are one of those gamers who can't handle change, and if that is the case enjoy your bitterness.

    Things to know that might help you decide if you want this game: 1) A lot of the negativity comes from the Day1 DLC ($10 cost), fans feel the DLC was pulled from the full game and sold separately to unfairly make a profit. After playing the DLC mission I have to agree that the DLC should have been part of the game, or at the very least it should have been cheaper. This was one of the first missions I played, and although I suppose you can do without it, I really felt it was an important part of the story. On the other hand after getting the Prothean character I have yet to be able to bring him along on a mission, for some reason he is blacked out every time. Not sure why that is, but I suppose he will unlock later on in the game, like Sebastian did in DA2, but after paying $10 extra for a character I would kinda like the option to bring him along on every mission if I should so chose.

    2) The game feels more combat focused with less focus on exploration. One of the great things about the first 2 ME games was the feeling that you were on an amazing adventure and the whole galaxy was yours to discover. So far ME3 seems very limited in exploration, but I am still early into the story, so perhaps that will change. I really hope that will change, but I am starting to wonder.

    3) Weapon system... kinda confusing. They keep changing this, and I am never really sure why. I was lost the first few times that I tried to equip a new weapon, maybe it is just me, but I found it very confusing and ended up accidentally missing out on opportunities to equip new weapons during the first mission. Once you get control of the ship though you are able to play with this and figure out what you need to know, but I was somewhat put off by this.

    4) No more hacking. ME 1 & 2 had you doing little puzzles to hack doors and safes, and ME3 has done away with that chore. I think this was a good move, since hacking got boring after a while, but if you are someone who likes the hacking this might be missed. 5) For those people who have not played the first two games, I would recommend playing them first. I suppose you can jump into the story with ME3, but I think much of the story will be lost on you. Plus the wow moments would probably be a lot less wow if I didn't know the back story.
    Expand
  11. Jun 27, 2012
    10
    I originally gave this game a 9, but now that the DLC is out that fixed the endings, I have to change my score!

    In my opinion, this is the best game ever made. The characters are all well developed, the music helps immerse you in the game, the story's themes run deep, and the gameplay is fun and perfectly balanced between combat, side quests, and RPG-type talking and such.

    The Mass
    Effect series is a crowning achievement of gaming. It lets the player choose how the main character acts, so they can fully put themselves in his or her shoes. All of this without sacrificing gameplay or story. This is the most immersive game I've ever played. I hope this game influences the gaming industry for years to come. Expand
  12. Mar 6, 2012
    9
    It's a great game with a great story line. The only thing that I don't like about the game is that because I like to be perfect, I usually would spend hours just going back and choose all the choices that are given which is a pain in the ass. But other than that, it's a great game and I definitely recommend it to those who enjoy this genre of games.
  13. Apr 6, 2012
    9
    First of all, graphically speaking, Mass Effect 3 only improves on its predecessors. The frame rate is much better (especially on PS3), the character models are fantastic as usual and the overall look of the game is much crisper. There are a few glitches, such as freezing on loading screens (which have been slightly shortened), but it doesnâ
  14. Apr 1, 2012
    9
    As a dedicated ME fan, but otherwise an irregular player of games, I have to say the very end was disappointing- rushed, jarringly out of step with the rest of the game and series. I came away feeling pretty glum. But DO NOT let this put you off playing what is otherwise a stunning piece of interactive entertainment. Taken as a whole, ME3 is a masterfully put together story, with amazing music, deep relationships and excellent and diverse combat. Yes there are holes, and yes the ending takes something away from it, but it is still a game I would wholeheartedly recommend. And who knows, perhaps there will be a more satisfying end. Expand
  15. Mar 22, 2012
    10
    Excellent game. The story is superior and the voice acting sets the standard for other games. I'm not thrilled with the way it ends, but Bioware is apparently addressing that very soon. Otherwise, it's very enjoyable, with excellent graphics and good pacing. Commander Shepard remains one of the most fully realized characters in gaming and Mass Effect 3 is a joy to play.
  16. Apr 28, 2012
    10
    When this happened to cod3, at least I could say 'it makes some sense, it's kinda the same thing again'. Even though I was still wrong. But this game? You whining crybabies, this is an amazing piece of entertainment. METACRITIC, why are you letting this happen? You will lose ALL CREDIBILITY. This kind of stuff will destroy all great developers. People giving this a zero? That shows people want this industry to collapse. Expand
  17. Mar 17, 2012
    10
    this game was awesome, no other game keeps you as emotioally attached the story, and i felt the ending was quite fitting despite all these protests. The action was improved and the multiplayer was surprisingly fun, if a little unnecessary
  18. Apr 5, 2012
    10
    Mass Effect 3 definitely brings a whole new meaning to the words "final chapter." I don't know why some users at Metacritic doesn't even like the game, but can't you see it has a 92 out of 100? Can't you even read what the critics are saying? Although the ending needs a little fixture and BioWare has to solve this problem and fast. I know some fans aren't happy about the ending (Warning: Don't even read the spoilers or you're dead), but I hope they'll make a DLC to the ending sometime soon to get this right and finally Commander Sheppard (Male or Female) couldn't be any more proud than the ladies. Commander Sheppard's romance scenes looked identical than Kratos's kinky side in the God of War series where they featured Mini Sex games. Not bad for a geek who drools over the TV and staring at naked women! Anyway, Mass Effect 3 is perfect. The entire cast, the action, gameplay, life-changing decisions, and everything is fine and dandy except the ending. So I'm still waiting for a low price on the game just the same as Mass Effect 2 and when I buy the game, hopefully I can still get more updates on the ending if there's a DLC or an Expansion Pack in the works. But "Mass Effect 3" is no biggie. Just pick up the game, if not, download it on the PS3 Store. Hopefully, I wonder if they could make a XXX parody of the game without the "M" on it. Hustler, Vivid, anything! Miranda and FemShep still looks H-O-T! Expand
  19. Mar 10, 2012
    9
    To make a short story short I am a Mass Effect. I played them all more then then I should. I was not going to write a review because that game was IMO close to master piece but after seeing so many 0 review I decided to write one.
    This game its flaw like every games, some other review says its not a RPG anymore, BS, some said that the shooting mechanic was bad, which is totally BS, its
    improved from the 1st and 2nd ME.
    Some are mad because there is a DLC, just dont buy it, its not mandatory, if you bought the Collectors edition you got it free, otherwise its 10$. Which is not big deal for a game you can play over 50hrs, even without the dlc.
    Those who gave that game a 0 are just unfair to the game, because its not exactly as they want they are mad, some crybabies. My verdict is, definatly worth purchase, that game is awesome, story is good, its immersive and the replay value is great. I havent tried the multiplayer yet but its something that add to the replay value of the game, yes you need a key for online play but once again its no big deal, buy the game new and voila.
    Expand
  20. May 18, 2012
    9
    im guna say it mass effect 3 is dissapointing it is not as good as me2 but is is still really good the story has moments that can be games onto itself the combat is improved the music is the best in the series but be warned the ending is ****
  21. Mar 21, 2012
    10
    Bioware has once again provided a excelent game with mass effect 3. From the amazing storyline, to the perfected shooter experience, the new customizable weapons, and the multiplayer that to be honest i was a little worried about they have came through once again and provided a great game that I would recommend to anyone.
  22. Mar 31, 2012
    10
    The game plays pretty much exactly like ME2- so if you liked ME2 you'll like this one just as much. The bunch of zeros by the way were planned by **** in their plan to punish BW for having first day DLC- the only realistic scores are from the critics. It's a great game, not as good as ME- but neither was ME2- I prefered the first game's openness, more random combat in more areas, the lack of cover and the heat mechanic (that said- thank goodness for no more Mako). This game's a 9/10, very well presented and put together, plenty of cameos for fans, decently fast paced. But, still not ME. Expand
  23. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    A terrific game.Bioware has really outdone itself in this final installment.Everything including the game play, the story and the music has been improved. This has got to be the most emotionally compelling experience in video game history. The ending though was depressing and I would would have preferred a happier ending. If anyone deserved a happy ending it was Shepard but it was still beautiful. My favorite Mass Effect game and deserves a perfect 10. Expand
  24. Apr 19, 2012
    9
    The conclusion of the epic sci-fi + shooter + RPG trilogy, there was a lot of hype and pressure surrounding the release of Mass Effect 3. And from the very start, it is obvious Bioware was not afraid to be bold: the game kicks off with a heavy dose of story, action and Reaper destruction. From there, it falls to you to travel through the galaxy building up an army for the counter-attack on Earth; and trying to solve all interplanetary political conflicts in the meantime. This is very well done, and progression is smooth and maintains the same level of tension through the whole game. Graphics are amazing (albeit a bit buggy at times), with Reapers on the background ravaging almost every planet you visit. Dialogue is well-built and the voice acting is great. Gameplay remains almost the same, which is also great. Playing the game on harder difficulty levels is a much bigger challenge than in the previous installments, as most combat areas are circular and you are constantly flanked; a good thing for those who, like me, found Mass Effect 2 a bit too easy. The only flaw in Mass Effect 3 is the end. It is not as terrible as you might have heard, but it is confusing, has many plot holes and simply discards all the morality choices you made through the whole series: you may be the most terrible Renegade who ever lived and still choose the Paragon finale. Despite this serious flaw Mass Effect 3 is still a great game and a fitting end to an epic trilogy altogether. Expand
  25. Mar 21, 2012
    9
    This game is pretty amazing. It has great game play, awesome story telling. It has three settings to suit your style of play so it's easy for everyone to play the way they want. One thing that really makes me love this game is the ability to be Gay/Lesbian because I feel like it's a step towards equal rights.
  26. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    I love this game. Even with 0-day DLC, even with some glitches and slowdowns. I love it. Although, I didn't get to the end, I believe that I will stay in love with Mass Effect anyway, no matter of what ending Bioware writers have chosen.
    Cause ME3 is the most intriguing and intensive game with fun shooting :). I also think the story and how we make choices in this game can really open our
    eyes on what is doing in our world. It's a great useful experience for me. Expand
  27. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This has been some ride, since Mass Effect first grabbed my attention. I have played through every bit of the first two games, and loved every minute. Now the final comes, and I feel equal parts excited and sad. Sad that it will have to end, but thrilled to get a chance to play it. And it does not disappoint. The emotion - always the strong point of Mass Effect - is brought to another level. The characters that I have come to care so much about are even more fleshed out. And the goosebumps at certain points of the game...well, I won't spoil. Just get it. Expand
  28. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Not just "a game" This is the best virtual entertainment you will ever play. I love Sci-fi and I love shooters, so naturally this franchise has always caught my attention with its striking images and tales of a great story mixed with intense action however one thing always scared me for whatever reason, that being the term "RPG" I have always been an impatient gamer, attracted to heavy action such as the Uncharted series, God of War and Killzone but recent games like Red Dead Redemption and Mass Effect have started to change me. I'm now completing side quests, Mining planets for materials and going through every option in a conversation to see where it leads. I say all this to hopefully help any other gamer out there that's on the fence about this game or intimidated by the Role Playing aspect. Mass Effect is worth your time and money and I'm positive that it will blow you away. Expand
  29. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    Instead of just complaining because of day 1 DLC and not helping readers actually get a sense of what this game is about, here's an ACTUAL review! First off, if you loved the first two games, odds are that you'll enjoy this one as well. Wraps up the series nicely, with closure on all ends. You can customize your weapons more so than the previous game, and shooting bad guys feels much more satisfying in this game than in the past games. Heart breaking decisions, your squad could be gone at any moment. The writing is as good as ever. Take a chance on this game. Expand
  30. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    Looking forward to playing out the final part of this trilogy. Judging by the demo, it's gonna be great.

    You might just find that the majority off the people criticizing the game and scoring it a big fat 0 are Staff from GAME and GAME-STATION in the UK.
  31. Mar 12, 2012
    10
    Brilliant game, I love the storyline the gameplay, the cutscenes. It was everything I wanted in the game. The fact that you can choose between male and female characters to be with is a significant advancement in the games like these. Thank you BioWare -- 10/10!
  32. Mar 20, 2012
    9
    Mass Effect 3 is a very very good game. It's not an RPG, it's an action game with some RPG elements, ie levelling up powers and some moral choices. I admit I've not had time to finish it yet but I'm enjoying the ride. If you enjoyed ME2 this is more of the same, you meet some old friends and watch some die. On the PS3 version there are a lot of glitches, especially in cut scenes but it is a big game. Weapons are varied and powers are very useful in tight situations. After the initial battle on earth it calms down and sometimes feels a bit mellow considering the situation facing all living beings. I've had some great battles but I've also had a lot of walking about doing nothing. There are some missed opportunities that Bioware should have grasped with both hands but it's still a great game. Some of the game feels like an afterthought, like somebody said, hey lets drive an Atlas, for a very short time! The multiplayer is good fun as well but I've suffered a lot of disconnections, and they seem to be when I'm top of the leaderboard and on wave 10, ho hum. I recommend this game and it's much more fun than MW3 and BF3. Expand
  33. Mar 26, 2012
    9
    Mass Effect 3
    Great- Story. Commander Shepard is fully fleshed out as a character and the game makes you care about its end. Each story is fully developed and every decision influences the next. - Customization. Let's you choose everything from gender,weapons, and abilities. Exploring them demands multiple playthroughs. - Side Missions. The amount of missions
    affect the ending but aren't necessary. The length can vary from mission to mission so it's always an unexpected and never tedious.

    Mixed - The Ending. I played Mass effect 2 prior to playing this one, so I was already invested. The ending did not leave me incredibly unsatisfied. I didn't fly off the handle looking for some kind of consolation. It was a bit incomplete but like the other things I invested hours in like, Lost, Seinfeld, and The Sopranos it was the journey that made it worth it. - Frame rate. The graphics were spectacular and it was definitely an upgrade over the second, but it not only would suffer slowdown in hectic areas, but during key moments which could be a little off putting. - Squad selection. The amount of characters in Mass Effect 2 was astounding, but not all necessary. Here it's cut down to more than half which is better yet with its faults. It does limit your choices making missions frustrating if you don't realize your preferences early on.

    Amiss - Load times. Realizing that a game of this size would require some patience was understandable. Yet some of the areas of the game defied logic with its constant load times. One specific area was the ship which would let you pass through inconsistently between five and sometimes thirty seconds. - Difficulty. Not complaining about the difficulty at all. I chose hardcore and enjoyed the rush. It was the spike in difficulty that irked me. One area early on had me trying for two hours while the next I cruised through. This happens a couple of times and seems to be to just lengthen the game which doesn't really need to. - Shopping. The amount of items are great but by the time you can buy the most expensive weaponry, your guns are already equipped with the best upgrades that can match them or exceed it. It becomes purely a accessory like the fish or models.
    Expand
  34. Jan 1, 2013
    10
    The game is awesome!!! If you really want to feel the game, you have to start from the first or second Mass Effect. If you only buy Masss Effect 3 and make an SLOPPY walkthrough you will not like he ending.
    All the game trilogy is awesome. The people that says the ending sucks are kids or ignorant, because they really didn't try to understand how DEEP the game actually is, they just
    played the game and made decisions they didn't understand and got a **** ending. Expand
  35. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    Haven't played it but I know it doesn't deserve a 3.6, and I only played the demo. I guess I'm only putting this up here because I see so many children crying about their beloved franchise going to s**t with the ending this game supposedly had. God you people are lame.
  36. Mar 8, 2012
    10
    I love it, gotten goosebumps playing this game more than I can ever recall from a video game. Seeing how so many characters that I care about have grown, is fantastic. I love the job the writers did with many of the characters. Certain ones that I felt lacked emotion early on in the series and didn't like as much as others, really seem to have evolved. Very pleased with Mass Effect 3.
  37. Oct 28, 2012
    10
    Loved it loved it.... LOVED IT. MASS EFFECT 3 IS THE BEST GAME OF ALL TIME. OF ALL TIME! ALL TIME! TIME! IME. ME. MASS EFFECT. M. MMM. THIS GAME MAKES ME GO 'MMM'. Miranda's ass alone is a enough reason to buy this game.
  38. Mar 18, 2012
    10
    After completing the game one has to wonder whether Bioware diverted all their resources to Star Wars - The Old Republic. One can only hope that is the excuse for this ending to the series. Regardless of the excuses or, perish the thought these "endings" were actually planned out, the Nihilistic ending made me regret having spent time even bothering to develop a character. Perhaps it's a joke. Or a calculated business move to offer DLC that lets you have an ending where you actually have some impact. As such this mess is such a shame for what had been such a promising series. In my humble opinion it is that bad. And it's sad. Not the sadness of any ending but the saddest thing in the world: Wasted potential. The wasted potential from a sloppy meaningless ending to an otherwise previously well executed series. I have lost the will to replay Mass Effect due to the ending. If that was Bioware's (and/or EA's) intentions, then well played EA/Bioware. I won't bother to return. If this is the same attention they plan for other games then I wish them well. I will not be playing them. Expand
  39. Apr 1, 2012
    9
    The story of Mass Effect was a story I can relive countless times over, a game where choices are made from the heart. This game embodies what it is to be a human. A choice of how decisions can alter the present, and alter the future. This game is what that stands for. Epic, surreal and incredibly engaging, the entirety of this game should not be missed, regardless of the ending. It is a perfect game in storytelling and gripping fashion. The ending didn't ruin the series for me, but dampened it. But not as badly as most people are saying. You are missing out on a game that defines this generation's lust for story. Buy this game, and it will learn to love you back.

    A 9/10.
    Expand
  40. Mar 12, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Game was great don't care about fps or some other minor bull**** but please change the ending because the way it is now it's like all our actions from ME1 and ME2 and ME3 didn't matter at all because they don't have an impact on the ending. That was the main point of the series, you make a decision and then you have to live with it but now whatever decision we make we still get the same results. Expand
  41. Mar 12, 2012
    10
    Its obvious the xbox fanboys come on here and give the ps3 and pc versoins of games bad scores because they dont want to affect their beloved sad platform. This game is near on a masterpiece and no one gives a crap about day 1 dlc its nothing to do with the game itself which is completely outstanding. I swear everyone just bashes on everything these days.
  42. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    Mass Effect 3 took the best elements of ME 2 and combined them with better encounters, stronger performances, a vastly better AI system and a larger feeling of accomplishment. The final fights are much tougher than ME 2, and Shepherd's new abilities while moving around are well received and really add to the experience. As far as the ending, personally I enjoyed it (even after being with the series since ME 1, which I completed on PC), and left the game feeling both sad for the characters I watched grow and sad that the trilogy has at last come to a close. Hopefully more games are in the works, because this is one series that I just can't get enough of. Maybe a prequel? Expand
  43. Mar 7, 2012
    10
    As usual, every single butthurt moron who calls themselves "fans" is complaining and shredding this game to pieces, much like the other Bioware games, but the fact is this. This is one of the best games to come out in this console generation. I've seen people comparing it to Skyrim, and saying that Skyrim is better, but it isn't. In Mass Effect 3, everything feels important. Everything you do has some end goal. In Skyrim, your side quests feel like nothing but filler, to make the game appear "grand" in scale. Bioware has done it again. They remain one of the top developers to ever bless our consoles, and Mass Effect 3 is not only GOTY contender, but GOTD (decade). Expand
  44. Mar 12, 2012
    10
    Seems like there is alot of trollers here on metacritic.. giving the game a 0 is not fair by any means.. i am a true fan of the game and has been since ME 1 and seeing it from a "player eyes" of view i see, Great Graph, Great Storyline where hard choices HAS to bee made, great characters and some of the most heartbreaking, fun, sad and epic cut scenes and conversations.. the game is not perfect, with an ending witch seems hurried and unfinished you dont get the feeling of havin achieved something great.. but despite the ending, this game is an epic one and a game of witch competes for the Game Of The Year 2012 Expand
  45. Mar 9, 2012
    10
    Best series/game/narrative/story I've ever had the pleasure of playing. The way Bioware has been able to connect the strings throughout this complicated trilogy is amazing. Every mission has something that people who have played the whole series will love, some are so minuscule you might not even notice or remember. It should be illegal to play this game without playing the previous entries. I'm not here to give a full review, I just came here to give it a 10 to combat all these kids who read the ending and can't handle it. This is easlily the BEST GAME I've ever had the pleasure of playing. Thank you Bioware! Expand
  46. Mar 18, 2012
    9
    There isn't a lot of side quest, but it doesn't break the game. Combat is more dynamic (for me, ME2 was too slow in terms of movement), and it's new features are quite addictive - side roll and unlimited run time (ough, finally, N7 graduate that actually can run), in particular.
    Yes, it's not so RPG (neither ME2 was), and advertisement trailers are just lies (i'm talking about "interactive
    storytelling" one here). Dialogs (and dialog options) are fewer and shorter.
    There are some annoying things (like scanner between CIC and war room, that stops you for about 5 seconds every time - goddamn thing, why is it here?), some bugs (most of them are sound or interface related - displaying incorrect info), and framerate drops - in intensive cutscenes, usually.
    Sure, it's all understandable and forgivable. Earth is under siege, so why are you chatting down here? It could be a [hidden] timer for how much more Earth can sustain, but there is no such a thing. Perhaps it's for the better.
    I was worried about music - but it fits well. And no more sound warping (heeeeavy doppler effect) when running, at last. Voice acting and lip sync are good.
    Many people complaining about they haven't got any answers in ending. Perhaps they lack perception, knowledge of basic physics or just don't want to think, i can't guess. For me, the only question i've left was "why the hell Normandy engaged FTL drives?". Ending is good for me (well, at least the one i have chosen - and almost without any doubts), and closing cinematic is very emotional.
    Expand
  47. Mar 17, 2012
    9
    It seems like most of the criticisms of this game I hear are by people who didn't like how the story ended, but I think whether or not someone likes how the story goes is just a matter of taste. Overall as a game this is a very cool original action-rpg sci-fi game and not only that but it is the first (as far as I know) major rpg to have a really cool co-op multiplayer horde mode added on. all together this game a great choice for both those who want an expansive universe and story filled with relationships and time-killing quests as well as for a taste of the fast-paced online play that's so popular nowadays to sweeten the deal Expand
  48. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    The reapers are here and commander shepard is ready to kick ass and save earth! Remember when this game orginally came out and it was relatively unknown with little to no expectations. Well now it has grown to the biggest and most respected game of this generation. Don't let the demo fool you with its framerate issues, graphicial problems and awkward mechanics. The full game is spectacular and not to be missed by any fan of the series from day one or PS3 gamers that picked up at ME2. From the storytelling, to the graphical improvements and overall gameplay mechanics. This game is what everyone expected after finishing ME2 and doesnt disappoint in any category. The Star Wars of the video games is prepared to suck you in once again and not let you go until you completed the quest to end reapers. Please don't let others mislead you on its overall quality, if you played the first or the second you'll definitely enjoy this and want to relive it all over again. Move over Luke skywalker, captain kirk, and hon solo Commander Shepard is the new man in town. Greatest sci fi story ever told and marks a new standard for what we come to expect from video games. Beautiful game all aroujnd. No need for the collectors edition either just purchase the standard 60dollar game and be prepared to never leave your seat. Normandy is back!! Expand
  49. Mar 6, 2012
    9
    I would bet Square or Bethesda is at the bottom of these rampant negative user scores. What a shame... I think the game is outstanding, yes it bothers me about the DLC available for $10 but really didn't bother me enough to prevent my purchase of the DLC at the same time I picked up the game. 99% of the 0 scores don't carry a bit of weight!
  50. Mar 6, 2012
    9
    I really liked the game. It feels quite a bit like ME2 to be honest though, the combat mechanics really have not changed very much. I was disappointed because I wanted to see a bit more, but nonetheless, I still love the game. I actually traded in terrible mw3 to get this game and I have no regrets doing it, I know I will playing the game for a while from now and attempt to get every trophy possible. One aspect I do not like is that the game is not entirely free world, the maps are somewhat small but still, how could you make space an open world because this is not SWTOR. I would recommend this game to anyone, although I would read up on the previous games if you have not played any of the others. Expand
  51. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    I guess sometimes there are no absolutes. I've seen enough player reviews on this game, on this site, to assume that there are MANY players who didn't play this game prior to writing a review. They simply assumed how it would be, even down to the graphics. You know, I told myself many times that I would never point out differences between casual gamers and original gamers. But, i find myself having to do just that. Casual gamers will say: "it has terrible animations and an outdated storyline". Gamers who have been around for a while (say, 20+ years), will focus on gameplay, knowing the visuals are just cake icing. Bottom line: intense plot, stunning visuals for a game this size, and a gameplay mechanism that weaves into the story perfectly make ME3 the perfect sci-fi rpg. Blizzard couldn't even do better than this, and that is something special. Perfect 10, just like I gave Skyrim. Expand
  52. Mar 7, 2012
    10
    Loved the game. I have played Mass Effect 1 and 2 each 8 times. I just beat part 3 today and loved it. Sure it has a bunch of issues.....but I think that everyone was expecting an 11/10 and since they didn't get it they are giving it a 0.

    Also, people need to get over the whole DLC thing. It will be a good story but it is NOT needed to get the full story of Mass Effect 3.
  53. Mar 8, 2012
    9
    To those of you who reviewed this on March 6, 2012 - How can you make a fair and educated rating of the game without having played it? I for one, am in love with this game. I'm about 30 hours through now, and I don't see the end any time soon, which says a lot in terms of amount of gameplay in comparison to other releases nowadays. In addition - I have never cried as many times, or as hard, as I have while playing this game. Sure, some of the dialogue is hokey at times, but the way BioWare designed this game definitely instills you with a feeling of "Wow, this is really the end."

    That being said, my only complaint about the game thus far is that I feel as though Cerberus is the main enemy, not the Reapers. That being said, there are some things that allude to the latter, but I will not mention them here because of spoilers.
    Expand
  54. Mar 9, 2012
    10
    This game is a great game, tis very sad that people are complaining about it being dumbed down; when in fact they are complaining about the very things they wanted gone. Like the mining and how it took so long. Now they say they do not like the whole send a probe down on a planet.... Also the graphics are much better than 2, either people just want to give this a bad review, because it is not like the first 2 or they have an SDTV or just being a troll. Of course all games are going to change, yes I dislike Skyrim very much, and love Morrowind much more, but it does not mean other people think Skyrim is good. The only peeve I have with Skyrim, is lack of spellcrafting, and little to non black soul gems, because you cannot make them now.... Expand
  55. Mar 10, 2012
    10
    What a bunch of whining babies. The idiots complaining about the RPG aspect being stripped away either never played 2 which had little to none of that or never played the series at all and are just bulls*%$^g because they believe every flame and lie they read on a message board. Don't even get me started on the people tanking the score because of the option for a gay story line! THIS IS 2012 YOU IGNORANT PEABRAINS! You're a disgrace, and people have been asking for this option to be included since the first game!

    I really love the PS# but I have to admit that most of these scores are probably coming from PS3 users who never bothered to play 2 after it was released for the system and bought the game based on hype alone, not knowing anything about it or it's history. A bunch of idiot meatheads who should just wait for the next COD or Madden piece o' crud and in the meantime keep their heads up their asses where they belong.

    As far as the day one DLC, this content was fully available to those who per-ordered and got collector's editions of the game. I personally just traded in a few games and got everything FOR FREE. Extra content like this has been a staple of video games for years now. Arkham City had a ton of day one DLC that was only available through per-order and no-one **** about that because it wasn't EA.

    This game is great, like I said- it continues the story and the game truthfully and faithfully. If you're tanking the reviews of this game just out of spite or homophobia then you deserve to be miserable.
    Expand
  56. Mar 10, 2012
    10
    Hate the player not the game. 
    I was expecting product placement, weak writing, and an ending where Shepherd says awe sucks, we did  it.  I can understand the hate people may have for the creators of this game. But you must stick with it. The ending, my ending due to my choices, makes it all worth while. 
    I understand not wanted to buy dlc,
    then don't. It's not necessary, just background story that probably should have came out later as an addition.  
    It's a 9.6 Not perfect by far. If had been perfect, where every single decision you made over three games counted precisely...
    this game would have cost more than any console every made. 
    Expand
  57. Mar 11, 2012
    10
    I have enjoyed Mass Effect 3 a lot. It's nice to see so many of my decisions in 1 and 2 show up again, even if it's just a character referred to in a news broadcast. I fail to see the basis for a lot of the dialogue and plot complaints. Though the dialogue trees in conversation are mostly "choose either paragon or renegade", only 2 optoins, which is annoying. The storytelling is good as usual, and some of the scenes are very well done.

    Normally I don't give 10s, but looking at the scores, a binary "0 or 10" seems to be the way to go. So, since I liked this game, 10 it is.
    Expand
  58. Mar 12, 2012
    10
    One of the greatest games of all time and i believe it will definetly win game of the year with awesome action/story and everything good about a game. Don't listen to the bad reviews they are all wrong listen to the positive ones cause they are the awesome reviews. At the end it was a bit un satisfactory but only a bit. I really look forward to a Mass Effect 4 if they do make one which I really, really, REALLY hope they do. This game is a must play essential game which you HAVE TO PLAY. It is hard to say much without spoiling things and because im not the most descriptive person, but I will leave you with these words BEST GAME EVER!!!! Expand
  59. Mar 12, 2012
    10
    Terrible animations, graphics, and gameplay. All wrapped together in the first game that allows you to skip the game. The clear worst in the series, and everything wrong with modern videogames.
  60. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    Too good to miss. Ignore the user negative reviews. They have nothing to do with the game. This trilogy is one of the best gaming experiences I've had. There are some quibbles, but it's hard to complain about a game who's story makes me care.
  61. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    Phenominal game. It's great to see all those desisions you made in the first two games come to fruition. The animations are fluid. The shooting is better than ever. To top it all off they even expanded the RPG elements. Great job Bioware.
  62. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    WHY THE HATE FOR THIS GAME????


    Geezz gamers in this day are stupid -___-
    SHM,did people expect? 20+ vastly different endings?

    And loyal fans?Please.I adore Mass Effect, I'm just as loyal as others, but I'm not crying over the endings. I personally don't see what the big problem is.
  63. Mar 13, 2012
    9
    All of you should chill the **** out this is a great game with a great story and great gameplay sorry that you don't like the ending because it's sad we'll face it the world is a sad dark place and because of this you want bio ware who has crafted this story for seven years to change because you don't like it well **** you then and I'm sorry they made day one dlc and multiplayer they still need to make money it cost alot to make a game that all of you just take for ****ing granite. Expand
  64. Mar 22, 2012
    10
    Nothing less then perfection. I managed to get a copy a few days early and I never thought the story and game could top what the last two games have delivered, but this keeps getting better and better! You really do feel the weight of those decisions you made. Its great to finally see the outcome of these shaping after waiting for 5 years in curiosity as to what would happen.
  65. Mar 16, 2012
    10
    No other game gives you the ability to make choices that their consequences or rewards would expand over multiple games... Mass Effect Saga does that, and that was what was most appealing to me about it. It truly has replay value written across all 3 games, and that is something that is not showcased in any other game I have played. The story in ME3 is massive, and when you take into account the full plotline from the time you stepped down on Eden Prime to destroying the Collecters... it's truly a Saga that should honestly be considered an instant classic! Aside from the story, the gameplay is fantastic. Much better than ME1 and an improvement over ME2. The Soundtrack feels a bit old, but it's the tone of the music that intensifies during combat that really makes you feel helpless while being overwhelmed by husks! Loved every minute. Definitely a worthy purchase and worth all $60. Go get it! Collapse
  66. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    What a masterpiece. This about as much as you can expect out of a video game. Worth at least the 60 bucks. This game, along with games like uncharted, threaten to take video games into a direction where the medium delivers a type of interactive entertainment than no other medium can compete with. People will look back at this game as a tipping point, a game that took the industry in a direction where the term "game" just does not do the product justice. The product is top notch, quality entertainment, and somewhere in this massive package of entertainment there is also a video game. Expand
  67. Apr 12, 2012
    10
    Ending & day 1 DLC aside, why has no one mentioned how bland the core gameplay is? Its soo boring, it feels like a generic shooter that has plagued this modern generation of gaming :/. Sure some of the biotic powers are cool but this doesn't mean **** when most of the time is spent cowering behind a wall with ur weak sounding space invader assault rifle. It doesnt feel satisfying to kill someone, it feels simplistic (except when u melee some1 from cover which is rare). This coupled with the boring story & tedious fetch quests is whats wrong with this game & doesn't do justice to its concept & slick presentation. Expand
  68. Apr 16, 2012
    10
    good.........................................................................................................................................................................................
  69. Apr 12, 2012
    9
    This is a great game. the gameplay is better than mass effect 2,but the story and characters are weaker and the game forgets that it's a third person shooter RPG. but it's a really good game.
  70. May 25, 2012
    9
    Poor ending doesn't hide the fact that this is an excellent game.

    The side quests are weak, but less irritating than in mass effect 2. The main story holds up extremely well until the end. Making multiplayer effect the war effore was a ridiculous choice.
  71. Apr 23, 2012
    9
    First let me start off by saying that despite the controversy, Mass Effect 3 is an amazing game. It is true that In some fields it does come up short when compared to it's predecessors (ie. Side-quests) but it also not only matches but excels past the first two games in other fields such as voice acting, plot coherency, character development, and the ability to draw out real emotion from it's audience. In terms of gameplay I don't think many would argue that it has far surpassed the second game in terms of tight, fluid shooting mechanics and has surged light-years past the original. While RPG elements in terms of ability and class customization in both the second and third installments are lacking when compared to the first game, ME3 seems to find a good balance of taking the streamlined elements of the second game and enhancing them to more closely resemble that of the first game (ie. Branching ability paths, weapon customization, and armor customization). One of the larger gripes among critics of the game is that autodialogue is more present in the third game. And this is true. While some saw this as a step back in terms of interactive storytelling I personally saw it as a way to allow the story to flow a bit more smoothly in conversation (my personal opinion of course), that's not to say that you won't still be able to make your own choices throughout the game. You will, but you will also see your Shepard speak more on his/her own. It is enjoyable to see (again, despite popular belief) many of your choices from the previous two games affect the story as you progress THROUGH the game, which brings me to the part of the game that many feel is a deal-breaker. While the game as a larger whole is affected by what you did in the previous two games it is hard to argue that choices you made throughout the series affect the ending in any real way (other than the amount of war assets you accumulate), although BioWare has announced they plan to rectify this in their upcoming "Extended Cut" DLC (free of charge). While I may not be one of the people who seem to have made it their mission to hate the ending in any outlet they can find, I do have to admit the ending is weak. Gamebreakingly weak? Absolutely not. But it is weak. All of that's not touching on multiplayer which is a fun, ableit repetitive distraction. So all in all Mass Effect 3 and the Mass Effect series in general is without a doubt a gaming triumph worthy of having a look at by anyone who enjoys the gaming medium, or anyone who is looking for an overall rich and immersive gaming experience. Expand
  72. Mar 14, 2012
    9
    Unfortunately this is a game that attracts the biggest of internet trolls. There is tons to love in this game and a few that I really miss from earlier iterations. I like that it is about political dealing and survival again rather than the run a gunning of Mass Effect 2. I like that they were able to take some of the conversations out of your hands based on your reputation. I like the better scanning methods for planets so that you don't spend all your time hoarding resources. I like being able to customize my armor and weapons. I like that the multiplayer is a functional part of creating the ending rather than just a breeding ground for stat whores. I miss some of the great party members from Mass Effect 2, but like that they resolve their storylines in this game. If you have a problem with gays, than don't pursue that romance option. If you have a problem with EA's marketing strategy for From Ashes DLC, than don't buy it. The combat is tight, the controls are solid, and it looks and sounds like Mass Effect. While certain complaints are valid, it does not warrant the backlash it has received. The gaming community is a sad beast that tears apart the few story tellers that are trying to create new and vivid worlds for you to explore with the tact and intellect of a petulant, spoiled child. Expand
  73. Mar 30, 2012
    9
    Mass Effect 3 is neither a perfect game nor a bad game by long shot.However,Mass Effect 3 is the best game i have played so far this year,the combat and game play have been improved tremendously over ME2,the game have more cinematic scenes,and many epic moments.If i want to sum it up,the game started out strong until the very last 10mins,where it leaves me many questions and scratching head moments.I Expand
  74. Mar 29, 2012
    9
    I'm not a big fan of Mass Effect 3's ending. I thought it was convoluted and anticlimactic for anticlimatic's sake. Though a lot of about the ending actually does work. I loved the fade out while I was rushing down to the last destroyer with my brother's in arms. I loved the fade in to Shephard badly injured and slowly walking towards her/his destiny awaiting him/her deep inside of The Citadel. I loved Anderson and Shepard communicating for opposite ends of The Citadel discussing what was going on. The long walk way up into The Illusive Man's secret hideout. It was all very atmospheric and epic and kind of beautiful. I thought the paragon/rendegade prompts were good as well during the "standoff". And I actually liked the twist that the little boy was The Catalyst. But the 3 choices he gives you were indeed pretty lame. And the lack of exposition following said decision was just plain bad. You can't end a game that encompasses over 140 hours of gameplay and millions of decisions made by the player with just 3 crew members walking off of the Normandy and just cut to the credits....EVEN IF you're planning on releasing DLC. There is a lot of room for criticism for that horrible decision made by whoever at Bioware that made it. I can't believe that ending got all the way to the final product. Its actually kind of sad. But, it DID NOT ruin the game or the series for me. Because it wasn't the fact that Shephard was destined to die (or not...we still don't know do we) that actually is kind of good when you think about it. Its life. Sometimes no matter what decisions you make you can't fight your fate and what is going to be is just going to be. Your destiny is something you must embrace. Which is why I chose the middle option and made Shephard sacrifice herself. Yes, HERSELF. Female Shephard is a MILLION TIMES better than male Shephard and I'm a dude. From the voice acting (Jennifer Hale is amazing and the guy voices male Shepard is very boring) to character design she is just so much more fun to play with. Seriously if you haven't played the games thru with Fem Shep you are doing yourself a HUGE disservice as I have found the game way better controlling her. But back to 3, the game is incredible. There are so many jaw-dropping moments and sheer brilliance (if you haven't played thru with the From Ashes DLC you are missing out on what I find to be the best addiction to the game - Javik and his story). The improvements in shooting and offensive strategy are borderline limitless. And I had a remarkable experience playing the game. To think someone can really give this game a 0-5 based off the ENDING ALONE is proposterous. Are you guys really even Mass Effect fans? Or narcissists? Expand
  75. Mar 19, 2012
    9
    Fantastic end to the series, these people griping are crazy! Story is fantastic and against popular decisions think the ending it perfect for the tone of the game and the story... Do yourself a favour and get this game, you will not be disappointed!
  76. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    Still the same great mass effect story and characters and gamplay we have come to know in the previous games. Game is more story focused as bioware did away with tedious planet scanning etc. and the firefight gameplay is complimented with great level design. But i agree that a top tier game/story/world maker like BIOWARE should have made a better ending. Such a bad-ass game/trilogy deserves a bad-ass ending, its not for sure dumb weak sauce stuff the last 15 minutes. BUT GAME IS 40 hours long ending is 15 minutes so still a 10 Expand
  77. Apr 3, 2012
    10
    Simply brilliant. Great action, sense of suspense. Has everything, strongly recommended. Have played all the Mass Effect games and was initially nervous about the Multiplayer, but its excellent. PSN: jstevo.
  78. May 15, 2012
    10
    Mass Effect 3 has some notable bumps on it's road; It has limited freedom when compared to it's predecessors, some technical instabilities (mostly glitches & framerate issues) and a confusingly muddled ending that has stirred up a hornet's nest of internet trolls. That said, these are all moot points in the face of what Mass Effect 3 delivers to the player, which is the best Sci-Fi action game ever made. The things you get to see and experience in ME3 are totally amazing! There are so many unforgettable moments to be had. The plot is excellent and the script keeps the emotional connections fixed in the spotlight. The result is an action game with a true sense of meaning and consequence. The afore mentioned ending is both blunt and strange, but it's mystery's beg for debate just like all classic Sci-Fi should (2001: A space Odyssey springs to mind). Mass Effect 3 is a series high and one of the best games I have ever played in my 20+ years of gaming. Expand
  79. Mar 12, 2012
    10
    It's great. More of ME2, which is what I wanted. The ending may be disappointing to a certain extent -- but how can it not be? It's the end of ME! Very fun game.

    Giving a low score because of day 1 DLC or Origin is dumb.
  80. Mar 9, 2012
    10
    Incredible game, I find that their is a lot of fanboys who are just out to hate, sure you loved the first ME but games change over time.. deal with it. This is a beautiful game with a really intense story line. Ginger Shepard FTW
  81. Mar 11, 2012
    9
    A great sequel, with enhanced gameplay mechanics as well as bringing back aspects of the original that were missed, and a story that does not disappoint.
  82. Mar 9, 2012
    10
    Incredible game. Filled with excitement. Great graphics, incredible story. People shouldn't play Mass Effect 3. They should live it. It's incredible, more than we could have hoped for.
  83. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    I've never played a game this suspenseful, cinematic or beautifully told. Mass Effect 3 clearly defines the games-as-storytelling genre. At times it feels like you're watching a movie, with the superb score and carefully selected shots, then you're thrown right back into the action. If you pay careful attention to the story from Mass Effect 1 all the way through to the final moments of Mass Effect 3, and how Shepherd behaves in all those situations, it's clear how it will end. Despite the complaints, I think the story's conclusion is quite poetic. Expand
  84. May 18, 2012
    9
    This is the score the game actually deserves. Now before you down-vote me, you will find if you average around the fifty + critic scores the game received it would be around the 89-93 area. Take off the moronic user score feature metacritic, it is used as a tool by a bunch of forum trolls and butthurt fanboys who really have no clue how to review a game. Of course this review will be down-voted by them, and I'll probably be called a "suck up" to the gaming media, but let's look at the facts first. High expectations almost always lead to disappointment, and those who have insanely high expectations will always be disappointed. This is why when you look at a game objectively, or rather as it is, instead of what you wanted it to be, you would find that it truly is a good game. Whether you disagreed with the ending or had problems because you "Felt" that the choices you made in the previous installments weren't reflected enough, it really doesn't matter. It's no reason to give this game a score below 7, and the fact that this game is rated a 3.9 is really quite pathetic. To even think that this game is only worth a "3.9" you would have to be some grumpy old man living in some old folks home or some kid who stays in his room all day, has no friends and doesn't know how to enjoy quality entertainment. The decisions you made in the previous games do reflect in this one, and yes they matter. Characters that die in ME2 wont be around, characters you saved in ME1 do make an appearance and yes your choices DID have reflect in ME3. Name a game that carries the choices you made from game to game on the same level mass effect has? You cant, there is only stand alone games with choices like the witcher 2, but what game from sequel to sequel to sequel does what the ME series has?. The fact people cry because they feel that their choices never meant anything is LAUGHABLE seeing as how they have nothing to compare it to. Give mass effect some credit, it has done a pretty damned good job. The ending to the series is fine, and honestly it really doesn't matter what bioware did people would have cried and crapped their pants. Everybody has a different idea of how it should have "ended" Bioware cant possibly meet everybody's expectations. The gameplay was much improved from the previous two, they added in some more RPG elements, still not as robust as ME1 but pretty close with the talent choices, weapon mods and tons of armor and loot to find. Mass effect 3 is a good game that sold well and that the majority of people enjoyed playing, don't listen to the vocal minority of idiots on here who probably pirated the game or never even played it at all and are just jumping on the hate bandwagon to hate the game like it's some "fad" to do so or makes them "cool and different" Stfu, sit down and enjoy the game. End of story. and....advice to metacritic......implement a system where people need to enter the serial code of the game they bought in order to actually review it. See how many of these idiots are still around after that......you wont find many Expand
  85. Apr 3, 2012
    10
    I just do not get all these 0 scores. The game is just great. If you love Mass Effect 2 you will love Mass Effect 3. 3rd installment is just as good if not better than Mass Effect 2. I've been playing the game for about 4 hours now and I just started ! There is so much to do in this game. Reportedly there is 40 hours of game play in Mass Effect 3 plus multiplayer that i frankly do not care much about. I've heard that many have problem with the game ending but this is not the reason to give this game 0 score. Graphics are solid, animations are solid. Bioware put a lot of effort into this game. Once I started playing the game i could not stop. I got hooked up on it instantaneously. Controls are pretty much the same as in ME2 so the learning curve was short for me. Overall great title. 10 out of 10. Do not listen to all these 0 reviews. Just pick up the game and you will love it. Expand
  86. May 15, 2012
    10
    First off, I'm not going to comment on the low scores & brain farts that the wise ol' tweens left to tarnish the user review score. That would be just silly. What I will comment on however, pertains to one of the best titles I've yet to encounter in my 30 years of gaming.. period. For those familiar the series, ME isn't a game, it's an experience unlike anything out there. Yes, high praise should go out to titles like GTA4, MGS4 and RED Dead, but in terms of a series, (and I rarely use this word).. Epic best sums up what you should expect from the final chapter with Shepard and crew. It's as close to perfect as perfect gets and even if you've yet to touch the franchise, you owe it to yourself to pick up this title today. (I'd also highly recommend playing the first instalments if possible) as the story will carry much more weight in doing so. In a world where the single player campaign and story is being overlooked by the ADD multiplayer shooters, Mass Effect 3 is marvellous and is up the in my top 10 games of all time. Do yourself a favour and borrow, buy or 'whatever' this gem of a game. Yes, it's that good. Expand
  87. Mar 22, 2012
    9
    After careful consideration i am ready to give my opinion as unbiasedly as possible. The game is shorter than the second installment but the production values and story are better. The environments look fantastic but character models are not the best. This installment is better than the first two in terms of gameplay. Movement and cover system are vastly improved from the last two games. Very little effort is required for the sidequests which pretty much consist of fetching items for people. I did not like that there were no side quests available after scanning random planets, something i really enjoyed from the first two. I was really disappointed that none of the characters from me2 were available on your squad in this game (excluding garrus and tali). I felt that this game was shorter than the last two but not significantly. Love the customization, (most of) the writing, the weapons, the new and improved biotic powers. I cant even begin the describe how atrocious the ending of this game was. The whole game was amazing to play until this moment. The brilliance of the entire series is undermined by the ending. Whoever wrote the ending of this game should be banned from writing. Anything. Ever. Expand
  88. May 2, 2012
    10
    Haters are always going to hate. Yes the ending was bad but the whole game is still in my top three of my favorite games ever, its a classic and I hope the ending DLC will make the ending awesome so that this game can take the deserved place of my favorite game of all time.
  89. May 12, 2012
    9
    The game was great, I think the ratings on here are really inaccurate. I would not put down a whole game based on the last ten minutes of the game. Everyone who is boycotting the game is ruining it for everyone else who may have gotten a chance to play this fantastic game. It is a vast improvement on its predecessors, the graphics are amazing, especially on the PS3 and Xbox and everything about it feels polished. If you are a true fan of the series, or even someone new to the series, I would not give this one a miss. Expand
  90. Apr 29, 2012
    10
    Everybody reviewing this and giving it a bad rating are plainly stupid.They are all hardcore fans of this series.If fact,i am one too.BUT,i never expected from BioWare to just make EXACTLY what i wanted,in exactly the way i wanted it.Also,most people give this game a 0-3 just because of the ending.Really?So,you do not rate the game,you just rate the ending and that is it.You don't rate the fantastic gameplay,the customization,the powers and everything else.You just rate the ending?I agree,there are some flaws such as the fact that the characters seem to be ok with one big friend of their dying and there are some dumb deaths is this game too.The dialogues some times are dumb too but i don't really care.I have picked the RPG style of gameplay,which yes,had been dumbed down.Also,another thing i did not expect with the most annoying being the unexplained FPS drops on Ps3(haven't seen any on the XBOX).BUT,all this does not matter to me,a hardcore fan.The gameplay is excellent and the powers are also a good addition to the game.Also,i like how i can be emotionally connected with a character,the way the game makes that happen is great.Also,there are many decisions to be made,for example,with who will you make a romance or whether you will chose the ''good guy'' path or the ''bad guy'' path(decided by the dialogues).The side missions are a bit annoying,with the majority of them(after some time)being in the Citadel.I will not talk about the multiplayer since i don't really play it.
    This game deserves an 8+ rating,BioWare did a good job.The ending could be better yes,BUT a game is NEVER judge by its ending only.
    Expand
  91. Apr 10, 2012
    9
    Yes, the ending is lame. However, if you can get past the disappointment in the last five minutes of the story (which you can watch by searching on YouTube), the gameplay is almost identical to ME2. The story, for all the (justified) gripes about the ending, is in other respects even better than in ME2. Multiplayer is a fun yet minor addition.
  92. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    It was a fantastic ride right up until the last 15 or so minutes, when Bioware must have decided we had been given 2 happy ending in a row, so now we have to pay. It was kind of like having the best Christmas morning of your childhood ruined by the Manson Family busting down the door after the last present is opened, and then stabbing your mom and dad to death in front of your eyes with the kitchen utensils. Given the horrible feeling this game left me with, I can not in good conscience give it anything like a high rating. Sorry. Expand
  93. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. YOU REALLY SHOULDN'T READ THE REVIEW UNLESS YOU FINISHED THE GAME: Though I feel the developers are trying for a more cinematic approach to the cutscenes and add less of an interaction and more answers and end-game conclusions to all prior interaction in the series, I do miss the more detailed dialogue options of the Mass Effect 2. The overall gameplay seems a balanced hybrid of the first 2 games, as far the stripped down shooter methodology of ME2 and the more expansive RPG elements of the first. The graphics are astounding, with Jordan Cronenweth worthy lighting environments, the ME@ did begin this favorite film-ic technique of mine. All heil the return of lens flare to modern film and games! Thank you J.J. Abrams and thank you, Bioware! The obviously homophobic reactions leveled against the same sex options are ridiculous, because, guess what, if you don't like them, dont pick them! It's absolutely the most childish commentary I've ever seen on this site, and would like to add that metacritic should do a little more in judging the validity of multi-post users responses who are merely "attacking" this game on this ground almost exclusively. There are 3 versions of the game to play and it seems that some users responses on this site also are ignorant of this option and they may have inadvertently chosen the action play through. Oh, it's so hard to read sometimes, isn't it? I don't understand the issue of conclusion options either. it does not truly vary from the ME2 formula where only body count was the difference with loyalty missions. "Its not the destination its the journey." The Catalyst was a little too, "Deus Ex Machina" for my taste, but it didn't really take from the overall magnificence of this game experience. I thought the endings were subtle, but they made sense in the context of the game. My take away is that Shepard's Fate was to some extent inevitable, but his approach to that final decision contained options as to how the user approached his gameplay with Shepard, and Bioware actually gave you the option to decide that final choice rather than have it play out, with control, synthesize, and destroy. If you really pay attention to your dialogue options in PRIOR games, the payoff is hear if your willing to open your eyes. Oh, the blind homo-phobic racist tween gamer, you should not be playing this game. It is not for you. Great games and great job Bioware!

    PS I love that metacritic's own spell check doesn't recognize metacritic as a word. Awesome.
    Expand
  94. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    I thought the game was awesome up until the end. I hating the ending and I think BW can do much better. That said, the triology was still one of the most awesome gaming experiences that I've ever had and will be much better if they change the ending. While I think the real score I would rate this is about a 7 or 8 I am giving it a 10 based on the rest of the game and previous games and to try and offset the other people trolling on here that are obviously marking the score low because of the ending. I think BW deserves a fair score.â Expand
  95. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    Nothing but hatred on these reviews so far it looks like. All I have to say is that I've dropped hours and hours into the multiplayer coop and see no signs of stopping. People need to get off their high horse and actually have fun with games. I haven't dabbled into the single player story yet but my assumption is the low score is due to fan-boys getting all bent out of shape due to unrealistic expectations. I'll get around to the single player campaign at some point but for those of you who love coop based coordination and surprisingly deep strategy laced online play with tons and tons of unlockables, the multiplayer alone is worth the asking price. Expand
  96. Mar 26, 2012
    9
    Thanks for another great game, Bioware. No I didn't like the ending either, but I'm not some spoiled, entitled brat that thinks 1 hour of poor content automatically taints 29 hours of engaging story and incredible gameplay. This game will melt your face, ultimately leaving you a bit confused about the ending but still happy you got to go on the ride.
  97. Mar 29, 2012
    9
    Game is very good, if you are not as those kids, you should not listen to them.
    My registration here only one purpose - to help this game and save it from kids. :)

    Ð
  98. Aug 21, 2012
    10
    Mass Effect 3 manages to reach the greatness of its predecessors, and surpass it.
    All in all, the culmination of the Mass Effect trilogy is not only the pinnacle of the series, but the best game of all time.
  99. Apr 16, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'm not just giving this a "10" to attempt to combat all the "0"s out there, I honestly think this game is a 10 and it is probably the best game I've played in the last 7-8 years. I was genuinely astounded... as to how WONDERFUL the ending was. The controversy is ridiculous. It basically boils down to unintelligent individuals who need to have everything explained to them very slowly to be satisfied, and intelligent people who are capable of inferring their own ideas for the future of the galaxy. Shepard did his job, he sacrificed himself not only for the galaxy, but every single life that will ever come into existence in the future. That is amazing. The specifics of what happened after his death are no longer his concern. Please DO NOT change the ending Bioware. Don't give in to the lowest common denominator. People were expecting a Michael Bay ending and instead were introduced to Andrei Tarkovsky. It's unfortunate that people don't have a far enough reaching intellectual grasp. Expand
  100. Apr 16, 2012
    9
    Before clicking to write a review of my own, I checked the current reviews of the game from other people and can see something very sad already.
    Many people have given it a low score purely out of hatred for ME2 and yet clearly have not played ME3! I, before giving ME3 a chance would have verbally given this a low score myself but having given it a chance I see my error.
    Now to start, I
    played the demo first..and I hated it. It felt awful to play and showed no RPG elements at all but after my friend Brad said I needed to play it I went out and bought it anyway..how right he was.
    What I found was an excellent game with brilliant mechanics, a wonderful story and great selection of missions. Everything has been improved over ME2 (which was a travesty) and the story is nicely wrapped up in the end.
    Yes the endings were not great, and it did feel like trying so hard to get as many troops as possible was pointless in the end but, all things aside, this game blew me away.
    So I ask that those of you who have written negative reviews and given low scores based purely on nay-sayers in forums, stop being sheep, think for yourselves and actually give the game a go!
    Expand
  101. Mar 16, 2012
    0
    No other game gives you the ability to make choices that their consequences or rewards would expand over multiple games... Mass Effect Saga does that, and that was what was most appealing to me about it. It truly has replay value written across all 3 games, and that is something that is not showcased in any other game I have played. The story in ME3 is massive, and when you take into account the full plotline from the time you stepped down on Eden Prime to destroying the Collecters... it's truly a Saga that should honestly be considered an instant classic! Aside from the story, the gameplay is fantastic. Much better than ME1 and an improvement over ME2. The Soundtrack feels a bit old, but it's the tone of the music that intensifies during combat that really makes you feel helpless while being overwhelmed by husks! Loved every minute. Definitely a worthy purchase and worth all $60. Go get it! Collapse
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 30
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 30
  3. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Mass Effect 3 is an amazing experience in and of itself. It's also the perfect capstone to a true AAA franchise, offering a poignant conclusion that'll stick long after the credits have rolled. You're standing on the precipice of one of the best games Earth money can buy. [April 2012, p.60]
  2. If ever a game was more about the journey than the destination, it's Mass Effect 3. And what a journey it is. [May 2012, p.71]
  3. The RGP elements have been toned down considerably in favour of more action. For some this will sound like a bad thing, but trust us when we say that Bioware has thought this through. With the Reapers invading, it would be kind off silly to go on a shopping spree on the citadel. [April 2012, p.60]