Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Dec 11, 2012
    98
    Mass Effect is quality. The story is very well done. The characters are well written, and it's amazing to see how they were at the beginning. It's like I got to see them as they were, and can now appreciate how they've grown from Mass Effect to Mass Effect 2 and 3.
  2. Dec 10, 2012
    90
    I'm in the camp that believes the games simply get better the further you get into the series, meaning that for as amazing as Mass Effect is, its sequels are more amazing yet. So if you like this game, just imagine how much you'll like what follows it.
  3. The game's appearance remains unaltered, which sounds good, but unfortunately it isn't. The game doesn't look bad, but it certainly looks dated. From a cinematic standpoint everything's fine, but the numerous lip-sync errors bothered us immensely. [February 2013, p.80]
  4. 83
    The original Mass Effect has finally arrived on the PlayStation 3, which completes the trilogy without hopping consoles. Even though the game shows obvious and often obtrusive signs of age, the original shooter RPG still holds up and delivers an experience to fans who have wanted it for so long.
  5. As an interactive story it's one hell of a good piece of entertainment. Taking your first tentative steps into this seriously rich universe, planting the seeds for larger implications later in the series, and tangling with one of the best antagonists ever, Saren, is a trip well worth taking. There's a rich, colourful cast you'll want to meet for the first time (Urdnot Wrex in particular) and very poignant moments to be had (e.g. becoming a Spectre). These are watershed gaming moments that the ME2's 'introductory' comic book could never hope to encapsulate. [January 2013, p69]
  6. Dec 10, 2012
    60
    Mass Effect's gameplay is unashamedly stuck in 2007. It's unpolished, frustrating, and much of it feels unnecessary. Fortunately, the plot and writing are enough to carry the experience. If you've already dipped into either of the series' superior sequels, prepare for a learning curve if you absolutely must explore the franchise's roots.
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 268 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 41
  2. Negative: 3 out of 41
  1. Jan 5, 2013
    10
    Just finished this awesome game. I loved ME2 and liked ME3 (not as much 2 by far) so having the first one available for the PS3 is great andJust finished this awesome game. I loved ME2 and liked ME3 (not as much 2 by far) so having the first one available for the PS3 is great and explains all the background narratives. And uploading your ME1 character into ME2 opens up new dialog options. ME1 is perhaps the best of the series. Gameplay is fun, if not as polished as ME2. It was fun being a badass as you levelled up. It's more of an RPG than the others, and has great storylines. There were some occasional framerate issues and I had to restart once or twice. Also, the final battle froze twice so I had to delete and reinstall the game data. But it was totally worth it. It was nowhere near as glitchy as Skyrim, and similairly worth it for a great game. Full Review »
  2. Dec 9, 2012
    9
    Mass effect on ps3 seems like it was meant to be, i played the 360 version first, very good but is plagued with bugs and so is the ps3Mass effect on ps3 seems like it was meant to be, i played the 360 version first, very good but is plagued with bugs and so is the ps3 version, but only slightly. The improved loading quickness and the sharpness of textures makes this port very good indeed. I would recommend getting it on ps3 as it is very good and adds to your mass effect collection nicely. Full Review »
  3. Jul 29, 2013
    6
    Overall, not a bad game, but not a great one either. A good story is ruined by below average combat and the worst driving in any game ever.Overall, not a bad game, but not a great one either. A good story is ruined by below average combat and the worst driving in any game ever. Also there are tonnes of bugs that should have been ironed out, from a couple of hours in I just wanted the game to end so I could move on to the good mass effect games. Don't play unless your desperate to do the full trilogy. Full Review »