Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 677 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In addition to an expansive single-player campaign, Max Payne 3 is the first entry in the series to introduce a thorough multiplayer experience. In a unique twist, Max Payne 3 multiplayer delivers an experience that dynamically alters maps and mode progression for all players in a match.In addition to an expansive single-player campaign, Max Payne 3 is the first entry in the series to introduce a thorough multiplayer experience. In a unique twist, Max Payne 3 multiplayer delivers an experience that dynamically alters maps and mode progression for all players in a match. Along with traditional multiplayer modes, Max Payne 3 also includes a deep reward and leveling system, persistent clans and multiple strategic load-out options. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. A beautifully told, smartly paced, and relentlessly addictive shooter. [July 2012, p.70]
  2. May 21, 2012
    94
    The checkpoints aren't that well-placed, which may lead to some frustration along the way... that's the only complaint we have. What we actually want to say is that Max Payne 3 is a fantastic shooter with an unseen filmic flair that even holds up nicely in comparison with Uncharted 3. And that's saying A LOT.
  3. May 14, 2012
    90
    The gameplay is simple yet satisfying, but it's entirely in the service of a strongly-authored narrative. Players aren't at the liberty to roam, to explore, or to shake things up. Some might find this too controlling, but in return for your freedom, you're rewarded with a mature genre piece which is also a finely-realised character study.
  4. May 16, 2012
    90
    Max Payne 3 is a rip-roaring success on many levels. It relentlessly hammers at your emotions and nerves and keeps you perched on the edge of your seat. The borderline unfair difficulty towards the end of the campaign, noticeable issues with the shootdodge, and a couple minor glitches notwithstanding, this is one hell of an experience.
  5. Jul 9, 2012
    90
    An engaging story, extremely satisfying shoot-outs phenomenal graphics turn Max Payne 3 undoubtedly into one of the best shooters of 2012. It's a shame that Rockstar doesn't seem to know where to place their checkpoints.
  6. May 21, 2012
    85
    Max Payne 3 is not as revolutionary as the original, still this third-person shooter is one of the best games of 2012 so far. With it's phenomenal animations, suberb shoot-outs and it's breathtaking singleplayer it's a must have for shooterfans. Apart from a couple asperities as annoying checkpoints and a lack of variety, there is little to complain about Max Payne 3.
  7. May 16, 2012
    70
    If you label a game Max Payne you should put Max Payne in it. I loved Max, because he had style and character – like a good whiskey. But this tastes like a colorful cocktail and plays like an explosive military shooter with Latinas in their stringtangas dancing to the bullet-staccato. Nonetheless you'll get solid entertainment with cynical comments, convincing digital actors and the occasional bullet in the head.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 201
  1. Jun 8, 2012
    10
    top of the line graphics and physics, everything plays like a movie, some cutscenes can be annoying but def like the story and colorfultop of the line graphics and physics, everything plays like a movie, some cutscenes can be annoying but def like the story and colorful characters, gunplay is awesome, single player maybe a lil short, but great, i'd rate this game a 8.5 or higher, some frustrating checkpoint restarts, and hit accuracy but very minimal,multi player is fun, deathmatch and other modes available, Expand
  2. May 27, 2012
    10
    Max Payne 3 is not a bad game. It is a very cool game much like Reservoir Dogs is a very cool movie. My frustration with this game is the veryMax Payne 3 is not a bad game. It is a very cool game much like Reservoir Dogs is a very cool movie. My frustration with this game is the very cool movie never changes. From one scene to the next, all very cool, and the narration Max provides keeps the player much in the mind and character of Max, but it is shoot your way through a nightclub, shoot your way through a marina, shoot your way through a market.
    People expect too much from the Rockstar studio. I do. They have that back catalogue that reeks of brilliance. I remember being dumbstruck by hitting a garbage can in a car I drove in GTA4. The bin went to topple, then steadied, then loosened again enough to hit the sidewalk. This sort of dynamic was beyond the RAGE engine.
    So, is it fair to to compare MP3 to other titles from the studio stable? If they produce it and release it, sure.
    To return to poor old Max, I felt almost guilty for pushing his broken ass further into the hooded desperation of San Paulo. He clearly wished to stay at a bar and will remind you at every opportunity. And unfortunately, whatever the next mission is, it will be as similar as the last and similar as the next. The graphics are awesomely good, and the game economy of ammo/ painkiller health restorations/ pickups are very well metered, but deviate from Max starts here- shoots his way to there- cutscene- repeat- it doesn't happen. And Rockstar games are, if it's going to happen, they'll do it.
    I'm giving it 6, all for the artists, the director a zero.
    Expand
  3. May 15, 2012
    10
    I've been waiting for years. Max Payne 3 is a fantastic game by Rockstar, the company that has been on quite a roll for the past few years.I've been waiting for years. Max Payne 3 is a fantastic game by Rockstar, the company that has been on quite a roll for the past few years. However, their shooting mechanics have never been that great. MP3 changes that, because the mechanics are excellent. Bullet Time and shoot-dodge both work the same way as before, but even better. MP3 has a solid story, great voice acting, pretty graphics, and amazing animations. Dual-wielding has never been better! It's not open world like RDR or GTA 4, nor will it win as many awards, but gameplay-wise, it's much ahead. Expand
  4. Jul 11, 2012
    9
    My first review was crap so lets take 2. I believe Max Payne 3 is an amazing game. It brings a hero who while rich with what feels like realMy first review was crap so lets take 2. I believe Max Payne 3 is an amazing game. It brings a hero who while rich with what feels like real emotion and drive, shows you this hero is definitely not a role-model. He's down to earth and fills every wrong decision he's made with a drink, a pill and a bullet in another mans head. The game shows that Max is a **** Every shot feels brutal and you feel Max's Pain. That is in the singleplayer mode. I personally believe more developers should make storys as this game makes its story, the complete opposite of a fairytale. Those who say that this isn't Max Payne have not played it. Seriously. It is Max Payne and I can promise you that. There is not a single part of the story and gameplay that made me think of any rockstar game. So we can put those rumors to the side.
    Multiplayer is amazing. Seriously easy to get into and plays smoothly. I recommend this game for every person. Max fan or not.
    Expand
  5. Oct 23, 2014
    8
    A really nice game, with the best combat system ever. The game has a nice story, characters, graphics and is a lot of fun to play. The onlyA really nice game, with the best combat system ever. The game has a nice story, characters, graphics and is a lot of fun to play. The only thing I didn't like is the multiplayer. Note that the game also has a few minor bugs, and long loading times. Expand
  6. Jun 2, 2013
    7
    Cool game. Nice story and with nice story telling. I liked Max Payne character. He's kinda funny even when he's totally screwed :).
    I hated
    Cool game. Nice story and with nice story telling. I liked Max Payne character. He's kinda funny even when he's totally screwed :).
    I hated all controller types But this my preference. It took me too much time to get used to it.
    Another thing, Trophies are so hard to get. And it's just stupid to ask me to play the game at least 3 or 4 times to get a platinum trophy. And yes trophies are part of my review to any games. It's the only rewarding system to your profile.
    Still being hard to get most of the trophies makes your proud of them But most of them are hard and bronze
    Expand
  7. Jul 3, 2014
    0
    This Game is more like a movie than a game. I buy video games to play them not watch a cut scene for 10 plus minutes. If I wanted to watch aThis Game is more like a movie than a game. I buy video games to play them not watch a cut scene for 10 plus minutes. If I wanted to watch a movie that is what I would buy. This is just programers being cheap and not doing there job. It is a lot easier to make a movie with little or no interaction and use it as game filler to make it seem longer to the player. I feel very ripped off I bought a game NOT A MOVIE!!!!!!! Expand

See all 201 User Reviews