Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 711 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In addition to an expansive single-player campaign, Max Payne 3 is the first entry in the series to introduce a thorough multiplayer experience. In a unique twist, Max Payne 3 multiplayer delivers an experience that dynamically alters maps and mode progression for all players in a match.In addition to an expansive single-player campaign, Max Payne 3 is the first entry in the series to introduce a thorough multiplayer experience. In a unique twist, Max Payne 3 multiplayer delivers an experience that dynamically alters maps and mode progression for all players in a match. Along with traditional multiplayer modes, Max Payne 3 also includes a deep reward and leveling system, persistent clans and multiple strategic load-out options. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. A beautifully told, smartly paced, and relentlessly addictive shooter. [July 2012, p.70]
  2. May 21, 2012
    94
    The checkpoints aren't that well-placed, which may lead to some frustration along the way... that's the only complaint we have. What we actually want to say is that Max Payne 3 is a fantastic shooter with an unseen filmic flair that even holds up nicely in comparison with Uncharted 3. And that's saying A LOT.
  3. May 14, 2012
    90
    The gameplay is simple yet satisfying, but it's entirely in the service of a strongly-authored narrative. Players aren't at the liberty to roam, to explore, or to shake things up. Some might find this too controlling, but in return for your freedom, you're rewarded with a mature genre piece which is also a finely-realised character study.
  4. May 16, 2012
    90
    Max Payne 3 is a rip-roaring success on many levels. It relentlessly hammers at your emotions and nerves and keeps you perched on the edge of your seat. The borderline unfair difficulty towards the end of the campaign, noticeable issues with the shootdodge, and a couple minor glitches notwithstanding, this is one hell of an experience.
  5. Jul 9, 2012
    90
    An engaging story, extremely satisfying shoot-outs phenomenal graphics turn Max Payne 3 undoubtedly into one of the best shooters of 2012. It's a shame that Rockstar doesn't seem to know where to place their checkpoints.
  6. May 21, 2012
    85
    Max Payne 3 is not as revolutionary as the original, still this third-person shooter is one of the best games of 2012 so far. With it's phenomenal animations, suberb shoot-outs and it's breathtaking singleplayer it's a must have for shooterfans. Apart from a couple asperities as annoying checkpoints and a lack of variety, there is little to complain about Max Payne 3.
  7. May 16, 2012
    70
    If you label a game Max Payne you should put Max Payne in it. I loved Max, because he had style and character – like a good whiskey. But this tastes like a colorful cocktail and plays like an explosive military shooter with Latinas in their stringtangas dancing to the bullet-staccato. Nonetheless you'll get solid entertainment with cynical comments, convincing digital actors and the occasional bullet in the head.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 206
  1. Jul 12, 2012
    10
    I watched its trailer for about 4 to 5 times..each time i watched its trailer i became desperate to buy this game...and yea i Love this Game,I watched its trailer for about 4 to 5 times..each time i watched its trailer i became desperate to buy this game...and yea i Love this Game, Rockstar really worked Hard on this one .. and they proved (to me) that they r the best game-makers in the whole damn world!! Expand
  2. May 27, 2012
    10
    Max Payne 3 is not a bad game. It is a very cool game much like Reservoir Dogs is a very cool movie. My frustration with this game is the veryMax Payne 3 is not a bad game. It is a very cool game much like Reservoir Dogs is a very cool movie. My frustration with this game is the very cool movie never changes. From one scene to the next, all very cool, and the narration Max provides keeps the player much in the mind and character of Max, but it is shoot your way through a nightclub, shoot your way through a marina, shoot your way through a market.
    People expect too much from the Rockstar studio. I do. They have that back catalogue that reeks of brilliance. I remember being dumbstruck by hitting a garbage can in a car I drove in GTA4. The bin went to topple, then steadied, then loosened again enough to hit the sidewalk. This sort of dynamic was beyond the RAGE engine.
    So, is it fair to to compare MP3 to other titles from the studio stable? If they produce it and release it, sure.
    To return to poor old Max, I felt almost guilty for pushing his broken ass further into the hooded desperation of San Paulo. He clearly wished to stay at a bar and will remind you at every opportunity. And unfortunately, whatever the next mission is, it will be as similar as the last and similar as the next. The graphics are awesomely good, and the game economy of ammo/ painkiller health restorations/ pickups are very well metered, but deviate from Max starts here- shoots his way to there- cutscene- repeat- it doesn't happen. And Rockstar games are, if it's going to happen, they'll do it.
    I'm giving it 6, all for the artists, the director a zero.
    Expand
  3. May 15, 2012
    10
    I've been waiting for years. Max Payne 3 is a fantastic game by Rockstar, the company that has been on quite a roll for the past few years.I've been waiting for years. Max Payne 3 is a fantastic game by Rockstar, the company that has been on quite a roll for the past few years. However, their shooting mechanics have never been that great. MP3 changes that, because the mechanics are excellent. Bullet Time and shoot-dodge both work the same way as before, but even better. MP3 has a solid story, great voice acting, pretty graphics, and amazing animations. Dual-wielding has never been better! It's not open world like RDR or GTA 4, nor will it win as many awards, but gameplay-wise, it's much ahead. Expand
  4. Jul 18, 2012
    9
    Max Payne 3 destroys the first two and honestly may actually be one of the best video games I've played in quite a while. Max Payne 3 playsMax Payne 3 destroys the first two and honestly may actually be one of the best video games I've played in quite a while. Max Payne 3 plays much like the past ones. You run around through the environment and shoot enemies while diving in slow-motion or engaging in bullet time just by standing. The first thing I feel I need to address is the game's presentation. This is a big game and Max and Rockstar are both aware of that. It has an absolutely thrilling story that is tightly woven around each character. The characters are all really likeable even if a lot of them are traitors. These aren't just one dimensional bad guys that shoot at you for no reason. There is a reason you just have to wait a while and find out. My favorite character was Da Silva. He's a member of the Sao Paulo police force who Max ends up working with towards the end of the game. He's also brilliantly voiced, but then again so is everybody in this game. The whole scheme of things keeps getting bigger until the unbelievable finale. I also have no doubts that this is one of the best looking games of this generation so far. The attention to detail is amazing. Every single thing has been given complete attention to give you one of the most immersive linear game worlds you've ever been in. There is a multiplayer component and though I do enjoy it I feel that the controls for it are really clunky. It's a lot of fun anyways though. Really I only have two complaints with this game and they are kind of connected. If you play for long enough you'll notice that the game is relentlessly difficult on harder difficulties. The other complaint is the horrendous checkpoint system. I once had to shoot my way out of a room walk towards a door where five other enemies were kill them, go into another room where 3 more enemies were, then walk into a huge area with another 5 enemies, and then walk into a bar that was being held by 5 more enemies and then I finally hit a checkpoint. Not to mention there were no painkillers in between there besides the ones you end up spawning with after you die so much. Other than those minor flaws and the somewhat clunky multiplayer it is a fantastic game. Expand
  5. Oct 23, 2014
    8
    A really nice game, with the best combat system ever. The game has a nice story, characters, graphics and is a lot of fun to play. The onlyA really nice game, with the best combat system ever. The game has a nice story, characters, graphics and is a lot of fun to play. The only thing I didn't like is the multiplayer. Note that the game also has a few minor bugs, and long loading times. Expand
  6. May 23, 2012
    8
    Pros Great Game Overall Great Voice acting
    Good Graphics
    Good Detail Nice Physics Great Transition from Cut scene's to Gameplay No Ingame
    Pros Great Game Overall Great Voice acting
    Good Graphics
    Good Detail
    Nice Physics Great Transition from Cut scene's to Gameplay
    No Ingame Loading screens. Cons
    Feels outdated Gameplay mechanics can sometimes be frustrating checkpoints are extremely frustrating.
    Multiplayer isn't that fun.
    Expand
  7. Jul 3, 2014
    0
    This Game is more like a movie than a game. I buy video games to play them not watch a cut scene for 10 plus minutes. If I wanted to watch aThis Game is more like a movie than a game. I buy video games to play them not watch a cut scene for 10 plus minutes. If I wanted to watch a movie that is what I would buy. This is just programers being cheap and not doing there job. It is a lot easier to make a movie with little or no interaction and use it as game filler to make it seem longer to the player. I feel very ripped off I bought a game NOT A MOVIE!!!!!!! Expand

See all 206 User Reviews