User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 69 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 69
  2. Negative: 15 out of 69

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 30, 2012
    10
    Maybe they closed the studio, but this game really deserved more. Maybe it wasn't the best game ever made, but if they could just make a better shooting system, then the gameplay would be on the top quality. That's what ruined this game in my opinion, because it affected every single second of the gameplay. But it was actually good. So many hours of gameplay, so MANY unclockable cars andMaybe they closed the studio, but this game really deserved more. Maybe it wasn't the best game ever made, but if they could just make a better shooting system, then the gameplay would be on the top quality. That's what ruined this game in my opinion, because it affected every single second of the gameplay. But it was actually good. So many hours of gameplay, so MANY unclockable cars and other vehicles, SO MANY NUKE BOMBS and so much entertaining. Don't say you didn't like it if you played it for 20 - 30 hours. It is addicting and bunch of fun. There are always something to do and the map is SO BIG. You have to try this game out before you die one day. Expand
  2. JamesD.
    Jan 26, 2010
    8
    If you can ignore some of the laughably stupid design decisions Pandemic have included, then this is one action adventure which deserves its attention. Blowing stuff up is the name f the game and although the game seems really dated, that is the AI is crap and the graphics are putrid Mercs two is still some highly explosive fun. I think mercs 2 has such an enthusiasm for air strikes that If you can ignore some of the laughably stupid design decisions Pandemic have included, then this is one action adventure which deserves its attention. Blowing stuff up is the name f the game and although the game seems really dated, that is the AI is crap and the graphics are putrid Mercs two is still some highly explosive fun. I think mercs 2 has such an enthusiasm for air strikes that Mattias should be seen riding one, becaus he does surely think he's the hardest merc of the lot although he sounds like the bastard child of Al Pacino and Ray Liotta. Expand
  3. MarkW.
    Oct 17, 2008
    8
    I started playing this and thought "I'm sure I've played this before", which was impossible of course seeing as it's only just out. Then I realized I was thinking of Just Cause on the Xbox 360. They feel almost identical, only bizarrely Just Cause is prettier. Mercs 2 though is, IMHO, well worth buying. It's so much fun running around blowing stuff up. And the freedom I started playing this and thought "I'm sure I've played this before", which was impossible of course seeing as it's only just out. Then I realized I was thinking of Just Cause on the Xbox 360. They feel almost identical, only bizarrely Just Cause is prettier. Mercs 2 though is, IMHO, well worth buying. It's so much fun running around blowing stuff up. And the freedom the game seems to give allows for some fantastic unscripted moments, like hurtling up a hill in a jeep, taking off, over a compound wall, ejecting from the vehicle before it hits, coming down running and taking out a couple of enemy soldier with a few rounds to the head. Awesome. Expand
  4. DanielP.
    Oct 5, 2008
    10
    With its huge world, Mercs 2 is one of the best games you can get if you don't want to play the storyline all day long.
  5. flargman4a.
    Oct 7, 2008
    10
    I love the ability to blow up everything my favorite vehicle has to be the sports bike i just love doing tricks. in the first one you would try to do a back flip and would be forced to jump off your bike.
  6. MasJ.
    Aug 27, 2008
    9
    Pandemic Studios and Rockstar are the two best sandbox game makers.
  7. Kyrandos
    Sep 12, 2008
    8
    This game obviously didn't spend enough money on improving its rating with the various reviewers. The fact of the matter is, it is tremendously fun, especially if you enjoyed the first game. The destructible environments put Bad Company to shame, the gameplay itself is quite fun as well. There's a lot of replayability to be had in this game, and even though its made under the This game obviously didn't spend enough money on improving its rating with the various reviewers. The fact of the matter is, it is tremendously fun, especially if you enjoyed the first game. The destructible environments put Bad Company to shame, the gameplay itself is quite fun as well. There's a lot of replayability to be had in this game, and even though its made under the worst producer in human history (EA) I would have to recommend this game. Expand
  8. KenH
    Sep 2, 2008
    10
    When I first played the game 3 days ago on my PS3, I wasn't sure about it. There were little annoyances and things I was nit picking about. I was horribly unimpressed with not being able to shoot through spaces on oil derrick looking objects (many different sizes and shapes) when I was taking cover behind them. But I stuck it out and now I haven't put the game down for 3 days When I first played the game 3 days ago on my PS3, I wasn't sure about it. There were little annoyances and things I was nit picking about. I was horribly unimpressed with not being able to shoot through spaces on oil derrick looking objects (many different sizes and shapes) when I was taking cover behind them. But I stuck it out and now I haven't put the game down for 3 days solid. There are over 150 vehicles in the game alone. The sheer size of the game world when opened is amazing. This is easily my favorite ps3 game ever and I like most games and very picky about quality. There are a few glitches here and there that are in every giant sand box game. First and only game I have given a 10 to simply because I can't seem to put it down and that's not happened to me since WoW first came out. The variety of the vehicles is so distinctly different. You can capture anything, detroy everything, and when the last 2 factions enter the game as you advance through the story, it's endless pandemonium. I can also state this game is solid on the PS3, none of the tearing and graphic glitches I am hearing from Xbox owners. System selling title in my book. I imagine computer multiplayer will be amazing if they ever get 16x16 player (or more) players going at each other. This game is set up for it. Expand
  9. AlexR.
    Sep 5, 2008
    8
    Now is this game perfect? No. Is it worth a try? Definentally. If you loved the last game you'll love this one too. With this sequel being WAY more expancive than the first (in almost every aspect imaginable) this is a must buy for any free-roam style gamer (especially fans of the last game)!!
  10. codyd
    Sep 8, 2008
    8
    If you do not raise a smile after throwing your C4 laden vehicle into a bunch of enemies before detonating it, then you are in the minority of people who will not find fun with mercenaries 2. It's a game that never takes itself seriously, and as such you shouldn't either, it demands no respect, it just hands you an open world of toys to kick some ass with, many weapons, tons of If you do not raise a smile after throwing your C4 laden vehicle into a bunch of enemies before detonating it, then you are in the minority of people who will not find fun with mercenaries 2. It's a game that never takes itself seriously, and as such you shouldn't either, it demands no respect, it just hands you an open world of toys to kick some ass with, many weapons, tons of vehicles, and of course, a whole lotta bombs. Expand
  11. CoreyF
    Aug 27, 2008
    8
    Rented it before it came out cuz i work at a video store. The action is great i love the weapons and the open world environment. Some of the textures are pretty lame at times and the driving isn't the greatest. otherwize this is a great game.
  12. NickP.
    Aug 31, 2008
    9
    Great game. If you liked the first one at all, you'll love this one.
  13. MannyM.
    Aug 31, 2008
    9
    If you loved the first game you'll love this one. The hijacking sequences give it a nice cinematic flair. And it feels less linear than the first game. You'll feel right at home with the gameplay if your a veteran from the mercs 1. The graphics are what you'd expect from a game with big beautiful explosions and a large environment. Some textures aren't too great but If you loved the first game you'll love this one. The hijacking sequences give it a nice cinematic flair. And it feels less linear than the first game. You'll feel right at home with the gameplay if your a veteran from the mercs 1. The graphics are what you'd expect from a game with big beautiful explosions and a large environment. Some textures aren't too great but its still eye candy. I actually think it looks better than gta4. If you like the action of the first game or are just looking for a new sandbox action game this one won't disappoint. Expand
  14. AerinE.
    Sep 1, 2008
    9
    as a huge fan of the first Mercenaries, this game made me happy... though not as polished as some might expect, it still looks really nice, and while the glitches do happen none of them were bad enough to ruin the fun factor...and i never had to reset the game to fix one :-P highly recommended if you like Micheal Bay movies (explosions).
  15. WillB.
    Sep 2, 2008
    9
    If you enjoyed the first one, you'll love this one just as much. Blowing up bridges, causing road blocks, blowing up buildings with c4, all are enjoyable. For me, worth a purchase, but I would recommend renting it and seeing if you like it if you never played the first one.
  16. Devon
    Sep 4, 2008
    9
    If you liked the first Mercs, then I would say definitely get this game. The game offers so many vehicles, weapons, and ordinances. Not to mention you actually get a nuke. The story wasn't as deep as MGS, but in a game where everything is about blowing stuff up do you really need a blockbuster story? If you can look past the minor glitches and decent graphics then definitely check If you liked the first Mercs, then I would say definitely get this game. The game offers so many vehicles, weapons, and ordinances. Not to mention you actually get a nuke. The story wasn't as deep as MGS, but in a game where everything is about blowing stuff up do you really need a blockbuster story? If you can look past the minor glitches and decent graphics then definitely check this one out. Did I mention you get a nuke? Expand
  17. RB
    Mar 19, 2009
    8
    Very long game, lots of side missions, and its fun. Many glitches, though most of the time they don't interfere with gameplay.
  18. SebastienM.
    Apr 5, 2009
    8
    I never played Mercs 1 but I'm having a blast with this one. The environments are huge, lots of stuff to do, things to collect and weapons to unlock. You can achieve you goals in multiple ways, with finesse or just by crushing your foes with airstrikes. It's up to you! The graphics are okay, but could use a bit of improvement, but overall they work fine with this kind of I never played Mercs 1 but I'm having a blast with this one. The environments are huge, lots of stuff to do, things to collect and weapons to unlock. You can achieve you goals in multiple ways, with finesse or just by crushing your foes with airstrikes. It's up to you! The graphics are okay, but could use a bit of improvement, but overall they work fine with this kind of "sandbox" type of game. This one deserve top marks for the fun factor, but loses some points for average graphics and a few glitches (I had to restart some missions because of bugs). Get it now, it should be really cheap!! Expand
  19. JustinS
    Jan 16, 2010
    8
    Mercenaries 2 is a sandbox game from Pandemic Studios set in Venezuela. And it is, in a word, awesome. Sure, it''s not particularly deep or pretty and it is a little glitchy. But It is so satisfying to pump rocket after rocket into a building, and watch it explode in a cathartic furor of shrapnel and explosives. Like I said, awesome.
  20. AJK
    Dec 28, 2008
    10
    Extremely underrated! I have played with the latest version and the dlc and not experienced any bugs. Seems to be even more enjoyable than the first game. I like how the story has a more cinematic feel, but still gives you free will. I loved the first game and I love the sequel even more. A great buy at gamestop for around $30 after discounts and tax.
  21. BirdMan
    Aug 23, 2008
    10
    The first Mercenaries game was fantastic. And luckily Pandemic is releasing this one on both PS2 AND PS3 so everyone can enjoy it. I dunno if this map will be as good as Korea, nor have as good of a story as the last one. I do know one thing however: it will be a great game.
  22. DanS.
    Aug 31, 2008
    9
    A few small control and camera issues, but its easy to see past them. I'd say this is one of the best sandbox games I've played. It combines elements of several others to create a great mix game play. I sat and played it for 5 hours the first time I put it in. It seems to be a mix of GTA 2, GTA: San Andres, True Crime, Assassins Creed, Hit Man and many more. Its something of an A few small control and camera issues, but its easy to see past them. I'd say this is one of the best sandbox games I've played. It combines elements of several others to create a great mix game play. I sat and played it for 5 hours the first time I put it in. It seems to be a mix of GTA 2, GTA: San Andres, True Crime, Assassins Creed, Hit Man and many more. Its something of an evolution of the genre filtering out some elements while combining the others that have worked well in other titles. Expand
  23. RustyS.
    Sep 11, 2008
    9
    Mainly it is just like the first one, only *more*. And that is a good thing. The vehicles are more realistic, but not so realisitc as to spoil the fun as often happens in GTA IV. the story is thin, but still better. The AI is dumb, but a little smarter than last time. Nilson is downright funny as a character. For instance, one line he uses alot when jacking a car is "this is an Mainly it is just like the first one, only *more*. And that is a good thing. The vehicles are more realistic, but not so realisitc as to spoil the fun as often happens in GTA IV. the story is thin, but still better. The AI is dumb, but a little smarter than last time. Nilson is downright funny as a character. For instance, one line he uses alot when jacking a car is "this is an emergency.... a *viking* emergency." He's not quite as weird as he was in the first one, but oh well. But he still has some hilariously weird moments. Take when he picks up a gun and says, "I will call you Louisa. We are going to kill a *whole lot of people,* Louisa." I am smiling just writing that. Is it reallistic? Heck no. But it is fun. Sheer blowupy goodness. And frankly when I am done i want to start over all over again. Although one nit. Mui's face just doesn't have a very good model on it. And in general you wish there were less glitches like floating boxes and the like. it takes you out of it. But I am the kind of guy who never gets sick of blowing up stuff. So yeah, this is a definite buy. Expand
  24. Aug 29, 2013
    9
    It's one-dimensional, but it doesn't pretend to be anything else. Is it for hardcore gamers? It must not be, because I enjoyed it and I'm a "play it through once and sell it" kind of guy. I don't dispute the criticisms some folks are leveling, but I didn't notice them myself.

    It's a brainless run-and-gun. You get a mission, you go shoot guys and blow stuff up. That's exactly what I
    It's one-dimensional, but it doesn't pretend to be anything else. Is it for hardcore gamers? It must not be, because I enjoyed it and I'm a "play it through once and sell it" kind of guy. I don't dispute the criticisms some folks are leveling, but I didn't notice them myself.

    It's a brainless run-and-gun. You get a mission, you go shoot guys and blow stuff up. That's exactly what I expected. It's kind of the antithesis of GTA IV, which IMHO suffered from being TOO lifelike. This is just "pop it in the machine and wreak havoc" kind of game, and sometimes that's a good thing.

    I also noticed that even 5 years after release, it's still easy to find a partner online... at least it is at 6 a.m. when I've been playing it :-)

    So, while your jaw won't drop at how innovative it is, it's still good, brainless fun.
    Expand
  25. Apr 12, 2013
    8
    8.5-Presentation: The setup is interesting. And the plot is well written and paced. Featuring well flesshed out characters with hilarious and interesting dialogue. The menu's are well laid out.
    8.5-Graphics: Beautiful art style, realistic shadowing, excellent explosions, and great textures. The animations are weak though.
    7.5-Sound: Voice acting is hit or miss, but the music is excellent
    8.5-Presentation: The setup is interesting. And the plot is well written and paced. Featuring well flesshed out characters with hilarious and interesting dialogue. The menu's are well laid out.
    8.5-Graphics: Beautiful art style, realistic shadowing, excellent explosions, and great textures. The animations are weak though.
    7.5-Sound: Voice acting is hit or miss, but the music is excellent and the sound effects are good.
    7.5-Gameplay: The actual map design is amazing. But the missions are mediocre. However, the controls are great, and the mechanics are solid. The AI is rather dumb. Luckily an inovative co-o mode comes to save the day.
    8.5-Lasting appeal: There's plenty to do and tons to blow up. There's a lot of toys to play with, and co op adds value to the package.
    Overall-8/10
    Expand
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 43
  2. Negative: 1 out of 43
  1. The game is worth a rental and a purchase if you want to keep your destruction going. So if you’re looking for a fun game, check out Mercs 2.
  2. 79
    For every time I cursed the stupid AI, I cheered at the demolition of another building. For every bug that got me stuck in some bushes, there was an attack chopper waiting to be jacked. If Mercenaries 2 had more polish, it would have been a great game. As is, it’s still worth playing – and enjoyable – but falls far short of its promise.
  3. 83
    It won't light the world on fire, but this next-gen playground of destruction offers you tons to do (well, tons to explode), it's always enjoyable, and I dove right back in after the credits rolled.