Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance - Jetstream Image
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 8 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Apr 18, 2013
    80
    In terms of substance and style, the man himself delivers. But with just one or two surprises along the way, this could have been spectacular.
  2. May 15, 2013
    75
    Jetstream will not be remembered as a great DLC, mainly because it recycles the better part of the original game's content. It prompts us to play as a character that, even though possessing a few interesting new gameplay features, will never live up to the standards set by Raiden. Either way, it has its own character, which serves its purpose, although we may forget about it completely after finishing its meagre two hours of gameplay.
  3. There is not much to be found here in terms of upgrades, story, character development or even new enemies or environments. Jetstream was made for hardcore fans who really just want more of the same. [May 2013, p.97]
  4. Apr 15, 2013
    60
    A disappointingly trivial expansion in terms of gameplay, story, and new features; although more Metal Gear Rising and Jetstream Sam was never going to be an entirely bad thing.
  5. Jun 28, 2013
    60
    The Jetstream Sam DLC isn't the best content Platinum Games delivered so far. Playing with Jetstream feels good and offers a different playstyle that is really enjoyable. However, the environments and enemies are practically all copied from the main game. The upgrade system is also gone, which makes this DLC very weak on it's own.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 3
  2. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Nov 16, 2013
    7
    This DLC is really good, its awesome playing as Jetstream Sam. The graphics and gameplay are great, especially with Sams red sword, you also fight the govenor at the end. Since its free everyone should download it. Overall Score= 78/100 Expand
  2. Jan 11, 2014
    6
    F*ck.... this.... DLC. This DLC was good for the most part. It was interesting to play as Sam and it helped give a little back story for him. I really liked the taunt option as well. It works like Ripper Mode but you can use it whenever you want. All the enemies attack a little harder so you've got to pay more attention. And then we fall into the faults with the DLC. Sam controls a little sluggishly and why would they lower the amount of time you can block for. It makes it so frustrating when you've got to block repeatedly. And now comes the part that frustrates me the most. The final fight is Armstrong, and if you're trying to get the no damage trophy, you'll be in for hell. The first phase isn't the hard bit. Once he goes into kaioken, you're done, you've lost. He will repeatedly spam his unblock-able grab and flame punch attack so you'll be dodging for the most part. Very rarely will he use any other attack. I have killed 10 hours trying to beat him. Overall, it will extend your play time by up to an hour and a half, but the frustration you'll get from some of the fights will take over quickly. 6.2/10 Expand
  3. Apr 12, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers. I love MGR:R, but this DLC is a colossal disappointment. My total gameplay time in the results added up to 50:01:97. They give you only about an hour of gameplay and 20 more minutes of cutscenes, and another 20 if you add VR missions. You can't upgrade Sam, even though you get battle points and it feels like it isn't worth it all. There are a few bosses but they are basically all repeats such as LQ-84i, Metal Gear Ray and Steven Armstrong, THATS IT (not that I was expecting more but I was just expecting more story). I wasted $10 for about an hour. all that and Sam is a bit hard to control with all of his attacks.

    Overall, this isn't bad, but it isn't good either, I mean it is Metal Gear Rising, a very action like game, this just doesn't have the amount of action I wanted. I expected to fight Raiden or something like I was repeating the original story mode, that would of been amazing! but what I got was a "before anything happened" story. I did like seeing Sam's side of the story, that was really cool. All I want if there is going to be another DLC is more story, more action, and how about seeing some of the other bosses in the game.
    Collapse