Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance PlayStation 3

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 771 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 80 out of 771
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 10, 2013
    6
    The game is solid. Plays beautifully and it has a ˜god of war fell" to it when you see yourself chaining combos with extreme violence. Think of it of Ninja Gaiden meets Kratos. The main problem, in my opinion, (apart from the VERY SHORT LENGTH, since it's pretty much 4 hours long) is that Metal Gear Rising, like its main character, suffers from lack of charisma. We just don't care veryThe game is solid. Plays beautifully and it has a ˜god of war fell" to it when you see yourself chaining combos with extreme violence. Think of it of Ninja Gaiden meets Kratos. The main problem, in my opinion, (apart from the VERY SHORT LENGTH, since it's pretty much 4 hours long) is that Metal Gear Rising, like its main character, suffers from lack of charisma. We just don't care very much about Raiden, though the game keeps forcing us to understand (and believe he is the ultimate hero). In the end, the game is very bland, grey, with little personality. It's a good and entertaining game but very short and not very compelling. Expand
  2. Jan 29, 2014
    7
    Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance is an exceptional action game. As you probably already know you literally cut through everything in the game. Cutting enemy soldiers into halves not enough? How about slicing entire helicopters and mechs into shreds? In Metal Gear Rising you will be doing that a lot. Yes its not realistic but who cares? Just enjoy being an overpowered cyborg ninja whereasMetal Gear Rising: Revengeance is an exceptional action game. As you probably already know you literally cut through everything in the game. Cutting enemy soldiers into halves not enough? How about slicing entire helicopters and mechs into shreds? In Metal Gear Rising you will be doing that a lot. Yes its not realistic but who cares? Just enjoy being an overpowered cyborg ninja whereas listen to the game's awesome music. This is probably the most solid action game I have ever played, simple yet precise and very satisfying.
    Truth to be told there isn't much story in this game: just stopping the bad guys who try to bring the world to the chaos of war. Characters in Metal Gear Solid does not appear in the game but it is solely about Raiden this time, who fights against leaders of the organization Desperado.
    Speaking of which, boss fights are easily the best parts in Metal Gear Rising. Each boss is unique and powerful, and you will not win just by mashing attack button in this game. They all require special tactics to defeat, which is not easy to pull out but very satisfying when you do.
    The downfall of Metal Gear Rising, however, is that it is so short. Its only 6 hours! If not this game would have been a 9 out of 10. If you are an action game player you definitely want to check this game out. Its a must buy after its price has dropped.
    Expand
  3. Mar 23, 2014
    7
    I am a huge fan of the Metal Gear series! I have been ever since the days of Guns of the Patriots! I have such a great love for the series because of the character development, attention to detail and riveting stories that has graced every such Metal Gear title in the past. Sadly, Metal Gear Rising does not feature any of those things... It features dull environments, lack lusterI am a huge fan of the Metal Gear series! I have been ever since the days of Guns of the Patriots! I have such a great love for the series because of the character development, attention to detail and riveting stories that has graced every such Metal Gear title in the past. Sadly, Metal Gear Rising does not feature any of those things... It features dull environments, lack luster characters and a story that not only falls apart but fails to hit you on an any emotional level! Now don't get me wrong there is a fun hack and slash game here along with some really really cool set pieces and boss fights, you just have to get past the games many short comings first! Expand
  4. Oct 2, 2013
    7
    Now...I'm not gonna lie I'm a little bit disappointed with this.I mean Bayonetta a game i literally had no hope for turned out to be one of my favourite hack and slashes like ever.That's not to say that this is a bad game because no it is far from bad.Raiden the dick from metal gear 2 turned badass in metal gear 4 is just as awesome in this like MGS4 however his voice actor at times inNow...I'm not gonna lie I'm a little bit disappointed with this.I mean Bayonetta a game i literally had no hope for turned out to be one of my favourite hack and slashes like ever.That's not to say that this is a bad game because no it is far from bad.Raiden the dick from metal gear 2 turned badass in metal gear 4 is just as awesome in this like MGS4 however his voice actor at times in this game...it gets beyond the word cheesy.I know Bayonetta was but at least that game did it with style anyway with the gameplay? metal gear rising is pretty f*cking fun.I wont spoil any of the weapons but some of them seem useless while others are complete badass. Now metal gear rising is nothing like any other metal gear before it hence why i keep comparing it to bayonetta with alittle more DMC: devil may cry and again that is not a bad thing.Its really fun but not at full price...now I'm pretty sure you can pick it up for like 15 pound and that is more then worth it. Expand
  5. Nov 20, 2013
    7
    Its not bad, its not something a casual gamer could play. Its full of bad design choices that even a hardcore gamer cant overcome. When you have to fight 3 bosses without a single healing potion given you cut out everyone but the top players of action games. I started on normal as i do any game. It was so punishingly hard and controls weren't explained at all(i got to sam without evenIts not bad, its not something a casual gamer could play. Its full of bad design choices that even a hardcore gamer cant overcome. When you have to fight 3 bosses without a single healing potion given you cut out everyone but the top players of action games. I started on normal as i do any game. It was so punishingly hard and controls weren't explained at all(i got to sam without even using dodge or parry), unless you play a very disjointed tutorial. Stealth is a joke they added cause its near impossible. Everyone but the character sam are forgettable or stupid. It makes you feel like Raiden is the weakest character in metal gear because every fight is to much for him. Well he wasn't liked by fans and sure wont be many fans for this game. Anyway the graphic music and some scenes i will remember. But this is bargin bin purchase. I wont allow Armstrong to live in my game library. Expand
  6. Apr 25, 2013
    7
    I'm a huge Metal Gear fan and this game is no where near as good as the main games but it's still a good game. The story isn't as interesting as the main series but good, the music is fantastic, the graphics are ok, the game-play is repetitive and linear and the game is quite short.
  7. Feb 19, 2013
    7
    The pros: Visuals are extremely smooth, look nice at 60 fps, character models have that distinct Platinum Games sheen to them where they look smooth and pleasant. Some of the music is pretty good. Gameplay is very fun and the parry/block mechanic keeps you on your toes. Cutting things feels much better than it did in Afro Samurai. Game is ACTUALLY difficulty on higher difficulties, moreThe pros: Visuals are extremely smooth, look nice at 60 fps, character models have that distinct Platinum Games sheen to them where they look smooth and pleasant. Some of the music is pretty good. Gameplay is very fun and the parry/block mechanic keeps you on your toes. Cutting things feels much better than it did in Afro Samurai. Game is ACTUALLY difficulty on higher difficulties, more than what can be said of DmC Devil May Cry. Bosses are fun and cool aside from Monsoon. There's a ton of replay value with moves and weapons to unlock, and like all Platinum Games it's definitely a score attack gamer's dream. The cons: The characters. Your codec crew is likable enough but Raiden is the worst he's ever been and the villains aren't much better (the Japanese voice for Mistral makes me cum though). The story is awful, I never expected it to be anything else though so no surprises here. There's QTEs all over place, and enemies attack from offscreen which means you'll need good control over the camera or a sixth sense to play the game. Some of the mechanics weren't explained all that well. The ninja run wall jumping is finicky and often doesn't work and there's no way to block machine gun fire other than ninja running. The stealth feels like it was tacked on to please MGS fanboys who whined about the game, there's really nothing to it. The game gives you bonus points to buy stuff with when you cut off limbs but it NEVER seems to grade this properly, try as you will to specifically cut off the left arm or wrist or whatever but it'll just say DESTROYED 100 every time, and if you're lucky you'll get an L ARM 100. Zandatsu is needed to get an S rank which I personally don't agree with. S ranks are quite a bit ridiculous to come by, they require you to get it BEYOND perfection and can sometimes seem like they require dumb luck. Konami plans on nickel and diming you for this game with tons of DLC.
    All in all it's a solid action game.
    Expand
  8. Feb 19, 2013
    7
    Dont consider this a MGS game, is not, is a game just like DMC or Bayonetta so dont about it. (@doshgaming12 why would you skip the cutscenes thats the whole essence of an MGS, even when this is not made by the same company the story is being checked by the the maker, wich i dont remember the name, well you lost your money what can i say
  9. Feb 19, 2013
    6
    Everything changed when Snake went to his final mission to destroy the Patriots. The future (Revengeance) seems to hold schizophrenic Raiden, couple of war demented guys and cheesy rock music. Now what went wrong in this what the developers call canonical installment to the series?
    It's a disgrace to even call this a Metal Gear game. It plays fine even though it's a bit clunky but there
    Everything changed when Snake went to his final mission to destroy the Patriots. The future (Revengeance) seems to hold schizophrenic Raiden, couple of war demented guys and cheesy rock music. Now what went wrong in this what the developers call canonical installment to the series?
    It's a disgrace to even call this a Metal Gear game. It plays fine even though it's a bit clunky but there is no way loyal fans to the series call this a true Metal Gear experience what we've seen for the past 25 years.
    Expand
  10. Feb 21, 2013
    7
    All in all I enjoyed playing through Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance. That being said, I thought that the campaign was ridiculously short for a game that is retailing at 59.99. There were moments where button mashing became easier than trying to use combos and strategy as well. Overall I thought the story line was good, graphics were gorgeous as always from the franchise and the journeyAll in all I enjoyed playing through Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance. That being said, I thought that the campaign was ridiculously short for a game that is retailing at 59.99. There were moments where button mashing became easier than trying to use combos and strategy as well. Overall I thought the story line was good, graphics were gorgeous as always from the franchise and the journey was fun to work through. I would recommend waiting until this hits the discount bin though if you are on the fence because once again I was extremely disappointed in the campaign being less than 6 hours to get through. Not what we expect in a new title as gamers. Expand
  11. Mar 14, 2013
    6
    Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance is a title frantic, fun, enjoyable from the first moment, but for all those who were waiting for a masterpiece, Rising is a real hole in the water. The title of Platinum Games fails to emerge from mediocrity, touching on various aspects such as excessive graphics bugs found and the poor longevity of the title amounted to 5 hours on Normal, not to mention aMetal Gear Rising: Revengeance is a title frantic, fun, enjoyable from the first moment, but for all those who were waiting for a masterpiece, Rising is a real hole in the water. The title of Platinum Games fails to emerge from mediocrity, touching on various aspects such as excessive graphics bugs found and the poor longevity of the title amounted to 5 hours on Normal, not to mention a narrative does not always live up to expectations. Ultimately, Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance is a recommended title in the circle of fans and all those who are looking for an action game light, unpretentious. http://www.4news.it/14048-recensione-metal-gear-rising-revengeance.php Expand
  12. Feb 27, 2013
    7
    Story is boring and predictable. Recovering a pile of brains and fighting cyborgs. Radio calls are useless and full of meaningless chatter. The combat at times is very annoying. You basically use the same basic combos from Chapter 1 all the way to completion because the varieties are very limited. New unlocked weapons are not really useful and you lose all yr advanced sword combos if uStory is boring and predictable. Recovering a pile of brains and fighting cyborgs. Radio calls are useless and full of meaningless chatter. The combat at times is very annoying. You basically use the same basic combos from Chapter 1 all the way to completion because the varieties are very limited. New unlocked weapons are not really useful and you lose all yr advanced sword combos if u use it. Metal Gear Rising combat is nothing like DMC or God of War. You generally just spam the same old basic combos the whole game and then use blade mode to finish the enemy.
    The insane amount of enemy grapple and dizzy status makes wiggling the left thumb stick to break free for the 100th time annoying as hell. If you strip away the whole Metal Gear thing, it is only a decent action game.
    Expand
  13. Mar 26, 2014
    7
    Completionists will have a blast unlocking outfits, weapons and trophies. I had enough after a dozen hours although the mechs and ninja moves drew a smile on my face. The gameplay can sometimes be like an interactive animé movie of high caliber. The camera is fast, the moves are smooth, and the visuals are clear and sharp. An overall improvement on Bayonetta's gameplay, although simplerCompletionists will have a blast unlocking outfits, weapons and trophies. I had enough after a dozen hours although the mechs and ninja moves drew a smile on my face. The gameplay can sometimes be like an interactive animé movie of high caliber. The camera is fast, the moves are smooth, and the visuals are clear and sharp. An overall improvement on Bayonetta's gameplay, although simpler and more hectic. I hesitate to call it a 'great game' since it's short and the battles are all variations on the same mechanics. Also, some trophies were out of my league and there's no online component. HINT: You can set health packs to auto-use, makes the game much easier. Expand
  14. Mar 26, 2013
    7
    I thought this was a pretty solid game. The combat was pretty well done and fun, even though you could easily just get by with mashing and occasional blocks, still, there was the opportunity for more if you really wanted to make the game more fun.

    The game didn't have too much personality to it. There were different areas, but they lacked some of the excitement I was hoping for, even
    I thought this was a pretty solid game. The combat was pretty well done and fun, even though you could easily just get by with mashing and occasional blocks, still, there was the opportunity for more if you really wanted to make the game more fun.

    The game didn't have too much personality to it. There were different areas, but they lacked some of the excitement I was hoping for, even though I did pretty much know what to expect. The characters in the game didn't have a whole lot of personality to them until you were halfway through the game, then Raiden got more interesting, but a lot of the enemies were fairly generic for the most part. The story was pretty good though, so that helped to make up for a lot of that.

    As a whole I had a lot of fun playing this game. It's nowhere near one of the best hack and slash games I've ever played, but it's still a good game, and I'm glad I was able to play through it, even if it went by really quickly, and a huge chunk of that was the final battle.
    Expand
  15. Mar 1, 2013
    5
    I had big hopes for this title. In fact, coming from Platinum Games I expected a great hack and slash but, Im dissapointed, very dissapointed, the combat lacks deep, no lock on, so the fights become a camera mess, secondary weapons are awful designed, HUGE window to block, enemies lack diversity and difficulty, bosses are also easy, blade mode is easy and extremely effective to use, theI had big hopes for this title. In fact, coming from Platinum Games I expected a great hack and slash but, Im dissapointed, very dissapointed, the combat lacks deep, no lock on, so the fights become a camera mess, secondary weapons are awful designed, HUGE window to block, enemies lack diversity and difficulty, bosses are also easy, blade mode is easy and extremely effective to use, the game is almost as bad as DMC. the plot is awful too and the game is very short. Im giving it a 5 because the combate is flashy and fun. Not worth to pursache, rent it. Expand
  16. Mar 13, 2013
    6
    hgfhgfhjgggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggghgfhgfhjgggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggg
  17. Feb 28, 2013
    7
    An enjoyable slash-em up, although don't be fooled into thinking you can get away with simple button bashing... especially at the begining of the game. You need to think about what you are doing and use some tatics which is great 'cause otherwise this could have been a very generic and straightforward 'mash the control pad' now game. Gameplay is fun and rewarding although slightly flawedAn enjoyable slash-em up, although don't be fooled into thinking you can get away with simple button bashing... especially at the begining of the game. You need to think about what you are doing and use some tatics which is great 'cause otherwise this could have been a very generic and straightforward 'mash the control pad' now game. Gameplay is fun and rewarding although slightly flawed when it comes to a few sections (like boss fights and taking down aerial foes) I had difficulty with having to juggle all the buttons including holding down the necessary enemy targeting one and getting frustrated when the camera swoops around to where you don't want it be only for you completely botch up a successful parry and leave you wide open to attack. QT events are back! Not too bad though so don't worry often turning up when you're about to say goodbye to the latest boss. Stealth options feel limiting and tacked on too which is a shame. I also felt a bit stupid and vunerable standing in one spot with the projectile weapons compared to when I feel like I'm invincible as I'm darting around at 60mph cutting off limbs off my foes. I also can't help feeling 'Hmmmm this would have been great on the Wii U with motion control' so I could accurately slice and dice to my hearts content. I do have to say I absolutley love the over the top cut scenes style and presentation are top notch (ok the story is a little weak but who cares) and reminiscent of the 90s anime style series and movies. Purely solo-player with a campaign that will prob last you about 6-7 hours for the first play through is fine, it never feels like it should be longer and that you're missing out as there is the option to go back to conquer higher difficulties, find those missing collectibles and so forth, as well as take part in Artificial Reality styled missions outside of the main game. Overall if you enjoyed games like Bayonetta (made by the same people) you'll enjoy this. Metal Gear fans will also get a kick out of Raiden and the various Konami franchise's offerings sprinkled throughout the game Expand
  18. Mar 20, 2013
    7
    "METAL GEAR RISING: REVENGEANCE is a acceptable indulging take on the METAL GEAR universe. The gameplay is lighting fast, ridiculous & offers some interesting mechanics for fans to master that keeps the replay value up. The boss battles are interesting for the most part harkening to a real Mega Man feel & the visceral annihilation of all your foes is hilariously good fun. But it’s also"METAL GEAR RISING: REVENGEANCE is a acceptable indulging take on the METAL GEAR universe. The gameplay is lighting fast, ridiculous & offers some interesting mechanics for fans to master that keeps the replay value up. The boss battles are interesting for the most part harkening to a real Mega Man feel & the visceral annihilation of all your foes is hilariously good fun. But it’s also extremely short, frustrating at times & has a forgettable story & cast about redemption & other meaningful moody stuff.

    It doesn’t quite live up to the METAL GEAR name completely, but it’s still a perfectly fun & accessible detour from the usual stealth & hour long cutscene sagas before it. Just don’t expect to be blown away in amazement."

    Read my full review: http://tmblr.co/ZOA6EyfFK9Jd
    Expand
  19. Mar 8, 2016
    7
    Metal Gear Rising Revengeance is a spin-off hack'n'slash game set in the Metal Gear universe developed by Platinum Games and Kojima Productions. The plot takes place 4 years after Metal Gear Solid 4, Solid Snake is retired, and Raiden is working for a PMC called Maverick to feed his family, who sadly don't appear in the game. One day, Raiden and his team are attacked by a rogue PMC calledMetal Gear Rising Revengeance is a spin-off hack'n'slash game set in the Metal Gear universe developed by Platinum Games and Kojima Productions. The plot takes place 4 years after Metal Gear Solid 4, Solid Snake is retired, and Raiden is working for a PMC called Maverick to feed his family, who sadly don't appear in the game. One day, Raiden and his team are attacked by a rogue PMC called Desperado. The leader of the attack team is a mysterious swordsman known as Jetstream Sam, and another samurai called Sundowner. The two of them kill the African president Raiden is protecting, and seriously injure Raiden. 2 weeks later, Raiden is back with a new cyborg body, ready to bring down Desperado. From there the story unfolds. The gameplay is pretty similar to Bayonetta's mixed in with the Blade Mode ability that allows you to slow down time a slice an enemy in any direction you choose. Most of the game, you will be fighting the enemies from MGS4, except slicing them to bits, not filling them with lead. The story is nothing to be commended for, it doesn't compete with MGS4's narrative by any stretch of the imagination. The boss fights have to be commended though. These boss fights are so amazing, they even stack up against MGS3's boss fights, they're that good. Overall Metal Gear Rising is not worth buying at full price, but worth a rent, or a cheap purchase. And even if Metal Gear Solid fans don't like it, they have Ground Zeroes to play instead. Expand
  20. Apr 29, 2013
    7
    I've never played a Metal Gear game before but when I heard about this game and its focus on action rather than stealth I decided to check it out. I'm glad I did, the action is fantastic. Combat feels great, there are some awesome set pieces, and chopping enemies into thousands of little pieces in slow motion and ripping out their spine before they even hit the ground never gets old. II've never played a Metal Gear game before but when I heard about this game and its focus on action rather than stealth I decided to check it out. I'm glad I did, the action is fantastic. Combat feels great, there are some awesome set pieces, and chopping enemies into thousands of little pieces in slow motion and ripping out their spine before they even hit the ground never gets old. I also have to give special praise to the games outstanding soundtrack, it truly does get you pumped to fight and is one of the best soundtracks of 2013. Unfortunately the game does have some issues that keep it from being the next big action game. The action is great but I couldn't help feeling like there wasn't enough of it. This is the kind of combat system that has you wanting to slaughter endless hoards of enemies, but the game never gives you more than a few enemies at a time. This is perfectly fine because I was having fun, but I wanted more to kill. Another factor contributing to the feeling of a lack of combat is the short length of the game. I beat the story mode in under 4 hours. The game does have some challenge rooms but I never really got interested in them. The games story is also rough. It's completely bonkers and I honestly don't think I could tell you what is was about, all I remember is something about rescuing children's brains. It makes no sense and frequently pulls you out of the game with its overly long cutscenes and intrusive moments where a supporting cast member will call you and force you to talk to them about crap you don't care about. In the end I did enjoy my time with Revengeance, but felt it was too short. If they make a sequel they need to focus less on their crappy story and more on the fantastic combat system they've created. All in all it's a fun game, but not worth full retail price. Expand
  21. Jan 5, 2014
    6
    Metal Gear Rising Reveangence starts explosive but gets real quick real boring. The enviroments do not offer any variety and the new weapons you get dont have many combos.
  22. Mar 21, 2013
    6
    This is not a 60 dollar game. It's, at best, MAYBE worth spending 40 dollars on but in reality it should be much less. MGRR does some really cool things and definitely stands up well next to its apparent inspiration Ninja Gaiden, but in the end this is an action game that you play once and has practically no replay value. Many games are like this, and none of them are worth full priceThis is not a 60 dollar game. It's, at best, MAYBE worth spending 40 dollars on but in reality it should be much less. MGRR does some really cool things and definitely stands up well next to its apparent inspiration Ninja Gaiden, but in the end this is an action game that you play once and has practically no replay value. Many games are like this, and none of them are worth full price in my opinion just because there are so many games out there today that you can be playing for 100 hours or more, nevermind the 6 hours is takes to finish this title. So, despite its decent quality and playability, currently it's overpriced. I also didn't like the quality of the cinematics. Bayonetta (another Platinum title) had a similar level of production values in this area which didn't seem to keep pace with other titles in the market. However, despite these issue, the game plays quite well and apes the same upgrade mechanics found in practically every game today. Wait until the price drops and keep in mind that this is a short game and adjust your expectations accordingly. Expand
  23. Jan 1, 2014
    7
    Nice game, Not your typical Meta Gear game though. I would understand if few hated this game.
    The combat system is great and interesting. But the camera and free blade mode were really annoying. The game sometimes require stealth play. But actually It just doesn't fit in this one. Not realistic to play stealthy while your blade is making too much noise cuting something or someone.
    Boss
    Nice game, Not your typical Meta Gear game though. I would understand if few hated this game.
    The combat system is great and interesting. But the camera and free blade mode were really annoying. The game sometimes require stealth play. But actually It just doesn't fit in this one. Not realistic to play stealthy while your blade is making too much noise cuting something or someone.
    Boss fights were also annoying. I never understood how blocking is working. this is another thing I hated about the game.
    Back to story. Well, if you aren't fan of MGS then you might not like the story. The story is typical MG typeof story. coupl of returning charactersand lots of familier names.
    Overall it's not a must play if you are MG fan. I just played it because it was free on PSPlus.
    Expand
  24. Aug 9, 2013
    6
    Rising is an okay game. It's not the worst thing ever. But it's ridiculously short and not worth $60. It also has kind of a lazy-eye of a camera that bounces around and makes it hard to chop in certain scenarios. For around $30, it's a good game.
  25. Aug 2, 2013
    5
    Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance is a spin-off of the Metal Gear Solid series and the main character is Raiden from Metal Gear Solid 2. Raiden was never one of my favorite characters of the series, he did get in the way of Snake a couple of times. But the story tries to be way deeper than it needs to be. There is a whole storyline about killing for justice, yet you continue to mow enemiesMetal Gear Rising: Revengeance is a spin-off of the Metal Gear Solid series and the main character is Raiden from Metal Gear Solid 2. Raiden was never one of my favorite characters of the series, he did get in the way of Snake a couple of times. But the story tries to be way deeper than it needs to be. There is a whole storyline about killing for justice, yet you continue to mow enemies down left and right. The characters also feel like cardboard cutouts, as they don't really have any story arks. The gameplay is fast and fun, the controls were a major problem for me. The block/counter button was the same as the attack button. Blade mode is the key feature of this game and it works really well. The action is also fun to watch as the frame rate doesn't drop and graphics as a whole are pretty good. The boss battles can be extremely cheep as well, as they have attacks that can't be blocked or dodged. The campaign is pretty short, but the game has difficult spikes that might take a while a beat. There are also VR Missions, which are not bad, but don't really improve the game as a whole. Metal Gear Rising has a really cool premise but the execution is a bit lacking, and a wouldn't mind a sequel that improves the bad parts of this game. Expand
  26. Mar 4, 2013
    7
    A solid action game. The story is a bit wonky, but cutting up enemies is always satisfying. I'm not pleased with the rather short campaign (4-5 hours) nor the bad camera angles at times, but the music and gameplay are very fun. I wish the counter system didn't use the attack button; takes a while to get used to. I would say this game is good for renting, or at a very discounted price.
  27. Mar 10, 2013
    7
    Good game,but too easy at times and annoyingly difficult at others. Too much of the same and levels are bland and straight forward. Hideo released a game half assed to save his studio. Bah
  28. Feb 16, 2016
    7
    I give this game a 7 for its originality but at the same time I don't remember much of the gameplay so it's not that memorable after all. Unlike the MGS franchise where you feel like playing over and over this one is a one time playthrough type of deal unless you're a really dedicated fan. As much as I still enjoy hating on Raiden, I must say he really did redeem himself this time whichI give this game a 7 for its originality but at the same time I don't remember much of the gameplay so it's not that memorable after all. Unlike the MGS franchise where you feel like playing over and over this one is a one time playthrough type of deal unless you're a really dedicated fan. As much as I still enjoy hating on Raiden, I must say he really did redeem himself this time which is the best part of the entire game. Expand
  29. May 25, 2013
    6
    I really liked this game, and I would recommend it, conditionally. It doesn't have a whole lot of substance or depth, but the few hours of gameplay are dense, the boss battles are exciting, the general action is above average, replay value is there for higher difficulties/achievement completion which at least triples the game life. Then there's this one prominent pro that this game has,I really liked this game, and I would recommend it, conditionally. It doesn't have a whole lot of substance or depth, but the few hours of gameplay are dense, the boss battles are exciting, the general action is above average, replay value is there for higher difficulties/achievement completion which at least triples the game life. Then there's this one prominent pro that this game has, it's just plain fun. The issue I often find with this genre, high speed dexterity based action games, is that there always seems to be some way to break the system. In Bayonetta, that was the parry/block that cancelled damage and knocked back enemies, DMC3 it was Aerial Rave with weapon switching, 4, Nero's charge shot, NG Izuna Drop, there's always something. In this case, the parry/block system is too lenient and rewards spamming, dodging has way too many invincibility frames, combo variations don't really make all too much difference in the grand scheme, cancelling out of fully charged pincer blade attacks makes the already easy boss battles child's play. I really enjoy playing these games on a difficulty that rewards accurate response to known attack patterns and situations, with reflexes being the last resort fall back. However, MGR is just too broken, which is my real beef with it. There's also something that really nagged at me the whole time, Platinum did deliver, but I couldn't help but feel underwhelmed at points, thinking "they are capable of doing better than this" Sure it's fun, but success just didn't feel satisfying on my second and subsequent playthroughs. I'd recommend this game to people who like the genre, so if you're reading this review, please don't be discouraged from buying this game, the poor score I'm giving it here is because I couldn't overlook the flaws, not because the flaws undermined the positive aspects. However, I'd recommend DMC and NG3:RE before it, from a purely gameplay standpoint.

    Worthy mention, the OST is absolutely top notch. Not only is it good, it's empowering in the moment. With it, reloading saves for no hit boss runs felt much less monotonous.
    Expand
  30. May 30, 2013
    6
    Metal gear rising is the worst metal gear game! The game is too short and filled with uninteresting codec calls. The stealth action is unbelievable. Lack of defense action other than parrying. Attacks skills seem to have no effects on every enemy! Although it is a spinoff but the game screws up the entire series!
  31. Jan 9, 2014
    6
    So if you're here looking for a thought-out, honest review of this games quality, then look no further than here because anyone who's given this game higher than a 7 is trying to justify their purchase of a gimmick. Lets start with the story, it's barely interesting at a general level, but when you get into specific character stories, it get's worse; you'll be begging for a skip button.So if you're here looking for a thought-out, honest review of this games quality, then look no further than here because anyone who's given this game higher than a 7 is trying to justify their purchase of a gimmick. Lets start with the story, it's barely interesting at a general level, but when you get into specific character stories, it get's worse; you'll be begging for a skip button. The cutscenes are a strong point of the game and the quick time events make you feel engaged and powerful, but this is where the fun ends because the biggest flop of this game is the gameplay. The enemies are relentless and powerful which would be okay if the game had a much-needed dodge mechanic and boss fights feel loose; your sword swings go straight through them without phasing them while you're being thrown all over the place. For those begging the mention of Blade Mode, I barely consider it to be part of the gameplay. There is one difference between slashing an object into a million pieces and destroying it in one swing and that difference is visual appeal. Because of this, I consider the whole mechanic to be more like a cutscene, and therefore, a huge waste of time that's not worthy to be the selling point of the game. All of this adds up to one of the bigger disappointments of my gaming career, but I suppose that's what I get for falling for trailers of a seemingly deep and addicting experience. But isn't that how all gimmicks get you? Expand
  32. May 11, 2015
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A nice hack and slash game.but the story of metal gear behind it was a joke. Hideo Kojima has nothing to do with it and I'm happy for it. Still a nice game Expand
  33. Feb 22, 2017
    6
    es un spin off bastante bueno, aunque como hack'n'slash se queda corto

    la cámara la lía, no me aprendí ni un combo, el sistema de bloqueos falla y no hay botón de esquivar, si llegan varios enemigos te hacen un bukake en un momento que no te puedes ni levantar del suelo Demasiadas zonas de sigilo que me quise pasar a katanazo limpio, porque el sistema de ejecuciones también me la ha
    es un spin off bastante bueno, aunque como hack'n'slash se queda corto

    la cámara la lía, no me aprendí ni un combo, el sistema de bloqueos falla y no hay botón de esquivar, si llegan varios enemigos te hacen un bukake en un momento que no te puedes ni levantar del suelo

    Demasiadas zonas de sigilo que me quise pasar a katanazo limpio, porque el sistema de ejecuciones también me la ha liado unas cuantas veces

    los jefes finales me han costado bastantes continues, ni los bosses de Devil May Cry 3 me dieron tanta guerra, llegando a ser pesados y repetitivos

    típico juego que hay que rejugar y dominar para disfrutarlo de verdad, es continuación directa de MGS4 y queda abierto a una posible secuela
    Expand
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 61 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 61
  2. Negative: 3 out of 61
  1. Apr 9, 2013
    89
    Improvements need to be made, but Metal Gear Rising has already established itself to be an action game well worth buying.
  2. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Apr 4, 2013
    70
    Fact is, when Revengeance is firing on all cylinders it’s a great, albeit short (six hours, tops) action game. [April 2013, p78]
  3. Games Master UK
    Mar 24, 2013
    75
    Its shortness will dissuade many, but cut deeper and an innovative parry system impresses. [Apr 2013, p.70]