Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 61 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 659 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance brings the infamous Metal Gear franchise into new territory by delivering a novel action experience. Coupling development teams at Kojima Productions and PlatinumGames, Revengeance was made with the goal of providing players with a fresh synergetic experienceMetal Gear Rising: Revengeance brings the infamous Metal Gear franchise into new territory by delivering a novel action experience. Coupling development teams at Kojima Productions and PlatinumGames, Revengeance was made with the goal of providing players with a fresh synergetic experience that combines the best elements of pure action and epic storytelling, all within the expansive Metal Gear universe. The game introduces Raiden as the lead character; a young soldier transformed into a half-man, half-machine cyborg ninja, equipped with a high-frequency katana blade and a soul fueled by revenge. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 61
  2. Negative: 3 out of 61
  1. Feb 19, 2013
    100
    The Metal Gear myth has never before appeared so agile, fresh and youthful, but more than the setting its Platinum's virtuoso coders that shine throughout, the object slicing a marvel of high-speed 3D manipulation. A technical masterpiece, Rising offers a funfair ride approximation of Konami's brooding series, but one with more than enough capacity for the Bayonetta veteran to express their dexterous expertise.
  2. Feb 19, 2013
    90
    Platinum Games has done something incredibly rare: honoring a beloved series while successfully broadening its reach into a whole new genre.
  3. Feb 26, 2013
    90
    An exhilarating experience that beats home just what kind of masters Platinum Games are at what they do. One of the best action games in years, and one that will stay with you for a very long time.
  4. Feb 19, 2013
    80
    A thrilling and engaging experience. The swordplay is fun, and it's really fascinating to see the different spots where either Kojima's or Platinum's signature styles shine through. It also has a wild final confrontation that shows elements of both.
  5. Mar 6, 2013
    80
    It's such a shame that the singleplayer takes just a few hours to complete. Because it's a fantastic game to play, probably the best hack and slash title in a science fiction setting. Raiden shows us how cool he is.
  6. Mar 24, 2013
    75
    Its shortness will dissuade many, but cut deeper and an innovative parry system impresses. [Apr 2013, p.70]
  7. 30
    For a series known for having some of the most memorable villains and boss fights in video game history, Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance has some of the most pathetic, bland villains I’ve seen. I didn’t fear them for being ferocious, I feared them because I knew how poorly designed each fight was and how infuriating the next one would be.

See all 61 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 25 out of 168
  1. Feb 19, 2013
    10
    this game proves once again that platinum can make an over the top crazy action game its a great spin off to a great series. if mgs fans dontthis game proves once again that platinum can make an over the top crazy action game its a great spin off to a great series. if mgs fans dont like it there is ground zeroes to look forward to but in the mean time you can enjoy this crazy fuelled game Expand
  2. Feb 20, 2013
    10
    An awesome game.
    1. Awesome hack n slash gameplay with plenty of stealth segments that pay off if you go through with them.
    2. AMAZING SET
    An awesome game.
    1. Awesome hack n slash gameplay with plenty of stealth segments that pay off if you go through with them.
    2. AMAZING SET PIECES AND QUICK TIME EVENTS THAT DONT SUCK.
    3. An incredible soundtrack especially for the epic bosses.
    4. Likeable and crazy/funny characters and villians(typical of a metal gear game)

    AS a huge MGS fan, i love this game. Its awesome being able to control every slice of Raidens sword and the over-all high quality of this game is something that you should really check out for yourself. Like hack n slash action? THEN THIS GAME IS A MUST HAVE.
    Expand
  3. Feb 19, 2013
    9
    This game is stellar. This may be the fastest action game ever created (and that's a good thing) The heavy metal soundtrack only intensifiesThis game is stellar. This may be the fastest action game ever created (and that's a good thing) The heavy metal soundtrack only intensifies this, but the real star of the game is the ridiculously triumphant boss encounters. These are so epic and insane that I found myself explaining each one to my wife (who could care less) pantomiming katana strikes and all. If you like feeling like the ultimate badass, are a metal gear fan, or just plain love good, old school action games, go get this now! Expand
  4. Nov 16, 2013
    8
    Metal Gear Rising is a refreshing entry into the Metal Gear franchise. MGR has some of the best graphics ive seen on a Playstation 3 to date.Metal Gear Rising is a refreshing entry into the Metal Gear franchise. MGR has some of the best graphics ive seen on a Playstation 3 to date. The combat is addicting, fast and fluid and is the best thing about this game. The beginning of the game is really good, during the middle the action does slow down at times and the story can sometimes seem crazy, but this wouldn't be a Metal Gear game without a little craziness. The ending is quite amazing, and the last boss battle is one of the best boss battles ive ever played in any game. I cant wait until Platinum Games make a sequel for this great entry into the Metal Gear franchise. Overall Score= 83/100 Expand
  5. Mar 9, 2013
    8
    I made a video review for this game, which you can check out here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3x2-ZU0K2VI

    The good: -Fun -The best
    I made a video review for this game, which you can check out here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3x2-ZU0K2VI

    The good:
    -Fun
    -The best animation I've seen in a game
    -Amazing character designs
    -Music

    The bad:
    -Camera gets wonky
    -The dialogue sucks
    -Voice acting is mediocre
    Expand
  6. Feb 21, 2013
    7
    All in all I enjoyed playing through Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance. That being said, I thought that the campaign was ridiculously short for aAll in all I enjoyed playing through Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance. That being said, I thought that the campaign was ridiculously short for a game that is retailing at 59.99. There were moments where button mashing became easier than trying to use combos and strategy as well. Overall I thought the story line was good, graphics were gorgeous as always from the franchise and the journey was fun to work through. I would recommend waiting until this hits the discount bin though if you are on the fence because once again I was extremely disappointed in the campaign being less than 6 hours to get through. Not what we expect in a new title as gamers. Expand
  7. Nov 20, 2013
    0
    Wow. Never expected this steaming pile of excrement in the metal gear franchise. Haven't played many recent MG games but this is trulyWow. Never expected this steaming pile of excrement in the metal gear franchise. Haven't played many recent MG games but this is truly awful. Avoid at all cost. Shame the PS+ brigade gave it away free, they should be paying us to play it! Expand

See all 168 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2013

    The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2013 Image
    Published: January 15, 2013
    Take a look at nearly four dozen of the coming year's most-anticipated games, from returning favorites such as BioShock Infinite and Grand Theft Auto V to new titles like The Last of Us and Watch Dogs.