User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3657 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JamesC.
    Jun 13, 2008
    10
    I just knew this was gonna end the series badly, but this did it amazingly. Kojima is brilliant, everything was beautiful and (spoiler) when raiden was holding his sword via his mouth, I must say I started to believe in god.
  2. KeithLamprecht
    May 28, 2008
    10
    Truly as good a story teller as any movie! This story has been developed over 20 years to provide the finale to one of the greatest video game series of all time. In Snake's final chapter we learn about the Patriots and Liquid's last stand. Relevant to foreign policy today, PMCs and global uprisings create a history that one can truly get enveloped in. On the PS3, a systemTruly as good a story teller as any movie! This story has been developed over 20 years to provide the finale to one of the greatest video game series of all time. In Snake's final chapter we learn about the Patriots and Liquid's last stand. Relevant to foreign policy today, PMCs and global uprisings create a history that one can truly get enveloped in. On the PS3, a system that can provide such great graphics, sound, and realism, this game will blur the line between games and art. Expand
  3. ChrisLou
    Jun 1, 2008
    10
    In short, Metal Gear Solid 4's gameplay takes the best of the previous MGS games while mixing elements from Resident Evil 4.

    The story does a spectacular job concluding Old Snake's journey that will please fans over and over.

    This game is truly one of the greatest and most memorable games to date.
  4. MarcBaicu
    Jun 3, 2008
    10
    This game is one of the best ever made. I just wish that the last review (80) would just be deleted or something, because the reviewer obviously has no idea what he is talking about. We should start up a petition to remove the last review, its messing up the average!
  5. Jun 2, 2014
    4
    Considering the potential scope of the material, "wasted opportunity" is more than an understatement. Global conspiracies, mechs, mercenaries, a world embroiled in conflict etc. It's all familiar stuff but still effective; in theory.

    This is the pinnacle of fan-servicing. I have never seen such bad writing in a game of this caliber. Hideo Kojima was always a terrible writer but the
    Considering the potential scope of the material, "wasted opportunity" is more than an understatement. Global conspiracies, mechs, mercenaries, a world embroiled in conflict etc. It's all familiar stuff but still effective; in theory.

    This is the pinnacle of fan-servicing. I have never seen such bad writing in a game of this caliber. Hideo Kojima was always a terrible writer but the stuff he's come out with here is just beyond words. Somebody should have broken the man's fingers or at least put him into cryogenic freezing for 200 years in the hope that when he would reawaken Konami would be long gone, and there would be no company that would have his repugnant brain in employ. Some cutscenes go on for twenty minutes... some go on for two. It doesn't make any difference because by the time they get to the point you have already forgotten what you wanted to find out. The characters (protagonist(s) and antagonists) are all repugnant and two dimensional. I do not care about their hopes, dreams, desires, fears; they can all go jump in the lake.

    Oh yeah and 'uncompressed audio?' **** you.

    Gameplay mechanics are still as faulty as ever in true lovable MGS style. Restrictive environments aplenty and horrible control scheme. Movements are too jerky and unrefined to produce a smooth and subtle stealth experience. Stick to Splinter Cell (or Dishonored etc). The game also looks like garbage and this is inexcusable considering how long it was in development for... This is the same year that we had Dead Space and Far Cry 2 and they still hold up today. The biggest visual problem is that amount of really cheap cover ups, 90% of the textures are smeared and the brick walls look like an armada of pasta bakes lined up next to each other.

    The MGS series was groundbreaking at one point in time, although the golden years have long since passed. MGS might have been the first human to ever take a dump in a toilet but it missed the bowl completely. If you love Hideo Kojima then go right ahead and disregard what I have said but if you want to play an actual game then steer clear
    Expand
  6. ZackM.
    Jun 8, 2008
    10
    I love t. It is definetely my best game of all time. It even beats COD4! Graphics better than anything before it!
  7. JC
    May 28, 2008
    10
    Game of the decade! No question about it!
  8. JohnB.
    Jun 13, 2008
    10
    I've played it for a couple of hours, and its amazing!
  9. AnttiA.
    Jun 12, 2008
    10
    Absolutely the best game you can have for PS3. Now go get it if you don't already have it. About 60% is game play and rest is video and codec talk. No too long sessions but they might get way if you aren't interested in the story. MGS4 has story unlike no other. It's long, it's got lots of tight twists and it's well written. I am pretty sure that even a person who Absolutely the best game you can have for PS3. Now go get it if you don't already have it. About 60% is game play and rest is video and codec talk. No too long sessions but they might get way if you aren't interested in the story. MGS4 has story unlike no other. It's long, it's got lots of tight twists and it's well written. I am pretty sure that even a person who doesn't have previous experience of the MG/MGS games gets a grip of the plot. Not too much is placed for plot thought. Graphics just blow away GTA4 for example with all the small things it has. I'd recommend playing this on a HDTV with HDMI and all the necessary HDMI adjustments done from PS3 settings. Expand
  10. Sep 9, 2010
    8
    This game is good. One of the best stories i have ever experienced, some of the better stealth gameplay out there, and excellent graphics. The story is told in very long cutscenes and this game was very short without them. I was playing this game like i usually do a normal game on my first playthough and it took about 9 hours but without the cutscenes this game is reduced in half. TheThis game is good. One of the best stories i have ever experienced, some of the better stealth gameplay out there, and excellent graphics. The story is told in very long cutscenes and this game was very short without them. I was playing this game like i usually do a normal game on my first playthough and it took about 9 hours but without the cutscenes this game is reduced in half. The gameplay also is not as good as the other metal gear solid games. There is a lot less stealth in the game. The game is very smooth in gameplay during the stealth parts. But there are a lot of run and gun parts and you can tell that the game was made for stealth. Most Sections are stealth, but you are sneaking around a huge battlefield which makes it almost impossible to be spotted because they don't detect you from your bullets because it blends in and they don't see a lot because the enemies all focus on the other AI. This is still a fun game but is is far from perfect. Expand
  11. Apr 1, 2013
    10
    Unbelievable. If you've ever wanted to and cum in your pants at the same time, play this game. It tops Snake Eater and Sons of Liberty. The story is better than most movies, TV shows or whatever
  12. Sep 20, 2012
    10
    (Translate from Portuguese into English)Sem duvidas um dos melhores jogos que já joguei até hoje,um marco na história dos games,no começo até achava que o MGS3 era melhor,mais com o passar do jogo ele me surpreendeu muito e superou o MGS3,incrível,muito triste o jogo,muitos momentos emocionantes,magnífico,o melhor da franquia e um dos(Translate from Portuguese into English)Sem duvidas um dos melhores jogos que já joguei até hoje,um marco na história dos games,no começo até achava que o MGS3 era melhor,mais com o passar do jogo ele me surpreendeu muito e superou o MGS3,incrível,muito triste o jogo,muitos momentos emocionantes,magnífico,o melhor da franquia e um dos melhores jogos de todos os tempos. Expand
  13. OtekaOmaru
    Jun 9, 2008
    10
    Haha! Those euro sites look like right arseholes right about now, don't they? Everyone gives the game 95 and up while they just sit there with their 80s. Need I remind everyone, that both Egde and Eurogamer, gave Halo 3 a shining 100. That says it all.
  14. DavidSchmidt
    Aug 20, 2009
    10
    This game did the impossible and surpassed the hype that it had built up behind it. It wrapped up every loose plot point of the previous game while giving you an emotional experience that no game has yet achieved. It's not the kind of game for people who need to headshot something every couple minutes, but if you want a story full of believable and sympathetic characters and actionThis game did the impossible and surpassed the hype that it had built up behind it. It wrapped up every loose plot point of the previous game while giving you an emotional experience that no game has yet achieved. It's not the kind of game for people who need to headshot something every couple minutes, but if you want a story full of believable and sympathetic characters and action sequences that rival most Hollywood movies then you need to play this game. When I had finished this game all I immediately called up my friends to talk about how incredible this game was. This game is truly a single player masterpiece and if you haven't played it yet do yourself a favor and go buy/rent it. Expand
  15. MikeWinter
    Jun 15, 2008
    10
    I've been playing video games for, about, 25 years (got an intellivision around 1983), and this is, simply, the best game I have ever played. I am a huge Metal Gear fan, and being so does enhance the experience of playing this game, but even if you have no, prior experience playing this series, I think It can still be a very rewarding and unique experience.
  16. KamilNie?
    Jun 3, 2008
    10
    MGS4 is very good game, if game is so great as others MGS games it must be great. Fuck hamurgers that can't see nothing out of Gears of War or other games with so inteligent history. Now I understand why other side of earth say that americans are the most dumb country in the world!
  17. LarryGrauss
    Dec 26, 2008
    10
    This game just blew my tiny little mind to pieces. The graphics are undoubtedly the best ever made. I do not exagerate at all. MGS4 is the only game to take up the whole 50G of the Blu-Ray, and that's after extensive data compression. This game was one of the reasons I returned my XBOX 360 and got a PS3 (thank God I still had the receipt!)
    And what is it with hating the cutscenes?
    This game just blew my tiny little mind to pieces. The graphics are undoubtedly the best ever made. I do not exagerate at all. MGS4 is the only game to take up the whole 50G of the Blu-Ray, and that's after extensive data compression. This game was one of the reasons I returned my XBOX 360 and got a PS3 (thank God I still had the receipt!)
    And what is it with hating the cutscenes?
    The cutscenes are jaw-droppingly amazing and quite enticing. And the story is complex, but it is also the best of any game so far.
    10/10.
    Expand
  18. Apr 11, 2011
    10
    Only one word can describe this game...... EPIC one of the most anticipated game of 2008. Here comes Solid Snake in his final stands the well and awesome story,genius graphics, the return of many old characters (especially Raiden made a cool change)and finally the answers for some unanswered question.
  19. Jun 10, 2011
    10
    Almost 4 years after it's release date, Metal Gear Solid 4 remains one of this platforms crowning achievements. In fact, upon its release it set the standard for next generation gaming content with it's deep, emotionally engaging story, state of the art visuals, unprecedented sound design, and enough extras to encourage over 100+ hours of game play. A standard that remains exceptionallyAlmost 4 years after it's release date, Metal Gear Solid 4 remains one of this platforms crowning achievements. In fact, upon its release it set the standard for next generation gaming content with it's deep, emotionally engaging story, state of the art visuals, unprecedented sound design, and enough extras to encourage over 100+ hours of game play. A standard that remains exceptionally high, even in 2011. Expand
  20. AJHill
    Aug 9, 2009
    10
    Overall best game I have ever played. Amazing story. Amazing Graphics. Funny. Serious. Sad. Corny. Unbelievably intelligent. Incredible replay value. Beautiful soundtrack. Great implementation of Sixaxis controls.

    There's absolutely no reason to give this game anything below a 10.
    The first game that I have ever decided to keep forever.
    Absolutely amazing.
  21. MartinAndy
    May 30, 2008
    10
    Epic from start to finish. I received an early copy of the game, and for a MGS4 it is nothing short of pure brilliance. You will NOT be disappointed. If you have been a fan of the series, this is utter perfection. Enjoy on June 12th.
  22. DanielDunn
    May 22, 2008
    10
    I have yet to play it but since 140 other people who have yet played it can score it I will to, The first 3 (not including the 2 original) were great games with great story's, so I cant wait for MGS4, I also game it a 10 to help balance out all the BS reviews from PS3 Haters and Xbots.
  23. AlexAguilera
    May 31, 2008
    10
    I loved this game from start to finish and a great way to end the story of snake. I wish I could play as Snake when he was younger, but everything else in th game makes up for it. It's the whole package: Graphics, Gameplay, Presentation, Tilt, and Replay Value. Three words :Buy This Game! You will not be unsatisfied.
  24. RobW
    Sep 4, 2009
    5
    Fantastic graphics, good gameplay and fairly non-linear objectives made the first few levels really enjoyable, but I quickly became increasingly frustrated with the volume and length of the cutscenes - if you were to take them all out, you'd find that there's hardly any actual "game" here at all. Some of the objectives aren't clear, and you have to keep repeating sections Fantastic graphics, good gameplay and fairly non-linear objectives made the first few levels really enjoyable, but I quickly became increasingly frustrated with the volume and length of the cutscenes - if you were to take them all out, you'd find that there's hardly any actual "game" here at all. Some of the objectives aren't clear, and you have to keep repeating sections over and over until you get it right. The bit where you get to play as Snake in MGS1 was genius though, but it just made me want to dig it out of the loft and play it through again rather than sit through any more of this pile of drivel. Expand
  25. Sep 27, 2010
    10
    this is easily the best MGS game in the series . the amount of guns is mind blowing , more freedom in the game to go where you want , the new octocam is sick , the story is entertaing , and you finnaly get to drive a metal gear ... hell yeah. they also made Raiden not seem like a whiny **** any more he actaully seemed cool in this game . the voice acting is top notch as usaul . thethis is easily the best MGS game in the series . the amount of guns is mind blowing , more freedom in the game to go where you want , the new octocam is sick , the story is entertaing , and you finnaly get to drive a metal gear ... hell yeah. they also made Raiden not seem like a whiny **** any more he actaully seemed cool in this game . the voice acting is top notch as usaul . the graphics are just amazing . the boss fights are alot of fun . every thing feels answered in this one . i finished this game happy that i know the whole story now . if you never played a MGS game then rent this first if you didnt like them before dont bother pickin this up. MGS fans apply only. Expand
  26. Jan 15, 2011
    10
    I do respect the points of view of the users who have given this game a bad review as what most of them say its true, it does have some of the longest cinematics i have seen in a game , but to me , this is not a flaw, because you really need to see these to fully understand what Master kojima wanted to you to feel about the story, yes they are long, but they add so much to the overallI do respect the points of view of the users who have given this game a bad review as what most of them say its true, it does have some of the longest cinematics i have seen in a game , but to me , this is not a flaw, because you really need to see these to fully understand what Master kojima wanted to you to feel about the story, yes they are long, but they add so much to the overall feeling of the game ..... The final mission of my favorite character (hence my nickname) , the legendary soldier , now an old man , ready to tackle the impossible just one last time before he can rest in peace, you can see him struggling , His unbreakable will and his skill are his only advantage against a legion of enhanced soldiers much younger than him ....... if you are a fan of the series , this game is an absoulte masterpiece , this game alone is worth the 500 dlls i paid for my ps3 when it was launched ...... The graphics, the soundtrack (In the final battle , i was losing but when i started to hear Snake Eater i made a comeback and bamm!!!!), the controls , the variety of ways you can complete this game is amazing...... Feel like sneaking in ? do it .... Feel like going guns blazing? .... go ahead..... this game has raised the bar in some many ways that it has become the best game of the past 10 years. The only game that i have ever played that made such a huge impact in me was The Legend Of Zelda: Ocarina of Time. This game was launched on 1998 , i never tought that i would see a game that could top this ...... yeah , there have been great games these past years , Uncharted 2, Gears of war, COD4, Metroid Prime , Mario Galaxy , Mass Effect 1 and 2 , God of War 3 , The Elder Scrolls 4 Oblivion....i have played and finished all of these awesome games , but none could come close to Ocarina of Time.....until i played Metal Gear Solid 4 .....Thank you Master Kojima ....i am a 27 year old man , parent and husband ......but you Sir made a game that made me remember why i loved this Hobby so much back when i was 10 years old. Expand
  27. AtratusS.
    Jun 13, 2008
    10
    I had high expectations for this game having been a long time fan of the series. Hideo Kojima's latest iteration of the series exceeded my expectations in every regard. If you own a PS3 this is a must buy. If you don't own a ps3 but are serious about games, consider taking the plunge. MGS4 is one of the greatest games of all time. Make sure you've got some free time set I had high expectations for this game having been a long time fan of the series. Hideo Kojima's latest iteration of the series exceeded my expectations in every regard. If you own a PS3 this is a must buy. If you don't own a ps3 but are serious about games, consider taking the plunge. MGS4 is one of the greatest games of all time. Make sure you've got some free time set aside because you're not going to want to stop playing until you reach the end. Expand
  28. MiguelM.
    Jun 10, 2008
    10
    A game like this comes only every so often, a remarkable culmination to a remarkable series.
  29. DustinU
    Sep 30, 2008
    10
    Wow, seems to me like our friends from across the pond (in the UK) don't seem to like Kojima's latest masterpiece.

    Fine and good. I will at least maintain some respect for those who didn't like it because it was their first time playing an MGS game, however much they were warned that they wouldn't know what was going on unless ALL 3 previous games had been played to
    Wow, seems to me like our friends from across the pond (in the UK) don't seem to like Kojima's latest masterpiece.

    Fine and good. I will at least maintain some respect for those who didn't like it because it was their first time playing an MGS game, however much they were warned that they wouldn't know what was going on unless ALL 3 previous games had been played to completion beforehand. But to the others that are just bitching and moaning about how slow it is, if you don't like it, go back to playing Halo.

    THIS GAME WAS MADE FOR THE FANS!!!!!!! There, I wrote it in big letters so the half-brained members of society can read it and hopefully (yet in futility) try to understand what that means. If you loved MGS1 but found your interest start to fade in MGS2 and 3, you WILL NOT LIKE MGS4, so do all of us a favor and remove yourself from the ranks of those who play it, because you simply don't deserve to.

    And before I go, I feel the need to ask Bob R. to kindly remove himself with extreme prejudice from the human gene pool....this man's sole complaint was "You can't even molest Sunny, game was a let down.".....
    ......
    ......
    ARE YOU FUCKING KIDDING ME?!?!?! That's not even the least bit funny you total failure of a human being.
    Expand
  30. DradleyD.
    Jun 8, 2008
    10
    An extremely impressive swansong to a peerless and pioneering series that never fails to amaze.
  31. MansourG.
    Jun 9, 2008
    10
    This is easily the best game you will play ever itthe PS3 system, and if you are a fan of the series this game will rock you,, its kojima at his best, the story finaly ends here, you will be shocked by who are the patriots, and who knew about them!
  32. StevenOnraedt
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    There is no game in the past present or near future capable of removing this game of its pedestale.. Epic scenes,innovative gameplay and a story to sank your teeth in,this game has it all... It is with a great divided sense of grief and joy i say goodbye to Snake,but he' was,is and will always be the single greatest achievement and character gaming brought forth.. Truly incredible...
  33. JohnN
    Jun 16, 2008
    10
    Simply amazing , couldn't put the game day! Everything was above my expectations, story, graphics, game play. MGS4 was the perfect end to a 20 year saga. I feel most game companies are worried about their profit more than creating a place in gaming history. I have wasted my time with way too many games, but Mr. Kojima has created such a masterpiece.
  34. Chris
    Jun 18, 2008
    10
    MGS4 is fantastic...unbelievable. It's truly unlike any other gaming experience ever in terms of immersion. It's true that there are long cut scenes but you can skip them if you like. The game literally re-invents itself at every turn. I did not buy my PS3 for MGS4 and I'm not a fanboy so this review is not biased, it really is an amazing game. I can see how reviewers mightMGS4 is fantastic...unbelievable. It's truly unlike any other gaming experience ever in terms of immersion. It's true that there are long cut scenes but you can skip them if you like. The game literally re-invents itself at every turn. I did not buy my PS3 for MGS4 and I'm not a fanboy so this review is not biased, it really is an amazing game. I can see how reviewers might not understand some aspects of the game. Like for example I was playing it with my friend who's into games like Call of Duty and he thought it was stupid that there were robots and playboys and other unrealistic or silly elements... but all the Metal Gear's before this one were the same in terms of 'believability', so if that leaves a bad taste in your mouth after playing it then I guess you can't like Resistance or Halo or any other game like that either. Expand
  35. jakerake
    Jun 25, 2008
    10
    wow wow i just want to say who are the patriots and wow who ever thought eva was snaks mum that is weird but this game is so awsome it reminds me of army of two but wy better for any mgs fans this is like the cherry on the cake or pie if u prefer
  36. kyuudmc
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    HAY READERS!!! just ignore all those idiots who rated the game so badly! this game is definitely one of the verrrrry best video games the history has ever known! just take a look at the 100s above! if you ask 4 my opinion .. I'd say it's probably (THEE) best game! ..... you'll definitely like it. even if you're an ANTI-MGS guy you wont give it less than an (8) unlessHAY READERS!!! just ignore all those idiots who rated the game so badly! this game is definitely one of the verrrrry best video games the history has ever known! just take a look at the 100s above! if you ask 4 my opinion .. I'd say it's probably (THEE) best game! ..... you'll definitely like it. even if you're an ANTI-MGS guy you wont give it less than an (8) unless you're one stubborn idiot that is (respectively ^^) anyway whether you like what's written here or not . the game is a MUST-HAVE for every gamer .... NO, even for non-gamers XD Expand
  37. Drogo
    Oct 13, 2008
    10
    This game moved me like no other game could. I kept my attention 100% threw the whole game and I could not of asked for anything better than this. A Instant classic. Don't believe the haters on this game I believe they are all XBOX fan boy :P j/p :D
  38. KyleMorgan
    Dec 22, 2008
    10
    I know some people complain of long cutscenes, but you have to understand: this game franchise is older than many of you. Don't complain about ridiculous cutscenes because you don't understand the characters and the plot. Anyway, the shooting mechanics are new and refreshing for the MG series. I love the emphasis on teamwork in MGO and the catapults. For those of you whoI know some people complain of long cutscenes, but you have to understand: this game franchise is older than many of you. Don't complain about ridiculous cutscenes because you don't understand the characters and the plot. Anyway, the shooting mechanics are new and refreshing for the MG series. I love the emphasis on teamwork in MGO and the catapults. For those of you who didn't play the original MGO you don't understand how lucky you are. In the old MGO people just camped on top of buildings and waited to shoot those coming up ladders. You now have the luxury of a catapult. Expand
  39. Mar 3, 2011
    10
    I just bought MGS4 on 3/4/2010 I've always own both a Xbox 360 and a Ps3 and have been playing action games since doom 95. I can honestly say that MGS4 is the best game in existence. Regardless of MGS4 being a few years old, I would still recommend this game to anyone who hasn't played it yet... When I first put the game in I said to myself "WOW, what a fkn Splinter Cell rip off!!!" ButI just bought MGS4 on 3/4/2010 I've always own both a Xbox 360 and a Ps3 and have been playing action games since doom 95. I can honestly say that MGS4 is the best game in existence. Regardless of MGS4 being a few years old, I would still recommend this game to anyone who hasn't played it yet... When I first put the game in I said to myself "WOW, what a fkn Splinter Cell rip off!!!" But within the hour I honestly couldn't put the controller down. MGS4's original and has an amazing story that most games lack now a days. Simply a masterpiece. Expand
  40. Dec 16, 2010
    10
    Truly one of the best Metal Gear Solid games of all time, I recommend you play this if you're a true hardcore fan of the series.
  41. May 5, 2011
    10
    This is a fun game for the PS3 its story was great and it kept me playing the game till the end GREAT GAME! its a game ALL PS3 owners must have and play till the finish.
  42. Jun 15, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is no doubt the greatest single player experience ever to grace a console. The multiplayer is also pretty good, but I'll get to that later. Casual gamers may be turned off by the heavy reliance on strategy, especially for a shooter, but just because you aren't noob tubing across the map doesn't mean it's anything shy of an amazing game. Hideo Kojima delivered a complete package, with stellar graphics that, even 3 years old, beat anything on the market today. The character models are so real you'll swear it was filmed. The environments aren't original, but look spectacular. Now, as many gripe, the game does have plenty of cutscene. HOWEVER, a mere push of the start button brings up an option to skip a cutscene, and letting you get right back into the action. Gameplay revolves around either trying to be stealthy and remain undetected, or going out guns blazing and over powering the enemy. Each course of action has its own consequences - and get this - in the GAMEPLAY, not in the cutscenes (which remain constant on every play through) as with RPGs. With 69 weapons in your arsenal (plus 1 secret weapon), the options are incredible. You can set a C4 on a guard, and let him walk into a group, then blow them all up at once, for example. You could avoid detection by a chopper, or load up a stinger, then dive into the nearest dumpster. The sheer amount of possibilities for every obstacle brings this game to an unprecedented scale. Now the cutscenes are long, and frequent, but they are interesting and engaging. Anyone with an IQ higher than 80 (on a typical 50-150 scale) will be hooked, and absolutely engaged by the clever plot twists, background plots, real world references, series references, breaking of the 4th wall, and that scary sensation that Kojima has delivered (since the original MGS) that the (at least political) events of the game COULD ACTUALLY HAPPEN and may be happening as we speak (watch the infamous MGS2 "patriots" cutscene, and you'll always see the world in a new light). Even the casual, passive gamer won't help but be able to watch in awe at the more epic points of the story. The multiplayer is built on great mechanics, but the menus aren't user friendly, it takes a while to load, it taxes your internet connection, the expansions are far too costly, and it has become less and less active over time. Keep in mind Kojima did not plan on making Metal Gear Online, and it really is just a bonus to the amazing single player game. Kojima planned on delivering an unforgettable experience to his faithful followers, and he did just that. Many believe that MGS4 may have saved the PS3. That could very well be the case, and if so, it was more than successful. After all, "Just like your father... you're pretty good!" Expand
  43. May 28, 2012
    10
    To rate this piece of virtual art any less than a 9 is a crime (and I would only rate it that low if I wasn't familiar with the series). I had high expectations for the final chapter of Solid Snake, and not only did the game fulfill, it completely blew me away. Due to Metacritics wall-o-text, I'll have to use brackets to make it easier to read. [Graphics: Beyond 10, the amount ofTo rate this piece of virtual art any less than a 9 is a crime (and I would only rate it that low if I wasn't familiar with the series). I had high expectations for the final chapter of Solid Snake, and not only did the game fulfill, it completely blew me away. Due to Metacritics wall-o-text, I'll have to use brackets to make it easier to read. [Graphics: Beyond 10, the amount of detail on faces, the environment, and combat on a console game is mesmerizing. Watch the ripples of wind from a helicopter hit Snake's hair and clothes.] [Sound: 10, The guns are loud and echo in the distance. Metal Gear Gekkos, however, sound strangely like cows.] [Music: 10. Nothing less of orchestra and mixes of old and new electronica to give MGS4 a truly epic feel.] [Voiceovers: 9, worthy of a summer blockbuster movie, although I'm getting tired of Snake's overly scratchy, guttural voice.] [Gameplay: 9, the same sneak and disable (or kill) mechanics of the past Metal Gears are here, and are better than ever. Your advanced sneaking suit can camoflage to any surface, giving you a new level of stealth. A new feature includes holding an enemy hostage and firing over their shoulder. There is also a VERY wide array of weapons at your disposal, each coming with a detail description of their histories and capabilities, as well as upgrades. Another new option is switching between over-the-shoulder and FPS view for your firearms, which can be clunky or smooth depending on your settings. There's a slight learning curve for these new mechanics, especially if you're new to the series, but once you get used to it, the game is an absolute blast to play.] [Plot: 10, more interactive movie than a traditional game. MGS4's story is a bit convoluted, but becomes clearer as it moves along. It's themes of war, change and freedom is going to inspire a lot of philosophical discussion. Ultimately, once you discover Solid Snake's ultimate fate, you'll realize the overall direction of the story is more tragic than it is triumphant. Of course, for those who are impatient or have OCD, you can simply skip the cutscenes.] [Replay Value: 9. Four years after buying this game, I am still playing it with joyful glee.] Conclusion: MGS4 has showed how far video games have come as an art form, and will forever stand as one of the pinnacles of gaming. Expand
  44. MarkD
    Sep 4, 2008
    8
    Snake goes out with bang, yet as a big fan of the series i still feel slightly let down. The gameplay is perhaps the most non linier in the history of games; Play it stealthily or as an action shoot em up, take people out with a sniper rifle, use a distraction technique, utilize your items in all sorts of different ways. The graphics are stunning, perhaps the best the PS3 has seen yet and Snake goes out with bang, yet as a big fan of the series i still feel slightly let down. The gameplay is perhaps the most non linier in the history of games; Play it stealthily or as an action shoot em up, take people out with a sniper rifle, use a distraction technique, utilize your items in all sorts of different ways. The graphics are stunning, perhaps the best the PS3 has seen yet and the music wouldn't be out of place on a Hollywood blockbuster. When it's good it's close to genius and there are moments that will blow your mind. As a self confessed fanboy i really wanted to give it 10/10. However it's not perfect so i can't!!! One of the main problems is (you guessed it) the plot and cut scenes. I don't have a problem with long cut scenes or a deep plot in a game but if that's the way you want to go give us something less muddled Kojima; When those looooooooooong cut scenes are filled with pointless, droning monologues about genetics or preechy guff about war i do have a problem! Not to mention the plot holes and the fact that half of the plot doesn't make sense. The other problem is the steep learning curve. You're expected to be using Snakes subtler stealth techniques virtually from the start and the camera isn't perfect. I can see how a number of people (especially MGS virgins) could be put before they've really got into the game. So, MGS4 although brilliant in many ways is best described as a flawed masterpiece! Expand
  45. Aug 29, 2010
    10
    Personal favorite in the series followed by Sons of liberty, the original, and then Snake Eater, a game which happens to become better when the series is complete. Guns of the Patriots includes all the great things from its predecessors and follows with its own brilliant work. Play it if you have not yet done so.
  46. Sep 8, 2010
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I've made a metacritic account just for this game, it truly deserves a better rating. Metal Gear Solid 4 is just one of the best games i ever played in my whole life! i've played all MGS games, this game gives the best storytelling MGS got until now. The graphics are amazing, so much detail in every texture! The Gameplay is extremely better, Its more stealthy. Its just amazing how the characters react to things, they look like real people!! This game is extremely rare, its not something that you see everyday. If you have a Playstation 3 i recomend you buying it. When you finish the game MGO will keep you engaged for weeks! I give this game a '' because it really deserves... Expand
  47. Oct 24, 2012
    8
    I thought I would re-rewrite some of my reviews,I reviewed this game a really long time ago but anyway. I can understand how some people gave this game a low score. This game however doesn't deserve a 0. The game IS a stealth game and there are some parts of the game that are not stealth at all, it's just that Kojima wanted to mix it up a bit and give options. I didn't mind the cutscenes II thought I would re-rewrite some of my reviews,I reviewed this game a really long time ago but anyway. I can understand how some people gave this game a low score. This game however doesn't deserve a 0. The game IS a stealth game and there are some parts of the game that are not stealth at all, it's just that Kojima wanted to mix it up a bit and give options. I didn't mind the cutscenes I thought they were cool, however the mission briefing videos were infact boring and I had a hard time keeping my eyes open aswell. They tried to fill the whole 50GB blu ray disc. The game itself is about the same length of MGS 3. The game itself does not deserve a 10. But the people that say the graphics are horrible...I don't understand that one. The Graphics are quite nice actually, when bullets hit the ground debris will be seen, even games toda in 2012 do not have that. People complaining about toilet humour but say that they LOVEEE MGS 1? Hmm I guess you do not remember the toilet humour in that game... Yes I do like MGS 3 better than this one,but I like the story. The people that are just coming into this game will not like it because they wont know what is going on. I agree that Kojima could of giving more of a Recap considering all the cutscene in this game are long as hell, they could of easily recapped the story for people... I find that they were really creative in this game, especially when Sunny is making breakfast and the eggs are kind of fortune telling. A lot of people didn't catch that..... I did and I thought it was cool. I didn't like how they didn't tell you if Snake died, the whole point of this game was story, and we DID get a big long story but we didn't get the answers or closure to the most important parts of the story. They should of handled the story differently. I also thought that the gun IDS were cool but at the same time lame. Also I thought Drebin was a stupid character that just follows snake around to sell him stuff. My main gripe about this game were the bosses. They were fun and all in some aspect but the characters didn't interest me, except liquid. I thought it was amazing how at the end of the game you fight "liquid" ontop of the ship with fists, just like in the first MGS when you fight liquid ontop of Metal Gear,it's kind of like "the final fight" and it was very well done. People that complain about how it was too "japanese" give me a break, do you guys seriously only want to play generic games that are all the same? The controls are okay, but I find that the controls in MGS 3 were a touch better. Here's a break down.

    Graphics- 8
    Gameplay- 8
    Fun- 9
    Replay Value - 7

    As I give the game itself an "8" the experience is a 10
    Expand
  48. Apr 14, 2011
    10
    Overall best game I have ever played. Amazing story. Amazing Graphics. Funny. Serious. Sad. Corny. Unbelievably intelligent. Incredible replay value. Beautiful soundtrack. Great implementation of Sixaxis controls. There's absolutely no reason to give this game anything below a 10. The first game that I have ever decided to keep forever. Absolutely amazing.
  49. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    In my opinion the greatest console game of this generation. Unfortunately MGS4 caters completely to the fans and those that don't rate this game highly are those that have not played the previous ones.
  50. Mar 9, 2013
    5
    This game is overhyped. The story becomes ridicilious with all the Nano things, the bosses are boring and you do watch more than play, which is a big failure if you thinking about, that this actually is a game. Its big fan service with things like shadow moses included, has good graphics and also the gameplay is good but the things that i mention above just ruins a part of the game.
  51. Oct 4, 2011
    10
    Metal Gear Solid 4 is the epic finale to the Metal Gear Solid series. The series's well known protagonist, Solid Snake, is now aged, an ancient man, lower back problems, coughing from his years of smoking. The graphics.. this is the Ocarina of Time of our age.. and god help me for using that comparison since I personally don't think much of Zelda games. Over all, this game is a legendaryMetal Gear Solid 4 is the epic finale to the Metal Gear Solid series. The series's well known protagonist, Solid Snake, is now aged, an ancient man, lower back problems, coughing from his years of smoking. The graphics.. this is the Ocarina of Time of our age.. and god help me for using that comparison since I personally don't think much of Zelda games. Over all, this game is a legendary thing, and at such cheap used prices nowadays, YOU GOTTA GET! Expand
  52. Aug 8, 2011
    10
    Ahh....MGS what more can i say that ALOT of people don't already know, the game is amazing. i never played any mgs games until Guns of the Patriots came out soo i went out and bought all 4 games at once and i gotta thank Kojima for giving me one of the best summers of my life.
  53. Aug 20, 2011
    10
    I will start of by saying this is the best game i have ever played, this is the BEST game ever made! the graphics beautifull and the story is riviting, the action is crazy, your usually crawling throug and action packed war zone and its so awesome, the custimzation of snake is groundbreaking. MGS4 has set the bar for video games ona cinematic sense. The cutscenes should win an oscar forI will start of by saying this is the best game i have ever played, this is the BEST game ever made! the graphics beautifull and the story is riviting, the action is crazy, your usually crawling throug and action packed war zone and its so awesome, the custimzation of snake is groundbreaking. MGS4 has set the bar for video games ona cinematic sense. The cutscenes should win an oscar for best picture, just a flawless game, go get it, you will cry cause its so good! Expand
  54. Dec 14, 2011
    10
    First off, let me say that I have played metal gear since I was a child with a playstation 1. I have grown up along with the metal gear series, and loved every experience it provided. The metal gear games have always been perfect in the genre they created: tactical espionage action. For the people out there who talk about their dislike of the gameplay or complex controls, I suggest theyFirst off, let me say that I have played metal gear since I was a child with a playstation 1. I have grown up along with the metal gear series, and loved every experience it provided. The metal gear games have always been perfect in the genre they created: tactical espionage action. For the people out there who talk about their dislike of the gameplay or complex controls, I suggest they read the cover of the game or look at the back-of-the-box features listed on any game case to see what kind of game it is. For example: are you a gamer who likes only RTS's? Than look at the game case and see how it reads: tactical espionage action. These are not words that desribe an RTS. So you probably shouldn't buy the game. Are you a person who doesn't like watching lengthy cut-scenes in a game? Well look at the back of the game case and you will find the words "Experience a stunning cinematic adventure that will keep you hooked until the very end". These words are obviously meant to say "Hey, we like fast-paced games as much as the next gamer, but we like to create a game with a deep story and interesting plot that engrosses you in a wonderful fictional world that has been telling a story since the first game." The metal gear series has always had lengthy cut-scenes and it is what has helped make the metal gear story the most compelling and awesome story in the history of video games. For those of you out there who are fans of the series or stealth games in general, I highly recommend you play this game. The controls are the best in the series, the graphics are phenomenal, and the set-piece moments will stay in your memory forever. The game sums up every plot questions of the entire series and the last hours of the game are the most emotional you will spend outside of a book or movie. Metal Gear Solid 4 is without a question a masterpiece, as not only is it an amazing game, but it is devoted to the fans that have loved the genre for so long. Expand
  55. WEL
    Apr 7, 2012
    10
    Last time I played this game was when it came out in 2008 but I started playing it yesterday again and got to beat the Laughing Octopus (and did the photo shoot secret! so sexy) and save Naomi and let me say that this game is still as incredible as I remember it. The music, the gameplay, the graphics aged considerably well, the long cut-scenes which everybody complains about are stillLast time I played this game was when it came out in 2008 but I started playing it yesterday again and got to beat the Laughing Octopus (and did the photo shoot secret! so sexy) and save Naomi and let me say that this game is still as incredible as I remember it. The music, the gameplay, the graphics aged considerably well, the long cut-scenes which everybody complains about are still awesome too. Now I can't wait to see Raiden again on the next chapter... Metal Gear Solid 4 truly is one of the best games of this generation and I hope Kojima comes up with a MGS5 soon even if it's just a pre-quel. This series is way too good to disappear now. Expand
  56. Mar 16, 2012
    10
    This is one of the greatest achievements of this generation, the perfect combination of excellence in all aspects of the game. A beloved game without flaws and a great ending for the saga of Solid Snake.
  57. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    best game i ever played ..perfect in a every way,u feel like playing real soldier,best story and best aspect of drama,,u must play this game and if u dont own a ps3,,immediately turn off internet and go to shopping,,it is worht it,
  58. Mar 22, 2012
    8
    Half movie, half game with stellar (and refined) gameplay fed through a socio-political plot that both forewarns and commentates. As with the rest of the MGS series, current and upcoming social issues and the fourth-wall are used as the tools to tell the story of 'mercenaries' fighting for the freedom of the world from war and tyranny. However, the problem "Guns of the Patriots" runsHalf movie, half game with stellar (and refined) gameplay fed through a socio-political plot that both forewarns and commentates. As with the rest of the MGS series, current and upcoming social issues and the fourth-wall are used as the tools to tell the story of 'mercenaries' fighting for the freedom of the world from war and tyranny. However, the problem "Guns of the Patriots" runs into is the difficult and highly criticizable realm of story/saga closure - which it doesn't fail at.
    The only real grip I have about the game is the insignificance of the obvious tie-ins of older characters to help settle the closure of the series; the characters where there for practically nostalgic purposes. Other problems would be the massive amount of cut-scenes (which are highly reasonable, considering the amount of story that is trying to be told) and simplicity of the bosses (relative to the rest of the series). But all these are magnified nitpicks.
    Overall, this game is great and shines well enough among all the great games of this generation to be considered an important step in video game story-telling.
    Expand
  59. Sep 17, 2014
    10
    The greatest game i ever played. Gameplay is by far the best in any mgs. The stroy is also the most epic and closes in most of the gaps from the previous games. Cutscenes are long but i'm never bored when watching this. Also making snake old is a great addition since we were use to the prime snake who can kick any ones ass easily with no problem. Overall its my favorite game of all time.
  60. DanM.
    Jun 10, 2008
    10
    Haven't got it yet, but have seen a leaked sending video, it will blow your mind with the ending alone, such a greart way to warp things up, I expect the rest of the game to be very playable just like the previous ones, but it deserves a 10 just for that end sequence in my eyes. Kojima please make a sequel to Snatcher now!
  61. mikeso
    Jun 20, 2008
    10
    Most complete game created on a next gen system. Amazing gameplay and story this game will not disappoint.
  62. ColinM.
    Jan 30, 2009
    10
    ***FOR ANYONE WHO WANTS TO BUY MGS4, READ THIS*** First of all, I can easily say that MGS4 is hands-down the best game I have ever played. Why? That's what I'm about to explain. First, obviously the graphics. MGS4 is the second-best looking game (second to Crysis) and has the best Character Animation so far. Yet an overwhelming majority of readers and editors across many sites ***FOR ANYONE WHO WANTS TO BUY MGS4, READ THIS*** First of all, I can easily say that MGS4 is hands-down the best game I have ever played. Why? That's what I'm about to explain. First, obviously the graphics. MGS4 is the second-best looking game (second to Crysis) and has the best Character Animation so far. Yet an overwhelming majority of readers and editors across many sites give MGS4 the Best Graphics of 2008. Thats because of the way the game blends graphics with drama and story-telling. Its one thing to have mind-blowing graphics like Crysis, but its another thing to actually use that to amazingly enhance the game. Just watch the Raiden-Vamp fight (http://ca.youtube.com/watch?v=R61cCBUWNQM&fmt=1 and you'll know what I'm talking about. Secondly, the Story. Now this is where newcomers get turned off. True, the story can get sometimes convulted (*cough* MGS2 *cough*) but the story and the way its presented with all of its twists and revelations, that makes your stomach flip 10 times over and takes your gut through an unrelenting roller-coaster of emotions is more superior than the likes of Half-Life, Halo, Fallout, etc. Its very sad that newcomers will not understand what I'm talking about. Why? It all has to do with the previous games. One of the greatest mysteries in the life of everyone who played MGS2 and MGS3 is "Who are the Patriots". We spent 7 years pondering that. 7 years! And now in MGS4 we get the shocking revelation that flipped our worlds upside down. Every single loose end of the series has been tied up. Spectacular. And the way the emotianal mood affects you during the end of the game is enough to make you cry. Thirdly, the Gameplay. OMG! This game is so professionaly designed! I mean, look at fallout 3. Those controls are unresponsive, broken, and the HUD sucks! But then look at MGS4. The HUD is beautiful, and the controls are extremely responsive. And the inovation in Game content is amazing! The Boss Battles are the best of 2008 and are so well-designed. The REX Vs. RAY battle is so astounding! Lastly, the epicness of this game. Of all the games you will play this year, you will remember this one the most. Even if you are a newcomer, and you play through the whole thing, you will be left speechless. VERY IMPORTANT! Even though this game is a masterpiece, not many will be able to appreciate it. These are the types of people who will not enjoy MGS4: -You hate cutscenes. No matter what game ur playing, you skip the cutscenes. -You are, how should I say, not so smart and cannot understand complicated conspiracies -All you like to do is blow sh*t up. Nothing Else. If you are not one of the above. Go out and buy the game. If you are a newcomer, play the previous games or go on wikipedia and search up the previous stories. Seriously. GET THIS GAME. Expand
  63. FunkyUncle
    Oct 5, 2009
    10
    This game is utterly mindblowing along with the rest of the games in the series (especially MGS3). The graphics and presentation are the best I've seen in years. The audio work is also very good. Although the plot could be a bit more polished, the gameplay is superb. The variety of weapons and gadgets you can equip is huge. Games like this don't come by very often. I would This game is utterly mindblowing along with the rest of the games in the series (especially MGS3). The graphics and presentation are the best I've seen in years. The audio work is also very good. Although the plot could be a bit more polished, the gameplay is superb. The variety of weapons and gadgets you can equip is huge. Games like this don't come by very often. I would recommend this to everybody who owns a PS3. For those who gave this less the 8, you obviously don't know how to play Metal Gear Solid 4 Guns of The Patriots. Expand
  64. MazS
    Jun 26, 2009
    10
    This game is absolutely amazing! It's just incredible the storyline is fantastic soo in depth you can definitely tell that they have put ALOT of effort into this game each subject has it's history each little detail has it's story. Find me another game like this and i'd buy it straight away.
  65. RyanRafferty
    Nov 27, 2008
    10
    MGS4 is a necessity in every mans life. The greatest game I have ever played. Hideo is a legend. This game WILL move you. I promise. Story is brilliant. Word of warning! Make sure you have a box of Kleenex tissues next to you because your eyes will start to rain. It's that good.
  66. jamiec.
    Jun 29, 2009
    10
    Anyone who has given this game below 8 is nit picking and for thoese giving ti scores of 1 and 2, just ignore them, this game is what a game should be like, an absorbing story with brilliant graphics and the ability to play the game how you choose, this game deserves more than a 94, its far better that gta5, this is the best game of the current generation, and one of the best games ever Anyone who has given this game below 8 is nit picking and for thoese giving ti scores of 1 and 2, just ignore them, this game is what a game should be like, an absorbing story with brilliant graphics and the ability to play the game how you choose, this game deserves more than a 94, its far better that gta5, this is the best game of the current generation, and one of the best games ever made, it is a work of art, and beautiful work of art! it deserves more than 10, for thoes who say there is hardly any game play, they are lying, there are so many small things you can find and do hidden in each level and will take weeks to uncover them all, the cut scenes and voice acting are mind blowingly well done and all using the ingame engine. Dont let anyone say this game is awful, thats blasphamy. Expand
  67. TomG
    Jul 1, 2009
    10
    This is the greatest game ever made, anyone that thinks otherwise is nothing but a simple X360 fanboy, as i know for a fact that if this game came to the 360 they would buy it and praise it as i do.
    Everything is perfect, gameplay, story, graphics. It doesn't get any better than this.
  68. Jul 24, 2011
    10
    I have to say this is an awesome game but I only recommend it to people who are fans and have followed the metal gear story. The story provides a fitting end to Solid Snake's final mission and answers a lot of unanswered questions and also gives lots of suspense. The game play is also very good everything has been improved and gives players lots of variety in choosing from lots ofI have to say this is an awesome game but I only recommend it to people who are fans and have followed the metal gear story. The story provides a fitting end to Solid Snake's final mission and answers a lot of unanswered questions and also gives lots of suspense. The game play is also very good everything has been improved and gives players lots of variety in choosing from lots of equipment and customizing weapons. Expand
  69. Aug 30, 2010
    7
    Metal Gear Solid 4 does a brilliant job of finishing off the Metal Gear Solid narrative, and a great gift to those who patiently absorbed every detail of the previous three games, but perhaps its best purpose is as a reminder of why most feature films are only two hours long.

    Few film directors ever get to have their true visions realized in full, so why should it be any different for
    Metal Gear Solid 4 does a brilliant job of finishing off the Metal Gear Solid narrative, and a great gift to those who patiently absorbed every detail of the previous three games, but perhaps its best purpose is as a reminder of why most feature films are only two hours long.

    Few film directors ever get to have their true visions realized in full, so why should it be any different for Hideo Kojima and the Metal Gear Solid team? Is it taken for granted that gamers have been trained to experience long stories over multiple sessions? Metal Gear Solid 4 is an incredible experience that throws the player into the greatest action film they have ever witnessed. It just has a terrible way of pulling the player out of that experience every 20 minutes or so, and plopping them down into the seat of someone watching an equally exhausting sci-fi flick by a self-serving director. During the action-hero sequences, the player is given many amazing gadgets and weapons to play with, only to have them plucked away moments later. In the end, it feels like there wasn't enough space on the cutting room floor for all of the game's excess narrative.
    Expand
  70. Mar 26, 2011
    8
    MGS4 is overblown, pretentious and frutrating. It's also got more brilliant ideas, invention and "wow " moments then any other action game this generation! The only way i can describe it is a flawed masterpiece.
  71. Oct 8, 2012
    10
    Is it possible to give a game an 11? If so, this would be the game that would merit that score. Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots is a title that exceeds all of the hype that was attached to the title.
  72. Jan 17, 2013
    10
    It might have a lot cutscenes, but it's still very memorable gaming experiene. Great soundtrack, amazing voice acting and nice gameplay... And too bad people start with MGS4, they're always complaining for those cutscenes, but we all know that MGS is like a movie since 1998
  73. Nov 18, 2010
    8
    Metal gear solid 4 is an example of a great game that could have been much better if it wasn't for the lousy dialog and unbalanced story. in terms of gameplay the game is outstanding. there are many things to do and the game never gets dull. oh wait i forgot about the cutscenes... the long ass cutscenes that go on for hours, diminishing the enjoyment and fun from the game. mgs 3 was aMetal gear solid 4 is an example of a great game that could have been much better if it wasn't for the lousy dialog and unbalanced story. in terms of gameplay the game is outstanding. there are many things to do and the game never gets dull. oh wait i forgot about the cutscenes... the long ass cutscenes that go on for hours, diminishing the enjoyment and fun from the game. mgs 3 was a fantastic game because it had great gameplay AND great story. apparently Kojima decided to go bananas with this game, creating a complex, yet idiotic story that barely makes any sense the more you keep playing. he took long forgotten characters from past metal gear games and brought them back even if they have nothing to do with the story. the graphics and music are ,of course, outstanding. in the moments that you actually get to play the game its fantastic. the game is a technical marvel and even today, a couple of years after it came out, it still has some of the best graphics and most polished gameplay i have ever seen in video games. I liked the first 3 mgs games because their story was consistent and logical besides great gameplay. It's a shame mgs 4 doesn't have it, especially considering it's the last game of solid snake's era. this series deserved a better ending. Expand
  74. Nov 25, 2010
    9
    Just remembering about MGS4 brings a smile to my face. I avoid playing a game more than once (after I finished), but, with MGS4, I just can´t help it, it is so pretty and so fun that I keep coming back for more, like a crack cocaine addict...
    If you own a PS3, YOU MUST BUY AND PLAY THIS GAME.
  75. Sep 5, 2012
    9
    An exquisitely crafted title that has as much stealth or action as you want.The story is very well told,but quite laughable unless you've invested the years to follow it (Sometimes even then).The very lengthy cutscenes are skippable,so no real drama there.The creator has a strange affiliation with cleavage,no matter the age of the woman,which annoys at times,as well as the actionAn exquisitely crafted title that has as much stealth or action as you want.The story is very well told,but quite laughable unless you've invested the years to follow it (Sometimes even then).The very lengthy cutscenes are skippable,so no real drama there.The creator has a strange affiliation with cleavage,no matter the age of the woman,which annoys at times,as well as the action consistently interrupting itself with cut-scenes.Even cut-scenes get interrupted with more cut-scenes.That minor gripe aside,MGS4 is a superb title that doesn't really achieve a masterpiece level status,but is pretty awesome nonetheless. Expand
  76. Mar 13, 2011
    10
    i absolutly loved this game and yes the cutscenes are very long but if they shortened them then you would not have the same feeling of attachement to all the characters when they do it like this you actually find yourself worrying about the characters and wheather or not they will be alright or if they will face a tradgic end. also the game play is solid and the graphics are very good andi absolutly loved this game and yes the cutscenes are very long but if they shortened them then you would not have the same feeling of attachement to all the characters when they do it like this you actually find yourself worrying about the characters and wheather or not they will be alright or if they will face a tradgic end. also the game play is solid and the graphics are very good and even better than some of the games coming out today and some of the lines are genually funny. i am disapointed though that this is the last game they will make in this series but it is a good way to end a very succesful series Expand
  77. Oct 22, 2011
    9
    This game is deeper than almost any game you'll ever play: Kojima and co. really thought of everything, way into the smallest details. It looks stunning, the gameplay is good, and there is a good story too, supported by the many amazing cutscenes. Sneaking is a lot of fun, and it requires some skill too, since you have to pay attention to many things - direction of the wind, how nervousThis game is deeper than almost any game you'll ever play: Kojima and co. really thought of everything, way into the smallest details. It looks stunning, the gameplay is good, and there is a good story too, supported by the many amazing cutscenes. Sneaking is a lot of fun, and it requires some skill too, since you have to pay attention to many things - direction of the wind, how nervous you are, et cetera. Sounds difficult, but is a lot of fun. The many easter eggs and small references to the world outside your PlayStation keep the game fresh and fun. Expand
  78. Aug 1, 2011
    10
    Magnificent! This game truly is the complete package. Stunning graphic's, smart physics, excellent appeal and just an all around great game to play. The PS3 fails in comparison to the Xbox 360 but this game excels far above any average PS3 game. This is the one game on the PS3 that I Love to play and can game this for hours on end. The setting of the game is just fantastic and the storyMagnificent! This game truly is the complete package. Stunning graphic's, smart physics, excellent appeal and just an all around great game to play. The PS3 fails in comparison to the Xbox 360 but this game excels far above any average PS3 game. This is the one game on the PS3 that I Love to play and can game this for hours on end. The setting of the game is just fantastic and the story and characters are even better. This is the greatest shooter game I have played with a great story to match. This game is to good to rate!!!! Unreal!!!!! Expand
  79. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    I can't describe this amazing game, i just started playing it again, this game is one of the best games i have ever played, if you think this game is any less than a 9 then sorry to say, but you have a bad taste in games, this game is almost perfect imo, scratch that, it IS perfect.
  80. Mar 7, 2013
    10
    Big Boss:"This is good...Isn't it?"
    A Lazy review you say after all those years passed by?
    But i better be lazy or i'll run out of 5000 characters limit we're talking about an end of a solid sake saga right here it's a LONG story.
    Let's just say quality wise there's "No place to hideo!"
  81. Jan 1, 2012
    9
    Awesome graphics, gameplay and sound.

    There are however to many too long cutscenes which can not be skipped and it lacks a bit in the lasting appeal aspect (multiplayer not so great and there are no trophies).

    Overall, awesome game to an awesome game series: 9/10
  82. Jul 18, 2012
    8
    This game has too much cinematic, and I think it is major part of the game. The story is good, and the gameplay is good. I only hope they can make the next MGS with more game play, not saying the cinematic is not good, but game must have game play isn't it? Otherwise we are just watching movie that we can interact.=)
  83. Jun 20, 2012
    9
    Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots It's, probably, the best PS3 game ever. With the stealthy and strategic gameplay, great and realistic graphics, unforgettable and interesting story Metal Gear Solid 4 is a game that revolutionize the series even more. (9.7 actually)
  84. Jan 19, 2013
    8
    The story was great. It kept me interested but the final final cut scene really ticked me off in a lot of ways. Ninja Raiden was just a replacement for Grey Fox and he is still as annoying as ever. I was never a huge fan of Solid Snake, but this game actually manages to create an interesting story around him even if the revelations at the end ruin everything.

    I love the game play. The
    The story was great. It kept me interested but the final final cut scene really ticked me off in a lot of ways. Ninja Raiden was just a replacement for Grey Fox and he is still as annoying as ever. I was never a huge fan of Solid Snake, but this game actually manages to create an interesting story around him even if the revelations at the end ruin everything.

    I love the game play. The controls are fantastic. While the early boss fights leave a lot to be desired, the last three are great. The new control system makes Boss fights much more natural and stealth much different. My only problems with the game play would be it being regularly interrupted by cutscenes and each act was shorter then the last. The environments are interesting, but you never get enough of any of them. The game looks great. Even today it's one of the most smooth looking games I've ever played. The returning roster of characters looks great in HD.

    The music is just as good as the rest of the franchise, but I wasn't a huge fan of the credits song.

    I'm not really sure that Replay value is there. Sure you can get more weapons and all the hidden tracks, but the story is really something that doesn't need replaying. It's good but nothing that is worth sitting through the long cut scenes again.

    While in my opinion 3 and Peace Walker sit at the top of the pack, this is definitely the 3rd greatest game in the franchise.
    Expand
  85. Feb 9, 2013
    10
    This may just be the best ps3 game i have this is so amazing if anyone says the game sucks because there are too many cut scenes then they have not played any good games this game gave me 12+ hours of fun its just too bad konami stopped online mode before i could try it out.
  86. Oct 16, 2012
    10
    One of the best games i've ever played and for sure the best in playstation 3....from graphics to plot this game is perfect....only resident evil 4 can compare with this game
  87. Dec 28, 2012
    10
    It's a 10 from me. No explanation needed as it's Metal Gear Solid...But i shall digress...Kojima, you beautiful man you! Graphics are top class, even 4 years later...The story is phenom - enal! Plenty of twists and turns, a few nostalgic moments and an emotional rollercoaster that sometimes surpasses what some hollywood films can produce. If you own a PS3 but not this game, you're a penis.
  88. Feb 10, 2013
    10
    On it's own, it's a great stealth game, but if you played the whole series it's even better. If you love the story of Big Boss, and his clones, you have to play this game. What you will get is one of the most satisfying endings of video game history ever.
  89. Mar 20, 2013
    10
    This is my favourite game of all time so I'm probably a little biased towards MGS4. Kojima managed to make one of the greatest sequels ever made which became my favourite game of this generation in the years to come. I'll admit it took a few years for me to actually appreciate the game after playing all of it's predecessor's in the HD collection which is one of the best HD collections outThis is my favourite game of all time so I'm probably a little biased towards MGS4. Kojima managed to make one of the greatest sequels ever made which became my favourite game of this generation in the years to come. I'll admit it took a few years for me to actually appreciate the game after playing all of it's predecessor's in the HD collection which is one of the best HD collections out there at the moment, once I had played through Sons of Liberty, Snake Eater and Peace Walker I returned to Guns of the Patriots. Once completing the game I realised how much I actually appreciated the game, it's amazing story, awesome gameplay, outstanding visuals and those cut-scenes, oh man I love the cut-scenes. The emotional connection I had with the game once the credit's ended, I felt happy and sad at the same time. I won't spoil anything because of the level of perfection in the game but if you want to play it, I recommend that you play MGS1 3 and Peace Walker first to get the full benefit of the game, It's Metal Gear Solid 4: Gun's of the Patriots! Expand
  90. Mar 15, 2013
    8
    Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots is a very enjoyable stealth game with an interesting story and characters, some may complain that the cut-scenes are too excessive as they pop up so often and last long, but if you don't mind that then you will find a gripping experience unlike anything else on the PS3, It's a tricky game to score since it really depends on if you are going to beMetal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots is a very enjoyable stealth game with an interesting story and characters, some may complain that the cut-scenes are too excessive as they pop up so often and last long, but if you don't mind that then you will find a gripping experience unlike anything else on the PS3, It's a tricky game to score since it really depends on if you are going to be bothered by long cut-scenes or not. If you don't mind then this game is definitely worth picking up, but if you don't want your gameplay to be interrupted very frequently then you may be better off picking up something else, nonetheless this is one of the best games on the PS3. Expand
  91. Mar 21, 2013
    8
    Im going to begin with saying: I didnt consider MGS4 a game at all, It wasnt close to being a game. What it was however was a cinematic experience that got me Crying, Laughing and even getting angry because of the characters expressions and voices.

    Its an amazing interactive movie, But it sure as hell isnt a full on game So everyone looking for alot of intense gameplay, dont turn this
    Im going to begin with saying: I didnt consider MGS4 a game at all, It wasnt close to being a game. What it was however was a cinematic experience that got me Crying, Laughing and even getting angry because of the characters expressions and voices.

    Its an amazing interactive movie, But it sure as hell isnt a full on game
    So everyone looking for alot of intense gameplay, dont turn this way.
    For everyone who enjoys a good story however i highly recommend this game.

    PS: Reason it was pushed down to an 8 was because of a thing in the end game, Dont worry it doesnt really concern the story, it was just incredibly tedious is all.
    Expand
  92. Apr 1, 2013
    10
    An amazing game. A must have for everyone. The cut scenes are damn long and give the game that cinematic feeling. The controls are changed to be more like modern shooters like Uncharted or Gears of War. It even put in a cover system (Well kind of. It was more meant to press against walls for stealth, but it can act as cover.) Just to tell you, there is less gameplay in MGS4 than theAn amazing game. A must have for everyone. The cut scenes are damn long and give the game that cinematic feeling. The controls are changed to be more like modern shooters like Uncharted or Gears of War. It even put in a cover system (Well kind of. It was more meant to press against walls for stealth, but it can act as cover.) Just to tell you, there is less gameplay in MGS4 than the others. One thing good about the cut scenes is you can pause them. It's highly recommended that you play the previous games or at least know the previous game's stories as the game makes references from the old games and use them for story elements. Especially characters. There are a lot of weapons and items, but a lot of them are lethal which is a little odd to me. The game also seems to like to use psychology from time to time. This is seen in characters, as a gameplay element, and some story elements. Unfortunately, Metal Gear Online as been shut down so don't expect seeing it. Overall this is the best game in terms of stealth (screw you Assassin's Creed.) I would give this game a 100. But I can't. That sucks. Expand
  93. Jun 28, 2013
    9
    What an amazing conclusion to Old Snake's story. The gameplay may be smaller when compared to other games and in the opinion of gamers that are more gameplay than story. The story is unrealistic but when has a game had a vivid and realistic story. The story is the product of a genius and it is even more rewarding if you've played the entire series. While the gameplay may have been short itWhat an amazing conclusion to Old Snake's story. The gameplay may be smaller when compared to other games and in the opinion of gamers that are more gameplay than story. The story is unrealistic but when has a game had a vivid and realistic story. The story is the product of a genius and it is even more rewarding if you've played the entire series. While the gameplay may have been short it was still was enjoyable and ran smoothly. No game-breaking bugs or glitches actually I don't believe there were any glitches or bugs. Graphics are so good that even games today can hardly compare them. AI corresponds and adapts to your difficulty with BIG BOSS EXTREME being the most difficult. The only this game a 9/10 is because so many gamers dislike the cut scenes so I do to be fair. This is not a game for people who don't the time to enjoy the story because in the end the story is the supreme feature of this game. Conspiracies, check. Old Snake, check. Stealth and espionage, check. Guns, check. Camouflage, check. Greatest video game I've ever bought, triple check. Expand
  94. Jan 24, 2015
    10
    How can someone even say something negative about this game. One of the best games I have ever played in my entire life. If you're fan of the MGS series and haven't played this game you have do that, believe me. Masterpiece!
  95. Nov 27, 2014
    10
    Games this good should be celebrated!

    it's a master of the craft simply showing off.

    There's so many metaphors and meanings in this game that they begin to mock themselves, mock you for enjoying them then makes you cry when it comes to it's end.

    it can be played in any way you want and is still a classic.
  96. solidzellmofasa
    May 30, 2008
    10
    i bet my friend $400 that metal gear is going to win game of the year he bet on grand theft auto 4.gta is way over rated and i own the game it deserves a 7 and mgs4 derves a 10 this is way better than gta4 on graphics,gameplay,trill,story and lets not forget the legendary snake can kick the russians butt
  97. P.R.
    Aug 12, 2009
    10
    I was never ever good at MGS, I've never beaten one before and played many. I loved it to death though. I wish I was better at that MGS because I wanted to play that game over and over again even though I only played it once. The camera angles are so much better than the previous games btw.
  98. mikemike
    Dec 20, 2008
    10
    if someone puts in this game 5 or 0 just doesnt understand the story and that kojima is trying to end a perfect end with an appropiate sotry so all of you go to hell and learn how to play a game.Alsp please stop gaming you are just embarrasing it
  99. JohnF.
    Jun 21, 2008
    10
    The perfect conclusion for the MGS saga.
  100. Samir
    Dec 13, 2008
    10
    Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots deserves to be called the greatest game of the PS3 and one of the best games of this year.
    Every aspect of MGS4 is perfect.
    Fantastic graphics, soundtrack, storyline and gameplay.
    Truly a masterpiece. Kudos to Hideo Kojima for the creation of this great game.
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 82 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 82
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 82
  3. Negative: 0 out of 82
  1. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    100
    Guns of the Patriots is almost intimidating in the consistent quality of its ideas, invention, and execution...Even by the series' stratospheric standards, MGS4 is a remarkable high point. [June 2008]
  2. 99
    If you've ever loved any one of the Metal Gear games, or any moments from the series, there will come a moment when MGS 4 will send your spirits soaring. If you've loved them all, well then there'll be many, many more. It’s a masterpiece.
  3. Guns of the Patriots is a frustrating, fractured game that turns Metal Gear Solid's world upside down several times over, but never changes it.